Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (2) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 08, 2019
Do u have to be A Cosco meber 2get this
roleks2010 Cardholder

Not easy to get

more ...
Sep 10, 2019

Yes. If you go to the application page it'll tell you that you need to sign up for a costco membership first before applying for the card as it is both a regular credit card and a store card.

 
Oct 29, 2019

Of course so, that's why it's called the Costco Anywhere Card (although can be used at other places).

This means one's Costco membership dues ($60/year for Gold) is applied to the card annually. Yet it's not an annual fee, because Costco members w/out this card has to pay the same.

One of the best features of the card & one most others won't give, is 4% at the gas pump at Costco locations, which is considered a warehouse membership purchase. Depending on how much one drives & uses the card for fuel, it's possible for the membership to pay for itself. Especially for a family, or even a couple who has long commutes to work.

Also noteworthy, Costco carries Top Tier fuel, not low grade like Sheetz & Walmart. Even their regular unleaded has 5x the limit of detergent needed to meet the requirement, meaning less issues with emission components going bad (costly 'check engine' lights). Cleaner fuel also leads to healthier air to breathe.

 
Oct 29, 2019

How fast was 'right away'?

If the charge was within a couple days before the statement closing date & not paid as soon as arriving home, of course this will happen.

This is why it's best to always be mindful of not only the date payments is due, also the statement cutoff date. Had you paid that 90% before the cutoff, would never had been reported. I know, as I've charged over 70% on mine, but paid to zero before statement generation & therefore, no damage done.

 
Nov 24, 2018
Punitive reporting for usage
Grant112 Cardholder

This card has the best rewards of my three cards and I had to pay a big one time bill so I decided to use it.  I paid the bill which was 90% of my limit and then paid off the card right away to avoid a high usage mark.  They reported the high usage to Transunion immediately and dumped my credit score from excellent to fair on one fell swoop.  They were absolutely useless on the phone.  This card wil penalize you for use, avoid all Citi products.

more ...
Dec 05, 2018

any time you open an account (short term) it drops your score. If you charge up the card it drops it more.... BUT since you paid it off it will go back up, and these things are true for every credit card company.... Another thing is that every place you check your credit had a different algorithm... and VERY different algorithm or way of looking at your data for Mortgage, auto, or credit card. If you have not stopped it yet, probably best to keep and mostly not use as it will help in terms of length of time, and amount of credit NOT being used.

 
Dec 21, 2018

To avoid having the usage on your credit card hit your report you need to find out which day they report to the credit agencies and pay a week before your due date. Say you made a large purchase on the 4th, the credit card reports to the agency on the 6th and you made your payment on the 7th its going to show your balance before your payment. Hope this makes sense. I wouldnt give in one star for that reason alone, all credit cards are like this. They only report once a month at the same time no matter when everyone's payments are. Hope this helps!

 
Dec 21, 2018

Oh wanted to add too... basically come next month on the same date they reported this month your usage will go down 90% like you said you paid and your credit score will shoot right back up. When you plan on applying for a car loan, credit card ect. Just make sure your usage isnt high which is getting in sync with when they report.

 
Mar 16, 2019

Why are you using 90% of your limit to begin with? 🤦🏽‍♀️ if you want good ratings keep it between 10-30% utilization rate! 🤷🏽‍♀️

 
Aug 18, 2019

I have a citi card as well and paid it off right away after using it. I don't normally use my credit cards but was shopping online and needed to use a card, I paid it off within a few days of using it. It's been 3 months since it's been paid off and it's still showing the same balance owed on citi on credit karma, when it should be at 0. I go to citi log in page and log in and it shows 0 on but for some reason on credit karama it still shows a higher balance.

 
Aug 25, 2019

Bikerider76 then you should dispute it. I've had to do it twice, takes 30 seconds through credit karma and it was fixed in two weeks.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi Reviews

Costco Anywhere Visa® Card by Citi

2 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i