Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* for 12 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 13.49% - 23.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 09, 2019
solid travel card
isastring Cardholder

I appreciate the no annual fee and no international transaction fee.  If I'm being honest, I use this card primarily just for booking flights and secondary expenses.  The rewards are alright, but not as good as my other cards.  I did have my identity stolen with it once though.  They sent me a text to let me know of the suspicious activity ($200 at gas stations over two days - and I have an electric car).  I called and they immediately locked down my card and refunded the purchases.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 17, 2019
Great for Airline Miles
Piggy985 Cardholder

Everything I see written about the card is correct. It is what THEY LEAVE OUT THAT IRRITATES ME!. Nearly Every Time I use my Capital One Card at a new merchant it is denied. Very embarrassing. So I use a different card while holding everyone up. As I leave the store I get a text from Capital One. "Did you just try to make a purchase at....." I reply yes and they THEN me to go ahead the transaction has been approved. This happened once at my local Wal-Greens where I shop often. I have had it! Capital One is being canceled. This is no way to run a railroad. I hate it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 09, 2020
Bonus miles promised, never delivered.
MattVegas95 Cardholder

Like another reviewer, I too was approved for this card, spent the 1k with the intention of getting the 20k bonus miles. After spending $2500, in the first month, I called and ask how many billing cycles the bonus takes to hit my rewards account. I was then told I wasnt eligible for the bonus since there are different approval levels. Nowhere during the application process was this ever stated.

Classic bait and switch, I cut this card up and wont do business with Capital One again.

more ...
Jan 07, 2020
Careful
Amiya11216 Cardholder

I really like this card for what I got it for which was for miles. Applying was super easy and I received a response with in a few minutes in my email. But be careful because if you have average credit and you get approved for this card you won't get any promotional deals that are advertised and your interest rate will be about 2 points higher than what is stated on the website. Only use it for bigger purchases I can pay off quickly with carrying a balance over so that I can get the miles. This card also does not report to credit bureaus very well, if at all to raise your credit score. Customer service is nice but I don't expect much from them to be honest. If you want your credit score raised get a different card. I went with Petal for beter credit health and they were very easy and helpful and with in the first few weeks my credit score went up a couple points. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2020

Sorry I meant I only use it for big purchases I can pay off easily without carrying over a balance so that I can get miles and avoid the interest.

 
Jan 24, 2020

Amazing how they pull this stunt on unsuspecting people and get away with it. I only keep my capital one card open because it’s my oldest account. Don’t like this company

 
Dec 30, 2019
kaalay Cardholder

applied for the card and got approved. spent 1000$ and paid it back with in first momth. never recieved the 20k miles bonus. Called customer care and they said we approved the card for you but not the bonus at time of approval of application ( which i was not made aware at all ). Never got the bonus at all. Useless card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 14, 2020

Time for a class acción lawsuit.

 
Dec 12, 2019
Excellent
PZ301 Cardholder

This has been my primary card for many years. Have had nothing but positive experiences with them. Redeeming travel miles is easy and convenient. 

more ...
Dec 11, 2019
Over3years Cardholder

I applied for this card not a problem, received my miles credit for use. Recently applied for a limit increase was told I had a late payment my payments for all cards through Capital One were on time. I have zero late payments on all accounts. Customer service basically nonexistent.

more ...
Nov 30, 2019
Drusk Cardholder

Crap at best poor customer service . Payment date is not start of new cut off date on intrest its 3 days after pants date . Rip off .

more ...
Nov 19, 2019
limit issue
Zoey5150 Cardholder

this card literally never goes up. My credit score is 800, all my other cards literally have 3 times the amount of credit on them- I only keep it because it is my oldest trade line

more ...
Nov 15, 2019
nspencer70 Cardholder

I've had this card for 5 years. I find the annual fee to be comparable or lower than many reward cards.  The interest rates are a little higher than my others, so I never keep a balance on it.  I've read of issues with service, but I've never had any issues with this capital one card.  Their app is very user friendly. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2019
Best Credit Card out there!
bandrews24 Cardholder

2 points for every dollar. Great rate and customer service.

more ...
Oct 22, 2019
**** CapitalOne
Nimagls Cardholder

true scavengers and thieves.. I sue you ***

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2019

i would like to know why. i want to apply to this card.
thanks

 
Oct 16, 2019
Beware of "Statement Credit"
DanKoi Cardholder

This card and all of the CapitalOne credit cards has a hidden loopholes when you redeem your rewards for statement credit. This loophole is not even readily available to consumer to read, except you have to go to FAQ section. This policy contradicted their own policy of payment in full based on your statement balance. Customer service standby their policy but could not answer my questions and agreed with me that I was right. Be careful with CapitalOne. I had 4 credit cards from CapitalOne for almost 5 years with over $25K credit limits, 100% payment ontime but I decided to stop using them. They don't care about consumer protection laws. This just happened tonight when I talked to a customer rep and her supervisor. I will not do any business with this kind of merchant. They don't care about the consumer except that they care about your money. Sorry CapitalOne....enough is enough

more ...
Nov 03, 2019

Soooo what was the actual issue?

 
Nov 07, 2019

@Jaye Ve that was my question too.
@Dankoi What was the actual issue that you did not explain in your review? I've had them for almost 4 year's and never had an issue with them. If anything ever acured, they always helped me fixed it without a problem so not sure what you are trying to say.

 
Sep 14, 2019
Excellent reward program

This is absolutely the best card, customer service is outstanding when you call, I never waited more than three minutes to get someone on the phone and the reward program is phenomenal. I preferred to pay the annual fee and I get 2 miles for every dollar I spend so you can easily gather up enough miles that it makes it worthwhile paying the annual fee! 

more ...
Sep 18, 2019

What did you end up paying as an annual fee?

 
Nov 01, 2019

Good customer service my butt

 
Sep 10, 2019
Not worth it!
Tim800Score Cardholder

The customer service at Capital One is the worst.  I was treated rudely by Asia FWH353. She would not connect me with a supervisor. I would not do business with Capital One again. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 21, 2019

Call back give them her name and agent ID and let them handle it don't let one person ruin your perception of them

 
Aug 17, 2019
Great for Airline Miles
Piggy985 Cardholder

Everything I see written about the card is correct. It is what THEY LEAVE OUT THAT IRRITATES ME!. Nearly Every Time I use my Capital One Card at a new merchant it is denied. Very embarrassing. So I use a different card while holding everyone up. As I leave the store I get a text from Capital One. "Did you just try to make a purchase at....." I reply yes and they THEN me to go ahead the transaction has been approved. This happened once at my local Wal-Greens where I shop often. I have had it! Capital One is being canceled. This is no way to run a railroad. I hate it.

more ...
Oct 19, 2019

Sounds like a fraud protection feature. Maybe there is a way to turn text verification off? Either way, thank you for your input while I shop for a travel card

 
Oct 19, 2019

This happens to me too with the card. Happened at Neiman Marcus just the other day.

 
Nov 07, 2019

@Piggy985 just like the person two comments above me said. It's a security feature you can turn on or off. Besides that I would rather have a security as tight as that on my travel card then not.

 
Jul 18, 2019
Never got the chance to use it!!
willkell Cardholder

Worst customner service experience I've ever had.... I was approved, received a card in the mail and then was asked to send in an SSA-89 form for further identification before my card could be activated. I was actually happy to see they take fraud protection seriously... However, I then had to call 9 TIMES in the span of 6 weeks to check on the status of my case.  Was told each time that my case manager was not answering emails and there was nothing they could do about it because they are in a different building. Finally I gave them an ultimatum and said if I don't hear back from my someone activating my card in 2 days I would be closing my account (before spending a dime). And that's what I did

more ...
Jun 08, 2019
Perfect card for everyday purchases
versacepockets Cardholder

Applied May 2018 at a 781 FICO score, got approved for a $10,000 credit line. The twelve months without interest are very useful, especially if you apply to get your card before a vacation. I recommend this card not only for its perks, but for how practical the Capital One app is, easily the most attractive interface for a credit card app.

more ...
Jun 26, 2019

Is this card a Visa or MasterCard? Thanks.

 
Jul 01, 2019

Visa

 
Nov 10, 2019

What's your income ? I have 30k a year

 
May 15, 2019
No complaints
DanielleAS Cardholder

As some others have stated, it does take a few months for the miles to be activated. However, when you actually do redeem a purchase with your miles it applies within less than a day. I recently experienced fraudulant charges while I was out of the country. Capital One sent me notifications, but unfortunately I had no cellular service at the time. As soon as I returned and saw the charges I contacted customer service and they took care of the investigation immediately and removed the charges from my account. In my experience, their customer service reps have always been super friendly and helpful. I have no complaints about this card or Capital One. This was my first credit card. I applied a little over a year ago with a 720 credit score. 

more ...
Jul 20, 2019

What was your starting credit limit?

 
Aug 16, 2019

Hi you didn't say what air line you can use?

 
May 14, 2019
Great primary card!
MaggieBrea Cardholder

I applied for this card in January, and pretty much was approved instantly. I use this card as my primary card and I love it! The 20,000 bonus points was a great bonus!

I had a charge come up that I had meant to cancel before it was charged to my account, but didn’t in time. I called Capital One, and they helped me very easily cancel the charge, and was very helpful. 

I have had this card for about four months, and haven’t had a credit increase yet. I kind of expected one by now since I never carry a balance over, and always pay before the month ends. 

more ...
May 16, 2019

Most cards offer the increase after 6 months of paying on time. So hang in there it will come.

 
Oct 16, 2019

Is it 20,000 miles or points?

 
Apr 22, 2019
Amazing Travel Card
CTrofholz Cardholder

Super strong sleek design! A must for travel and those out for adventure! Great easy to use mobile App ! 5-Stars 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 07, 2019

What do you mean by “super strong sleek design”? Don’t all cards look the same?

 
Apr 08, 2019
I use this for everything!
funlaughlove84 Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a year and use it pretty much for every purchase. I love the app, it’s very easy to check my balance and make payments. Only had to call customer service one time when a vendor overseas charged me twice for one product. Capital One took care of that immediately. I haven’t redeemed any of my points yet for traveling, as I haven’t had time to travel lately, but will update my review once I redeem my travel points. So far, I’m a happy customer with no complaints. Oh! And the 0% interest for the first year is awesome. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2019
ok!!!
Lamont214 Cardholder

It is used as a secondary card due to no credit increases so far. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2019

Ask for an increase? I have tripled my original, credit.

 
Jun 07, 2019

Hi you can only get a increase ever 6 months.

 
Aug 24, 2019

This card as been a solid card. I was originally given a $1500 limit. After 6 months of use I requested and increase and they took it $4500. Another 6 months and a request and I was increased to $7500. A year later I decided to ask for an increase because I use this for nearly everything and sometimes I have a usage of +30%. They increased my limit to $10,500. I've never been late on a payment and I've never had to pay a single dime in interest. I'm confident that should I need another increase in the future and I continue with my good habits that they will increase it again. My credit score has been around 700 for the duration of the card. I needed a card to help rebuild my crfedit after a divorce and this one has done that and more. Great company to do business with, so far.

 
Feb 18, 2019
russo68 Cardholder

This car is a joke, I have had a card with Capital One never missed a payment, actually have never missed a payment on any of my credit cards however my other cards are 4 - 8 thousand dollars limit and they offer me $8000 limit, and tell me oh your limit will go up after seven billing cycles, so that leaves five cycles of 0% interest at a higher limit, if they raise it all my guess is they probably won’t raise it until after the interest-rate is gone up, 

more ...
May 20, 2019

What’s the problem your mad because they don’t want to give you a higher limit than your highest cards right out of the gate what are you doing with it trying to buy a big boat that doesn’t make this a bad card stop whining about it

 
Jul 05, 2019

Your post is a JOKE 🤬

 
Aug 06, 2019

As far as i can see there is nothing wrong with the card. Your 1 star is misleading.

 
Feb 09, 2019
solid travel card
isastring Cardholder

I appreciate the no annual fee and no international transaction fee.  If I'm being honest, I use this card primarily just for booking flights and secondary expenses.  The rewards are alright, but not as good as my other cards.  I did have my identity stolen with it once though.  They sent me a text to let me know of the suspicious activity ($200 at gas stations over two days - and I have an electric car).  I called and they immediately locked down my card and refunded the purchases.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 1,604
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® VentureOne® Rewards Credit Card