American Express® Gold Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
American Express® Gold Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
81 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 09, 2019
Best card for families
Familyman89 Cardholder

I rebuilt my credit over the course of 3 years waited till I was at least a 690-700 before applying for my first real credit card I did research for a couple months meaning I don’t make any kind of credit decisions lightly and wanted a card to fit my lifestyle after all my research I decided that American Express would be the best company for me with their variety of different cards and perks charge/credit cards and the fact that their point system isn’t over inflated with an absurd number of points that makes you feel like you have more value than you do they have a very well rounded point system so I decided to apply for an Amex Gold card through credit Karma because I had very good approval odds and I So I applied through the app and was approved in 5 minutes and had my card a week later after a few months with the card I have to say I absolutely love it I am a family man and feel like this is the perfect family card I spend ballpark 600-700 in groceries a month that’s 4x points per dollar and we like to eat out also that’s 4x points per dollar at restaurants so this card has substantial value for families and if you pay attention to the negative reviews about this card it is because it’s a charge card and people complain about not being able to Cary a balance and don’t like paying it off every month 1. I got this card because it’s a charge card meaning I only make purchases that I would have to make anyways month to month  groceries and eating out meaning I’m not over extending myself buying wish list items I use it and just pay the balance the next day I don’t wait for statements to come out I use it then put it back to $0 because it’s money I would spend anyway at least I’m getting rewards and points 2. The customer service has been great in app no complaints and I will be getting future credit cards with them so before you apply or use this card do yourself a favor and have a full understanding of what the difference between a charge and  card is charge cards can be a great tool to keep you from over spending month to month and not stress about carried balances growing in size and they definitely come with more rewards and perks 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 12, 2019
Points are not worth close to what you
HappywithCapOne Cardholder

I’ve tried twice to explain my huge disappointment with trying to use American Express points and my review was timed out. Short version the point can’t be used for what you think 

all travel must be booked thru American Express agents at a 4 times normal price that anyone can book on their own. I wish I could farther explain but I’ll be timed out again. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 10, 2019
Sjackson0257 Cardholder

While there is a 250 fee, you can recieve a 120 dining credit for 4 resturants as well as anything on grubhub (10 dollars a month per year) as well as up to a 100 dollar travel reimbersment. Good customer chat service and an easy app to pay bills immediately. 

more ...
Aug 02, 2019
best card for restaurants & bonuses
tootab Cardholder

when i was 16 i was added to my mothers blue cash preferred card, so i started building credit long before i was able to apply for a card on my own. i turned 18 and got a secured card and paid in full every month and not long after, my score was close to 700. i decided i wanted to continue my relationship with american express so i applied for the gold card after learning i was prequalified.. i was initially afraid of the 250$ annual fee but with the card member deals, and the 100$ incidental airline refund and the 120$ for restaurants, i've made back 180$ so far and i've only had the card for 4 months. i utilize the pay over time feature for charges over $100, and i would only recommend it if you are a responsible spender (also they started me off with a very small pay over time limit, and after a few months it was increased to what i was told the highest that this card can have, so i'm very grateful and lucky).

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2019

Whats your limit now?

 
Jul 23, 2019
Best perks for a card
achunt2143 Cardholder

Annual fee is high but the perks outweigh the fee. My parents convinced me to apply and I was instantly approved. This is a charge card but can be treated like a credit card. The APR is fairly high for pay over time, but not the worst I've seen on a card. Don't get the card if you cant make the sign up bonus though. Mine was 40k points after spending $2000 in the first three months. I always get compliments on the card when I hand it to someone. I originally received it in gold but amex had the promotion again for rose gold. Gave them a call and they sent me another one!

more ...
Jul 18, 2019
Love the rewards and benefits
SKenn Cardholder

$250 annual fee pays for itself via benefits.  Need pretty good credit. AmEx customer service is the best !

more ...
Jul 17, 2019
kept their word!!!
terencef12 Cardholder

IF YOU HAVE A GREEN AMEX, JUST KEEP IT IN GOOD STANDING, AND AFTER ONE YEAR THEY'LL OFFER TO UPGRADE YOU TO GOLD! I'M EXCITED TO HAVE THIS CARD IN MY WALLET!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 18, 2019

Enter Your Reply

 
Jul 15, 2019
Easy, crisp, simple to use.
Topcardsonly Cardholder

This card is great once you get passed the annual fee which isn’t as bad as you think. It’s worth it in the end no doubt. Great customer service and I got approved and had my card on the way in under 10mins. If you need a referral link for the rose gold dm me @patrick_atwara

more ...
Jul 15, 2019
Great card to use for dining/groceries

Applied for this a couple months after getting the Platinum card, got a "you're preapproved" message (despite Credit Karma rating my approval odds as only "fair") and was approved instantly with no hard pull. My FICO scores are between 792 and 835. While the Platinum is great for the 5X rewards on airline ticket purchases, it's pretty much 1X for everything else besides hotel stays purchased through AMEX travel. The value of the 4X points on groceries/dining on the Gold card for me easily justifies the annual fee. The $10/month restaurant credit is a bit too limited to be very useful to me, as is the $100/year airline incidentals credit (especially since the "gift card loophole" seems to have been recently slammed shut). Worth mentioning: literally the day after my posted charges reached the $2,000 mark (long before the first statement even closed), the sign-up bonus points were added to my account. I have never experienced anything less than outstanding customer service from AMEX reps whenver I've called them.

more ...
Jul 12, 2019
All your wallet needs
matt2621 Cardholder

I've always been someone that likes cash back on dining and groceries as that's the bulk of my spending, as it is for many which is why I never picked up a travel card. The AMEX Gold is all 3 of those in one. 1 point per dollar, however, you get 2 points per dollar at restaurants and grocery store and then 4x. So I'm now getting 8x or 8% back per dollar when I get groceries or go out to eat. That blows any of my other cards out of the water in those categories. Also, I was hesitant about $250 a year fee, however you get $100 in airline credit (this can be triggered buyingtwo $50 gift cards on the carrier website, Delta for example), and you get $10 a month in statement credit when you order food through grubhub or seamless. That's $120 a year and super easy to do. I just order food right before I go on lunch and go pick it up. So basically, I'm getting this card for $30 a year. Well worth it.

****If you apply, go on an incognito tab and amex will sometimes give you a 50,000 bonus point offer as opposed to 35,000. This is crucial because you can only get this bonus ONE time in your life****

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 20, 2019

Have you recently been reimbursed for the airline gift card? It looks like it stopped late June.

 
Jul 10, 2019
My everyday card!
Kviews Cardholder

Great multipliers for grocery stores and resturants! I got approved with a 738 TU and 750 EQ 743 Fico. Two missed payments, and a credit history of 3 years. Must have card for me. I only travel once or twice a year and i eat out alot, and everybody grocery shops. Makes sense for anyone over other cards out there. 

more ...
Jul 03, 2019
Highest earning card!
ChrisHimself Cardholder

Great customer service. They have a chat system that answers questions and solves problems in minutes. I have 73k points in my second month. An economy flight to Japan via ANA is 50k points. I went from cash back to world traveller with a card application. Not to mention the flex value everybody loves looking at it and handling it. It weighs 15g whereas normal plastic cards weigh 5g. I highly recommend this card for anybody who eats or buys groceries regularly which is just about anybody. The rewards system takes some understanding and gaming but thats what makes it fun and a great value if youre clever!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express® Gold Card Reviews

American Express® Gold Card

81 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i