HSBC Bank Reviews

HSBC Bank Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 31, 2020
After 26 years, I will never use again
Tdemgem Account Holder

They closed my account as I could access my account due to them starting to ask security questions from 12 years prior. I lost 100 points in credit, 7000 rewards points. Paid over $140 in late fees, even though they set up when the direct debit was being processed. That's how they treat customers of 26 years. An absolute joke of a bank with zero care and consideration for their customers. If I could give 0 stars I would

more ...
Jul 17, 2020
The worst. DO NOT USE THIS BANK.
BonBig Account Holder

Zero stars. Worst bank/credit card experience I have ever had. When you pay off your balance they hold your payment for something like 15 days before applying it to your account. Keeps everything in limbo for what seems like forever. I also lock my cards when I’m not using them. Guess what? You can’t lock your card with this bank. You have to close your account and lose all your credit history along with it. I’ll be back to a crap credit score after using this bank even though I have paid off the entire balance multiple times. Two thumbs down. The absolute worst.

more ...
Mar 02, 2020
Difficult
Melglove Account Holder

Trying to set up a log in was absolutely ridiculous. I understand security but by the time I somehow managed to log in I'd totally forgotten my password because of all the senseless nonsense they make you go through. Finally figured out how to do a balance tranfer only to hit submit and have it bounce back to the home page. I initiated an on line chat to ask if it went through. 30 minutes later he finally said no he didnt see it and would I like him to tell me how to do it?? I told him I already knew because well.... wasnt I asking him if he saw my submission!!! St that point I told him that I wouldnt be using this card ever.
If it was this difficult just to log on I cannot imagine ever doing any banking with them. I'm surprised they are even in business.

more ...
Jan 27, 2020
mattwdillon Account Holder

If I could give it a zero I would. I missed one payment because I thought I had auto payment on. Locked out of account and they reported it against credit score. There online system is super secure where you have hard time logging on and not user friendly at all. Customer service is bad you have to call in to make payment since locked out of making payments online and ask them to just set up auto pay so you don't miss tell you they can't you have to call in.

more ...
Jan 13, 2020
Avoid HSBC
Christian19601 Account Holder

I have about a dozen credit cards, all in good standing, I never had a bad banking experience until I got HSBC last year. Since then it has been nothing but bad experiences. I simply used my card, which was enough for them to repeatedly freeze it. They tell me to call in about the "suspicious" purchases. When I call in they asked me to answer some questions to verify my identity, I answer all the quetions correctly; Then they tell me to provide them my "access code" so I dug through some year-old paperwork and gave it to them; Then they tell me to email them a copy of my drivers license and a current electric bill, I do that too. Now they insist that I go to one of their branches to show my ID to a bank teller...their nearest branch is 60 miles away (120 miles round trip). There is no end to the amount of your time they are willing to waste. There are lots of credit card companies, you don't want to apply for their card, it's not worth it. They are inept, disrepectful, and their horrible customer service is well documented on sites like this...they have a TERRIBLE reputation across all platforms. Avoid HSBC as if your credit rating depends on it. 

more ...
Jan 07, 2020
Fraud
JEP37 Account Holder

Definite insider fraud at this bank and horrible customer service. They need to be investigated. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2019
Deceitful
happyplatinum Account Holder

The bank declined my card after successful activation. Called me a few days later from a mystery number and asked for personal information before disconnecting me and then putting a stop on my card.

more ...
Dec 06, 2019
HORRIBLE
Enwokelo Account Holder

HORRIBLE BANK. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. NOT WORTHY OF EXISTENCE. TERRIBLE. BAD BANK. STAY AWAY.. TERRIBLE! TERRIBLE!! TERRIBLE!!!. I shredded their card after 2 days of activation. THE BANK IS A SCAM.

more ...
Dec 06, 2019
HORRIBLE
Enwokelo Account Holder

It's not the card, it's the Bank. HORRIBLE. AFTER 2 DAYS OF RECEIVING THE CARD, I CANCELLED AND SHREDDED IT. AFTER RECEIVING AND ACTIVATED THE CARD, HSBC WANTED ME TO SCAN AND SEND MY SS CARD AND DRIVER'S LICENSE BEFORE I COULD USE THE CARD. The card was already activated, it sounded like a scam, I declined and shredded the card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations