SoFi Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
156 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 13, 2017
Sofi is shockingly simple.
ecroucho Product User

The application process is the simplest business transaction I have ever completed.  I applied in a few minutes with very basic information and a copy of my driver's license.  A couple days later, my loan was approved with exactly the terms that were promised.  The loan was funded a few days later after friendly and helpful calls from Sofi representatives explaining the process and answering my questions. I wish I was treated with such respect and transparency by all companies I do business with.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 19, 2017
Predatory policies, stay away
ash9328 Product User

SoFi is terrible. They no longer provide student loans and now focus on refinance, and they have basically just given up on their student loan product. SoFi lost all record of my 15-yr student loan with them and refused to speak with me because they said I didn't have an account with them. I had to file a formal complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau in order for them to acknowledge that they lost my account.

SoFi represented to me that they had a standard in-school deferment option... but that was a lie. I submitted an in-school deferment request when I started grad school this fall and was told that not only do I have to continue paying interest on my loan while in school, but I also have to submit a new loan deferment request with the same information every 3 months. But that's not even the issue because the max deferment period is CAPPED. This is nonsense.

I have a pretty good interest rate with SoFi, but I'm actively looking to refinance because I'd rather pay more with a more transparent and less predatory lender.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Aug 15, 2017
Student Loan Re-financing
AHD4TED Product User

While the overall process was a little challenging, no one offered rates as competitive as SoFi.

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
Personal Loan
Anonymous Product User

Everything was exactly as advertised/described. The process was extremely easy and the funding was done in less than two days. I would highly recommend this company. 

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
Personal loan for credit card debt
jwbmining Product User

Very easy process without any phone calls or text bombardment. I had 720 credit rating and got a 9.84% loan. Was the best out there. And with no prepayment or orgination fee, it was a slam dunk when I saw the rate. 

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Excellent Resource!
Anonymous Product User

Process was absolutely seamless and far exceeded my expectations in terms of ease of administration, responsiveness, and commitment!  

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
Awesome Customer Service
Anonymous Product User

This was such an quick and easier process. I have been getting loans through my credit union for 20 years, perfect payment track record, alway pay early but lately, it is like you have to give them an arm and a leg. I was hesitant when I read some of the bad reviews, but I did not have any problems.  The service reps that I spoke with were very nice, I did most everything online - I highly recommend! I want them to offer car loan refinancing now! I will look to them come mortgage time! 

more ...
Jul 12, 2017
Amazing Refinance Process!
Anonymous Product User

The great rate and terms are saving me over 25k (and 10 years) for a negligible payment difference (8 bucks).  I'm thrilled to refinance with SoFi.  Also, for those who were wondering about the "great scores and better income required" thing, I can say that's a myth.  Gross income in the 50s, score in the 600s. 

The process was too easy, and I'm looking forward to kicking Wells Fargo to the curb.

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
Easy loan process
Anonymous Product User

This was a simple process that was completed in a couple of days. Beats the big banks any day!

more ...
Jul 09, 2017
I would recommend SoFi
Anonymous Product User

The application process and wait times for my SoFi transaction was timely and efficient.  By all appearances my personal information and transactions are very secure in this process as well.  Very happy with this company.

more ...
Jul 04, 2017
Easy and fast
Anonymous Product User

Total process was only 5 days from start to finish. Received a personal loan for $45,000 to pay off credit cards and get our lives back. Would recommend. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations