SoFi Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
121 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 13, 2017
Sofi is shockingly simple.
ecroucho Product User

The application process is the simplest business transaction I have ever completed.  I applied in a few minutes with very basic information and a copy of my driver's license.  A couple days later, my loan was approved with exactly the terms that were promised.  The loan was funded a few days later after friendly and helpful calls from Sofi representatives explaining the process and answering my questions. I wish I was treated with such respect and transparency by all companies I do business with.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 19, 2017
Predatory policies, stay away
ash9328 Product User

SoFi is terrible. They no longer provide student loans and now focus on refinance, and they have basically just given up on their student loan product. SoFi lost all record of my 15-yr student loan with them and refused to speak with me because they said I didn't have an account with them. I had to file a formal complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau in order for them to acknowledge that they lost my account.

SoFi represented to me that they had a standard in-school deferment option... but that was a lie. I submitted an in-school deferment request when I started grad school this fall and was told that not only do I have to continue paying interest on my loan while in school, but I also have to submit a new loan deferment request with the same information every 3 months. But that's not even the issue because the max deferment period is CAPPED. This is nonsense.

I have a pretty good interest rate with SoFi, but I'm actively looking to refinance because I'd rather pay more with a more transparent and less predatory lender.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Sep 13, 2017
Great Student Loan Refinancing Process!
Anonymous Product User

SoFi was so easy to use, I received a quick response to my application and to any questions I had. My rate is much lower than my government loan rates, and I feel really comfortable with my monthly payment. Though I chose a more aggressive payment plan, there were many options that would be manageable for many different people and sitautions. I will be completely done with my loan payoff in less than 5 years, whereas before refinancing, I would have been paying some loans off for more than 20 more years! Such a breath of fresh air for me. I feel like I can start my life now. 

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
Debt consolidation made easy!
pduck911 Product User

Application process was fast and easy, customer service is great. Offered much lower rates
Compared to other lenders.

more ...
Aug 28, 2017
Love the Student Loan Refinancing
madnan Product User

I applied for a personal Loan which was accepted at a great rate. I then decided to refinance my student loan. So not only am I saving $60 per month I was able to decrease my term from 15 years to 10 years. That was a savings of over $7k. Thanks SoFi!!

more ...
Aug 27, 2017
Parent loan for college student
bleedredandblack Product User

It was very easy to apply for a loan through So-fi.  It was just a matter of uploading requested documentation, then under review for a few days and then it was funded.  We received a great interest rate, so very satisfied with the loan and the process.  The staff is very friendly and helpful.

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
Student Loan Re-financing
AHD4TED Product User

While the overall process was a little challenging, no one offered rates as competitive as SoFi.

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
Personal Loan
Anonymous Product User

Everything was exactly as advertised/described. The process was extremely easy and the funding was done in less than two days. I would highly recommend this company. 

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
Personal loan for credit card debt
jwbmining Product User

Very easy process without any phone calls or text bombardment. I had 720 credit rating and got a 9.84% loan. Was the best out there. And with no prepayment or orgination fee, it was a slam dunk when I saw the rate. 

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Excellent Resource!
Anonymous Product User

Process was absolutely seamless and far exceeded my expectations in terms of ease of administration, responsiveness, and commitment!  

more ...
Jul 26, 2017
Awesome Customer Service
Anonymous Product User

This was such an quick and easier process. I have been getting loans through my credit union for 20 years, perfect payment track record, alway pay early but lately, it is like you have to give them an arm and a leg. I was hesitant when I read some of the bad reviews, but I did not have any problems.  The service reps that I spoke with were very nice, I did most everything online - I highly recommend! I want them to offer car loan refinancing now! I will look to them come mortgage time! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations