SallieMae Student Loans Reviews

1.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Jun 11, 2017
will lie about options and repayment
student4555 Product User

as a Salie Mae customer for a long time, my account was switched to Navient.  Sallie Mae and Navient both did away with paper billing, but i like to see my statement because you cannot pay extra on the principle online.

 Navient and Sallie Mae were not forthcoming and different answers to the same questions.  No option for PLSF, a program that when done correctly, (like though a legitimate non-profit organization like myfedLoan.gov) will forgive any left-over amount owed after 10 years of affordable repayment and working in a non-profit or governmental agency.  Sallie Mae and Navient conveniently switched from charging simple interest accrued once a month to compound interest accruing daily just like a credit card years ago and no-one noticed because it is in the fine print.  I notice online that the over-payment I paid was conveniently held onto for 7 days after the post date to conveniently pay for accrued compund interest.  I looked into a court case against them but found several slow-moving class-action suits against them.  

if you have a loan with them, run away and consolidate with the non-profit myfedLoan.gov immediately.  Do not call Sallie Mae or Navient.  Navient will tell you that you cannot consolidate their loan which is false. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
My Recomendation is JUST DON'T DO IT!!!!
Anonymous Product User

Another one of the reviews hit the nail on the head. Completing a deree is suppoed to be rewarding and one of the best experiences, but not if you get a Private Student Loan from Sallie Mae. They say they are all about the customer and helping, but in reality they are not. you end up with a payment you can't make and no options or opportunities to make a smaller payment to stay afloat. if you default there are reports of collection calls that offer no more help then you already did't get.  This will save you a lot of pain in the end, if you jsut say NO!

more ...
May 10, 2017
VERY angry and disappointed
SallieSucks Product User

Sallie Mae is polite when they are getting your money, but are very rude, mean, and hateful when you are late on your payment, need help from them, if your considering deferring your loan, or some other form of struggle. They have the worst customer service I have EVER eperienced.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
They steal from customers.
Anonymous Product User

They steal from customers.

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Worst lending institution ever!!
paujos Product User

They're liars. They have increased my interest rate 3 times in less than a year! They try to say it's due to using LIBOR! They're pathetic and don't believe a word they say. I read so many bad reviews, but decided to trust them. The worst mistake ever! Don't do it! You'll be sorry. They prey on people with poor credit! They're disgusting and predatory lenders! 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
worst
Anonymous Product User

they do not check to see if the loan was part of a fraud   If the persons name on the loan really signed or knew about it

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
The most God-awful company in existence!
Anonymous Product User

The worst company I have ever dealt with! I have called 10 times regarding a single request and not only has it not been resolved, the customer service reps are rude, dishonest and extremely incompetent. If they don't want to deal with a complicated situation or a frustrated customer, they literally hang-up on you! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

1 STAR IS TOO HIGH FOR THEM!!!

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Anonymous Product User

They lie! 

I was sold into the interest only repayment program while my daughter is still in school. The rep stated I could cancel it whenever I wanted or needed to. Guess again! Now I lost my job and the account cannot go into foreberence with this option!!

Even though I set up the payment plan and it's coming out of our checking account, they need my daughter's permission to cancel the automatic payment option!

I used to audit collection agencies for a large international bank; they weren't this bad!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations