SallieMae Student Loans Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Oct 27, 2017
Money when I needed it.

I got approved for enough money to finish school. The rate is fixed for me because it was the option I picked and I just have to pay $88 a month till I finish school at which point It raises to $250 a month until it is paied back. You get a small break on the fair intrest rate when you sign up for auto bill pay 0.5% I think. It helps and you don't have to do much for it.

You pick the the loan terms. You can choose to pay nothing until you finish school, I decided to pay the interest each month, it saves you money by the time your done paying them back. Federal loans are a way better deal, but I used that all up. Sallie Mae even says that when you are applying. I think it is in bold print..They say, "Do not to get this loan unless you have been denied federal aid." They do not benifit by tellling you that. They make money by loaning it out not sending you to the better deal.

Private loans are a for profit thing, so they cost more. This is not a bad deal though. At least I got money for school now. It is worth the loan. It will not be to hard to pay back when I am done with school. Engineers make like 15 times more a year then I do now. I am glad that Sallie Mae helped. I can deal with the loan terms I selected and agreed to. It is a way better deal then many other loans. It helps a lot. I appreciate it.  I even messed up with the options I wanted, customer sevice helped me alter the application to my satisfaction after it had been submitted to them for review.

I am glad Sallie Mae was there to loan me some cash when I needed it for school.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Money for school.

I got approved for enough money to finish school. The rate is fixed for me because it was the option I picked and I just have to pay $88 a month till I finish school at which point It raises to $250 a month until it is paied back. You get a small break on the fair intrest rate when you sign up for auto bill pay 0.5% I think. It helps and you don't have to do much for it.

You pick the the loan terms. You can choose to pay nothing until you finish school, I decided to pay the interest each month, it saves you money by the time your done paying them back. Federal loans are a way better deal, but I used that all up. Sallie Mae even says that when you are applying. I think it is in bold print..They say, "Do not to get this loan unless you have been denied federal aid." They do not benifit by tellling you that. They make money by loaning it out not sending you to the better deal.

Private loans are a for profit thing, so they cost more. This is not a bad deal though. At least I got money for school now. It is worth the loan. It will not be to hard to pay back when I am done with school. Engineers make like 15 times more a year then I do now. I am glad that Sallie Mae helped. I can deal with the loan terms I selected and agreed to. It is a way better deal then many other loans. It helps a lot. I appreciate it.  I even messed up with the options I wanted, customer sevice helped me alter the application to my satisfaction after it had been submitted to them for review.

I am glad Sallie Mae was there to loan me some cash when I needed it for school.

more ...
Jul 28, 2017
Anonymous Product User

I called to pay off my loan today, which has a 10.75% interest rate. I can get a line of credit with 0% for 15 months. Sallie Mae will not allow this cause they want to continue making money off me. There customer service is awful. They have also refused to change my last name after I got married despite receiving the appropriate paperwork and copy of my marriage license. My suggestion is to really compare and look at your options and keep in mind if you have to use Sallie Mae you will spend a lot of your time on the phone with customer service. I recommend staying away from Sallie Mae.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
will lie about options and repayment
student4555 Product User

as a Salie Mae customer for a long time, my account was switched to Navient.  Sallie Mae and Navient both did away with paper billing, but i like to see my statement because you cannot pay extra on the principle online.

 Navient and Sallie Mae were not forthcoming and different answers to the same questions.  No option for PLSF, a program that when done correctly, (like though a legitimate non-profit organization like myfedLoan.gov) will forgive any left-over amount owed after 10 years of affordable repayment and working in a non-profit or governmental agency.  Sallie Mae and Navient conveniently switched from charging simple interest accrued once a month to compound interest accruing daily just like a credit card years ago and no-one noticed because it is in the fine print.  I notice online that the over-payment I paid was conveniently held onto for 7 days after the post date to conveniently pay for accrued compund interest.  I looked into a court case against them but found several slow-moving class-action suits against them.  

if you have a loan with them, run away and consolidate with the non-profit myfedLoan.gov immediately.  Do not call Sallie Mae or Navient.  Navient will tell you that you cannot consolidate their loan which is false. 

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
My Recomendation is JUST DON'T DO IT!!!!
Anonymous Product User

Another one of the reviews hit the nail on the head. Completing a deree is suppoed to be rewarding and one of the best experiences, but not if you get a Private Student Loan from Sallie Mae. They say they are all about the customer and helping, but in reality they are not. you end up with a payment you can't make and no options or opportunities to make a smaller payment to stay afloat. if you default there are reports of collection calls that offer no more help then you already did't get.  This will save you a lot of pain in the end, if you jsut say NO!

more ...
May 10, 2017
VERY angry and disappointed
SallieSucks Product User

Sallie Mae is polite when they are getting your money, but are very rude, mean, and hateful when you are late on your payment, need help from them, if your considering deferring your loan, or some other form of struggle. They have the worst customer service I have EVER eperienced.

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
They steal from customers.
Anonymous Product User

They steal from customers.

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Worst lending institution ever!!
paujos Product User

They're liars. They have increased my interest rate 3 times in less than a year! They try to say it's due to using LIBOR! They're pathetic and don't believe a word they say. I read so many bad reviews, but decided to trust them. The worst mistake ever! Don't do it! You'll be sorry. They prey on people with poor credit! They're disgusting and predatory lenders! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations