Navient Student Loans Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Mar 29, 2017
Anonymous Product User

terrible

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Criminals
Anonymous Product User

shouldn't be in business, would rather you pay the loan and ruin your future than help you at all.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
Horrible!!!
Anonymous Product User

I had my student loan through my college. I never wanted or needed Navient. Then my college sold my loan to Navient and I was notified long after the fact. Now they will not leave me alone and keep trying to get me to pay $1600/mo. I live on a teacher's salary, so that was laughable. They kept telling me I needed to submit 3 different types of forms (which were almost impossible to find on their "user-friendly" site). And through all of this, I kept making $200 payment that somehow never got credited on my account. I hope this lawsuit runs Navient out of business for good!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 19, 2017

My daughter has had the same experience with this company...Set up automatic payments only for them to either not take it out or take it out twice...Then the phone calls would start😡...Finally...after 4 or five years they might have this corrected😮

 
Feb 15, 2017
Completely horrible company.
effnsl Product User

I graduated in 2011 and even with a bachelors have struggled to find a decent salaried job. My loans with navient alone are over 400 on top of loans I have with another company. Even after showing proof of financial hardship and providing my other expenses, they refused to work with me in lowering my monthly payments and told me to "figure it out." And then they proceeded to cut me off mid sentence, sarcastically say "have a great day" and hang up on me. Completely unprofessional, inflexible and money hungry company. I would never in a million years use this company again or recommend them. They've been a nightmare. 

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Never Ever do business with Navient.
Anonymous Product User

They will never work with you, they will raise interest, they will HARASS you endlessly.  They own you for the rest of your life!!!!!

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Student Loan
Anonymous Product User

Just started to pay my student loan off, and so far they have been willing to work with me on issues of repayment. Very prom

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
Please don't deal with Navient!
Anonymous Product User

Let's say I have a loan balance of $4,500. And you know what!! The interest charge is almost 50 cents appears daily. Total of interest monthly is almost $15. Even I tried to pay off the balance, it takes more than 5 days to process, BUT at the same time the interest charge is still charging every single day which is I still have to pay for the remaining interest after paying off the loan!!! They are trying to steal your money instead of helping you!!! If you are students especially ASIAN, DON'T DEAL WITH THIS FREAKING COMPANY!! 

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Stop. Shop elsewhere parents!
Anonymous Product User

Loan rates are compariable with other options.  The problem is when time comes for payback.  They are not willing to work with the student to make the payments more managiable for them.  Sallie Mae will work with you on payback options.  Even those these guys are a spin off of Sallie Mae; they are no longer associated together and have cut ties.  My child wants to pay back these loans on their own without despending on us.  These guys are not working with my child.  They say I as the parent should pay this back.....this is after they set up managable terms, drafted the first payment, and forgot to call back to let my child kno w they decided that the parents could pay this back.

Very unprofessional.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations