Student Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Navient Student Loans

2.4 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 03, 2016
great service
chica1955 Product User

I started with sallie Mae then Navient took over my loan. Never had any problem with them. I paid my loan off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 30, 2015
BEWARE
Sdelgado76 Product User

Stay away, they are theives and liars, they continued to charge the school after I left. I am legally qualified for a discharge and they want to play games,  there customer serice is HORRIBLE they dont speak english!!! They are Sallie Mae's Cover up. they claim I went to a school I never attended.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Oct 30, 2016
Student Loan
Anonymous Product User

Just started to pay my student loan off, and so far they have been willing to work with me on issues of repayment. Very prom

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
Please don't deal with Navient!
Anonymous Product User

Let's say I have a loan balance of $4,500. And you know what!! The interest charge is almost 50 cents appears daily. Total of interest monthly is almost $15. Even I tried to pay off the balance, it takes more than 5 days to process, BUT at the same time the interest charge is still charging every single day which is I still have to pay for the remaining interest after paying off the loan!!! They are trying to steal your money instead of helping you!!! If you are students especially ASIAN, DON'T DEAL WITH THIS FREAKING COMPANY!! 

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Stop. Shop elsewhere parents!
Anonymous Product User

Loan rates are compariable with other options.  The problem is when time comes for payback.  They are not willing to work with the student to make the payments more managiable for them.  Sallie Mae will work with you on payback options.  Even those these guys are a spin off of Sallie Mae; they are no longer associated together and have cut ties.  My child wants to pay back these loans on their own without despending on us.  These guys are not working with my child.  They say I as the parent should pay this back.....this is after they set up managable terms, drafted the first payment, and forgot to call back to let my child kno w they decided that the parents could pay this back.

Very unprofessional.

more ...
Jul 04, 2016
Navient not appearing on credit report
AMMMSW Product User

Dept of Education appeared for my student loans, but Navient doesn't for some reason. Very disconcerting song as how I will literally be making hundreds of payments that don't appear to be helping my credit score.

more ...
May 18, 2016
Better than Sallie Mae
MTB1218 Product User

Since they took over from Sallie Mae the people are better and finding solutions than harrassing you. Not sure if I would recommend them, but better than Sallie Mae ever was!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 28, 2016

I am a "CO-SINGER" for my "GRANDDAUGHTER" I got stuck with it and I cant clam it on my **** tax! IT sucks and they "WELL" not work with you

 
Apr 21, 2016
Always been helpful to me.
Vaharala Product User

I have gotten more useful help from them since they took over for Sallie Mae. Everyone I have talked to has been helpful and friendly. My credit has even gone up since I have been able to set up with a plan that is doable for me.

more ...
Apr 03, 2016
great service
chica1955 Product User

I started with sallie Mae then Navient took over my loan. Never had any problem with them. I paid my loan off.

more ...
Feb 25, 2016
It's ok
FrankTheTank Product User

I've never had too many issues with them.  Their website is horrible looking, but their service is okay. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2016
Horrible!
Anonymous Product User

Stay away these people are thieves!

more ...
Jan 09, 2016
Sallie Mae's daughter Company
Anonymous Product User

Stay away if possible. Poor customer service. Never return your calls. Very shady billing practices. In short a rip off of your hard earned $$$$

Worse than Sallie Mae!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations