Earnest Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
32 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Oct 16, 2017
Lifesaving
Anonymous Product User

It’s a no-brainer

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Refinance
Thanks12323 Product User

Very easy and clear process. Saved me almost 2% on two loans, that is a ot when talking about compound interest.  Now my loans are also in one place, one payment.  I am going to place my referral link below ( we should both earn a $200 referral, not sure how long it will stay active). Thanks. https://www.earnest.com/invite/ryan3948

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Anonymous Product User

What a great experience it was dealing with this company. I never thought the process would be so simple. Thank you Earnest!

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Easy, user friendly - great support
mbs80 Product User

Had a positive experience. Initially was rejected because of a miscommunication. Reached out, spoke to a friendly human who understood the issue and solved the problem. I'm a fan. Very responsive - like dealing with a 21st century business that cares about its customers.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Easy process; Great product!
cstaff721 Product User

I wish I had refinanced sooner! Overall, the process with Earnest was super easy and very clear. I loved being able to select the exact amount I can pay each month and get the best possible rate for that time frame. Overall I'm saving over $2500 and paying off my loans more than 2 years ahead of my previous provider's schedule. 

more ...
Sep 24, 2017
Great experience all around!
Anonymous Product User

I've had nothing but positive experiences since refinancing my loans with Earnest. Their customer service staff is very helpful, professional, and timely in their responses. The application process requires a lot of documentation but it is worth it for the rates that they offer and NO FEES! I like the fact that you can choose your payment amount and corresponding interest rate. I would highly recommend using Earnest to get rid of your debt!

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Great rate, great service!
LazzleDazzle Product User

I've refinanced with Earnest twice now.  Best interface of the lenders I've worked with.  Easy application process, good rate.  Look forward to paying my loan with Earnest.

more ...
Aug 31, 2017
Lowest rates, super easy application
Anonymous Product User

Earnest gave me the lowest rates (vs Sofi, DRB) and had the easiest application process out there. I did not have to scan anything or procure pdfs from each financial institution. The tech-enabled process made the entire experience pleasant. 

To give you a sense of my rates, I originally had a 15 year 6.49% loan from Sofi (!!). It was reduced to 5.07%, 9.7  years with Earnest! After a year, I refinanced to 4.07%, 7.5 years. After another year, I got it down to 3.49%, <5 years. All this while keeping my monthly amount nearly the same. What helps is that Earnest has a bi-weekly payment option which accelerates the principal payment. 

I also love that it's so easy to change your monthly or bi-weekly payments through the website. Every now and then I'll pay a little extra and Earnest makes it super easy to do so. 

I'm Earnest's biggest fan!

more ...
Aug 30, 2017
Student loan refinance
Anonymous Product User

I was hesitant to leave my federal loans and go with a private company but Earnest made my decision super easy. I lowered my interest rate and was able to knock 6 years off my debt plan! They offered a referral bonus and when I had questions I called and had a person on the line in less than a minute. They were super helpful and completely knowledgeable about the process even with my weird questions. Sofi offered a slightly lower rate but how estate I'm happy I went with earnest.

more ...
Aug 27, 2017
Easy!
Anonymous Product User

So mad at myself for waiting 3 years after college to refinance! I checked out a lot of different sites and got the best rates from Earnest. I had a lot of different loans ranging from 4-12%. I'm now at 3.89% across the board and I don't feel as stressed out about my student loan debt as I know exactly how much interest is going to accumulate and what payments are going to be every month for the next 6 years. The whole process was very easy.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations