Earnest Student Loans Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
60 Reviews

From Product Users in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Student Loans

Check out refinancing options or shop for a new student loan.

SHOP STUDENT LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former product users in the last year.

Nov 19, 2018
Customer service is deteriorating
fostecl Product User

I've been a student loan refinance customer with Earnest for over 2 years, and the first year and a half was great, but I think their customer service and online experience has deteriorated since they were acquired by Navient. The loan process was easy, and during the first year I could easily resolve any issues with a customer service rep over the phone, email, or text message. That great service has changed dramatically over the last few months. Reaching them by phone is a waist of time: I've called on multiple occasions and waited on hold for twenty minutes only to be disconnected, and it's taken over a week to get any type of email response.

more ...
Nov 01, 2018
liberating!!!
mkl56 Product User

exceelent people, products and service...Top notch

more ...
Nov 01, 2018
comprehensive!!!
mkl56 Product User

excellent products and service...top scores!!!

more ...
Sep 28, 2018
Extremely efficient and easy to apply
RWK548 Product User

I found myself applying for student loan refinancing through Earnest on a whim- I had been working with a different student loan company, which I originally chose because they had the lowest rates, but I had been getting the absolute run-around in the application process. After two weeks of being asked to submit the same documents multiple times, I decided in frustration to look elsewhere. I found a comparable rate on Earnest and- I kid you not- from the start of applying to being accepting and signing off on loan documents, it took me all of four hours to complete. And I did it all on my phone. Comparing the first loan company that couldn't seem to keep anything straight for 2 weeks, to Earnest who had me completely taken care of in four hours- I'm blown away. Very easy and straightforward process that was easy to navigate.  The only small frustration I have is that one of my previous loan providers didn't end up showing that they received the payoff check from Earnest for several weeks- when I investigated this, it turns out the payoff check was sent right away but didn't have my account number on it, so it sat in a pile without being processed for a long time. So my recommendation is that you follow up with previous loan servicers and make sure they have the check, with the account #, after Earnest's website indicates it's been sent. All in all, I was very impressed with Earnest and will recommend it wholeheartedly to others looking to refinance student loans.

more ...
Sep 14, 2018
Wpamela461 Product User

Everything was good, except supplying the requested information. I’m old school and like using the mail or fax machine and you couldn’t. If you’re not computer literate, your in trouble. They did try to help me through it and we got it done.

more ...
Sep 14, 2018
TotalhappyOne Product User

No run around like you have with SoFi and Credible but the worst was Citizens where they say you get a sign on $500 bonus and never get it. I've never been happier then I've ever been then I am with Earnest. Honest, straight forward and easy. Guarantee 100% I'll use them again.

more ...
Aug 27, 2018
Student Loan Refinance
Dwt6d5 Product User

Fast, friendly and great customer service. Plus, competitive rates and many options to choose from.

more ...
Aug 20, 2018
Nevets2584 Product User

Quick and friendly response during the application process from customer service which included an email correspondence and texting from a mobile phone. Rates are comparable to other student loan refinance services such as SoFi but can be lower since they consider other aspects such as money saved in retirement and other accounts. Fine print made sure to point out benefits you would be giving up for refinancing Federal Loans. Overall, the application process was transparent and hassle free.

more ...
Aug 16, 2018
Student Loan Refianace
Mathios Product User

Best customer service. Fast and very informative.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this product overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this product?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations