Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kohl's Charge Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
84 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2017
Kohl's Charge Card
Anonymous Cardholder

They will purposely skip a month of sending you your email statement. Then when they send it the following month add a late fee of $15 plus interest. If you notice, you have to go into their phone system which is a hassle and time consuming to reach customer service. They eventually will wave the late fee, if you pay them right then, but not the interest. Total robbery!!

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
I've filed two disputes on this card!
theplantita Cardholder

Just as other reviewers have stated before me, I can assure you that this card is absolutely not worth the hassle or "savings" one might be persuaded to take advantage of by signing up. Stay away because one small late payment will blow up your phone & ruin your credit indefinitely. I'm still in the process of directly disputing their claim and getting the runaround from their reps. I can't wait to close this account once the dispute is cleared. 

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Great!
Anonymous Cardholder

Great Shopping experience, Rewards and customer service!

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Excellent card to have
davmaj Cardholder

I have had the Kohl's Card for about 6 months now.

Have had 0 problems. 

I know when my bill is due and pay it in full each month before the due date.

If you have problems with this card it is YOUR fault., don't blame the card or company,

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Helping me build credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this credit card for about 2 years and it has helped me build up my credit, it's also the only credit card I own (or have ever owned). Overall the system is not conistent on sending emails to remind me when a payment is due, so I have to make sure to log on and check after I buy something. The only thing that is annoying is that one time I was "late" because I made a payment on the last day it was due after 7p.m. They are also slow to increase your credit limit, I started out with about a $300 limit now it's up to $1500 but their increases are very low so it takes a while to increase. Overall this is a good first credit card.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Do not apply for a Kohl's Charge Card
customerreview Cardholder

I paid off my $5.00 bill 2 weeks after the 30 day mark (due 11/6/16, paid on 11/18/16), and the late payment was reported to the credit bureau. This significantly dropped by excellent credit score, to a standard "good" rating. I've never had this issue with any other retailer credit cards. Please be advised to not apply for the Kohl's charge card any time in the future. 

Kohl's pushes a lot of incentives to get you to apply for their charge card. 12 special offers every year, 30% off your first purchase, etc. It sounds great. But if you decide to open a Kohl's charge card, know that it is a guarantee you will significantly damage your credit score if you fall behind on just one payment.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Customer service is a scam!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

The card has a customer service number in back. I called and went through 24 minutes of cell phone time of offers for diabetes supplies, medical alert buttons, burial insurance and such. I clicked out of all of them after which a recording of a Michelle came in to congratulate me for qualifying for their sweepstake and then she hung up. I asked my daughter to try. Same scenario. We found a different number on line called it and complained. We were told that the number we had called was a legit Kohls number therefore they could not take the complaint. My question I called about was never answered. I am annoyed enough I will never shop at Kohls again. I realize they sure do not care about that or their customers but she hat dies not make it right. 

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
STAY AWAY!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had a Kohls credit card for several years and had never had any issues before with purchases, statements and payments......until now. In Spet I made a purchase totalling $30.37 from the local store believing I would receive a statement about payment due dates like I always had in the past. I basically forgot about the purchase thinking a statement would be received. It never was! On December 13 2016 I fianlly received a statement saying I now owed over $87 that included 2 separate "late fees" that had accumulated in the last 3 months........over which I had received ZERO statments. I promptly paid the total since I had always valued my "EXCELLENT" credit rating very much. Today Dec 19 2016 I received a message from my credit rating company that my "EXCELLENT" credit rating of 820 had now taken a hit due to the Kohls fiasco and was now "GOOD" at 720. I have contacted Kohls twice now and it seems no one really cares so I have requested an account cancellation and would advise others to do the same.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Great card to have....
daicom Cardholder

I've had this card over a year now, never had any problems with payments, I know when my bill is due so I pay it before the due date.  It amazes me that people complain that they didn't receive a bill so it was late, I know my due date and pay it before then, no problems.  A CLI of $500 was given after 6 months.

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
It is bad for credit increases
Anonymous Cardholder

I usually have a credit score between 650-700. I got approved for an increase from $400 to $700 a year after having it. I have Never been late on a payment and when I just requested an increase they denied me. All my other credit cards have way higher limits so I do not understand why they cant just approve me for an increase again :/

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card