Kohl's Charge Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
92 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 04, 2017
Excellent card to have
davmaj Cardholder

I have had the Kohl's Card for about 6 months now.

Have had 0 problems. 

I know when my bill is due and pay it in full each month before the due date.

If you have problems with this card it is YOUR fault., don't blame the card or company,

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 07, 2016
Slow to update
donatelife Cardholder

Kohls was the first credit card to take a chance on me. I received a letter in the mail stating I was pre approved for a card, I thought it was total BS but I went along with it and to my surprise, I was approved for 300.00. Not bad considering I was just beginning to rebuild my credit. The card is fine, my only complaint is CK constantly shows that I am over my utilization even though I have paid down my card. Capital One really needs to get it together and update their system quicker. I have had the card for 3 or 4 months now and it shows the exact same balance.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 22, 2017
Good as long as you manage it properly..
MaOfficial Cardholder

I got this card by "accident." It was Black Friday 2013 and I only applied because of the extra discount at the register. It wasn't immediately approved and thought nothing of it. My credit was essentially ruined from the 2008-2010 economic downturn, so it didn't bother me. I got the card in the mail a few weeks later with a $300 credit limit. Everything hasn't been peachy though, and not on Kohl's part. I've had a few times where I was late (like a few days but they actually return the late fees!) and one time I thought the card was going to close during a lay off Sept of 2016. BUT Kohl's worked with me. I set up a 3 month auto-draft for the late payments plus interest and in january 2017 I was all caught up. They refunded all of the late fees! Every last one of them which was well over $100. The only thing is, my credit report shows 3 months of 90 days past due from the end of last year. UGH!!! So like any other card, manage it wisely and you'll be okay. People forget, store cards only make money from purchase from their store, so issuing you credit is an incentive to buy, hence Kohl's sending 101 offers in the mail. 

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
Good as long as you mange it properly
MaOfficial Cardholder

I got this card by "accident." It was Black Friday 2013 and I only applied because of the extra discount at the register. It wasn't immediately approved and thought nothing of it. My credit was essentially ruined from the 2008-2010 economic downturn, so it didn't bother me. I got the card in the mail a few weeks later with a $300 credit limit. Everything hasn't been peachy though, and not on Kohl's part. I've had a few times where I was late (like a few days but they actually return the late fees!) and one time I thought the card was going to close during a lay off Sept of 2016. BUT Kohl's worked with me. I set up a 3 month auto-draft for the late payments plus interest and in january 2017 I was all caught up. They refunded all of the late fees! Every last one of them which was well over $100. The only thing is, my credit report shows 3 months of 90 days past due from the end of last year. UGH!!! So like any other card, manage it wisely and you'll be okay. People forget, store cards only make money from purchase from their store, so issuing you credit is an incentive to buy, hence Kohl's sending 101 offers in the mail. 

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
Good card to have
sxiong823 Cardholder

I've had this card for almost 3 years now and it's not a bad card to have, especially if you're a regular Kohl's shopper. I don't shop there much but, Kohl's sends me almost every month some kind of discount (up to 30% off) so it's always a plus. After having the card for a little over a year, to my surprise they raised my CL. Managing my account online and their app is super easy! 

more ...
Jul 16, 2017
charge card
Anonymous Cardholder

This was worse mistake of my life. I opened the card to get the discount. I paid it off in the store. Now a year later I find out that they have been charging my card since April. I just had to pay an outrageous amount of money to get this card off my credit. The phone people blamed it on me. They never once sent a bill informing me I owe money. I have closed my card and will never open anything with Kohls again.

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Just applied and approved
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied about 3 months ago and was denied with all 3 scores floating around 570, I researched and found out most people were approved with 580-590....here we are 3 months later and I'm now at around 610... and working very hard to clean up my credit and decided to try again. BAM approved, now I don't shop at Kohl's, but maybe I will now, but I mainly got this card to show I have credit out there for rebuilding purposes.... 

1 year ago I was barely able to scrap by to get a car loan for a new vehicle, and now I have my car, a few charge cards, and a few credit cards and watch my score slowly raise each month... it's a great feeling 

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
The worst experience
Anonymous Cardholder

You can never speak to a real person, its always automated. If you use this card, pay right away in the store. Its impossible over the phone. I called 3 times and as im approaching the due date, my card was still never charged and the bill was never payed. Scared that I was going to have an overdue bill, I made the trek to the store. The lady didnt listen to the amount I wanted to pay, and charged me a different number. Then A WEEK LATER, one of my over the phone payments finally went through. Now I was charged twice, and there is no one to talk to about getting my money back, because no one at the store is of any help, and the phone number is only automated to pay your bill. This has been the most frustratiing experience.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Stay Away!
N0t4u2kn0w Cardholder

They took my payment out of my checking account, tried to say I did not make my payment and charged me a late fee. Still trying to resolve, they are slow to respond, even sent them copies of the check they cashed.

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
NO CREDIT LIMIT INCREASE
LadyJae0817 Cardholder

Had this card for over a year and nothing... credit limit still at $300, I went back to check my payment history, of course I have made on time, and some months paid TWICE!! It the love button to ask for an increase... NOTHING... oh well... I will shop at other stores  

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
diaster waiting to happen
kit941 Cardholder

I have been an excellent customer for more than 10 yrs. always paid in full never late. Was delayed on a trip and was late for the first time paid amount in full as soon as I realized my error.

They reported me and lowered my rating from 820 to 700 for one error. I sent them emails explaining my mistake, did not matter and claimed they coud not remove report!!

One time and they are paid in full apparently they don't care about their customers at all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 22, 2017

I doubt that one late pay on your credit in 10 years, even your 30 day late pay would lower your score from 820 to 700 like you said it did.. I had a student loan default back when I didn't give a crap about my credit. Even with that horrible default (over 120 days late) my credit was only decreased by 40 points. Now today, 49 points for me would be unacceptable. But in my early 20's when I didn't realize how much credit meant. Please be honest on here, people really do look to this for advice. Making inaccurate remarks is irresponsible, like me 20 years ago with my credit.

 
Jul 06, 2017
Average/High APR, Overall Good card

So as a card holder for over 3 years, Ive come to find out alot about the card from speaking to a number of thier Customer Service Reps/Going online to thier website Here is what I have gathered:

-You will not be reported to the Credit Bureau until 30 days after you miss your first payment.

-Late fees are 27 for first missed payment, 37 for any consecutive missed payment.

-The company is willing to waive 2 Late Fees per calander year (12 months)

-Make sure when you change addresses you contact them, just changing it at the post office will not be enough.

-If you prefer emailed statements register your card on thier website and change your preference. As of recent they also appear to have some sort of text message options for reminders or something.

Overall I've enjoyed having the card, I would recomend paying off the card each month if you can. I was sick of seeing some of these other posted about people being reported for 1 missed payment, which is why I made this. Obviously cicumstances varey from person to person but the way a card works is pretty similar between most cards. They are more leanant than other cards out there. I would give this card 4.5 stars but since that is not an option I will go ahead and round up. Hope this helps.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card