Kohl's Charge Card

Overall card rating

3.0
176 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Credit Karma Member

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

35
4
0

Most helpful negative review

Mar 04, 2016
Credit Karma Member

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

33
5
0


Member ratings


All member reviews (176)

54
27
17
9
69

Mar 10, 2022
3 Interest rates
Credit Karma Member

Getting charged 3 interest rate and so makes my interest on my card double dont ever get a kohls card unless you pay right off bc they will use what they can to rob you

2
0
0

Sep 21, 2021
Disaster Don't Do It
Credit Karma Member

I've had this card for years, and they started adding late fees when their own system started providing the wrong payment information - you have to call to argue and get it taken care of. Always assume $5 more then the minimum payment, and just don't get this card it will mess with your credit and the discounts aren't worth it.

5
0
0

Jun 19, 2021
Easy Approval Easy to Manage
Credit Karma Member

I love the Kohl's card. I was approved when my average score was about 615. I got a $300 credit limit and I got great discounts for the first time use of the card. I went shopping on Memorial Day and I bought almost $400 worth of clothing for $160. They make it really easy to pay off the card: online, mail, phone, or in store. I am paying off the card in increments and will have it completely paid off before my due date. Payments post within 24 hours. They also give credit limit increases every three months with responsible use. I am excited about that prospect. The APR is a little on the high side, 29%, but it is a store card and they are really designed to be charge cards which are different that credit cards in that the full balance is expected to be paid by the due date. You can finance with Kohl's just be prepared to pay it off quickly to avoid the interest.

4
1
0

Jun 16, 2021
AWFUL credit card
Credit Karma Member

I have been a customer for some time now. DO NOT get this credit card. customer service is AWFUL and it only hurts your credit. I have paid things on time and it still hurts your credit. you will spend a lot of time disputing your credit history with this credit card. please learn from my mistake.

8
1
0

May 20, 2021
Use it and pay it off the next day
Credit Karma Member

The only way to take advantage of this card is to use it for the discounts and pay it off when you get home the same day. If you don’t they’ll report your balance even if your on time. Get the discount and pay it off. That’s the only way to win with this card.

7
2
1

May 14, 2021
Trying to build credit, Do Not get this card
Credit Karma Member

I acquired a kohl’s charge in March of 2021. Every single time I use the card and it reports to the credit agency hat I used it, I get a dropI’m my credit score. Every single on time payment, I get a drop in my credit score. It’s a trap. I put a small amount in this card each month and pay the balance when it’s due. I’m getting 2 drops in my credit score each month with this card. This is the economy month total I’ve had 5 credit score drops for using and paying this card. I only gave 1 other card. I only utilize less than 10 % combined utilization on both cards each month. This makes absolutely no sense at all. Since when does having a credit card, using your credit card, keeping your utilization under 30% each month and making full ontime payments continually ruin your credit?

9
2
0

Apr 02, 2021
I paid on time
Credit Karma Member

Well, canceled my card for no reason. I didn’t file bankruptcy towards them. They still canceled my card 2 years after my bankruptcy.

1
1
1

May 05, 2020
Horrible
Credit Karma Member

Paid off balance in store completely. Got a phone call that I was sent to collections over $9 that I did not owe Khols. Credit score dropped from 760 to 712 in 1 month over something I paid in the store!!!!

6
1
0

Apr 10, 2020
Kohls owes me money
Credit Karma Member

I paid my account in full and returned an item so I had a $15.98 credit on my account, I have called kohl’s over and over for a refund. They have promised me 4 times I would receive a check in the mail. This happened in January 2020, I have yet to receive anything, they simply wrote it off on my account without giving me what is due, I will never shop at kohl’s again, a big ripoff store. Customer service is the worse.

7
3
1

Mar 09, 2020
Don't take credit card
Credit Karma Member

I had a very bad experience with Kohls credit card. I have been a loyal customer with Kohls for more than 7 yrs. Due to communication gap between customer service and myself, I end up due of 2$. I didn't know that there was a due on my account. I was under impression that, I paid complete amount. After 3 months happened to see that my credit score dropped very less. Then I come to know that Kohls made for 3$, they made 35$ late fee and interest and eventually my bill went up to 120 around for 3 months. They Blindly informed Credit bureau without any notice to me. Now my credit score is dropped 30% due to missed payment reported by Kohls. Later I approached Kohls, they waved of the late payment fee, But they are not agreed to approach Credit bureau to removed missed payment in my account .My Questions to Kohls. 1) On what basis they will report to Credit bureau? They should inform customer before approaching Credit Bureau. If Customer is not agreed or not responded, then should approach credit Bureau. 2) Do they have any common sense, any one will spoil the credit history for 2$ payment? 3) Does Kohl's has ethics? They screwed my credit history. My Advise please take car before Appling credit card from Department stores. My friend had similar experience with Macys.

6
1
1

1-10 of 176

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card

Kohl's Charge Card


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.