Kohl's Charge Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
89 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 28, 2017
Very useful, saves me money
Anonymous Cardholder

I am 20 years old and had this cars since I was 18! My credit score is 722. I am in management while going to school full time. I am constantly getting credit line increases until they maxed me out at $3000. I get tons of Kohl's cash and coupons! Definitely recommend this card!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 13, 2017
Just applied and approved
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied about 3 months ago and was denied with all 3 scores floating around 570, I researched and found out most people were approved with 580-590....here we are 3 months later and I'm now at around 610... and working very hard to clean up my credit and decided to try again. BAM approved, now I don't shop at Kohl's, but maybe I will now, but I mainly got this card to show I have credit out there for rebuilding purposes.... 

1 year ago I was barely able to scrap by to get a car loan for a new vehicle, and now I have my car, a few charge cards, and a few credit cards and watch my score slowly raise each month... it's a great feeling 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2017
Terrible customer service
shastaSDC Cardholder

Been a cardholder for 3 years 9 months with no negative marks and got denied a credit limit increase for 100$ by some *** over the phone. Will not do business with them again

more ...
Nov 14, 2017
Great
DylanG38 Cardholder

I got approved with around 750 credit and a $1500 limit. They give you many great deals in the mail and I got 30% off the purchase when I opened it and have gotten a few 15% off coupons in the mail. Just dont miss payments and the late fees dont matter like most of the reviewers. Be responsible.

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Not bad
Anomomos Cardholder

Its not a full blown credit card but the perks and such in store is nice. Gotta watch any interest and monthly fee if your trying to keep balance low every month.

Late fee is rough but average.

Had a few late payments the last year, askes for credit limit increase and still got it.

So many complaints over their own screw ups. And OF COURSE a card reports to bureaus when YOUR LATE. Welcome to using CREDIT CARDS.

Use them correctly and responsibly and their good. Be irresponsible expect to have to pay the conquences for your actions. Ya its a foriegn concept, but sorry, you screw up, your fault.

more ...
Oct 29, 2017
SUCKS!!!!
nataliajv Cardholder

My first payment was late because they kept saying that my account number to my bank was wrong and it wasn’t so I got reported to the credit bureau and my credit went down 250 points. It took them two months to get that figured out and then when I finally got to a rep that had some since she told me that the person processed it wrong and that the account number I had on file was corrupt and I had to pay $150 to get my account back up and then even after I pay the 150 (even though it only been two monthssince it being late) I still owed them another $150... ever since then my minimum due goes up $10 every month even though I’m not late well just got off the phone because they were trying to charge me 40 because they said that my payment went through late through the automatic system and that i should call and get a rep next time which is bull****. I just closed my account this card sucks. The only good thing is they took the late payment off my credit in my score went up about 120 points but it should’ve never went down in the first place they even had record of me constantly calling and trying to get my payment to go through but didn’t want to help. 

more ...
Oct 25, 2017
MelissaD50891 Cardholder

I was a regular kohls shopper. I have purchased the majority of my childrens clothes and my own clothes from them and used their credit card to buy them and make payments. Recently I moved and did not update my address with them. MY FAULT. I take responsibility for this but when I realized that I had missed a payment I immediately paid the entire balance and called to appologzie for paying late. Two weeks later I noticed that I had a mark on my credit stating that my account was out of compliance and needed attention. I called kohls again explained what had happened and why I had missed the payment. Mind you this is the first payment that I have missed with them or anyone in the last 15 years. I asked that they remove the late payment from my credit report. They sent me a letter the following week that stated that I made the mistake and they would not be assisting me with getting the missed payment from my credit report. I have done some research on this topic and creditors regularly work with their customers when a mistake like this is made and like I said it was the first time. I do not make a habit of not paying my bills. This company unfortunately will not work with us or help in any way when needed. I'm very disappointed with them especially when I have done so much business with them in the past. I will not be doing any additional business with them and am in search of a new store to shop.

more ...
Oct 25, 2017
Affects Credit Score Immensely (Beware)
Anonymous Cardholder

im in agreement with everyone saying that if you miss one payment they report you to the credit bureau.    I have excellent credit never missed a payment.  Had an issue with the Kohls card which I have only used once.   I tried to pay on line but site was down.   I did not know I needed to tell kohls i wanted a paper statement so it came in my email which I rarely check.   They called 45 days later for a $30 charge.  I paid and explained what had happened.   The girl waived the late fee and assured me they would not report it to my credit.  Well they did.  My excellent credit is now marred over $30.   Im very discouraged and will be cancelling my card.

more ...
Oct 24, 2017
Crap
Anonymous Cardholder

They were horrible the worsy card ever . Please do no get this card you will regret it.

more ...
Oct 14, 2017
great credit card!
Anonymous Cardholder

first off, most of these negative reviews are about the late fees.. if you're paying your bill late of course you're going to get a late fee! but i pay my bill every month on time and i get very great perks and rewards from the card! they DO give you credit line increases.. you can get your first one after 5 payments made on time! mine went from 300 to 750 after my first 5 on time payments! great card!!! when i got approved my credit score was about 620.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 11, 2017

What was the credit bureau that your score was from?

 
Oct 03, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

One of my first credit cards .. I've had it for a few years and I'm happy.

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Terrible service
Anonymous Cardholder

I was 36 days late for my credit card bill for $21, they reported it to the credit bureau and I made an immediate payment over the phone at 36 days as soon as I realized it was past due.  I had just missed the email for the bill, since I rarely use the card.  Dropped my credit score 70 points, even when immediately paid.  Called, sent a letter, called again, they refuse to do anything to help my credit score. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card