Kohl's Charge Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
83 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2017
Total Rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

In order to get the highly advertised discounts you have to pay with the Kohl's charge card. If you miss a payment the have the highest penalties I have ever seen anywhere.  Everything in the stores is incredibly overprised so the much touted 15%, 20% and 30% dicscounts only bring the price down to what you would pay for similar items in other stores.  Save yourself a lot of headaches and shop elsewhere using your debit card.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Easy.
Amaziling Cardholder

10$ charge to pay the bill over the phone, i hate that.but its easy to go in and pay. Never had a problem receiving the bill, via regular post and email. I had brand new credit, just turned 18 and got this card, automatically had a 1500 limit. The apr is hiiigh.

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Evil
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't bother getting this card. If you miss just one payment, they will not work with you to remove it, ever. There are so many better companies out there to choose from, that will forgive you if you make a mistake. Be smart, choose a different shopping venue. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
It's just okay
Anonymous Cardholder

I've had the card since November 2016. Low CL of $300...I had purchased enough to have MVC status which entitles you to more coupons and discounts. I purchased a lot at Christmas and paid the sucker off each time I made a purchase. I don't carry a balance as the CL is so low it looks negative for me if anything is left over from the previous month. I asked for an increase and was declined, though I have 2 other Cap1 cards with high limits and always pay on time. I guess what the other reviewer said was true... they are slow to increase your limit. I will not charge anything else until I get an increase as $300 is nothing. I can say that I have never had a problem making payments and having them be credited timely. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Must for Kohl's shopper
Anonymous Cardholder

If you visit Kohl's this card is must to get their offered discount. Not sure if you have any other advantage...

Credit Limit is very slow. There is no app. Adding family member to account is difficult.

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
Low Credit Limit But Good For Discounts
Teavey Cardholder

I've had this card nearly a year and while every other store card and major credit card in my portfolio has raised my limit, Kohl's won't give me anything over my initial $300 limit. It's not a bad thing as I probably won't spend more than $100 or so on any given trip but what I do like about it is that I am always qualifying for additional discounts on top of the sale price. That alone makes content with this card but I would like for them to trust me with a larger limit at some point. ;)

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Great for rebuilding credit
cherryflava08 Cardholder

I was hesitant after seeing all the negative reviews. With a credit score of 580 thru credit karma I applied assuming I would be denied. Surprisingly I was approved for a $300 dollar credit limit! Which for my first card I was completely fine with! My credit score went up about 30 points after getting approved and using it. The minimum payment is only 27 dollars a month but as you probably know it's usually better to pay more. As for the payments it's just easier going to the store and paying at the register it reflects on the account almost immediately. However, like others have said there are no payment reminders. The easiest thing to do is to start your online account and keep an eye on the due date which I believe is basic common responsibility. If your looking to rebuild your credit, go for it!! I'm just greatful for capital one to take a chance on me and helping me start to build my credit.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Not so great
Anonymous Cardholder

Not so great service..adding my wife to my account was not easy. App & web interface is not great.

But it is must if you do shopping in Kohl's.

more ...
Apr 02, 2017
Ridiculous Late fee, closed card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have always made on time in-full payments, but missed the last payment. It was almost $30 total that I owed them. Made a mistake in being late, and was charged $27. So I went ahead and canceled the card, after being a customer for 6 years. The customer service rep was rude to me, and would not even admit that this was ridiculously high. I don't even plan on going back to Kohl's again, because I haven't been at all impressed with them during the past couple of years. After reading some of these other reviews, I am now highly concerned that my credit will be ruined over that $30 I owed them.  

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

GIVE YOU VERY LITTLE INCREASES!! I ASKED FOR ONE AND WAS DENIED!! VERY SMALL CREDIT LINE NOT WORTH IT!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card