Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kohl's Charge Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 23, 2016
Worst card for Credit Limit Increase!!!!
jrway04 Cardholder

I have been awesome and paid them the full balance every month well before the due date!! I have asked for several credit limit increases and they decline me but NEVER give me a reason as to why. Mean while other cards are getting auto increases without me asking. Customer service is so poor. What a joke. There isnt even any benfits except coupons and they wont raise the limit. How shameful.

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Kohl's
Anonymous Cardholder

Low limit of 300 approval in store. Fico score 615.  I only used for the discounts for being a card holders for kids clothes everything else in this store is way to expensive! 

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
Scam
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not sign up for this card.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
AWFUL SERVICE
Anonymous Cardholder

Be very very careful!!! Don't get it thinking you will benefit from the "discounts". Sure, up front, it looks amazing! It is hard to resist when the cashier says, "Oh you can save X% if you sign up for Kohls charge card". Reality is, that the interest charged by this credit card is ridiculous! 

View a  screenshot of my account...

http://prntscr.com/d3wtmn

In my estimate, the interest rate is  $6.47(approx.22%). 

The worst is late fee! I got a day or two late and the late fee is $37!!! How on earth is that fair? 

If you are like me, human, then you know it isnt always easy to stay ahead of bills. Especially, during tough times. But if you are able to pay ahead of time, sure go ahead and enjoy the occasional discounts. But for everyone else who are like me, please DO NOT SIGN UP for this ridiculous card. 

Also, Kohls will keep calling you, one day I left my cell phone at home, Kohls had called me 7 times!!! I am more than happy to show you all

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 07, 2016

All store cards have high rates. $37 late fee is common for store cards as well as visa and mastercards. The best way to use a store card is to get the discount and immediately pay off the balance.

 
Oct 14, 2016
Best Department Savings Ever!
seasonyorica Cardholder

I was approved in like February 2016 with a $300 credit limit and my scores were between a 530-580 between all 3 credit scores. I love the savings. I have the app, so I pay online. I've never missed a payment and they gave me a $400 increase in September 2016. So now my limit $700, I get tons of coupons and rewards. If you pay on time and don't spend more then you can afford, then this will be a great card for you! PS, I set an alert on my calendar in my phone to pay a day ahead, so if you're late, it's your fault, not Kohls.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 07, 2016

I completely agree with you.

 
Oct 12, 2016
Thank u Kohls!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for a Kohls Credit Card at the register only because I would get 15% Discount on my purchase. After my ex husband completely destoyed my credit a few years ago I knew I would not be approved but would still get the 15% discount. To my surprise they did approve me and let me use it immediately to pay for my purchase! Thank u Kohls for taking a chance on me when nobody else would! U will not regret it. I Love Kohls!

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Good card
neomaanderson Cardholder

I have had my card for a month now. Yes they started me off with $300. I dont see any issues with that. I bought about 200 bucks in merchandise and paid about 20 bucks immediately. Then the next  we another $20. Don't wait until you get your statement. You know how much you spent, just put money on it once a week like $10. That will help, well at least it works for me.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Small credit line to trap into missed pa
Anonymous Cardholder

This is the only blemish on my account. They make it so difficult to log on and won't give auto payments. Just seems like a money trap.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 07, 2016

Nobody can trap you into making a late payment. I'm not trying to be rude, I just think you should own up to your responsibilities. If you made a mistake just accept it as that rather than passing the blame on a company who has zero control over whether or not you make your payment on time.

 
Sep 26, 2016
DellaBaBella Cardholder

Forgot to add in my previous review, but when I applied in store, I did not receive a hard inquiry on my credit score. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
DellaBaBella Cardholder

Great savings with all the discounts, coupons, promos, perks, etc. For those complaining about the "lousy $300" credit line to begin with, regardless of your credit score, that is basically the average starter amount. What you probably don't realize is that in the Kohl's app, you can request a credit line increase every 3 months. It takes about a minute tops to enter employment and/or income information and you get your answer immediately after. I went from $300 to $700 then to $1500 in 6 months. Totally worth it in my opinion from my personal experience. It's the one credit card that my fiancé actually enjoys me having. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 27, 2016

Do you know if they did a hard or soft pull on your credit for the credit line increase? Thanks!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card