Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kohl's Charge Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
77 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds


Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 14, 2016
Best Department Savings Ever!
seasonyorica Cardholder

I was approved in like February 2016 with a $300 credit limit and my scores were between a 530-580 between all 3 credit scores. I love the savings. I have the app, so I pay online. I've never missed a payment and they gave me a $400 increase in September 2016. So now my limit $700, I get tons of coupons and rewards. If you pay on time and don't spend more then you can afford, then this will be a great card for you! PS, I set an alert on my calendar in my phone to pay a day ahead, so if you're late, it's your fault, not Kohls.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Thank u Kohls!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for a Kohls Credit Card at the register only because I would get 15% Discount on my purchase. After my ex husband completely destoyed my credit a few years ago I knew I would not be approved but would still get the 15% discount. To my surprise they did approve me and let me use it immediately to pay for my purchase! Thank u Kohls for taking a chance on me when nobody else would! U will not regret it. I Love Kohls!

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Good card
neomaanderson Cardholder

I have had my card for a month now. Yes they started me off with $300. I dont see any issues with that. I bought about 200 bucks in merchandise and paid about 20 bucks immediately. Then the next  we another $20. Don't wait until you get your statement. You know how much you spent, just put money on it once a week like $10. That will help, well at least it works for me.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Small credit line to trap into missed pa
Anonymous Cardholder

This is the only blemish on my account. They make it so difficult to log on and won't give auto payments. Just seems like a money trap.

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
DellaBaBella Cardholder

Forgot to add in my previous review, but when I applied in store, I did not receive a hard inquiry on my credit score. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
DellaBaBella Cardholder

Great savings with all the discounts, coupons, promos, perks, etc. For those complaining about the "lousy $300" credit line to begin with, regardless of your credit score, that is basically the average starter amount. What you probably don't realize is that in the Kohl's app, you can request a credit line increase every 3 months. It takes about a minute tops to enter employment and/or income information and you get your answer immediately after. I went from $300 to $700 then to $1500 in 6 months. Totally worth it in my opinion from my personal experience. It's the one credit card that my fiancé actually enjoys me having. 

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

When I first applied in store I was approved for $500 in 2014. Six months later i revieved an automatic increase to $1000. I always max my card then pay it off. Just last month I recieved a letter in the mail saying I was preapproved for another increase. So I went online, put my income in, and was immediately for $2000. My credit is around 640. This card is great, I recently maxed it to pay it off and used a 30% off, $50 in rewards, and $240 in Kohls cash! I love this comapny and this card. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
discount card
Anonymous Cardholder

I shop at Kohls very often so i applied for this card. the application was fast and easy; i applied at check-out. i was approved for $300 and got 30% off my purchase!! and every often i receive 20% or 30$off coupons on the mail. After a year of having the card, the limit was increased to $500, then eventually to $750. 

paying online is very easy. i can pay through my bank online payment feature or through Kohls website. Yes you are required to use a checking or saving account to pay, so the routing numbers are required. I am 37 and have not used any checks for the past 17 years, but i know banks conveniently post their routing numbers online, so that was a non issue.

 Also, opted for paperless statements and received a $

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

They lock you out of your online account and cannot reset your password for you from headquarters. Instead you must re-register, so do not cut up your card ever.

Also, they will refuse to send you mail if one is returned by the USPS and they will blame the USPS for them not sending you your mail.

The customer service representatives are trained to argue you with, because they constantly tell you how wrong you are, but yet there is a phone number that's never belonged to you on your account and a "documented" phone call that never took place.

Very shady, and they speak as fast as possible during their operator notification at the beginning of the phone call.

I would be rather concerned with this call center and overall business practice of Kohls Charge Card.

Representative Donna takes 15 minutes to explain one bullet point of a conversaton, so fix yourself a sweet tea.

Xavier was polite, professional and non-argumentative.

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Omg paying the bill online is ridiculous you can't pay online unless unless you have a routing number for your account and I don't know about you guys be I'm 20 years old and I have never used a check in my life nor do I own checks and paying over the phone is the same way unless you get on the phone with a representative then you can pay with a debt card every time I pay it I contemplate cutting the card up and canceling it they also charge you a fee if you try to pay early I like to shop online and life an hour to my nearest store and twice I have had to drive there to make a payment this system is outdated and really inconvenient maybe it would work for some older 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 09, 2016

Just so you know, you don't need checks to look up your account and routing number. Your bank has a specific routing number, you can google it for your bank. As for your account number, go to your online account on a desktop computer, not your phone, and either access an online PDF bank statement, or look under your account information. The monthly PDF account statements always have the account number fully written out. Just trying to help out since you will be running into a lot of situations where you need your account information, like getting a new job and registering for direct deposit.

Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card