Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kohl's Charge Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
Worse card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

I have my kohls credit card for over six years. My credit is outstanding no negatives all positives always pay my bills on time .When i apply for yhe kohls card they gave me three hundred dollars  for my credit line they have never ever give me and increase I try three years after the account was open it was decline and tried today same thing with no explanation .if you dont mind having a credit line of three hundred dollars go for it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 24, 2017

I have a feeling you may be a bit untruthful IMO. My credit is not outstanding; but a FICO of 724, with a BK from when I married young and was taken to the cleaners. I have a CL of 2,500 which is okay. So I am assuming you are omitting some information as to why you are being denied. I would presume you carry a very high debt to income ratio; again IMO. Check your credit report.....

 
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks Kohls
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card with a 580 cs, I haven't had anything on my credit in 7 years so no one would take a chance on me but Kohls. My husband has had his card for several years with no problems, he always pays on time though. We love to buy most of our Christmas presents there on Black Friday and get hundreds back in Kohls cash.

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Rewards good; credit limits a mystery
gratefulinindy Cardholder

Got this card over three years ago to start rebuilding credit; started with $800 limit.  I never keep a balance, never a late payment, $0 balances on all cards, 718 FICO, $140k annual income...... IMMEDIATELY turned down online for CLI.  ??

And the mobile app is clunky. 

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
It's meh at best

As others have stated, it starts off with a low credit line. I would think that it would give at least $1000 to start so I could start shopping more in their store but they started me off with $400. Not bad I guess but it has been forever to get a credit limit increase. They seem to be stingy with those.

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Lame Meh

I had the card for 4-5 years before I started asking for CLI... So this is years 6,7,8,9 which is current as of 2016. Since year 6 I was always denied for CLI. Finally got one. 

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Lame

When I first applied I was 20 years old and it would have been my 2nd card. I applied and got immediate approval of $600. I guess that's not bad. I forgot about it for quite some time and shopped Kohl's off and on. Well about 3 years ago (having the card for about 4-5 years) I got serious about my credit and started asking for CLI. I repediatly got denied (credit was fine with no problems like missed payments); my credit must have been around 720? Don't quote me on exact though. I kept getting denied and my credit did take a hit toward the end of college for various reasons. Well I paid off debt and got my credit back up and now only got a CLI of $400... That's better than nothing I guess, but I would expect something around 1500-2000 - imagine a family needing things (not that you could/should/would use that much) but still it took so long to get the CLI.

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Kohls cash!
johnnykurtz Cardholder

Started with a $300 limit was bumped to $700 four months after that then two months later was bumped to $1500. Great card!

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Outrageous Fee's
Anonymous Cardholder

Do not get this card, bills were paid on time interest and extra fee's is more then the balance on the account.  Customer support is a joke with them as well.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I never received a bill and then got charged late fee and interest. When I called customer service I could not get a representative only a recording.It just kept telling me to go online which would be no help in clearing up my problem. I now need to go to the nearest store to clear up problem. 

Was a satisfied customer in the past but will be cutting up my card and will never shop here again. Would give 0 rating if possible

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card