Kohl's Charge Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
88 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 09, 2017
don't bother with this card
dumacp Cardholder

Missed one payment in 10 years and they reported it to credit bureau... paid the late fee and canceled the card....I have a credit rating of 825 but I am sure it will take a hit over a $35 missed payment... whatever they sell, I can but elsewhere from now on...

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
To Anonymous February 2017:
Anonymous Cardholder

Credit companies, banks, loan companies, etc, CANNOT leave a message regarding your account on vim! That is a violation of of a federal regulation! And you're upset because you received a fee for NOT PAYING your bill? Ridiculous! I have had this card since the late 1990's. I keep track of when my bill is due, not the credit company. Khols has great clothing, shoes and many other items. Prices are reasonable and sales are phenomenal! Love the store, love the card.

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
Affects Credit Score Immensely (Beware)
Anonymous Cardholder

If you miss one payment, they will directly report it to the credit bureau, sick!!! The online site to pay does not work most of the time and it costs $10 to pay by phone and moreover the late fees is $37.

This affected my credit score and I have to face several consequences.

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Stay away from this card
Anonymous Cardholder

If you want your credit score to take a hit use this card. I have paid the balance on time always but I missed one payment (due to the site and auto pay) issues, it got immediately reported to the credit bureau and my credit score suffered immensely. This is the second time it happened and I am cancelling my card right away. Not to mentioned that the late fees is $37 apart from your credit score dinged. Stay away from this card!!!

more ...
May 30, 2017
Frustrating

I have a Kohl's card with a $300 credit score. When I applied for an increase my score was 710 and I was denined. I have never been late and typically pay by balance off. I received the MVP card, but no increase. I have several 3 cards with cap one and never had an issue. I have had increases as well. Just doesn't make sense. If it didn't kill my credit I would cancel the card. 

more ...
May 27, 2017
New Card for me.
Asthenia14 Cardholder

I have been trying to rebuild my credit and decided I needed another CC to help with rotating credit. I currently have a CC with Cap1 and after doing some research I found out (according to others) that Cap1 is in charge of this card. Since I recently was approved a CLI with Cap1 I decided to apply. I have a score of 587 according to CK and was surprised I was still approved. 

more ...
May 26, 2017
Alright
ZacOster1 Cardholder

I work at Kohls and I wish I hadn't opened it. It's only really useful when Kohls has good coupons for card holders. Other than that the high interest rates and low credit limit doesn't really make it worth it. I got accepted on my secound try, which is surprising because I have great credit. Customer survice isn't very helpful either. I get so many complaints by customers all the time because the Kohls Charge workers are lazy and not very helpful over the phone.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Great 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Love my Kohl's Card
jesi1904 Cardholder

I have had this card for 11 months with absolutly no issues. I have not asked for a credit increase becuase I while I shop at Kohls often I dont always use my card, and if I do I can use the card and pay of the balance at the register which is awesome. I see most of the complaints look like issues with payments being on time. They clearly stated that they are on EST time so I know what I need to make my payments before a certian time as I am on PST.  To avoid that you could just set up auto payments on your account or read what youre using. 

PS I dont give anything 5 Stars as there is always room for improvement.

more ...
May 11, 2017
Ruined my credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a memeber for years, made a payment online but for some reason it didn't go through. I was traveling a lot so it could've been the connection , I called to talk them  to see if what they could do to help as I was just purchasing a new home. Have never been late  - they would not help at all... I have had this card for over 10 years. I cancelled and paid off the balance, won't do business with them again.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

Kohl's Charge Card