Kohl's Charge Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
87 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 04, 2016
Great for Saving $ but poor limits
Jason1980tiger Cardholder

Exspect a credit card limit from $300-$3000, Kohls limit. Even with credit scores above 700 except to start with $1,000 limit. However, the coupons and discounts can save you a ton of money when shopping and as long as you pay off every month you are good. I always just pay off at same register and it goes towards account immediately, I am currently a MVC credit card holder and love the free shipping and 6 extra coupons given each year as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 04, 2016
Joandrobherting Cardholder

3 years with kohls, 100% on time payments but their system takes forever to update, they've reported me late. Which I finally got those late fees back. However, I pay my card off they won't report it to my credit bureaus. They are only reporting maybe every 2 months which utilization affects my credit. They keep saying they can't send it because they update once a month. Just in 3 months I've paid off 265 dollar balance out of 300 dollar credit. Got a 50$ credit on my card from late fees they incorrectly charged. Used my card for 165 dollars. My credit still showed I owed 188 dollars. Now my card only has 60 dollar charged and they are still saying 188 dollars on my credit report. If you don't want your credit ruined by these people even if you're making your payments on time and paying it down and even paying it off, DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 27, 2017
New Card for me.
Asthenia14 Cardholder

I have been trying to rebuild my credit and decided I needed another CC to help with rotating credit. I currently have a CC with Cap1 and after doing some research I found out (according to others) that Cap1 is in charge of this card. Since I recently was approved a CLI with Cap1 I decided to apply. I have a score of 587 according to CK and was surprised I was still approved. 

more ...
May 26, 2017
Alright
ZacOster1 Cardholder

I work at Kohls and I wish I hadn't opened it. It's only really useful when Kohls has good coupons for card holders. Other than that the high interest rates and low credit limit doesn't really make it worth it. I got accepted on my secound try, which is surprising because I have great credit. Customer survice isn't very helpful either. I get so many complaints by customers all the time because the Kohls Charge workers are lazy and not very helpful over the phone.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

Great 

more ...
May 12, 2017
Love my Kohl's Card
jesi1904 Cardholder

I have had this card for 11 months with absolutly no issues. I have not asked for a credit increase becuase I while I shop at Kohls often I dont always use my card, and if I do I can use the card and pay of the balance at the register which is awesome. I see most of the complaints look like issues with payments being on time. They clearly stated that they are on EST time so I know what I need to make my payments before a certian time as I am on PST.  To avoid that you could just set up auto payments on your account or read what youre using. 

PS I dont give anything 5 Stars as there is always room for improvement.

more ...
May 11, 2017
Ruined my credit
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a memeber for years, made a payment online but for some reason it didn't go through. I was traveling a lot so it could've been the connection , I called to talk them  to see if what they could do to help as I was just purchasing a new home. Have never been late  - they would not help at all... I have had this card for over 10 years. I cancelled and paid off the balance, won't do business with them again.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Painful Experience
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a similarly painful story.  Have been a faithful Kohl's customer for 20 years.  Spent $2000 in the past year alone.  Never had an issue or a late payment.  Love going into the store and the value of the clothing!  Recently bought two items totalling $69 on the Kohl's charge card.  Yes I (my wife) made a purchase and charged it so ultimately am responsible for payment.  However, as someone else said there is a reason they send you a statement.  But what if they don't send that statement?  In 20 years I have never been late with a payment and my credit scores at all three of the credit agencies were recently over 800.  I am very diligent in keeping all of my billing statements from everywhere.  I can literally show you a JC Penney statement from 1986.  That is just to point out I am very diligent with my bills and avoiding late payments.  Apparently not diligent enough to remember this Kohl's purchase that my wife made using the charge card.  My first notification of this purchase was to open a letter from Kohl's saying the Kohl's card had been suspended for being over 30 days late for the payment.  I called withing 5 minutes and made the payment over the phone.  I was also in the process of qualifying for a large mortgage so we were talking with Kohl's customer service several times.  The mortgage broker informed me that a 30 day late payment had just been reported by Kohl's.  I was assured by two Kohl's customer service reps on two different days that they could and would get the late payment removed from the report as well as remove the late fee.  I was careful to make sure we were talking about the late payment as I was not particularly concerned about the late fee.  Well it never disappeared and I had to close on the loan with a significantly higher interest rate due to the very recent late payment.  That $69 charge to Kohl's that I did not know about until the account suspension letter arrived 2 1/2 months later is now costing me $200/mo in higher mortgage interest for the life of the loan!!  Even requesting a review by the credit department offered no relief and no sympathy whatsoever.  I just don't understand why it has to be so cut and dry with no leniency for 20 years of brand loyalty.  Makes me angry every time I think about it.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
charged a late fee because I paid early
Anonymous Cardholder

I pay my cards before due date-Kohls decided I owed a late fee because it was before the due date of 20th.  I paid the next one on the 20th, charged again because the statement date was the 24th. No statement date is the same theirs are 4 to five different each month.

I paid off the stupid card. Don't get one, don't shop at that store.  They find every reason to charge you late fees especially if you pay early for a monthly billing.

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Total Rip off
Anonymous Cardholder

In order to get the highly advertised discounts you have to pay with the Kohl's charge card. If you miss a payment the have the highest penalties I have ever seen anywhere.  Everything in the stores is incredibly overprised so the much touted 15%, 20% and 30% dicscounts only bring the price down to what you would pay for similar items in other stores.  Save yourself a lot of headaches and shop elsewhere using your debit card.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Easy.
Amaziling Cardholder

10$ charge to pay the bill over the phone, i hate that.but its easy to go in and pay. Never had a problem receiving the bill, via regular post and email. I had brand new credit, just turned 18 and got this card, automatically had a 1500 limit. The apr is hiiigh.

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Evil
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't bother getting this card. If you miss just one payment, they will not work with you to remove it, ever. There are so many better companies out there to choose from, that will forgive you if you make a mistake. Be smart, choose a different shopping venue. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Kohl's Charge Card