JCPenney® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.2 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2010
psychicmike Cardholder

I was approved with a starting limit of only $200 in January 2010.  Then in May 2010 they increased it to $1,500!!.  This sudden credit limit baffled me being a card holder for only 4 months. At the time my credit score was 680.  This Card is issued by GE Money Bank. It carries and interest rate of 26.99%.  **** Keep in mind on any credit card you are approved for try to never go over using 35% of  the available credit.  For example if your approved for $1000 limit only utilize $350. This keeps your credit score up and reduces the risk of your limit possibly being lowered and ending up in a maxed out status.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 28, 2013
Card holder for 20+ years
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a JCP card holder and avid shopper for over twenty years. Admittedly I spend much more on my Nordstrom card and about equally on my Macy's.  I always pay my payment on time , and usually for far more than the minimum amount due. As a matter of fact I make it a rule to completely pay off this and the other two every January and July to avoid the interest incurring. So imagine my surprise when in the midst of the December holidays I receive an email from GE Capital  asking me to contact them about my account.  Adding to my surprise is a representative informing me no payments had been posted since October. Keeping the rep on the line I retrieved my  cash payment receipts. I relayed the numbers they asked for , and was told the payments were credited and they were sorry for the mistake. The following day I sent off the upcoming January 2013 pmt for the entire balance. One last thing to do in the new year. So today 1/28/13 needing some new clothes before heading to Belize for the winter, I stopped by JCP. A little Leary after my recent experience I called from the car to make sure my payments had indeed been properly credited. The automated system assured me my next payment of $2.12 was due on 2/6/13. True an odd amount, but I assumed I must have just misread the amount by that amount when I paid off the balance. No big deal!  After two hours and much trying on and many trips to stock pile my choices, I was ready to check out and head for Macy's. The total came to around $1250.00 and I handed over my card. imagine my surprise when it was declined. As a frequent shopper and Platinum card holder, I know most of my local stores associates. Saying they'd been having issues all day, she swiped the card again and even again. To no avail. Perplexed the associate called GE.  After a full five minutes a GE associate came on the line and said I had to pay the $2.12 in order to use my account!  So I paid the amount and we tried again - yep you got it , declined! The associate calls over her manager and we call GE and wait over ten minutes this time for a GE associate. We are told 'yes' they posted the $2.12 pmt, but my credit limit is $1245.00. The  JCP associate aware of my actual credit limit of well over ten times that amount asks to speak to 'her' supervisor. Any way twenty minutes later I am informed due to my not making a payment since October 2012 (yes we are back to that) my credit limit has been lowered!! I reinterated their earlier mishap with the Oct / Nov pmt AND I give them the check #, amount ( for the entire balance) and date THEY cashed it! Once again they claim no payment had been made and I must call back with the info from the receipts I have at home. Disgusted I gave up! I would have walked away leaving the whole lot, but it truly wasn't the sales people's fault. Instead I paid by check and left. Once home I called the brain trust that is GE Capitol, statements, receipts and bank info in hand.  Oh yes, they found the payments, oh yes they apologized - BUT it will take awhile to restore my original credit limit AND report THEIR mistake to the credit reporting agencies! I recorded this conversation and demanded they send me a corrected statement and a copy of their correction to the credit reporting agencies. I would have closed the account if that, too wouldn't look bad for ME!! So I will continue to be a JCP card holder - BUT I will NEVER use it OR shop at JCP again! Period! Hope the $25k average I spend there annually is better appreciated at Macy's & Nordy's!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 30, 2017
Very good card
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a nice card to have

more ...
May 22, 2017
Horrible company that issues card
Anonymous Cardholder

Paying on website is terrible and never recognizes your password. Therefore, each month you have to reset password to pay bill. No grace period if you are late by even a day and high interest rate on balance.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Rip off! EvIL company
Kjones69 Cardholder

After I pain more than my monthly payment every month. They cancelled my card because I maxed it out.
News flash if you want your money back then you don't cancel it because I used the card...
Grrrr

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Horrendous
Anonymous Cardholder

If you miss a single payment, they harrass you day and night. Nonstop calls no matter how many times you explain the situation. At least 10 calls a day. Killed my credit score, kept increasing my minimum payment every week so it's impossible to pay with my income, and it's honestly my biggest credit mistake.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Approved $300 with 622 TU
JosepBillcc3 Cardholder

Instant online approval for $300 with Transunion 622 (CK Score) 18 hard inquiries, 47% credit utilization across all my 9 cards (2 with balance).  Issuer Synchrony Bank, I'm in love with the approval and Synchrony.  Thanks Synchrony for the oportunity.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I apologize on behalf of the other cardholders that have had horrible experiences with the JCP credit card; thankfully, they have never made me feel like having their card was a poor decision. Keep up the great work JCP. 

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Closed Account
TeresaM316 Cardholder

JCPenny closed my account after three missed payments. I had my son and had post-partum along with a lot of added stress. I didn't manage the bills well during this time, which is my fault. But even after getting my account back under my credit limit, paying all the fees and everything, I was told there was nothing they could do to reopen the account. Discover and Capital One kept my accounts open and even gave me benefits for catching back up.

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
More in fees than my actual limit
Anonymous Cardholder

I was given $100 credit limit. I missed an $11 payment and got charged $37. Could give no explanation on the process of closing the account. Customer service was very rude. 

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
No good never again!
Anonymous Cardholder

They will approve you and continue to raise your credit limit but if you are late even 4 days including holidays they will drop your credit limit the next day even if your payment was in full (including a $25 late fee). Dropped mine $1900. When you call, the managers have no customer service skills. They will argue with you, tell you about how they are working overtime and have to come in on Sundays. It's no wonder JCPENNEY is closing stores using this horrible credit card bank.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
poor communication
Anonymous Cardholder

found out today my J C Penney credit card close due to non use for 6 months, and never advised me of what they did!!!!! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
?>

JCPenney® Credit Card