Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

JCPenney® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
APPROVED!
RebuildingmyScore Cardholder

Love Synchrony Bank!  I was approved for 200 limit with JCP, 300 with Belk, and 150 at Walmart, all with a 654 TU Score.   Now to build my credit with them and wait for a CLI.  These 3 will cover clothes/shoes/gifts/and gas. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 10, 2016
Company will turn on you fast...
zechwhite Cardholder

JCpenny was great at first, gave me a high credit limi when I was 18 years old. They increased my credit limit every 2-3 months, which was great and helped build my credit. Loved the discounts and treatment I got when I shopped at JCPenny and they knew I had a JCPenny credit card.
Also it was great being able to use my JCPenny credit card at CVS pharmacy.

Now the bad part, I had the card for a good 3-4 years, used it at least 4-5 times per year. I had a credit limit of $7,500 and had a balance of $1,100.

I missed ONE SINGLE payment by 5 days and they instantly dropped my credit limit from $7,500 to my exact balance, $1,100. It now showed on my credit report that I was using 100% of my credit limit which dropped my credit score a good 30-40 points at the time.

Also my APR went from 14% to 24% overnight.

So after years of using their card and paying on time, I miss one pyment by a few days and rather than slapping me with a late fee they totally throw my credit report out of whack, lower my credit limit, and raise my APR. I was speechless. I paid off my balance in 2-3 months and have not used my cad since.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 13, 2017
poor communication
Anonymous Cardholder

found out today my J C Penney credit card close due to non use for 6 months, and never advised me of what they did!!!!! 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Terrible terrible terrible. Do not get this card. In fact, don't get any lines of credit from Synchrony Bank. Worst company in the world. You'll be in debt for the rest of your life, they screw you over every way imaginable

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Good approval rating
Anonymous Cardholder

I just applied tonight at work to get in an iCap. I was scared I wouldn't get approved since I have such a low income, but I've heard, and seen, many customers who are happy with it. My mom has had one for years with no issue. With a JCPenney card, you always get an additional 20% off. The application process is simple and easy.

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Como yonpuedo saber como me fue en mi
Anonymous Cardholder

Quiero saber si me pueden approbar la solicitu

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
If could give a zero star would do so...
Mikemail7 Cardholder

Out of no where Jcpenney has lowered my credit this is the second time happened and I been with JCP for over 3 years. At first I started with 200 dollar credit then it it increased up to 400 and then up to 600 and few months ago up to now supposed to be 800. I Called and asked and was told it was a random audit then spooked to the Supervisor who said it was something on my credit that is why Synchrony Bank determined this. Next I spoke with the MOD who said sorry there is nothing can do for you I am the highest person you can talk to and I am going to know disconnect the call. I have always made my payments on time and gone above and beyond monthly payment amounts and keeping account in good status. As with my credit I  feel they should not base our credit history with outside sources when I been clearly a good, faithful and loyal member to jcp and to now treat me this way am no longer happy with the company. I am so upset with what JCPENNEY credit card services did to me that feel like I no longer want to for the rest of my life shop at jcp. I shopped at all the jcpenney outlets here in San Antonio TX so much that everyone new me and was always happy to see me and greet me. Thanks for bringing a customer joy during this holiday season, happy new year. They only want to take your money and advertise. They don't care about us the customer which with out all you good members, the company is nothing.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card for getting in store discounts

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
synchrony BANK credit card is worst
Anonymous Cardholder

Synchrony Bank credit card is fraud. I made online payment and received confirmation email for the same. They blocked my credit card saying that didn't receive payment. When contacted customer service department they said they don't know what happened.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

They destroyed my credit for 2 dollars. Charged me 35.94 for that 2 dollars I didn't even realized I owed. Destroyed my credit. I called them to let them know I didn't give them permission to ever to a hard check on my credit. They did any way and now telling me I need of fix my credit whe they Andre the ones that destroyed my credit and stole from me. Do not ever get this card. It's not worth it.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

They destroyed my credit for 2 dollars. Charged me 35.94 for that 2 dollars I didn't even realized I owed. Destroyed my credit. I called them to let them know I didn't give them permission to ever to a hard check on my credit. They did any way and now telling me I need of fix my credit whe they Andre the ones that destroyed my credit and stole from me. Do not ever get this card. It's not worth it.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Impossible to make payments!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love the option of credit card rewards on cute girl clothing they carry....including the juniors plus line! But it is almost impossible to make payments on your card. Even though their parent company "synchrony" has an amazing system set up to link all your cards to one location to pay all your credit card bills in one place....apparently JC penny does not intend to get on board with this service.  My old navy card also is with synchrony but unsupported on the mass system but I have no trouble paying it through the same host site I'm supposed to use to pay penny's! Just for these....issues.....monthly.....paying my card. I despise getting this card and will quickly cancel if things do not improve! They have to get on board with modern technology and the phone payment system is a even bigger pain in the ***! 

more ...
Feb 04, 2017

JCPenney is a separate business from Synchrony. Many customers are happy just to come in and pay it off in the store. I've had several customers use their JCPenney card and then immediately pay it off.

 
Feb 20, 2017

+1 Synchrony is not their parent company.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

JCPenney® Credit Card