JCPenney® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 13, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I apologize on behalf of the other cardholders that have had horrible experiences with the JCP credit card; thankfully, they have never made me feel like having their card was a poor decision. Keep up the great work JCP. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 26, 2017
No good never again!
Anonymous Cardholder

They will approve you and continue to raise your credit limit but if you are late even 4 days including holidays they will drop your credit limit the next day even if your payment was in full (including a $25 late fee). Dropped mine $1900. When you call, the managers have no customer service skills. They will argue with you, tell you about how they are working overtime and have to come in on Sundays. It's no wonder JCPENNEY is closing stores using this horrible credit card bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 11, 2017
Bonzine Cardholder

Watch how you pay keep all your records of payments

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
Demon
Lifehere Cardholder

Some cloth stores inform you about the hard inquiry part. The jc penny store in columbia md mall just rush you through the process while providing a small screen where you could only accept terms and conditions without really telling you your credit score is about to be hijacked. The manager seems like she is too busy to take care of the customer applying for the credit card and the new employee signs you up on it without you having any idea what doom you are getting your self in. Then, when you call them later about how the inquiry had affected you, they tell you they would have done something about it if it were a fraud. Well, fraud is when you withould a vital information you were supposed to share with the consumer. There is no bigger fraud than Jc penny and their affiliated bank. I hope they sink in the Bermuda.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
A $2300 increase in 3 months. Ha Ha Ha
BRUCE0717 Cardholder

Had card for 3 months.  Charge about $100 per month.  Paid off entire balance each billing cycle.  Used the automated credit increase on account.  Credit limit was $700.  Asked for $3000.  Was approved..  ****.  Should have asked more.  Ha Ha Ha.  Kept your balance under 30% rule?  Credit score is 655 TU, 655 EQ, 628 EXP.  

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Love it!
Anonymous Cardholder

Love my JC Penny card and l like the perks l get along with the card. Can't wait to be upgraded to gold status, hope it comes with a great increase too.

more ...
May 30, 2017
Very good card
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a nice card to have

more ...
May 22, 2017
Horrible company that issues card
Anonymous Cardholder

Paying on website is terrible and never recognizes your password. Therefore, each month you have to reset password to pay bill. No grace period if you are late by even a day and high interest rate on balance.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Rip off! EvIL company
Kjones69 Cardholder

After I pain more than my monthly payment every month. They cancelled my card because I maxed it out.
News flash if you want your money back then you don't cancel it because I used the card...
Grrrr

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Horrendous
Anonymous Cardholder

If you miss a single payment, they harrass you day and night. Nonstop calls no matter how many times you explain the situation. At least 10 calls a day. Killed my credit score, kept increasing my minimum payment every week so it's impossible to pay with my income, and it's honestly my biggest credit mistake.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Approved $300 with 622 TU
JosepBillcc3 Cardholder

Instant online approval for $300 with Transunion 622 (CK Score) 18 hard inquiries, 47% credit utilization across all my 9 cards (2 with balance).  Issuer Synchrony Bank, I'm in love with the approval and Synchrony.  Thanks Synchrony for the oportunity.

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Great
Anonymous Cardholder

I apologize on behalf of the other cardholders that have had horrible experiences with the JCP credit card; thankfully, they have never made me feel like having their card was a poor decision. Keep up the great work JCP. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

JCPenney® Credit Card