Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

JCPenney® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 07, 2016
Best department store credit card!
greenslim2002 Cardholder

I shop at JCP very frequently, so I figured I would give it a shot. I have good rewards cards, but heard that savings with this card is even better. Let me tell you, you will not be sorry getting this card! At the time of applying, I had a 700 credit score. I was approved for $2000 instantly. Last year I spent over $1,000, so now I'm a platinum card holder. When I go up to the register, they randomly tell me that I have $10 rewards to use on the purchase. One time they informed me that I had $30, and let me use all of it on my $40 purchase. Can't get any better than that! Easy to pay online every month. I can't say anything bad about this card what so ever.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 10, 2016
Company will turn on you fast...
zechwhite Cardholder

JCpenny was great at first, gave me a high credit limi when I was 18 years old. They increased my credit limit every 2-3 months, which was great and helped build my credit. Loved the discounts and treatment I got when I shopped at JCPenny and they knew I had a JCPenny credit card.
Also it was great being able to use my JCPenny credit card at CVS pharmacy.

Now the bad part, I had the card for a good 3-4 years, used it at least 4-5 times per year. I had a credit limit of $7,500 and had a balance of $1,100.

I missed ONE SINGLE payment by 5 days and they instantly dropped my credit limit from $7,500 to my exact balance, $1,100. It now showed on my credit report that I was using 100% of my credit limit which dropped my credit score a good 30-40 points at the time.

Also my APR went from 14% to 24% overnight.

So after years of using their card and paying on time, I miss one pyment by a few days and rather than slapping me with a late fee they totally throw my credit report out of whack, lower my credit limit, and raise my APR. I was speechless. I paid off my balance in 2-3 months and have not used my cad since.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card for getting in store discounts

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
synchrony BANK credit card is worst
Anonymous Cardholder

Synchrony Bank credit card is fraud. I made online payment and received confirmation email for the same. They blocked my credit card saying that didn't receive payment. When contacted customer service department they said they don't know what happened.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

They destroyed my credit for 2 dollars. Charged me 35.94 for that 2 dollars I didn't even realized I owed. Destroyed my credit. I called them to let them know I didn't give them permission to ever to a hard check on my credit. They did any way and now telling me I need of fix my credit whe they Andre the ones that destroyed my credit and stole from me. Do not ever get this card. It's not worth it.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

They destroyed my credit for 2 dollars. Charged me 35.94 for that 2 dollars I didn't even realized I owed. Destroyed my credit. I called them to let them know I didn't give them permission to ever to a hard check on my credit. They did any way and now telling me I need of fix my credit whe they Andre the ones that destroyed my credit and stole from me. Do not ever get this card. It's not worth it.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Impossible to make payments!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love the option of credit card rewards on cute girl clothing they carry....including the juniors plus line! But it is almost impossible to make payments on your card. Even though their parent company "synchrony" has an amazing system set up to link all your cards to one location to pay all your credit card bills in one place....apparently JC penny does not intend to get on board with this service.  My old navy card also is with synchrony but unsupported on the mass system but I have no trouble paying it through the same host site I'm supposed to use to pay penny's! Just for these....issues.....monthly.....paying my card. I despise getting this card and will quickly cancel if things do not improve! They have to get on board with modern technology and the phone payment system is a even bigger pain in the ***! 

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Lost card took three weeks to replace!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I either lost or misplaced this card and promptly called for a replacement.  It has taken over three weeks to get the replacement card...and I still do not have it.  Customer service stated that it takes 15 business days.  That is ridiculous!  Other companies replace it within three days.  I think when I get it I am closing my account...not worth the aggravation.  Also, the customer service department could care less.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Lost card took three weeks to replace!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I either lost or misplaced this card and promptly called for a replacement.  It has taken over three weeks to get the replacement card...and I still do not have it.  Customer service stated that it takes 15 business days.  That is ridiculous!  Other companies replace it within three days.  I think when I get it I am closing my account...not worth the aggrivation.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
they closed my card for nothing
cmtajp Cardholder

no later payment, but my credit score went low and they closed it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 15, 2016

Did you stop using it

 
Sep 13, 2016
Hansonfan84 Cardholder

I have been a jcpenny card holder for 12 years. I just got an upgrade to a master card so now I can use it any where. I don't really shop at jcpenny anymore. I like that they increase my limit every 3 years.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016

They did the same thing to me.

 
Oct 12, 2016

Check your credit report....I bet is shows they CLOSED your store card (which your score takes a hit) and shows the new mastercard as a new trade line not transferring your 12 year history which your credit score also gets dinged twice for the new trade line.....your overall credit history goes down which affects your credit score negatively.....shame on JCP for doing this. I only found out about this after I'd applied for a mortgage and my score was 60 points less because of their incorrect reporting! Yeah the mastercard is good to have because you can use it wherever, but your credit score takes a huge nosedive.

 
Oct 23, 2016

My credit score is almost back to the 800s. I use for $5 purchases. I just make sure I watch what I spend on my longest credit card which I had for 13 years. . Thanks for your concern.

 
Sep 08, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Very bad customer service. I owned a card for more than 10 years and only one time I was late they reported it to the credit bureau.

I called to see if they can have it removed and they refused to do it.  Lost a loyal customer + many prospective customers.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

JCPenney® Credit Card