Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

JCPenney® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2016
APPROVED!
RebuildingmyScore Cardholder

Love Synchrony Bank!  I was approved for 200 limit with JCP, 300 with Belk, and 150 at Walmart, all with a 654 TU Score.   Now to build my credit with them and wait for a CLI.  These 3 will cover clothes/shoes/gifts/and gas. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 10, 2016
Company will turn on you fast...
zechwhite Cardholder

JCpenny was great at first, gave me a high credit limi when I was 18 years old. They increased my credit limit every 2-3 months, which was great and helped build my credit. Loved the discounts and treatment I got when I shopped at JCPenny and they knew I had a JCPenny credit card.
Also it was great being able to use my JCPenny credit card at CVS pharmacy.

Now the bad part, I had the card for a good 3-4 years, used it at least 4-5 times per year. I had a credit limit of $7,500 and had a balance of $1,100.

I missed ONE SINGLE payment by 5 days and they instantly dropped my credit limit from $7,500 to my exact balance, $1,100. It now showed on my credit report that I was using 100% of my credit limit which dropped my credit score a good 30-40 points at the time.

Also my APR went from 14% to 24% overnight.

So after years of using their card and paying on time, I miss one pyment by a few days and rather than slapping me with a late fee they totally throw my credit report out of whack, lower my credit limit, and raise my APR. I was speechless. I paid off my balance in 2-3 months and have not used my cad since.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 21, 2016
Como yonpuedo saber como me fue en mi
Anonymous Cardholder

Quiero saber si me pueden approbar la solicitu

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
If could give a zero star would do so...
Mikemail7 Cardholder

Out of no where Jcpenney has lowered my credit this is the second time happened and I been with JCP for over 3 years. At first I started with 200 dollar credit then it it increased up to 400 and then up to 600 and few months ago up to now supposed to be 800. I Called and asked and was told it was a random audit then spooked to the Supervisor who said it was something on my credit that is why Synchrony Bank determined this. Next I spoke with the MOD who said sorry there is nothing can do for you I am the highest person you can talk to and I am going to know disconnect the call. I have always made my payments on time and gone above and beyond monthly payment amounts and keeping account in good status. As with my credit I  feel they should not base our credit history with outside sources when I been clearly a good, faithful and loyal member to jcp and to now treat me this way am no longer happy with the company. I am so upset with what JCPENNEY credit card services did to me that feel like I no longer want to for the rest of my life shop at jcp. I shopped at all the jcpenney outlets here in San Antonio TX so much that everyone new me and was always happy to see me and greet me. Thanks for bringing a customer joy during this holiday season, happy new year. They only want to take your money and advertise. They don't care about us the customer which with out all you good members, the company is nothing.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card for getting in store discounts

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
synchrony BANK credit card is worst
Anonymous Cardholder

Synchrony Bank credit card is fraud. I made online payment and received confirmation email for the same. They blocked my credit card saying that didn't receive payment. When contacted customer service department they said they don't know what happened.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

They destroyed my credit for 2 dollars. Charged me 35.94 for that 2 dollars I didn't even realized I owed. Destroyed my credit. I called them to let them know I didn't give them permission to ever to a hard check on my credit. They did any way and now telling me I need of fix my credit whe they Andre the ones that destroyed my credit and stole from me. Do not ever get this card. It's not worth it.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worthless
Anonymous Cardholder

They destroyed my credit for 2 dollars. Charged me 35.94 for that 2 dollars I didn't even realized I owed. Destroyed my credit. I called them to let them know I didn't give them permission to ever to a hard check on my credit. They did any way and now telling me I need of fix my credit whe they Andre the ones that destroyed my credit and stole from me. Do not ever get this card. It's not worth it.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Impossible to make payments!
Anonymous Cardholder

I love the option of credit card rewards on cute girl clothing they carry....including the juniors plus line! But it is almost impossible to make payments on your card. Even though their parent company "synchrony" has an amazing system set up to link all your cards to one location to pay all your credit card bills in one place....apparently JC penny does not intend to get on board with this service.  My old navy card also is with synchrony but unsupported on the mass system but I have no trouble paying it through the same host site I'm supposed to use to pay penny's! Just for these....issues.....monthly.....paying my card. I despise getting this card and will quickly cancel if things do not improve! They have to get on board with modern technology and the phone payment system is a even bigger pain in the ***! 

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Lost card took three weeks to replace!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I either lost or misplaced this card and promptly called for a replacement.  It has taken over three weeks to get the replacement card...and I still do not have it.  Customer service stated that it takes 15 business days.  That is ridiculous!  Other companies replace it within three days.  I think when I get it I am closing my account...not worth the aggravation.  Also, the customer service department could care less.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Lost card took three weeks to replace!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I either lost or misplaced this card and promptly called for a replacement.  It has taken over three weeks to get the replacement card...and I still do not have it.  Customer service stated that it takes 15 business days.  That is ridiculous!  Other companies replace it within three days.  I think when I get it I am closing my account...not worth the aggrivation.

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
they closed my card for nothing
cmtajp Cardholder

no later payment, but my credit score went low and they closed it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 15, 2016

Did you stop using it

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

JCPenney® Credit Card