Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
323 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.90% - 24.40%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 29, 2016
Great Credit Builder when I needed one!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got a Preapproval letter in the mail for a $300 Credit Line when my credit score was 630. After just a few months of on time payments, my credit score jumped about 30 points and they offered an additional $150 credit line increase. (I don't recall any fee for the increase but I have seen others post there is a fee if you ask them for an increase)  After 10 months, my credit score is now 670 and am beginning to receive credit offers from different companies. 

PROs: online/paperless statements, free bill pay for standard payments (usually posts on account in 1 or 2 days but takes about 5 days before that payment is able to be used as usable credit), free monthly credit scores (based on experian credit file), phone customer service if you need it, and user controllable email alerts for just about anything you could possibly want. Best of all NO DEPOSIT required to open account like all the other "secured" credit cards. 
CONS: Yes, the annual fee is $75 and interest rate is high, but everything is disclosed up front and IMO a small price to pay to reboot your credit. Be aware of additional fee for an authorized user, $19/year extra and they constantly ask you everytime you sign in online if you want a "custom" looking card for an extra fee of $6.50 but only give you about a 8 options for card design. I selected the basic looking card at no charge.

TIP: Your credit score increases faster IF you keep this and any other credit card balance UNDER 30% of the credit line. Also, after the initial 30 point bump for having the credit card, your score will still go up a point each month you have the card for length of use. Many people here are quick to close this account out as soon as they qualify for a slightly better deal but you may consider keeping this card and  paying the annual fee just to keep increasing your credit score.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2016
Surprised by it...
phwill1976 Cardholder

I kept seeing all these negative reviews so I put off applying for a month...I had used the pre qualify tool and was approved with no hit to my score...Finally I thought.. Why not! I could use the extra new Credit line to rebuild. I was approved for 300.00. And yes I had 75.00 annual fee taken...and yes interest is high...and they charge interest from the purchase date not statement date. So I only spend about 30.00 or less. I got card in February... They reported and my score jump about 30 points. Any rate, made payment online standard and it does take time to release as available credit...So it's like 10 days but because I keep my balance to 20-30 dollars it doesn't affect me. Any rate, out the blue today...email, instant 150.00 CL increase just for making first payment on time. Gotta love that. I have not had any issues with them yet so can't speak about customer service etc. But card is serving purpose well so far. In a year, I'll close it and on to better cards but this is a good one to help get you moving in the right direction if you jacked up your credit like me in my 20's...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Uunlike other cards, this card starts charging interest from the date of the transaction.  In other words, even if you pay your balance before the satement date (making your statement balance $0.00) you will still owe interest when the statement is issued.  Customer service is difficult to get through to.  I have not been issued any cash back rewards eventhough I had qualifying purchases.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Horrific
jwalker3312 Cardholder

I am attempting to rebuild my credit.  I wish I had never opened this account.  High interest, annual fees, and the customer service is TERRIBLE.  If you're desperate to build your credit, do it with a secured card, not this hokey thing.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
A ripoff
jcsimslv Cardholder

High fees, poor customer service, and a fee to even make a payment if you want the credit to become available for 7 days. I'm sorry I ever applied for this card. Even the customer service reps give you bad information in the website and app ra pain to get registered on once you receive the card.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Not worth it
jcsimslv Cardholder

First of all the card has a high fee every year. Secondly, it takes a week from the day your payment posts until your available credit opens unless you want to pay another $10 each time.

All in all...a ripoff

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Very decent card
Anonymous Cardholder

I F you need to build credit this is the best card to do just that. I got mine and use it only when I need too. .

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Very decent card
Anonymous Cardholder

I F you need to build credit this is the best card to do just that. I got mine and use it only when I need too. .

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Nice credit builder
Anonymous Cardholder

I got the pre-qualified card of $300 and have been pretty happy with it. I always make sure to pay my bill a week or so ahead of time to keep away fees. It's a good card to help build up credit. Once my credit score went up I checked to see if they would increase my available balance and they made it $400 now. So like any credit card company places have ups and downs. But so far I've not run into any issues.

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
Awful

Their customer service is atrocious. They kept receiving my payments and a week later I would get a credit back to my bank account from credit one when I called them they told me they closed my account because of one payment they didn't accept so I made one using my debt card it goes through to avoid my account being closed and they still closed it. The most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with. Stay away from credit one bank!!!!

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Good Solid Card helped me alot
Sabryna54 Cardholder

I have enjoyed having this card, it was easy to apply and get approved.  I got a $300 initial line of credit - they took their fee right up front.  I have had the card 6 months and just got a $200 line increase without even asking.  So I am pleased and my credit has steadily been improving.  I am a happy customer.

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
I wish I never opener an account.
Anonymous Cardholder

I had this account for less than a month and they ripped me off. I do not recommend this account to anybody they charge you for everything. If your payments are not in by 6 p.m. they will charge you a $25 late fee. The people barely speak any English. They probably won't even be able to read this to read the review.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 12, 2017

Why would you wait until last minute to make a payment? Seems like your issues are because of your mistakes.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card