Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
321 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.65% - 24.15%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 29, 2016
Great Credit Builder when I needed one!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got a Preapproval letter in the mail for a $300 Credit Line when my credit score was 630. After just a few months of on time payments, my credit score jumped about 30 points and they offered an additional $150 credit line increase. (I don't recall any fee for the increase but I have seen others post there is a fee if you ask them for an increase)  After 10 months, my credit score is now 670 and am beginning to receive credit offers from different companies. 

PROs: online/paperless statements, free bill pay for standard payments (usually posts on account in 1 or 2 days but takes about 5 days before that payment is able to be used as usable credit), free monthly credit scores (based on experian credit file), phone customer service if you need it, and user controllable email alerts for just about anything you could possibly want. Best of all NO DEPOSIT required to open account like all the other "secured" credit cards. 
CONS: Yes, the annual fee is $75 and interest rate is high, but everything is disclosed up front and IMO a small price to pay to reboot your credit. Be aware of additional fee for an authorized user, $19/year extra and they constantly ask you everytime you sign in online if you want a "custom" looking card for an extra fee of $6.50 but only give you about a 8 options for card design. I selected the basic looking card at no charge.

TIP: Your credit score increases faster IF you keep this and any other credit card balance UNDER 30% of the credit line. Also, after the initial 30 point bump for having the credit card, your score will still go up a point each month you have the card for length of use. Many people here are quick to close this account out as soon as they qualify for a slightly better deal but you may consider keeping this card and  paying the annual fee just to keep increasing your credit score.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2016
Surprised by it...
phwill1976 Cardholder

I kept seeing all these negative reviews so I put off applying for a month...I had used the pre qualify tool and was approved with no hit to my score...Finally I thought.. Why not! I could use the extra new Credit line to rebuild. I was approved for 300.00. And yes I had 75.00 annual fee taken...and yes interest is high...and they charge interest from the purchase date not statement date. So I only spend about 30.00 or less. I got card in February... They reported and my score jump about 30 points. Any rate, made payment online standard and it does take time to release as available credit...So it's like 10 days but because I keep my balance to 20-30 dollars it doesn't affect me. Any rate, out the blue today...email, instant 150.00 CL increase just for making first payment on time. Gotta love that. I have not had any issues with them yet so can't speak about customer service etc. But card is serving purpose well so far. In a year, I'll close it and on to better cards but this is a good one to help get you moving in the right direction if you jacked up your credit like me in my 20's...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2017
Ok for building your credit
Bhamrichard Cardholder

It's a card for people with bad credit, what else can I say. Approval was easy, make your first payment on time and you generally get an immediate credit line increase.

It's a tool to help build, or rebuilt credit, and should be used as such. The annual fee is high, the interest rate is high, but as a starter point it's been helping my credit grow ever since

I opened the account a year ago. Once your credit improves and you can get a better card, do it.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Helped get my credit started!
dhiss8874 Cardholder

I received an offer for this card via the mail. After being turned down by virtually every company for having "too thin of a credit file" basically meaning i've never opened a credit line before and at the age of 22 I had missed the cut off for most major cards. Credit one's cash back card saved me. It's not a great card for rewards by any means but they'll give this card to practically anybody. I used the card as a debit, meaning I paid it off every month, and it worked out great. 12 months later I just cancelled the card with little resistance from the company and I now have a real "grown-up" card! If you're having trouble getting your credit score started this card can definitely save you! 

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
They wouldn't take payment
Anonymous Cardholder

After four weeks of paying off balance, they told me that I was making too many payments and refused to take payment for my balance!!! They do not want you to pay on time. This must be how they make their money. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 09, 2017

That happened to me once. It doesn't mean they don't want you to pay on time. That comment makes no sense. All you have to do is pay once or twice a month, and you'll be fine. Also, make a payment no less than 5 days before the payment due date and interest will never rear its ugly head. Yes, it's odd for a credit card company to do such a thing to begin with, but as long as you know this, you can find ways around it. I know it sounds like I'm "on their side", but really...it's not THAT big a deal.

 
Jan 08, 2017
Decent
Anonymous Cardholder

I was given a $400 credit limit to begin with and they increased it to $600 in less than 2 months without me requesting any increase.
I didn't read the terms and conditions before applying and wasn't expecting a $75 annual fee already charged when I received it. They also reported my balance the day I activated it.
The 1% cash back is nice, but I still prefer to use my Capital One card because it gives 1.5%
Overall, I'm satisfied.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Crap
fox9516 Cardholder

I was approved for the card. Then they said i had to send a copy of my birth certificate. Never have I had to provide something like that. There was something else weird they wanted. So I cancelled the whole thing. They now claim inowe them money for a card i never activated or used. Shady company 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2017

Don't know what you're talking about...they never asked me for my birth certificate.

 
Jan 07, 2017
Thank you Credit One....
sarahem1965 Cardholder

Thank you Credit One for giving me a chance when no one else would. After getting started with Credit One I'm getting all kinds of other offers from Cap one and Chase. If they had not of givin me the chance I wouldn't be where I am today. Yes, the fees are a little high but what do you expect? You also have to pay the annual fee of their choice for you by the first due date. That was a little strange as I never heard of that.. However, I paid it because I wanted to move forward.. I'm giving 5 stars because at this point I have absolutely no problems with them..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2017

You say you have to pay the annual fee by the first due date? Where does it say that?

I too was charged the $75, charged some gas, a few small things, I just paid 40 (standard)......Should I pay another 40?

 
Jan 01, 2017
Hard to make payments
jamiestump Cardholder

The card is ok, but it's almost impossible to make a pament by any other method than mailing it in.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 03, 2017

You can make payments on the app.

 
Jan 01, 2017
Don't know why this card is rated so low
Saheara Cardholder

It's a great card. Yeah you have an annual fee, and yes, the apr is high. But this card is to help rebuild your credit, and even more amazing they give you this card with no deposit. There's not a lot of companies that will take that kind of risk on people with scores in the 500's. Pay the bill on time, keep your balances low, and it can't do anything but help you.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
I Hate This Company
Marcos710R Cardholder

The custmer service is complete trash and the rudest ive ever had to deal with. 

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
Not the best idea!
Resource2007 Cardholder

Fees, fees, fees! But good for building credit if you want to spend $75 3 days from when you get the card.

Not a great idea. Google Credit One Bank. You will see for yourself!

GO GET A CAPITAL ONE ACCOUNT!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 03, 2017

It tells you their fees. You get what you pay for.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card