Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
335 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2017
Carey0427 Cardholder

I applied for this card in May 2017 as a second card to my capital one platinum (keep a full profile, Captial One cl $200 is mastercard, Credit One is Visa) - Credit score:580. Definitely needed repair. 

Applied and approved for $300 CL no deposit needed. Took about 2 weeks to get my card. Created my online profile, saw a $75 balance - this is the annual fee. Noted. Used the card for a few purchases then made an online payment. Here is the kicker; The payment takes 5 full business days to post, this means that I have to make sure the balance is paid/under 10% 7 business days prior to the due date so it will post properly to my Credit Score as the appropriate usage OR pay $10 to have it post the next business days. They do like to make money lol!!

Continuing right along, it is now the beginning of June - CS is at a 605. Here comes end of June and i get an email that my credit limit has been raised to $500 - didnt ask. (I dont think its worth asking for a CL increase, they will come so long as you dot your i's and cross your t's properly when it comes to your credit score grade, so to speak.) Awesome! 

Here we are in August and my CL is now at a 660. almost 100 point difference - cant complain! Figured what the heck - lets shoot for the Capital One Quicksilver One card and see what happens. Approved with $300 CL. Not bad, ill use that in place of my Capital One Platinum Visa. Next step - wait a few months to get my CS in the mid to high 700's then fingers crossed for a Discover card to round out my Credit Profile. 

All in all this card does what it is meant to do - repair credit. SO if you need to repair your credit, this is a good Visa to do that with. Do you pay for it? Yes. But lets be honest, your score is tanked otherwise you wouldnt need this card, the little bit you are paying isnt much compared to horrific credit. Use this card as if it is cash/debit - dont use it unless you have it. If you have to, make multiple payments through out the month and definitely Pay your balance before the due date - 7 business days before to avoid an additional $10 charge - you wont be paying the ridiculous 24.99% interest on the full balance if you do. Then dont use it until you see that your account has been updated on Credit Karma with the current balance. Repeat the process. 

I did get 1% rewards for gas and groceries. It's nice, but I didnt get the card for the rewards, there will be better ones for that later once my CS is a rockstar. I plan on keeping this card for small purchases while my CS continues to strive upwards and probably will for another year as ive heard closing might actually hurt more than help. 

Hope this helps!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2017
Risky interest
thecreditgal Cardholder

This card charges interest from the date you make a transaction, not the date the bill is due like every other normal credit card out there.

You might be thinking, "Oh, that's no problem. I'll just pay it off right after I use it." Yeah...I thought that too. I just tried to pay in full and there is an error message saying you are only allowed to make four payments a month. Yet, while you are waiting to be allowed to make your payment, they are charging interest. Now, how's that for a review?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 14, 2017
Not worth the hassles
Anonymous Cardholder

I sent in payments and they claimed they didn't receive them. I sent proof that they DID and they still claim there was no payment made. I would not suggest this card to anyone. You will be making a big mistake getting in with this company. They have made negative remarks on my credit report even after they have the proof they were in the wrong. 

more ...
Aug 15, 2017

Huh...Capital One did the same exact thing to my fiancé. Crooks are as crooks do.

 
Aug 16, 2017

Did you mail it in or did you use the app? Cause I don't have any problems with the app but my buddy did when he mailed his in

 
Aug 17, 2017

That's probably it. People can say what they want about online payments and using apps and being hacked, but snail mail is far...far...FAR...worse, especially these days. You're no more likely to get hacked online than you are to have something pilfered right out of a mail truck or plane or even right in the post office itself. Not to mention, your info can be ripped off just as easily if the envelope ends up in the wrong hands.

 
Aug 17, 2017

To add one last thing - snail mail takes FOREVER to get from A -> B and that's just asking for your payment to be late. :(

 
Aug 12, 2017
Only good if you can't get another card

This card is great if you are not able to get any other credit card, as long as you pay it off as you use it your won't need to worry about their pretty high interest rates. I give their customer service 0 stars, they are a pain in the butt to get a hold of and when you do get them on the phone you of course get to talk to someone overseas that if you are like me have a little trouble understanding heavy accents. The limits are pretty good that they will give you in the hopes you are not one to pay it off every billing cycle but the annual rates are crap. If you do want a credit line increase you have to pay $20 or so dollars to get it which is pretty stupid. If you do not accept your offer for a increase for long enough they will offer you it for free so if you do want this card and want to keep accepting increases just don't accept it till they will do it for free. I tried to cancel this card because of the annual charges and after talking to three different people I finally said "fine I won't cancel" after giving me a year with no fee's. As soon as we finish building our house and I go from a construction loan to a mortgage I will be calling and cancelling this card there are too many good cards out there. I prefer my chase or capital one over this card any day of the week! No annual fees and good APR's with comparable and higher credit limits. Like I said if you are like I was when I got this card and your abilities to qualify are not the best then use this card but make sure you don't swipe it for any amount of money you cannot pay off. If you have a good enough score for a chase or capital one check into those first because this card all around will dissapoint you. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Great card did what it was supposed to do
Anonymous Cardholder

Use it right it brings your score up mine went from 525 to 662 love the card. Thanks credit one

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Carey0427 Cardholder

I applied for this card in May 2017 as a second card to my capital one platinum (keep a full profile, Captial One cl $200 is mastercard, Credit One is Visa) - Credit score:580. Definitely needed repair. 

Applied and approved for $300 CL no deposit needed. Took about 2 weeks to get my card. Created my online profile, saw a $75 balance - this is the annual fee. Noted. Used the card for a few purchases then made an online payment. Here is the kicker; The payment takes 5 full business days to post, this means that I have to make sure the balance is paid/under 10% 7 business days prior to the due date so it will post properly to my Credit Score as the appropriate usage OR pay $10 to have it post the next business days. They do like to make money lol!!

Continuing right along, it is now the beginning of June - CS is at a 605. Here comes end of June and i get an email that my credit limit has been raised to $500 - didnt ask. (I dont think its worth asking for a CL increase, they will come so long as you dot your i's and cross your t's properly when it comes to your credit score grade, so to speak.) Awesome! 

Here we are in August and my CL is now at a 660. almost 100 point difference - cant complain! Figured what the heck - lets shoot for the Capital One Quicksilver One card and see what happens. Approved with $300 CL. Not bad, ill use that in place of my Capital One Platinum Visa. Next step - wait a few months to get my CS in the mid to high 700's then fingers crossed for a Discover card to round out my Credit Profile. 

All in all this card does what it is meant to do - repair credit. SO if you need to repair your credit, this is a good Visa to do that with. Do you pay for it? Yes. But lets be honest, your score is tanked otherwise you wouldnt need this card, the little bit you are paying isnt much compared to horrific credit. Use this card as if it is cash/debit - dont use it unless you have it. If you have to, make multiple payments through out the month and definitely Pay your balance before the due date - 7 business days before to avoid an additional $10 charge - you wont be paying the ridiculous 24.99% interest on the full balance if you do. Then dont use it until you see that your account has been updated on Credit Karma with the current balance. Repeat the process. 

I did get 1% rewards for gas and groceries. It's nice, but I didnt get the card for the rewards, there will be better ones for that later once my CS is a rockstar. I plan on keeping this card for small purchases while my CS continues to strive upwards and probably will for another year as ive heard closing might actually hurt more than help. 

Hope this helps!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 19, 2017

Checking various forums there are some who understands the process of this card and never had problems. Just think about how much you'd pay some of these credit services to repair your credit. Granted you might not have all the fees but even some of the higher end card people have had issues.

 
Aug 06, 2017
Incompetent
Manny7o2 Cardholder

My very first was card was charged double annual fee $150. I only have a $400 credit line so that leaves me with $243 credit limit. I have not used this card once. It has been days and it is still not fixed. There no people operators that will answer your calls. I feel very treated badly by this company and will never do business with them again, since they dont seem to care about the their costumers.

more ...
Aug 08, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Aug 08, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Aug 05, 2017
GREAT CARD TO HAVE
Sadarr1985 Cardholder

   I Have Read Some Of These Reviews Concerning Credit One Bank, And Credit One Visa.  I Give This Card FIVE STARS★★★★★.  When I Got Approved Credit One Bank Started Me Out With A $250 Credit Limit.

  So I Used This Card, Doing Small Purchases Only!  Payed Off My Outstanding Balance, Before The Due Date, And I Never Was Late.  And I Never Requested A Credit Limit Increase!  After 60 To 90 Days, Without Me Requesting A Credit Limit Increase, Credit One Bank, Increased My Credit Limit To $500.  There Is Some Reviews That State, That Once You Reach A Credit Limit Of $500,  You Do Not Receive Any Further Increases!  Well I'm C@@L!  With That.

  In Some Reviews, People Has Said That Credit One, Does Not Approve Or Give You A Credit Line Increase!  THAT IS UNTRUE!  I Payed My Bill On Time, And On Credit One's Web Page Before The Due Date.  And I Have Had No Problems!

  Now!  There Are A Lot Of Credit Cards Out There, That In Some Peoples Point Of View Are BAD! CARDS!  (#1) First Premier, (#2) Milestone,(#3) Indigo, And (#4) Total Visa.  All Of Which I Have Open Account's With.  And First Premier,Milestone,Indigo,And Total Visa,  All Only Have A $300 Credit Limit, With NO CREDIT LIMIT INCREASES!

  But The Best Part About Milestone, And Indigo, Are They Are The Same Banking Branch!  SO!  You Get Two Positives On Your Credit Report, From Those Two Cards!  And You Get Two! Positives On Your Credit Score From Those Two Credit Cards!  Now!  That Is Just A★W★E★S★O★M★E ★★★★★★★★

  BUT!  They Do What They Do!  Improve Your Credit Report, And Increase Your Credit Score!  But I Still Hold To Giving Credit One Visa FIVE STARS ★★★★★

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 10, 2017

Just a note regarding first premier....I have two CC's with a $500 cl on each...

 
Aug 04, 2017
Ha! Where do I start?
SimbasDad Cardholder

So I was approved for this card in April it was mailed to me May 2nd. I knew about the $75 fee due by my first statement but thinking since I just got the card that would be at least 30 days right? Wrong. I bought a flight on the second day I had the card and called to check when my statement would be generated. Which I was told on the 5th. Which if you're counting the days (by the bank hours) it was too late to submit a payment and have it post before they reported. The result? $75 annual fee applied put me over my limi and now an account that's been open for a whopping 3 days is being reported over the limit. Cost me almost 40 points. So I pay it off immediately and by the next month I noticed they hit me with the interest charges on the day my statement generates. So you could pay your balance to 0.00 halfway into the month, never use it again, and still have a balance reported when your statement generates. I called Credit One and they said they'd dispute the first month but at this point wiping off a month of history with them may do more harm than good as it'll lower the age of my overall accounts. So we've talked shotty reporting, sketchy interest applications let's talk crazy! So I went on vacation and used my card for a rental car. One misplaced set of keys, lockout and tow service later my $30 rental is now $700. Now with the fact that this posted right after my statement generated I had almost the full 30 days to pay it off, which I did IN FULL. Do you know these CLOWNS had thee audacity to put a block on my card for a MONTH because, get this, I processed a payment that was larger than my credit limit. I kid you not and how about to add insult to foolery these simpletons made me verify my email, phone number and address so my question is if you have these things on file, why didn't YOU contact ME to verify a PAYMENT that had posted almost 30days ago? Isn't that normally how it works? I get that on a limit of $300 paying $797 at one time may raise a red flag but don't you think the more appropriate thing to block was the charge that would've put me over the limit in the first place? Why didn't you block that? Instead you allow me to pay. Still charge me intrest at the end of the month so even though I had a 0 balance once the interest was applied it was reported to the bureau with a $38 bal. So this month I overpaid my bil and I now have a debit balance of about $5. My balance was like $136 I called and spoke to a supervisor and they told me my "pay off balance" (the balance that would get me a 0 balance when reporting) was like $141 so I just paid an even $145 and if that doesn't get a 0 balance then I'm closing it. I don't need these problems. Not when I already have a Capital One card and they're my longest tenured CC. Applier beware (applicant... I just wanted to be PUNny)

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Junk.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a couple othe credit cards and per signing up to this one it did not mention a annual fee of $75. Checking my statement a couple days ago I'm pretty upset. I would have never signed up for this card with a bs fee like this. Unhappy. And when I canceled the card the guy over the phone prettt much said to bad you didn't know you have to pay the start up fee still. Would not recommend this card to anyone. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Don't do it!!
Blakeramzz Cardholder

Worst card ever gave me a $300 limit but charged me a $150 fee and interest on the fee and the rest spent I owe $458 for the $150 I spent on the card wow what a waste of $$$ I closed out and now I have a capital one card that's improving my credit unlike this card...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 06, 2017

The same thing happened to me!

 
Aug 02, 2017
A piece of ****.
7dayfool Cardholder

Choice between getting this card and shooting Yourself....Make sure You use Hi capacity ammo!

more ...
Aug 03, 2017

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

 
Aug 05, 2017

HEY! There Are Cards Out There That Is A Lot! WORSE! Credit One Bank Started Me Out With Only A Credit Limit Of Only $250. And I Used It To Make Small Purchases, And With Out Me Requesting A Credit Line Increase Credit One Bank, Gave Me! A Credit Limit Of $500! I Give Credit One Bank FIVE STARS! ★★★★★

 
Aug 09, 2017

Do you even know what high capacity ammo means? Moron

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card