Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.0 out of 5 stars
365 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.15% - 24.65%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 16, 2013
Playing with fire.
KEVINGOLDEN84 Cardholder

I destroyed my credit when I was younger.  Since I have had this card, I have been able to attain credit from more reputable companies.  This card has improved my credit score, as promised.  That being said - Credit One is expensive and they will nickel and dime you until your head spins.  Relying on this card will probably ruin your life so be very careful.  If you use it, go home and pay it off immediately.  Expect random fees constantly - and pay them.  Don't even bother complaining - your complaints will be heard by a guy who probably lives in a mud hut in India (they out source customer service). They simply will not be sympathetic to your first world problems.  

This line of credit has helped me get approved for better lines of credit, thus creating a chain reaction of credit healing.  I use the analogy "playing with fire" because fire is very usefull, but the second you are not careful it will probably burn everything you have down to the ground.  So be very careful and understand who you are dealing with. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 25, 2013
Mostly Annoying/But Dealable
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a member for over a year. I think a pro/con list would be a better way to show the card's benefits and downfalls. 

Pros:
They will approve you with fair to poor credit

The application process was fairly simple for me

The late fee is not herendous

The interest rate is average/not too expensive 

Their customer service hours are open fairly late

It will help build your credit/My score raised 42 pts since going with them

Cons:

To pay with a credit card there is a charge of $9.95

To pay with bank account/e-check there is a charge of $5.95

To pay with a physical check, you have to send your payment in 10-businss days before the due date**

When you do make a payment, the payment is not available until the next billing cycle. (This may not be true with credit card payment, I think the money is available a few days later)

Customer service is poor if not horrible. Outsourced department, heavy accent, doesn't really try to explain their poilicies well or maybe they do not understand them? 

I have had to call customer service 4 times in the past year to get the hold taken off my credit card due to fraud activity (pretty much whenever I used it physically as a POS--never when I made online purchases, lol, go figure)

**I had set-up my bank account with autopay. My bank sent a check on the first of every month. I got a late fee on my due date, which was the 8th. I called CS and they told me that I have to give checks 10business days to post to my account. I was shocked because...mail from where I live to where they are is 2 to 3 days at most. That means it sits in some department, wanders to next departmentat some point, and then finally makes it to A/R? I have no idea. I ended up paying my bills 20-days early just to make sure. I didn't want to pay the stupid "express payment" fee. 

**I have since paid off my card and canceled it just this month. Too much hassle. My credit score was high enough to get a better credit card. It did help with that. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 24, 2017
Good rewards
Sayrep Cardholder

The interest rate is a little high.

more ...
May 23, 2017
Customer service almost nonexistent
Suki2012 Cardholder

I applied for this card because I really needed to purchase a plane ticket to go home and see my sister. For starters, there's an annual fee, but I guess that's a side effect of cards that cater to those with poor credit. They bill the annual fee at the beginning, so by the time you receive your card, there's already $75 or so charged to it. The application was easy, but then there was no email, no contact --- no indicator at all that the application had gone through. I was just starting to think the application hadn't been submitted when suddenly, weeks later, the card shows up in my mail. 

The payment options are also crazy ---if you want the payment to post immediately, there's a $9 fee; otherwise you have to wait 3-5 business days for it to post, which could cost you a late fee if it doesn't post by the due date. There's no option to cancel or amend a payment either, so if you schedule a payment and then decide you'd rather just cancel it and use the express option---too bad, no way to cancel. However, the really aggravating thing about them is how completely unhelpful their website and customer service are. Most other credit card sites will make it quite easy to find the customer service number, and also usually provide online contact info or even chats. Credit One has no chat, no support email, nothing like that---just a page with phone numbers. 

The number for customer service also is tricky---it seems completely automated, so I tried calling a different line just to get a person. Of course, she couldn't help me, but she admitted that the customer service line sounds completely automated, but if you wait past all the options and the robot scolding you for not entering any valid options and the repeat of the menu...eventually it sends you to customer service. You can tell they're trying to discourage customers from asking for any type of help. 

On top of all that (minor thing but it irritates me), you can't add this account to Mint.com, even though it's listed as one of the financial institutions supported by Mint. After only having this card for a month, I've decided that as soon as I pay off the balance, I'm cancelling the card, no matter what that does to your credit. It would be worth it not ever having to deal with them again.

more ...
May 21, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Horrible. Not worth even trying. It's so complicated, you'll just end up lowering your score

more ...
May 20, 2017
Only get as last resort
gtfox26 Cardholder

It will help build credit but it is terrible. There is a few to pay the bill and customer service us awful. It has helped me rebuild my credit but as soon as I get another card I will cancel this one as fast as I can.

more ...
May 19, 2017
Excessive rates, poor customer service.
CaraL2017 Cardholder

I had this for a while and regretted it almost immediately. I was offered this card when I was trying to rebuild my credit. Less than a week later I was offered a better card. The interest rate is horrible, the offers for credit increase are horrible, the absurdly slow payment processing times is horrible. Overall very bad card. Wait for something better, cheaper, and with better service.

more ...
May 18, 2017
Poor customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

I closed my account because when I opened it, I wasnt aware of the $75 fee.  I spoke with them on a couple occasions and they refused to waive the fee.  Now they send me a mailer every week asking me to reopen my account.

more ...
May 16, 2017
Useful but enter with both eyes open
Kindio Cardholder

Our income had been inconsistent for several years and I wound up with a 469 credit rating. Our income finally stabilized, and I got this card with a $300 cl and 24.4% apr. After a few months of charging less than $100 per month for gas, groceries, etc and paying in full, my score went to 590. My credit line went to $500 without any request from me, but my APR also went up to the full 24.6%. Not cool but this is that type of card. The improved credit score helped me get a $5k loan on a used car, which is what I really needed in the first place.

I also found out on the website that I needed to re-confirm my bank routing and account number or they would take away my ability to pay online for free. That would have left me with only the $9.99 quick payment option. If you get this card, please please do yourself a favor and understand the terms thoroughly first, and then keep checking your account for changes that could cost you money.

more ...
May 16, 2017
This was big damage to my credit score.
Anonymous Cardholder

I thought I could billed my score up with this card. when you use it. Our score went down. i recently paid it off and closed the account. Now with Capitol one. Service is great .

more ...
May 14, 2017
Lacking customer service.
Anonymous Cardholder

First of all, their logo looks like Capital One, which is a reputable card. It is virtually impossible to pay your bill on their website. Either it wouldn't go through, or it wouldn't load. When you call, I have been told 1) You can't make a payment for your account over the phone, online or mail only. 2) Our computers are down. 3) They took out the wrong amount so I was even more past due. I am now paying off this card, through a collection agency, and paying close to double. Not a good idea to get this card, wait until you are approved by a more reputable company.

more ...
May 13, 2017
Easy approval, outrageous monthly fee
Stratagen Cardholder

They had fast approval, Unfortunately, it took forever to activate my card, the monthly fee is ridiculous, and their online access is terrible. I will be replacing this card as soon as I can. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card