Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.5 out of 5 stars
324 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2017
Carey0427 Cardholder

I applied for this card in May 2017 as a second card to my capital one platinum (keep a full profile, Captial One cl $200 is mastercard, Credit One is Visa) - Credit score:580. Definitely needed repair. 

Applied and approved for $300 CL no deposit needed. Took about 2 weeks to get my card. Created my online profile, saw a $75 balance - this is the annual fee. Noted. Used the card for a few purchases then made an online payment. Here is the kicker; The payment takes 5 full business days to post, this means that I have to make sure the balance is paid/under 10% 7 business days prior to the due date so it will post properly to my Credit Score as the appropriate usage OR pay $10 to have it post the next business days. They do like to make money lol!!

Continuing right along, it is now the beginning of June - CS is at a 605. Here comes end of June and i get an email that my credit limit has been raised to $500 - didnt ask. (I dont think its worth asking for a CL increase, they will come so long as you dot your i's and cross your t's properly when it comes to your credit score grade, so to speak.) Awesome! 

Here we are in August and my CL is now at a 660. almost 100 point difference - cant complain! Figured what the heck - lets shoot for the Capital One Quicksilver One card and see what happens. Approved with $300 CL. Not bad, ill use that in place of my Capital One Platinum Visa. Next step - wait a few months to get my CS in the mid to high 700's then fingers crossed for a Discover card to round out my Credit Profile. 

All in all this card does what it is meant to do - repair credit. SO if you need to repair your credit, this is a good Visa to do that with. Do you pay for it? Yes. But lets be honest, your score is tanked otherwise you wouldnt need this card, the little bit you are paying isnt much compared to horrific credit. Use this card as if it is cash/debit - dont use it unless you have it. If you have to, make multiple payments through out the month and definitely Pay your balance before the due date - 7 business days before to avoid an additional $10 charge - you wont be paying the ridiculous 24.99% interest on the full balance if you do. Then dont use it until you see that your account has been updated on Credit Karma with the current balance. Repeat the process. 

I did get 1% rewards for gas and groceries. It's nice, but I didnt get the card for the rewards, there will be better ones for that later once my CS is a rockstar. I plan on keeping this card for small purchases while my CS continues to strive upwards and probably will for another year as ive heard closing might actually hurt more than help. 

Hope this helps!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2017
Risky interest
thecreditgal Cardholder

This card charges interest from the date you make a transaction, not the date the bill is due like every other normal credit card out there.

You might be thinking, "Oh, that's no problem. I'll just pay it off right after I use it." Yeah...I thought that too. I just tried to pay in full and there is an error message saying you are only allowed to make four payments a month. Yet, while you are waiting to be allowed to make your payment, they are charging interest. Now, how's that for a review?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 18, 2017
Does not care about customers

On Friday, November 3, 2017 I discovered almost $900 had been withdrawn from my checking account to “Credit One.” Knowing I had not initiated such a payment, I attempted to login to my Credit One account to discover my login information was not working.

I called Credit One immediately, and learned there had been several fraudulent charges to my card, and that they had paid off my card balance with my checking account (without my consent, obviously) in order to charge MORE to my credit card. A fraud case was opened on my account. I was told I would be receiving an affidavit that I must sign within 15 business days. 

I called after one week to follow up, as I had not yet received the affidavit. I was told I need to wait the 15 days before following up. Today is day 15 and I have not received an affidavit.

I called Credit One again, to be told that there was NO RECORD of the affidavit on my file! They sent another request for the affidavit to be sent and I would have to wait another 1-2 weeks to receive it. I expressed how upset I was that it may be more than a month for me to get my money back, and I am unable to pay my mortgage in the meantime. She replied that Credit One policy for fraud cases is 30-60 days, and not more than 90 for resolution - IT MAY TAKE THREE MONTHS FOR THEM TO EVEN DECIDE WHETHER THEY WILL REFUND MY $900!!

I have experienced fraudulent charges and activity with other credit and bank accounts in the past, and have never had to wait more than 1-2 weeks for things to be rectified.  

It also completely lacks integrity that they would make a promise to send me a critical piece of communication to sign within 15 days, for me to have followed up twice on it, and for them to not only not keep their promise, but to have zero record of anything about it.

If I did anything comparable to renege on my end of the agreements with Credit One, I would be charged late fees and my credit would be affected. 

Unfortunately, fraud and account hacking is part of the risk that financial companies must take on in today’s world, and customers expect that their lives will not be upended as a result of doing business with them. Fortunately, consumers have choices also, and I will be making the choice to discontinue my relationship with Credit One as soon as this case is resolved. I highly recommend you choose another credit card company that will quickly make things right if this happens to you (which it likely will in today's world) so you don't end up in my position.

more ...
Nov 16, 2017
High interest and yearly fee. LOL

Don't waste your time, get a card with no fee. The high interest is bad enough.

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
So far so good
Rebuilding88 Cardholder

Was approved for a $300 CL with as average score of 580 and a bankruptcy 5 years ago. I'm the process of rebuilding so this was a good option. My card came SUPER fast, less than a week. Haven't had any experience with customer service yet so I can't report on that. Will update in the future.

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
It helped my credit score.
Anonymous Cardholder

I got this card to help rebuilt my credit. I had the card about 7 months now with NO credit limit increase. Made all my payments on time and my credit score has went up almost a 100 points. I see other people got a credit limit increase really fast so I don't understand it never happen with me. I think I'll use it for Christmas gifts and pay it off with tax refund and then cancel it.

more ...
Nov 14, 2017

I was told dont cancel cards it brings your score down. Stupid i know, my financial counselor said just leave them open

 
Nov 15, 2017

Dont cancel!!! Use your card once every three to six months to avoid cancellation!! And pay it off in full asap because this card charges interest from purchase day. the reason it goes down if you cancel is because it lowers the overall length of credit.

 
Nov 17, 2017

If you're intent on cancelling, don't do it until your score is around 750-760+. Then the hit won't matter much.

 
Nov 12, 2017
Credit Builder
Goldfire7 Cardholder

Good for rebuilding or starting your credit

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
Stress free credit builder.
Anonymous Cardholder

Easy to use credit card, added my wife as a user also hassle free. Customer service, overall great card. They gave me an increase after having them for 2 months.

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
excellent credit rebuilder
barneybro Cardholder

Card is for people with less than excellent credit....so stop complaining you 1 star whiners !

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Fantastic
Anonymous Cardholder

Great for people getting back on their feet credit wise.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Charges your not aware of...
Nowwhatname23 Cardholder

Well I was very happy with the card until....I paid it off.

I kept on getting invoices with monthly charges for having the card.

I called customer service, somewhere out in Asia, and they tried to

not get me to cancel the card. They offered me a couple of months

with no charges, seriously!?

Well I cancelled it. This tells me the card company must

have financial stability issues.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card