Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.6 out of 5 stars
314 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 09, 2017
Carey0427 Cardholder

I applied for this card in May 2017 as a second card to my capital one platinum (keep a full profile, Captial One cl $200 is mastercard, Credit One is Visa) - Credit score:580. Definitely needed repair. 

Applied and approved for $300 CL no deposit needed. Took about 2 weeks to get my card. Created my online profile, saw a $75 balance - this is the annual fee. Noted. Used the card for a few purchases then made an online payment. Here is the kicker; The payment takes 5 full business days to post, this means that I have to make sure the balance is paid/under 10% 7 business days prior to the due date so it will post properly to my Credit Score as the appropriate usage OR pay $10 to have it post the next business days. They do like to make money lol!!

Continuing right along, it is now the beginning of June - CS is at a 605. Here comes end of June and i get an email that my credit limit has been raised to $500 - didnt ask. (I dont think its worth asking for a CL increase, they will come so long as you dot your i's and cross your t's properly when it comes to your credit score grade, so to speak.) Awesome! 

Here we are in August and my CL is now at a 660. almost 100 point difference - cant complain! Figured what the heck - lets shoot for the Capital One Quicksilver One card and see what happens. Approved with $300 CL. Not bad, ill use that in place of my Capital One Platinum Visa. Next step - wait a few months to get my CS in the mid to high 700's then fingers crossed for a Discover card to round out my Credit Profile. 

All in all this card does what it is meant to do - repair credit. SO if you need to repair your credit, this is a good Visa to do that with. Do you pay for it? Yes. But lets be honest, your score is tanked otherwise you wouldnt need this card, the little bit you are paying isnt much compared to horrific credit. Use this card as if it is cash/debit - dont use it unless you have it. If you have to, make multiple payments through out the month and definitely Pay your balance before the due date - 7 business days before to avoid an additional $10 charge - you wont be paying the ridiculous 24.99% interest on the full balance if you do. Then dont use it until you see that your account has been updated on Credit Karma with the current balance. Repeat the process. 

I did get 1% rewards for gas and groceries. It's nice, but I didnt get the card for the rewards, there will be better ones for that later once my CS is a rockstar. I plan on keeping this card for small purchases while my CS continues to strive upwards and probably will for another year as ive heard closing might actually hurt more than help. 

Hope this helps!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2017
Risky interest
thecreditgal Cardholder

This card charges interest from the date you make a transaction, not the date the bill is due like every other normal credit card out there.

You might be thinking, "Oh, that's no problem. I'll just pay it off right after I use it." Yeah...I thought that too. I just tried to pay in full and there is an error message saying you are only allowed to make four payments a month. Yet, while you are waiting to be allowed to make your payment, they are charging interest. Now, how's that for a review?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 22, 2017
misiu007 Cardholder

Garbage.  Had $750 included in my bankrupcy years ago, so now they wont approve me and its been almost 3 years!  Wont ask again, considering I already have capitol one x 2, barclays and Amex.  Morons

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 23, 2017

If you have CapOne, Barclay and Amex already, there's no point in applying for this one at all, nevermind again.

 
Sep 18, 2017
Credit one scam
Greenize69 Cardholder

I applied for the card and received a $400 limit which is not even worth the trouble of getting this card then they charged me $75 annual fee then in doing the math it would be $120 for the year just told hold onto the card I didn't even make a purchase so I tried calling but it's an automated number and then I called to report the card lost and when I explained that i didn't want to replace the card they offered me a higher limit and I told them no they should rob someone else and I told them to close the account. In total I had the card for 15 days. Just because we're all trying to build our credit shouldn't mean we should accept getting ripped off and the folks at Credit Karma should vet these folks prior to offering them to members I understand money is important but Credit Karma shouldn't allow cards that are advertised to abuse the consumer and take advantage with ridiculous fees and monthly charges. Credit Karma look out for us folks we understand it's a business but at least look out for us. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Good for Rebuilding Credit
P62G Cardholder

I knew going in  this is a card for bad credit, so I just accepted the 75 fee and paid it as soon as I got the card. I saw it as paying 75 dollars to rebuild my credit which it has done.I have always paid  long before it was due and usually a lot more than minumum due. I have had the card for 8 months and for at least 4 months in a row I have a zero balance.It also shows on all 3 bureaus that I have always paid on time and that I have a zero balance.My CLI is 300 which is ok, but now that I have others with a much higher limit . I no longer need this card even though it did serve its purpose for me.I have read the reviews from others complaining about the web site and  communicating with poeple from India or Pakistan. My complaint with the website is that no where on the site can you find a link to close your account, and there is no where on the site to either chat with a rep or send them an email. Having those features would be very helpful. As fas as communicating with Indians goes, I usually can communicate with them. I might have to listen a little harder , but its not impossible to understand them.Anyway I called to cancel my account and talked to somebody who seemed to be from India. When i let him know I wanted to close the account he transfered me to another person who sounded like him. That guy tried to talk me into keeping the account open and offered to give me a credit that I could use to keep it open. He offered 3 times , but I kept saying  No I just want to close it and then he said he would close it.I understand its business and know he is just doing his job trying not to lose a customer.I hung up, then realized I forgot  to ask for confirmation that he closed it.After reading all the negative comments I started to wonder if he was just telling me he is closing my account but really leaving it open. I have checked my account online for 2 days now and see nothing that appears to look like a closed account. What I have done now is send them a certified letter letting them know the date I made the phone call and was requsting that they close the account and also report to the bureaus that it was being closed at my request. I have kept a copy of that certified letter and the tracking number just in case there is trouble down the road. I guess we will see what happens from here. Has anybody here ever had trouble trying to close an account with Credit One?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 21, 2017

Hey Good morning, has your account been closed yet? Also what would be a good CC suggestion for rebuilding my credit? What CC’s do you have now and what is your APR rate? I’m looking for something fairly low.

 
Sep 15, 2017
mrraptor Cardholder

I applied for capital 1 an received credit 1. I thought ok I'll use it as a back up so i never activated it. They activated it for me an charged $71 fee an i never read the mail. When i did i had a $35 late fee i called paid an canceled. Then i get a check back from them for that amount. NEVER NEVER USE THIS COMPANY

more ...
Sep 16, 2017

Blah blah blah...Capital One comparisons; blah blah blah...charged me hidden fees. Sure, whatever. You shoulda read everything. And, if they did do something fraudulent in your name, report it and sue. Problem solved. Whining here solves nothing, and doesn't tell anyone what this card ACTUALLY does when you use it properly.

 
Sep 18, 2017

Ligre2, how much do they pay you to come on here and promote them?

 
Sep 19, 2017

They pay me in card upgrades. So far, I've received a Chase Freedom Unlimited, Sapphire Preferred, regular Freedom, AMEX Blue Cash Preferred, and City Simplicity card...all from the offices of the massive crooks at Credit One! :D Man, you all are so hilarious!

 
Sep 19, 2017

Well...at least you're honest about it...🤡

 
Sep 19, 2017

Well, the Credit One VISA was a great gateway card to bigger and better things...why would I not be honest? :)

 
Sep 21, 2017

If it's a gateway, then it seems that you haven't moved on. You've spent most of the last year trolling these reviews...attacking people that haven't had the 'experience' that you claim to have had. So much for effort for a 'satisfied customer'...

 
Sep 22, 2017

Which means that you've spent the better part of a year waiting for opportunities to troll me...kinda pathetic when you think about it. I have the right of free speech...and you need to get personal. Well, that's fine...you keep on your silly crusade. :)

 
Sep 22, 2017

Nope. Just went through all of the reviews/comments a few days ago and happened to see your name...many times. It's not personal; just comical, if anything. You keep on earning that commission, and keep on your silly crusade too. Hugs & many prayers to you.

 
Sep 13, 2017
Go **** yourself
slash1299 Cardholder

Dont do it

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 14, 2017

Laughing out loud over here! >:D

 
Sep 13, 2017
Not Capital One
7scarecrow8 Cardholder

I applied for, and received a card from Credit One.  I thought it was CAPITAL One when I applied.  As soon as I got the card, I called to cancel the account. Rep I talked with keep trying to get me to keep the card, but after a few minutes she finally said the account was closed.  Stupid me, but believe it or not, I have applied TWICE for this card in a two year period.  I was thinking it was CAPITAL One.  You would think I learned a lesson the first go round,...  Anyway, i did not have a problem with canceling the card/account either time.  I even kept checking on line for a few months to make sure it was closed.  I never was charged a single cent for either of the cards.  If you NEED thiss card, just be aware there will be extra charges (annual fee, monthly fees) that can add up.  I would seek another card if I needed to repair my credit.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017

My mother is in her 60's and she had one capital one card at the time. She then gets this cute pre approval in the mail from credit one with puppies and kittens and thinks it's capital one. I said I don't know mom, let me look it over. They sure do try and copy the logo and trick consumers. I read it over and saw the $75 fee and the name and said no way!

 
Sep 13, 2017

Actually, this card is great for repairing credit. It did the trick for me...and no, I don't work for them...and no, they don't pay me to praise them. I just do so cuz I used it the right way and it has helped me pave the way for far better cards with far better benefits. Also, come on...there is way too much of this "it looked like Capital One" talk going on here. If that's what you're here about, then what's the point? You're not reviewing...you're complaining, and that's petty. It's not actually hard to distinguish between the two.

 
Sep 14, 2017

Good for you Ligre22! I think it's ridiculous to give them 1 star when it was their mistake! If you can't read well enough to know it's Credit One then you shouldn't have a credit card.

 
Sep 13, 2017
Angel156 Cardholder

I think capital one should take the right steps to sure this company for copyright infringement. Credit one really wants people to think they are capital one which in fact they are not and could never ever compare to capital one. 

more ...
Sep 13, 2017

They almost had my mom in her 60's fall for it! Their logo is very similar, trademark infringement or something. Trying to fool people who trust Capital One.

 
Sep 13, 2017

If they haven't sued by now, and I'm pretty sure they haven't, then they probably won't. Capital One, as crappy as they are, is still likely smart enough to know that it would be a fruitless venture(teehee) that would cost them millions and waste their time. And for the record, Credit does not look like Capital...and I wish people would just stop writing reviews so they can have an excuse to complain about silly things.

 
Sep 08, 2017
DO NOT APPLY FOR THIS CARD
Anonymous Cardholder

If only I could pick zero star I will. I haven't used the card yet and they charged me with $150 that I have to pay! I keep calling the 24 hour hotline but the last representative I spoke with blocked my number and it says they were closed! Now, im scared that I'm gonna have a hard time closing this account and it would affect my credit!!! I need help to clear everything out on their end so it would not affect my credit. Any suggestions?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 14, 2017

Call from a different number and get in touch with the Better Business Bureau,,, they have no legal right to block your number when you're a customer!

 
Sep 08, 2017
AVOID and let's get a petition to BBB.
czerbrid Cardholder

Is there even a bank in the US?  They are often confused with Capitol One.  I want to get a petition to put them out of business.  They charged me $19 for authorizing a second person on the account I did not request and then accused me of fraud after they never sent a card before and then when they finally did send a card charged $25 after a $10 fee every month just to make a payment over the phone since without a card you cannot make a free payment on line. I just made a second payment for the month and now they have to verify my account and in three days I have to check my account and do this:  "Please check with your financial institution in 3-5 business days and note the two deposit amounts made into your bank account.  When you know the deposit amounts click/tap here and enter the deposit amount into the provided fields."  Better business bureau here I come.  Whatever you do AVOID this whatever it is. 

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Very bad and to makes payment changes $9.95 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card