Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.1 out of 5 stars
296 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.65% - 24.15%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 16, 2015
Perfect if you can't make a deposit
parugo Cardholder

I have a secured card and just applied for this card as well and my score is 560TU 580EQ. The app itself took 5 minutes to complete. I was approved within two business days (applied on Friday and got the message on Tuesday), the card was mailed in two business days (sent Thursday), and I received the card that following Monday. Less than 2 weeks from the application date. I never had to send any documents to anyone and I never received any phone calls. I really don't understand what people are complaining about.


It's like asking someone to trust you when you have a history of lying. They need to protect their money and their investors' money (if they have any idk) so they're going to charge you in case you default. It helps mitigate losses. After a year of good payments, your score should go up considerably ASSUMING you're not flopping any of your other loans, and then you can move onto bigger and better fish with lower/no fees. Mine went up 100 points in just 7 months because I buckled down and kept my payments up. After a year of this card I'll move on. That's what this card is used for. Also, I read some reviewers saying the fees for credit limit increases are insane but it states right in the user agreement that CREDIT LIMIT INCREASES ARE OPTIONAL. YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO REFUSE THEM AND PAY NOTHING.

Again, you have bad credit. Stop whining and suck it up for a year or two until you can qualify for better cards.

I haven't needed to contact to customer service so I will give them no rating.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 17, 2016
Avoid like the plague
jmd2016 Cardholder

Here's what I can tell you. I applied in March for the card, and was approved. I got my bills in April, May and June...but NEVER EVER Recieved a card. 2 times they sent me, or said the sent me, replacement cards. The last time, they said it was returned to sender.

So let me ask you, folks, if a card company CAN mail you a bill, but CANNOT mail you the card...doesn't that seem messed up? I called them this week to find out where the card was, only to be told "we closed the account because while you recieved the card, you never used it"

they have no clue. None. No one who answers the phone will speak English well at all, and there's no way to do online chat or email, which I honestly prefer to waiting in a queue. i am actually glad they screwed up on getting me this card, one less thing to worry about.

at the same time as they were unable to get me a card, I was approved (and recieved!!) cards for Kohls, JCPenney, Capital One, Old Navy and Amazon. Capital One gave me 100 dollars more CL, and at only 39 dollars a year. better off with that one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 22, 2016
Has helped my credit improve slowly
spence80 Cardholder

I got the card 3 months ago and already recieved a 200 dollar increase on the inital 300. The increase was free. I also say this has helped slowly and is not a magic bullet. I figure if I give it a year it will look better right now my TU is 559, but was even lower when I got the card. Also the new credit line dropped my credit score initally but sticking with this card has helped. I don't use it much if any due to lack of a grace period on interest.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Very good for rebulding!
Ligre22 Cardholder

I applied for this card back in May after being turned down by Barclaycard and AMEX.  Those were both kinda hail-marys and I guess I was just a bit out of my league at the time.  My credit score was 625 TU...and I hadn't had any real credit up until that point.  I had a couple derrogatories on my record, so that probably scared lenders away.  I did my research and found Credit One.  I decided to take a shot and apply for this Cash Back VISA card, cuz I really needed to get back on the right foot with my credit.  I'm 37, and ain't gettin' any younger!  Things in my life are also in dire need of improvements, and in order to settle in after marriage in the next couple years with my own place, credit is just about the most important thing a guy can have.  At any rate, Credit One bank took a chance on me, and I vowed to not disappoint.  I'm appalled that people have the nerve to call this card/bank a scam.  There's an annual fee which you're informed about before you even apply, and yes, you need to pay it up front.  If you have a job and don't have $99 to spare for a credit boost, then you have issues, IMO.  Yes, the 1% cash back is applied to limited categories, but again, this card is for people with bad/no credit who just need a reboot.  You aren't going to get a big starting limit - mine was $300, and has since been raised to $500 after 3 months of on time payments...the majority of them in full.  Banks need to know that they can trust you before they really reward you.  This card is great for what it is, and ultimately is a sort of gateway to bigger and better tihngs.  (Side note - They also offer a nice range of designs for their cash back VISA card for a minimal fee)  Since my CL increase, I've applied for and received the amazing Chase Freedom Unlimited VISA card, with a $4,000 CL no less!  All I can say, is "thank you, Credit One" for believing in me!  And for all you naysayers out there - this card IS WORTH IT.  Just be able to know how to use your credit, know the steps to take to raise your score, and then take them.  Don't just spit all over a bank for charging you interest - lower your balances, and you won't have that problem!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 21, 2016

Oops, the annual fee is $75, not $99.

Oct 17, 2016
Good for what it's for
LadeeGee58 Cardholder

I was preapproved for this card.  I paid the $75 soon after i got it.  A few weeks later they increased my credit line to $450.  I have not and will not use this card since there is no grace period.  Eventually they will probably close it due to inactivity.  Fine by me.

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Got the offer in the mail. Less then a week later had card in hand. Only thing that would make better is if they had an app. Completely satisfied. Dont know what everyone else has issues with because i had none.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016

Credit One has an app. Very easy to use. Give it a try.

Oct 21, 2016

Yep, the app is great. You can get it from Google Play if you own an Android...and I'm sure from Apple Store if iPhone user.

Oct 14, 2016
Good card for building/repairing credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Payments take about 5 days to clear and for the credit to be available to use again. Can make standard payments with no fee. Don't waste money on the express payment, it only makes a portion of your credit available immediately. Overall a good card for building & repairing your credit. They do charge fees for everything, even adding an authorized user. Expect the bare minimum in perks because this is a card for poor/fair credit.

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Good card to help rebuild your credit.
Anonymous Cardholder

This is a good card to help rebuild your credit. I've always made my payments on time and because of that my credit limit has been raised multiple times. I've never had an issue with this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 20, 2016

How long did it take for them to raise your credit line

Oct 14, 2016
It's a Visa Credit Card.
Anonymous Cardholder

This bank can help people re-establish their credit.

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
PeggySGeorge Cardholder

I signed up online.  They said I was approved for a secured card.  They wanted a $200 deposit.  I called and gave them the money with a check by phone.   The money came out of my bank that day.  5 days later my card showed up in the mail.  When I called to activate it, they would not activate the card.  They said I had to fax a copy of my photo ID, social security card, birth certificate, marriage certificate, lease, 2 utility bills, and pay stubs in order to activate the card.  It said nothing about that on the letter with the card.   I faxed the info because I needed access to that $200 I sent them.   The next day I called to activate the card.  They said they did not accept those documents by fax and I had to mail notarized copies.  I mailed them.  A week later I called to activate my card.  They said they did not get them.  I mailed again return reciept requested.  I got the card back signed in 5 days saying they got the copies.  I called to activate my card.  They said they couldn't activate it that they did not have the documents !  I asked for my $200 back because I can't use the card. They said it was non refundable.   SCAM.  STAY AWAY.  

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
Worst Ever SCAM
PeggySGeorge Cardholder

I signed up online an got approved for a Secured Visa.  I had to pay a 200 deposit.  I paid.  They sent my card.  But, when I called to activate it, they said they couldn't unless I faxed them a copy of my driver's license, social security card, birth certificate, lease, and utility bills, and marriage license, and pay stubs.  I faxed because I wanted access to my money.   Then, I called back to activate the card.  They said they never got the fax.  I refaxed.  Then, called again.  Someone then said that they don't accept those by fax and I had to mail copies.  I mailed.  A week later,  I called again.  They said they did not have them and could not activate my card.  They gave me a different PO Box to mail copies to.  I mailed return reciept requested.  I got the reciept back 5 days later signed.  I called to activate my card.  Some guy said they didn't have the documents and could not activate my card !  I asked for my $200 deposit back.   They said it was non refundable !   No card.  Scammed out of $200  !  DO NOT USE ! STAY AWAY !  

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER.  Friendly and polite (India) customer service representatives but nothing ever gets done.  Must call over and over and over for anything to get done if anything is done at all.  Long wait on the phone.  NO ONLINE HELP AT ALL.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card