Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
369 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $0 - $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 24.74%* Variable

Our Take

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card can help consumers with fair credit health build credit and earn rewards at the same time.

What to Like

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card offers credit lines starting at $300. The card features 1% cash back on eligible purchases (terms apply), and many consumers looking to establish or rebuild their credit may qualify.

Look Out For

The Credit One Bank® Cash Back Credit Card includes an annual fee that ranges between $0 and $99. Cardholders are also charged $19 annually for adding an authorized user, and not all applicants qualify for a grace period on interest payments, meaning you could be charged interest from the date your charges are posted, instead of only after your due date.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 16, 2013
Playing with fire.
KEVINGOLDEN84 Cardholder

I destroyed my credit when I was younger.  Since I have had this card, I have been able to attain credit from more reputable companies.  This card has improved my credit score, as promised.  That being said - Credit One is expensive and they will nickel and dime you until your head spins.  Relying on this card will probably ruin your life so be very careful.  If you use it, go home and pay it off immediately.  Expect random fees constantly - and pay them.  Don't even bother complaining - your complaints will be heard by a guy who probably lives in a mud hut in India (they out source customer service). They simply will not be sympathetic to your first world problems.  

This line of credit has helped me get approved for better lines of credit, thus creating a chain reaction of credit healing.  I use the analogy "playing with fire" because fire is very usefull, but the second you are not careful it will probably burn everything you have down to the ground.  So be very careful and understand who you are dealing with. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 25, 2013
Mostly Annoying/But Dealable
Anonymous Cardholder

I have been a member for over a year. I think a pro/con list would be a better way to show the card's benefits and downfalls. 

Pros:
They will approve you with fair to poor credit

The application process was fairly simple for me

The late fee is not herendous

The interest rate is average/not too expensive 

Their customer service hours are open fairly late

It will help build your credit/My score raised 42 pts since going with them

Cons:

To pay with a credit card there is a charge of $9.95

To pay with bank account/e-check there is a charge of $5.95

To pay with a physical check, you have to send your payment in 10-businss days before the due date**

When you do make a payment, the payment is not available until the next billing cycle. (This may not be true with credit card payment, I think the money is available a few days later)

Customer service is poor if not horrible. Outsourced department, heavy accent, doesn't really try to explain their poilicies well or maybe they do not understand them? 

I have had to call customer service 4 times in the past year to get the hold taken off my credit card due to fraud activity (pretty much whenever I used it physically as a POS--never when I made online purchases, lol, go figure)

**I had set-up my bank account with autopay. My bank sent a check on the first of every month. I got a late fee on my due date, which was the 8th. I called CS and they told me that I have to give checks 10business days to post to my account. I was shocked because...mail from where I live to where they are is 2 to 3 days at most. That means it sits in some department, wanders to next departmentat some point, and then finally makes it to A/R? I have no idea. I ended up paying my bills 20-days early just to make sure. I didn't want to pay the stupid "express payment" fee. 

**I have since paid off my card and canceled it just this month. Too much hassle. My credit score was high enough to get a better credit card. It did help with that. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 24, 2017
WORST CARD EVER
Anonymous Cardholder

My credit score dropped because these guys kept claiming that they were unable to receive payment from the bank, yet none of my other cards had this issue.  On top of that once my credit score went above 650 they cancelled one of the cards I had with them citing the issue mentioned before.  How is that possible when the other card issued by no longer had this "issue" with the exact same bank?

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
Risky interest
thecreditgal Cardholder

This card charges interest from the date you make a transaction, not the date the bill is due like every other normal credit card out there.

You might be thinking, "Oh, that's no problem. I'll just pay it off right after I use it." Yeah...I thought that too. I just tried to pay in full and there is an error message saying you are only allowed to make four payments a month. Yet, while you are waiting to be allowed to make your payment, they are charging interest. Now, how's that for a review?

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
displeased
lilbuggie Cardholder

Tried to talk to several different people in their customer service department and they were less than friendly and helpul. Ended up just closing the account because they were rude.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
SCAM
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't get this card because as soon as you activate the card you owe 75.00$ already to the annual fee which increase after 1 year to $99. I got this card to rebuild my credit which I used for gas twice and my interest increases everyday and the amount for my first month is 134$ that includes the yearly fee plus my purchases of 30$ and 24$. Which has to be paid off immediatly or I will accrue interest on my annual fee. This is rediculous and I heard that canceling is nearly in posdsible to do. I am goig to pay this card off and cancel asap. No credit card should have compounded interest daily.. this is a true scam

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Inept
Anonymous Cardholder

They have no desire to help you rebuild your credit. They make sure that you can't do recurring payments or pay online. Complete scam.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Credit increase after 2 months
Creditnewbie84 Cardholder

So many on here say how bad this credit card is, I say different. I received this card with no credit score. I have had credit for about 4 months with a credit union credit card and an Auto loan. I pay multiple times per month on the card and it processes fast, just one day by debit card.

I woke up this morning to an email saying they increased my limit from 400 to 600 just after two months of having the card. I am hoping to graduate at the 6 month mark with an amex. My CK scores are 584 EQ and 586 TU I will update more once I reach a true Fico score in a couple months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2017

This is the kind of review that truly reflects what this card is about...bad/no credit customer needing a pick-me-up and getting just that from the credit bureaus. It's not a scam, and there are no fees that are unexplained by the company. People get buried if they do it to themselves and fail to play by the rules.

 
Jun 20, 2017
Lies
Hvyc Cardholder

Was told my interest wild be 16.99% and $0 annual fee, until I got my first statement. My interest wad 24.99% and a $75 annual fee. None of my credit cards have an annual fee and I'm not about to start now! I highly recommend the citi card for Costco! 0% for 12 months when I signed up for it. 12% after that.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Worst credit card I've ever had
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't get it

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Worst ****ing card you can ever get
Anonymous Cardholder

Had the car for 3 Days made 3 transactions they charge me double for the annual fee which made my card go over went to get gas stuck at a gas station for 2 days my car because they could not put the money back on to my card that they promised that they would have back on first thing the next day the next day comes the money is not on the card I called and they give me the run-around again talk about the money can't be on the card until the next day Monday they have no type of backup they said they have a 24 hour thing emergency thing that doesn't and then the customer service tried to tell you that we can't please everybody and I said there's more negative reviews than positive reviews I understand this is a card to build up your credit but we are people too and for you to have double charged a person and don't make up for your mistakes and can't put the person's money back on that is messed up but when you want your money your payment you get it I will be calling back to close my account worst startup card you can ever get

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Worst Credit card out there.
Tekki Cardholder

Endless fees. $25 just to raise limit once you qualify, fees to replace or add an additional card. Insurance fees that are advertised and easily clicked "Accept" when using the site. Terrible customer service, no way to email. I have a AMEX, and Capital One card, AVOID THIS. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Credit One Bank® Cash Back Rewards Credit Card