Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 21, 2017
Great card for frequent travelers!
JessieKayMo Cardholder

I applied for this card about two years ago when I started a job which required me to travel. At the time, credit scores were around 620. I was approved for a $2k credit limit. After two years of using this card and paying on time, I called yesterday and asked if they'd increase my limit. The raised it up to $7k (my scores on CK are both 660).  Love this card and the travel rewards!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 25, 2018
Evama Cardholder

You need to scrutinize the offer.. They advertised to us as 200 off your initial ticket price and then 50000 bonus miles after you spend 2000 in 3 months. We met this requirement and then were told that was not our offer... The offer was 200 and 10000 bonus miles after spending 500 and that supposedly it was an either or option and I chose the 10000 miles option. There was never an option to select one or the other and they refused to work with us to correct the situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 23, 2018
Love SWA and love this card !
luisba Cardholder

I use it to pay all my monthly bills and big expenses and get +1,000 points every month. The initial offer is great and you also get 6,000 points every year so pretty much a no brainer if you are a frequent traveller. 

more ...
May 22, 2018
Don’t believe the sign up rewards
pend1393 Cardholder

I applied for this card in Jan 2018 was immediately approved for a 12,000 credit limit. However the sign up bonus was 50,000 if you spend 2,000 in the first three months. I spent well over that amount and only received 10,000 points when I called about it they said the offer changes at random so instead I got 10,000 points for 500 dollars spent. Basically they can change it and there is absolutely nothing you can do about it. 

more ...
May 18, 2018
Excited to have this card!
lkeith3 Cardholder

I love the bonus points when you spend the $1,000 in the first three months. It is a great deal that will let me book at least 3 flights from those points alone. The application process was very easy, and I was approved with a credit limit similar to my other highest cards. I called Chase to see if I could go ahead and book a flight before my card arrives, but for security purposes they could not disclose the number to me. However, they did offer to expedite the shipping on my card so I can book my flights sooner than if it had arrived with standard shipping. Their customer service was nothing but kind! Also, I like that I can schedule payments when my transactions are still pending, instead of waiting until they are fully reflected on the balance.

more ...
May 04, 2018
best credit card ive ever had
brianrss Cardholder

don't carry a balance but use it to pay bills you normally pay every month ,then fly for free !!!

more ...
Apr 25, 2018
Evama Cardholder

You need to scrutinize the offer.. They advertised to us as 200 off your initial ticket price and then 50000 bonus miles after you spend 2000 in 3 months. We met this requirement and then were told that was not our offer... The offer was 200 and 10000 bonus miles after spending 500 and that supposedly it was an either or option and I chose the 10000 miles option. There was never an option to select one or the other and they refused to work with us to correct the situation.

more ...
Mar 08, 2018
Aweful
Anonymous Cardholder

Be careful. I was 30 days late due to a job change. They closed my account without telling me.  Customer service is RUDE !!!

more ...
Feb 20, 2018
Fantastic card with great benefits
Araz Cardholder

This is a great card for daily use, especially if you live near a Southwest airport. RR card quickly became my 'top of the wallet' card for everything. Point system is less stingy than other airline cards. This card can contribute greatly toward Southwest Companion Pass. Customer support is also great. All and all, a great card!

more ...
Nov 25, 2017
Recipe for Ruined Credi/Overdraft fees
hdaunoy Cardholder

I like the idea and the perks of this credit card; however, Chase has to be the last major bank in the country that limits you to two choices when defining a recurring payment amount: full balance amount or minimum balance due. What's worse is that their phones are manned by the most limited thinking people who don't see this as a problem. I have to think that they either want their customers to assess the fees and costs of paying the minimum amount every month or they want you to overdraw their customers' checking accounts. My advice is to be super diligent when selecting any Chase Credit Card. Their recurring payment options are limited and in my mind immoral. Let the customer define how much they want to pay each month. As soon as I get done with the first year's perks I'm dumping this card and I am dumping my checking account with them even faster. Chase, you are failing here. Southwest, find a new credit card partner - one who is up to date on technology for payments and who don't want to see your customers ruin their credit and cost them fees.

more ...
Dec 10, 2017

This is not a good review there are other ways to pay your card and I'm sure people don't care about your feelings on auto pay when looking at reviews on a Southwest CC smh

 
Jan 31, 2018

Bad review. Set your recurring payment to pay the minimum so you never have to worry about a missed payment being reported on your credit report and then be an adult and pay down the balance via additional payments in any balance on any day.

 
Mar 04, 2018

I’ve had this card since 2012 and pay however much I want whenever I want. I’ve never been limited to only the balance or minimum amount due. This review isn’t valid.

 
Nov 19, 2017
Love it
ZPC89 Cardholder

ive had this card for 5 years now and my current credit line is 15K. I primarily fly Southwest and enjoy the rewards. They post on my account within a few weeks. I had recommended this card to various family members and after signing up got my referral points. Their customer service is friendly and ready to assist with any request. Good thing about this card is that you can use the Visa signature concierge.  

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
Ripoff!
Anonymous Cardholder

I just tried to cancel a car reservation made with my Southwest RR points and they're refusing to refund my 23,000 points. Terrible customer service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 20, 2018

Were you a no-show to the flight? This does not sound like a Chase problem to me.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card