Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 02, 2016
Instant Approval $7200
Anonymous Cardholder

I was nervous applying for this card, as I had been denied for a Chase card in the past but over the past year I've worked hard to rebuild my credit and was shocked and excited to find that I was insantly approved for $7,200. CS of 711 & 717. Application was easy and extremely quick. I am very excited to start using the card and earn my bonus rapid reward points incentive! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 03, 2016
Not as valuable as it once was
emilybrenn Cardholder

I have had this card for 5 years. Before Southwest decreased the value of its points, I found htis card to be my preferred card. After the $99 annual fee and the point decrease, this card is not as useful. I called Chase to see if my annual fee could be waived and spoke to two very rude customer service agents based in Texas. Neither would waive the fee, offer more points, or decrease my APR. I have other Visas and other travel rewards cards. They would only consider raising my creidt limit if I authorized a hard pull of my credit report, which I do not want to do because my score is about 780 and I plan to buy a house soon. After 5 years of being a good customer, they literally offered nothing to keep me onboard.

I am only keeping this card for credit history purposes for now. I would not recommend this airline card or Chase cards to anyone after this experience - go with American Express if you can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 27, 2017
Rewarding
JessicaStone69 Cardholder

SW Plus 50k – https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?PID=CFFD2&SPID=FHTS&CELL=600V&MSC=1530063807

Sw Premier 50k – https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?PID=CFFD2&SPID=FHV5&CELL=600G&MSC=1529340613

Best way to get companion pass is to apply for both same day for 1 hard inquiry 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
I Fly Southwest!!
cacole1022 Cardholder

I primarily fly Southwest for business so it make sense to use this card frequently.  Never have a problem getting my points and have enjoyed many free flights with rewards program.  If you travel for business and use Southwest this card is a must have.  If not, don't get it.  Very simple. 

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
They don't give you the miles promised
Anonymous Cardholder

Watch them carefully.  I did the $50K signup.  (25K right away and 25K after spending like $3K in 3 months.)  I spent the $3K right away and got the 25K miles.  Then after the 3 months was up and no extra 25K miles I called them.  They said...too bad...you should've called sooner.  I asked how I was supposed to know that I didn't have to wait the 3 months for the extra 25K miles and they had no answer.  In other words, you need to read all fine print or they screw you out of the promised miles.  I cancelled immediately.  

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
They don't give you the miles promised
Anonymous Cardholder

Watch them carefully.  I did the $50K signup.  (25K right away and 25K after spending like $3K in 3 months.)  I spent the $3K right away and got the 25K miles.  Then after the 3 months was up and no extra 25K miles I called them.  They said...too bad...you should've called sooner.  I asked how I was supposed to know that I didn't have to wait the 3 months for the extra 25K miles and they had no answer.  In other words, you need to read all fine print or they screw you out of the promised miles.  I cancelled immediately.  

more ...
Feb 28, 2017
It is probably the best airline program.
Anonymous Cardholder

I have flown SWA frequently to most areas of the country over the past 30 years. We have used the Visa Rapid Rewards card exclusively and have benefitted in many ways. Accumulated points are used by my children to fly from their college town home often. By accumulating 125,000 points, my wife becomes a companion and flies with me being charged only $5.20 each way any time we fly together. Utilizing this program, we have saved significant sums and have freed up our children to visit us often and vise versa. The ease in booking with credit cards or points is phenomenal unmatched by any other airline.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Slow approval process but no real issues
abqsilver Cardholder

I applied with fairly limited credit history and a 650 score and had to wait for approval. CS rep called me to follow up and turned out that the delay was due to the authorized user I had requested in addition to myself. Bulk of reward points are easy to aquire within the given window. 

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Great loyalty card
queenoffrance Cardholder

$99 annual fee

6,000 reward miles every anniversary

This is the greatest rewards card I've ever had.  Points are quickly transferred to your Rapid Rewards account, and incredibly easy to redeem.  1 point per dollar, 2 points for every dollar spent on Southwest.  If you pay your balance off every month, use this for utilities, groceries, gasoline, everything...  and then fly for free at least 2 or 3 times a year!

I don't understand the person who is complaining about not making it to A-list, which has nothing to do with the credit card itself.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Loyalty SLAP in the FACE
BBragg78660 Cardholder

You travel a lot with SWA and get within $650 of basic A List... they offer to let you buy the difference $650 but that is more than it cost you all year to buy A Group boarding for all your flights.... they SNATCH the points and SLAP your CUSTOMER FACE like a second class citizen vs. a Southwest loyalist. It sticks in the gut like a bad meal.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Instant Approval for $4,000 667 & 671
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved instantly for $4,000. My scores are at 667 & 671 according to CK. Very excited about getting airline miles! My best friend has this card and pays for everything from groceries to utility bills on this card, and then pays them off right away. She flies everywhere for free!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 22, 2017

Did you know your fico 8 scores at the time u applied ?

 
Jan 07, 2017
Fantastic if you travel!
greens911 Cardholder

There is a $99 annual fee but we get so many free flights that it hardly matters.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

28 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i