Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
12 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.24% - 25.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2018
5 star card!!!
Liam16 Cardholder

I originally applied for this card to help my daughter earn some rapid rewards points. I honestly was not expecting to get approved. Approval came back quickly with a $4500 CL. I earned my 40K rapid rewards points about a week after hitting the $1000 spend within 90 days.  My daughter earned her referral points about a week after I got my approval. 

Will continue to keep this card in my arsenal. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 18, 2019
Don’t believe the hype
MAC51inCali Cardholder

I wanted this card for a long time.  I worked hard to get my credit in the good-excellent range.  While I did get the initial 60k miles for signing up, and I do get miles for actual flights, to date no miles or ‘points’ have been awarded for any other purchases.  I’ll be filing this card away for a rainy day.  Disappointed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 18, 2019
Don’t believe the hype
MAC51inCali Cardholder

I wanted this card for a long time.  I worked hard to get my credit in the good-excellent range.  While I did get the initial 60k miles for signing up, and I do get miles for actual flights, to date no miles or ‘points’ have been awarded for any other purchases.  I’ll be filing this card away for a rainy day.  Disappointed.

more ...
May 26, 2019
Not as promised for miles
Lawwdogg4661 Cardholder

Do not expect to get anywhere with Chase or Southwest. They blame one another for the point situation. My daughter and myself are very unhappy! Looking for a different card for my flight miles

more ...
Apr 25, 2019
CRAP
Jacqui092801 Cardholder

Do not get a CHASE CREDIT CARD !!! They approved me for a $2500 limit on Tuesday received the card that Thursday and it was closed by CHASE on the next THURSDAY!!! WTF THAT really SUCKS! So I cl and they say you will get a letter in the mail! What BS

more ...
Apr 06, 2019
Excellent for travel!
S2000Camaro Cardholder

I got this card with the offer of a companion pass and 30,000 points when you spend 4k in 3 months. I did that and IMMEDIATELY received both perks. I've also traveled to Mexico and Honduras with this card and had 0 issues using it. So far I'm happy! Look at all the negative reviews.. People angry that they didn't pay their bill and blown away that there were consequences..?

more ...
Mar 30, 2019
EXCELLENT CARD
lindagreg22 Cardholder

I saw a very good approval and applied. I was approved for. $17K. SO FAR SO GOOD

more ...
Mar 20, 2019
Benefits don't really exist
ThunderJim Cardholder

The credit for early check-in apparently isn't real

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

You get reimbursed for upgraded boarding at the gate, not early bird check-in. They are two totally different things. It works, and you get credited as soon as the transaction posts to your account.

 
Apr 15, 2019

Also, isn't that for the Priority card rather than this one?

 
Dec 30, 2018
Excellent card to have
Wegens Cardholder

Easy approval and starting me with great credit limit 

more ...
Dec 14, 2018
Horrible!
TashaHop Cardholder

Account was opened for 3+ years with no late payments until my first 30 day late due to me having a baby and wasn’t aware the payment was not sent. I called customer service asking them why my account was closed after ONE missed payment. The representative did not give me a real answer but said that if I can make the past due balance they will reopen my account since it hasn’t been closed for more than 30 days. THAT WAS A LIE! The representative con me into making a payment thinking that I would be able to reopen my account but instead they ended up saying there is nothing they could do as it was the bank who closed it. Customer service is horrible. At least congratulate me on having a new baby instead of focusing on getting money.

more ...
Dec 23, 2018

That's why i always pay my cards due date before the due date you can also sign up for auto pay for credit cards.

 
Mar 18, 2019

Congrats on baby!

 
Jun 27, 2019

Set auto pay.

 
Oct 28, 2018
5 star card!!!
Liam16 Cardholder

I originally applied for this card to help my daughter earn some rapid rewards points. I honestly was not expecting to get approved. Approval came back quickly with a $4500 CL. I earned my 40K rapid rewards points about a week after hitting the $1000 spend within 90 days.  My daughter earned her referral points about a week after I got my approval. 

Will continue to keep this card in my arsenal. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2018

Wow what was your score?

 
Dec 11, 2018

What was your score?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card