Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.99% - 23.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.99% - 23.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 30, 2012
rushartem Cardholder

CK 697 - Was approved instantly for Southwest Premier Visa Signature $15.5k @ 15.24%. Received the card in about 4 days. I applied when there was only 1 free flight offered, however, by the time i received the card the offer was for 50k points (2 free flights). I emailed customer service after receiving the card asking if they could give me the 25k points on top of the 25k points i received to match the current offer. Their reply was that they would be glad to do it as it would just be good business. I was impressed. Shortly after getting the card my wife and I decided to use the free flights for our anniversary trip, but i found out that it takes Chase up to 2 billing cycles to credit the points and up to 30 days for Southwest to credit those points to your rapid rewards account. Once again i logged into my chase account and sent a "secure message" to Chase asking if I could have the points sooner. Next day i had an email back saying that they would be glad to credit my points sooner, by the end of next business day i had my points in my Southwest account. I've been very impressed with the general service.

Customer service number on the back of the card, an actual person picked up when i called. That was something i've never had with any other card.

The 50k points was actually more than enough for two tickets for us. We only spent 35k points on two tickets from RI to FL and back with enough points left over for a 3rd ticket for some other time :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 03, 2016
Not as valuable as it once was
emilybrenn Cardholder

I have had this card for 5 years. Before Southwest decreased the value of its points, I found htis card to be my preferred card. After the $99 annual fee and the point decrease, this card is not as useful. I called Chase to see if my annual fee could be waived and spoke to two very rude customer service agents based in Texas. Neither would waive the fee, offer more points, or decrease my APR. I have other Visas and other travel rewards cards. They would only consider raising my creidt limit if I authorized a hard pull of my credit report, which I do not want to do because my score is about 780 and I plan to buy a house soon. After 5 years of being a good customer, they literally offered nothing to keep me onboard.

I am only keeping this card for credit history purposes for now. I would not recommend this airline card or Chase cards to anyone after this experience - go with American Express if you can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 26, 2017
Quick application
Mns38 Cardholder

I was approved for this card with a 740 Fico score and $53k yearly income. They gave me $8500 credit limit on this one. 

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Great card for frequent travelers!
JessieKayMo Cardholder

I applied for this card about two years ago when I started a job which required me to travel. At the time, credit scores were around 620. I was approved for a $2k credit limit. After two years of using this card and paying on time, I called yesterday and asked if they'd increase my limit. The raised it up to $7k (my scores on CK are both 660).  Love this card and the travel rewards!

more ...
May 03, 2017
Love it!
WhatWhatWhat73 Cardholder

I earned the 50,000 bonus points on the Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Visa. I also applied for the Chase Sapphire and received the 40,000 bonus points and transferred them to this account for a total of 90,000 (plus) miles. It's a great deal and I love dealing with Chase and Southwest Airlines. The miles are so easy to redeem and no blocked out dates. Also, Chase notices fraudulent activity right away and send a text, email and phone call; I appreciate their vigilance and willingness to work with me after such occurrences. I have never had a negative experience with my Chase mortgage, bank account or credit card. I do wish there wasn't an annual fee but that will continue to be my wish...

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
badgerspear Cardholder

Rapid rewards partner Turbotax pts. were applied 2 days later.  1000 pts for my husband and 1000 for me.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
JessicaStone69 Cardholder

Have referrals for SW Plus 50k with $2000 spend or 40k with only $1000 spend.

SW Plus 50k- https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?PID=CFFD2&SPID=FHTS&CELL=600V&MSC=1530063807

SW Plus 40k - https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?SPID=FNTQ&CELL=63HB&MSC=1530063807

SW Premier 50k- https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?PID=CFFD2&SPID=FHV5&CELL=600G&MSC=1529340613

SW Premier 40k - https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?SPID=FNTD&CELL=63HB&MSC=1529340613

Whatever you choose, best of luck. Can easily apply for 2 cards same day to combine hard inquiries into 1. Much appreciate signing up through my link as it will help my family fly as well! :)

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Rewarding
JessicaStone69 Cardholder

SW Plus 50k – https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?PID=CFFD2&SPID=FHTS&CELL=600V&MSC=1530063807

Sw Premier 50k – https://applynow.chase.com/FlexAppWeb/renderApp.do?PID=CFFD2&SPID=FHV5&CELL=600G&MSC=1529340613

Best way to get companion pass is to apply for both same day for 1 hard inquiry 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
I Fly Southwest!!
cacole1022 Cardholder

I primarily fly Southwest for business so it make sense to use this card frequently.  Never have a problem getting my points and have enjoyed many free flights with rewards program.  If you travel for business and use Southwest this card is a must have.  If not, don't get it.  Very simple. 

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
They don't give you the miles promised
Anonymous Cardholder

Watch them carefully.  I did the $50K signup.  (25K right away and 25K after spending like $3K in 3 months.)  I spent the $3K right away and got the 25K miles.  Then after the 3 months was up and no extra 25K miles I called them.  They said...too bad...you should've called sooner.  I asked how I was supposed to know that I didn't have to wait the 3 months for the extra 25K miles and they had no answer.  In other words, you need to read all fine print or they screw you out of the promised miles.  I cancelled immediately.  

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
They don't give you the miles promised
Anonymous Cardholder

Watch them carefully.  I did the $50K signup.  (25K right away and 25K after spending like $3K in 3 months.)  I spent the $3K right away and got the 25K miles.  Then after the 3 months was up and no extra 25K miles I called them.  They said...too bad...you should've called sooner.  I asked how I was supposed to know that I didn't have to wait the 3 months for the extra 25K miles and they had no answer.  In other words, you need to read all fine print or they screw you out of the promised miles.  I cancelled immediately.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

24 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i