Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 02, 2016
Instant Approval $7200
Anonymous Cardholder

I was nervous applying for this card, as I had been denied for a Chase card in the past but over the past year I've worked hard to rebuild my credit and was shocked and excited to find that I was insantly approved for $7,200. CS of 711 & 717. Application was easy and extremely quick. I am very excited to start using the card and earn my bonus rapid reward points incentive! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 03, 2016
Not as valuable as it once was
emilybrenn Cardholder

I have had this card for 5 years. Before Southwest decreased the value of its points, I found htis card to be my preferred card. After the $99 annual fee and the point decrease, this card is not as useful. I called Chase to see if my annual fee could be waived and spoke to two very rude customer service agents based in Texas. Neither would waive the fee, offer more points, or decrease my APR. I have other Visas and other travel rewards cards. They would only consider raising my creidt limit if I authorized a hard pull of my credit report, which I do not want to do because my score is about 780 and I plan to buy a house soon. After 5 years of being a good customer, they literally offered nothing to keep me onboard.

I am only keeping this card for credit history purposes for now. I would not recommend this airline card or Chase cards to anyone after this experience - go with American Express if you can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
Slow approval process but no real issues
abqsilver Cardholder

I applied with fairly limited credit history and a 650 score and had to wait for approval. CS rep called me to follow up and turned out that the delay was due to the authorized user I had requested in addition to myself. Bulk of reward points are easy to aquire within the given window. 

more ...
Feb 16, 2017
Great loyalty card
queenoffrance Cardholder

$99 annual fee

6,000 reward miles every anniversary

This is the greatest rewards card I've ever had.  Points are quickly transferred to your Rapid Rewards account, and incredibly easy to redeem.  1 point per dollar, 2 points for every dollar spent on Southwest.  If you pay your balance off every month, use this for utilities, groceries, gasoline, everything...  and then fly for free at least 2 or 3 times a year!

I don't understand the person who is complaining about not making it to A-list, which has nothing to do with the credit card itself.

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Loyalty SLAP in the FACE
BBragg78660 Cardholder

You travel a lot with SWA and get within $650 of basic A List... they offer to let you buy the difference $650 but that is more than it cost you all year to buy A Group boarding for all your flights.... they SNATCH the points and SLAP your CUSTOMER FACE like a second class citizen vs. a Southwest loyalist. It sticks in the gut like a bad meal.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Instant Approval for $4,000 667 & 671
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card and was approved instantly for $4,000. My scores are at 667 & 671 according to CK. Very excited about getting airline miles! My best friend has this card and pays for everything from groceries to utility bills on this card, and then pays them off right away. She flies everywhere for free!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 22, 2017

Did you know your fico 8 scores at the time u applied ?

 
Jan 07, 2017
Fantastic if you travel!
greens911 Cardholder

There is a $99 annual fee but we get so many free flights that it hardly matters.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Excellent
ejsmom13 Cardholder

I love the card. I would love it even more if I could get an increase in my credit lmit. It's been a year and I haven't received an increase. But overall, I love the ease of usage.

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Great card!

Applied for this card holding a 732 TU and 740 EX. Application was very simple, approved in literally 2 minutes for a $7,500 limit. Great card, use it every day to gain points. 

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
decreased points, increased annual fee
rhig Cardholder

Very intrusive, automated online system buggy and quickly defaults to requiring massive amounts of personal data. Fraud department can't even tell you if they sent an email unless you identify it for them.  A card that ends up being time consuming . I don't have any other card like this.

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Awesome!!, One of My Favorites!
timothy7897 Cardholder

Had the card over a year and have a current point balance of 70,000, It is a great feeling to have free flights when ever I need them, don't be afraid of the $99 annual fee, every year you receive 6,000 Points which covers the $99 you have to pay. Also, My highest limit to date $44,000!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Southwest/Chase just raised their rates as of 10/12/2016. They claim it is to adjust to current market rates but these rates are set by the corporations that monopolize this industry. This now makes them uncompetitive with other companies that offer better rates and points that can be used for air miles etc. Start looking for a better Credit Card folks.!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 22, 2016

You should never carry a balance.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

25 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i