Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $99
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.24% - 23.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 02, 2016
Instant Approval $7200
Anonymous Cardholder

I was nervous applying for this card, as I had been denied for a Chase card in the past but over the past year I've worked hard to rebuild my credit and was shocked and excited to find that I was insantly approved for $7,200. CS of 711 & 717. Application was easy and extremely quick. I am very excited to start using the card and earn my bonus rapid reward points incentive! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 03, 2016
Not as valuable as it once was
emilybrenn Cardholder

I have had this card for 5 years. Before Southwest decreased the value of its points, I found htis card to be my preferred card. After the $99 annual fee and the point decrease, this card is not as useful. I called Chase to see if my annual fee could be waived and spoke to two very rude customer service agents based in Texas. Neither would waive the fee, offer more points, or decrease my APR. I have other Visas and other travel rewards cards. They would only consider raising my creidt limit if I authorized a hard pull of my credit report, which I do not want to do because my score is about 780 and I plan to buy a house soon. After 5 years of being a good customer, they literally offered nothing to keep me onboard.

I am only keeping this card for credit history purposes for now. I would not recommend this airline card or Chase cards to anyone after this experience - go with American Express if you can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2016
decreased points, increased annual fee
rhig Cardholder

Very intrusive, automated online system buggy and quickly defaults to requiring massive amounts of personal data. Fraud department can't even tell you if they sent an email unless you identify it for them.  A card that ends up being time consuming . I don't have any other card like this.

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Awesome!!, One of My Favorites!
timothy7897 Cardholder

Had the card over a year and have a current point balance of 70,000, It is a great feeling to have free flights when ever I need them, don't be afraid of the $99 annual fee, every year you receive 6,000 Points which covers the $99 you have to pay. Also, My highest limit to date $44,000!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Southwest/Chase just raised their rates as of 10/12/2016. They claim it is to adjust to current market rates but these rates are set by the corporations that monopolize this industry. This now makes them uncompetitive with other companies that offer better rates and points that can be used for air miles etc. Start looking for a better Credit Card folks.!

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Not as valuable as it once was
emilybrenn Cardholder

I have had this card for 5 years. Before Southwest decreased the value of its points, I found htis card to be my preferred card. After the $99 annual fee and the point decrease, this card is not as useful. I called Chase to see if my annual fee could be waived and spoke to two very rude customer service agents based in Texas. Neither would waive the fee, offer more points, or decrease my APR. I have other Visas and other travel rewards cards. They would only consider raising my creidt limit if I authorized a hard pull of my credit report, which I do not want to do because my score is about 780 and I plan to buy a house soon. After 5 years of being a good customer, they literally offered nothing to keep me onboard.

I am only keeping this card for credit history purposes for now. I would not recommend this airline card or Chase cards to anyone after this experience - go with American Express if you can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 27, 2016

AE is excellent and good for your credit IF YOU PAY IT OFF EVERY MONTH. It adds quite a lot to your scores when used appropriately. The reverse is also true!!!

 
Aug 02, 2016
Great signing bonus!
Anonymous Cardholder

Fico8 Scores 777 and approved for $12,000 limit. My largest limit to date. Got the Southwest companion pass from the signing bonus.

more ...
Aug 02, 2016
Great signing bonus!
Anonymous Cardholder

Fico8 Scores 777 and approved for $12,000 limit. My largest limit to date. Got the Southwest companion pass from the signing bonus.

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
Instant Approval $7200
Anonymous Cardholder

I was nervous applying for this card, as I had been denied for a Chase card in the past but over the past year I've worked hard to rebuild my credit and was shocked and excited to find that I was insantly approved for $7,200. CS of 711 & 717. Application was easy and extremely quick. I am very excited to start using the card and earn my bonus rapid reward points incentive! 

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
Good card for travelers.
cgsabre04 Cardholder

The card earns you reward miles that you can redeem for all kinds of travel expenses, not just flights. Has an annual fee, so don't be surprised when it shows up on your statement. I was approved immediately for a $10,500 limit with a credit score of about 760.

more ...
Jun 04, 2016
Bretthill2 Cardholder

Great card. I have flown several round trips for free from using this card to build up points. The $99 annual fee isn't awesome, but the card is definitely worth having if you take a trip or two every year. Highly recommend. 

more ...
Jun 02, 2016
Great Card.
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card and received the 50K bonus points. CS was 815-824. Approved immediately for $30,000CL. Received card in 4 days and started using immediately. Customer service is great. I always pay balance in full at the end of each month on the day the payment is due. I ususally call and make the payment over the phone at no additional charge. I have recommended this card to all my family and friends. Have used the points I have received over the last 2 years for 8 round trip tickets.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 322
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Southwest Rapid Rewards® Premier Credit Card

24 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i