Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
184 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 23, 2019
Got it!
Chargers4life96 Cardholder

CK said I have fair odds but applied anyway.   Result said they need to review more so I figured oh well and it did hit my score by 3 right away.  I have the Sapphire with 8k limit and kept balance really low.  Signed on my phone to make my payment and noticed I have the Freedom Unlimited underneath my Sapphire.  I was excited to see that I was approved for $6100.  Called costumer service to make sure and verify that it’s not a mistake and they said yes it was approved.  So with my odds of just fair I think Chase consider your other accounts with them maybe and if you’re in good standing maybe they base it on that as well.   My payment history is at 100%.  CS is 690 at the moment but I just started building my credit for about 3 years now.   So happy to say I’m excited to have this card and will take advantage of that 15 months 0% APR.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 03, 2019
Terrific card, free money!
Ihavemorethanu Cardholder

This card is in the category of cards you wouldn't want to carry a balance on due to its high interest rate.  With that being said if you use it to pay for items you have to purchase every month anyways which you would normally pay out of your bank account then it works extremely well. We use our card only to pay for food and gas and we have it configured to auto pay pay in full out of our checking account by its due date every month so we aren't incurring any interest fee's.  We allow our reward points to stay and will use them to offest the cost our anuual vacation which we wil also use the card to pay for and pay off the balance immediately.

more ...
Mar 28, 2019
horrible experience
Glin13 Cardholder

I was instantly approved and received my card quickly via mail. It was only used 2 days and then my card would decline my purchases. I checked my account only to find out my card was randomly closed 2 days later, with no notice. I called customer service and never got a direct nor helpful reply as to why this was happening. Do not waste your time! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 28, 2019

What was your credit score and did you bank with them?

 
Mar 26, 2019
Instant Approval
myeashadorman Cardholder

Currently, score is in mid 600s- I was approved instantly, but only for a $500 CL. I am just needing this card to add to my number accounts, not for the actual credit. You can get approved if you are low 600s! Don’t lose hope! 

more ...
Mar 23, 2019
Got it!

CK said I have fair odds but applied anyway.   Result said they need to review more so I figured oh well and it did hit my score by 3 right away.  I have the Sapphire with 8k limit and kept balance really low.  Signed on my phone to make my payment and noticed I have the Freedom Unlimited underneath my Sapphire.  I was excited to see that I was approved for $6100.  Called costumer service to make sure and verify that it’s not a mistake and they said yes it was approved.  So with my odds of just fair I think Chase consider your other accounts with them maybe and if you’re in good standing maybe they base it on that as well.   My payment history is at 100%.  CS is 690 at the moment but I just started building my credit for about 3 years now.   So happy to say I’m excited to have this card and will take advantage of that 15 months 0% APR.  

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Unable to transfer a balance
Fralayjr Cardholder

As other applicants have stated, it says you can transfer, but when it came to that it was not available to do so. Got a nice card limit, but that was it. Kind of useless based on what was presented in the offer from CK.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2019

Call customer service and ask.

 
Mar 21, 2019
Great until jacked up interest rate
msiscrm Cardholder

I've had this card for many years (more than 15). It was my go to card for unexpected expenses--car repair, medical, etc-because of it's low everyday interest rate (variable, never more than 10%.) Now, suddenly, the rate is over 16%, pretty much unacceptable for any purchase that would need to be paid over time. With a credit score that is anywhere between 750-825, this is not viable for us. I would cancel but they say it will impact our credit score. But probably will...

more ...
Mar 22, 2019

Did you ever consider rising interest rates? The feds have been raising rates due to the uptick in the economy. Rates from almost every card from every issuer have gone up, but go ahead and blame Chase.

 
Mar 24, 2019

Canceling your credit card means canceling all of your history with that card and it really does impact your credit score badly. If you don’t want to use the card anymore I’d suggest paying it off and not using it ally all. You could even cut it in half so that you don’t use it but don’t cancel it. That way you don’t use the card but your credit score isn’t also impacted negatively.

 
Apr 21, 2019

This card has only been out since 2016. You must have the Freedom card not the Freedom Unlimited.

 
Mar 19, 2019
Horrible Customer Service
Aldawg42 Cardholder

I put in a dispute for a $500 bank charge that should have never happened.  Chase initally removed the charge pending an investigation.  A month later, I was recharged the same amount and was sent a letter in the mail saying that their investigation confirmed that it was a ligitimate change and if I wanted to continue the dispute, I had the let them know by a date THAT WAS IN THE PAST.  I called them as soon as the letter arrived in my mailbox and ask them to reopen the case.  I said I would send more evidence that it was an erroreous change.  Everytime I would email asking for an update, I got the same canned reply, and never a followup, so had the call them many times.  One time I called and was told that the correction would appear in the next billing cycle.  When I called back a month later, was told the case was closed for months and could not be reopened (even though was told in previous calls that they were still working on it).  One customer service person actually told me that as long as I give someone my credit card number, they have the right to charge whatever amount they want, regardless of whether I approved the amount or not.  To say dealing with Chase Freedom Unlimited customer service was nightmarish would be a huge understatement.  I ended up having the take the bank to small claims court, which I won.  Soon after, I cancelled my Chase Freedom Unlimited as well as many of my other Chase Credit Cards.

more ...
Apr 11, 2019

Good for you! I’m glad you won the case. I’ve had that happen to me as well. Although it was a long time ago. I can understand your frustration. These businesses have to realize if it wasn’t for us they wouldn’t be in business. Congratulations!

 
Apr 11, 2019

I’m glad someone other than me will stand up for your rights and not let people take advantage. Good for you. 👍👍👍

 
Mar 17, 2019
Instant approval, great card
ehannibal Cardholder

I received instant approval for this card with a limit of 20k. I recommend paying the balance in full each month to avoid interest after the introductory period.

more ...
Mar 24, 2019

What was your ck score when got this card.

 
Apr 11, 2019

What was annual income if u don’t mind ask and scores. I’m well over 745 on all scores. Just curious where I maybe.

 
Mar 16, 2019
misleading
sharmitcmos Cardholder

i have a great credit score and i asked for a lower interest rate , the guy told me there is none.  so i will pay it off.

more ...
Mar 22, 2019

If you have good credit why are you going through credit karma to chose a credit card brah? They only offer bottom feeder cards for all the busted credit credit karma folks.

 
Apr 18, 2019

Brandon8163 are u a busted Credit Karma person?

 
Apr 19, 2019

lmso

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®