Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
157 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 23, 2019
Got it!
Chargers4life96 Cardholder

CK said I have fair odds but applied anyway.   Result said they need to review more so I figured oh well and it did hit my score by 3 right away.  I have the Sapphire with 8k limit and kept balance really low.  Signed on my phone to make my payment and noticed I have the Freedom Unlimited underneath my Sapphire.  I was excited to see that I was approved for $6100.  Called costumer service to make sure and verify that it’s not a mistake and they said yes it was approved.  So with my odds of just fair I think Chase consider your other accounts with them maybe and if you’re in good standing maybe they base it on that as well.   My payment history is at 100%.  CS is 690 at the moment but I just started building my credit for about 3 years now.   So happy to say I’m excited to have this card and will take advantage of that 15 months 0% APR.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 18, 2018
Misleading
CowboyNation26 Cardholder

I applied for this card with the intentions to utilize the 0% balance transfer for 15 months option. However, what they do not tell you in the card descriptions; "you may be approved for card without having the balance transfer option". I was approved for $6400 without a balance transfer option; when I spoke with customer service they said that balance transfers are a promotional option, which I didn’t qualify for based on my credit worthiness. This doesn’t make much sense... giving the amount of credit line I was approved for and having a 680-700 credit score. Just be aware if you are applying for this card because you would like to use the balance transfer option, there's a great possibility you will not be allowed that option, even if approved. 

On the other hand, American express (no affiliation) approved me for a credit line, and the option for balance transfer is standard with approval (not promotional). 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 11, 2019
Great for existing customers
vnem Cardholder

CK gave me Fair Approval odds with a 714 CS & only 2 years of history. but I decided to apply because I’ve banked with chase since I was 16. I was approved for $3000! If you bank with chase, check your preapproved offers in the app to see if applying is worth it or you’re worried about denial before actually applying.

more ...
Jun 04, 2019
Wonderful card
EF1974 Cardholder

Cl in high 600’s and instantly approved for 4800$. Uses it on vacation with NO problems 

more ...
Jun 04, 2019
customer service is a joke
badfire2u Cardholder

got to talk to over 15 customer service Representatives over a wrong SSN on an application I sent in for the freedom card. not a single one of them told me the same story all of them acted as if nothing was written down from the last representative. I was informed I was approved for the card till 11 days later when I find out that they never sent it and I was still listed with the wrong SSN. still was told I could fix the old application without harm to my credit score so I did because of anger at this point. I do it all again call back 15 WEEKDAYS later to find out they lost my SNN in the fax, fantastic. they tell me they have another way to fix it and ask for the real SNN I give it to them they then proceed to do a hard inquiry without my knowledge.  I think I got to talk to every single department they have at chase and the end all they did was lower my score more for a refill of a new application because of my SSN. apparently, all you need to do to file a hard inquiry under someone's name is to use the power of Facebook and then add a random SSN and its legal to chase, wonderful. even got to go to credit reporting errors were the women so nicely told me she has no idea if they are legally required to tell you when they're running a hard inquiry and "because the other info is right other than the SSN it's not an error" WUT! (an error is not an error)  that can be removed from my score. I now get to live in fear till I close the account that if anything goes wrong, I will not be able to fix it since this is such a small thing and nothing inside the company walls can be done to fix it. incompetence is all I got and when I did get help it was misleading and miss informed help because hope is just a dream you hold onto in a time of chaos.

more ...
Jun 03, 2019
Great card!
BritBrit1117 Cardholder

I've had this card for 4 years now and overall it s been a positive experience. I initially applied for this card with a credit score in the 600s and was approved for $1000. Over the years they've steadily increased my credit limit and my current CL is $4000. Application process was quick and easy and same for the app with access to many options to gain and redeem rewards. Definitely worth having it in my wallet!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 03, 2019

how often was your increases? 500 every 6 months?

 
May 31, 2019
I’m surprised
bennymtk Cardholder

I had “fair approval” odds so I said F it and tried it. I got  approved with a $4300 CL!! was around 630 credit score. I have other accounts and cards I just wanted a bigger limit. I also have 89 inquiries hahah. But I got the card I’ve been looking for and so far so good. (I bank with chase, maybe that’s a reason I got approved) wish y’all luck! If you can’t get this one, try the Citibank double cash .. got a $2k limit on that one. 

more ...
May 31, 2019

Wow... 89 inquiries??? You should probably slow down on the applications

 
Jun 01, 2019

that came from app for car loans, Dealerships Shotgun apps everywhere trying for multiple approval options

 
May 17, 2019
best card I have
creditsave Cardholder

I applied for this card less than 3 months ago. After spending 1000 dls, my 150 dls rewards was aplied quickly. They started me with 1000 dls CL and today Chase just bumped it up to 2000 CL.

I simply pay it of everytime I reach 30% of the CL.

more ...
May 11, 2019
My workhorse Card
SlyFox32 Cardholder

Over 10 years with this card not one complaint although the interest rate floor is a bit higher than most, Just pay the card off when a balance is due and avoid that part.

more ...
May 08, 2019
Chase pulled my credit 2x for one app!

I applied for this card and Chase pulled my credit the day I applied and again on the next day. When I saw multiple hard inquiries on my credit report I called them. Since I am now their customer I expected to call them and they would correct the issue. WRONG. Not only were they unapologetic, they informed me that they have the right to do 3 HARD PULLS ON A SINGLE APPLICATION. Unless you are ok with the effect this could have on your credit score, I would recommend you DO NOT APPLY WITH CHASE!

more ...
May 09, 2019

That’s horrible

 
May 10, 2019

thats fine still, they will only count as one pull, as far as points lost from the pulls. Your ok

 
May 10, 2019

That’s very true, chase will drop your score a good 20 points. Be very careful before applying.
They will dinnie your application if you charged off in the last ten years,

 
May 10, 2019

TeamBeaterz not true! When I look at Credit Karma, I have 3 hard inquires. One is from an auto loan from last year and the other two are hard pulls from Chase on TWO consecutive days. I only submitted ONE application. They confirmed that the fine print authorized them to pull up to 3 times. I'M NOT FINE.

 
May 10, 2019

Bruh they Pull Experian and Transunion in Most states and sometime A CRA will report a day after one another

 
Jun 04, 2019

happened to me to wish I had seen this review before getting a chase card

 
May 05, 2019
Not enough credit.

I signed up and only got a credit limit of 26 thousand, I don’t know if I can live like this. I might have to get 2 Chase Cards

more ...
May 05, 2019

How much credit are you trying for?!?!

 
May 06, 2019

only 26000 lol stop it

 
May 08, 2019

Yeah, I only got 60 thousand. Chase ruined my life with this low credit limit.

 
May 08, 2019

You guys have some paupers limit, lol

 
May 08, 2019

lmaooo

 
May 13, 2019

Are you kidding?

 
May 21, 2019

What was your credit score when you applied?

 
Jun 04, 2019

What was your credit score?

 
Jun 07, 2019

^ what they said. Shoot I wish I had that...

 
Jun 07, 2019

Girl you sound u uneducated and STUPID!

 
Jun 12, 2019

I am really trying to see if this would be a good card for me and I read some whiney crap like this.

 
May 02, 2019
The worst of all my 10 cards
Revjc333 Cardholder

Chase has stranded me on three mission trips outside of the United States, cutting my credit limit without any warning though my credit score has always been 780 to 800, and even freezing my card from making automatic monthly payments on utilities, etc. Only still have it because of the amount of rewards I have not used yet.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 17, 2019

Because you keep using it outside the US! They flag it as maybe theft from another country. You need to call them & tell them where you are using it.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®