Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
183 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

3 star reviews (18) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 08, 2019
Tricky and misleading indeed
cycron3 Cardholder

They get off the phone quick if you are approved.  They do this to avoid allowing you to do a balance transfer.  Called back to see why the transfer didn't go through and the rep says that there is no such offer on the account. Wait 2 days to see if that offer comes available.  If I wait two days it's not the day the card was approved therefore it won't qualify for sure.  I will not recommend anytime soon a friend to volunteer to be taken advantage of.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 09, 2019

Yeah, sure they want to avoid a balance transfer. If you are a good risk, they will almost beg you for a balance transfer if you carry a balance on another card. If you are not a good risk, they don't give you an option to transfer a balance lol. Ok, yeah, Chase is the problem.

 
Mar 26, 2019
Instant Approval
myeashadorman Cardholder

Currently, score is in mid 600s- I was approved instantly, but only for a $500 CL. I am just needing this card to add to my number accounts, not for the actual credit. You can get approved if you are low 600s! Don’t lose hope! 

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Unable to transfer a balance
Fralayjr Cardholder

As other applicants have stated, it says you can transfer, but when it came to that it was not available to do so. Got a nice card limit, but that was it. Kind of useless based on what was presented in the offer from CK.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2019

Call customer service and ask.

 
Feb 08, 2019
High Interest with Credit above 725
RJDoubleU Cardholder

I was happy with the 150$ bonus, as well as 15 months at 0% financing. However, with my perfect payment history and scores well over 700.. I was still given a small credit line at an interest rate almost as high as my Bestbuy card. My WF Cashwise card is a whopping 10% less interest.

more ...
Feb 10, 2019

This review isn’t helpful at all. It’s a rewards card. The interest rate is going to be high no matter what your credit score is. You’re not saying much with the credit limit either. Small credit line to you may be substantial to someone else. I’d hate to see what you would feel entitled to with a score over 800.

 
Feb 11, 2019

You cover over snobbish, as you know this is a rewards card, and they gave you $150.

I got $2400 limit, $150 in rewards, don't give a dam what the APR is, as I pay card off every paycheck.

I also just got an Amazon credit card, $1200 limit, they gave me $70 in rewards. It's also a Chase card,shows up on my Chase app.

The rewards are better on my Amazon credit card issued by chase.

 
Jan 28, 2019
There is no welcome bonus
phoenixxxcp Cardholder

The intro apr is great. The cash back rate is also a great perk. But there is supposed to be a 150$ welcome bonus if you spend i think over 500 on it the frist three months. I spent at least over 4000$ in the first three months at didnt a see a dime for the welcome bonus. 

more ...
Jan 29, 2019

You should call customer service to find out why.

 
Jan 31, 2019

undefined

 
Feb 01, 2019

I got this card Jan 23rd 2019. I spent $700. And today i got 15k points which is the $150 bonus. I cant use them until my billing cycle is done. Which is Feb 12th. I will use that to pay what i had left over due to buying birthday gifts for my daughter. So its a win win for me. I dont mind the intrest.

 
Feb 01, 2019

Also did you check to make sure you have the chase freedom unlimited and not the chase freedom. Because the freedom you have to activated quarterly to get the points.

 
Feb 01, 2019

You get the welcome bonus in points and can redeem them as $150 to your account :)

 
Feb 02, 2019

I got mines

 
Feb 02, 2019

Whats your CL ? Your on your way to fail and lose the card if you spent that much on the card in the first month,unless you CL is $40 k Your spending looks risky to to the lenders if you spend that much in a short period of time ..

 
Feb 03, 2019

Mine was credited to my account, they didn't send me any notice, I just noticed my reward points they are 19,409.

I have spent around $2500 or so on the card, pay it off every week on payday.

I had thought they would notify me, but they didn't. How many points do you have?

 
Nov 24, 2018
Was good at the start, but got worse.
N00biei1 Cardholder

They will lower your limits for no reason.

more ...
Dec 09, 2018

I'm sure there is a reason. One that you won't share or even know about.

 
Dec 17, 2018

Yeah I keep my balance low and make payments all the time, they increased my credit limit.

 
Dec 28, 2018

if you keep your credit utilization at or below 30 percent and always pay on time, a credit limit decrease is unlikely. But maxing out a card – even if it’s not from the same issuer that’s reviewing your account usage – can increase the odds of a limit cut

 
Nov 02, 2018
Never got cash sing up $150 bonus and th
emmerised Cardholder

You’ll drown in the interest rate if you overextend what you spend. Very good 0% interest rate 18 months. 

It’s  necessities only card

more ...
Oct 05, 2018
karate70 Cardholder

Apply on October 3 tell me that the process could take 30 days. Looking at all the comments I do not see anyone taking that time. credit karma told me that I had a possible approval to make transfers when you have an amount of 4000 dollars accumulated in other credit cards

more ...
Oct 05, 2018

Call reconsideration line and talk to actual credit analyst.

 
Oct 05, 2018

I got approved after 2-3weeks of waiting. After I submitted my application online I received letter in mail asking me to send copy of SS card and proof of address so I sent it right away and after 4 days they approved me with 4500 CL.

 
Oct 06, 2018

The response citing 30 days or 2 weeks is supposed to be more favorable than the one saying 7 to 10 days. Don't be surprised if you get a letter from Chase's fraud department requesting you call them. If that happens, they will ask you some questions to further verify your identity and as the person above stated, may request that you fax copies of some documents (I had to call them but didn't have to send anything in). After I verified over the phone, my 30 day message changed to 2 weeks on on 2 weeks on the dot, the message changed to approved. Got my card about a week after that. The 30 day response you got is absolutely not unusual and I'd say it's really more rare for Chase to get instant approval. I already had one of their cards (Amazon Rewards) and still had to jump through some hoops to get this one.

 
Aug 15, 2018
Annoying
Cubby15 Cardholder

Just applied and got approved and my score is at 697, only got 1k which is kind of annoying considering i've never had a late payment and I see people with lower scores on here that got approved for more, which is honestly a big reason why I had applied in the first place. will be calling about this soon and won't be changing my rating until I get a good answer for it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 31, 2018

How old is your credit history?
Its because you may not have very old credit history.
I’m not chase customer yet, going to apply!

 
Aug 14, 2018
Very high ^APR. getting rid of it
emmerised Cardholder

Zero stars ✨ Soon as intro APR is over I am leaving the Chase. They cannot give respect 14% is what my main card is now and they’re gonna give me 21%. Bust it I’m out! Blazing bazinga nuts crazy 21% how can they keep customers!!!?

-they can’t-

more ...
Aug 19, 2018

What’s your income? I think that has a big part in limit amount.

 
Aug 21, 2018

Why get a rewards card and use it for financing? Get a card without rewards with a lower APR. In other words, don't drive a RV back and forth to work, and complain it gets terrible gas mileage.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

18 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i