Chase Freedom Unlimited® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.0 out of 5 stars
183 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0%* intro for 15 months
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.24 - 25.99%* Variable
Collapse

1 star reviews (24) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 12, 2019
Poor customer policies here, avoid Chase

I had a Chase card. It was in good standing and closed by the company without proper notification. No email, no phone call, and they only sent one letter which was never recieved. They were also unwilling to reopen it despite the fact that I caught the situation after only 11 days. Their logic? It was already closed, so I had to apply for a new one. No exception or alternative. I will never do business with Chase again.

more ...
Apr 10, 2019
not the best
muth6969 Cardholder

they just up and closed my account because I was not using it enough. Informed me even if I tried to use it now, they would still close it. I have or had 2 different chase cards. I was getting good points on 1 and just keeping this 2nd card as a back up to increase my total credit amount. I've used up all my points from the 2nd card & got several hundred dollars in gift cards & now I'm going to close it as well.

more ...
Mar 28, 2019
horrible experience
Glin13 Cardholder

I was instantly approved and received my card quickly via mail. It was only used 2 days and then my card would decline my purchases. I checked my account only to find out my card was randomly closed 2 days later, with no notice. I called customer service and never got a direct nor helpful reply as to why this was happening. Do not waste your time! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 28, 2019

What was your credit score and did you bank with them?

 
Mar 19, 2019
Horrible Customer Service
Aldawg42 Cardholder

I put in a dispute for a $500 bank charge that should have never happened.  Chase initally removed the charge pending an investigation.  A month later, I was recharged the same amount and was sent a letter in the mail saying that their investigation confirmed that it was a ligitimate change and if I wanted to continue the dispute, I had the let them know by a date THAT WAS IN THE PAST.  I called them as soon as the letter arrived in my mailbox and ask them to reopen the case.  I said I would send more evidence that it was an erroreous change.  Everytime I would email asking for an update, I got the same canned reply, and never a followup, so had the call them many times.  One time I called and was told that the correction would appear in the next billing cycle.  When I called back a month later, was told the case was closed for months and could not be reopened (even though was told in previous calls that they were still working on it).  One customer service person actually told me that as long as I give someone my credit card number, they have the right to charge whatever amount they want, regardless of whether I approved the amount or not.  To say dealing with Chase Freedom Unlimited customer service was nightmarish would be a huge understatement.  I ended up having the take the bank to small claims court, which I won.  Soon after, I cancelled my Chase Freedom Unlimited as well as many of my other Chase Credit Cards.

more ...
Apr 11, 2019

Good for you! I’m glad you won the case. I’ve had that happen to me as well. Although it was a long time ago. I can understand your frustration. These businesses have to realize if it wasn’t for us they wouldn’t be in business. Congratulations!

 
Apr 11, 2019

I’m glad someone other than me will stand up for your rights and not let people take advantage. Good for you. 👍👍👍

 
Mar 04, 2019
Very Limited rewards.
MichaGeorge1 Cardholder

There are very few rewards with this card and they seem to have a very strange way of calculating interest.  This is definitely not an incentive based card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 27, 2019

How would you say they calculate their interest rates? Curious to know... Thanks!

 
Mar 03, 2019
BETTER OUT THERE!
Mikeyjl Cardholder

Was given a credit line of $6200, less than 1/2 of my other cards. I have excellent credit, have very little debt and make plenty of money. I requested an increase they ran a credit check, which screwed my credit score up and only raised it to $7500. My lowest card has $12,000 credit limit. STAY away from them, much better out there. AND there foreign customer service is useless!

more ...
Mar 04, 2019

f you have to much extended credit or keep large balances they will not give you larger CL.....also if you have had more than 2 inquiries in the past 3 months that will also have a effect on the CL they will extend to you.

 
Mar 06, 2019

If you have other cards with low balances and $12k+ limits, it doesn’t make much sense from a credit standpoint to request a credit increase on another card.

 
Feb 28, 2019
Not all what it says
R0iB0i Cardholder

This card is nice to the point where you get rewards and no annual. BUT.... Balance transfer is not a real thing. You can only transfer within chase and it the amount you want to transfer has to be the entire amount, providing this new card has a higher limit. You are not able to transfer from other services or accounts as it says through chase. It says you much wait for an offer which there are never any. If you plan on signing up for this card to do balance transfers, don't.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 06, 2019

Not true. My Chase Freedom Unlimited card was just approved with a balance transfer from my Barclay’s card.

 
Feb 26, 2019
Hatred
Ariz0na Cardholder

Chase Bank will deny you to use their Bank if they find out you support Trump

more ...
Mar 02, 2019

Typical entitlement behavior. You feel entitled to a credit card, when you dont get it you blame someone. If your credit and income fell within their guidelines you would have been approved.

 
Mar 04, 2019

Apparently you have zero friends...NOBODY ASKED YOUR OPINION LOSER. I am not a Lib like yourself. Must suck Living off Credit Cards you trolling idiot.

 
Mar 04, 2019

And before you open your filth ring I never applied for this Credit Card.

 
Mar 05, 2019

Lol

 
Mar 06, 2019

Your life must suck. I would hate to be you arizona lol.

 
Mar 07, 2019

Oh it's the official Credit Card rating trolling waste of donated sperm. Nanny Pelosi is looking for you retard.

 
Mar 12, 2019

omg lmaoooo

 
Mar 21, 2019

Ariz0na, Chase Bank denied you because you're a stupid ignorant idiot! By the way if i had to choose from living off credit cards or living in a trailer park like you Ariz0na, i would gladly choose living off credit cards and away from trash like you Ariz0na!!!

 
Jan 10, 2019
Horrible
RoseRay0818 Cardholder

I just received my card one month after applying and immediately cancelled it. The whole application process has been a complete nightmare. Not only did they send my card to the wrong address but when I inquired about my application two weeks after applying because I didn’t get a response from them, I quickly learned their customer service is horrible. They don’t actually ask or care what your concerns are, instead they quickly read off a script and transfer you a bunch of times. I asked on the phone if I would be guaranteed to be able to transfer both of my card balances to this new card and the rep said yes. I thought all this hassle would be worth it. Wrong. I received my card and called customer service to help with BT. Then they tell me they can only transfer $1,600 since my credit limit is $1,700 (mind you, my credit score is high 600s). I told her what I was told previously and that I’m extremely, EXTREMELY disappointed in this whole ordeal. She said I can apply for a higher credit limit but it’d be a hard inquiry. Of course I said NO because you guys JUST did one and I don’t want another hard inquiry. She obviously didn’t care and proceeded to try and sell me other products. I told her three times I’m cancelling this card. I hate Chase. Don’t waste your time. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2019

You cant do that ..It showed chase your too much of a risk . Thats not chases fault ..Your giving a bad review for your own financial problems , You shouldn't be carrying a balance anyway ..Pay off your card every month and you wont have these problems

 
Jan 02, 2019
Horrible
Onemadcookie Cardholder

They give you an insultingly low credit limit then proceed to tell you they have to pull your credit a second time to get a higher limit even though they just pulled it 5 minutes prior. Then they tell you no increase but won't tell you why. I have excellent credit and make good money. There is NO excuse. I have credit cards with 3 times the limit and not one late payment...ever. I just wanted a balance transfer to save some interest. The obscenely low CL they gave won't cover it. Don't waste your credit score with these people.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019

people with a very large balance will often get low CL no matter what their credit score is......and if you have more than 2 inquiries in the past 3 months that will also decrease your chances of getting a larger CL.

 
Feb 05, 2019

what do you mean by BALANCE TRANSFER? i been reading reviews from others about balance transfer, but since i'm new to this whole credit card thing, i don't understand what that is? I been dieing to start gaining a credit score, so I went with Capitol One secured card as my first credit card so i can start a history and score,

 
Apr 14, 2019

Redpoizon77 Read everything you can about Credit. Watch Youtube videos on credit. You can learn alot !

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

24 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i