BankAmericard® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.8 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 15 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.74% - 22.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 15 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.74% - 22.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 10, 2013
good card if you stick with it
sbrown83 Cardholder

I have had this card since 2008, and it has generally been a positive experience. I started out with a $1000 credit line (while I was in school) at 13.24% APR. I then received increases to $3500, then $5000, $13,500, and am currently at $16,000, with same base APR. They occasionally have promotions where they will let you cash advance or balance transfer funds at 0% for 12 months--I used this feature last year when I had to replace my roof; don't know where else I could have gotten an $8000 unsecured loan at 0%. 

The 3-2-1 rewards are in points, not true cash back (at least on my card). Each point is less between about 1/2 and 2/3 of a cent depending on what you redeem it on. I recommend Discover or Amex over this card if what you really want is bank for you buck on rewards. But this card is great for just basic credit on good terms.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2016
STAY AWAY!
ladysizzauce Cardholder

I opened this card up back in November. I have made all of my payments on time and kept a utilization below 10%. I always pay in full after the statement and pay zero interest. Apparently, BoA is not happy about not making money off me. Today I got my statement for this month. I logged in to pay. My "pay from" checking account  which happens to be Wells Fargo was BLOCKED. It literally would not let me pay my bill and this thing pops up that says "open up a checking account with us to pay your bill." Are you freaking kidding me? They are intentionally and probably illegally blocking me from making my payment to blackmail me into getting an account with them. I've had my Wells Fargo checking account for over 12 years and never had an issue with paying any credit card. I have 10 credit cards. I also have paid THIS ACCOUNT with THAT CHECKING ACCT for 4 months and suddenly "they can't verify my bank account." I verified that the account info was correct even though I knew it was because, hello! I've already made several payments, and it was correct. I'm going to mail them a cashier's check for the $25 bucks I owe them from my checking account they refuse to acknowledge and have them close this card. What a joke.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 25, 2017
It's all for them
SkiRoddy Cardholder

No real benefits and horrible customer service

more ...
May 24, 2017
Bank of America is horrible
Sordee2017 Cardholder

I've had a few different credit cards with Bank of America and they have all been closed due to very bad customer service experiences or just unethical business practices . I do not recommend conducting business with Bank of America.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Don't rely on it.
JGinNJ Cardholder

A high credit limit that you might rely on for emergencies can disappear for no reason apparent to you. Very high interest rate.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Amazing!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I Love That Credit Card, It's Amazing 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 25, 2017

This must be a Bank of America employee or one of the big guns that make all the money

 
May 12, 2017
Ok if you have a BOFA checking or saving
DeeinAustin Cardholder

I use this in conjunction with my BOFA savings and checking account. I try not to keep a balance. It's not competitive nor unique, but it helps to use a credit card online or on travel since debit cards aren't as protected. Their customer service actually isn't that bad. I often use the email feature.

more ...
May 10, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They offered me a Zero APR card for 18 months then after a month they called me and told me the account was closed because my credit was changed and I need to pay ASAP to avoid interest on the balance. I paid them immediately and I will never ever deal with this kind of banks like that. They are the worst. Very bad card and service

more ...
May 06, 2017
You treat them great they'll treat you better
Nitrofish427 Cardholder

Show them you can pay a 500 or 1500 bal. Ea.mo.consistently for 12 mo.and you'll see large requested credit line increases in retur. started with $300 secured card 2 years ago credit line now 13000

more ...
May 04, 2017
Decent Card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have the student version of this card. The intro apr offer was great being that it was 18 months. It has no bells and whistles, though you can get the opportunity to earn cashback at certain retailers with the deals. It is a very small amount though.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Omy1822 Cardholder

Bank of America is the worse bank ever. They don't take care of their customers at all. 

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Don't be fooled
Petedlp Cardholder

I have a credit score of 745 and said the odds were great to get the card I have a few cards that are over $20,000 and a couple that are unlimited Credit cards , so I figured since I do some banking at Bank of America I would give them a shot at it they gave me a lousy $1000 card I shredded it as soon as I got it they are liars don't apply and make a credit ding on your record... you're better off getting a Barclaycard or a American Express card! 

more ...
Apr 25, 2017

I have Barclay.. with 500 limit last 2 years. No increase without inquiry. My credit 787 according to them. Have 2 credit union cards with $30k limit each... don't bother with big banks, have them do their business with billionaires. I stick with credit unions, better terms, easy going.

 
May 17, 2017

My credit is At 705 and they have $5000 limit ok the first try. Haven't used it yet.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard® Credit Card