BankAmericard® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.4 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Billing Cycles on balance transfers made in the first 60 days
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.99% - 22.99%* Variable

Our Take

If you don't want to pay a lot of in interest and fees, the BankAmericard® credit card could be a solid choice. 

What to Like

There's also no annual fee. 

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 3% of the amount transferred or $10, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. 

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 10, 2013
good card if you stick with it
sbrown83 Cardholder

I have had this card since 2008, and it has generally been a positive experience. I started out with a $1000 credit line (while I was in school) at 13.24% APR. I then received increases to $3500, then $5000, $13,500, and am currently at $16,000, with same base APR. They occasionally have promotions where they will let you cash advance or balance transfer funds at 0% for 12 months--I used this feature last year when I had to replace my roof; don't know where else I could have gotten an $8000 unsecured loan at 0%. 

The 3-2-1 rewards are in points, not true cash back (at least on my card). Each point is less between about 1/2 and 2/3 of a cent depending on what you redeem it on. I recommend Discover or Amex over this card if what you really want is bank for you buck on rewards. But this card is great for just basic credit on good terms.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 10, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

They offered me a Zero APR card for 18 months then after a month they called me and told me the account was closed because my credit was changed and I need to pay ASAP to avoid interest on the balance. I paid them immediately and I will never ever deal with this kind of banks like that. They are the worst. Very bad card and service

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 03, 2017
Worthless
Susiedr Cardholder

I applied for this card for introductory offer of 0%|0 fee balance transfer. I have excellent credit. They approved me for $1000 at 19% after the introductory period. I never even activated the card before I closed the account. Save the hard inquiry on your credit!

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Scam to get you to join Bank of america
Anonymous Cardholder

Bank of america checking account required after initial period. Typical Bank of america morals.

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Worst customer service
Anonymous Cardholder

Don't expect waive of any fees

more ...
Jul 15, 2017

Waive fees for what? It is your own responsibility to pay on time or not over spend on your limit to avoid fees in the first place! You sign the agreement to pay the stupid fees to begin with, if you don't agree, don't sign and don't get the card!

 
Jul 18, 2017

I had a Bank of America card and closed it for this reason. After the death of my daughter I was not in my right mind and didn't pay on time. Mind you I had never been late and had an account with them for years including a checking account. I called and apologized and explained what happened and they just didn't care. I closed not only the credit card but my checking as well. I'm sorry my daughters death put me into a place where I couldn't even think straight. All others were understanding and had some compassion. Never would I use then again.

 
Jun 24, 2017
BOA Is the worst bank in the market
aaarbelo Cardholder

 I never got my first statement, never got a call, an email nor a text from them that I was late on my payment but as soon as they report me to the credit bureau, I got all kind of calls and letters from them. I paid it in full immediately and canceled the card on the spot.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 29, 2017

Sounds like you need to pay your bills.

 
Jun 16, 2017
Good for 0apr after that not worth
hafeezmudassar Cardholder

Good as long as it's 0 Apr in effect . After that they charge you apr even if the promotional balance is paid full. Overall I don't like boa.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017

doesn't this card come with 0% for purchases AND balance transfers? Where would interest come from?

 
Jun 21, 2017

After the promotional period, of course APR is going to occur.

 
Jun 10, 2017
Call service was pathetic
Anonymous Cardholder

My issues were not solved after several calls and long waiting time.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Good Card for Transfer
Anonymous Cardholder

I used this card for balance transfer and have been taking advantage of the 0% apr

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
bank of america worst card
vic10175040 Cardholder

Never do business with bank of america.. they are no loyal to their clients and will close your accounts for no reason and then give you a bogus reason over the phone. Please do not do business with them. I used to own a credit card that was bought out by bank of america and after 12 years and speding over 200k with them and never been late along with paying them off all the time they closed my account. Reason, because I added a few authorize users to my account. Wow? Really? That cause for me to forfeit my points that I couldn't even redeem.  Good luck 

more ...
May 27, 2017
Not bad nor all that great.
Oct0pro Cardholder

I have had e-checking account and it's okay, but every time I have tried to do acquire some of their other products such as a applying for a credit card or even a auto loan they never give a good rate. I don't know how or why their system always gives me a lower than usual credit rating but they do. Good thing I shop around because I have always found better offers with other companies. Such as Wells Fargo for auto loan and capital one for credit cards. It's awful that I can't get my own bank to conduct legitimate business with me for they make it so obvious their only interested in profit no matter what. I asked the customer service representative on why wouldanyoneI go with you if there is better company offering better deals.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard® Credit Card