Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 18 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 11.49% - 21.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 11.49% - 21.49%* Variable

Our Take

If you don’t want to pay a lot in interest and fees, the BankAmericard® credit card could be a solid choice.

What to Like

There’s a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for the first 18 billing cycles. There’s also no annual fee.

Look Out For

Though there’s a low intro APR on balance transfers, you’ll still have to pay a balance transfer fee. There’s also no intro APR on purchases and no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 15, 2016
Great Balance Transfer
jrd0079 Cardholder

I have good credit 740 or so. I applied today for a 21 month 0% intrest free w/ 3% balance trasfer because on of my zero percents was up and I need to move it. I applied online from a mail offer. Instantly was given the card with a $10,000 limit, no annual fees and 21 months can't beat it! If you have good credit they want you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2016
STAY AWAY!
ladysizzauce Cardholder

I opened this card up back in November. I have made all of my payments on time and kept a utilization below 10%. I always pay in full after the statement and pay zero interest. Apparently, BoA is not happy about not making money off me. Today I got my statement for this month. I logged in to pay. My "pay from" checking account  which happens to be Wells Fargo was BLOCKED. It literally would not let me pay my bill and this thing pops up that says "open up a checking account with us to pay your bill." Are you freaking kidding me? They are intentionally and probably illegally blocking me from making my payment to blackmail me into getting an account with them. I've had my Wells Fargo checking account for over 12 years and never had an issue with paying any credit card. I have 10 credit cards. I also have paid THIS ACCOUNT with THAT CHECKING ACCT for 4 months and suddenly "they can't verify my bank account." I verified that the account info was correct even though I knew it was because, hello! I've already made several payments, and it was correct. I'm going to mail them a cashier's check for the $25 bucks I owe them from my checking account they refuse to acknowledge and have them close this card. What a joke.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
They lied on my application
jsauce3206 Cardholder

Applied through Credit Karma, added my 2 credit cards with about 4k in balances. Was approved to have those transferred.

Received card and all the information in the mail. Shows that I only have a 2k credit limit so I was like OK I guess that is after the transfer.

NOPE. They only transferred $1900 of the $4,000 and now I'm stuck with yet another card. Great I have 0% interest on 1900 of it but why say it approved online. Once this balance is paid off, I'm done with Bank of America and don't recommend them to anyone. Waste of my time......AND CREDIT.

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Bait and switch!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for $5000.00 on this card with the offer of 0% apr on purchase and balance transfer. After I got the card the terms they sent didn't include the purchase for the 0%. Called them, and they refused to honor the terms. BOA has a poor reputation for doing this, so I canceled the Card. At almost 800 credit score I should be able to get better terms. Hate the hard inq they put on my report. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Worst card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Zero benefits. Will not convert to one that does. I have excellent credit. Had the card for years. They call me and ask me to apply for a transfer to a better card. Inquiry hits my credit report. I get declined and am stuck with this annual fee card with $1500limit I opened back when I was rebuilding my credit. I never use the card so I guess that they think the annual fee is the only way they make money off of me. My score is780. I have limits in the double digits on my other cards. I want to cancel this card but don't want the credit score hit that will cause.
Get a card with better benefits and avoid this one. Believe the negative reviews.

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Shocked i was approved!
gplenty6 Cardholder

This is a surpise. I applied for this card when i logged into my BOA account one day, they encouraged me to apply for a special offer, I applied and was denied. I had nothing on my  credit reports and my scores were 656, 623, 613. I was buiding credit . I have 4 Cap one cards, 1barclay, a few store cards walmart etc and a credit buidling card from Merrick bank. I was turned down. .i called and asked them to reconsider and still i was denied and was offered a secured card. That was over a year ago. I got sick got a ton of hospital bills got behind on some and i have two on my credit report and one of my scores is 595. I get a pre approval in the mail today, I   enter the code and i get congrats! I'm approved with a credit line of $2,500 this makes no sense, CK says my odds for this card was poor and I got approved. They told me back then my odds were excellent for a few cards and each one turned me down. The barclay card i applied via CK and they told me those odds were poor but i got it with a $1,500 limit.

people should just apply if they want to do not use anyt of this as a tool becuase nobody uses these scores in credit Karma so they are useless. Also banks seem to approve according to the market. If thigs are going good they are licky if things are bad they dig a little deeper in the barrel to get people they would normally have rejected. I've heard they are having majore issues lol.

Capital one will always be my favorite company. They gave me a chance when i had nothing and they continue to give me raises. I started with a $300 limit 7 years ago i now have 4 cards wtih them and a limit on one for $3,500. not bad. Merrick started me in 2012 with $700 and i'm now at $3,200. not bad either.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2017

U should combine all those capital one cards , have one card and I high credit limit. But if u ask me they are good for starting out but they offer high interest rates

 
Jan 28, 2017
Good Balance Transfer card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have baan with BofA for awhile its really becoming a very good company to deal with . Way better than in the past . Customers service are really awesome now much better than other company say Citi bank which is really crappie Good luck if you try to get hold of their customers service . BofA keep up the good work and thank you .

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
In shock!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a credit score if 608 I received a pre approval letter in the mail. I been with boa for 5+ years.  This is my first credit card from them. I have been rebuilding my credit. I then went online and put in the code within seconds I got a 1,800 cl wow 

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
AF
Adbrmd Cardholder

I HAVE THE CARD FOR A YEAR NOW, MY CREDIT LIMIT IS $1,800 MY CREDIT SCORE IS 715 AND I TRY TWICE TO GET A CREDIT INCRESE WITH NO SUCCESS. THAT LEAVE ME NO CHOICE BUT NOT USE THE CARD MUCH, SINCE I DONT WANT TO MAXIMIZE THE LIMIT.

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Great Balance Transfer
jrd0079 Cardholder

I have good credit 740 or so. I applied today for a 21 month 0% intrest free w/ 3% balance trasfer because on of my zero percents was up and I need to move it. I applied online from a mail offer. Instantly was given the card with a $10,000 limit, no annual fees and 21 months can't beat it! If you have good credit they want you.

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Bait and Switch
primsue Cardholder

I sort of feel that it was bait and switch because I applied for this card because I wanted to balance transfer some of my higher interest cards. The card had a promotion with no interest on transfers. Well I got approved----- for $700. Needless to say I didn't transfer anything.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2017

Did you already have a card with Bank of America? Sometimes if they know that they have you on another card with a higher interest rate, they won't offer you much on a new card. I've heard that it works better if you switch to a company that doesn't already have one of your accounts. That's how I got a big limit with my Discover It card.

 
Aug 18, 2016
TheMike22 Cardholder

Approved for 2700.00 after "review" period, approx 10 days. Only applied to balnce transfer 3900.00 CapOne to it, but that was denied. Probably make a few small purchases to get CL bumped. Funny thing is these sites like CK, Equifax(membership) were saying I was a 711 score, but when I got the approval from BofA they said 741.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016

And if you ask CK about the change in Score, they will tell you " This is just an estimate based on our experience" When we bought a house, ours was way higher that CK told us as well. I figure as long as it's not lower, we're good!

 
Nov 29, 2016

CWH1962 is right. My FICO, as reported by creditors, is always higher than CK. CK is lowball but gives you a general idea of where you stand. It is not meant to be absolutely accurate. Just a guideline. Their approval odds on these cards are not always accurate either. I've applied to one that said I had a "Fair" chance of approval and got a $5000 CL. Another I had a "good" chance of approval and got only $700.CL Go figure.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard® Credit Card