BankAmericard® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
23 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 18 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 11.49% - 21.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 11.49% - 21.49%* Variable

Our Take

If you don’t want to pay a lot in interest and fees, the BankAmericard® credit card could be a solid choice.

What to Like

There’s a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for the first 18 billing cycles. There’s also no annual fee.

Look Out For

Though there’s a low intro APR on balance transfers, you’ll still have to pay a balance transfer fee. There’s also no intro APR on purchases and no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 15, 2016
Great Balance Transfer
jrd0079 Cardholder

I have good credit 740 or so. I applied today for a 21 month 0% intrest free w/ 3% balance trasfer because on of my zero percents was up and I need to move it. I applied online from a mail offer. Instantly was given the card with a $10,000 limit, no annual fees and 21 months can't beat it! If you have good credit they want you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 15, 2017
Bait and switch!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for $5000.00 on this card with the offer of 0% apr on purchase and balance transfer. After I got the card the terms they sent didn't include the purchase for the 0%. Called them, and they refused to honor the terms. BOA has a poor reputation for doing this, so I canceled the Card. At almost 800 credit score I should be able to get better terms. Hate the hard inq they put on my report. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I had agent put transfer of the rewards money to my account and they couldn't even do that right. All you hear when you call in is excuses. They also are not proactive in their cl increases. Been with Bank over 20 years. Sad

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Sux big time.
dobson5749 Cardholder

Bad to do business with.  They lie, cheat and even steal from you.  Bank with someone else!

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
The card is hard to get
AlexNews Cardholder

After you get this 1000$ card, you have to pay 25$ per month. More over if you ask the raise to 2000$ they will run your credit score and then resist. Do not use Bank of America. I'll pay off my dead 159$ and will close this stupid card with this bank, it was my second try work with this bank since 2003.

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Good basic card
Eane77 Cardholder

Approved for this card almost 2 years ago via a mail offer. Began with a low limit, but I'm slowly getting my credit to where I want it. It's a good card and easy to pay if you have an account with them. I was able to ask for an increase a few months ago. I didn't want to be greedy, so I started with a small increase. My card started at $500 and is now at $800. Hope when the luv button pops up again I can increase it a little more. Slow and steady wins the race. Only bad thing is they do an HP for CLI you ask for, but I wasn't using it daily for them to auto me, so it all worked out in the end.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
They lied on my application
jsauce3206 Cardholder

Applied through Credit Karma, added my 2 credit cards with about 4k in balances. Was approved to have those transferred.

Received card and all the information in the mail. Shows that I only have a 2k credit limit so I was like OK I guess that is after the transfer.

NOPE. They only transferred $1900 of the $4,000 and now I'm stuck with yet another card. Great I have 0% interest on 1900 of it but why say it approved online. Once this balance is paid off, I'm done with Bank of America and don't recommend them to anyone. Waste of my time......AND CREDIT.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 20, 2017

Every CC company I have used will either approve or deny you and choose a limit based on your credit and income. No one takes into account the amount of the balance you want to transfer. They are just approving you for a card. It's stated right in the terms.

 
Feb 15, 2017
Bait and switch!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved for $5000.00 on this card with the offer of 0% apr on purchase and balance transfer. After I got the card the terms they sent didn't include the purchase for the 0%. Called them, and they refused to honor the terms. BOA has a poor reputation for doing this, so I canceled the Card. At almost 800 credit score I should be able to get better terms. Hate the hard inq they put on my report. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 09, 2017

Never cancel a card it hurts your score. Cut it up and let them close your card on their end.

 
Feb 15, 2017
Worst card ever
Anonymous Cardholder

Zero benefits. Will not convert to one that does. I have excellent credit. Had the card for years. They call me and ask me to apply for a transfer to a better card. Inquiry hits my credit report. I get declined and am stuck with this annual fee card with $1500limit I opened back when I was rebuilding my credit. I never use the card so I guess that they think the annual fee is the only way they make money off of me. My score is780. I have limits in the double digits on my other cards. I want to cancel this card but don't want the credit score hit that will cause.
Get a card with better benefits and avoid this one. Believe the negative reviews.

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Shocked i was approved!
gplenty6 Cardholder

This is a surpise. I applied for this card when i logged into my BOA account one day, they encouraged me to apply for a special offer, I applied and was denied. I had nothing on my  credit reports and my scores were 656, 623, 613. I was buiding credit . I have 4 Cap one cards, 1barclay, a few store cards walmart etc and a credit buidling card from Merrick bank. I was turned down. .i called and asked them to reconsider and still i was denied and was offered a secured card. That was over a year ago. I got sick got a ton of hospital bills got behind on some and i have two on my credit report and one of my scores is 595. I get a pre approval in the mail today, I   enter the code and i get congrats! I'm approved with a credit line of $2,500 this makes no sense, CK says my odds for this card was poor and I got approved. They told me back then my odds were excellent for a few cards and each one turned me down. The barclay card i applied via CK and they told me those odds were poor but i got it with a $1,500 limit.

people should just apply if they want to do not use anyt of this as a tool becuase nobody uses these scores in credit Karma so they are useless. Also banks seem to approve according to the market. If thigs are going good they are licky if things are bad they dig a little deeper in the barrel to get people they would normally have rejected. I've heard they are having majore issues lol.

Capital one will always be my favorite company. They gave me a chance when i had nothing and they continue to give me raises. I started with a $300 limit 7 years ago i now have 4 cards wtih them and a limit on one for $3,500. not bad. Merrick started me in 2012 with $700 and i'm now at $3,200. not bad either.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 13, 2017

U should combine all those capital one cards , have one card and I high credit limit. But if u ask me they are good for starting out but they offer high interest rates

 
Jan 28, 2017
Good Balance Transfer card
Anonymous Cardholder

I have baan with BofA for awhile its really becoming a very good company to deal with . Way better than in the past . Customers service are really awesome now much better than other company say Citi bank which is really crappie Good luck if you try to get hold of their customers service . BofA keep up the good work and thank you .

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
In shock!
Anonymous Cardholder

I have a credit score if 608 I received a pre approval letter in the mail. I been with boa for 5+ years.  This is my first credit card from them. I have been rebuilding my credit. I then went online and put in the code within seconds I got a 1,800 cl wow 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard® Credit Card