BankAmericard® credit card Reviews

BankAmericard® credit card Reviews
2.5 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 18 Billing Cycles on balance transfers made in the first 60 days
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 18 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 14, 2019
Approved
Gonzo773 Cardholder

Never had an issue with BOA.  Applied through CK and got instantly approved for 15K.  I am a BOA customer but decided to apply on CK vs BOA site due to the offer of 18 months 0% vs BOA 15 months.  I applied so I can get some additonal home work stuff completed on my home and have 18 months to pay it off.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 14, 2019
Bank of America as a company is not it
MyCredetJourney Cardholder

This was my very first credit card. Opened almost 3 years ago with a $400 security deposit. My Transunion was 510 when I opened this card and my income was at 20K. My Transunion is now 690 and my Experian is in the 700s and my income is now over 50K. I never missed a payment on this card and was never late at all. Always paid more than minimum or paid in full whenever I let a balance carry over. I never requested a credit line increase because I was so focused on trying to use this card responsibly to get them to graduate it to an unsecured card and return my security deposit. It didn’t matter anyway because they never once raised my limit and have continually denied my graduation request regardless of my stellar payment history with them and the fact that my financial portfolio has grown since first opening this card. 34 months of excellent payment history literally means nothing to them. I recently applied for my fourth graduation request last week after getting denied the last time in January and they denied me again so I finally closed this card, as well as my checking and my savings account that I had open with them since 2009 and IT FELT GREAT. I don’t feel appreciated as a customer with them and paying interest and annual fees on your own money is never fun. I know for a fact there are better cards and companies out here for me so I don’t think I will ever look at Bank of America as an option in anything I do going forward. Looking forward to getting my little security deposit back in the mail though :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 30, 2019
Just as good as my other BoA card
ITGuruPhd Cardholder

I was approved for $16k instantly. 785 Credit score and $120k of available credit already across several of my cards. I've got a solid payment history with alot of diverse credit on my profile (car loans, mortgage, other cards etc, some paid off, other not). I already have one BoA card and was given an offer for the BankAmericard through BoA but it only had 15 mo of 0% interest - CK offers 18 mo. My BoA Cash Rewards card has been great, so I don't suspect this new card will be bad.

more ...
Dec 23, 2019
rossrenell Cardholder

Don,t get it terrible service least little thing they will pull your credit line

more ...
Dec 19, 2019
garrett146 Cardholder

Never again will I get a credit card from BofA.. All around bad service. Paid it off and went to American Express. Much happier 

more ...
Nov 11, 2019
Excellent NEVER any issues.
AGTEXAS Cardholder

0% on balance transfer for 18 mths, with fee waived. I have never had to wait long on phone. Immediately thank me for being a loyal customer over 18 year's, prior to this card. I understand everyone I speak to perfect. No issues and very easy to do business with!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2020

How did you get the balance transfer fee waived?

 
Oct 11, 2019
THE BEST BANK TO HAVE A CREDIT CARD
rei3208 Cardholder

IF ONE HAS A GOOD PAYMENT HISTORY, LONG YEARS BEEN A CLIENT BANK OF AMERICA DOES GIVE THE BEST BENEFICTS IN MY CASE BALANCE TRANSFERS AT A 9% INTEREST FOR 15 MONTHS AND A ZERO BALANCE TRANSFER FEE.....NO BANK OFFERS THIS INCREDIBLE OPPORTUNITY AND EXPRESSION FOR ONE BEEN A VALUED CUSTOMER.......THE BEST FRIENDLY  PROFESSIONAL  ON THE PHONE AGENTS LOOKING AND TAKING THAT EXTRA MILE TO REWARD A CLIENT THAT HAS BEEN GOOD IN EVERY WAY....WOW.......IT IS THE WOW BANK EVER NATIONALLY INDEED.

more ...
Oct 05, 2019
I have no problems
rollxman Cardholder

If you want to talk to a human expect a very long wait!..What I did find great was the credit limit which I never plan on coming close to maxing but it boost your credit scores!. Also the reward cash back is a good option as long as you pay off your balance each month,otherwise its a wash..my reason for the 4 stars vs 5 is because of the long wait should I want to talk to a human!..The 18 months 0 percent interest and  no tranfer fees is a no brainer if you want to pay down some debt,just dont bite off more than you can chew..remember in 18 months you pay the piper!

more ...
Sep 12, 2019
Horrible service
twice2much Cardholder

I applied for the Bankamerica card to transfer some high balance cards to them as they were advertising 0% balance fee as long as I applied directly to their site. Well they sent in my first statement with the fees and contacted customer service (wait time over 1 hour) and assured that I applied incorrectly for the wrong card. After debating with them, they agreed to waive the fees but never did. Call back several times and they said there was no notes on my file indicating they will waive the fees. Once this is paid off, closing card, never gonna to swipe a thing on it and Bank of America will be just a distant memory for me. Please be aware and do your homework before applying. Check out all the complaints on BBB.

more ...
Aug 08, 2019
Dan0507 Cardholder

I don’t like it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2019

Then cancel it.

 
Jul 17, 2019
Almost 4 years with no issues
AVXK Cardholder

This was my first credit card and I still have to this day with zero issues. Started off with $1000 limit and it’s now at $3,000 without credit limit increase request. My score was 610 trans/equi at the time and now at 786 trans/equi. The card is nothing special but I don’t seem to relate to the issues some have mentioned here in the review section. That being said I’ve applied for other cards with more rewards and plan on keeping this card active as I mainly bank with BoA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 03, 2019

You can ask to have them convert it to a BoA rewards card. That gives you a good rewards card and eliminates this one that isn't special, without having to close and apply, which hits the credit score.

 
Jul 14, 2019
Bank of America as a company is not it

This was my very first credit card. Opened almost 3 years ago with a $400 security deposit. My Transunion was 510 when I opened this card and my income was at 20K. My Transunion is now 690 and my Experian is in the 700s and my income is now over 50K. I never missed a payment on this card and was never late at all. Always paid more than minimum or paid in full whenever I let a balance carry over. I never requested a credit line increase because I was so focused on trying to use this card responsibly to get them to graduate it to an unsecured card and return my security deposit. It didn’t matter anyway because they never once raised my limit and have continually denied my graduation request regardless of my stellar payment history with them and the fact that my financial portfolio has grown since first opening this card. 34 months of excellent payment history literally means nothing to them. I recently applied for my fourth graduation request last week after getting denied the last time in January and they denied me again so I finally closed this card, as well as my checking and my savings account that I had open with them since 2009 and IT FELT GREAT. I don’t feel appreciated as a customer with them and paying interest and annual fees on your own money is never fun. I know for a fact there are better cards and companies out here for me so I don’t think I will ever look at Bank of America as an option in anything I do going forward. Looking forward to getting my little security deposit back in the mail though :) 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 30, 2019

You reviewed the wrong card. This is not a secured credit card.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
BankAmericard® credit card Reviews

BankAmericard® credit card