BankAmericard® Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.7 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 15 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 12.74% - 22.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% intro for 15 Billing Cycles
  • Purchase Regular APR 12.74% - 22.74%* Variable

Our Take

If you don't want to pay a lot of in interest and fees, the BankAmericard® credit card could be a solid choice. 

What to Like

There's a 0% intro APR on purchases and balance transfers for the first 15 billing cycles. There's also no annual fee. 

Look Out For

After the first 60 days the balance transfer fee is 3% of the amount transferred or $10, whichever is greater, so you’ll want to get your transfers in early. 

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 10, 2013
good card if you stick with it
sbrown83 Cardholder

I have had this card since 2008, and it has generally been a positive experience. I started out with a $1000 credit line (while I was in school) at 13.24% APR. I then received increases to $3500, then $5000, $13,500, and am currently at $16,000, with same base APR. They occasionally have promotions where they will let you cash advance or balance transfer funds at 0% for 12 months--I used this feature last year when I had to replace my roof; don't know where else I could have gotten an $8000 unsecured loan at 0%. 

The 3-2-1 rewards are in points, not true cash back (at least on my card). Each point is less between about 1/2 and 2/3 of a cent depending on what you redeem it on. I recommend Discover or Amex over this card if what you really want is bank for you buck on rewards. But this card is great for just basic credit on good terms.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2016
STAY AWAY!
ladysizzauce Cardholder

I opened this card up back in November. I have made all of my payments on time and kept a utilization below 10%. I always pay in full after the statement and pay zero interest. Apparently, BoA is not happy about not making money off me. Today I got my statement for this month. I logged in to pay. My "pay from" checking account  which happens to be Wells Fargo was BLOCKED. It literally would not let me pay my bill and this thing pops up that says "open up a checking account with us to pay your bill." Are you freaking kidding me? They are intentionally and probably illegally blocking me from making my payment to blackmail me into getting an account with them. I've had my Wells Fargo checking account for over 12 years and never had an issue with paying any credit card. I have 10 credit cards. I also have paid THIS ACCOUNT with THAT CHECKING ACCT for 4 months and suddenly "they can't verify my bank account." I verified that the account info was correct even though I knew it was because, hello! I've already made several payments, and it was correct. I'm going to mail them a cashier's check for the $25 bucks I owe them from my checking account they refuse to acknowledge and have them close this card. What a joke.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 16, 2017
Good for 0apr after that not worth
hafeezmudassar Cardholder

Good as long as it's 0 Apr in effect . After that they charge you apr even if the promotional balance is paid full. Overall I don't like boa.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017

doesn't this card come with 0% for purchases AND balance transfers? Where would interest come from?

 
Jun 21, 2017

After the promotional period, of course APR is going to occur.

 
Jun 10, 2017
Call service was pathetic
Anonymous Cardholder

My issues were not solved after several calls and long waiting time.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Good Card for Transfer
Anonymous Cardholder

I used this card for balance transfer and have been taking advantage of the 0% apr

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
bank of america worst card
vic10175040 Cardholder

Never do business with bank of america.. they are no loyal to their clients and will close your accounts for no reason and then give you a bogus reason over the phone. Please do not do business with them. I used to own a credit card that was bought out by bank of america and after 12 years and speding over 200k with them and never been late along with paying them off all the time they closed my account. Reason, because I added a few authorize users to my account. Wow? Really? That cause for me to forfeit my points that I couldn't even redeem.  Good luck 

more ...
May 27, 2017
Not bad nor all that great.
Oct0pro Cardholder

I have had e-checking account and it's okay, but every time I have tried to do acquire some of their other products such as a applying for a credit card or even a auto loan they never give a good rate. I don't know how or why their system always gives me a lower than usual credit rating but they do. Good thing I shop around because I have always found better offers with other companies. Such as Wells Fargo for auto loan and capital one for credit cards. It's awful that I can't get my own bank to conduct legitimate business with me for they make it so obvious their only interested in profit no matter what. I asked the customer service representative on why wouldanyoneI go with you if there is better company offering better deals.

more ...
May 25, 2017
It's all for them
SkiRoddy Cardholder

No real benefits and horrible customer service

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 27, 2017

It's a balance transfer card; that's the benefit.

 
May 24, 2017
Bank of America is horrible
Sordee2017 Cardholder

I've had a few different credit cards with Bank of America and they have all been closed due to very bad customer service experiences or just unethical business practices . I do not recommend conducting business with Bank of America.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Don't rely on it.
JGinNJ Cardholder

A high credit limit that you might rely on for emergencies can disappear for no reason apparent to you. Very high interest rate.

more ...
May 17, 2017
Amazing!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I Love That Credit Card, It's Amazing 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 25, 2017

This must be a Bank of America employee or one of the big guns that make all the money

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

BankAmericard® Credit Card