Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BankAmericard® Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% intro for 18 Billing Cycles on qualifying transfers
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 11.24% - 21.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 11.24% - 21.24%* Variable

Our Take

If you don’t want to pay a lot in interest and fees, the BankAmericard® credit card could be a solid choice.

What to Like

There’s a 0% intro APR on balance transfers for the first 18 billing cycles. There’s also no annual fee.

Look Out For

Though there’s a low intro APR on balance transfers, you’ll still have to pay a balance transfer fee. There’s also no intro APR on purchases and no rewards program associated with this card.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 28, 2016
Gave me a chance
ChristieCR Cardholder

I applied for this card with Poor odds according to credit karma ( TU 646 EQ 656). I have 8 store cards, 3 with a small balance. All payments on-time. No collections. Very short credit history due to paid off loans, closed accts etc. 32 hard inquiries in the last 2 years due to car shopping and applying for some cards, which I was approved for most. BOA approved me instantly online with a $2k credit limit. This is my first non-store card and am very happy they gave me a chance. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 11, 2016
STAY AWAY!
ladysizzauce Cardholder

I opened this card up back in November. I have made all of my payments on time and kept a utilization below 10%. I always pay in full after the statement and pay zero interest. Apparently, BoA is not happy about not making money off me. Today I got my statement for this month. I logged in to pay. My "pay from" checking account  which happens to be Wells Fargo was BLOCKED. It literally would not let me pay my bill and this thing pops up that says "open up a checking account with us to pay your bill." Are you freaking kidding me? They are intentionally and probably illegally blocking me from making my payment to blackmail me into getting an account with them. I've had my Wells Fargo checking account for over 12 years and never had an issue with paying any credit card. I have 10 credit cards. I also have paid THIS ACCOUNT with THAT CHECKING ACCT for 4 months and suddenly "they can't verify my bank account." I verified that the account info was correct even though I knew it was because, hello! I've already made several payments, and it was correct. I'm going to mail them a cashier's check for the $25 bucks I owe them from my checking account they refuse to acknowledge and have them close this card. What a joke.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2016
AF
Adbrmd Cardholder

I HAVE THE CARD FOR A YEAR NOW, MY CREDIT LIMIT IS $1,800 MY CREDIT SCORE IS 715 AND I TRY TWICE TO GET A CREDIT INCRESE WITH NO SUCCESS. THAT LEAVE ME NO CHOICE BUT NOT USE THE CARD MUCH, SINCE I DONT WANT TO MAXIMIZE THE LIMIT.

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Great Balance Transfer
jrd0079 Cardholder

I have good credit 740 or so. I applied today for a 21 month 0% intrest free w/ 3% balance trasfer because on of my zero percents was up and I need to move it. I applied online from a mail offer. Instantly was given the card with a $10,000 limit, no annual fees and 21 months can't beat it! If you have good credit they want you.

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Bait and Switch
primsue Cardholder

I sort of feel that it was bait and switch because I applied for this card because I wanted to balance transfer some of my higher interest cards. The card had a promotion with no interest on transfers. Well I got approved----- for $700. Needless to say I didn't transfer anything.

more ...
Aug 18, 2016
TheMike22 Cardholder

Approved for 2700.00 after "review" period, approx 10 days. Only applied to balnce transfer 3900.00 CapOne to it, but that was denied. Probably make a few small purchases to get CL bumped. Funny thing is these sites like CK, Equifax(membership) were saying I was a 711 score, but when I got the approval from BofA they said 741.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016

And if you ask CK about the change in Score, they will tell you " This is just an estimate based on our experience" When we bought a house, ours was way higher that CK told us as well. I figure as long as it's not lower, we're good!

 
Nov 29, 2016

CWH1962 is right. My FICO, as reported by creditors, is always higher than CK. CK is lowball but gives you a general idea of where you stand. It is not meant to be absolutely accurate. Just a guideline. Their approval odds on these cards are not always accurate either. I've applied to one that said I had a "Fair" chance of approval and got a $5000 CL. Another I had a "good" chance of approval and got only $700.CL Go figure.

 
Aug 12, 2016
MiaTwin27 Cardholder

I've had this card for aboust 3 years and they're pretty much average. Nothing special, no perks, ordinary APR if not higher then most which is while it is harldy ever used. Good to have for an emergency.... I was approved quickly through Credit Karma recommendation url but then again I have really good credit which is why I thought the APR would have been lower... APR is 19.99% for 750 credit score back then, now currenty at 800. 

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Good card
Anonymous Cardholder

People need to understand , when you apply for any card you will be automatically on a data base. Companies will start giving you offers , and calling you for offers. 

more ...
Jun 28, 2016
Gave me a chance
ChristieCR Cardholder

I applied for this card with Poor odds according to credit karma ( TU 646 EQ 656). I have 8 store cards, 3 with a small balance. All payments on-time. No collections. Very short credit history due to paid off loans, closed accts etc. 32 hard inquiries in the last 2 years due to car shopping and applying for some cards, which I was approved for most. BOA approved me instantly online with a $2k credit limit. This is my first non-store card and am very happy they gave me a chance. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
$99/$500 partial secured card
augustkiwi Cardholder

Originally applied for unsecured card but was denied and BOA counter offered the partial secured with 99$ deposit for a $500 credit limit. Applied 6/16 approved 6/17 and card mailed 6/21-- got card in the mail today 6/24. They did take 1 day to xfer funds from my checking account to this card for the deposit as I bank with them. No complaints when I have called customer service as they are very helpful

when applied I had TU 577 EQ 583

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 24, 2016

CK says my odds are "poor" but guess they are wrong because boa approved me and I have the card in hand 😁

 
Jun 17, 2016
Good card. BUT....
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card, had to wait a week for a desicion. In the end I was approved. They take really long to do a balance transfer.  Dont believe Credit Karma when it comes to you FICO score. My score on the credit cards that offer free credit scores is almost 100 point higher then CK. 

more ...
May 15, 2016
ncroo21 Cardholder

This was my very first credit card. Had it for 7 yrs or so. Wish I hadn't cancelled it. Live and learn. Over the years they gave me several auto increases. I think I started around 1000. Ended with 5100. Apr was fairly low. 14ish. I applied at a branch. Never had any trouble at all with this card. No idea what my scores were when applying, but probably not good. Only thing I had on my report at the time was a student loan. Even after I defaulted, lost my job, ran up a balance, BOA never shut me down. I paid my balance down and eventually did a bt and paid the whole thing off. Wish I hadn't closed this account. I let a credit union tell me what to do when opening a new account. The rates were better on the new card though, but I did have a good relationship already with BOA. Still kicking myself. But I have boa cash rewards now. Like that one. BOA likes good customers. They can be a royal pain if you treat them bad. Always be a good a customer and pay on time and more than the minimum. They have been very good to me over the years.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 24, 2016

Just saw this was MC. I had visa. Not sure if that's a different card.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

BankAmericard® Credit Card