Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $29
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.99%* Variable

Our Take

For people with limited credit histories, the First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card offers a way to start building.

What to Like

The First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card reports monthly to all three major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit with on-time payments and other responsible use. There’s no minimum credit score or length of credit history needed for approval, and your credit limit may be increased over time without additional deposits.

Look Out For

The card comes with a $29 annual fee. It’s also a secured card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to the amount of your initial credit limit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 02, 2016
Perfect for Rebuilding
brittanygc Cardholder

I've had this card for about 4 months now. I try to keep my balance low and pay it down to 30% utilization or less each month. I like to carry a balance of some sort into the new month so it shows some utilization. My score has went from around 420 to 577 in those 4 months. I've also had 2 collections fall off my account in that time. Looking forward to it continually increasing so I can apply for non-secured cards. May also add another of these soon so my score will increase faster.

Payments are quick and easy! I use my bank's online bill pay and payments are sent electronically to First Progress - posting the next business day. Super convenient!

Also - once I made the deposit, I had my card within 10 business days, so seemed pretty fast compared to what others have reported.

I haven't needed to use customer service yet - so I don't have a comment/opinion on how well it is. Overall I really love the card for what it's doing for me and the purpose I needed it for. A+ Would recommend.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 08, 2016
First Progress, Secured $300 Limit
wendyreeves Cardholder

Watch out! This card is usery! I just checked my credit report only to find that First Progress notified Experian that I am 30+ days late with a $29 annual fee. I called, trying to figure out why I hadn't received a statement. Mikaela told me they email my statements to my personal email address. WRONG. Have NEVER received a statement via email from them!  (I never use this card, only opened it 3 years ago to establish new credit) I went beserk! I insisted they provide me with an electronic receipt showing they did, indeed, send that email. Alec, the supervisor, said "We can't do that'. I hate to tell you, Alec, your IT Dept can absolutely provide me with an electronic receipt. I also asked 'Alec' the supervisor to provide a retraction to Experian, advising them that it is their fault that this did not get paid (the annual fee, not charges). I AM FURIOUS! And, I will be forwarding this entire situation to my attorney. As someone who has worked very hard the last 3 years to build and sustain a credit rating of better than 717 - it has dropped to 654 because of this! I am sure I am not the only person who has been surprised by First Progress. I am going on social media to let this be known. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 16, 2016
Rimera13 Cardholder

This is a scam! Buyer beware, you can't make payments over the phone or talk to customer service. You can only mail checks to a P.O. Box. Probably a way to steal youe information. Sent them $300 so I could fix my credit, now I'm paying more than that to a collection agency. Well, at least the collection agency lets you pay over the phone!

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Easy Process!
JackRich01 Cardholder

I applied for the card on July 2, 2016. My security deposit was $300 and I paid another $19.95 for express shipping. I was approved on July 4, 2016 and received my card in the mail on July 13, 2016. I registered my card online where you can make payments to your account. All I have to do now is be responsible with the card. Haven't called customer service yet so I don't know how they are.

more ...
Jun 02, 2016
Perfect for Rebuilding
brittanygc Cardholder

I've had this card for about 4 months now. I try to keep my balance low and pay it down to 30% utilization or less each month. I like to carry a balance of some sort into the new month so it shows some utilization. My score has went from around 420 to 577 in those 4 months. I've also had 2 collections fall off my account in that time. Looking forward to it continually increasing so I can apply for non-secured cards. May also add another of these soon so my score will increase faster.

Payments are quick and easy! I use my bank's online bill pay and payments are sent electronically to First Progress - posting the next business day. Super convenient!

Also - once I made the deposit, I had my card within 10 business days, so seemed pretty fast compared to what others have reported.

I haven't needed to use customer service yet - so I don't have a comment/opinion on how well it is. Overall I really love the card for what it's doing for me and the purpose I needed it for. A+ Would recommend.

more ...
Apr 08, 2016
First Progress, Secured $300 Limit
wendyreeves Cardholder

Watch out! This card is usery! I just checked my credit report only to find that First Progress notified Experian that I am 30+ days late with a $29 annual fee. I called, trying to figure out why I hadn't received a statement. Mikaela told me they email my statements to my personal email address. WRONG. Have NEVER received a statement via email from them!  (I never use this card, only opened it 3 years ago to establish new credit) I went beserk! I insisted they provide me with an electronic receipt showing they did, indeed, send that email. Alec, the supervisor, said "We can't do that'. I hate to tell you, Alec, your IT Dept can absolutely provide me with an electronic receipt. I also asked 'Alec' the supervisor to provide a retraction to Experian, advising them that it is their fault that this did not get paid (the annual fee, not charges). I AM FURIOUS! And, I will be forwarding this entire situation to my attorney. As someone who has worked very hard the last 3 years to build and sustain a credit rating of better than 717 - it has dropped to 654 because of this! I am sure I am not the only person who has been surprised by First Progress. I am going on social media to let this be known. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!

more ...
Aug 29, 2016

This is just like everything else now days..they expect people to be uneducated about how finance and credit works..that way they can take advantage of your ignorance...that's how they make money..I've seen this card company's television commercial..saying dumb crap about how they care and hope for your financial success...BULL ****.

 
Sep 18, 2016

They are not required by law to send you a statement. You, however, are still obligated to your debt regardless of whether or not you receive a statement. You knew about the annual fee when you applied, yet you made no effort to pay it for 3 YEARS. There's really no excuse. Now don't get me wrong. I've been screwed over by banks more than once and I'm not usually one to defend them. But in this case... come on dude.

 
Oct 14, 2016

Wendy, this happened to me as well.

They sent statements every month until the annual fee was due. Brad, it may be true that its not required by law, however, for a card claiming to help people trying to rebuild credit, a statement showing what you owe when it is owed is expected.

I didn't receive a statement until my fee was 90 days overdue. They sent statements every month prior to the annual fee showing I owed $0. This makes no sense, to send statement when you don't owe, and then to neglect to send one when you do owe.

Fact is, they are not interested in helping consumers. They are interested in preying on them. They do not notify you of the annual fee because they want to collect late fees. This is their scam.

Whats worse, I requested my account to be closed as soon as I found out what they did. I received statements for the next 2 months, so again I requested they close my account. I received another statement the following month, and then finally a notice saying my account was closed. Checking my credit report, they reported that THEY closed my account when my account was 90 days overdue. This is an blatant lie. They had no desire to close my account. Not only did I pay all the fees immediately upon being notified, but they continued to send statements showing $0 owed for 3 more months. They are trying to punish me for closing my account with them. I also have not received the remaining balance on my card yet.

 
Apr 04, 2016
Good for building credit
Anonymous Cardholder

Got approved right away 

more ...
Apr 03, 2016
Good!
AliaJackson Cardholder

I got pre approved for this card through the "open sky" application. I opened this card with a deposit of 500$. Reports to CB's easy and monthly. Can only make payments through your bank account which takes longer. So keep that in mind when youre getting close to your payment date. I've always paid off by balances weeks before they were due. This isnt a card that benefits your later (via Cash back, credit increases, secured to unsecured) So i just have it to bump up my total number of accoutns on my Credit report. I don't even know how to contact costumer service. And I cant see my spending activity online either.

Good not great. Just okay.

more ...
Feb 14, 2016
great for rebuilding
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card when my score was 403 . This was about a year and half ago. Sure they have fee's but in the end they are helping you build up what you ruined yourself... I am now a 605 credit and this card has helped a lot. Just make sure to make your payments a couple days before hand with buill pay so you can have it reflect before they charge you a late fee...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 4,144
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card