First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

2.9 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $29
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 20.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 27, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

Other than the high interest rate and the annual fee, the card is excellent for rebuilding your credit. I own this card for at least two years and had no problem with paying my bill on time. Please use your bill pay from your bank and payment will be done electronically and your acct credited the day of payment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 01, 2018
disqusted Cardholder

It is a joke. They kept my money for 2 months and would not refund it. When they did I spent my entire 400,00 amd they sent it to the credit bureau that I owed them 185.00

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 05, 2018
Horrible company.
Christyann3 Cardholder

Does not post payments properly, charges huge fees for the payments they post late. No proper customer service. All communication is by regular postal mail. They don’t even deserve 1 star. 

more ...
Oct 08, 2018
Horrible
1234haha Cardholder

Stay away costumer service is horrible they report what they wanna report . I closed my account they sent me my check though.

more ...
Sep 23, 2018
Does what it's suppose to
Jcesario99 Cardholder

You have to set up bill pay with your bank in order to pay online. They dont have an app or anywhere to pay your bill on their webpage. This card is good for building your credit and serves that purpose if you use responsibly and pay on time. I've never been charged a late fee and my credit has improved. People complaining about this card are the people who aren't using the card for it's intended use.

more ...
Sep 19, 2018
Bull****tt card.... Really....Nuff said.
Hublow8394 Cardholder

Don't waist your time....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 29, 2018

Why? What did they do?

 
Aug 29, 2018
Keyron10 Cardholder

It sucks this card wouldn’t let me pay my bill with a card from my job, talking about it had to be a bank card. I don’t have a bank account & I only have my job pay card. My job gives you a pay card that you check come on if you don’t have a bank account. 

more ...
Sep 30, 2018

I hate to state the obvious but, why not just open a checking account?

 
Nov 08, 2018

Dude you are dumb. No credit card company allows you to pay your bill with any debit card. You need a routing and account number to pay your bill dummy. It ain't just First Premiere it's all banks (Discover, Citi, AMEX, Capital One, Chase, Wells Fargo etc..) that dont allow you to pay your bill using a debit card. This is because they cant tell if your card is a debit card or a credit card and people are sneaky and will try and pay a credit card bill using another credit card which is strictly prohibited. You cant pay peter with Paul money. Banks systems cant tell if the card u are using to make a payment is a debit or credit card so to fix that all credit card companies require a routing number and checking account number to make your payment which assures them your not using a credit card since credit cards dont have checking and routing numbers. You dont know anything to be writing a negative review which is all user it's all you not the bank who stupid. I can tell u ain't never had to much credit otherwise you would know why they dont accept bank cards.

 
Nov 08, 2018

If your job gives u direct deposit then u gave them a routing and checking number right?? Well silly use that to pay your bill dummy not the card

 
Dec 08, 2018

No credit card bill can be paid using a debit card. Basically what you have is a prepaid card, or something similar to it. If you contact the company they will give you the routing number and your account number as long as you can verify it is you. Once you have that information then you can use that to make your payment

 
Dec 13, 2018

I think they should have another way to be able to pay it since ppl trying to rebuild their credit, some may not be able to get a bank account. So we'd have to get another prepaid debit card to pay our bill for our prepaid credit card?! WTF makes no sense. But thanks for the review. I'm going elsewhere.

 
May 01, 2018
disqusted Cardholder

It is a joke. They kept my money for 2 months and would not refund it. When they did I spent my entire 400,00 amd they sent it to the credit bureau that I owed them 185.00

more ...
Apr 25, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is Amazing my score jumped up 105 points just in the matter of 1 month..i will highly recommend anyone to apply for this awesome card, you will definitely not regret it.GREAT CARD so far

more ...
Jun 17, 2018

Hi. Any updates for this month of June?

 
Jul 16, 2018

That's hard to believe

 
Sep 13, 2018

Lol thats a fake review.

 
Mar 28, 2018
This thing is a joke!!!!
Anonymous Cardholder

I saved it to use in case if emergencies....this POS never worked one time and left me stranded 250 miles from home. It is a POS!!!! I canceled and requested my money back.

more ...
Mar 27, 2018
Anonymous Cardholder

Other than the high interest rate and the annual fee, the card is excellent for rebuilding your credit. I own this card for at least two years and had no problem with paying my bill on time. Please use your bill pay from your bank and payment will be done electronically and your acct credited the day of payment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 23, 2018

Thats what im thinking...just have the funds in your bank account to pay your credit card bill on time each and every month...i dont plan using my first progress card that much..just using it to rebuild credit worthiness

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 4,144
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card