First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $29
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.99%* Variable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 26, 2020
I wish I hadn't opened this.
daivanati Cardholder

They make it really challenging to pay. I paid over the phone and got a $10 fee. Don't get this card! Get another, this one is awful. I'm just going to pay it off and never use it again and open another secured account with a reputable bank that lives in 2020 and not 1984.

more ...
Oct 28, 2019
I won’t recommend this to anyone
Honourable Cardholder

They won't report your on time payments at all. 

more ...
May 24, 2019
Joe111111 Cardholder

I had this card and did the $400 down offer, I did not even have my card for one moth and only spent $60 dollars and when the first statement arrived....... nothing in the account due to small fees for the card and such, This company does more than screw you with a high APR they make sure to get your money you put towards the account in the first month. Do not trust this FAKE company that should have the FTC breathing down their necks.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 02, 2019

Read terms and conditions and call them they fixed min

 
Apr 28, 2019
Hate it
Dontdoitt Cardholder

Horrible customer service and they make it such a hassle to make a payment. I thought they’d have an app where I can just sign on and pay but everything is through mail and if you make a payment directly to them over the phone they charge an extra $10. I spent $70 on my card and had to pay $80 just to get my payment through on time. 

more ...
Jun 02, 2019

$10 fee is only if you make a payment over the phone there are other options money gram is 2 business days

 
Sep 08, 2019

Well, well Ms. Felicia147 aren't you the one with all the answers ~ NOT!!! Just how much is the cost for using the Money Gram these days???

 
Oct 17, 2019

What is your stake in all this felicia? You sure are defending this card company to the fullest. But everything you have said proves these people's complaints are real. Nobody wants to use money gram nor open multiple accounts just for one card account to pay everything off late anyway. So sit down felicia

 
Nov 11, 2019

My brother had a girlfriend that either for a secured credit card company that made payments very difficult to submit intentionally. Then they were directed to HOLD mail in payments until they were 1-2 days late so they could charge for that as well. Very best place to get a secured card is thru your own banking institute.

 
Nov 11, 2019

Worked for rather

 
Nov 23, 2019

thanks for writing the reviews for this card..felicia or whatever your name is **** moneygram..thats a scam by itself.

 
Feb 23, 2020

Felicia has commented on every single credit card offer on here defending the companies. Pretty sure she works for credit karma as they get something by offering these cards on their service. It's how they make it "free"

 
Apr 09, 2019
For desperate people
JeffWrongway Cardholder

They make it hard as hell to make a payment. In this digital age and they can't process electronic payments themselves. Like its the 80s. Mail a check or use your banks bill pay but they can't even accept electronic pay through it. Was going to open another one but the hard way to pay made me open another card with another that will accept e- pay

more ...
Jun 02, 2019

They do accept e bill pay just depends on your bank I have two banks one will send e bill pay the other want just ask ur bank and there is money gram also

 
Nov 11, 2019

Felicia obviously works for this company. My brothers girlfriend worked for a company like this. They were instructed to HOLD mailed in payments until they were 1-2 days late! BEST place to get a secured card is thru your own banking institute. They will take an scheduled auto payment or over the phone without a charge, unless you're late.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 4,144
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card