First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $29
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 04, 2017
Amazing..But...
Cirra3 Cardholder

This card is amazing. It’s simple cut and dry. I provided 200 bucks, I got a card with limit of 200 bucks. You CAN NOT make a payment online, you need to schedule it thru your bank. First Progress reports to all 3 credit agencies. Use the card and pay it off immediately. Keep your usage down, under 25% and you’ll gain points on your credit. I went from a low 500 to 708 in about 6 months..slow process but it’s worth it! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 26, 2017
No online payments
Dustyhawk Cardholder

Payments are not convenient and take a while. Easy to make a late payment that way so be careful.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 04, 2017
very great card good people to work wit
lilgeorge007 Cardholder

Easy approval way better than Capital One who turned me down

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
Amazing..But...
Cirra3 Cardholder

This card is amazing. It’s simple cut and dry. I provided 200 bucks, I got a card with limit of 200 bucks. You CAN NOT make a payment online, you need to schedule it thru your bank. First Progress reports to all 3 credit agencies. Use the card and pay it off immediately. Keep your usage down, under 25% and you’ll gain points on your credit. I went from a low 500 to 708 in about 6 months..slow process but it’s worth it! 

more ...
Aug 22, 2017
Great!
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great credit card to have if your trying to build credit! Payments are easy to setup and you can lig into your account to see payment history, due date, transaction history! It's great I love it. I've had this card for 6 months now and it's boost my credit score 84 points. 

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

You cant pay online without a bank account. Had 2 days regret it already. Takes 10 business days to process payment if you mail in.

more ...
Aug 15, 2017

Should have cared for your credit in the 1st place and wouldn't be in this situation. Don't blame anyone but yourself.

 
Oct 11, 2017

Whoever you are be careful you never know when a wrong turn may take place in your life. Because you are up today doesnt mean you will be up tomorrow.

 
Aug 09, 2017
Serves its purpose
Mk2486 Cardholder

I'm shocked by some of the recent reviews that I've read about this card. Other than the annual fee, it's just like any other credit card. The reviews that state you can't make online payments are false. I make my payment online every month. No problem. I've hard this card for a little over 4 months and it serves its purpose. Everyone shouldn't get so wrapped up in interest rates because as long as you pay the card off monthly, you don't pay interest. I'm starting to think some of these reviews are just made to be negative because a lot of the information being shared is false. 

more ...
Aug 21, 2017

Thank for your honest review because I was not going to apply for the card because of all of the reviews.

 
Aug 22, 2017

This card serves its purpose. I've had it for 6 months. And you can create an account setup payments and all of that. I don't know what every one else is talking about.

 
Oct 04, 2017

You can not make online payments. You have to schedule them thru your bank.

 
Aug 07, 2017
WOSRT CARD EVER
Ecooley34 Cardholder

My card was stolen. Not only did it take them 2 months to follow up and close it but they charged me for all the thiefs shopping!

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Helps build your credit
mob1210 Cardholder

Credit went up 20-30 points in 3 months, it took some time to receive the card but it was worth it. There is no online payment but you can set up online bill pay through your bank. I've had no problem with it thus far.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 16, 2017

Sometimes You Have To Take The Good With The Bad! If You Don't Pay! Your Credit Report And Score Will Take A Huge Dump! Sometimes You Have To Smile And Move On!

 
Jun 26, 2017
No online payments
Dustyhawk Cardholder

Payments are not convenient and take a while. Easy to make a late payment that way so be careful.

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
vanessamorlet Cardholder

whatever amount you add is your credit. They make it hard to make a payment and its not 29$ its $39 per month.

since i used it because i actually paid for my own credit it tremendously lowered my score.

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
Does its job
mob1210 Cardholder

Does what it is supposed to, no online payment, but you can set up bill pay with your bank with no hassle

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 4,144
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

First Progress Platinum Elite MasterCard® Secured Credit Card