PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card Reviews

PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 12 Billing Cycles
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.74% - 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 08, 2019
Great for existing PNC clients.
denloch Cardholder

Applied for this card after I recieved a prequalification offer in the mail, offering 0% on balance transfers for 15 months. I have a couple of high interest cards with high utilization that I'm working on paying down, and putting the $100+ a month I'm paying in interest into the principal would help tremendously. Above average reward levels for future usage, as well. 

They must put a lot of weight into some internal scoring system, because with a score of around 635 and around 70% current utilization across my cards, no lender in their right mind should be considering me right now, but they approved me instantly for $6600 and "upgraded" me to a Signature Visa, which now makes it my highest limit card. 

I've been banking with them (direct deposit) for over a decade and financed two cars (one current) with a perfect payment record. 

If you've got an existing good relationship with PNC, that appears to matter to them more than your score when applying for credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 12, 2019
RJames014 Cardholder

I applied for this card through the credit karma app. I have a 766 credit score and I’m used to being approved within a day of applying for a card. After a couple of days I got a call from PNC where they asked for all of the info that was in my application, and they said they were having trouble verifying my age. They told me to fax a copy of my drivers license. I thought this was strange, but I faxed it. I called back after 3 days to get a status on my application. I was told it was still processing. I asked if this was normal to take so long and the person said yes.  After 10 days of checking my email, spam, and texts, I called again, and I was told that I had been approved. I asked if it was normal to not notify applicants of a status change via email. I didn’t get an answer, but the person on the line apologized. When the card arrived a few days later, I called the number on the card to activate it. I also tried to enroll in PNC online as described in the packet that came with the card. I was unable to enroll because I didn’t have a PNC online access PIN. I called the PNC help number again, and there was no option on the computer system to obtain an online access PIN. After the computer system asked me for my SSN for the 5th time for some reason, I finally talked to a human. She told me that you have to call to obtain the online access PIN. It would be nice if that info was in the packet that came with the card. She generated a pin and told me I have to use it within 15 minutes. I tried to use it immediately but discovered that the PNC app is extremely glitchy. As I filled in one field, another field would go blank or the info would move from one box to another. The person on the phone asked if I was using the app and I told her I was. She then told me to use the PNC website. I tried to use the website to enroll, but this was also glitchy. I had to wait a second or 2 after each digit I typed for it to appear on the screen. After finally filling in the required info, the system said I entered it incorrectly. I verified the info line by line and tried to enter it again with the same result. I was then told a PIN would be mailed to me. Why wasn’t it mailed to start with? I’m patiently waiting now with very low expectations.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 19, 2019
Mary305 Cardholder

Credit Karma gave me poor odds to get approved for this card. However, I applied anyway knowing the odds wasn't in my favor. I'm in the process of rebuilding my credit and right now its only a 640. Nevertheless, I do bank with PNC and they  approved me for $1000.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 31, 2019

What are your minimum payments monthly?

 
Sep 09, 2019
Good rewards with sign up bonus
Stmurphy66 Cardholder

I read other reviews that stated you could not pay your bill online unless you had a PNC checking account. I received my card, contacted customer service to get my online access PIN, registered online, added an external account (Chase) and transferred my first payment online. Was not too difficult. Yeh rewards are worth it for me.

more ...
Aug 23, 2019
Fantastic Rewards Card for PNC Customers
zoenanai Cardholder

I have been a PNC banker for a few years and got this card in 2017 while doing some in bank transactions. I absolutely love it! 4% back on gas all the time, 3% at restaurants incl fast food and 2% on groceries. Most cards don't recognize Walmart in the groceries category but this card does, which is huge for me because I primarily do my grocery shopping there. 1% on everything else (standard for cashback cards). They also have bonus cash back rewards where you can earn up to 10% back at certain places (like Little Caesars pizza). You have to manually activate whichever ones you want for that particular month.

I've never had problems with customer service or cashing out my rewards. The card automatically connects to your PNC online banking through virtual wallet (app and web) if you're already a customer. The ease of use is fantastic! I don't have to "schedule" a payment, simply transfer funds from whichever account I want to use to pay. The same with cashing out rewards dollars. Super easy and very convenient. The only thing I can say I would like to see different is the minimum $25 balance needed to cash out. It would be nice if there was no minimum but I know other cards do this as well. Overall I'm very happy with this card and will keep it as a daily spend cashback card.

more ...
Aug 16, 2019
Great for fuel rewards and that's it
JohnAE86 Cardholder

I was able to get a 10k line of credit with a score of 760. The approval process was fast and the card arrived sooner than most. Here's where the problems start. I was able to use the card but there was no way for me to pay because I needed a pin which I had to request. They couldn't verify my identity over the phone so they had to send the pin through the mail. I download the app, set everything up and come to find out I can't pay my bill without a pnc bank account. What a nightmare. This is three weeks after I received the card. I called customer support, which picked up faster than other banks, and they told me I had to use online banking on their website to link a bank account. I was finally able to pay my bill but I never could get the app to work. I don't think I would jump through all these hoops again for an additional 1% cashback given my fuel expenses. Oh, I did get my signup bonus, some users said they didn't. I can't speak to their balance transfers. If you spend a lot on fuel and plan on paying your balance in full every month you should be happy with this card, just dont expect anything else out of it.

more ...
Jul 31, 2019
Best Credit card i have
JazzyTay57 Cardholder

I've banked with PNC since college. Every time i called in they offered me this card and i finally said yes. i belive i got approved with 670 credit score. Literally the best credit card i have because i can see my balance every time i log onto virtual wallet where i manage my debit account. when i want to pay my credit card bill i  just transfer money to it, its that sinple! also racking up that cash back helps as well. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 08, 2019

What was ur approval credit limit?

 
Jul 23, 2019
Fighting to get sign up bonus
ANTHONY1020 Cardholder

I applied for this card several months ago under the Credit Karma ad offer of getting $200 after spending $1000. I met all the requirements and for the past few months I’ve been told “I should see the bonus on the next statement”. That was May, June and now July. Still haven’t seen it.

more ...
Aug 08, 2019

I worked for the bank. Eventually it does come... it is usually 4/5 months in to having the card. They do this so people don’t open and close it

 
Aug 08, 2019

same here...first they verify whether you met the spending requirement and then tell it will take 30-90 days....come one, who waits 30-90 days after meeting criteria....worst service

 
Aug 27, 2019

Don't be discouraged! That happened to me with my promised reward for working for Penn State and opening up an account. simultaneously I would get a much needed $200.

Instead..they overcharged me erroneously on 7 overdrafts (pushed weeks old transactions after my balance dipped below the amount needed). I refused to pay and vli Ed my complaints in person. They scoffed and said my credit would be ruined if they charge off the account. 7 years later I got a letter in the mail from a class action lawsuit for $650 from PNC. Apparently I wasn't the only one, I was one of thousands. They are known for this practice. Sometimes you just have to stick to your guns!!!!

 
Jul 08, 2019
pnc rocks
idakno Cardholder

they been badgering me for years to get a card i finally said yes.  Have their virtual wallet and everything is linked together I think it's great

more ...
Jun 25, 2019
Great cash rewards
allllicattt Cardholder

PNC makes it easy to transfer funds to pay off credit card charges. The 4% cash back on gas really adds up.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019
Love it
Finery90 Cardholder

You don't really own a credit card! Anyway, this is the best no annual fee card I have. Great rewards and service. I have no other PNC accounts. I've had no problem paying online using an external account, easily added on their website. 

more ...
Jun 07, 2019
Not a bad card
RichardF1836 Cardholder

Pretty decent card haven't had it for long, my only gripe is unless you have a PNC bank account you cant pay online. For me, that's not a deal breaker, but it can be inconvenient.

more ...
Jun 13, 2019

I don't have a PNC account and I still pay online. You just need to add an external account.

 
Jun 24, 2019

You can’t add your external account through mobile banking. It has to be done through online banking

 
Oct 02, 2019

Your right, I had a mortgage prior to having an auto loan with PNC. I HATE their online banking system it's absolutely ridiculous and not user friendly. It was a nightmare trying to add an external account and even now when I go to pay there's always an error.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card Reviews

PNC Cash Rewards® Visa® Credit Card