Overall card rating

3.8
86 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Mar 29, 2021
Great for people who actually pay off their debts
Credit Karma Member

Not sure why there are so many bad reviews on here, if you pay your debts on time, as with any credit card, its great. Plus discovers online options and interface is terrific. When you apply for a credit card, and open a new account your score is going to dip for a little while.. Its not BECAUSE you got a discover card.

Helpful656
Not Helpful99
Comment6
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Mar 27, 2021
I have the discover card
Credit Karma Member

I pay the balance on this card to zero every month. It is the only card I have. Shortly after getting it my credit score dropped from 775 to 725 !!!!!!! even though I have no balance on this card or any other!!!!

Helpful379
Not Helpful825
Comment33
Flag


Member ratings


All member reviews (86)

33
4
6
5
38

Nov 10, 2022
Not worth it.
Credit Karma Member

I’ve had this card for 3 months now and have only got to use it twice. The customer service was nice, but not knowledgeable about much of anything. I got the response “I don’t know. That’s just how it is.” Multiple times. Never had an issue with any other credit card company.

Helpful0
Not Helpful3
Comment1
Flag

Oct 26, 2022
Perfect for youth
Credit Karma Member

the best service ever

Helpful2
Not Helpful2
Comment0
Flag

Oct 25, 2022
Cancel if you have it.
Credit Karma Member

I have had this card for over 25 years. I called customer service for the first time. I had unauthorized charges & worker said I was lying. Very, very rude. I pay charges off each month. I won't use this card except about every few months. The TV shows wonderful employees. This isn't real life.

Helpful11
Not Helpful10
Comment0
Flag

Oct 24, 2022
Best balance Transfer
Credit Karma Member

Gave me 2 years of 0% and the rewards are pretty nice. I love this card more than all my others. Wish they would lower my new Apr with my 750 credit score but it’s fine.

Helpful6
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

Oct 08, 2022
Never Ever
Credit Karma Member

Never Ever get a Discover card. If you ever run into financial trouble they will take you to court. Just saying god forbid you got into an accident or lose your job.

Helpful18
Not Helpful13
Comment5
Flag

Sep 23, 2022
DO NOT APPLY!!! WORST COSTUMER SERVICE!!!
Credit Karma Member

This company remains in the 80's. They have obsolete systems and application which means: additional documentation, time lost, etc. It sucks. Customer service: the worst experience. If you know American Express, you will be disgusted. I recommend going on different options. I regret this recommendation and I now officially distrust credit karma moving forward.

Helpful30
Not Helpful10
Comment0
Flag

Sep 15, 2022
Has been great for me..
Credit Karma Member

Was my first card at 35 with no credit... It slowly does boost your score at first slowly key word... But 7 months of on time payments they refunded me my deposit took me off secured and up my limit from $300 to 1,800... I've had no issues with the card or company they have been very helpful when I did need assistance....

Helpful23
Not Helpful1
Comment1
Flag

Aug 29, 2022
Excellent
Credit Karma Member

The Discover card always have great cash back options. I usually have $30 to $50 Discover cash back per month...

Helpful21
Not Helpful2
Comment0
Flag

Aug 27, 2022
Great card!
Credit Karma Member

I have never ever had an issue with my card. When I call customer service they are the best!!! And I love the payment system it is quick and easy not like the other cards where it takes along time!!! Great rewards and a great card!!!

Helpful20
Not Helpful2
Comment1
Flag

Aug 26, 2022
In between
Credit Karma Member

I have had this card I got it with balance transfer only allowed to do it at sign up nothing after. Card is good always on time kept it $0 balance over a year but no offers I still have it I use it then pay it off for over 6 years now no more transfer offers so sad I have a Citi card I have had several transfer offers after the first one

Helpful35
Not Helpful8
Comment4
Flag

1-10 of 86

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.