Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 23.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 23.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 06, 2017
My step-by-step process.
georgeyy Cardholder

As 2017 started, my credit score was 490. I know...it's a disaster! I ruined my credit at age 18-20. Now I am 25 and I decide to rebuild my credit back up and fix this mess. I currently have about 3 open collections and 7 hard inquiries. I'll work on removing them eventually. In the mean time, I checked the approval odds of Citi Secured MasterCard and CK deemed it "FAIR". I took a chance.

On Jan. 17, I applied online through their website. I set up a $200 deposit from my Wells Fargo checking account for them to withdraw. At the end the system stated that my application needed further review. They'll let me know the result within 1 week. I'm already thinking to myself...ahh that probably means I didn't get approved. 

On Jan. 19, Citi withdrew $200 from my Wells Fargo checking account and the status of my application was still pending. I'm getting anxious.

On Jan. 24, I received a surprising email stating that I've been approved and my credit limit is $200! YES, they gave me a chance! But my credit score dropped to 459. I think that's how the system calculates the score when you open a new line of credit.

On Feb. 3, I received my new Citi Secured Mastercard! It took about 8 business days for me to receive it here in California. I activated it right away and stuffed it in my wallet. 

Now from experience, I've learned to control my spending and limit myself from utilizing too much credit from this card. I read on CK forums to keep your utilization below 30%. Which means I must not spend over $60 out of my $200 credit limit. So all I did was I allow Apple Music ($14.99/month) to automatically charge my Citi card every month. 

Feb. 6, Apple deducted $14.99 from my card. In the next few days a balance of $14.99 appeared on my online account. I paid it off immediately using my checking account.

Feb. 13, my score shot up to 518. Nothing massive, but it was a huge step into building up my credit again. I repeated the same step this month for March.

March 6, My credit score shot up to a whopping 563. My credit utilization is 9% and my payments are 100% on time. 2 of my 7 inquiries dropped this month as well. 

SO FAR SO GOOD. I am very satisfied with this card. I will come back within 6-12 months and give it a second review to see how my progress is! Thank you Citi for taking a chance on a peasant like me. LOL! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 19, 2016
Worked for what I needed
Anonymous Cardholder

Got the card with a 602 credit score, I had already got a secured card through capital one and discover. High interest but it is what it is. Put $500 and got a $500 limit. After 9 months, never missed or was late with a payment, used it only for gas here and there, I requested a credit limit increase. I had the discover card for 7 months and got my deposit of $300 back and had my credit limit raised to $1500 unsecured, so I figured they might bump it to unsecured and raise my limit since I had the card longer. They wouldn't make it unsecured, wouldn't raise my limit, and wouldn't allow me to put more $ on the card to raise my overall credit, said I would have to cancel it and get another card with a bigger deposit, which makes total sense when your trying to establish credit history right? So make sure to take that into consideration. Anyways for what it's worth the app comes in handy, and it will help rebuild your credit. I'd get the discover or capital one card before this one but in truth I have all 3 and they've all helped. Just takes time. Make your payments on time, don't use much of your credit and be patient. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 02, 2017
I love this card
moogie94 Cardholder

7/1/17

I went with this card because the capital one card wouldn't approve me (collections from capital one 4 years ago) and the beginning was rough. They said my application will take further review and they will have an answer for me in 1 week. By day 4 the 200$ was taken out of my account. Still no word on if I was approved or not. 2 weeks went by, still no update. I called at 2 1/2 weeks and they said my application is still pending. I stated the deposit has already been pulled and I don't understand why they would pull and not approve the application. The customer service was very friendly. Few days later I was approved. Took just over a week after that to receive the card. Two weeks after that I get an email from Credit Karma saying my score changed. I looked and this card jumped me up 35 points. I have 2 things in collections and a judgement of 3,000. My score started at 451. I have not paid anything (yet) and my score after one month of opening the card is 532. This card has jumped me over 80 points in a month. Pretty happy.

*Update* 11/2/17

Okay! It’s been 5 months since I’ve had this card, I have not paid any of my collections. One medical and one from capital one for almost $500. My score is now 600. This card has not only raised my credit score 150 points, but I am also now approved with Capital One secured card! I only needed to give them $49 for a deposit and have a $200 limit. I originally wanted the capital one card but was denied but approved for this one. I cannot express how happy I am to be on the road to recovery on my credit! All payments made on time, never any issues, and my new card will be here in a few weeks! Let’s see how fast my score raises now! 😁😁😁

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 17, 2017

I am thinking about getting this card, I have capital one already.

 
Oct 24, 2017

Save yourself the headache and go with Capital One. (I’ve had both) Citi customer service is the absolute worst. Just called to cancel my secured card with them. 

more ...
Oct 26, 2017

I have never had a issue with customer service

 
Nov 02, 2017

Everyone has different experiences with the same situation

 
Oct 18, 2017
Helped My Score
birdyme Cardholder

I started the secured card over 2 years ago. I was approved with a terrible 350ish credit score. I made on time payment and my credit score climbed. They have a great app, easy atms where you can pay for your bill and good customer service. After 2 years they switched me to a regular credit card and refunded my deposit. I still have it now and it is still my preferred card. I highly recommend it.

more ...
Oct 17, 2017
credit score on the rise
jusdre Cardholder

10/17/2017 - I'm 34 and my credit has been crap since about 2 weeks after my 18th bday lol. said its time to grow up and get my credit together. I was a 514 trans & 570 equifax with 2 hard inquiries  . put down the $200 deposit. took about 10 days for the approval. then maybe another week before the card arrived.  used it , paid off the biill completely. bill date due oct 9th. its now just 8 days later and both my scores are up 70 points!!!! 70 points after the 1st payment.. im so excited. i will try to update this review over some time. so far so freaking good though

more ...
Oct 25, 2017

It took 2 years for them to offer you a unsecured card? I’ll pass

 
Oct 26, 2017

u replied to the wrong post

 
Oct 12, 2017
Best Card for Restarting
punisher323 Cardholder

I've had this card for about 2 months now. I am in the process of reparing my credit after loosing my job a couple of years ago. When i applied, my credit score was around 480. Didint think I was going to get approved, but i did. I had more than 10 collection accounts and 19 Derogitory marks when i applied. I even had an old citi double cash card as a chargeoff so I was suprised that they approved me, but thankful since they are helping me rebuild my credit. I paid $2500 as a deposit. Took almost a month from application to receiving the card. My score is 619 now. went up more than 100 points. 

more ...
Oct 14, 2017

Good for you! Now manage your money emotions and control yourself! Been there done that am in a much better position NO MORE DEBT!

 
Oct 17, 2017

Thank you!

 
Oct 19, 2017

Why was your deposit so high?

 
Oct 27, 2017

I was wondering the same thing, why the deposit was so high.

 
Nov 09, 2017

That's the amount she wanted to use as her deposit. The min deposit is $200.

 
Oct 10, 2017
Review
sexiboiswagg12 Cardholder

This card is very close to qualifying for a unsecured card with them. It's not impossible to get with maybe a few bad marks. But it's more for those who are new to credit or have file for complete bankruptcy and 2 years have passed and have a clean slate. I would say it's the hardest secured card to get I've found. Not that I need there card but just info for those apply or are looking to. I prefer my cap one quicksilver for excellent credit which I do actually have with a lower but not bad score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 15, 2017

What score did you need for cap one quicksilver?

 
Oct 06, 2017
Good for new starters
idontknow001 Cardholder

I got this card with $500 deposit when my credit score was on the floor. By today, I graduated to unsecured diamond preferred. It helped me to build my credit. My score is around 680 right now. It increased more than 100 points in 14 months.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 11, 2017

Hi how low was your credit score when you apply because I apply for the secured credit card and I didn't get approved thanks.

 
Oct 06, 2017
trippchoudrant Cardholder

I got approved with a 581 and a 589 score with credit karma I put down 200 deposit only had it for a week now so don't no how it will affect my score yet will update in two to three months but I do love the citi app

more ...
Sep 25, 2017
Definitely a help
Chrismar31 Cardholder

Credit score jumped up over 40 points on both credit scores on first payment. Definitely a huge push in the right direction.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Secured Mastercard®