Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citi® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 22.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 22.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 23, 2016

So I applied with good odds and was denied, my wife was approved... She made the deposit, card came in 7 days. Wife called Citi to add me to her account and now I have my own. And then I tried for Capital 1 card silver and we both got approved. So I waited 3 months later notice my credit has been increasing good. So I tried the Discover it denied... My wife got approved, she got her card and later added me to her card. Now I have Cap 1, Discover and Citi. But what I'm saying is if you have a spouse and you were denied they should try and if he or she is approved, they can add you to the account and it will build you both up. My score 576 and my wife's was lower at 540. Now she's at  600 an I'm at a 590. I'll be glad to get out the poor score level. 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 27, 2016
Past customer don't apply

If you're a citicard customer in the past don't apply for this card they don't approve it for existing or past customers. Above that they will have a hard inquiry. Please consider my suggestion before applying

more ...

Reviews (95)

Add Review
Oct 18, 2016

Was denied due to previous bankruptcy but credit karma said my chances were good. Lies!

more ...
Oct 22, 2016

Im a little leary about opening up a credit card i just got out of the woods a year ago im good enough using my debit card NO WORRIES!

Oct 15, 2016
Easy to Managed, Can't wait to Graduate!
gwapzerick09 Cardholder

Applied and got approved for this card back in April 2016 with $200 deposit. My CK score was around 560 with TU and 565 with EQ. Cleaned up my Credit Report, Used the card and made payment on time. My score started going up. I eventually applied for other Credit Cards as my credit score started going up. Now I have an Amex Blue Cash Card, JetBlue Mastercard, Chase Freedom Unlimited and Discover it card. My current score now is 729 with TU and 726 with EQ. Now I can't wait to graduate from the 18th month period of this Citi Secured Card.

more ...
Oct 14, 2016
I honestly don't know.
Spleen420 Cardholder

I applied for this card in late August, got approved on September 6th, and as of today (10/14) I am still waiting for it to arrive in the mail.  I had a security issue when someone tried to change the mailing address and the security question but failed because they didn't know my security question. 

The good part is that it's showing I've been current on my $0 balance.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Crappy deal!

They turn you down when karma says it's a good chance you will get accepted.

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Citi Bank Secured Card

I have a pretty low credit score. EQ + TU both in the mid 500 range. I applied for the Citi Secure card on 9/27/2016 and after a few days 10/6/2016, I was approved. The funds were taken out of my account 9/29/2016. I received several letters saying I was approved in the mail and now I'm just waiting or the card to arrive. It's been kind of a long process thus far, I will update on my experience once I receive the card and its impact on my credit score.  

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Zero credit to 702 in six months!
Anonymous Cardholder

I moved to the US and had no credit here. I applied for this card with $200 and used it very minimally for six months (spending $20 or less then paying it all off immediately) I just got my credit score after 6 months of this as my only credit source and it's a very impressive 702! 

more ...
Oct 05, 2016

I applied with a trans of 503 and Equifax of 552 and I got approved exactly in a week and today I checked my app status saying I'm approved and to wait 2 weeks for my card

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Susu0490 Cardholder

So i applied for this card on september 15, i recieved an email that stated they wanted to verify my income. I did not call them back till the 22nd. Super busy, they took the funds out on september 28th and then finally approved today! I called so many times, trying to figure out my status but it is what worth the wait! I am super excited!

more ...
Oct 01, 2016

Waste of time I applied with a credit score 624 Trans Union 630 equifax and was denied I waited for two weeks to get response plus worst customer service.

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Must say, I don't understand the negative reviews. Its a secured card. I applied with a score of 396. I was approved when I sent a deposit. Thats all it takes.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016

did you have to send the deposit asap, or could you apply get approved and then pay ?


Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Citi® Secured MasterCard®