Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
118 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 13, 2018
Worth it!
anareyes89 Cardholder

Let me start out by saying that this card is definitely worth it! I was young and dumb and really damaged my credit, about a year ago is when I really began to start wanting to clean it up. I applied for the Capitol One secured card, got approved, but forgot to fund the deposit so when I applied for it a second time, I was denied. Credit Karma suggested the Citi Secured card and I figured it wouldn't hurt to try. I got approved and have been using my card for about a month. I use it for gas and small food purchases. In that month my score shot up 58 points! It was a great feeling. If you're like me and read reviews, take my advice, get the card, its worth it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 18, 2018
Long wait times
EMTGuy777 Cardholder

I applied for this card on 4/22/2018 and it took until 6/17/2018 to be approved. In that time period I applied for a card with Discover and was approved in ten minutes over the phone. There was no change to my credit in that time period to affect either decision. Once I started to use my Discover card I realized that it was literally better than the Citi card in every way. I called to cancel my Citi card and was told they would mail their credit approval department (they couldn't even call their own employees). After my experiences with Citi and their customer service I recommend that you only apply for this card if you have no other option. The card has no benefits, they take forever, and there are much better options out there with either Discover or Capital One. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 19, 2019
Not what I expected

I have had this secured card for 4 months and I have paid the bill each month never late and it hasn't increased my credit bureaus scores at all. When I applied it said within 2 months if you pay on time and pay off the balance you will see your scores go up. I haven't seen it yet and I can't get my money back for 18 months. It was my money that I am using anyway. Be careful

more ...
Jan 19, 2019

But what's on your credit report? Just because you get some sort of credit card doesn't mean your score will go up. Takes more than a credit card to make things positive

 
Jan 19, 2019

If you use more then 29% of credit limit you won’t see a increase & might start seeing a decrease in credit score i only use about 25% of credit limit on mine goes up a lot

 
Jan 20, 2019

The credit card company doesn’t improve your score. They just report. You may have a lot of negative information on your report going on. You need to take care of that. Open another card or a few more keep the utilization down and watch it soar!

 
Jan 19, 2019
Citibank Secured is Awesome !!
fulmetal55 Cardholder

I opened this secured card on may 2018 with a $400 deposit using my checking wanted to repair my bad credit ..my fico score was 520 ...now it my fico score is 579 ..This card is the best for repair my mother recommend it.....dont go with others try Citibank...you wont regret it.....

more ...
Jan 18, 2019
No real benefits
Msroyal1 Cardholder

If you are trying to rebuild your credit I really recommend capital one is the best. I've never been late on one payment and within only five months capital one bumped my credit limit up $300 more dollars. I've never been late on my citi but there are no perks. I've had this one almost a year and I am still at only my $200 credit limit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 19, 2019

I shall build a great big wall around your credit score to keep you away from us. It’s a year and a half before it’s eligible to become unsecured and maybe they’ll increase your limit. Till then apply more money to your secured card if you like an increase in your limit. Dummy.

 
Jan 16, 2019
Perfect card!
gd2341 Cardholder

I had really bad credit when I first opened this credit card last September 2018. I believe my credit score was around 570..Well, since then this citi secure card helped me bring up my EX score to 680 although my Citi card is still secure I have been using it moderately and paying the full balance off every billing cycle. I also wanted to add about a week ago I did a prequlification for a Discover IT card and ws approve for 1800 unsecure credit card. I will update if and when my citi card graduates!

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Within the first month
TrevorP Cardholder

I have had this card only 3 weeks & my credit already went up 52 on TransUnion 42 on Equifax & 40 on Experian pretty awesome & the Citibank app is awesome very clean looks nice will check back after 90 days & then 6 months & then a year to see how my score progressed 

more ...
Jan 06, 2019
A great place to start rebuilding
meglovin1987 Cardholder

I have had this card about 6 months and I have zero complaints. Customer service is very friendly, and my score keeps going up with on time payments.

more ...
Jan 06, 2019
A waste of time and effort.

Easy app process because you're paying them. It did nothing for my score. Why waste your time and money? I've had it a year, paid on time and still no change.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 19, 2019

What's in your credit report though

 
Jan 05, 2019
Score booster
Marvin1440 Cardholder

This card is great for boosting your credit score you won’t see any changes over night but you will see it get their over time when I got this card my scores was in the 500’s now my score’s are in the 6’s when I called customer service they said with good use of this card they will change it over to a regular card and I would get my deposit back after 18 months and I will have an option of getting a citi diamond  preferred  Or a citi double cash as an option so to anyone looking to boost their score in 18 months and get their foot in cities door this is the way to go the card offers price rewind which lets you get some of you money back it you paid for an item with your citi card and seen it somewhere else that was cheaper and this card also offers free fico score when you log in you won’t see it right away after logging in on the app until after a month good luck guys

more ...
Dec 25, 2018
Just the card I needed
Geneeba Cardholder

Immediately improved my credit. Get this card. I trust Citibank. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi® Secured Mastercard®