Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.4 out of 5 stars
139 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 13, 2018
Worth it!
anareyes89 Cardholder

Let me start out by saying that this card is definitely worth it! I was young and dumb and really damaged my credit, about a year ago is when I really began to start wanting to clean it up. I applied for the Capitol One secured card, got approved, but forgot to fund the deposit so when I applied for it a second time, I was denied. Credit Karma suggested the Citi Secured card and I figured it wouldn't hurt to try. I got approved and have been using my card for about a month. I use it for gas and small food purchases. In that month my score shot up 58 points! It was a great feeling. If you're like me and read reviews, take my advice, get the card, its worth it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 18, 2018
Long wait times
EMTGuy777 Cardholder

I applied for this card on 4/22/2018 and it took until 6/17/2018 to be approved. In that time period I applied for a card with Discover and was approved in ten minutes over the phone. There was no change to my credit in that time period to affect either decision. Once I started to use my Discover card I realized that it was literally better than the Citi card in every way. I called to cancel my Citi card and was told they would mail their credit approval department (they couldn't even call their own employees). After my experiences with Citi and their customer service I recommend that you only apply for this card if you have no other option. The card has no benefits, they take forever, and there are much better options out there with either Discover or Capital One. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 23, 2019
New Users BE AWARE!!
Lee00848 Cardholder

I just recently Activated my card and I needed to call customer service for a quick question and they end up transferring me to the fraud department because I didn’t have a cell number to match their database or some crap, Now my card is blocked and can’t I even begin to use it until I can provide them with a landline phone number it’s 2019 who has a landline phone nower Days smh, now I have to wait for a letter that may take weeks to get here. I provided my birthday, Social Security, the correct address, and security word so why are they giving me a hard time? I’m a new user using my own money for a “secured card”. I feel like this phone number crap should be taken care of during the application process so there won’t be any surprises!

more ...
Apr 19, 2019
Don’t waste your time... seriously!
LexQ305 Cardholder

The experience I had trying to get this was was completely terrible! On the same day I applied for this card, I also applied for a capital one card... by the time I FINALLY received this Citi card, I’d already completely TWO payment cycles with my capital one card. Through out that whole time I spent battles with rude customer service ppl over the phone, and kept getting the run around about when I was going to finally get my card, even though they already had my deposit. They sent me a welcome letter without the card, then sent another one a week later via special mail again with NO card. When I asked why, they said “it was so that I can make sure I still want the card”... ridiculous! Then the card was sent special mail requiring a signature, and without my knowledge while I was out of town. No notice, no tracking, nothing! By the time I got back the card was already sent back to the bank. 

They don’t care about you or your money... and their behavior and customer service shows just that!

more ...
Apr 14, 2019
The wrost I've experienced
Excitosaxoxo Cardholder

I had purchased a gift for my son and it arived a month later with a hole on it the seller never contacted me for a return i called they never called back customer service from citi said they couldn't give me a refund because I had the item how can you return an item when the seller never communicated with me since citi doesn't protect the card holder i i decided to cancel my card and they ruined my credit because of a problem that wasn't my fault.
I truly recommend capital one they protect there customers.
God bless everyone.
I was trying to bring up my credit not down ...

more ...
Apr 15, 2019

Was this an eBay or Amazon purchase?

 
Apr 18, 2019

They didn’t ruin your credit, YOU closed your card. That’s on you. Don’t blame a company because you had a temper tantrum and closed your account because you got an answer you didn’t like.

 
Apr 22, 2019

If you made a purchase and that purchase didn’t work out, then you closed the account and possibly didn’t pay the bill, that’s not Citis fault!

 
Apr 12, 2019
Absolutely Awesome
Ultrablckwoman Cardholder

I applied and was approved. Love my card. Absolutely love it and the powder it provides. It's my emergency card use only. My son James told me to apply. Love it

more ...
Apr 11, 2019
It’s okay
Vinvin10 Cardholder

Got this card with scores in low 500 and I’m grateful to rebuild, but you will never get an increase.  I pay this off monthly in full, yes they report, last month twice, right before due date and right after, making my usage  greater than 30%.  And for whatever reason be it ck or Citi, no reporting to Equifax ever!  If this happened with anyone else please let me know.

more ...
Apr 14, 2019

yes it happened to me too! Got this card in October and they stopped reporting my on-time payments all of 2019! I decided to file a dispute with on credit karma for missing payment information last month and within a week they resolved it for me. They posted my on time payments and I got a 14 point increase because of having this info now on my credit report. I would do the same, its pretty simple to do.

 
Apr 22, 2019

Thank you I will do it!

 
Apr 11, 2019
Not sure
JoyTina Cardholder

I don't know if I should be surprise or what. I chose this card to help my credit boost up and it's my first month my credit went down 19 points I only have citicard for 2 weeks now, as per creditkarma when u open new card it usually goes down? And I was like wth..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 22, 2019

That’s very typical. It will go up as you pay on time every month!

 
Apr 09, 2019
Citibank does not deserve even 1 star!
Hwillner Cardholder

They instigated demise of my credit starting with tough recessionary times and against all new credit laws, they doubled my interest rate w no notice, retroactive on thousands of dollars (also illegal) claiming some promo rate. never did it show that a promo rate or thatbit was temporary. I wastotally up to daye, but just surviving!
I asked numerous times for investigation or adjustment and they refused, so therefore I couldn't pay the new payment amount and that was the beginning of my credit tumbling... I hate Citibank! Im much better now, but credit still damaged... its been 8 hard years! No thks to citibank!

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
LisIrishFleur Cardholder

Application process was easy. It was fast. I applied online. Received my approval in three dates. Had my card a week later.
Haven't used it yet. But so far, so good.

more ...
Apr 05, 2019
Horrible
Byronbilby Cardholder

Forever22 receive absolutely horrible customer service take your money get no points for anything at least not yet anyways I had the car for about a month make three payments on it cards at 200 still nothing hopefully soon I'll finally get my credit score leap as being this is supposedly going to all the credit bureaus maybe I'll be able to do an update review in the next month or so we'll see

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi® Secured Mastercard®