Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews
2.7 out of 5 stars
127 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 23.99% Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 23.99% Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 19, 2019
Great to repair credit , jumped 60pts
Anthonylitton Cardholder

I signed up for this card 2 weeks ago. I paid my $200 deposit and around 4 days ago my credit jumped 61 points up to 578.

I had stopped paying all my credit cards and they were all charged off and closed. I settled them all, but was left with zero open credit cards and a score around 500. If you're like me it will instantly raise your score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2019
Avoid this card unless you're desperate.
tstrudel Cardholder

If you want an awesome secured cc, then go with Discover. I opened the Citi card in the summer of 2017 with a $600 deposit. I've never missed a payment, use this card frequently, many times I'd pay the balance in full with $500 payments, and 18 months later I got a letter from Citi saying they need to hold my security deposit for another year. On the other hand, I opened Discover's secured "it" card with only $200. 8 months later, I graduated and they gave me a credit line in the thousands.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2020
Read the reviews
DianaLa Cardholder

I wish I did their customer service sucks I got declined somewhere for whatever reason and they're holding on to the funds for a minimum of a month.. and will never ever increase limit

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2020

It's a secured card you don't get credit limit increases, just a conversion to unsecured pending your history with them. And yes if you're in process of closing the account or requesting your deposit they holds it for up to 2 months to make sure no pending transactions come then release it

 
Jan 12, 2020
ana1108 Cardholder

I been with Citi 13 month , the few things I don't like is they don't is they  don't report on time , if you ask for increase it won't happen . Other then everything else is okay . 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2020

Increase on what??? Do you mean the conversation to the unsecured card?

 
Dec 31, 2019
Beneficial
SarahBellum20 Cardholder

So ****ing awesome! If you pay your bill with a debit card; the funds are available the same day, instantly. Not only are you using your own money, but building your credit quickly at the same time and they report to all three credit bureaus

more ...
Dec 29, 2019
Great card for bad credit
mrleiter Cardholder

This card is a great card if you have bad credit. I got the card put in my deposit and after month my credit jumped 90 points

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 08, 2020

After 90 days your credit jumped 90pts? Have you cancelled? if so, how was that experience? how is the Customer service and bill pay experience?

 
Dec 28, 2019
Hurt my credit more than it helped!
Nolikey Cardholder

This is partially my fault, and I acknowledge that, but this company really hurt my credit! I had the card for about 6 months, and paid on time every single month. I made an extra payment between due dates and that payment ended up bouncing due to someone double charging me. They literally closed my account immediatly even though I corrected the issue in plenty of time before my due date, and in addition added a bogus $200 charge just so they didn't have to return my deposit. They dont give you any allowance for life to happen and completed ripped me off of $200, even though I was always paid off in full early each month. I do not recommend this card unless it is the only option. And if it is, use caution.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 17, 2020

This is an issue on your end, why did you provide a bad review for an issue caused on your end? The rules must be followed.

 
Dec 27, 2019
Not with having due to poor customer ser
Lennu Cardholder

It is a pain to utilize and customer is just as bad!

more ...
Dec 24, 2019
Horrible!
Glamorou Cardholder

I applied for this card July of 2017 never missed a late payment opening up with $200 it's now Dec of 2019 I never receives a credit increase spoke to someone at Citibank and they advise they will notify when I will get one received a letter last month stating they need to hold my security Dept for another 12 month don't recommend this card at all. I will recommend credit one start with 300 this year now at $950 no security deposit was never needed. Don't get this card worse card ever..

more ...
Dec 22, 2019
Awful
Hf6 Cardholder

I never ever write reviews on the internet but Citi bank has pushed me to the edge .....I've had this card to for over 2 years never had a late payment no missed payments...always paid in full and they still won't make it a unsecured cc....they always say after reviewing my account I still need a deposit...my credit score is 700+ they outta line....and if you want to know why they dont change it ...you can only write them a letter no phone calls....and they dont even responsed to the letters! ....if you need a secured card go to boa ....the procces is 12 months but I got it done in 8 do to being a good customer and they say rocketed my credit limit through the roof.....stay away worst customer experience

more ...
Dec 23, 2019

Thank you for Sharing your Experience

 
Dec 27, 2019

What does boa stand for ? The thing you said you got that usually took 12 months but you did it in 8 .

 
Dec 29, 2019

Boa
Bank of America

 
Dec 15, 2019
They took a chance with me and I love it
shetay29 Cardholder

No annual fees, $200 security. They send your card fast and they post payments you make instantly. Vs having to wait to clear before using your card again.
I had a 720 score (19 years old and no missed payments, just low credit age) until I got into a bad toxic manipulating relationship where I had to pay his way so that meant all my bills started piling up and I ruined my credit because I was then too stressed to even think about the late fees and harassing phone calls. We are now separated and we have a joint auto loan that he has now been behind for 11 months... that and my other 7-8 now closed collections doesnt make me look good. The only thing I can do right now is start fresh and open a credit line to start POSITIVE credit history. They took a chance with me and I was so very thankful for that. I have a clear head and I can do this and focus on positive and work out my past mess ups. My credit was low around 510 when accepted and it's now at 532 as I type this review

more ...
Dec 22, 2019

After they took out the 200 security deposit how long until you got these card in mail. I just strapped on money but really need to start helping my credit some how. And is the 200 immediately available as the credit limit once you get card?

 
Jan 06, 2020

Yes, the money is available as soon as you activate your card.

 
Dec 13, 2019
Kasdaisy Cardholder

Im just building my credit I was approved for this card and instantly my credit score went up, I’ve had this card for about 3-4 months now and my credit score went up more than 70 points. On top of the fact I just started actually swiping the card and purchasing things.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Citi® Secured Mastercard®