Citi® Secured Mastercard®

Citi® Secured Mastercard®

Overall card rating

3.3
618 Reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Mar 03, 2021
Great Starter
Credit Karma Member

I am in my 50's and never had credit, I applied for this card and was approved after paying the $200. Decided to use this card for gas only and after using and paying my credit went up quickly, the first month it went up 49 points!! On the second month it went up again 3 points, which is not a lot but it went up and not down. This is my first credit card and I am looking forward to seeing my score go up. I am paying before the due date and only using for a gas card for now. I am more than happy so far and excited to see what it will be after 3-6 months. I highly recommend this as a start to gaining positive and good credit.

Helpful165
Not Helpful24
Comment3
Flag

Most helpful negative review

Aug 01, 2021
Please don’t waste your time applying
Credit Karma Member

Had this card for 3 years and never graduated. Never a late payment. Never went over the limit. Don’t bother contacting them because the customer service employees are outsourced and have no idea why. They really suck. This card doesn’t even let you add to your security deposit. Try discover or capital one if you really want to rebuild your credit because this company will not help you at all. If you are reading this review, you have been warned

Helpful146
Not Helpful8
Comment3
Flag


Member ratings

Application process
Customer service

All member reviews (618)

196
75
60
45
242

Nov 19, 2022
Keeps you waiting
Credit Karma Member

I've had this card for 4 years always paid on time I use it regularly but they still haven't changed it over to an unsecured card. It comes in handy but don't believe the hype they aren't converting your card to an unsecured card.

Helpful7
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Nov 15, 2022
Dishonest and predatory
Credit Karma Member

Lost my job shortly after spending 75% of my available credit on this card, None of the protections they offered were put into place for some reason.... They proceeded to charge off the debt, keep my deposit (which, by the way, exceeded the blance), and refuse to tell me where my security deposit went. Avoid at all costs.

Helpful7
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

Oct 17, 2022
Not worth the trouble.
Credit Karma Member

Beat take your chances with other secure cards if you want to improve credit.

Helpful3
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

Oct 06, 2022
Worthless
Credit Karma Member

Applied- Sent Money Card arrived 4 weeks later. 10 Months later I received the - will continue as secured. Another 10 months pass and was told will continue to be secured. Paid off every month. Tried holding small balances and paying off. No Budge, Credit Score was mid 700s after 2 years. I finally decided to close it, was told account will take 21 days to fully close then a check will be mailed 4-6 weeks out then expect check another 2-4 weeks after So roughly 3-4 months. Your money doesn't gain interest while they hold it either, no rewards, no cashback. Its not worth it period.

Helpful10
Not Helpful3
Comment0
Flag

Sep 23, 2022
Good at first
Credit Karma Member

Card was good at first. Easy to make payment. But will puts holds on card for all kinds of reasons. Like for making to many payments in a month. Never gave you a increase line of credit. Hold time on calls to customer’s service are a hour hold most of the time. And then Can’t help you till you get to a manager. Then they closed my account and will not. (Will not gave me a reason over the phone). And hung up on me. Do not recommend this card.

Helpful18
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Sep 22, 2022
Company not worth my time.
Credit Karma Member

I applied to Citi bank TWICE and was turned down twice despite saying I was pre-denied with GOOD credit. The rejected me twice, they do NOT get my business.

Helpful3
Not Helpful0
Comment0
Flag

Aug 27, 2022
Skeptical
Credit Karma Member

I applied for this card told me it would not affect my credit but low and behold it took points off my score thanks credit Karma I'm trying to rebuild not have it taken away but besides that I got approved but the only thing is it's been like a week and they have yet to email or call me said it would be mailed when they verify but I have yet to receive any information and they took almost a 100 dollars off the card next time I will leave well enough alone!

Helpful14
Not Helpful1
Comment1
Flag

Jul 27, 2022
WORST Card EVER
Credit Karma Member

Horrible. I’ve been two years with the card. And every time that they supposed to review my acct, they tell me that I need one more year to get me my deposit back. I opened DISCOVER SECURED CARD and at 6 months they already return me my deposit and increase my credit limit. Please DO NOT apply for this card. If you use $25 and pay in time they just add 1 point to you credit. And later, they apply-3 to you credit score just for using it. Bad bad bad

Helpful21
Not Helpful1
Comment0
Flag

May 27, 2022
It started out great ...
Credit Karma Member

I encountered an unexpected financial glitch that led to my payment to Citi being returned. Within 15 days they closed my account. I called customer service, and they said my card is ineligible to be reopened. I asked him to look at my otherwise excellent record, and he said that makes no difference. I asked to speak to a supervisor, but she hung up on me. Unreasonable response to a one time difficulty combined with surprisingly unprofessional customer service makes it so I can not recommend this bank.

Helpful30
Not Helpful3
Comment3
Flag

May 15, 2022
I love this card!
Credit Karma Member

This is the best secured credit card I have ever had. I applied for another one at the same time and I hate it. This card post’s you payments Immediately my other one it takes like a week and a half . So anybody looking for a secured credit card it should definitely apply for this one!

Helpful20
Not Helpful3
Comment1
Flag

1-10 of 618

See Approval Odds before you apply

We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:

Sign up
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations
Citi® Secured Mastercard®

Citi® Secured Mastercard®

Citi® Secured Mastercard®

Citi® Secured Mastercard®


These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.