Citi® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 13, 2018
Worth it!
anareyes89 Cardholder

Let me start out by saying that this card is definitely worth it! I was young and dumb and really damaged my credit, about a year ago is when I really began to start wanting to clean it up. I applied for the Capitol One secured card, got approved, but forgot to fund the deposit so when I applied for it a second time, I was denied. Credit Karma suggested the Citi Secured card and I figured it wouldn't hurt to try. I got approved and have been using my card for about a month. I use it for gas and small food purchases. In that month my score shot up 58 points! It was a great feeling. If you're like me and read reviews, take my advice, get the card, its worth it!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 18, 2018
Long wait times
EMTGuy777 Cardholder

I applied for this card on 4/22/2018 and it took until 6/17/2018 to be approved. In that time period I applied for a card with Discover and was approved in ten minutes over the phone. There was no change to my credit in that time period to affect either decision. Once I started to use my Discover card I realized that it was literally better than the Citi card in every way. I called to cancel my Citi card and was told they would mail their credit approval department (they couldn't even call their own employees). After my experiences with Citi and their customer service I recommend that you only apply for this card if you have no other option. The card has no benefits, they take forever, and there are much better options out there with either Discover or Capital One. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2018
Good Card to Rebuild
jjrock0011 Cardholder

Had the card for About a month still has yet to report to the credit bureaus they hold your first payment for 2 weeks because of a lengthy verification process. Good card no annual fee. Long application process will update when they report to the credit bureaus

more ...
Dec 05, 2018
Jazzieeb Cardholder

My score has increased over 75 points within 2 months. I keep utilization low and I make my payments on time. Which is key!!!!! However, always remember to keep your utilization low 30% or less in order to see your credit score increase also pay your bill in full. If your card has $200 limit it’s good to use the maximum of $60 but granted that’s high so $28 or less would be great. Because it’s showing the creditors you’re responsible with credit. Showing zero utilization is not good to me Bc it’s basically saying your not showing any activity on your card. Which will not increase your score tremendously. You always want to show some activities and make payments in full by due date. Credit card can be tricky you have to find out your important dates such when your bill is due, when they report to credit bureaus and etc. this particular card is very easy to make payments. Then payments instantly reflects on your account. Which is great. I hope this information was helpful. Good luck. Let’s keep rebuilding and those scores on a rise! 

more ...
Nov 30, 2018
Great card for rebuilding credit.
Iepho Cardholder

It does take a few weeks to get the card after approval. They have a great app for your phone. Make payments from your phone and see all your transactions. My score went up 64 points on Trans & like 24 points on the other just on approval. I have used the card with no issues so far.

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Didn't help...
Kimboslicex3 Cardholder

Was super excited after reading reviews to see a decent increase in my score after being approved. Waited and waited and no increase...made my first payment...my score went up a whopping 1 point! Sad after I made the $200 down payment on it. Hopefully the following months will show some increase?

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Long Application Process
Karma0821 Cardholder

Took over a month to be approved and have card in hand .

more ...
Nov 25, 2018
Excitosaxoxo Cardholder

It doesn't help you at all improve your credit history capital one does and they protect the merchant I have a nasty dispute with a seller and they won't give me a refund because the merchant isn't communicating with me. How's that I don't get it but I'll keep fighting it.
I'm thinking of closing it.
It's not helping me at all.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

Report them to consumer financial protection Bureau, they protect consumers from credit card issues like refunds, unfair treatment, credit, etc.

 
Nov 24, 2018
Its very helpful when used right.
Gap1973 Cardholder

Payments might be slow but they are trustworthy so far.

more ...
Nov 24, 2018
QuxRio Cardholder

Prepare to wait two months. Customer service sucks. Call center outsources to non-American company. Very little gain in credit score. No flexibility w/payment dates. Discover is better.

more ...
Nov 18, 2018
Citibank will ruin you.
Rustykraqer Cardholder

They will take away your available balance with no warning at all. And for little to no reason. To the point of you maxing out your card. Or being over the limit! These guys hurt us bad by doing this. With never missing a payment and more then the minimum payment for years! With ascore of 750... Shame on this company. Read the reviews on consumer affairs! Or the BBB,, the only good reviews they have are herefor some reason. 

more ...
Nov 18, 2018

What are you talking about dummy? What the hell is ab avalible balance? How can a balance be avalible? You mean availble credit limit?? And of course they take your limit if your credit drop silly what else u expect. Plus this is a secured card they will never take away from you if you put a deposit. Only if your deposit is lower. Read the disclosure. It reads, we do soft checks on your credit at randomn and if your credit score goes down alot they can lower your availble limit. Yahl kill me with your reviews. This ain't a Citi problem, this is a you problem. Your credit dropped so did your limit. All credit card companies do that it ain't just citi goofy

 
Dec 07, 2018

@Rustykraqer your review is a little difficult to follow, but it sounds like you're saying you have a credit score of 750. If that's true , you really are a dummy for even screwing around with a citi secured card. Stop whining and get a real credit card

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi® Secured Mastercard®