See card detail
See card detail
Min. deposit

$200 Refundable


Regular purchase APR

22.49% Variable


Annual fee

$0



Overall card rating

2.6
580 Reviews
from Credit Karma members in the last year

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 06 2017
My step-by-step process.
Credit Karma Member

As 2017 started, my credit score was 490. I know...it's a disaster! I ruined my credit at age 18-20. Now I am 25 and I decide to rebuild my credit back up and fix this mess. I currently have about 3 open collections and 7 hard inquiries. I'll work on removing them eventually.?In the mean time, I checked the approval odds of Citi Secured MasterCard and CK deemed it "FAIR". I took a chance. On Jan. 17, I applied online through their website. I set up a $200 deposit from my Wells Fargo checking account for them to withdraw. At the end the system stated that my application needed further review. They'll let me know the result within 1 week. I'm already thinking to myself...ahh that probably means I didn't get approved.? On Jan. 19, Citi withdrew $200 from my Wells Fargo checking account and the status of my application was still pending. I'm getting anxious. On Jan. 24, I received a surprising email stating that I've been approved and my credit limit is $200! YES, they gave me a chance! But my credit score dropped to 459. I think that's how the system calculates the score when you open a new line of credit. On Feb. 3, I received my new Citi Secured Mastercard! It took about 8 business days for me to receive it here in California. I activated it right away and stuffed it in my wallet.? Now from experience, I've learned to control my spending and limit myself from utilizing too much credit from this card. I read on CK forums to keep your utilization below 30%. Which means I must not spend over $60 out of my $200 credit limit. So all I did was I allow Apple Music ($14.99/month) to automatically charge my Citi card every month.? Feb. 6, Apple deducted $14.99 from my card. In the next few days a balance of $14.99 appeared on my online account. I paid it off immediately using my checking account. Feb. 13, my score shot up to 518. Nothing massive, but it was a huge step into building up my credit again. I repeated the same step this month for March. March 6, My credit score shot up to a whopping 563. My credit utilization is 9% and my payments are 100% on time. 2 of my 7 inquiries dropped this month as well.? SO FAR SO GOOD. I am very satisfied with this card. I will come back within 6-12 months and give it a second review to see how my progress is! Thank you Citi for taking a chance on a peasant like me. LOL!?


Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08 2019
Avoid this card unless you're desperate.
Credit Karma Member

If you want an awesome secured cc, then go with Discover. I opened the Citi card in the summer of 2017 with a $600 deposit. I've never missed a payment, use this card frequently, many times I'd pay the balance in full with $500 payments, and 18 months later I got a letter from Citi saying they need to hold my security deposit for another year. On the other hand, I opened Discover's secured "it" card with only $200. 8 months later, I graduated and they gave me a credit line in the thousands.


Additional ratings


All Reviews

183
72
56
46
223
  • Highest rated
  • Most helpful
  • Least helpful
  • Newest
  • Oldest

Mar 24 2020
CREDIT UP FOR 7 POINTS
Credit Karma Member

My credit went up only by 7 points when I oppened this account, It was supossed to rise my score a little more


Mar 23 2020
Credit Karma Member

Was great to increase my credit,? do not use over 30% of your credit limit,? make payments few days early,?


Mar 21 2020
Dropped My Equifax 114 Points?SMH!
Credit Karma Member

What kinda demonic card is this? So, I applied, and was approved for this Citi Secured Card! I haven't even physically received my card yet, BUT, my account was opened, and showed up on my Equifax as a 114 point drop in my score, according to Credit Karma! Isn't this card SUPPOSED to raise my score? I don't know if I want to keep this card, when I get it?SMH!


Mar 21 2020
Use something else.
Credit Karma Member

I did a secured deposit in 2018 for $200. Since then I've oppened a couple other cards and have paid everything off 100% each month with no late payments. About 15 months after having this card they mailed me a letter saying they needed to hold my deposit for another year. Now this is a trick because if you close your account and try to get your money back your credit score will dip. Keeping the card open will mean thet hold your deposit forever.?


Mar 19 2020
You will never get a credit increase
Credit Karma Member

Had this card for 2 years never missed one payment and they won't give a credit increase. Oh well that's what you get with ****y bank.


Mar 18 2020
Horrible
Credit Karma Member

Got approved for this card on feb 14th 2020 it's now March 18th havent recieved the card cant get in touch with anyone and on top of that my credit went down 90 points. Its says it went down 90 points cuz I opened a new card wth I opened the card to build my credit not lower it by 90 **** points


Mar 18 2020
Fraud
Credit Karma Member

I send 200 and I never received a card or Citibank dont have any knowledge of my card as well. There for i warn anyone be careful. Spam spam spam! ????


Mar 17 2020
HORRIBLE Customer Service
Credit Karma Member

Stay awayfrom this card. ?This in not a great product offered by Citibank. ?Borderline preditory repayment practices.?


Mar 17 2020
Great for rebuilding
Credit Karma Member

Just made my first payment a few days ago, and my score went up 31 points! I'm really happy so far.?


Mar 15 2020
Credit Karma Member

Credit karma said my approval odds was good, but after I Applied I got? denied for credit! Even after I had The security deposit required!! I believe credit karma is paid to sponsor this card an other, don't fall for credit approval! They are being paid to Sponsor or promote certain cards

1-10 of 580
See card detail
See card detail
Min. deposit

$200 Refundable


Regular purchase APR

22.49% Variable


Annual fee

$0




See Approval Odds and pre-approved offers before you apply
Sign up
We’ll estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. Join today — it’s free! You’ll also get:
  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.