OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
208 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.89%* Variable

Our Take

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card is a good choice for people who are looking to build their credit without paying too much in fees.

What to Like

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card reports regularly to all 3 major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit. The $35 annual fee is relatively low for a card aimed at people with limited credit history, and there are no other processing, servicing or application fees. There’s no credit check for applicants, and the 17.89% APR is competitive for a card made for low score users.

Look Out For

There’s a slightly higher penalty APR for cardholders who have missed a payment. This is also a secured credit card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to your credit line in order to get access to credit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 23, 2017
If you have no other options!
Krenisky65 Cardholder

I've had this car for over a year now with ZERO issues. This is a great card for people who have BAD credit. My credit score was 473 now it's 574 fico not ck. Ck says I'm 640ish. Before getting this card I tried every single other credit card and got declined. The reason being whenever I was 18 I ran up about 8k worth of credit card debt and let it go and actually got sued. So I've been in the process of rebuilding. Anyways this is a card you only load 200 dollars onto and only use it to pay netflix or something small every month and pay Balance off in full every statement and forget about it. This isn't a daily use credit card. If you can't afford to basically put 200 dollars onto it and forget about it... Than this card IS NOT for you. If you follow the few simple rules than it'll be your best friend and rebuild your credit as intended! I now have 3 credit cards and approved for an auto loan with capital one! Open sky is my only secured credit card and I don't plan to close it until I have enough positive credit to out weigh closing it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2016
I wish someone had told me...
elbrant Cardholder

I've had this card a little over a year now. I try to remind myself that it is only a tool in my toolbox. And bearing that in mind, they are very good at reporting your balance and payment data every month. But here are a couple of things that you may benefit from knowing:

1. They report your balance/data near the end of the month (the 28th or so). That's when they do mine. Ask them when they do yours. Make your payment so that it processes through before your reporting date, then don't add anything else to the account until after the reporting date. Your balance will be lower, and your utilization percentage will be it's most favorable, at that time than any other time during your billing cycle. Make sense?

2. The only way to get your secured deposit back is to close the card.

3. The only way to get a credit increase is to deposit more money into your account.

4. If you get frustrated and close your account, it's going to affect your CR in a negative way. Primarily because you have reduced your overall creditworthiness (one less open account). I have one, my son has one. I think once I've accumulated a few other accounts for 2+ years, my CR will be strong enough to take the ding from closing the account.

So, that's what I've learned first hand from having this card. And what I wish someone would have passed on to me. It's a good "last resort" to have in your toolbox, just remember it is a tool and the goal is to get better cards down the line.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 18, 2017
Cool
Anonymous Cardholder

Good

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Straightforward secured credit card
sdeforest5635 Cardholder

The Opensky secured card really helped me get on the right track with my credit. With a credit score in the 400s, getting a secured card was my own only option. Once I chose Opensky, the application process was easy and I received my card right away.
I put $200 down for a credit limit, and haven't had any problems since. If you use the card for what it's meant, building credit, you shouldn't have any problems. Just use it for one or two small purchases each month, and don't let the balance roll over so you won't have to pay interest.
Within three months, my credit improved enough to get approved for a traditional Capital One. In under a year, my credit has up over 100 points.
I definitely recommend for anyone needing a way to get on the right track!

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Good card to improve credit score
Anonymous Cardholder

100% approval

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Fantastic second chance
MsSilvera Cardholder

This card allowed me to really put into practice all of the lessons I've learned from having really bad credit. Once I had a descent enough score to get the Open Sky I made my monthly payments on time and they did the rest by reporting to the credit bureaus. Helping to boost my score up!!

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Great to rebuild credit!
linda02camaro Cardholder

I went through a divorce and wanted something to help rebuild my credit. This card does this!!!

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Learn the rules of use and it's good car
Anonymous Cardholder

Read the fine print

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Awesome
Anonymous Cardholder

Great card easy to use and great rates. Definitely helping me rebuild my credit

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

It a good card help you to reinstate your credit  the vest

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
The Best
Anonymous Cardholder

This card helped me rebuild my credit! 

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Solution to your problem!!!

I have taken the time to read many of the reviews on this card, both good and bad. I must say I am confused as to how some people have experienced the problems they had; like not getting card, can't log into their website, not reporting to bureaus, etc. I obviously got approved as everyone will. I put a deposit of $200. Received my card in approximately 10 business days. Paid my bill immediately after activating the card ($35 activation fee) on their website with my back account and it posted in a timely matter. My TU went up 83 points, and my EQ went up 24 and this was before I even received and activated my card. So far my experience with this card has been great. I obviously applied for this card due to poor/no credit as I'm sure you're in the same boat so I'd highly recommend you to do the same. So far I'm hopeful that this card will repair my credit and allow me to get approved for unsecured cars within a few months as others have stated. Hope this info helps and happy building!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card