OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
199 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.39%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 06, 2018
Gets the job done
Walkere7 Cardholder

It’s not a scam, but I was leery too. I got the card for my daughters 18th birthday. It’s been 4.5 months and she now has a 680 credit score. All the negative reviews are from people who are irresponsible and don’t read. The only negative thing I have to say is that when you make a payment, the available balance and payments received don’t update for a few days. Make sure you read through all the functions under your online account. Turn off paper statements so you don’t get billed for one. Use the card sparingly and set up automatic bill payments. Have a checking account so you can pay your bill. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 01, 2018
Starter Card
MinorSetback Cardholder

I originally applied for a Citi Bank Secured card and was declined, so I had to dramatically lower my expectations and applied for this one. At the time I had about a 560ish Fico score across the board with lots of things in collections. I've had the card for almost a year now, pay my bills on time every time, and they report it to all the credit agencies every month, albeit a month behind. Yes there is a 10 Day wait before the credit line becomes available to you, but I think that is because they're are waiting to see if the payment which has to be made with a bank account returns. Fair enough in my opinion for this kind of card. My credit score has raised considerably since I applied for this card and am now able to get unsecured credit cards. Once I hit my credit score goal I plan on dumping them but for now they do nothing but help. I think if you have bad credit like me and pay your bill on time, this card is a great starter for people starting over.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2018
Its just okay
RealStruggle Cardholder

Making payments is pretty bad. I made a payment on my capital one card and this card 11/30/18, both were taken out of my account 12/3/18, and only capital one updated available balance. Still waiting for this card

more ...
Dec 06, 2018

I paid mine in full on 11/30/18 and it was takin out of my account on 11/30/18 and still today it haven’t updated available credit

 
Dec 11, 2018

It takes 5 days to process and updates on the 6th day... a real drag but once you get adjusted to that you will budget better

 
Dec 02, 2018
Great for rebuilding
Bossdizzle Cardholder

Credit score was 404 two months ago kept my credit usage under 30 percent now my score is 524 thanks open sky

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 10, 2018

How long did it take for your card to come

 
Nov 30, 2018
Best card for broken credit . No credit
Harryrocha Cardholder

So far had no problems with service

more ...
Nov 06, 2018
Quick credit rebuild
Jay719San Cardholder

To keep it short and sweet, ive used 70% of my credit line and pay 30% back per month and in 3 months I've gone up 80 points with ease. They have an application that is easy to use on Android, and with the help of Credot Karma tips, I'm on my way back to solid credit after having it destroyed by my ex.

more ...
Nov 04, 2018
Does exactly what it’s supposed to do.
alfanator94 Cardholder

I started of with a score of 550 and have used it for about a month and a half, and made payments on time. My deposit was $250. One month later after using and making payments, my score went up to 625! Love this card and the fact that they don’t check credit score for approval. Recommend!

more ...
Nov 03, 2018
Bad!

I would not recommend this card to my own worst enemy. They take forever to post and update your balance. I have had this card for over a year and it’s terrible. It could take 2-3 days for your money to be taken from your bank. Once they take out your money it will take anywhere from 5-10 days it to post on your balance.

more ...
Oct 24, 2018
Horrible
Ollman Cardholder

Don't ever try to quit working with this company. They're rude, they hold on to your deposit for months. This company did nothing that they were supposed to do for me.

more ...
Oct 20, 2018
So Far, So Good!
Tanda6969 Cardholder

I applied, got approved and received the card in about ten days. As soon as I got the card, I created an online account on their website, then I made a payment and everything went as expected. Yes, it took 5 days for the payment to be credited to my account but that's fine. I applied for a Primor secured CC the same day as OpenSky. Since receiving both cards, both have been reported to the Credit Bureaus and my Experian score has improved by 30 points. I didn't get either card to use for shopping or anything else. They're strickly for having positive entries on my credit report and raising my score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 09, 2018

Hi which card took the quickest to raise your score? Thanks.

 
Oct 18, 2018
I Love You OpenSky
Tony053 Cardholder

This Card is amazing, all the bad reviews about this Card is A Lie, the application is very easy and fast, they approved me within a week even though I have the worst possible score ever. I got the Card by mail after I got approved within 5 days. Their app is so easy and simple to use, I linked my bank account with OpenSky and I just pay with a push of a button and it takes 2 days for OpenSky to take the money from my account .They report every month to all 3 creditors. I was so scared when I read the reviews about this Card before I applied but it trun out its Lie reviews. This Card gave me hope again to build up my life and start working on my score. I love my OpenSky Card, and Thank you so much for approving me.

more ...
Oct 17, 2018
Great card for building your credit!
Byou2 Cardholder

Great card for building or rebuilding your credit. Has an app that makes things simple to pay Bill's and check your balance. My score shot up 100 points in just 3 months of paying on time.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 25, 2018

Really? 100 points??

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card