OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
187 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.64%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 06, 2018
Gets the job done
Walkere7 Cardholder

It’s not a scam, but I was leery too. I got the card for my daughters 18th birthday. It’s been 4.5 months and she now has a 680 credit score. All the negative reviews are from people who are irresponsible and don’t read. The only negative thing I have to say is that when you make a payment, the available balance and payments received don’t update for a few days. Make sure you read through all the functions under your online account. Turn off paper statements so you don’t get billed for one. Use the card sparingly and set up automatic bill payments. Have a checking account so you can pay your bill. Hope this helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 20, 2018
It helped me.
Alivegas718 Cardholder

You have to put your money in, but it will help you gain the trust of creditors in the future once they see you can be responsible again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 25, 2019
Reliable
MarlonLouis Cardholder

Actually works! My credit score boosted 30-50 points in 1 month. Needed a better score for better living.

more ...
Apr 18, 2019
TERRIBLE
SharingNY Cardholder

Making the decision to get the card was a terrible experience. On top of the customer service being horrendous, this expeience has been a complete nightmare. Thic company reported that my card as closed even though the card was open and active. Subsequently my score DROPPED to more than 40 points. The impact was very harsh. I called the customer service to get it resolved and they gave me a fax number to submit my documents. Neeedless to say this issue was never taken care of, I called no less than 4 times to tell them I wanted to go green. I did not want to receive physical mail. I also went online an opted out. It has been a year and they still bombard me with hard copies een though I have never been late with not one single payment and I always pay in full. I really do want to close it, but I am afraid it will affect my score. TERRIBLE CARD. DON'T DO IT. There are a million other card companies out there that are better. Just Google. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2019
A big help to the credit rating

When I first applied for this card I put in a deposit to match the amount of the credit line I wanted. This secured card has definitely helped my credit score. With all the other things that I have paid off on my own credit report with this card it has increased my credit score by 220 points. So its a vast improvement and I know it will continue to help. 

more ...
Apr 15, 2019
stewbn Cardholder

I wish I could give this card zero stars. Application was a breeze of course I mean this is a secured card to build your credit. However, when they sent an email needing more information I was unable to log back in to give the info. I am unsure of what really happened but there is no contact information via phone for them. Like am I really in 2019 going to write you a letter to ask you why you immediately withdrew $200 from my account but now I am unable to provide you with the additional info you need due a website issue? So now I am sitting here filing a fraud claim with my bank because my money was taken out and I am unable to log back on to the site. Wow. How is your customer service... you have NO customer service. 

more ...
Apr 17, 2019

The day I got my card I called cs and after getting through the automated choices waited about 5 minutes and spoke to a really nice, helpful American lady!

 
Apr 18, 2019

They do have a phone number, that happened to me and the representative told me that there was a mistake on my application, they made a refund, when I re-apply I was accepted in seconds.

 
Apr 12, 2019
A great card for rebuilding credit
Harry7900 Cardholder

Whether your are starting out in life or, like me (rebuilding credit after bankruptcy) this card is actually pretty good. I sent a deposit and received a credit limit equal to my deposit. About six months in they increased my limit without an additional deposit. Using this card for daily needs (gas, groceries) and paying it in full every month increased my credit score substantially. When I got my score back to “prime” borrower status, I closed this card and got my security deposit back in about three weeks. The credit limit on the card was so low that closing it didn’t affect my credit score. This card does exactly what it’s intended to do - it helps you help yourself to a better credit score. I recommend it to anyone who needs help boosting their score.

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Kyle23d Cardholder

It is worth it. I had bad credit and couldn't even get a credit card. I saved 200 dollars so I could sign up for this one and less than a year later I have a 630 credit score and climbing! Also I get offers from other credit card companies ALL THE TIME now. I have one other credit card that I signed up for that I didn't have to front the money on! :) Thanks OpenSky for giving me the opportunity to build my credit up. GREAT STARTER CARD!

more ...
Apr 09, 2019
Great first step
Byou2 Cardholder

This card has been great for rebuilding my credit! Install the app and pay you bill before it is due and your credit will definitely improve. My credit score has went up around 160 points in the last year. The app makes it easy to keep track of your available credit and really easy to make your payments.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 24, 2019

Thank you, for your honesty. God bless..

 
Apr 08, 2019
No more than 3 stars
CMoney2k Cardholder

I ve just recieved my card as of 3/6 and it doesnt work with Apple Pay. That is hugely disappointing. Fortunately I recieved my capital One card the same day and it supports Apple Pay. Additionally, I tried to use this card multiple times and it failed. Probably going to close the account. Im debating right now.

more ...
Apr 10, 2019

Capital one sucks ! I had a $300 limit, never went over and I paid it off but then the bills kept coming. Went to court! Proved 3xs my case and judge kept letting the come after me. 4 time they got me cause I forgot one piece of paper. Lost $2700 over a $300 limit. NEVER get Capital one!!! NEVER !

 
Apr 10, 2019

Sorry but the Capital One card is better IMO. Its easier to use and pay off. Their payments go through within a day or two and they let you use ApplePay and it plays well with money monitoring apps.

 
Apr 19, 2019

The open sky app makes paying your bill so easy and you can set auto pay in the amount of your choice!

 
Apr 04, 2019
It's a great help for my credit score.
Sansplan Cardholder

Its secured and you deposit your limit. That helps you watch your spending.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card