OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
225 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.14%* Variable

Our Take

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card is a good choice for people who are looking to build their credit without paying too much in fees.

What to Like

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card reports regularly to all 3 major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit. The $35 annual fee is relatively low for a card aimed at people with limited credit history, and there are no other processing, servicing or application fees. There’s no credit check for applicants, and the 18.14% APR is competitive for a card made for low score users.

Look Out For

There’s a slightly higher penalty APR for cardholders who have missed a payment. This is also a secured credit card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to your credit line in order to get access to credit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 01, 2016
This card is strictly for rebuilding credit
vas22 Cardholder

The application and approval process was very simple and fast and was approved in seconds. Best way to get card fast is if you have bank account and you pay your deposit through your account. I received my card in 7 days and when you receive it and open up your online account your 35 yearly fee is already deducted from your card balance. Pay it immediately! Its the price to pay to get back in and play. It takes a while for your payment to clear and get your balance back and also the website is very elementary. Your score will go up but my rule of thumb is to not use anymore than 20% on card and pay it immediately. This is NOT a card for pleasure or for benefits and the card in reality sucks but im not in this for fun...purely business. My goal is to recover my credit post bankruptcy and this card is the tool I am afforded to accomplish that and only option I had. If you have horrible credit and just want to build a new foundation for yourself this card is for you. If you have options with credit cards than this is not the card for you. If you pay your balance off immediately after using it than you should be clear of any interest. Use this card wisely and remember your goal! Hope thus helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 27, 2013
PROCEED WITH CAUTION
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes, it's great to be able to get a secured card and rebuld your credit.  Yes, the card application process went smoothly. Just be aware that it takes 6-8 biz days for your payments to be applied to your account and available for your use. This is not disclosed in the card agreement, nor is it stated when you make your payment online.

When you make your payment online the site says it will be credited to your account within 2 business days. Turns out that AFTER THAT the bank puts a 5 day hold on it, which is why you are looking at a 6-8 business day delay.. If you call the card customer service dept. they tell you this has nothing to do with the card but is a policy of the banK and therefore there is nothing they can do about it. 

Now in the big scheme of things this isn't horrible. But I was counting on using this card tomorrow (the 5th biz day after making my payment) for a car rental and now have to figure out an alternative. I spoke with 2 customer service reps about the lack of disclosure on this, and their attitude basically was: too bad. They weren't very nice about it, which tells me they probably get this complaint a lot.

When you make a payment, you lose the use of that money for up to 8 business days every month while the bank uses it for free.This is the real reason this secured credit card is offered.

I might have been OK with the policy if I had known about it - which is why I am posting this review so others will not be caught by surprise.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 28, 2017
Perfect for rebuilding credit.
fixingmistakes Cardholder

This card is helping me rebuild my poor credit bit by bit. With my first payment my score jumped 24 points. Yes you have to put a minimum of $200 down to open it but there is no credit check to get started with means you'll be able to open one and start the process really easily. I also like that it reports to all three bureaus every month. The interest can be high but as long as you pay off what you owe on time you'll be fine.

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Great for building your credit!
bennac40 Cardholder

OpenSky was the 1st credir card I got approved for! This will always be something to remember.

more ...
Apr 23, 2017
Use It to Your Advantage
marsbars24 Cardholder

Okay so I see a lot of negative reviews that I think mostly stem from Open Sky not clearly communicating the process/when they report to bureaus etc. Here's the deal. If you want a boost in your score quickly, apply for the card around the 15th-20th of the month. Open Sky reports to the credit bureaus on the last business day of the month (then sometimes it takes a week or so after that for the bureau to reflect the change). It takes 3-4 days for your $200 (or whatever) deposit to go through, and for the card to be shipped, after approval. Your account isn't considered open until the date the card is shipped. The card comes with the $35 annual fee already tacked onto the balance and if you ordered your card mid-late in the month, that $35 won't be due until the end of the next month (but it will count towards utilization when reported to the bureus, which is a good thing, as long as you keep utilization under 30%. $35 out of $200 is 17.5%). Each month, your bill is due on the 28th. So to absolutely optimize the credit boost you can get from this card: order it around the 18th of the month. The card will probably ship out around the 22nd. Don't worry about paying the $35 fee the second you get the card - you can activate it with the $35 fee on there. Let the utilization work for you when they report to the bureus on the last business day of the month, then on like the 5th of the next month, pay the $35 off. Now, set up a monthly small charge, like Netflix or something, to come out mid month, and DONT use your card other than that monthly charge. When you get your bill in the beginning of the month each month, pay off the last month's balance in full. I've had the card for a couple months, and that's all I've learned from research/talking to their customer service. It's worked well for me so far!

more ...
Apr 25, 2017

This is so true.. If you use the card for its intended purpose. I paid the $35.00 activation fee in the new billing cycle, after the $35.00 was cleared I only charge $4.00 in groceries (bread/eggs/soda) and put the card away.

 
Apr 28, 2017

Can you explain to me what APR is? I've never had a credit card before and don't really want one, but am thinking of doing this just to build my credit score up. Thank you

 
Apr 23, 2017
Great for rebuilding your credit

It's a great card for rebuilding your credit and will report monthly to all the bureaus.  Had this card for over a year and a half and through responsible use and payments, I was approved for an unsecured card with cash rewards back.  within a year my score went up by over 100 points!!  Yes, it will never graduate to an unsecured card and yes, payments will not post to your account immediately initially but in time, usually 6-9 months, they will release the monies for you to use immediately. Just pay and use reponsibly.  

Had to call customer service once and the lady was very nice and helpful.  My issue was resolved within minutes plus she gave me some great tips and answered questions about the card

Thanks to Open Sky I am now able to use my rewards card and use this one for my monthly auto payment of $7 to keep my utilization around 30%.  Trust me, just be smart about using this card and you will reap the rewards in points and credit offers!

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Nope
Unmoved1 Cardholder

As stated by most reviewers, the cards application process is really easy and quick. After you've became a customer it's pretty much F u. They don't report every month as advertised, and calling in is a burden because the automated system gives you the run around before addressing what you really need. I'd suggest you to remember what numbers you press when calling in. I used the online bill pay option and the funds were never withdrew, but I did receive a receipt for the payment which resulted in a credit score drop of about 26 points. 

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Ridiculous
Anonymous Cardholder

PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS CARD!! Avoid if you can. 

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Scam?
Anonymous Cardholder

I paid a deposit, but did not receive a card.  The person I spoke to on the phone was not helpful, so I googled the company to find alternative contact methods.  Then I saw numerous complaints, and a C- score from the Better Business Bureau.  I will be contesting the deposit with my bank since I believe this card to be a scam.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
100 points from the first reporting
SrtTjm Cardholder

So I applied for this card and it took about 2 weeks or so to receive it.  So when they first reported it I had my limit of $300 with a $35 setup fee charged on it.  Well my transunion score was pretty poor compared to Experian and Equifax, but after they reported the card to transunion, my score went from 444 to 544, Equifax jumped up 12 points to 561 and my Experian jumped up 51 ponts to 590. So overall not bad for the first month and I already made the payment as it was due.  So far I am pleased with it.  Hopefully in a few months I can refinance my car loan and really save some money  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 21, 2017

I'm constantly checking my credit score to see if it rises like everyone says it will. Are you guys meaning it will rise after card activation because as we speak I ordered my card last week and got an email a few days ago saying my card was in the way and my score is still sitting at the same amounts it has been since I placed my order. If you could let me know if the score will jump after activation that would be great

 
Apr 18, 2017
Fraud!! IT Should Be Shut Down!!
Anonymous Cardholder

They Scam you left and right!! Very Shady business!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 20, 2017

What's the "scam"? How do you say that & not supply the details

 
Apr 18, 2017
Fast
Flewellingk2 Cardholder

I just got the card a will review when I have it longer but the application process was supper fast I got approved in seconds and got it in about 5-7 days. The only downside is the annual fee was taken out the minute I activate it I wish I would of been told in the letter or email , totally not a big deal but heads up would of been great. Great card so far!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card