Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
191 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.89%* Variable

Our Take

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card is a good choice for people who are looking to build their credit without paying too much in fees.

What to Like

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card reports regularly to all 3 major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit. The $35 annual fee is relatively low for a card aimed at people with limited credit history, and there are no other processing, servicing or application fees. There’s no credit check for applicants, and the 17.89% APR is competitive for a card made for low score users.

Look Out For

There’s a slightly higher penalty APR for cardholders who have missed a payment. This is also a secured credit card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to your credit line in order to get access to credit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 23, 2017
If you have no other options!
Krenisky65 Cardholder

I've had this car for over a year now with ZERO issues. This is a great card for people who have BAD credit. My credit score was 473 now it's 574 fico not ck. Ck says I'm 640ish. Before getting this card I tried every single other credit card and got declined. The reason being whenever I was 18 I ran up about 8k worth of credit card debt and let it go and actually got sued. So I've been in the process of rebuilding. Anyways this is a card you only load 200 dollars onto and only use it to pay netflix or something small every month and pay Balance off in full every statement and forget about it. This isn't a daily use credit card. If you can't afford to basically put 200 dollars onto it and forget about it... Than this card IS NOT for you. If you follow the few simple rules than it'll be your best friend and rebuild your credit as intended! I now have 3 credit cards and approved for an auto loan with capital one! Open sky is my only secured credit card and I don't plan to close it until I have enough positive credit to out weigh closing it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2016
I wish someone had told me...
elbrant Cardholder

I've had this card a little over a year now. I try to remind myself that it is only a tool in my toolbox. And bearing that in mind, they are very good at reporting your balance and payment data every month. But here are a couple of things that you may benefit from knowing:

1. They report your balance/data near the end of the month (the 28th or so). That's when they do mine. Ask them when they do yours. Make your payment so that it processes through before your reporting date, then don't add anything else to the account until after the reporting date. Your balance will be lower, and your utilization percentage will be it's most favorable, at that time than any other time during your billing cycle. Make sense?

2. The only way to get your secured deposit back is to close the card.

3. The only way to get a credit increase is to deposit more money into your account.

4. If you get frustrated and close your account, it's going to affect your CR in a negative way. Primarily because you have reduced your overall creditworthiness (one less open account). I have one, my son has one. I think once I've accumulated a few other accounts for 2+ years, my CR will be strong enough to take the ding from closing the account.

So, that's what I've learned first hand from having this card. And what I wish someone would have passed on to me. It's a good "last resort" to have in your toolbox, just remember it is a tool and the goal is to get better cards down the line.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 25, 2017
Stay Away...!
Zinnia55 Cardholder

They literally lie to you over the phone that payments were made, when you make one with a human over the phone, and lie about what your balance is.  Their online system is purposefully designed to mislead you, as in not showing pending transactions, and the phone system doesn't even know what month it is, which is why I called a human to verify....so much for that.    So, you are not aware of what's really going on with your account.  The lying is what really gets me. They want to steal as much money from you as possible with their fees, and purposely cause you to be late to charge you more fees. This company shouldn't be allowed to be in business.  Reporting them to BBB and Consumer Protection. 

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Bad online tools
Krylez Cardholder

The online tools for viewing transactions and payments are really bad. It's confusing and the sign in process feels like something from 15 years ago. Combining that with the yearly fee, I wouldn't recommend this card to anyone. Look to Citi, Capital One and Discover for better secured credit card options.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Doesn't report to credit bureaus
Anonymous Cardholder

I have had this catd since dec. Used it and made my on time pymnts. It not only has not reported pymnts to any of the credit bureaus but hasn't even reported that i have the card/account with them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 21, 2017

It took me 3 months then I finally caled and it started reporting a week later. Smh

 
Feb 18, 2017
Does what it should do
asylvon Cardholder

Yes. This helped me rebuild my credit, but when you make a payment, it takes about 10 days to become available credit. Thats messed up. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 21, 2017

That sounds about right.

 
Feb 14, 2017
The card that started it all.
iluvpitz Cardholder

Let's be honest, if you are considering this card there is a reason for it. You are likely not an ideal candidate for mainstream credit cards with no fees and little perks. Given that, you need to approach this card and its caveats with that in mind.
The application process was swift and painless. Income was asked but not required to be verified. The beautiful thing is that the hard credit inquiry doesn't hit, roughly -15 dip on all 3, until after I was approved. The fee was applied to card immediately, even before it was 'activated.' It took several weeks to receive my card. I knew when I signed up for this card that my credit limit will only increase if I increase my deposit. So be it. Given my situation 532TU and 538EF 585EX, (it hits and reports to all 3) I don't even intend to ask for CLI. The website is a bit archaic but again, all things in perspective. I've had to call customer service once regarding a suspected transaction over the Internet, and yes, they were difficult to understand. Yet quite accommodating. I STRONGLY recommend that you swipe this card in person vs use on the Internet, as it would appear that challenging a charge may have its aggravations. This card is a TOOL, to help you prove that you are RESPONSIBLE with credit. Purchases remain in 'pending' status for 3-5 days before you are able to pay them online. Once you pay your bill, it is drawn from your bank by the next day held in 'pending' status for another 3-5 days. If you cannot cope with this type of timeline you are likely to have a miserable experience. Life with this card is a marathon not a race. Just a stark reminder that this is a different kind of card. If you can plan, be patient, and exhibit self-control, you can use this tool to your benefit. In the 8 months that I've had this card, my credit scores have routinely improved. I was able to get approved for a couple different cards with better terms and perks. I've also cleaned up some mistakes and worked with 1 of my 2 derogatory marks to get things out of collection. All of those things helped. I'm now at EF TU and EX749! In my honest opinion, it all started with OpenSky.

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Good for building credit
Anonymous Cardholder

They do not report to Trans union . It says all three bureaus. 

more ...
Feb 11, 2017
Score Went Up

I Ordered The Card Online Paid With My Debit Card Every Other Bank Wanted My Acctount And Routing Number To Make Payment.

I Made The Mininum $200 Deposit. 

I Recieved The Card In About 10 Days And My Credit Score Went Up 60 Points

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
This card is good as a backup plan to im
Anonymous Cardholder

I have this card and a Capital One Secured card in my wallet currently.  My credit score is 489 to 516 when applied for both cards in early January 2017.  The main purpose of getting these cards was to improve overall credit score.  Secondly, I applied for Discover and Citi Secured cards and was disapproved for both.  When you have a hard inquiry your credit score drops about 5 points.  One of the benefits of the Open Sky Secured Visa is no credit check.  Like I mention previously I applied for Capital One, Discover, and Citi Secured cards prior to Open Sky Visa.  Capital One was the only card that gave me a chance. 

The Pros and Cons on this card from my short time/experience are.  No credit check and the low APR.  The cons are it takes 5 to 7 days to post your payment to your available credit balance.  Which hinders your usage or activity in my opinion.  Second con you can add an Authorize User to your account but it will not report on their credit report.  They will just be using the card with no benefit to them.

Capital One process your payments by midnight the day you pay and reflected in your available credit as well.  No 5 to 6 day waiting period for the available credit.  

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Could Be better
Anonymous Cardholder

this is a basic card. it came in a timly fashion. The website is terrible. Looks like it can easily be hacked. I hope I'm wrong. payments take five busines days or pay for quicker post. needs work. i just hope they report on time.

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Perfect starter card
hallows3 Cardholder

I'm starting from the bottom with a 472 FICO and 19 collections with no open accounts. I was denied the capital one secured due to not having any open accounts to show a good payment history. So I googled and found my FICO forum an awesome forum by the way and read all the reviews on this card. I finally applied for it and was approved of course they will approve anyone since they do not do a credit check. The card reports to all three credit bureaus and will give you the ability to get approved for the better cards in about 3 to 6 months of on time payments and keeping your utilization around 9 percent. I highly recommend this card and the Citi secured card. I was approved for it as well.

more ...
Feb 09, 2017

Were you approved for the Citi card with your score being 472?

 
Feb 15, 2017

I'm wondering , when you say 19 collections , do you mean you currently owe in total 19 credit obligations and still got approved for this card and citi or are your collections paid off before applying for this card and citi secured .

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card