Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
189 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.64%* Variable

Our Take

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card is a good choice for people who are looking to build their credit without paying too much in fees.

What to Like

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card reports regularly to all 3 major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit. The $35 annual fee is relatively low for a card aimed at people with limited credit history, and there are no other processing, servicing or application fees. There’s no credit check for applicants, and the 17.64% APR is competitive for a card made for low score users.

Look Out For

There’s a slightly higher penalty APR for cardholders who have missed a payment. This is also a secured credit card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to your credit line in order to get access to credit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 01, 2016
This card is strictly for rebuilding credit
vas22 Cardholder

The application and approval process was very simple and fast and was approved in seconds. Best way to get card fast is if you have bank account and you pay your deposit through your account. I received my card in 7 days and when you receive it and open up your online account your 35 yearly fee is already deducted from your card balance. Pay it immediately! Its the price to pay to get back in and play. It takes a while for your payment to clear and get your balance back and also the website is very elementary. Your score will go up but my rule of thumb is to not use anymore than 20% on card and pay it immediately. This is NOT a card for pleasure or for benefits and the card in reality sucks but im not in this for fun...purely business. My goal is to recover my credit post bankruptcy and this card is the tool I am afforded to accomplish that and only option I had. If you have horrible credit and just want to build a new foundation for yourself this card is for you. If you have options with credit cards than this is not the card for you. If you pay your balance off immediately after using it than you should be clear of any interest. Use this card wisely and remember your goal! Hope thus helps.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2016
I wish someone had told me...
elbrant Cardholder

I've had this card a little over a year now. I try to remind myself that it is only a tool in my toolbox. And bearing that in mind, they are very good at reporting your balance and payment data every month. But here are a couple of things that you may benefit from knowing:

1. They report your balance/data near the end of the month (the 28th or so). That's when they do mine. Ask them when they do yours. Make your payment so that it processes through before your reporting date, then don't add anything else to the account until after the reporting date. Your balance will be lower, and your utilization percentage will be it's most favorable, at that time than any other time during your billing cycle. Make sense?

2. The only way to get your secured deposit back is to close the card.

3. The only way to get a credit increase is to deposit more money into your account.

4. If you get frustrated and close your account, it's going to affect your CR in a negative way. Primarily because you have reduced your overall creditworthiness (one less open account). I have one, my son has one. I think once I've accumulated a few other accounts for 2+ years, my CR will be strong enough to take the ding from closing the account.

So, that's what I've learned first hand from having this card. And what I wish someone would have passed on to me. It's a good "last resort" to have in your toolbox, just remember it is a tool and the goal is to get better cards down the line.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2017
Worst Customer Service
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this card. Was told I would receive it in the mail but never did. But I have received 3 bills even after they admitted to me that the card was never even activated. That didn't stop them from billing me for monthly fees though! Worst scc ever!!!

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
This card is excellent
TerriPinchon7 Cardholder

It's the best card for rebuilding credit. I've only had this card a little over a month and my TU credit score went up 100pts. My equifax score went up 60pts. As soon as I got the card I made the $35 payment for the annual fee that's charged before the card is shipped. I've recommended this card to all of my family and friends.

more ...
Jan 15, 2017
Absolutely Amazing
TerriPinchon7 Cardholder

This card is excellent for rebuilding credit. My TU credit score went up 100pts the 1st month and my Equifax score went up 60pts the 1st month. I've recommended this card to my family and friends. Also there is no credit check to be approved for this card. Highly recommend it

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
so far so good
fingasdamingas Cardholder

I've had this card two month's and already seeing an improvement in my score

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Best thing I ever did for my credit..
Chadc321 Cardholder

Will truly raise score...Raised mine 140 pts

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

About how long did it take to show improvement in your score

 
Jan 03, 2017
Credit score went up
Anonymous Cardholder

Card came in the time it said it would. A few days after I paid the yearly fee $35 credit score went up 84 points ! Super happy and can't wait to see what happens in a few months. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 04, 2017

Hi what we're dates you applied and recieved the card and made the payment?

 
Jan 02, 2017
Ok card
CFM1990 Cardholder

I have this card since june (six months). It only turn my TransUnion score 30pnts up and never report to Equifax. I use it to gas, food, etc. and pay it right away. Customer service is "meh". I will cancel it tomorrow and apply for the Wells Fargo Secure Card because after 6 months that one turn into an unsecure card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

I have this card as well abd as soon as they chargede the yearly fee before I even paid it my equifax went up by 55 points and my transunion by 65. Maybe call customer support? They report to both equifax and transunion for me.

 
Dec 30, 2016
No inquiries
Louis2k9 Cardholder

No inquirie, but can't upgrade it to a non secured credit card after first the year! No app for android nor ios!

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
I got the card not sure what wpuld happe
Tinypr100 Cardholder

The application was easy to do. The deposit was taken as soon as you hit that submit button. I have not gotten my initial 30 points spike that most people have speak of in here as soon as you're approve. To be continue...

more ...
Jan 07, 2017

I was worried about that too but mine didn't change until they charged me my first annual fee. Just wait a bit.

 
Jan 11, 2017

What if you have a account on check systems. ?

 
Dec 28, 2016
HORRABLE
Stonedkilla Cardholder

DO NOT get this card the company is horrable. if you ever want your money back you will wait 3 months to get it. then they will keep charging you for statments on a closed acount. Getting any help from them is imposable they will transfer you around and around and you will get no where. all they say is im sorry ...im sorry .... im sorry..... they will do nothing to help you and treat you like scum.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card