OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
293 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.39%* Variable

Our Take

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card is a good choice for people who are looking to build their credit without paying too much in fees.

What to Like

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card reports regularly to all 3 major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit. The $35 annual fee is relatively low for a card aimed at people with limited credit history, and there are no other processing, servicing or application fees. There’s no credit check for applicants.

Look Out For

There’s a slightly higher penalty APR for cardholders who have missed a payment. This is also a secured credit card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to your credit line in order to get access to credit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 23, 2017
Use It to Your Advantage
marsbars24 Cardholder

Okay so I see a lot of negative reviews that I think mostly stem from Open Sky not clearly communicating the process/when they report to bureaus etc. Here's the deal. If you want a boost in your score quickly, apply for the card around the 15th-20th of the month. Open Sky reports to the credit bureaus on the last business day of the month (then sometimes it takes a week or so after that for the bureau to reflect the change). It takes 3-4 days for your $200 (or whatever) deposit to go through, and for the card to be shipped, after approval. Your account isn't considered open until the date the card is shipped. The card comes with the $35 annual fee already tacked onto the balance and if you ordered your card mid-late in the month, that $35 won't be due until the end of the next month (but it will count towards utilization when reported to the bureus, which is a good thing, as long as you keep utilization under 30%. $35 out of $200 is 17.5%). Each month, your bill is due on the 28th. So to absolutely optimize the credit boost you can get from this card: order it around the 18th of the month. The card will probably ship out around the 22nd. Don't worry about paying the $35 fee the second you get the card - you can activate it with the $35 fee on there. Let the utilization work for you when they report to the bureus on the last business day of the month, then on like the 5th of the next month, pay the $35 off. Now, set up a monthly small charge, like Netflix or something, to come out mid month, and DONT use your card other than that monthly charge. When you get your bill in the beginning of the month each month, pay off the last month's balance in full. I've had the card for a couple months, and that's all I've learned from research/talking to their customer service. It's worked well for me so far!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 23, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card will help with building/repairing your credit. The only negative thing I have to say about this card is that you can only make payments using your checking account with routing number. It takes two business days for the money to be withdrawn from your account and another two business days for the money to post to the card. So, for instance, if you want to make a payment on a Friday I suggest you set up the payment on Wednesday this way Friday's date will be the day it will be withdrawn.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Sep 24, 2017
Fantastic!
Hamilton0224 Cardholder

I got approved for this card with a 524 Equifax score at the end of August 2017. As of today, September 24, 2017 my score is now a 593. Thanks, OpenSky!!

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Hopeful!
jv243 Cardholder

I am very hopeful that this card can raise your score over the time you have this card.  I have only had this card for about 2 months but my credit

score has increased by 50 points in just only 2 months!  Although my credit score is still poor, I am grateful for the jump for my credit score.

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

These guys are crooks!!!

i can't get my $5K back. No one ever answers the number. The guys on the regular line all say they can't help return money, only the special desk phone number can. I totally regret doing any biz with these predatory critic card frauds. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 20, 2017

Get a lawyer I bet that will work. I had to get a lawyer because my bank at the time suntrust was holding on to over 5,000 of my money. I went back and forth with them and they kept giving me the run around for about 2 1/2 mths. I could never talk to whatever department they claimed to be in control of the situation. I got a lawyer paid about 200 something she wrote them a letter and I had proof of where they said the were going to send the money back but they never did. Well as soon as the letter was sent I got all my money back within 2 weeks.

 
Sep 14, 2017
Fraudulent company
Anonymous Cardholder

I had so many issues paying online that I had to close my account with open sky. And after instructing them to close my account they left a balance of $1.00 on my account to avoid sending my deposit back.Its been a total of 2 MONTHS and I still haven't received my deposit back 😔

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Bad fraudulent company
Anonymous Cardholder

I had so many issues paying online that I had to close my account.And after i instructed them that I wanted to pay my account in full and close the account they left a remaining balance of $1.00 to keep my account open and avoid giving me my deposit back..Its been a total of 2 MONTHS and I still haven't received my deposit back 😔

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
VERY POOR CREDIT CARD
Sadarr1985 Cardholder

  I Put Up $200.00  Of My Own Money, For This Card Which The Reviews Claim To Be The Best Secure Card,  Received My Card, And On The First Day Of Receiveing The Card, Opensky Took Out The Annual Fee.  I Payed The Annual Free, After Setting Up My Account,  And Payed Online With My Checking Account.   It Took 10 Days Just To Post It On My Account.

  It Is My Opinion Do Not Waste Your Time With This Card,  They Are Slow To Post Your Payments.  And With This Problem, Do Not Exspect To Use This Card Alot!  It Took 10 Days To Post My Payment, So That I Could Have A $200 Balance.

  I Got Discover It Secure Card,  And Discover Will Post, And Credit Your Payment Funds In Two To Three Days, If Not Quicker!  Five Stars For The Discover It Secured Card

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
This card will open doors...
krystalTX Cardholder

Got approved with 575 (June 5 2017), $200 deposit, paid my $35 fee the same day i got my card in the mail. They reported that payment 30 days later and only jumped up my credit 15 points the next month (july 5).  Its already Sept and I havent seen any of my on time payments under 25% credit usage. Ive only seen where it reports my monthy statment balance.THE GOOD THING ABOUT THIS CARD was that Sept 11th I applied for Credit One Bank and was instantly approved for $300! SO... ive only had Open Sky for 4 months and they helped me get a rewards cash back CC in a short time period. If your having trouble getting approved for a regular unsecured CC get OpenSky for a couple months and It will open doors for you down the road!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 13, 2017

Hey krystal, you should call OpenSky and let them know you have not been getting things reported and they will within 3-5 business days and FYI try keeping it under 9%-15% and your score will increase fast.

 
Sep 10, 2017
Ram in the bush
AnajahLutsal Cardholder

This card has been all benefits. The fact that this card does no credit check is awesome because now I have no inquiry on my credit reports, but I have all of the positive "on time" payment history which is awesome! Through owning this card I have learned so much. Having to pay the money up front for my credit limit makes a big difference in how I handle the card. I have nothing but good to say. I did have to go through some additional identity info, but I appreciate the company taking it so seriously. Thankful for Open Sky.

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
WACK AF !!
Paidpaid Cardholder

This is a Generic *** credit card !! Don't waste your time !! Get a Discover and a Capital One card !! There service is hit or miss, and they have the lamest log on system ! 

more ...
Sep 13, 2017

Something tells me if you thought you had a chance getting approved for a better card you wouldn't have applied for this BS POS card in the first place. And Discover isn't much better either.

 
Sep 14, 2017

Umm....I thought this card was a stepping stone for rebuilding your credit. So why would anyone go for a Capital One or a Discover card first before rebuilding their credit first to have a better chance at being approved for the better cards like Discover or Capital One on a latter time? It defeats the purpose.

 
Sep 08, 2017
Great for rebuilding credit
piriz81 Cardholder

I've had this card for only 5 months and they have given me an unsecured credit limit increase. Customer service is great. No complaints. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 13, 2017

"Will the secured credit card ever change to unsecured?
Your secured credit card continues to be a valuable option for people looking to build or rebuild their credit history. At this time, Capital Bank does not offer a traditional, unsecured credit card for consumers."

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card