Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 17.64%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 30, 2015
A Great Starter Card (no big purchases)
Wildflower111 Cardholder

ok so i had this card for about 8 months now, it really brought my credit score to the 800s. i finally decided to close the account because it was a secured card . i paid off my balance which was only $25 (i only used the card for gas) they told me i would have to wait 4-6 weeks for my deposit which was only $200. i received my check today 4 weeks later, it came right on time. Now the only reason i closed this account is because i open up a checking acct with Wells Fargo and i got a WF Credit Card in the mail?!? CL 1,500 i was like whoah they automatically ran my credit so i kept it . i had the card for 4 months (Still Rebuilding) ppl lol.  i felt a little happy with my deposit i got back from Open Sky so i applied for a Walmart CC (The stories ive heard about them) back in Nov 14' i got the 7-10 day messaged so i was a lil discourage so i took a chance. before i can lift my finger off the send button I saw a big congratulations!!! CL 1,200 i thought ill apply knowing Christmas is right around the corner. 

So the Moral of my story is that this card can help you less than a year as long as you do what u need to do. ok im done good luck folks.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 27, 2013
Anonymous Cardholder

Yes, it's great to be able to get a secured card and rebuld your credit.  Yes, the card application process went smoothly. Just be aware that it takes 6-8 biz days for your payments to be applied to your account and available for your use. This is not disclosed in the card agreement, nor is it stated when you make your payment online.

When you make your payment online the site says it will be credited to your account within 2 business days. Turns out that AFTER THAT the bank puts a 5 day hold on it, which is why you are looking at a 6-8 business day delay.. If you call the card customer service dept. they tell you this has nothing to do with the card but is a policy of the banK and therefore there is nothing they can do about it. 

Now in the big scheme of things this isn't horrible. But I was counting on using this card tomorrow (the 5th biz day after making my payment) for a car rental and now have to figure out an alternative. I spoke with 2 customer service reps about the lack of disclosure on this, and their attitude basically was: too bad. They weren't very nice about it, which tells me they probably get this complaint a lot.

When you make a payment, you lose the use of that money for up to 8 business days every month while the bank uses it for free.This is the real reason this secured credit card is offered.

I might have been OK with the policy if I had known about it - which is why I am posting this review so others will not be caught by surprise.

more ...

Reviews (360)

Add Review
Oct 20, 2016
Avidana1989 Cardholder

Their application process was soo smooth. Customer service was helpful and in full details about everything. I also received my CC in less then 5 business days. My current Credit Score is 587. I will update in 6 months.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Im confused

so do they charge you the deposit up front or do you pay after getting the card? I see they charge the 35 immediately prior to getting the card which scares me

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Beware of the Open Sky scams
Jim307 Cardholder

Had the Open Sky secured card for one year after a BK.  Then I got a bill for an "annual fee" ... for using my own f*cking money!  Canceled card and it took them 10 weeks to get my deposit back to me!  Also beware: wife closed her account too, but with a small balance: Big Mistake.  They close your online access but what they don't tell you is they won't take your balance out of your deposit - you have to CALL THEM FOR $10 fee to pay it in full FIRST before they start the lengthy 10 week process of giving you back your money.  She's still waiting for her refund!  There are many better secured cards out there that don't charge you an annual fee to use your own money.  Don't say you weren't warned.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for this car DESPITE some bad reviews on here. My friend recommended it, and said he rebuilt his credit with it. I had actually been denied for a BOA secured card, which I was suprised, and I avoid capital one after this created my credit problems in the first place. 

The application process was simple, and the card arrived quickly. My score has gone up about 100 pts, in 6 months, but please bear in mind I also have a 25 thousand dollar car loan I am also paying off. I would attribute atleast half of those points to the credit card, and it continues to go up each month.

The online portal is a little bit dated, but it works fine. The payments pages are a little confusing on there, but you can always call if you're having any issues, and they were friendly and helpful despite what some of the reviews said. Good customer service hours as well. 

Just make sure you use the card at the beginning of the month, use very little... havent gone over 30% of the total deposit amount... and pay it off immediately so you'll have ample time for the payment to process.

This is a card for rebuilding credit, it should not be used for any other purpose. If you're looking to buy stuff and pay it off, you will want a regular card. Don't even consider it for emergencies, keep a low balance and pay it off, otherwise, forget you have it. Keep it at home or give it to a friend to hold for you if you dont trust yourself to not use it responsibly.  Goodluck.

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
First time credit card holder
omgitsjazea Cardholder

Most of yalls reviews have helped me.. but I need more insight and advice. I just received my card and I already have a $35 fee to it. This is my first big "responsibility" and I just want my credit score to improve. Help?

more ...
Oct 14, 2016

It's the annual fee they charge to have the card. It's posted when you apply.

Oct 10, 2016
NotTOhappy12 Cardholder

I can said they did help my credit a lil but there was some fraud use on my card in a whole different city I've never been to and they said they won't take the most which is dumb cause I've had this card for almost a year and never used it out of my city only once and that was in Vegas for New Years and they don't call you to explain the process to dispute things I would go with a secured card that has more protection and a company that let you get more alerts  GO WITH LIKE CAPITAL ONE OR SOMEBODY THIS COMPANY FULL OF CRAP 

more ...
Oct 12, 2016


Oct 04, 2016
DeVMiN Cardholder

I just received my card paid the annual fee right back!!! And my score has already jumped 47 points!! Glad I got this card!!!

more ...
Oct 13, 2016

So if you are so approve why would they put your deposit back then send you a lettter telling you the approx date your card will arrive..

Oct 04, 2016
Good for rebuilding credit
Cristaterk Cardholder

Everything is very slow about this card. Slow to get, slow to activate, slow to process payments. Works very well at rebuilding credit. Reports to all 3 credit reports right away. Easy to use. Easy to make payment. easy to access info online. The only downfall is that it doesn't graduate to an unsecured card.

more ...
Oct 02, 2016
Axysdnyd Cardholder

This is a good card for those who need to rebuild or establish credit like myself. I've had this card for over a year and have an $1800 credit line. I use it for car rentals as I'm a truck driver and don't see any point in buying a car when I'm hardly ever home. Great customer service, I can increase my credit limit whenever I want with additional deposit funding. I have nothing bad to say about them. Definitely recommend this card if you are looking to rebuild or establish credit. Just remember, don't abuse it!!

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card