OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.8 out of 5 stars
270 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.39%* Variable

Our Take

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card is a good choice for people who are looking to build their credit without paying too much in fees.

What to Like

The OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card reports regularly to all 3 major credit bureaus, making it useful for building credit. The $35 annual fee is relatively low for a card aimed at people with limited credit history, and there are no other processing, servicing or application fees. There’s no credit check for applicants.

Look Out For

There’s a slightly higher penalty APR for cardholders who have missed a payment. This is also a secured credit card, meaning you’ll have to put down a deposit equal to your credit line in order to get access to credit.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 23, 2017
Use It to Your Advantage
marsbars24 Cardholder

Okay so I see a lot of negative reviews that I think mostly stem from Open Sky not clearly communicating the process/when they report to bureaus etc. Here's the deal. If you want a boost in your score quickly, apply for the card around the 15th-20th of the month. Open Sky reports to the credit bureaus on the last business day of the month (then sometimes it takes a week or so after that for the bureau to reflect the change). It takes 3-4 days for your $200 (or whatever) deposit to go through, and for the card to be shipped, after approval. Your account isn't considered open until the date the card is shipped. The card comes with the $35 annual fee already tacked onto the balance and if you ordered your card mid-late in the month, that $35 won't be due until the end of the next month (but it will count towards utilization when reported to the bureus, which is a good thing, as long as you keep utilization under 30%. $35 out of $200 is 17.5%). Each month, your bill is due on the 28th. So to absolutely optimize the credit boost you can get from this card: order it around the 18th of the month. The card will probably ship out around the 22nd. Don't worry about paying the $35 fee the second you get the card - you can activate it with the $35 fee on there. Let the utilization work for you when they report to the bureus on the last business day of the month, then on like the 5th of the next month, pay the $35 off. Now, set up a monthly small charge, like Netflix or something, to come out mid month, and DONT use your card other than that monthly charge. When you get your bill in the beginning of the month each month, pay off the last month's balance in full. I've had the card for a couple months, and that's all I've learned from research/talking to their customer service. It's worked well for me so far!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2016
I wish someone had told me...
elbrant Cardholder

I've had this card a little over a year now. I try to remind myself that it is only a tool in my toolbox. And bearing that in mind, they are very good at reporting your balance and payment data every month. But here are a couple of things that you may benefit from knowing:

1. They report your balance/data near the end of the month (the 28th or so). That's when they do mine. Ask them when they do yours. Make your payment so that it processes through before your reporting date, then don't add anything else to the account until after the reporting date. Your balance will be lower, and your utilization percentage will be it's most favorable, at that time than any other time during your billing cycle. Make sense?

2. The only way to get your secured deposit back is to close the card.

3. The only way to get a credit increase is to deposit more money into your account.

4. If you get frustrated and close your account, it's going to affect your CR in a negative way. Primarily because you have reduced your overall creditworthiness (one less open account). I have one, my son has one. I think once I've accumulated a few other accounts for 2+ years, my CR will be strong enough to take the ding from closing the account.

So, that's what I've learned first hand from having this card. And what I wish someone would have passed on to me. It's a good "last resort" to have in your toolbox, just remember it is a tool and the goal is to get better cards down the line.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 24, 2017
CREDIT WENT UP A BIT
Illuminappy Cardholder

I applied for this card on June 28th with a 200$ security deposit and received it on July 7th. I checked my credit score on July 19th...not just through here but also through Experian and Transunion. Credit score went up 44 points! I will keep everyone posted in 6 months or less if I see a significant difference.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
Horrible card
Avictoria13 Cardholder

This card took over 2 weeks to get to me , payments take days to post , they hold your money 6months after you close the card . I emailed costumer service with a question and recived a response ......... 27 days later . What a joke !!! Go with capital one !!

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
Only good for rebuilding credit....
bigfootsrcool Cardholder

I got this card for the purpose of rebuilding my credit had it for 2 years, was working well then I moved had my mail forwarded to my new address, had a 0 balance on my account never received any mail or call from them, I check my credit report few months later had 3 late payments reported 30-60-90 days late, then the next month in good standing, so I called customer service they stated I didn't pay $27 annual fee so it counted as late payments then they closed account and kept my $300 deposit. I think that's pretty ridiculous seeing as I never had late payments, thank goodness I have a Capital One card it's much better in every way especially communication. If you do get this card watch your account like a hawk, when your credit score goes up and you qualify for unsecured card, close this one immediately hopefully you'll get your deposit back.

more ...
Jul 18, 2017

There payment process is horrible. Costermer service is not good. I tried to close a card and played off the entire balance and was told the card was closed and the secured amount would be mailed back in 180 days. Thought that was a long time to wait to get my own money back but said ok. 2 months later I got a notification that I was 2 months past due, the guy that took the final payment charged me 10.00 and never closed the account. So now there is a 2 month past due on my credit report. And the refund will take another 120 days. What a joke of a company. They also confirmed I would have to write the credit bureaus and dispute the late charges.

more ...
Jul 18, 2017
Difficult
Pmp142 Cardholder

It takes 6-8 business days for funds to post and be readily available to use 

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
This is the worst ****ing company ever.
Carlwillis30 Cardholder

Customer service is ****ing horrible, the agents are in educated, improperly trained, rude, and has a lack of knowledge. I pay on the 14th of every month but I have to wait **** near 2weekes for them to Apply it to my available credit. Run from this company. If you have heart problems don't deal with this company. This company has given me migraines. Been waiting on my deposit back since February and it's now July almost August and still no deposit.

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
Tshill75 Cardholder

They only held my payments the first 3 or 4 months. I've never been late had a returned payment or questioned what was a clear policy on holding payments. It's been I've a year and all of my payments post and are available the next day whether I mail or pay online... I think it's about building a relationship 

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
HORRIBLE
Anonymous Cardholder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD! The only reason I chose THIS card is becasue they tell you that you do not need a bank account. I tried to make a payment and now they tell me I need a bank account. Then when I asked to cancel the card because I DON'T have a bank account they tell tha tthe balence must be at 0. So instead of them keeping the money I already paid them they want me to pay them again only to refund me money which can take up to TWO MONTHS. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. No response when my card took two weeks to get to me after multiple attempts in reaching them either. SAVE YOURSELF A WASTE OF YOUR TIME AND MONEY.

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
Smooth sailing
MSHILL8899 Cardholder

I would highly recommend this credit card for anyone who wants to raise their credit score in less than one month. In less than 30 days I noticed that all 3 of my credit scores jumped 50+ points. Seems unrealistic. But I am just speaking from my personal experience. I only did a $200 credit limit. And I plan on only using this credit card once a month. My plan is to only spend $20 a month (for gas) using my CC, no more no less. It's good to keep CC utilization down by 10%. I wouldn't recommend someone using the whole balance. The application process was easy. Keep in mind you will have to provide documentation to prove who you are and place of residency. Which should be no problem. In the near future I plan to increase my limit another $150 at the most. Keep in mind that you should pay your CC before the due date. That is my opinion. It does take about 6-7 business days for the payment to "post" to your account and to see your available credit limit has in fact changed and the money has been put back. I know it can seem like a hassle. But in the end it's worth it. No this CC company does not upgrade you from a secured cc to unsecured. So I suggest applying with another credit card company after you've applied with open sky and have had your card for sometime. So far I don't have any complaints. They will take your deposit right away even before you submit your document ion of proof of who you are. So don't be too alarmed. It did take about almost two weeks for my card to come.

more ...
Jul 18, 2017

How long did you have to wait until you got your card?

 
Jul 18, 2017

It took about two weeks for my card to come.

 
Jul 26, 2017

Can I pay my bill with a debit card?

 
Jul 27, 2017

Yes you can pay your bill using a debit card.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card