OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.7 out of 5 stars
195 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 19.14%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 20, 2019
Thank you Open Sky
xtina14366 Cardholder

I dont understand why anyone would think of this card in a negative way. Chances are you're interested in this card because you either have poor or no credit. The deposit of $200 is a small price to pay to improve/build your credit. Applying for this card does not put an inquiry on your credit. What I did was save my deposit (and I mentally pretend that i'll never get that $$ back), I bill my Netflix to it every month and set up auto pay to pay the balance in full and then I sit back and just let time do its thing. It takes a few months for the card to start reporting- so be patient. Building/rebuilding credit takes time. And chances are if you're looking into getting this card, you've probably made some poor credit decisions in the past AND that's ok. However, there is no quick fix. This card has improved my credit scores by roughly 40 points in less than 4 months. I do not use this card for anything other than paying Netflix, so therefore I do not worry about how long it takes for my payment to post to the available balance. My goal is to show credit worthiness by making ontime payments. If you have challenges with maxing out credit cards then my advice is to avoid credit cards at all costs and as I said above, save the $ for the depost and pretend it never exsisted... do not rely on this card to get you through the month or to get you between paychecks... remember, utilization is key and you never want to carry significant balance and that is easy to do with a credit limit of only $200. For me, I see no negatives about this card. Open Sky CC does it exactly what it says it will. Think of your credit as a garden....plant the seed (get this credit card), water it (set up monthly autopay) and just sit back and watch your garden grow... it's really that simple!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 07, 2019
Good card but one huge down fall.
Chamberlain89 Cardholder

Had the card for a year and a half never missed a payment. I asked for a increase based on information on their site claiming it was possible to get an increase without an additional deposit and was informed they no longer do that.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2019
Not the card to get No increases without
32Wynd Cardholder

This card along with Milestone and Indigo are junk cards. I have had Open Sky for over 2 years with a perfect pay history and asked for a increase, it was granted IF I sent them a additional deposit. I did not even bother. Recently they just made my card go over the limit by just adding the yearly fee before I even realized it. I do not by any means recommend this card. People are thrilled because they got a card. Be smart get a Capital One secured, a Citibank secured . Cards that actually are rated low but give increases with good history  Reflux, First Credit, Avant, MIssion, Cortrust, and Credit One are great cards !!! KEEP AWAY   I have them all and all over a year

more ...
Nov 16, 2019
Icantfindaname Cardholder

After reading reviews of this card I was sceptical at first but after a couple of months of owning it I can say with out a doubt it was one of the best decisions I think I have done to start rebuilding my credit.

This card is for those who have less than perfect credit. High interest rate is to be expected. The annual fee is nothing compared to other credit cards that I have seen. Granted there are those cards without those annual fees but good luck being approved.

I put down the $200 deposit and if you want an increase you have to pay for. Again this card is for those with less then perfect credit. the only reason why I am giving it a four star is because payments do take a while to process and for it to show on your balance, also there really is not a number you can calling you have an issue you have to mail them a letter. But if you can afford the deposit go for it. 

more ...
Nov 14, 2019
dymetrice1 Cardholder

This is the card that brough my credit back to life. I was in the upper 400s and now im in the mid 600s after 2 years of having this card and then a second one. This is a great starter card or a card to rebuild. You just have to pay early!!!!!!

more ...
Nov 10, 2019
stay away
Hagop888 Cardholder

I payed off my balance and my available credit still didn't update and called the number only got a recording and it says I have to wait till the last day of my payment due to get my available credit again and my balance is zero 

i can't even find a way to talk to someone about this and also no person to talk to so I can cancel this joke of a card 

stay away and don't even bother 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 11, 2019

If you just got the card and this is one of your first-ever payments, it's going to take a LONG time to post. (Speaking from personal experience here.) I'm entering my third month of having this card and I went through the same thing as you during my first month. The payments took nearly 2 weeks to post and the available balance took just as long to update. However, after a handful of on-time payments, they began to clear faster and faster. Now it only takes a couple days for my payments and available balance to be updated. I know it's frustrating and worrisome at first, because there's very little in the way of customer service, but this card will absolutely help your credit score to go up if you just stick with it. Try to hang in there!

 
Nov 09, 2019
Simple and Cheap
tgibbs97 Cardholder

Stay up to date with your payments as always and this card can always be a nice cushion to fall on.

more ...
Nov 06, 2019
Good card overall!
Dean2018 Cardholder

If you have a legitimate dispute, they don't really have your back and take too long to "investigate" your claim. Be prepared to repeatedly explain your dispute if you/they follow-up...etended hold times to get through to a live agent have been my experience for 1 year now.

more ...
Nov 02, 2019
No credit increase without deposit
32Wynd Cardholder

I've had this card over a year. Never missed a single pay8, made double payments. Actively used the card. I asked for a increase they said Congratulations you can get a $300 increase please deposit the funds. You basically just lose your money. It looks good on your credit and you close it then there goes age. Get a Capital One secured , Citi, Discover anything. Same with cards that are unsecured low limits. Milestone, Indigo..they offer NO credit increase

more ...
Nov 02, 2019
Time Consuming- No Real Customer Service
BLACKCAT14 Cardholder

If you have no problem with waiting on balances taking about 5-7 days to post or not being able to figure out how to change your PIN (or how to close your account due to your PIN not being able to be changed) then this is the card for you! I'd just rather have my security deposit back for a more reputable card.

more ...
Oct 31, 2019
Kind of dumb
Jonesjohn Cardholder

Balance means debt

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 12, 2019

What does that mean? Debt means you spend to much money. Stop spending so much money then, that doesn't mean it's the credit cards faults.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card