OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
264 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $35
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 18.39%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 23, 2017
Use It to Your Advantage
marsbars24 Cardholder

Okay so I see a lot of negative reviews that I think mostly stem from Open Sky not clearly communicating the process/when they report to bureaus etc. Here's the deal. If you want a boost in your score quickly, apply for the card around the 15th-20th of the month. Open Sky reports to the credit bureaus on the last business day of the month (then sometimes it takes a week or so after that for the bureau to reflect the change). It takes 3-4 days for your $200 (or whatever) deposit to go through, and for the card to be shipped, after approval. Your account isn't considered open until the date the card is shipped. The card comes with the $35 annual fee already tacked onto the balance and if you ordered your card mid-late in the month, that $35 won't be due until the end of the next month (but it will count towards utilization when reported to the bureus, which is a good thing, as long as you keep utilization under 30%. $35 out of $200 is 17.5%). Each month, your bill is due on the 28th. So to absolutely optimize the credit boost you can get from this card: order it around the 18th of the month. The card will probably ship out around the 22nd. Don't worry about paying the $35 fee the second you get the card - you can activate it with the $35 fee on there. Let the utilization work for you when they report to the bureus on the last business day of the month, then on like the 5th of the next month, pay the $35 off. Now, set up a monthly small charge, like Netflix or something, to come out mid month, and DONT use your card other than that monthly charge. When you get your bill in the beginning of the month each month, pay off the last month's balance in full. I've had the card for a couple months, and that's all I've learned from research/talking to their customer service. It's worked well for me so far!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 23, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

This card will help with building/repairing your credit. The only negative thing I have to say about this card is that you can only make payments using your checking account with routing number. It takes two business days for the money to be withdrawn from your account and another two business days for the money to post to the card. So, for instance, if you want to make a payment on a Friday I suggest you set up the payment on Wednesday this way Friday's date will be the day it will be withdrawn.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 15, 2017
Great
Nirmus Cardholder

It's a secured Visa credit card no perks and a $35 annual fee ,but payment option online is easy keep your spending at 30% of your security deposit and pay on time , use for smaller expenses , gas, things like that, I've had the card for a week and my Equifax score shot up 121 points and I will show to anyone to prove it , it has not hit my TransUnion score yet but I assume it will go up and my road to repairing my credit is on the way.

more ...
Nov 15, 2017

Good job!!! Keep up the good work.
-Robb

 
Nov 15, 2017

can I see.

 
Nov 15, 2017
It is what it is...
kawtup Cardholder

I didn't take care of my credit like I should so in order to get it up, I have had to resort to getting two secured cards.  OpenSky was recommended by my credit advisor.  I haven't had any problems with the card working, I updated my information once I got the email about the system change, so no problem there either.  I haven't spoken with Customer Service, so I can't rate that.  However, the one and only issue I've encountered is that if you make large payments, they are held for about a week before the funds are released, so while it is reflected on the system as paid and the statement balance is decreased, the available funds amount doesn't increase.

Otherwise, it's decent enough for folks trying to rebuild their credit like me.

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
Very unprofessional
Jesicam Cardholder

My husband got this card to fix his credit since hes had it , card wouldn't work at times , everytime he called he would have to update are address everytime because they would ask for the new one and they would never update it, just recently he called for a new card because the one he had cracked and instead of them ordering a new one they closed the account and his credit dropped , spoke to diffrent people and no one had an answer to what happened wouldn't recommend at all

more ...
Nov 13, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Customer service wait times are unacceptable.

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
Disgraceful
westgurl Cardholder

This Bank was a disgrace they had only one way for you to pay , so many limitations and everytime you call for a problem . The call centter really couldnt answer , so you were emailed and told to wait and be contacted by email to get your answer.  I wished that I NEVER, NEVER signed up for this card. Beware they will charge you a fee for sending you a statement every month of your bill . The only way you won't be charged is that you notify them by letter and not email.  Just so disgraceful and unprofessional ..Please if yu want to bulid your credit go to a crdit union bank and get there secure card or try Discover secure card ..Less charges you will have to pay.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Awesome tool for people who need it.
Juliaaarobb Cardholder

All of the reviews I read that are full of complaints seem to be from those who had wonderful cards at one point in time, misused them and are rebuilding.

This is not the best card however it is a wonderful tool to have in your wallet when you find yourself rebuilding or beginning your credit building journey.

The fact that there is no credit check and the APR is so low is amazing for those of us with even the lowest of scores. I started off my credit journey in July, paid my bill on time twice a month, and kept my utilization under 20%. In 4 months time my credit has went up over 80+ points and I was approved for a better card with Capital One in October.

Customer service is always helpful and friendly and although the web page seems a bit antiquated it is efficient.
This is a wonderful card for those who are just starting off and are serious about improving their credit.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
NotTOhappy12 Cardholder

If I️ was you guys go to capital one secured card this company is crap they will still charge you an annual fee even if you wanna close your account a lot of fraud activity on m account and went threw a lot to get it disputed just a lot of bs and not worth it at least Capital one don’t charge annual fee and they offer credit increases with their secured cards open sky is CRAP NOT WORTH IT  just closed my account neveR again

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

I need help I can’t a get ahold of customer service. 

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
Bad.. stay away
RottenRotties Cardholder

I'm canceling my account. They have the WORST website. I have registered my information on the site at LEAST three times and it's never there.  I could not get ANY information on my balance for my account because it didn't exist then get a late change and message on 11/4 when my payment was made on 11/3. How can it be late?????? BAD BAD BAD Stay away.  I really don't think they know what they are doing or making it look like that so they can steal your money.  Almost reminds me of the fiasco of Susie Orman. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2017

You need to be calling customer service. You can make your payment over the phone by calling the number on the back of your card. They will take the payment out of your bank account that way. It also saves your account info through the phone just in case you want to make future payments through the phone system. Its easier. You also need to talk to someone to correct that late payment, and have it removed.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

OpenSky® Secured Credit Visa® Card