Citi® Double Cash Card Reviews

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.5 out of 5 stars
148 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0%* for 18 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0*
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 05, 2018
EASY app and approval process!
mission2bdebtfree Cardholder

I have not used this card at all yet!! But I wanted to post to possibly help those trying to decide if they should apply. CK said I had very good approval odds. Here are my stats: CK TU score 721, EQ score 720. FICO score 702. Income @$47,000.  I have 3 credit cards with the following balances and CLs:  $7,050 on CL $10,000, $850 on CL $1,900, and $490 on CL $1,300. I also have an auto loan with a balance of $22,480 at 4.7% interest. Credit history is @11 years and I have 100% on time payment history and no derogatory remarks or collections. In the last 12 months (other than getting the car loan) I have paid down over $6000 in debt (I was in a very bad relationship that I finally got out of but unfortunately...still paying the financial consequences)! I applied straight through the CK app and was approved in literally 30 sec with a $4,000 limit. I plan to use it to transfer a chunk of my BOA American Express balance (the one at $7,050) so I can pay down with no interest. I read a lot of reviews on cards and always wished there was more info on people’s individual stats at the time of applying so I could gauge my chances of approval and possible credit limit. So I hope this helps people to use as a comparison when deciding on whether or not to apply! I’ll review again after I’ve used it more! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 21, 2018
noscreennameswork Cardholder

I have a credit score of 816 and got a instant approval for $9400.  I got this card to use for my business and have had it less then a month but they have stopped it multiple times for fraud...there is no fraud I'm just using it...stopped it 3 times just in the last 24 hours.  The customer service is rude on the phone and I never know if its going to work because they keep putting fraud holds on it.  I've had the card for 3 weeks and have spent and paid $15,000  and have a zero balance.  They are still rude on the phone...and here we go again... 4th fraud email just came thru...this is now 4 in the last 24 hours.   Now time for another 30 min phone call to get it taken care of... I regret the credit inquiry and I regret getting this card... I think I'll just go back to using my discover.   The main purpose of this review...which I never write reviews... is the HORRIBLE customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 09, 2019
Currently the best cash back offer.
TheDreadnought Cardholder

I regularly hunt around for a better cash back deal.  So far, nothing beats this one.  It's 2% cash back on everything with no annual fee.  All the other cards out there require you to pay a membership fee, or only give big cash back bonuses on limited categories, or even rotating categories.  You'll just never clean up as much on those without careful planning and spending, as you will on this one by just using it every day and not worrying about it.

The only downside to this card is that the approval limits aren't very high.  I think I only have $12,000 - $15,000 limit on this card with an 820 credit rating.

Also, I think it offers a 0% intro offer on new purchases.   DON'T FALL INTO THAT TRAP!!  Just pay off your statement balance every month and profit.  Don't accumulate money out there that you owe at 0% because you're almost certain not to have all of it on hand when it comes time to pay.

more ...
Jan 06, 2019
Security is lacking
JustElian Cardholder

Someone hacked my account, changed my address, ordered a new card, and then made fraudulent charges. I had to call customer service and speak with the fraud department 3 times before they finally, rudely, took care of the charges. I'm no longer a customer.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 06, 2019

As soon as your address is changed, you are notified. So they were able to get a new card sent to the address and you knew nothing about it. I doubt that happened. I can't do much on their website without them notifying me.

 
Dec 31, 2018
Borderline criminal incompetence
AmyMckenna Cardholder

Worst customer service I've ever had from a credit card company in 30 years of having multiple cards. They claimed there was another person on my SSN (big surprise to me, having just easily re-financed my jumbo mortgage), then sent me a verification form to complete, which I did and sent back. I called later when they still declined the card and they said it looked like someone had "tampered" with the form I had mailed them (whaaa?) and said they would email me a copy of what they said was tampered with. They never sent it nor the second form they said they would have my replace the "tampered" one with. Fed up, I'm trying to cancel it and they won't let me, saying that the account is "on hold."  NOW they're claiming that the form I sent it was "incomplete" (as oppose to the "tampered with" they claimed the first time around). When I asked, "how is it legal to keep me locked into a business relationship with you when I wish to end it?" they countered that I hadn't "properly identified" myself over the phone even though I had called from the phone number on my account and given every password they had asked for. How do they identify people over the phone -- take a retinal scan through their phones? Now I feel even more vulnerable than ever, being locked into a relationship and an open credit line with these incompetents that I can't end, until THEY decide that they will cancel the account on February 3rd. How is this even legal?! 

more ...
Nov 28, 2018
Honestly, not worth it :/
JstLovely Cardholder

I received several letters from Capital One and Citi Double Cash (CDC) by mail. After reading many reviews I thought perhaps CDC was best but I was wrong :/ at first everything was fine. They offered and I was approved $3000+ a 0%APR for the first 18 months and 19% APR after...pretty great right? Not to mention the cash back! I used this card to cover expenses while I paid off high interest rate cards/loans. Why? "Because of no interest rate " 1st statement reflected such, however, 2nd statement interest rate totally there >:[ with a little extra!!! I called and customer service seemed to care and said they would look into the account so I thought ok, maybe a Mistake but they never called back and interest is now going to pile but it's ok Citibank my goal now is to pay off the debt ASAP and never use this card Again! Btw I then applied for Capital one Platinum and so far they've held their part of their deal and I also got my Discover it card and I will make a review in a couple of months too. So far ...way better than CDC!. There you go guys/gals an honest review :) I have a 678 FICO score as of today and my goal is to continue to build my credit to purchase a home at a lower interest rate in the next 3-5 yrs. I hope this helps.

more ...
Dec 04, 2018

You idiot. They offer no interest for 18 months on balance transfers, not purchases. Your stupidity is the problem, not their card

 
Dec 06, 2018

Some people don't read the terms then blame the card for being a bad card. Too bad credit cards don't write reviews on customers, because JstLovely would be a 1 start customer and Citi would tell every other credit card company to stay away from JstLovely.

 
Jan 09, 2019

Where in JstLovely's revew does it say anything about doing a Balance Transfer? .... Learn to read matup.

 
Jan 11, 2019

Duh...that was the whole point. Jstlovely didn't say anything about balance transfes and matup was pointing out that the 0% apr only applies to balance transfer, not purchases. You're right about one thing though , SOMEONE needs to learn how to read

 
Nov 25, 2018
This is an awesome credit card.
sasuke17th Cardholder

I’ve had this card for a little over 2 years, and I have not had any issues. I did accidentally forget to make a payment and I called to see if I had to pay a late fee, but they removed the fee because it was my first time I was late on a payment for the year. I just had to pay the apr but the customer service was very nice and understanding. 

more ...
Nov 20, 2018
Must have—2% on everything

This card has worked well for me and it’s great getting 2% back as the base.  I have other cards with more % off on groceries, gas , etc., but this is the one I use otherwise.  Only downside is the credit limit I was given is lower than that offerred by other cards.  When I had an income increase snd updated that in the app, it did increase the limit, but it’s still lower than other cards.

more ...
Nov 17, 2018
Simply the best
Juliosapo Cardholder

Great customer service..reliable...easy payment locations...

more ...
Nov 16, 2018
Worst Faud Department
EmadJawed Cardholder

They have the worst customer service. To unblock my card they needed another phone number registered to me or another citi card for verification neither of which i have. They have sent a verification by mail which will take a few days. How stupid is that. I will stop using their card all together.

more ...
Nov 18, 2018

Hi iv never heard of that one but i got a landline and a cell phone.

 
Jan 05, 2019

I had this same experience over the Dec 2018 holiday - I have no landline, only a cellphone, and no other citi cards or checking account. I had to wait until I was back at work for them to call and verify through my company's phone line. Extremely frustrating.

 
Nov 15, 2018
VERY GREEDY Company
SpaFixers Cardholder

Watch your cash back amounts. Citi Bank will keep them if card is not used. So here is the thing. Card was used for 0% balance transfer. They get their 3% upfront BUT if you use the card for any additional purchases they will charge a minimum interest fee of at least 50 cents. So don't use the card to save interest right? Well most 0% offers are 1 year plus. So if you use the card interest will be added if you don't cashback will be taken. WOW! No warning and no heads up. Had the card now for 3 years, 5 months with $6,600 limit and this is their way of saying thank you, I guess. Previously, Citi Bank issued checks if credit card wasn't used with remaining cash back dollars. Very greedy company and there customer service is a bit lacking. I will keep the card and just not use it at all until cancelled by them. Hope that little bit of change they kept was worth it. So many better cards out there with companies that really appreciate your business. I won’t say names but their initials are AMEX.

more ...
Nov 15, 2018

Why are you doing a 0% balance transfer and then using the card for purchases? Terrible APR when carrying a balance on purchases on rewards cards. Wait until the promotion ends, pay off or transfer the remaining balance, then go for the rewards and pay your bill in full each month. I dont get why people use a rewards card to revolve balances. You lose more on a rewards card than a standard card when carrying a balance. I think you ripped yourself off. Pay attention to the terms.

 
Nov 18, 2018

I'm not sure why any one would want to do a balance transfer it wont make your credit score better.

 
Nov 21, 2018

Not everything in life is about your credit score dumb***. Obviously you do a balance transfer to pay less interest

 
Dec 09, 2018

There are variables that could lead to a better score through balance transfers. But I'd guess the majority of people who make balance transfers are already making mistakes with their credit, or things haven't gone as planned.

 
Nov 13, 2018
Great Card!
lulu5803 Cardholder

Despite CK saying I have a poor chance of approval, I received a pre-approval in the mail and accepted. It was an easy approval process and came with a decently high credit limit. I love the generous 2% cash back, so I use and pay this card to earn cash back without accruing interest. It's my daily use card. The only drawback is waiting for the period to close to accrue the cashback, but a small issue considering the benefits.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 585
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Citi® Double Cash Card