Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews
3.4 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 15.99% - 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 15.99% - 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 22, 2019
Approved but not instantly
creditbldginco Cardholder

I already have 3 Capital One cards; Platinum (hate), Quicksilver (first card years ago to rebuild credit.. meh) and Venture (love!).  My son is graduating high school in May of 2019 and we are going on a family trip to Walt Disney World.. NOT a cheap adventure.  When I saw that the Savor card offered a $500 bonus after spending $3k in 90 days AND 4% cash back on dining & entertainment, I knew that was the card I wanted.  After doing a LOT of research, I figured I had a 50/50 shot at approval.  I didn't have an offer or invitation.  All my other Cap1 cards have a zero balance and I used them all at different times throughout the time I had them.  Long story short, recent usage (approx $1k a month across all three current Cap1 cards), no balance and long time cardholder.

I applied online and was not instantly approved.  I got the "we will need more information and you'll receive something from us in the mail in 7-10 business days."  I decided to call the application status line approx. 3 days later. The recording said my application was in process and to expect something in the mail...blah..blah.  I held on for a representative who said the same thing.. "in process" but then sent me to their fraud check line.  This person asked me several questions to verify my identity and said thank you, and.. you guessed it... I will receive something in the mail in 5-10 business days.

Well, I'm literally waiting to pay for this trip based on getting approved or not on this card.. so I called again.  5 days (not business days) after my last call.  Recording STILL said it was being reviewed.  I held for a representative to find out that I was APPROVED the same day I called to give them additional information.  Since I recently paid off all my balances on all my cards, my credit score went from the 630's to high 600's during the time my credit was checked for this card.

Take aways.. this is the SECOND card.. ironically BOTH from Capital One where I wasn't approved instantly online, but later approved for pretty decent credit lines ($10k & $8k).  Don't get discouraged if you see that message when applying online.  You DO NOT need a score in the 700's to even consider this card.. AND... CK recommendations are not always correct.  Good luck!  I love Capital One so I'm thrilled!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 15, 2019
The Card is thick and heavy
IAmOlderNow Cardholder

Credit Karma told me I had a poor odds of getting this card. I applied with a credit score of 620 and 624. I was instantly approved for $2000. I already have 2 capital one cards. The Quicksilver one and platinum. I had asked for an increase on the quicksilver one and the increased me from $2500 to $4000 and on the platinum from $1200 to $1750 so I yook a chance and applied for the Savor. My goal now is to get the venture since I do a lot of travelling. Hope this will help someone

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2020
Could not be easier to utilize
dooleycat8 Cardholder

Combined with the app, this card makes it too easy to keep track of your spending, check statements, pay balances, earn rewards, cash in rewards, they pay the bonus without issue as promised too, no annual fee, perfection!

more ...
Feb 06, 2020
Fees Rules hurt clients
aledustet Cardholder

They take advantage of the clients by having weird rules on how they apply fees on your balance, they will make you pay before your statement starts or they will charge you interest every day, not on your statement close date, Be aware of that, and when you call they don't hide that fact when you ask about it they tell you, it's deep in the back of your statement.

The way they calculate interest is very shady, keep an eye for those terms that are expressed in the back of your statement in small letters, it makes the world of difference, unlike other cards that will charge interest with the amount remaining at the end of your statement period they will start charging interest every day, and to avoid the fees, you have to pay full balance the day of the statement not a day later and two months in a row, unlike other cards that as long as you pay your full balance before your close date, you are good to go, for simpler, user friendly, not trying to be shady and take advantage of you options, stay away from Capital One.

more ...
Jan 21, 2020
Terrible if you have a dispute
aprillewis Cardholder

Dealing with the dispute department is a nightmare. I hate to say it, but in some ways I think there's a language barrier with explaining any dispute or situation that's a little complicated. Seems to be handled in India. I was put on hold for almost 30 minutes, and then the representative basically argued how the merchant was right. Never again. 

more ...
Dec 13, 2019
Great rewards, wonderful app
scubadiver218 Cardholder

First of all, I would recommend CapitalOne hands down, any day. They have an amazing, easy to use app, they have features within the app that are unique and powerful (credit wise, ability to request a new card thru the app that is lost or damaged, or due to fraudulent charges, etc). I have both the savor card and a quicksilver. I love the Savor card because 4% on dining and entertainment is unbeatable. You can redeem your rewards at any time, and it's as simple as that.

I've always appreciated that CapitalOne puts their customers experience at the forefront. It's easy to pay my bill, redeem rewards, monitor my account and credit, all while they have a friendly tone and make me feel valued as a customer. Another cool feature about this card is CapitalOne emails you about special deals - higher % back on concert tickets thru certain sites, James Beard award dining experiences, etc. I'll always choose CapitalOne over any other card company. 

more ...
Nov 25, 2019
Good card but high annual fee
Milvers Cardholder

Don't always listen to credit karma. It said I had poor approval odds. I'm almost 20 so I haven't been building my credit for long, my score was 672ish when I applied and I was approved with a 2k limit so don't be scared to apply. I also have 3 other cards with capital one all with low balances and never missed a payment. The only thing I don't like is the annual fee and my only problem with capital one is that they refuse to increase my limit on my other cards.

more ...
Nov 29, 2019

Yep you right cap one wont give increases so i went in got a card from my credit union best card ever...

 
Jan 11, 2020

I have 2 capital one cards for 4 years and refuse to increase mine too. I have a 742 score. Caputal one makes no sense at all

 
Nov 14, 2019
False advertising!!!
Tten Cardholder

You wont get your welcome bonus!

more ...
Nov 10, 2019
This card has a great rewards system.
Kei016 Cardholder

I love CapitalOne in general.  They have been great anytime I have had questions or concerns.  I have the savor card and the rewards are great!  I got mine before the $95 annual fee, so I do not have to pay that.  However, for newbies, if you are getting the card to take advantage of the rewards, the $95 is worth it.  If you are getting an emergency card, then pick a card without any annual fee.

more ...
Sep 29, 2019
Instant Approval.

Instantly approved at 760 Transunion and 754 Equifax. $20k limit. I have had the Quicksilver for 7 years or so, missed a few payments due to forgetting and not having auto-pay enabled. Typically spend $2-5k on cards per month. Capital One didn't hold my missess against me, and I'm pretty happy. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 01, 2019

How long was your account close before applying

 
Sep 27, 2019
ScottNFL22 Cardholder

Mixed feelings, turned annoyed. First-Capital One has been great. A $300 Platinum out of BK has now turned into a $5200 Savior and a $500 Quick Silver in about 3 years. However, now they are refusing to give me an increase on both/either cards. It’s been pretty consistent (every 6 months) up to this point. But when I apply now, it first said my balances are too high (which they were) so I paid them down but now says I am missing credit information? A different response and on both cards? How can I be missing credit information NOW when I’ve had them for 3 years? And this new fantasy reason is no where to be found in the FAQs. If y’all are stopping the increases just say I’m not eligible. But I hold off on any credit decisions until after these increases. (Thinking of getting another card but don’t want the inquiry until I see how high Capital One will raise my limits) 

so, I still think it’s a great company, customer service has always been friendly but just annoyed they have randomly stopped doing what they have always done with out warning. 

more ...
Nov 24, 2019

Just as an FYI, Capital One doesn't usually give high limits, unless you are using a lot of the limit and paying in full. I haven't had an increase in 10 years and requested one, and was denied. But even with a lot of use and pay in full, I don't really use more than 5% of my credit line, and that won't get me an increase.

 
Nov 29, 2019

Yep they sucks when giving credit increase you might just want to apply for a card somewhere else

 
Jan 11, 2020

True they denied me increase request 3 times but approved me on the Venture for 15k Limit unbelievable.

 
Sep 15, 2019
The Card is thick and heavy
IAmOlderNow Cardholder

Credit Karma told me I had a poor odds of getting this card. I applied with a credit score of 620 and 624. I was instantly approved for $2000. I already have 2 capital one cards. The Quicksilver one and platinum. I had asked for an increase on the quicksilver one and the increased me from $2500 to $4000 and on the platinum from $1200 to $1750 so I yook a chance and applied for the Savor. My goal now is to get the venture since I do a lot of travelling. Hope this will help someone

more ...
Sep 17, 2019

Is it the savor card or the savor one so I know which one to apply for

 
Sep 18, 2019

How many capital one card can you have at one time

 
Sep 26, 2019

Were those your credit karma score or did you get an official report?

 
Feb 20, 2020

Thick & heavy?
Really? You're Thick headed for even thinking such a thing. Lazy & lethargic is getting the best of you.
Get up out of your mom's basement & get a gym membership to build up some muscle
so you can lift the card.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card