Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.6 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 18, 2018
Great if you go out often
BIGSEXY05 Cardholder

Awesome card... Got grandfathered in so I get to skip the yearly fee. Even with the yearly fee if you use it enough you will definitely make your money back. Started with a 10k line and combined all my other Cap one cards to this card so the line is currently just north of 45k. It's extremely easy to combine lines through capital one... Redemption is easy, the rewards show up quickly, just overall a great card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 26, 2019
Horrible
JohnnyTwoTimes Cardholder

The customer service is horrible. They will not appreciate your business. Spent the day verifying the card so we could use it with no problems only to have it decline when we tried to make our second purchase. Now we are IN LINE to make our purchase when it declined. We call and are placed on hold for 15 minutes WHILE STILL WAITING TO PAY only to have them say we needed to now send a copy of our DL to verify we are who we are. At this point it’s 5:20PM and the store closed at 5. We had to leave without picking up our truck and drive back across town all while still on hold. It took over an hour to get verified for the THIRD time today but at this point we can’t get back the embarrassment or time wasted. Find a better card than Capital One.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 22, 2019
Approved but not instantly
creditbldginco Cardholder

I already have 3 Capital One cards; Platinum (hate), Quicksilver (first card years ago to rebuild credit.. meh) and Venture (love!).  My son is graduating high school in May of 2019 and we are going on a family trip to Walt Disney World.. NOT a cheap adventure.  When I saw that the Savor card offered a $500 bonus after spending $3k in 90 days AND 4% cash back on dining & entertainment, I knew that was the card I wanted.  After doing a LOT of research, I figured I had a 50/50 shot at approval.  I didn't have an offer or invitation.  All my other Cap1 cards have a zero balance and I used them all at different times throughout the time I had them.  Long story short, recent usage (approx $1k a month across all three current Cap1 cards), no balance and long time cardholder.

I applied online and was not instantly approved.  I got the "we will need more information and you'll receive something from us in the mail in 7-10 business days."  I decided to call the application status line approx. 3 days later. The recording said my application was in process and to expect something in the mail...blah..blah.  I held on for a representative who said the same thing.. "in process" but then sent me to their fraud check line.  This person asked me several questions to verify my identity and said thank you, and.. you guessed it... I will receive something in the mail in 5-10 business days.

Well, I'm literally waiting to pay for this trip based on getting approved or not on this card.. so I called again.  5 days (not business days) after my last call.  Recording STILL said it was being reviewed.  I held for a representative to find out that I was APPROVED the same day I called to give them additional information.  Since I recently paid off all my balances on all my cards, my credit score went from the 630's to high 600's during the time my credit was checked for this card.

Take aways.. this is the SECOND card.. ironically BOTH from Capital One where I wasn't approved instantly online, but later approved for pretty decent credit lines ($10k & $8k).  Don't get discouraged if you see that message when applying online.  You DO NOT need a score in the 700's to even consider this card.. AND... CK recommendations are not always correct.  Good luck!  I love Capital One so I'm thrilled!

more ...
Mar 22, 2019
Abysmal customer service

The card has attractive bonus categories and an easy to use mobile app.  To call the customer service inconsistent at best, is as much of a compliment as I can muster.  I highly recommend pursuing other dining cards from issuers with attentive, consistent, and knowledgeable customer service agents.  I have two of these cards (because of the attractive sign up bonus).  I would recommend seeking alternatives in case you should ever run into an issue where you need to count on the issuer.  Other cards that have replaced these in my wallet are the Uber Visa and Amex Gold cards.  Head and shoulders improvements in customer service experiences.  

more ...
Feb 26, 2019
Horrible
JohnnyTwoTimes Cardholder

The customer service is horrible. They will not appreciate your business. Spent the day verifying the card so we could use it with no problems only to have it decline when we tried to make our second purchase. Now we are IN LINE to make our purchase when it declined. We call and are placed on hold for 15 minutes WHILE STILL WAITING TO PAY only to have them say we needed to now send a copy of our DL to verify we are who we are. At this point it’s 5:20PM and the store closed at 5. We had to leave without picking up our truck and drive back across town all while still on hold. It took over an hour to get verified for the THIRD time today but at this point we can’t get back the embarrassment or time wasted. Find a better card than Capital One.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019

My Capital One cards have worked every time since 2003. I use this almost every day. I think you should have had a backup card. I've had merchants have trouble running a card before and I'd use a backup with no problem.

 
Mar 11, 2019

Rsmy123 not everyone has a backup card or would want one.

 
Feb 26, 2019
Horrible
JohnnyTwoTimes Cardholder

Th

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 18, 2019

If give your going to give a review and say the card is horrible can you at least give a explanation as to why you think so.

 
Feb 21, 2019
Not showing up on my credit report.
Moneyhungry01 Cardholder

This card has a great welcome bonus after 3k spent in the first 3 months. I have made well over the annual fee in rewards already due to the amount I spend on it. Be sure to always pay your balance if you want to profit one balance hit with interest and it will add far more then the reward to your balance due. I have had it for almost three months is anyone else not having it appear on thier credit report? To clarify i would like it on my report to raise my over all credit line %. Please comment with any information thanks in advance!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 25, 2019

Most likely they hard hit Experian only. I've had that happen, but the account should show on all 3 eventually with a hit on possibly one bureau only. After 3 months, it should appear. It may take more time. I've had credit line increases take 3 months to show.

 
Feb 18, 2019
Fabulous!
Kuririn Cardholder

Just took it overseas and I really like at my statement it explains how much the charges at local currency, how much the exchange rate and final total charge in USD. No hassle no haggle! This credit card exchange rate is better than exchange rate that the local money changer gave for my USD cash. No hassle no haggle!

more ...
Feb 02, 2019
$237 back in 6 months!
pistachionut Cardholder

I have an older version of this card that didn't offer such a big sign-on bonus, but I still accrued almost $240 cash back in 6 months with intermittent restaurant and entertainment spending. While previously capped at 3% cash back like the SavorOne is, the new 4% back now even applies to things like botanical gardens, men's chorus, and modern dance shows. The cash back can be used as soon as it shows up on the statement, and it can be applied directly to the statement, a specific purchase, a gift card from one of dozens of retailers, a check directly to you, or transferred to another C1 account. I also received 0% on purchases and transfers for over a year, but I'm not sure if that still applies. The older version also continues all the improved benefits at no annual fee which is super sweet. Hopefully they keep that promise. The $500 cash back in 3 months on the new version is just insane!

more ...
Jan 19, 2019
An excellent card that manages to wow me
TBD1977 Cardholder

Had it for about a month and a half now, got approved on 720/740 CK/Experian (oddly, their model rated me 698 based on the blurb in the welcome package), we eat out a lot and large expeses for entertainment, so going for the 4% card at annual fee was a no-brainer for me.

Extremely happy with the whole online interface, the way the card rewards are instantly calculated and available, granted there are some grey areas, where restaurants in hotels can be billed as "hotel" rather than dining, depending on their respective billing practices, but that is a general issue and I would not hold it against the card.

Have not had to interact with customer service yet, so, can't comment on that.

In terms of features and everyday management I am currently extremely satisfied, received the welcome bonus the second the respective charge was processed. Application process was easy online, they checked for pre-approved offers, which I didn't have, but instantly cleared me for a decent credit line. Card arrived reasonably fast. App and website great to use. If you're dining/entertaining, this is for you.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 31, 2019

Just curious did they use FICO Score 8 or 9?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card

35 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i