Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0 intro, $95 after first year
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 16.74% - 25.74%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 22, 2019
Approved but not instantly
creditbldginco Cardholder

I already have 3 Capital One cards; Platinum (hate), Quicksilver (first card years ago to rebuild credit.. meh) and Venture (love!).  My son is graduating high school in May of 2019 and we are going on a family trip to Walt Disney World.. NOT a cheap adventure.  When I saw that the Savor card offered a $500 bonus after spending $3k in 90 days AND 4% cash back on dining & entertainment, I knew that was the card I wanted.  After doing a LOT of research, I figured I had a 50/50 shot at approval.  I didn't have an offer or invitation.  All my other Cap1 cards have a zero balance and I used them all at different times throughout the time I had them.  Long story short, recent usage (approx $1k a month across all three current Cap1 cards), no balance and long time cardholder.

I applied online and was not instantly approved.  I got the "we will need more information and you'll receive something from us in the mail in 7-10 business days."  I decided to call the application status line approx. 3 days later. The recording said my application was in process and to expect something in the mail...blah..blah.  I held on for a representative who said the same thing.. "in process" but then sent me to their fraud check line.  This person asked me several questions to verify my identity and said thank you, and.. you guessed it... I will receive something in the mail in 5-10 business days.

Well, I'm literally waiting to pay for this trip based on getting approved or not on this card.. so I called again.  5 days (not business days) after my last call.  Recording STILL said it was being reviewed.  I held for a representative to find out that I was APPROVED the same day I called to give them additional information.  Since I recently paid off all my balances on all my cards, my credit score went from the 630's to high 600's during the time my credit was checked for this card.

Take aways.. this is the SECOND card.. ironically BOTH from Capital One where I wasn't approved instantly online, but later approved for pretty decent credit lines ($10k & $8k).  Don't get discouraged if you see that message when applying online.  You DO NOT need a score in the 700's to even consider this card.. AND... CK recommendations are not always correct.  Good luck!  I love Capital One so I'm thrilled!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 17, 2019
Is not worth it!
FamTennis Cardholder

Firstly, do get the merchant codes from your regular entertainment providers before applying for this card. Even if you have the other Capital One card, where your day-to-day transactions are marked as 'Entertainment", when it comes to Savor card, it may see those differently as not covered by 4% cash back Rule. And this is how you end up getting the ridiculous 1% instead.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jul 26, 2019
Go-to option for eating out
dabears8686 Cardholder

I'm lucky enough to be granfathered in to having no annual fee. This card is my go-to for dining since I can get 4% back. The entertainment category is great too, and one that isn't seen on a lot of cards. Entertainment purchases might be less common, but buying event tickets can be pretty pricey. It's good to know you'll be getting 4% back on those purchases.

more ...
Jul 17, 2019
Is not worth it!
FamTennis Cardholder

Firstly, do get the merchant codes from your regular entertainment providers before applying for this card. Even if you have the other Capital One card, where your day-to-day transactions are marked as 'Entertainment", when it comes to Savor card, it may see those differently as not covered by 4% cash back Rule. And this is how you end up getting the ridiculous 1% instead.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 21, 2019

But I've gotten 4% several times when expecting 1% so it has evened out for me.

 
Jul 09, 2019
A++ Customer Service, Great for Foodies
KDoctorK Cardholder

The customer service for this card and Capital One in general is AMAZING. The signup bonus plus 4% on dining is a great reward. My other Capital One card is a VentureOne from my student days that has a $20,000 limit (which was heavily used with a $0 balance when applying), yet was only approved for $15,000 on Savor (which was enough but surprising), and took ~2 weeks to get approved, and another week to get the card. The Free Postmates Unlimited subscription was a nice surprise!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 15, 2019

The reason for the smaller limit is probably because you have the other card with them. So they view it like having one card with a 35K limit. It's like getting approved for a 15K limit increase.

 
Jun 09, 2019
Fits my style perfectly
McGiggins Cardholder

We travel, eat out ALOT and love catching events.  This is one of the few if not the only card I have seen with "entertainment" as a bonus category.  Annual fees are always annoying but with my Savor being a World Elite Mastercard there are added benefits that offset the fee.  This is my go to card now.  I've called customer service and they were quick and knowledgeable.  The application process was different.  I was not initially approved with an 822 FICO.  About a week later I recieved an  email and a generous credit line.  

more ...
May 22, 2019
Best Bank app
KKRoyM Cardholder

I buy a lot of food, so i racked up points quickly and you get points a few days after the purchase, unlike the months it takes with Amex.

more ...
May 10, 2019
ALLLBo Cardholder

worst costumers service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2019

PLEASE....If your going to give a negative review please give a little more detail so others can learn what might to expect when contacting the CS.

 
Apr 27, 2019
My favorite credit card.
AdamC48 Cardholder

I’m a bit of a cash back hound. I have different cards for different categories, but the Savor card is my favorite. High initial limit of $30K means I don’t have to worry about hitting the limit ceiling. I get 4% back on restaurants and dining, movies and ticketed events. The app is excellent with free creditwise access. Cash back is immediately available and I love applying it to my account to knock down my balance. Most recently I’ve taken advantage of the contactless purchase and zero transaction fees here in the UK on vacation, making the Savor my default card abroad. The initial $500 bonus cash back after spending $3K was incredibly generous. I wish there wasn’t a $95 annual fee, but the card more than pays for itself (I’m getting about $100 back every month). 

more ...
May 03, 2019

Do you remember what your credit scores were when you applied? Do you have other high limit cards as well? Haha thanks

 
Aug 16, 2019

My line is 27,500. I have a Citi card with a 40K line and a BoA card with a 35,800 line and others with a little smaller lines. But my scores are close to 840 and have a long history. That's what it takes.

 
Apr 13, 2019
IntroOffers aren't on online account?
kkrook96 Cardholder

Applied easily and was preapproved (good credit and 100% payment history), but went to the online account and it doesn't show that I have any of the introductory offers.... has this happened to anyone else?! I don't want this card if I have to pay that $95 fee first year.... Maybe I just have to wait to activte my card?

more ...
Apr 14, 2019

your card is not even activated and you give this negitive review?

 
Apr 27, 2019

You’ll get the credit after you hit the spending threshold. I imagine this is $3K.

 
Mar 22, 2019
Approved but not instantly
creditbldginco Cardholder

I already have 3 Capital One cards; Platinum (hate), Quicksilver (first card years ago to rebuild credit.. meh) and Venture (love!).  My son is graduating high school in May of 2019 and we are going on a family trip to Walt Disney World.. NOT a cheap adventure.  When I saw that the Savor card offered a $500 bonus after spending $3k in 90 days AND 4% cash back on dining & entertainment, I knew that was the card I wanted.  After doing a LOT of research, I figured I had a 50/50 shot at approval.  I didn't have an offer or invitation.  All my other Cap1 cards have a zero balance and I used them all at different times throughout the time I had them.  Long story short, recent usage (approx $1k a month across all three current Cap1 cards), no balance and long time cardholder.

I applied online and was not instantly approved.  I got the "we will need more information and you'll receive something from us in the mail in 7-10 business days."  I decided to call the application status line approx. 3 days later. The recording said my application was in process and to expect something in the mail...blah..blah.  I held on for a representative who said the same thing.. "in process" but then sent me to their fraud check line.  This person asked me several questions to verify my identity and said thank you, and.. you guessed it... I will receive something in the mail in 5-10 business days.

Well, I'm literally waiting to pay for this trip based on getting approved or not on this card.. so I called again.  5 days (not business days) after my last call.  Recording STILL said it was being reviewed.  I held for a representative to find out that I was APPROVED the same day I called to give them additional information.  Since I recently paid off all my balances on all my cards, my credit score went from the 630's to high 600's during the time my credit was checked for this card.

Take aways.. this is the SECOND card.. ironically BOTH from Capital One where I wasn't approved instantly online, but later approved for pretty decent credit lines ($10k & $8k).  Don't get discouraged if you see that message when applying online.  You DO NOT need a score in the 700's to even consider this card.. AND... CK recommendations are not always correct.  Good luck!  I love Capital One so I'm thrilled!

more ...
Apr 25, 2019

Your score doesn’t go down for paying off balances

 
May 06, 2019

Great review!. And the encouragement for persistence was definitely on point as well. Hope you folks had a great trip!.

 
May 13, 2019

Kind of a funny situation. I also started years ago during my credit rebuild and got the Capital One Platinum Card (I do not care for it, and it has almost no rewards) Then I got the quicksilver (I got some sort of cash bonus after the first couple of months, something like $150)
Now that I was looking for premium cards with bigger bonuses, I got the Venture card, and its great. But I am looking to get this card eventually, or either the Chase Sapphire Preferred

 
May 20, 2019

His score event up to high 600 from 630

 
Jul 18, 2019

cool

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Savor® Cash Rewards Credit Card

40 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i