Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Spark® Classic for Business

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.6 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 23.24%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 06, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I signed up in my 3rd year in business for the sparks business card. Small plumbing business initially, that has grown rapidly, this card is used to pay off some of my merchants every month. No issues with increases, currently at 30k. Pay off every month. Denied a purchase at Ralph's recently for $500 in gift cards during Christmas, used another card and called sparks, I was told my usage looked fraudulent and they held up the purchase, I told them I used another card and they profusely apologized and offered me the 2% back (even though I used another card) plus $20 for the trouble! I have zero issues with this company and look forward to a long term relationship.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This card reports on your personal credit as well as the business.  It dragged down my credit score by 30 points in 2 months.  It is truly not a business card.  Find another option if you are truly looking for a business card.  I am in the process of refinancing my home, and it is now a hinderance.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 10, 2016
Started slow then went up

When I first got my Spark card it was a Classic with $500 limit. At 6 months they raised to $1,500 Now at 1 year I was invited to apply for a Spark Select.

It has 1.5% cash back.  They approved it with 10,000 limit.  Easy application Never any hassles.   

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Destroys your credit rating, poor reward
daisy1RE Cardholder

1) If you have any personal liability on the card, Capital One (unlike Citi, Chase, or Amex) will report this to the credit bureaus.  So it will destroy your credit score, as credit utilization is the most important factor in the credit score.

2) 1% isn't good enough cash back.

more ...
Aug 02, 2016
chrissssss Cardholder

Capital One is the only creditor who gave me a chance. I had a 500 credit score and needed to build my credit. They gave me the chance to prove myself. My credit score went from 500 to the high 600's since I started Capital one. Now, I am starting a small business and got approved for the Spark card, but I do not know my line of credit yet. When I applied, they had to review it for some reason. I got an email today my card is on its way from Capital One. I am thankful for them and in return for their help, I will give them my business loyally. Thanks Capital One!

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
Mer101 Cardholder

By my surprise, I was approved with a CL of $2000. I own 2 capital one personal credit cards with currently no balance. (just paid it all off about two months ago) and my utilization rate is below 30%. TU 645 EQ 654 however, i heard that this card affects your personal credit as well and drops it by about 30 points :( not too pleased about that since it took me a while to work my credit back up and im still trying to get my credit to the 700s. But other than that, I am satisfied with the CL for now. I'll wait a few months to ask for an increase. From my experience, Capital One is pretty generous with credit increases just as long as you pay on time and its a plus if you pay off your balances every month. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Good Card
Duramax2500 Cardholder

I enjoy being a capital one customer. I applied approval for $1k, 3 months into it and credit line went to $3k. It's the art of the deal you spend you pay back you get rewarded. Credit is simple spend only the amounts you would cash anyway. Capital one loves balances and if someone said they don't they are not truthful. Spend heavy, pay good, and run a small balance from month to month.

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Lisfer Cardholder

so i have had this card for two months and a half now... i was initially approved for a credit limit of $500 to my surprise i decided to request a credit limit increase and was instantly approved for $1000 for a total of $ does report to personal credit but not complaining because for me it does help out...i like the 1% cash back but it is not as good as my quuicksilver one with 1.5% cash back...hopefully soon i will be able to upgrade...will keep you guys updated

more ...
Mar 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

This card reports on your personal credit as well as the business.  It dragged down my credit score by 30 points in 2 months.  It is truly not a business card.  Find another option if you are truly looking for a business card.  I am in the process of refinancing my home, and it is now a hinderance.  

more ...
Sep 11, 2016

What is your business legal structure? LLC? Sole Prop?

Oct 16, 2016

Dispute the account of your personal credit report. You have the right to remove it. They will delete.

Mar 18, 2016
Life84 Cardholder

I am starting a business, it is not even operational yet. I was approved for a credit limit of 2000. My CK scores are EQ 630 and TU 650. I already have multiple cards including a Cap One Platinum and Caps One Quicksilver. I love Cap One. They make everything very easy. They are forgiving because I have defaulted on a Cap One card in the past too.

more ...
Mar 03, 2016
Very slow to start with limit

I have been in business 15 years and decided to get business card. My scores are around 690 to 700 because of id theft.  Got the card with only $500 limit.  Within 6 momths they raised it to $1500 without me asking. I pay in full every month   Easy application no hassles. After 6 more months I hope toget the 1.5 X reward card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 273
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Spark® Classic for Business