Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Spark® Classic for Business

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 23.24%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 23.24%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 10, 2016
Started slow then went up
Msmoonshinemaker Cardholder

When I first got my Spark card it was a Classic with $500 limit. At 6 months they raised to $1,500 Now at 1 year I was invited to apply for a Spark Select.

It has 1.5% cash back.  They approved it with 10,000 limit.  Easy application Never any hassles.   

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 05, 2016
Start with low limit then raised it.
Msmoonshinemaker Cardholder

Started with very low ie $500 then raised it to $1500 after about 7 months.  My complaint was at the $500 level I was having to full pay twice each month and avoid using for big ticket items.  Love the cash back, love the weekly reports.  Now at the $1500 level I can almost not wory about being maxed out except for biz trips. I had owned a business for about 15 years and just started a new one last year.Same line of work.   With one year of time on that firm it got approved.  Never had any problem but the initial credit limit.   My business is seasonal so for 5 months a year I loose money and make up for the rest of the year.  This wide swing affects my utilization percent. I full pay each month but in bad months at the last possible minute. My next goal is to get the next level rebate.   Only  other  bad thing is if you carry a balance is the apr.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 07, 2016
APPROVED, CreditKarma said poor odds!

I applied online and got a message saying my application is complete. I also have a Quick Silver One card that did the same thing. I have a alert on my file so they call me first, needless to say I was Approved. The personal Quick Silver limit is $300. Was apporved once provided ID and proff of address. So when the Spark card gave me the same message I knew I was approved. I believed at the starting limit of $500. I called in to get the status and while on the call the FRAUD dept called me. I verified the application and he said it was still "pending" but the decision should be really fast. I called back in about an hour to my surprise I WAS APPROVED FOR $5000. I've only been repairing my credit for 3 months! Had the Quick silver for less than 1 1/2 month. Paid it down several times during that period as $300 is easy to spend. Paid it off just before applying. TU 614, EQ 631 (Security Freeze) EX 644. I have the Equifax on Security freeze because it has 4 baddies about 4 years old, most creditors will approve with 2 bureaus. 

I also have Secured One United Unity Visa $1000, Bank of America 1-2-3 Rewards Secured $1000, FINGER HUT $400. 

I know a couple of tricks to get fingerhut to give you regular account in 1 month on freshstart program. Comment below for any information of details

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Approval with 629 Fico!!! w/Credit debt
Anonymous Cardholder

I just started a small business less than 6 months ago and I got approved for 2,000 for this card. I was quite shocked because I already have 3 cards with capital one. They are great with supporting people who want to have credit. I have been a member since 2011. No issues here. Thanks Cap!

more ...
Nov 24, 2016
Awesome card
GIRLFROMNYC Cardholder

I was excited when I earned my first business credit card. The customer service is great. My payment posts within 24 hours. Great rewards from shopping for business supplies. 

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Started slow then went up

When I first got my Spark card it was a Classic with $500 limit. At 6 months they raised to $1,500 Now at 1 year I was invited to apply for a Spark Select.

It has 1.5% cash back.  They approved it with 10,000 limit.  Easy application Never any hassles.   

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Destroys your credit rating, poor reward
daisy1RE Cardholder

1) If you have any personal liability on the card, Capital One (unlike Citi, Chase, or Amex) will report this to the credit bureaus.  So it will destroy your credit score, as credit utilization is the most important factor in the credit score.

2) 1% isn't good enough cash back.

more ...
Aug 02, 2016
AWESOME!
chrissssss Cardholder

Capital One is the only creditor who gave me a chance. I had a 500 credit score and needed to build my credit. They gave me the chance to prove myself. My credit score went from 500 to the high 600's since I started Capital one. Now, I am starting a small business and got approved for the Spark card, but I do not know my line of credit yet. When I applied, they had to review it for some reason. I got an email today my card is on its way from Capital One. I am thankful for them and in return for their help, I will give them my business loyally. Thanks Capital One!

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
INSTANTLY APPROVED
Mer101 Cardholder

By my surprise, I was approved with a CL of $2000. I own 2 capital one personal credit cards with currently no balance. (just paid it all off about two months ago) and my utilization rate is below 30%. TU 645 EQ 654 however, i heard that this card affects your personal credit as well and drops it by about 30 points :( not too pleased about that since it took me a while to work my credit back up and im still trying to get my credit to the 700s. But other than that, I am satisfied with the CL for now. I'll wait a few months to ask for an increase. From my experience, Capital One is pretty generous with credit increases just as long as you pay on time and its a plus if you pay off your balances every month. 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Good Card
Duramax2500 Cardholder

I enjoy being a capital one customer. I applied approval for $1k, 3 months into it and credit line went to $3k. It's the art of the deal you spend you pay back you get rewarded. Credit is simple spend only the amounts you would cash anyway. Capital one loves balances and if someone said they don't they are not truthful. Spend heavy, pay good, and run a small balance from month to month.

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Lisfer Cardholder

so i have had this card for two months and a half now... i was initially approved for a credit limit of $500 to my surprise i decided to request a credit limit increase and was instantly approved for $1000 for a total of $1500...yey...it does report to personal credit but not complaining because for me it does help out...i like the 1% cash back but it is not as good as my quuicksilver one with 1.5% cash back...hopefully soon i will be able to upgrade...will keep you guys updated

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 273
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Spark® Classic for Business

18 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i