Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...
 

Reviews (1298)

Add Review
May 04, 2016
Anonymous

My application was denied not sure why if in using my own money

more ...
May 02, 2016
Capital One card
vmdv12 Cardholder

My score was 588.  I knew I had to get a secured card to build good history.  I only have one installment loan on credit.  I put $200 down and they gave me a $351 limit.  It's important to only use 10% of your credit limit.  I only use my card for Netflix and Sling TV.  Combined it's less than $30 monthly that I'm using.  After first month it finally posted on Experian report.  My score went up 29 points to 617!!  I'm a happy man ha!  I knew it would go up but I wasn't sure how much.  Get this card if you don't NEED it.  I only got it to raise my score.  I pay my bills on it as soon as it posts.  I don't wait for the monthly bill.  I pay it immediately! I plan on keeping this card to keep building credit history.  Who cares what the rate is if you pay it right away?  Get this card for the sole purpose of building your credit, nothing more.  They approved me and gave me a chance.  I can't ask for more.  Customer service is great btw, the one time that I called..and the site is pretty easy to use.  I like it!

more ...
May 02, 2016
KishRhodes Cardholder

I was very happy to get the card and paying the $99 deposit for a $200 credit limit.I paid all payment on time and paid more than the $25 minimum payment. However my credit limit never increase and was told that the card doesn't have increases even though credit karma said it does, Do naturally I'm disappointed.I'm gonna pay balance off and not use card again, Good luck to all.

more ...
May 04, 2016

Someone recently posted their credit line increase came at the 6 month mark. They kept their utilization low and paid on time. How long have you had the card?

 
May 04, 2016

They do give cli on the secured card. I was told the same thing but I'm living proof that they do give cli! I got it this week Monday in fact! So I was disappointed when I was told that. It has been 6 going into the 7th month. So each person is different some have gotten them in their 5th month. So don't give up on that possibility. 😉

 
May 02, 2016
Helpful... but..
Anonymous Cardholder

I tried getting my credit limit increase with this card. I got declined because "account isn't eligible right now." 

My question is... will it ever be eligible for credit increase considering it's a secured credit card? If yes, how long until this credit card is eligible for increase? I've had it for 5 months now with on time, full payments. 

Does anyone know what is the max limit increase they give to this card?

Thanks!

more ...
May 04, 2016

6 month mark for Cli not sure the max

 
May 04, 2016

With capital one secured you CAN NOT request a cli...but they Do give you one at the 6 month nark for making five on time payments...not sure how much it would be but from what I have read not a whole lot...this card really helped me out but closed the account before I got my cli because I was approved for quicksilver, sparks, and amex...all with rewards😄...so I found no more use for this card after that...

 
May 02, 2016
KTay667788 Cardholder

After 2 months capital one reported my account BUT IT DROPPED 22 points???  

more ...
May 02, 2016

Did you keep your utilization under 30%?

 
May 03, 2016

Yes, I only use the card for My Netflix account.

 
May 04, 2016

You need to look up your myfico score. Its what lenders look at

 
May 02, 2016
Game-Changing Investment
Tim0510 Cardholder

I started my credit repair journey on Credit Karma in January of this year with scores of 494tu/506eq and 11 collection accounts and zero revolving credit. I began disputing the collections and finally applied for this card in March. Today, I am down to 2 collection accounts and this credit card finally appeared on my credit report. My scores immediately jumped from 518tu/520eq to 604tu/602eq. Yes, the credit limit is low, yes you have to close your account to receive your deposit back, no this card can not become unsecured, yes the APR is high but I DO NOT CARE. I see this card as an investment for my future, a stepping stone. It has certainly brought me to the next level on my credit journey by increasing my credit score 86 points by itself! I will soon try my luck at getting an unsecured card from Capital One and in about 3 years I'll close out this card and get my $200 back and buy my kids a nice Christmas present. I am a satisfied customer of Capital One and could not be happier with the results from this credit card. It has done exactly what I expected it to do and more.

more ...
May 03, 2016

Approved today for Quicksilver Cash Rewards card! $500 limit! It is possible people! Don't give up!

 
May 01, 2016
Pathetic... totally FALSE advertising
Anonymous

I am building my credit now that I just got my SSN in the US. I make 50k+ and have a contract to prove it. HOW in the world does one get denied for a SECURED credit card?! They are not taking ANY risk except for the costs to make the card and mail it. Capital One misses the whole point of secured cards and have missed out on many potential customers in this way including me. I went to BoA for their secured card and was welcomed appropriately albeit with an annual fee that they sometimes waive. If you have a credit history you'll probably get approved from what I've heard, if you want to build your credit from scratch (even as a new MD in the USA) stay away from this, getting denied just hurts your already labile credit score.

more ...
May 01, 2016
Do not use if you don't have to.
BrianBarr Cardholder

The card is okay. Obviously, no frills/points/etc. However, I've had a very bad experience with trying to get some of my deposit back after I voluntarily gave them more deposit to increase it. They will not refund that money.

Warning! You have the option to provide additional money as collateral for an increased credit limit. However, THEY WILL NOT GIVE THIS MONEY BACK TO YOU, unless you close the entire account. I expected that to be the case of the initial deposit, but not my voluntary extra deposit. I don't want to close the account as I am paying off 2 student loans and don't want a bunch of accounts closing at once - so now I just have $1,000 locked up by Capital One. I've talked to customer service supervisors and everything, THEY WILL NOT REFUND MY DEPOSIT.

Additionally, I've had several poor experiences with their support team in the past. They are not very coordinated over there and have no secure message option, only phone & chat.

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®