Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
778 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 14, 2017
Great to help build credit!
Thelma85 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a score of 560 in Feb 2016 and was approved with a minimum deposit of $99. I made a $100 deposit and they gave me a limit of $201. I use this for small purchases here and there (Birchbox subscription, gas, fast food) and paid more than my minimum payment every month, usually I would pay the entire balance. I logged in this evening to pay my balance of $43 and now my credit limit says $501! So in 11 months they upped me $300. More importantly, in 11 months my credit score has gone from a 560 to a 682 and I was approved for a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards card with a $4,000 limit! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 08, 2017
Good, but there are better options
Verapera Cardholder

I applied without a credit history, and this card did help me build my credit from mid 600 to 720 in 8 months. I have no complaints about customer service or the card itself, but I will say that there are better options. I have used the card responsibly, but am ineligible for a credit limit increase or product change. My secured Discover card, on the other hand, became automatically unsecured at 6 months, and I was recently approved for a $2,500 increase. In addition, it even offers cash back and a matched bonus after the first 12 months. In short, this card is fine, but there are other secured cards that may allow you to build credit even faster. I would recommend shopping around before settling on this one, depending on your situation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 23, 2017
Extremely Disappointed in This Card
TLFord12 Cardholder

The details read "Build Credit" by using this card, etc. I paid $99 for the card and got a $200 credit limit. It took about 3 weeks to get the card. I started to use the card and discovered I was only able to spend $170 out of the $200. I almost maxed it out and immediately made 2 payments, both before the due date. After 3 months I noticed Capital One still had not reported to any credit bureau's. After a phone call to Cap One I was told they would report on a certain date. That date came and went and nothing was reported. Once Cap One finally reported the card to TransUnion (the only bureau they reported to), my credit score shot down 12 points. Simply by having this credit card, my score shot down because I now owe money to someone. 

The best thing to do now is pay this card off and close the account asap. This was a complete disater!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 23, 2017

Score going down is normal, mine did also as well as everyone that got this card, In my case capital one reported to all 3 credit bureaus.

Pay bill off, leaving $1 balance, gives maximum score increase. Takes a few months before score goes up.

My score dropped 33 points, didn't raise til beginning of 5th month, it's up 17 points.

Hang in there with card, it takes time but your score with go up, pay off except for $1 by the 13, Capital one reports on the 16th, after 16th charge what every you like, won't hurt your credit score, pay off by 13th of next month, except $1 and repeat month after month.

 
Nov 23, 2017
Building or rebuilding? Start right her
nursenonnie Cardholder

This card is a staple for building credit! It's in my wallet, and I got one for my adult kids. We discuss our finances together, in front of my grandkids, taking the secret out of responsible credit card use. The mobile app makes it easy to keep track of, easy to illustrate what we're doing right (and what we were doing wrong in the past) and perfectly simple to pay.

more ...
Nov 23, 2017
Awesome
Shelli2018 Cardholder

I applied for this card in October as a recommendation from CreditKarma. They gave me a $500 limit. I was skeptical at first because I'd had a credit card from Capital One in my younger years, but the key was I was young so I decided to try it again. Well in just one month both of my scores have gone up 55 and 56 points. Now my scores are in the 650's, which is not bad for one month's use. The key is to keep your credit utilization under 30% [ mine is right at 30% ], and to pay the balance off IN FULL. I did lots of research on credit cards in general before I applied and everyone said those key points above no matter what company you apply to. I tried it and it works. I would definitely recommend this card. As long as you dont go crazy with the card and pay the balance off in full, you'll be fine and your score will thank you.

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
Perfect to build credit
Wasim82 Cardholder

Customer service not so great. But it's amazing just to build your credit

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
Shipping time
elywinn Cardholder

The shipping time is a little misleading. The card says 7-10 business days to ship although I paid the deposit of $200 ( my credit score being 550) and after 11 days I got an email saying my card has shipped and will arrive on the 27th. 29 days after I paid my deposit. When paying the deposit plan for 22 business days for the card to actually arrive. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
Best option for rebuilding credit!
kierrie Cardholder

I’m so glad I opted for this card. Just as promised, after six months of timely payments, my limit increased by $400. I’ve received other credit card offers due to how I’ve handled this card. It’s doing exactly what I need it to do. My credit score increased by 60 points.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2017

Sounds great, I am trying to get to my six month, I just started my 5th month, got a small raise in my 4th month, 17 points up. If I can get a total raise of 50 or 60 points, after 6 months, I will be on track to be 700 after 1 year. That's my goal to be at or above 700 by July.

 
Nov 20, 2017
Kitalove1 Cardholder

I love this card. I just got approved for $500 from $200 and applied for quick silver and got approved for $300 today. Credit score is 579. I had platinum first before I applied.

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
Research outside of Credit Karma
Coleuniverse Cardholder

I applied for this card and got approved after years of being denied due to my irresponsible college self. I got the card thinking I would be able to build my credit and eventually receive a credit increase, however that’s not the case. This card is solely for building credit because it’s a secured card you’re ineligible for a credit line increase. Get your credit score above 650 and ally for an insecure credit card if you’re looking to have a long term relationship with your card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2017

Not true at all increase credit line after making on time payments after 5 months.

 
Nov 20, 2017
Wow
rcagle85 Cardholder

The first month this card reported to my credit, my credit score dropped 100 points and i've always paid in full. Not very happy. 

more ...
Nov 20, 2017

Yes it drops your credit score, my Trans Union score drop 33 points, 610 to 577.

This last update it's 627, it will take several months before your score actually goes up, it would need to be over 100 to really be a raise.

 
Nov 20, 2017

Didn't do that to mine, only up, up, up. But I guess there is not too much room to go down from 505 and no credit history but bad credit for 7 years.

 
Nov 21, 2017

WalletHub, updates scores more often than CK does, my score on CK hasn't changed, won't change til tomorrow.

Which will be 627 TU score which is the most important to me, the other score is usually higher than TU anyway.

WalletHub reported my score update a few days ago, CK only reports changes every 7 days. Capital One reports score on the 16th.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

778 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i