Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
721 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Our Take

The Capital One® Secured Mastercard® is a good option for people with little or no credit history who are looking to build their credit.

What to Like

This Capital One® Secured Mastercard® has no set up or processing fees. Capital One® reports to all three major credit bureaus so you can take steps to build your credit history. While this card does require an initial security deposit, Capital One® may increase your credit limit without any additional deposits if you use your credit responsibly.

Look Out For

Secured credit cards are great for building credit, but they typically come with annual fees and a required security deposit--and without rewards. It’s important to use your credit responsibly in order to build toward a card with more attractive perks.

Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2015
Great for building credit
Marky447 Cardholder

This card was extremely helpful in helping me to restore my good credit. You all know all the basic stuff to do to get your scores higher and keep them there. So I won't get into any of that. Whatever you do, though, don't feel that you need to put a huge deposit into this card to have a huge available credit, for a better score. That won't matter very much. I wouldn't do more than a couple of hundred bucks and that's it. That way the whole account is easier to keep up with, and it won't let you do crazy stuff to get yourself into a credit problem. Just remember this: Capital One WILL NOT ever, never, ever return your security deposit until you close your account, which is the only way to get the deposit back. They will give you small increases to your credit limit, but nothing that will make you smile. Now, having said that the only way to recover your deposit (if it's a small one, just let it sit there until the Rapture...and beyond) is to close your account, just keep this card for only one year, then if your credit score has climbed up to Fair or better, apply for an unsecured card and close this one, assuming you get the new card. Then go on from there, primarily keeping utilization at or below 20%. Do not secure this card with more than a couple hundred bucks because you're never getting it back! At least for as long as you have this account open.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 25, 2017
no cl increase with this card
yesmam22 Cardholder

Don't apply for this secured card, I've made over 7 monthly payments on time, each month, with sometimes twice in one month and recently requested a CL increase later to find out that they do a hard pull and do not offer CLI's with Secured Cards. BIG MISTAKE!!!. It's my fault as well, should have read disclosures more in depth.

more ...
May 25, 2017
Excited!
deresia04 Cardholder

I'm so happy I can come and finally write my review! This is 100% real I started out with 0 on my trans and now it's at 669 and my eq is 683 ! I got this card the end of April with responsible use , I payed my bill before the due date and now my score has risen way up to the heavens (Praise Break ) lol and yesterday I applied for an Angel Card and I was approved for $350 credit limit ! This is a really great card and the customer service is awesome ! To all the bad reviews , y'all have a serious problem and obviously doing something wrong because capital one has been GOOD to me! Thank You!

more ...
May 24, 2017
No Issues, So far great company
XRay032 Cardholder

I have both a QuickSilver One and a this Mastercard. Both were increased without me requesting a thing. My MasterCard was increased within 5 months of on time payments. Rebuilding credit and Cap1 has been behind me the whole way. So far very happy with the company and service. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 25, 2017

What CS u need to aproved for quicksilver card ?

 
May 24, 2017
Don't give up!
MeganW603 Cardholder

I've owned this card for 6 months now and I thought it was time to write a review! I was approved in December 2016 for a credit line of $200 with a deposit of $200. My TU score at the time was 427 at the time due to some medical collections that had been sitting there unpaid for a long time... ouch. But Capital One decided to take a chance on me! I use this card almost daily to make purchases such as groceries, coffee, etc. then go home and pay off the balance immediately, or at least before my statement date. I have never paid a penny in interest on this card because like I said, I try to use it responsibly for purchases I would make with my debit card normally then just go home and pay it off. Anyway now 6 months later my score is still not fantastic but it's jumped up to 553 and this morning I woke up to a credit limit of $500! Capital One kept their word and reviewed my account and gave me a $300 increase! While it's still not huge, it will help keep my utilization down and hopefully if my score keeps going up the way it is I'll be able to get a better card through them skin. Thanks Capital One!!!

more ...
May 24, 2017
Great
DymestOne Cardholder

Let's be honest we all have or applied for the card to build credit. I am so pleased with Capital One. I opened my secured account in July 2016. I just received an email today my secure credit card was upgraded to unsecured platinum. I saw many reviews that they don't upgrade or return deposit. Those reviews are now wrong. Just use the credit card responsibly. After, my first 5 payments on time, I got my increase with steps. This month would have made another 5 months of on time payments, no increase but I got my deposit and got upgraded. I also have QS One as well and doing great with that credit card too!

more ...
May 24, 2017
Will I get an automatic increase?
Mcallen3 Cardholder

Hi all, I first got this card in June 2016 for 200 CL and I put 99 deposit. I got my first automatic CL increase in December and CL went to $500. I tried to request a credit line increase however its says i'm not eligible becuase I have a secured card. Will I still get an automatice increase after this cycle? I haven't made any late payments of paid any fees until now. and Since then I have the Quicksilver one $500, Credit One $300, Victoria Secret $250 and Ulta $150 all thanks to starting with this secured card. I definetly want the quick silver to grow but I was wondering if this one will also keep increasing. Thank you in advance. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 24, 2017

and Kohls $300

 
May 24, 2017
Wonderful
constance120 Cardholder

Got approved for this card in early January 2017, right after being discharged from a Chapter 7. Had a deposit of $99 for a $200 CL. Received my card mid January. No complaints. Wonderful card. I pay my balance every two weeks. Called customer service and was in formed that I'm scheduled for my CLI 8/13/2017. I'm happy CapOne took a chance on me. TU & EQ score 575. My goal is to hit 600's by December 

more ...
May 25, 2017

With this card there is NO CLI on their Secured Cards. I just recently requested one (CLI) and received a letter back a week later stating that they don't offer CLI on Secured Cards and also got another HARD PULL on my CR. I've paid multiple payments each month, on or before due dates, diligently for 7 mos and NOPE, nothing other than your FICO/CREDIT SCORE Increasing, with this card don't expect one. Don't get me wrong, great customer service and great card other than that, the CLI is the biggest drawback. I wouldn't recommend it for that and only for raising FICO's,where any other card does the same with on time payments and keeping your debt ration under 30%. Good Luck!

 
May 25, 2017

There is an increase. If you make your first 5 payments on time you receive an increase. I spoke with cs and was informed that I'd receive my increase in August. Also upon applying it stated an increase after 1st 5 on time payments

 
May 23, 2017
Really helps build credit!
whitemalia Cardholder

If you want it to repair your credit you gotta spend less than 15%  of your Available credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 24, 2017

It's actually 10%

 
May 23, 2017
Works best for my situation.
Anonymous Cardholder

It takes some time to get the card after the deposit is made. Love no annual fee. Using the app makes making payments super easy and customer service is great.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

721 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i