Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.4682 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.9%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.9%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...

Reviews (974)

Add Review
Nov 30, 2015
MObettacredit Cardholder

My TU score went down due to inquiries!!!! It was 456 went up to 489 now back down to 486. Bad move on my part. But my Equifax was 537 up to 592. I've got to do better. But I'm happy with my progress! Thanks Capital One!

more ...
Nov 30, 2015
MObettacredit Cardholder

Good morning all, well I' ve had this card for 1 month and my credit score went up 55 points 537 to 592!!! Whoo hoo! I'm super geeked! Great tool to rebuild your credit. I never imagined that! It was worth it!

more ...
Nov 28, 2015
secured card horrible credit ok $200down
Anonymous Cardholder

Just got this card a month ago they already report to the credit report and it does show as a regular card its on 2 of my reports didn't check the other...just got a letter today that starting January 19th you no longer will be able to add to the deposit but says they would review it for increases so i plan to add money to it by then. The app is good paid my balance right from my bank acct..also has credit tracker...apt is high but no annual fee using to rebuild credit...fingerhut also approved me 6 months ago and brought my credit up...I only rate the card a 4 because I haven't had it long enough so far so good glad they gave me a chance

more ...
Nov 27, 2015
Perfect Rebuilding Card
Kei88 Cardholder

I applied for this card in April 2015 when trying rebuild my credit from past mistakes, I was approved with a $99 deposit I have 1 other secured card and a month later I was approved for the Quicksilver card I pay my bill on time each month and my score has gone up about 100 point with the cards reporting just this month I checked my balance and it showed the have increased my limit to $500 so I believe the card is now unsecured capital ones customer service is great but I rarely have to call as I can do everything online and never have any issues overall I am very satisfied with this card hope this review can help someone.

more ...
Nov 27, 2015
Despite "Good" Approval Odds - DENIED

I applied for this secured card with a nominal ($500) deposit.  My CreditKarma guesstimated approval odds were Very Good and my credit score was comfortably within the range of other members who were approved.  I have several current accounts that have solid 1 - 3 year payment histories (new car, bank loan, and two other secured cards).  Capital One denied me and said that the ratios were too high.  This is because my old charge-off accounts are still showing as open and over-limit.  All of new accounts are paid more than minimum, carry negligible statement balances (I pay in full almost weekly), and autopay on everything means no late payments.  Intertesting to not that my new car loan is from Capital One Auto Finance, $360 payment, and I pay $500+ each and every month (12 months old) to pay it off sooner and reflect more positively on my credit.  Look at the OPEN SKY secured card.  Minimal fee, AMAZING US-based customer service, NO credit check.  Does not get better than that.

more ...
Nov 30, 2015

Do you have a bank account? That may be why you we're denied.

Nov 30, 2015

Never mind, reading is fundamental. It's probably your ratios.

Nov 25, 2015
If you just moved here, this is the card
Anonymous Cardholder

- I've used this card for 6 month

- Max deposit

- Multiple payments during the month (resetting the credit limit) and keeping credit ratio of ~30%

- Applied to a few cards throughout the first 5 month - all got denied (due to no historical records) - I think you need exactly (minimum) 6 month

- Credit: 690

- Great card, works everywhere, good app - you can make payments easily

more ...
Nov 25, 2015
Great card for rebuilding credit
briddle5 Cardholder

I was required to put $99 security deposit initially however, I put $300 thinking I would have a higher credit limit, not really the case, I only had a $400 credit limit, However, after just 5 months of on time payments and making a much higher than minimum payment each month, they raised the credit limit to $700 and I received a pre-approval letter from them for another unsecured card of which I sent off for and received a $500 credit limit for that one.  I have had the secured card for about 7 months now and hope in a few more months my credit limit will increase again.  The unsecured card I've had for only 2 months, however I received a letter telling me that after 6 months of on time monthly payments, my credit limit will increase with this card as well.  I am very happy with capital one and would recommend them to anyone wanting to rebuild their credit.  By the way, in the past 6 months my credit score has increased over 100 points too!

more ...
Nov 25, 2015


more ...
Nov 25, 2015

Did you apply for the secured card or the regular card

Nov 25, 2015
vanah23 Cardholder

I've had my card about 3 months now, no issues, they have an app you can use to track your spending, balance, and credit!

I've paid my balanced ahead of time to avoid any issues. I'd say its definitley worth the deposit. If you are debating just go for it!

more ...
Nov 25, 2015



Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† We look at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there’s no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®