Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2015
Great for building credit
Marky447 Cardholder

This card was extremely helpful in helping me to restore my good credit. You all know all the basic stuff to do to get your scores higher and keep them there. So I won't get into any of that. Whatever you do, though, don't feel that you need to put a huge deposit into this card to have a huge available credit, for a better score. That won't matter very much. I wouldn't do more than a couple of hundred bucks and that's it. That way the whole account is easier to keep up with, and it won't let you do crazy stuff to get yourself into a credit problem. Just remember this: Capital One WILL NOT ever, never, ever return your security deposit until you close your account, which is the only way to get the deposit back. They will give you small increases to your credit limit, but nothing that will make you smile. Now, having said that the only way to recover your deposit (if it's a small one, just let it sit there until the Rapture...and beyond) is to close your account, just keep this card for only one year, then if your credit score has climbed up to Fair or better, apply for an unsecured card and close this one, assuming you get the new card. Then go on from there, primarily keeping utilization at or below 20%. Do not secure this card with more than a couple hundred bucks because you're never getting it back! At least for as long as you have this account open.

more ...

Reviews (1777)

Add Review
Oct 23, 2016

I applied for this card and was approved for $49 deposit. They pulled from my Transunion my score was 620. I already have the quicksilver w a 750 limit. Hopefully it helps my Equifax score which is lagging behind. Love Cap 1 and looking forward to getting my card!!

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
ClayPh Cardholder

The card is great for building credit. I paid 49 dollars deposit and received 200 and then after 6 months i received 500. Also my credit is way better and was approved for Amazon credit now thanks capital one.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
mrkidc2 Cardholder

The card is good but having to call cs is a hell i wish on no one and i don't like having to wait a after I've paid my bill for my card to be reloaded but that's just me other than that it's ok

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Don't believe CK's Approval Odds!!!!!

I trusted credit karma when I seen the approval odds were good just to get denied!!!! I don't have a lot of debt and I have a loan account that I pay on time every month to prove my worthiness. What is the problem???? Great now another denial of credit and a lower score. THIS IS PURE BS!!!!!!

more ...
Oct 20, 2016

Doesn't make sense. It say's "GOOD," not "GUARANTEED." idiotic criticisms before making a decision.

Oct 21, 2016

You are supposed to review the credit card (which you don't have), not the CK approval odds accuracy. I understand that you're disappointed, however, your "review" isn't helping anyone.

Oct 19, 2016
TZ2615 Cardholder

I applied for this card, and have a 301 limit. I use it and then pay it off completely as soon as i can, i have never been late on a payment , and my score has risen significantly. it has gone up over 100pts. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Just recieved
Buildingcredit1992 Cardholder

For those of you wondering about delivery times to receive once applying, here's my personal experience: added deposit on 10/04 they took the funds from my BofA account on 10/05 recieved an emailing stating my card was shipped on 10/15 and got in my mailbox today 10/18! 

more ...
Oct 20, 2016

Thanks for this post. I was wondering that because I should be expecting one soon. Thanks so much

Oct 21, 2016

Just received my card to two days to come out of account. Put down deposit on Sunday. Came out of account that Tuesday. About a week later received an email that the card was on its way. Received card 3 days later

Oct 17, 2016
Great for rebuilding credit!
Rmartino84 Cardholder

I applied for this card with a 540 credit score and was approved for a $200 cl with a $49 deposit. About a month after receiving this card I started getting other credit card offers in the mail. After 5 months of on time payments they increased my cl to $500 without me requesting an increase. I recently got approved for capital one quick silver card as well with a $500 cl. I now have multiple credit cards and my cs is a 622. I'm definitely not one to write reviews this is actually my first. I'd definitely recommend this to someone trying to fix their credit. I have nothing but good things to say about this card and what it did for my credit as well as giving me other credit opportunities. Does exactly what it says!!!

more ...
Oct 19, 2016

Did you really get approved for the Quicksilver card (unlikely, as it requires great credit) or for the QuicksilverOne card (likely, as it only requires fair credit)? The Quicksilver card is a Visa card and doesn't have an annual fee; the QuicksilverOne is a Mastercard and carries an annual fee. They're not the same card.

Oct 22, 2016

It is the quick silver one.


Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?


Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®