Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®

Approval Odds
Apply Now
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 24.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 24.99%* Variable

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 05, 2013
Satisfied in an understatment
Anonymous Cardholder

I don't usually leave comments, but I hope this helps someone in need. 10 months ago, I had no idea how credit worked and how important it is to establish it. For some reason, I was consistently denied by various credit card companies, including department stores. I had no hope.

Then I came across this secured card, I remember checking my score and it was estimated to be 550 (yeah, that's crap).

Now its been 10 months, $200 limit, no missed payments; my score is 669 with equifax and 680 with transunion. To top it off, I went to my bank (BofA) and was approved for credit card with a $2500 limit.

I have this secured card to thank for getting me started. I see a lot of people complaining about not being able to get the $200 back. I say, forget the $200 bucks, Capital One can keep it. The credit score increase has been invaluable as it literally jump started me to be able to do what I need in the future.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2012
Anonymous Cardholder

It's a great card to recover your credit history, but read the fine print, realize that the APR is very high, and don't expect a real credit limit increase. I decided to get this secured card after I defaulted on my student loans before establishing any real credit history. I was finally able to recover my finances and pay off the loans, but the damage was done and no bank was going to look at my history and extend credit. Since I already had a Cap One banking and savings account, it made sense to stick with them for a secured card, given that they have a pretty solid reputation and my accounts would be streamlined. So, made a $300 deposit, got the card, and started using it responsibly. A year later, they increased my limit by $100. Cool!

So, after another year of careful use, I called them to see about another limit increase. No dice. Asked about having my deposit refunded and moving to a regular Cap One MC. Sure, but I would actually have to close the secured card and open a new unsecured card, but it would report as one card. Wait . . . what!? Is that even possible? Can two accounts be "tied" together to report as one card?

In the end, I pulled my scores, decided they were acceptable (despite my limited history), and found out that my student loan default had been changed to report as paid in good standing (guess someone I spoke to at the collection office had a heart!). Took a total shot in the dark and applied for a low APR rewards card with another bank and not only got an instant approval, but a $5000 credit limit!

So, this will get you out of trouble with careful use, but might become a burden later - now I'm stuck with a low limit, high interest card that has tied up $300 of my money, plus a yearly fee. And I don't dare close the account, because it's my oldest card.

I feel that Cap One's claim of a "refundable" deposit may be a but misleading, since many other secured cards will credit back the deposit once an account has remained in good standing for an amount of time.

more ...
 

Reviews (1441)

Add Review
Jun 25, 2016
Annemarie0 Cardholder

I love this card! Payments are made easy by using the mobile app, $200 credit limit is perfect for starting or credit rebuilding! My score was low 500's when I was approved for this card 6 months ago and now it's near 600! Just got a credit limit increase without having to make an additional deposit. So happy I went with Capital One!

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Good credit builder
anitathebean Cardholder

Applied for this based on CK saying I had a good chance, and I was approved for $200 with a $99 deposit.  Also gave me the option to deposit more with an additional deposit, which I did for a total CL of $300.  I make frequent payments so I am always on time and my rating has increased over 40 points in just 3 months.  I am very happy with this card.

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Kell01 Cardholder

How long before it starts to show up on your credit report. I've had the card about four months and just made a payment two days ago but still don't see it on my credit report nowhere saying I got this card

more ...
Jun 24, 2016

Second bill cycle

 
Jun 26, 2016

i had the same problem i called yesterday spoke to a supervisor and she told me that after you make your 5th pmt they will report to the credit agencies and it will be retroactive.

 
Jun 27, 2016

So after 5th payment my credit score should jump drasictally.

 
Jun 24, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I've been with capital one for 6 years with a secured credit card. To this date it has not been unsecured and I've never received a credit line increase. As a result I recently tried to make a deposit with my own money to increase my credit line only to find out the option to do so is longer available. I called to ask about this and I was told to submit the request online, I did and was denied because capital one does not give credit line increases on secured cards. This is frustrating because the rep should have told me this when I called, and it would have been even more frustrating if I incurred an inquiry on my credit report. I have obtained secured cards from other financial institutions after my capital one card and they all are now unsecured with at least 3 times the limit of my capital one card! I stopped using this card for awhile since the limit ($350) is such child's play but I can't close the account because it is my oldest card supporting the age of my credit history. I wanted an increased limit so I could start using the card again. I have a TU score of 752, EQ score of 736, and EX score of 708. No major loans expect for my student loans and an impeccable on time payment record. My personal opinion is that Capital one is on the low end of the credit card industry totem pole, so it is baffling to me that they would treat their long time standing customers in such manner. This card will continue to collect dust in my wallet and it is unfortunate that I still have to pay the annual fee and ridiculous APR (20%) when I did use the card. In a few years once the age of my credit has matured I will gladly cancel this card.

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Read Fine Print
mcrenegade48 Cardholder

It's a decent card if you are desperate for a credit card from a semi reputable company. However, you need to know some major facts before getting this card.

After I sign up and got approved, I was told by Capitol One that my security deposit is non refundable. That means that if I ever close the card, I automatically lose my $300. I don't know how this is legal...

You should note that got APR is going to be in the 20s. That means you'll be paying around 21% to use your money should you keep a balance on the card. This rate will NEVER decrease.

This card will NEVER graduate to an unsecured card. The only way to get an unsecured card is to either close the account (lose your deposit) and apply for an unsecured or to keep the account open and still apply for an unsecured.

ive had the card for going on 3 years and I've only seen 1 credit limit increase and no offers to "graduate" to an unsecured card or offer to apply for an unsecured.

Being a Veteran, I would highly recommend getting the secured card from Navy Federal or USAA before getting this card. I loved having this card at first, but now it's like a hemroid that will never go away.

more ...
Jun 27, 2016

You do get your deposit back if you clise your card, but that's the only way.

 
Jun 23, 2016
Best bet for rebuilding.
Kevleebro Cardholder

I applied for this card with a CK score of 550tu and 535ef. I also had 6 items in collections.  (One of those items being my first credit card, a capital one, from 6 years ago when I was young and stupid.) 

I was approved with a $200 deposit which I expected. The only reason I'm giving this a 4 star is the delivery method. I'd read reviews that reviving the card can take weeks with little or no info while you wait. This was the case with myself too but don't become discouraged. It's normal. 

I've had the card for almost two months now and my score went up to 561tu just with card activation. That doesn't include my first two months of on time payments yet. I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to rebuild. I can't wait to see what my score is with a few more on time payments and paying off my collections. 

Thanks capital one for the opportunity!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Helps but no CL Increase?
TheStig23 Cardholder

Me and my wife both appilied and was both approved within 6 months she got a CL Increase from $200 to $750! and me? i got squat pay on time use it for gas and food so i really don't understand? All in all it did really help with my credit but don't understand why i havent got a increase?

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Jojofruit Cardholder

My credit score just jumped 89 points. Im still in shock. So grateful that Capital one approved me and can now build my credit. They reported right after my first billing cycle.

more ...
Jun 27, 2016

How long have you had the card?

 

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Statistics

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Capital One offers numerous credit cards to fit consumers’ needs, including rewards cards, competitive rate cards, student cards, secured cards, and several co-branded cards. Capital One's Card Finder Tool also helps consumers determine which card is the right fit, with a quick online form to determine the best card offers according to each consumer's spending needs and finances, with results in about 60 seconds. Headquartered in Virginia, credit cards are issued by Capital One Bank and available in branch and online. Capital One serves banking customers in branches located primarily in New York, New Jersey, Texas, Louisiana, Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Credit cards are available online to all customers nationwide.

Capital One, founded in 1988, is a Fortune 500 company and is a diversified financial services company, offering an array of credit, savings, and loan products for consumer, small business, and commercial clients.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Capital One® Secured MasterCard®