Capital One® Secured Mastercard® Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
664 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR 26.99%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 26, 2018
Impressive!
Star1415 Cardholder

I applied for this card on March 16th 2018, I was approved with a deposit of $49 which I paid right away. I received my card on March 27h. My first payment was due on May 14th, which I paid in full and about two weeks early. It took until May 18th for Capital One to make the first report to the credit bureau. My credit score was at 520 and increased to 604, that is an increase of 84 points! All I could say is wow! If you are debating on wether to get this card or not don't hesitate! It is so worth it and does exactly what it says it will do, build your credit! Thanks Capital One I could not be happier!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 05, 2018
Exemplary
ChasingCredit366 Cardholder

I just started caring about my credit at the age of 29. My score started out at 517and I was clueless on how to bring it up. I started asking around and started researching for myself. Literally everyone/everything always had "Capital One" somewhere in it. I decided to go for it but I knew my score was low and had NOT ONE previous credit card. I went with the secured card from Capital One and low and behold I was approved but did have to drop the $200 for my deposit. ALL WORTH IT! Not even a month in, my score jumped to 640! With all the research I done I knew to keep my utilization low and pay in full each month. I just hit my 6th month and Capital One gave me the $300 increase they promised and I applied for a store card which was approved for $200. My score is now 685 with a CL at $700. Probably still low compared to some but I'm extremely proud of myself and UP is the only way to go from here. Building credit definitely takes time so don't get discouraged. Be patient and DO IT RIGHT and I promise you it will come. Good looking Capital One!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 20, 2019
Ok
ebbyb Cardholder

I've had this card for 4 months now and it only raise my score 5 points so far. I pay it off in full every month. I never carry a balance and it does absolutely nothing for my credit score. I do however have the Discover It card and I love that card so much more. One thing I will say about this card is that it did help me get my Discover it card. That's all. I don't think I will be trying anymore Captial One cards.

more ...
Jan 20, 2019
I love this card!
MrsAsh1 Cardholder

I applied for this card to help boost my credit. I had to pay $99 not the full $200 deposit, and after 5 consecutive on time payments my credit line went from $200 to $500!! After about 3 months of having this card, I applied for the unsecured Capital One Quick Silver card and was approved. I definitely recommend this card!

more ...
Jan 20, 2019

Hi, question, what was your credit score when you applied to the quicksilver card? Thanks

 
Jan 20, 2019

How long did it take to receive the credit limit increase? I've had this card since June and still no increase.

 
Jan 20, 2019
Extremely helpful
Cmtga Cardholder

It did take a moment (2 wks) for approval and an additional month to get my card in the mail. Followed the recommendations to the letter and my credit shot up 82 pts in the first month. Next one is one with rewards. Thank you Capital One for giving me this amazing opportunity!!

more ...
Jan 19, 2019
PERFECT Starter Card!
HeavyD215 Cardholder

Applied for this card in July 2018, I believe my credit score was in the low 500’s. Got approved with a $200 deposit, made an additional deposit to have a $600 credit limit. I made the first 5 payments on time and Capital One gave me a $300 increase! I’m up to a $900 limit. Perfect card if you have screwed up and trying to make improvements to your credit, reports to all the bureaus and definitely helps to raise your credit score. Don’t hesitate to apply. Only downside is the high interest rate but what do you expect if you have shoddy credit?

more ...
Jan 17, 2019
Great coo
cvrgurl25 Cardholder

After my divorce my credit was shot. I applied for a capital one secured card, was approved for a $200 CL and payed my $99 deposit. It’s a start. The interest is always going to be high for someone with bad credit. That’s ok with me since my main purpose is to rebuild my credit. After a month I applied for their car loan and was approved. Now I have a new car my credit has increased 90 points in the last 4 months and I was approved for a Usaa unsecured card $500 CL. I have made all my payments on time and have never had a problem with them. It is a great starter card if your purpose is to rebuild your credit. There’s no annual fee, and this company has never done me wrong yet. I have nothing but good things to say about the company. They gave me a chance when no one else would.

more ...
Jan 17, 2019
VERY HELPFUL CUSTOMER SVC
ttmc11 Cardholder

GREAT FOR REBUILDING CREDIT

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Great place to start!
CapitalTen Cardholder

Rebuilding credit, this is a great go-to. I was even able to pay down a bigger deposit before receiving the card to raise my limit!

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
Easy to get, easy to maintain
Capital1fan Cardholder

After a few failed attempts to get a secured BOA credit card (3 times), I whimsically applied for this card before given up hope. I was approved immediately, started with $300 secured, downloaded Capital one app, researched and got a understanding of credit utilization, and my cards reporting date. Very happy with this starter card.

more ...
Jan 14, 2019
yginoulis Cardholder

I logged into my Credit Karma account and it matched me with a credit card that best fits my score.  This helping me re-establish my credit after filing bk a few years ago.  It is not much of a credit line, but it will increase with on time payments.  It is also connected to our auto loan so I can see my credit card balance as well as what the balance is on our truck.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized

Sample Size: 97,465
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Capital One® Secured Mastercard®

664 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i