Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.8 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 09, 2019
Great travel card
PilotBen Cardholder

A few things to note about this card:

•Authorized users all get a Global Entry credit, whether they’re a Gold or Platinum AU

•One Platinum account gets a $200 airline credit. Additional *Platinum* AUs get their own airline credit, but Gold AUs do not

•You get status with Marriott, Hilton, Hertz, National, and AVIS with a Platinum card

•You get Priority Pass access as well as Delta lounge access. AUs also get this if they’re Platinum AUs

•5x points on airline bookings as well as travel booked through Amex

This card is unreal. If you travel a decent amount, it’s worth it. Plus if you have several family members who can take advantage of benefits as AUs you can get even more value out of it.

$550 is hefty but you can justify it if you travel enough.

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
KonstantinSF Cardholder

The BEST card you can ever have! (unless you get a Centurion offer)

more ...
May 02, 2019

How much is the credit limit

 
May 13, 2019

The Platinum card does not have a credit limit.

 
Apr 12, 2019
Worth it.
Sambd Cardholder

Just approved for the platinum card at age 20! 70k income, all scores are right at 700 +/- about 10 points. If you’re looking to get the card at a young age, I definitely suggest starting off with one of Amex’s lesser cards. (Bluecash, magnet) I got a bluecash card in early 2018. Amex offered me a gold card in January of this year, and I was allowed to upgrade to platinum today. Once you’ve paid Amex for a few months, they send you all types of offers. Annual fee is steep, but almost worth it just to say you have this card lol. Perks are nice also.

more ...
Apr 29, 2019

One thing I truly wish people wouldn’t say like it’s a true accomplishment is their age when they got the Amex. I am 20 as well but got my card last year when I was 19. What does age has to do with anything? It’s the credit report and score. I believe that’s what people mostly care about rather what one got at the age of 20.

 
May 15, 2019

Get a life Sambd. My credit score is 835 and I decided on not getting if because I really don’t need to establish credit with anyone. Sam I paid cash for my first home at your age. Try that on 70k.
Further more son I have 2 credit cards that I charge well over 70k on per year. I’d tell you my age but it really does not mean much to credit companies of credit lines.

 
Mar 23, 2019
Platinum Metal Card...Elite feeling
FriscoCally Cardholder

My favorite card. One of THE best over looked features is the National executive status and Hilton Gold...That alone pays for the fee in he difference of rental car rates. Im not a regular business traveler but when I do travel  and get a car  (maybe 6 times a year) I love this perk.  I also cant tell you how many waiters or merchants compliment me on the metal card. They think your like a baller or something. I got an additional Platinum card for my college aged son for emergency use...He said it really helps with the ladies, they love seeing he is packing it in his wallet. 

more ...
Apr 02, 2019

lol classic with the Son story

 
May 07, 2019

Dad, is that you?

 
May 18, 2019

I'm your FATHER.

 
Mar 18, 2019
Excellent
Kingston1008 Cardholder

Yr and half into my rebuilding and I am the proud owner. You will get there, just have to be discipline and pay your Bill's onetime, do anything but default. My scores are all 686 - 692. So you see I am not where I need to be, I am 100 - 120 points off the pace. I was approached ed for the Gold card 6 months ago and I vigorously put some spending on it and equally aggressively paid and pre pay the balance down complete. I opened an Amex online savings account and those among many other actions got me to here. If you are eyeing this card you may want to follow suit and from what I can tell Amex give great favour to people who they have a relationship with and they have a personal track record of. So there you go. Go get em.

more ...
Mar 20, 2019

Good stuff! How is that Savings Account working out for ya? I've been thinking about opening one of those too.

 
Mar 31, 2019

I'm not getting rich, just a nominal few dollars a month on my money
I put in $2,000 in it a year ago and I am 30 something almost $40 up. For me it was more to get in with them more than anything else. When you get the card account everything will be linked, eventhough initially I had no exposure to the consumer card side of the business. Check it out, it worked like a charm for me, just have to do what is expected of you and allow time to elapse.

 
Mar 12, 2019
LPark2 Cardholder

I don t know why all of the low stars say that this is a bad card but all i can say is it is one of the best cards to have you do have opptions to pay over time it s up to you the perks alone make up for the fees use it responsable and you will be fine

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Tip of the Spear for Balling Hard
JamesCassNB Cardholder

This card is really made out of some kind of metal or alloy. It's really awesome.

more ...
Mar 07, 2019
Hhahah Cardholder

Just got it yesterday. It it sent in a beautiful wood phone stand. I can’t wait to start using it. 

Approval odds are POOR...says Credit Karma. Whatever. 😂😂😂😂

more ...
Mar 09, 2019

What was your credit score

 
Apr 05, 2019

What was your transuion score when you applied mind is 673 and they said my chance are fair

 
May 10, 2019

It's a charge card so the threshold to get it is lower.

 
Mar 04, 2019
Excellent travel benefits
Lucifer187 Cardholder

Use responsibly! I hated the 100 dollar increase.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 

Platinum Card® from American Express

25 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i