Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 15, 2017
Great if you Travel often.....
AustinRB Cardholder

If you fly frequently this cards $550 annual fee can quickly pay for itself. If you don't fly often it's tough to see how to offset the annual fee.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 16, 2016
Its travel protection is same as others.
nyctraveller Cardholder

We got the platinum card not only for the travel benefits but also because of the supposed world-class service it advertises for when things can go wrong with travel. The platinum card perks are great but when you actually have something go wrong, the service you get is about the same as you get with any other regular credit card. My wife bought a flight from the AMEX travel site, using the card, that had a specific itinerary to fly overseas with a 7-hour layover connection in Moscow. During the flight, the airline changed the itinerary to a departure 24 hours later, and AMEX accepted it, without my wife's knowledge, and she got stuck in the airport for another 30 hours.  She had her checked luggage smashed and stolen during the layover, all because AMEX accepted the schedule change. We sent about accepting the schedule change without our involvement, and we filed a luggage assurance claim with AMEX because the airline didn't do anything. It has been over 40 days, and not only have they delayed processing honoring the claims, they have called asking why they should accept responsibility for the mishap when they are accountable. It is shocking; this is the type of service I would expect from a no-frills credit card company that has free products, but not from  a credit card company that charges $475 for the privilege of carrying their card. based on my experience thus far, I cannot say that this product offers anything different from other cards in terms of travel protection. You might as well get a free visa card that has the baggage assurance and normal trip protection. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jun 19, 2017
Applied through Credit Karma
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied though credit karma with odds of very good. Approved instantly. This card is well worth the fee if you travel frenquenty. Lounge access, airline credit, boingo membership and Uber credit in addition to other benefits such as spg gold and Hilton gold make it a good deal for some. If you do t travel that much then I'm not sure how you make use of the perks.

I would however like that the airline credit fee be aligned with other competitors cards such as Chase sapphire and Citi prestige which has less restrictions on what you get credit for - such as purchase of tickets etc. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 22, 2017

Really need to change this badly! They need to give credit for 5X hotel outside their limited online booking which I can find better prices for...

 
Jun 05, 2017
Fantastic card!
Anarchylogic Cardholder

A great card and well worth the annual fee. Was approved instantly with 792 Vantage/645 FICO. AMEX is a great company and wonderful customer service. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 15, 2017

645 FICO?!

 
Jun 05, 2017
Professional
Ptavvs Cardholder

Being a small business owner, it matters that customers notice and respect what this card says about your word, credit and business history, and accomplishments when paying at dinner or traveling.  It is one of a kind and helps close deals in technology!

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Attention Getter
Anonymous Cardholder

You get treated like royalty when you pull this card out. Be prepared for the gawkers.

more ...
May 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

After switching from business Amex to personal Amex I lost all my mile points . Called the customer service and they didn't want to transfer them to the new personal card .

Bad Experience!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2017

Always call before switching or better yet read the disclosure. One star for your carelessness is an unfair review in my opinion. Cheers.

 
May 26, 2017
NO FEE for active duty military
PO3Carmo Cardholder

If you have a good credit score GET THIS CARD. All the benefits are free. They may attempt to charge you the fee at first, just simply call and tell them. I provided my DOD ID number and they waived it right away. Great service. 

more ...
May 29, 2017

Good to know!

 
May 29, 2017

Ignorance on my part, but what's DOD?

 
Jun 02, 2017

Do you have to give them anything else besides your DOD number

 
May 26, 2017
I don't leave home without it!
jvillasjr Cardholder

Great charge card that keeps you in check month over month. No balance carry over since you pay in full, but this card has a Pay Over Time feature similar to a credit card if you need it. 

more ...
May 19, 2017
THE BEST
Marksbrian Cardholder

I COULDNT BE ANYMORE HAPPIER WITH MY AMEX PLATINUM CARD!!! THE BEST OF THE BEST IF YOU CAN HANDLE THE CARD AND UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A CARGE CARD NOT A CREDIT CARD THEN JUST GET IT. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Great card if you spend a lot
moniquegore Cardholder

If you travel and spend a lot then this is a great card to have as the benefits will outweigh the annual fee. There is no currency conversion fees, you'll get $200 airline credit every year for ancillary charges, access to VIP airport lounges, in addition to an extra year warranty on electronics, etc; extra 30 days to return an item. My biggest praise to amex is during a trip to China I bought a pair of $2000 Fendi shoes which someone stole from my luggage at the airport. I filed a claim hoping they would at least reimbursement my account a portion of that charge but to my surprise I received a letter stating they would reimburse the full amount. My response was "American Express got it going on". I have been a member for 5 years and never had an issue with the service or usage of my card. Would give 5 stars but the annual fee is very high for moderate users.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 15, 2017

What are you doing? After they even reimbursed you for $2K shoes you give them 4 stars? LOL what more can you ask?

 
May 15, 2017
Great if you Travel often.....
AustinRB Cardholder

If you fly frequently this cards $550 annual fee can quickly pay for itself. If you don't fly often it's tough to see how to offset the annual fee.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

?>

Platinum Card® from American Express

39 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i