Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.2 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 14, 2017
The Fruits of Hard Work!!
cacole1022 Cardholder

I started rebuilding my credit in 2015 and with the sage advice here on Credit Karma and a LOT of research I earned the privilege of being approved for the Platinum card.  I didn't expect it to be the "savior" of credit cards but there is a certain sense of accomplishment felt by being able to go into a Centurion lounge at the airport!  Call it ego call it pride but when you've come from having a 600 credit score to an Amex Platinum in under 2 years it feels great!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 16, 2016
Its travel protection is same as others.
nyctraveller Cardholder

We got the platinum card not only for the travel benefits but also because of the supposed world-class service it advertises for when things can go wrong with travel. The platinum card perks are great but when you actually have something go wrong, the service you get is about the same as you get with any other regular credit card. My wife bought a flight from the AMEX travel site, using the card, that had a specific itinerary to fly overseas with a 7-hour layover connection in Moscow. During the flight, the airline changed the itinerary to a departure 24 hours later, and AMEX accepted it, without my wife's knowledge, and she got stuck in the airport for another 30 hours.  She had her checked luggage smashed and stolen during the layover, all because AMEX accepted the schedule change. We sent about accepting the schedule change without our involvement, and we filed a luggage assurance claim with AMEX because the airline didn't do anything. It has been over 40 days, and not only have they delayed processing honoring the claims, they have called asking why they should accept responsibility for the mishap when they are accountable. It is shocking; this is the type of service I would expect from a no-frills credit card company that has free products, but not from  a credit card company that charges $475 for the privilege of carrying their card. based on my experience thus far, I cannot say that this product offers anything different from other cards in terms of travel protection. You might as well get a free visa card that has the baggage assurance and normal trip protection. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

May 26, 2017
NO FEE for active duty military
PO3Carmo Cardholder

If you have a good credit score GET THIS CARD. All the benefits are free. They may attempt to charge you the fee at first, just simply call and tell them. I provided my DOD ID number and they waived it right away. Great service. 

more ...
May 26, 2017
I don't leave home without it!
jvillasjr Cardholder

Great charge card that keeps you in check month over month. No balance carry over since you pay in full, but this card has a Pay Over Time feature similar to a credit card if you need it. 

more ...
May 19, 2017
THE BEST
Marksbrian Cardholder

I COULDNT BE ANYMORE HAPPIER WITH MY AMEX PLATINUM CARD!!! THE BEST OF THE BEST IF YOU CAN HANDLE THE CARD AND UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS A CARGE CARD NOT A CREDIT CARD THEN JUST GET IT. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Great card if you spend a lot
moniquegore Cardholder

If you travel and spend a lot then this is a great card to have as the benefits will outweigh the annual fee. There is no currency conversion fees, you'll get $200 airline credit every year for ancillary charges, access to VIP airport lounges, in addition to an extra year warranty on electronics, etc; extra 30 days to return an item. My biggest praise to amex is during a trip to China I bought a pair of $2000 Fendi shoes which someone stole from my luggage at the airport. I filed a claim hoping they would at least reimbursement my account a portion of that charge but to my surprise I received a letter stating they would reimburse the full amount. My response was "American Express got it going on". I have been a member for 5 years and never had an issue with the service or usage of my card. Would give 5 stars but the annual fee is very high for moderate users.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Great if you Travel often.....
AustinRB Cardholder

If you fly frequently this cards $550 annual fee can quickly pay for itself. If you don't fly often it's tough to see how to offset the annual fee.

more ...
May 07, 2017
Great rewards card
Anonymous Cardholder

Awesome for travel 

more ...
May 01, 2017
Travel perks make this a no-brainer
HiroMan Cardholder

First credit card in the US - used Amex international transfer service since I had no US credit history whatsoever. 20+ years history in other countries made approval smooth - card in hand less than a week after applying.

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
Great Card if you travel a lot !
TonySanfran Cardholder

I travel a lot !!!   The centurion lounge alone is worth the annual free.  I fly United.  And if you've ever visited the united club in sfo ??? The centurion lounge puts any lounge to shame.  Plus you get two free   wine tasting. Free booze and free Food and showers.  You and a two guess anytime anywhere.     You also get PriorityPass.  Which allows you to visit several other lounges at airports across the globe with no entry free and two guest as well.  

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Approve with a 648 credit score!!!!!!
gaustin81 Cardholder

I was just approved with a 648 credit score. I just knew i was going to be declined, but I wasn't. Now I'm the card holder of AMEX Blue Cahe Preferred and AMEX Platinum...........

more ...
Apr 27, 2017

Was that Fico or vantagescore?

 
Apr 29, 2017

Congrats! Keep one rule in mind: Pay off the card(s) before the end of the monthly billing cycle.

 
May 18, 2017

What was your vantage TU & EQ score ???

 
Apr 11, 2017
$550 annual fee is absurd

this is the worst card from the worst company in finance

do you have an annual fee and no cash back that amounts to squat is a piece of **** card from a piece of **** company

more ...
Apr 11, 2017

This is not a review...dunno why CK allowed this to be posted. :-|

 
Apr 15, 2017

It is a review albeit a terrible review but nonetheless a review

 
Apr 16, 2017

Why would you grip about the annual fee if you didn't want to pay 550 then don't get the card simple as that! AMEX is a great company to do business with. Sounds like someone is bitter about something.

 
Apr 28, 2017

That is a salty "review"... If you want to call that a review.

 
May 09, 2017

The only thing absurd here is the review. *eye roll*

 
May 11, 2017

It's not for ppl with student budgets

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Platinum Card® from American Express

37 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i