Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Platinum Card® from American Express

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.9 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 29, 2016
Unless You're a Centurion Member...
emeraldhue Cardholder

This is quite possibly the next best thing! I received an email invitation to apply for this card when my FICO score skyrocketed to 826 after getting rid of my mortgage and revolving debts. It was a targeted offer of 50,000 Membership Reward points after spending $5,000 in the first 90 days. And it just so happened that my wife was about to do some international traveling, so the minimum spending requirement was much easier to swallow. However, when I saw the $450 annual fee in the fine print, my immediate reaction was "WTF?!" Additionally, since the offer was only targeted at me, I would have to pay another $175 a year in order to enlist my wife as an unauthorized user with an additional card. But after doing some research and calculating the costs versus the rewards, I realized that even the combined annual fee of $625 would be a joke.  Here's why:

1.  Although I cannot directly purchase airfare with it, the $200 airline credit can be redeemed by linking your account to a domestic airline like Delta or Southwest, and then using the card to purchase gift cards from your chosen airline's website. For example, I linked my account to Delta, and I purchased 4x $50 Delta gift cards in four separate transactions. And within days, $50 statement credits appeared on my account four times. Those cards can then be used for booking Delta flights!

2.  The $100 TSA Global Re-entry fee can be reimbursed for EVERY card holder (primary and additional). So between my wife and I, we can each apply for this program, and we would each get $100 credited back to our cards. This was confirmed by a representative of the Platinum customer service team.

3.  For the 50,000 MR signup bonus, I valuate them at roughly $800 if I transfer the points to a partner airline with a one-to-one transfer rate.

So right off the bat, that's $1200 in savings. Even though I realize that I would be not be getting the same amount of rewards the following year, I have not even begun to mention other Platinum benefits such as free airport lounges and Gold status to Hilton and SPG programs where I would be getting free room upgrades most of the time. Really, the annual fee is an investment which would guarantee much greater returns if you use the benefits. And this is a card that carry many benefits right out of the box. However, where it falls short is in the MR earnings potential. You get 2x MR earning for booking flights from AMEX Travel, and that's it. If it was not for the superb Platinum customer service where you can almost immediately talk to someone from the US 24/7, I would have given this card four stars instead.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 16, 2016
Its travel protection is same as others.
nyctraveller Cardholder

We got the platinum card not only for the travel benefits but also because of the supposed world-class service it advertises for when things can go wrong with travel. The platinum card perks are great but when you actually have something go wrong, the service you get is about the same as you get with any other regular credit card. My wife bought a flight from the AMEX travel site, using the card, that had a specific itinerary to fly overseas with a 7-hour layover connection in Moscow. During the flight, the airline changed the itinerary to a departure 24 hours later, and AMEX accepted it, without my wife's knowledge, and she got stuck in the airport for another 30 hours.  She had her checked luggage smashed and stolen during the layover, all because AMEX accepted the schedule change. We sent about accepting the schedule change without our involvement, and we filed a luggage assurance claim with AMEX because the airline didn't do anything. It has been over 40 days, and not only have they delayed processing honoring the claims, they have called asking why they should accept responsibility for the mishap when they are accountable. It is shocking; this is the type of service I would expect from a no-frills credit card company that has free products, but not from  a credit card company that charges $475 for the privilege of carrying their card. based on my experience thus far, I cannot say that this product offers anything different from other cards in terms of travel protection. You might as well get a free visa card that has the baggage assurance and normal trip protection. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 22, 2016
Amazing
RAR3 Cardholder

This is one of my favorite cards to use on my daily purchases.  The perks outweigh the annual fee and the customer service is outstanding.  When I first applied for this card, I was worried that I would not like it.  Even though I had been an AMEX member for a year prior, I still had doubts because of the fact that it was a charge card.  I figured I would give it a shot and hope for the best.  Now, I use this card for everything almost.  It was a great card and I could not be happier.  Some might aruge that the annual fee is too high, but you have to look at the perks that come with it.  For me, the perks all come without the annual fee as I am active duty military and the annual fee is waived; so getting this card was a no-brainer after I realized that AMEX was military friendly.  The membership rewards add up quickly and extra protection user have is very useful in the event the protection is needed.  Overall, I cannot see myself having any issues with this card.  Now with the new 5X points feature on air travel, there is more of a reason to love this card.  The only issue I could see is with the annual travel credit.  With this card, you have to select an airline upfront and can only have the credit applied to purchases with that airline only (minus tickets).  Whereas my Citi Prestige and MasterCard Black Card, you can use the credit towards any airline to include tickets for the Citi Prestige Card.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
I love my American express business card
Anonymous Cardholder

excellent card for business members

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Prestige
Anonymous Cardholder

I have have had the gold American Express card for over 3 years , I recently received an invitation to upgrade to the platinum card and I was approved. The flight points have been updated for this card and there is no other company that offers 5X points for air fair. Along with the lounge access and many more perks that come with being a platinum card holder. There is even an option to pay over time with a set limit so it can act as a regular credit card. The annual fee is a bit high, but with all the perks this card offeres and the new pay over time option along with the hotel extras I feel as if this is a great card to add to your wallet. I agree regarding the customer service line , the representatives have a thick accent and are hard to understand. Overall I love American Express I've had 2 account with them since 2012 The platinum card and the everyday card with a 15K limit that recently got doubled. Great company , over the top card. 

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Nothing American about American Express
Wokawoka Cardholder

The name is "AMERICAN EXPRESS"...... emphasize the word "AMERICAN". So when you call customer service, guess where you are calling? India

So classy American Express. The customer service has gotten deplorable and cheap. Hell, I get better service with Capital One and yes I'm calling the far east but my fee every year is only $25 not $450. I don't regret duming this card. American Express was so 1980's and took a dive around 2005. When Amex calls me a “member” it’s a joke. Always has been. Membership means something. It means that I’m part of a group that cares about me and that I care about. That’s not American Express.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 26, 2016

Man that's what im saying i applied for this card 10/11/2016 and it's still in progress. I don't need it anyways even though i can afford it

 
Aug 06, 2016
Prestigious card or headache?
rivaling Cardholder

I have been a Premier Rewards gold Card holder for 12 months and spent over $50K the first year.  I was instantly approved to upgrade to the Platinum Card this month.  I will say regardless of being a Platinum Card Holder or Gold Card Holder...the customer service is lack to be desired.  The call centers are very compartmentalized and it's as though one hand doesn't talk to the other.  Only certain reps can assist you with certain issues.  Last month I had a problem I needed resolved and I was transfered to 7 to 8 reps before someone could actually help me.  Very often when calling customer care the wait times are long!  More often than none it will say...higher than expected call volume and that you should call back later if a non urgent matter.  I can tell you that is not the best customer service model.  American Express has many benefits and the rewards program is like no other.  Just a customer service nightmare at times and it shouldn't be that way.  American Express needs to wake up before they alienate more loyal customers.

more ...
Aug 05, 2016
Cancelled all Amex cards after this card
Vaughey Cardholder

Been a loyal amex customer and heavy stock holder for twenty years.  I got a reg amex card in college and one day wanted to the platinum card.  Twenty years later I finally felt comfortable to get one and have now cancelled it and all other amex cards three months later.  For twenty years I have never utilized a benefit and after making almost 10K in spend in the first three months, triple the requirement I was told I cannot use my reward points.  I cannot use the 10K points in pend or the sign up bonus for fraud prevention.  They would not tell me what fraud, why simply you cannot use your benefit but thank you for being a "member" for twenty years.  They actually said thank you for being a member for twenty years but we cannot tell you why we wont let you use your points.  When I was younger I was proud to hold an Amex card i thought it meant somehting, for twenty years I bought amex stock cause well if WarrenBuffet has faith so do I.  The membership rewards people were completely useless in that they would not provide an explanation and stated we cannot tell you why its the computer.  The customer service reps said if the "rewards Lady" cannot help you I cant either.  With so many other cards with such better benefits exist why bother with American Express?  The brand used to be something, the brand used to mean a higher level of support, A higher level of customer satisfaction.  Today though aaAmerican Express is on its dying breath of a brand that used to mean something, a brand who they are riding onto the ground.  After all this I was actually kind of sad to cancel all my cards with American Express.  So with that being said my Citibank card provides me better service and better benefits.  I cannot write too much of a review about the american express card as everything I tried to use with the card was not able to be used.  I could not redeem my points or my sign up points.  The lounge was so full at DFW that I went to another lounge where I could find a seat.  If the hotel status benefits are worth $450 then I would say this card is worth it but do not plan on any form of service from this company those days are dead and gone.  

more ...
Jul 23, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

Just cancelled our platinum card after having it for 6 years, due to the bad customer services and having to deal with call centers in the Far East!!  They promptly cancelled all our reward points that we had earned!! When you ask to be put through to somebody in the United States they say that is not possible.  If you want to pay for the privilege, speak to the Far East when you have a problem then this is the card for you and by the way all the reward redemption values have increased by over 40%

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 26, 2016

Are you sure you were calling the correct customer service number? I have at least six different AMEX cards including the Platinum. The customer service number for the Platinum card is different from all other cards. Every time I've called, be it 2pm or 2am, I spoke to someone in the States. The Platinum call center is a 24/7 operation located inside the States. Call center(s) for other cards are not, and if you call those numbers after business hours, then you will most likely get someone from the Far East. As far as point forfeiture upon cancellation of your card goes, if you have another AMEX card (charge or credit) that earns Membership Reward points (not Everyday Cash), you would have been able to keep your points. Did you ever figure that out during the six years you've had your Platinum card? This is exactly how some people with long and solid credit history churn these cards for their sign up bonuses.

 
Jul 16, 2016
Its travel protection is same as others.
nyctraveller Cardholder

We got the platinum card not only for the travel benefits but also because of the supposed world-class service it advertises for when things can go wrong with travel. The platinum card perks are great but when you actually have something go wrong, the service you get is about the same as you get with any other regular credit card. My wife bought a flight from the AMEX travel site, using the card, that had a specific itinerary to fly overseas with a 7-hour layover connection in Moscow. During the flight, the airline changed the itinerary to a departure 24 hours later, and AMEX accepted it, without my wife's knowledge, and she got stuck in the airport for another 30 hours.  She had her checked luggage smashed and stolen during the layover, all because AMEX accepted the schedule change. We sent about accepting the schedule change without our involvement, and we filed a luggage assurance claim with AMEX because the airline didn't do anything. It has been over 40 days, and not only have they delayed processing honoring the claims, they have called asking why they should accept responsibility for the mishap when they are accountable. It is shocking; this is the type of service I would expect from a no-frills credit card company that has free products, but not from  a credit card company that charges $475 for the privilege of carrying their card. based on my experience thus far, I cannot say that this product offers anything different from other cards in terms of travel protection. You might as well get a free visa card that has the baggage assurance and normal trip protection. 

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Solid card if you have some other cards
NubisDraco Cardholder

I have Citi Prestige and Ritz Carlton Rewards card when I got pre approved for Amex Plat. At first I thought the pathetic MR earning potential and high AF are enough reasons to turn down the offer, the Gold status in SPG and Hilton did catch my eye. The $200 airline credit is okay-ish compared to the $250 I get from Prestige and $300 I get from Ritz Carlton. The Boingo wifi is def a value added though. Overall I'm only using it as a ticket to centurion lounges now after I hit the spending minumum. This card is worth having if you have some other card that earns a higher marginal return per dollar like CSP or Prestige. Since prestige gives me Priority plus two guests and AA lounges, I really would only use Amex Plat for Delta and Centurion lounges. But to be able to hit all lounges available in airport and be Gold status in Marriot, SPG and Hilton is very attractive. Customer service is on average satisfactory, but not as lengendary as some people have advertised it.

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Worth the annual fee
jxbish Cardholder

The annual fee pays for itself with all the benefits of the card. Especially with the 40,000 point sign up bonus

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Platinum Card® from American Express