Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 15, 2017
Great if you Travel often.....
AustinRB Cardholder

If you fly frequently this cards $550 annual fee can quickly pay for itself. If you don't fly often it's tough to see how to offset the annual fee.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 20, 2017
Overrated and not worth the fee
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is not worth the fee. Amex is quick to charge you money but the customer service is substandard, much worse now than it used to be and they do not protect the individual clients. If you have a disputed charge they will side with the vendor because they get more money from them on commissions. After 20 years of paying their fees and seeing the value and service decline, i finally cancelled my card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Aug 11, 2017
so far, so good..
beanie253 Cardholder

i just received my card a few days ago and customer service has been outstanding.  they answered every question i have had quickly and to my satisfaction.  yes, there is a "no pre-set spending limit" but that is based on charges made and payments made.  it's a charge card, NOT a credit card.  i did inquire about a larger purchase i will be making later this month.. as of right now, i can charge just under 30k, and CS said it may be even higher after purchases n payments.  

i have also ordered 3 AU cards for family to take advantage of the perks for and extra $175.  definitely up there including the $550 annual fee.. but i think i will be able to utilize the perks available.  already enrolled in priority pass, spg, and hilton honors.. also with avis, not that i plan to rent cars often, but it's nice having it.  uber linked plus bonus membership points on shopping.  

my only advice is to be proactive on bonus point shopping combined with other offers like alaska air shopping.  double dipping on points n miles!

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Worst card in my wallet.
MochaDiva Cardholder

I applied with 740+ FICO -- don't remember exactly but I know that it was 740+ because I am really proud of having been once at 484 and now being over 70.  I don't pay attention to Vantage anymore because noone else does so I have no idea what my CK score was that day.  The $550 fee is absurd but I paid it because I wanted a card where I could earn points toward travel and I liked the no pre-set spending limit and the pay in full at month end requirement.  Additionally I have read so many good reviews about the card and I saw that I could earn 60000 points in the first 3 months which equals $600 so paying $550 seemed like a good idea.  I earned my points, but along the way there have been too many issues. Yes, it looks great and people are really impressed when you take it out of your wallet... WHO CARES!!  I have now had 3 hotel bills declined at the desk with this gorgeous card.  And just this morning while trying to use it online I was declined an $850 purchase.  In each event the reason I was given when I called customer service was that I had reached the credit limit on my card.  Wait -- the card advertises "no pre-set spending limit" so how can that be? My conversation with the customer service went something like this: Apparently, there IS a spending limit, it's just not preset... HUH?? Well, Miss, you have to establish the spending limit by spending... But I'm trying to spend right now and you won't let me.  Well a few months down the line we will adjust the spending limit if you spend on the card... HUH?? I'm still confused!  And this has happened in 2 other circumstances.  I actually have become afraid to use the card in person because I don't want to be embarassed in having charges declined on a card that weighs 500 pounds!

In case you, like me, are still confused here is the catch with this card:  It costs $550 per year and comes with lots of perks and "no pre-set spending limit".  However, the card uses "algorithms" to understand how much money you spend and evaluate your credit worthiness along the way (initial credit score is clearly unimportant which is why people under 700 can also get approved for this card).  Now I have paid my balance in full on time every month.  Yet, the card comes with many features that are cute and status-worthy but as a functional charge card, so far for me it's not very functional.   $850 is NOT a lot of money and my totaly AVAILABLE credit through other cards exceeds $50K.  Why would I ever want to use a card that I paid $550 to use that won't let me spend $850??  It makes NO SENSE.

more ...
Aug 07, 2017

That's nuts. $850?? Seriously!? 😔

 
Aug 11, 2017

you can check your "spending power" on their website.

 
Aug 12, 2017

I think we're only being told part of the story...did your credit situation change since getting the card? Other balances show up in your history? Score go down? I don't believe for one minute they would decline an $850 charge on this card unless there were other circumstances. In other words, its not Amex's fault...

 
Aug 14, 2017

I don't have the Amex Platinum but I've charged a couple thousand dollars on a single charge multiple times on my Amex BCP and never had an issue. Sounds like something else was going on.

 
Jul 15, 2017
Benefits outweigh the annual fee
Pele808 Cardholder

I received an invitation for this card after having the American Express Everyday Preferred for a little over 6 months. Applied and was approved. The card arrived in a custom stamped, wooden holder which was a nice touch as it doubles as a phone/iPad stand. Signed up for all of the benefits, Uber, Hilton Honors, TSA Pre-check, Airline credit of $200, Hertz Gold, Priority Pass etc. Annual fee is a decent little chunk due within the first billing cycle but all the benefits I've taken advantage of have already surpassed the fee amount. Hotel room and rental vehicle upgrades, Airport Lounges which are really nice, the TSA Pre-check fee was credited within a few days of the charge posting. As this is a charge card, balance is due at the end of the cycle however Amex mailed me information on 2 other options of paying over time. I haven't used those as I pay off whatever the charges are as soon as they post. (This is also what I had been doing with my Amex Everyday Preferred which I would guess helped to generate my invitation to this card) I'm very happy with Amex, both of my cards have excellent benefits and perks. Don't need any other card!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 01, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Jul 14, 2017
Great Travel card!!
Anielsen87 Cardholder

I Applied with a 709 Fico and was approved instantly, and i started at a 612 fico score. I decided to put my big boy pants and take my credit seruously, so for the next year i did just that. So Started from the bottom now we here :)

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Great for frequent travelers
Anonymous Cardholder

$200 airline expenses, $200 Uber land Uber VIo status ,  and airport lounge access alone covers the yearly membership fee of $550. If you travel at least a few times per year. 

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Applied through Credit Karma
Anonymous Cardholder

Applied though credit karma with odds of very good. Approved instantly. This card is well worth the fee if you travel frenquenty. Lounge access, airline credit, boingo membership and Uber credit in addition to other benefits such as spg gold and Hilton gold make it a good deal for some. If you do t travel that much then I'm not sure how you make use of the perks.

I would however like that the airline credit fee be aligned with other competitors cards such as Chase sapphire and Citi prestige which has less restrictions on what you get credit for - such as purchase of tickets etc. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 22, 2017

Really need to change this badly! They need to give credit for 5X hotel outside their limited online booking which I can find better prices for...

 
Jun 05, 2017
Fantastic card!
Anarchylogic Cardholder

A great card and well worth the annual fee. Was approved instantly with 792 Vantage/645 FICO. AMEX is a great company and wonderful customer service. 

more ...
Jun 15, 2017

645 FICO?!

 
Aug 07, 2017

Whoa, wait what? How is your FICO that low, with a near 800 Vantage? (Which is useless) 😕😕

 
Jun 05, 2017
Professional
Ptavvs Cardholder

Being a small business owner, it matters that customers notice and respect what this card says about your word, credit and business history, and accomplishments when paying at dinner or traveling.  It is one of a kind and helps close deals in technology!

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Attention Getter
Anonymous Cardholder

You get treated like royalty when you pull this card out. Be prepared for the gawkers.

more ...
May 27, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

After switching from business Amex to personal Amex I lost all my mile points . Called the customer service and they didn't want to transfer them to the new personal card .

Bad Experience!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 16, 2017

Always call before switching or better yet read the disclosure. One star for your carelessness is an unfair review in my opinion. Cheers.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Platinum Card® from American Express

36 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i