Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews
4.7 out of 5 stars
32 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Feb 16, 2020
Flashy
anon333 Cardholder

I spend $550 a year to have this as a status symbol. I work as a waiter in fine dining and these cards appear to be a dime a dozen, but they are generally held by people who seem to have "extra" money. It is a flashy little card for a young man to carry, but that is what its all about. Lounges and Uber credits make this annual fee very worth it.

more ...
Feb 16, 2020
In love with my Amex Platinum
Ipanisse Cardholder

15 years ago I had a bad run that caused my credit to drop significantly. I had to close all my credit cards and make payment plans. Fast-forward to 2017, decided to reapply to Amex Gold and got approved. This became my daily card and we consolidated all invoices and bills with it. I have 2 authorized users and it gives me clear and precise details of each purchase. Decided it's time for the Platinum upgrade and it feels more convenient than the last time. Every time that I flash my card in airport lounges or establishment it has a sense of recognition and distinction. 
 

I have called couple of times for customer service and it's phenomenal. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2020
Great card for travel purposes!
Gea92 Cardholder

Awesome costumer service and great benefits.

more ...
Jan 28, 2020
Well finally got my Amex.
eimy1985 Cardholder

i applied before  with a 650 credit score and got denied. Second time i tried it it said we need more time but i gave them a call and my addres had to be re enter .  Now got approved with a 753 of course . so far no complaints .

more ...
Dec 15, 2019
amex takes care of business
elpinturo Cardholder

have the gold card asked if i wanted to upgrade to platinum... i did

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 16, 2019

Kind of missed out on the signup bonus tho.

 
Dec 04, 2019
Finally!
Flee123 Cardholder

I babysat my score & my odds for this card for 1 yr. on CK my score was 680 & I applied when my odds were 'good'. I was immediately approved. I have Marriott Bonvoy so that might be a challenge but according to reviews, Amex Platinum is amazing. I just got the card & the benefits are more than anticipated. I had an Amex agent enroll me in the travel rewards perks, so I should expect a card in a couple weeks before I travel. Outside of the annual fee, I'll just have to use this card wisely & pay it off monthly. There's an option to extend the payments, but I'm not too sure on the APR on that. So far all's good!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 25, 2019

If you have an offer for this card, do you have to apply through CK? Or can you go directly to Amex?

 
Nov 20, 2019
Great rewards card with excellent perks
ficus2020 Cardholder

Really great card, I have had it for a few months and couldn't be happier. I haven't made any large purchases but beforehand I would check my purchasing power using the AMEX app. 

more ...
Oct 12, 2019
A must have for the benefits
TIKRITVET Cardholder

This card is not great for "points per dollar spent." The benefits the card has make the card worth it. Seriously it pays for itself. The yearly fee evens out trust me. I was tickled when I called customer service prior to traveling. They said, due to our technology there's no need to call to tell us you're traveling. Ha! I felt like somebody LOL!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2020

What are benefits you get that evens out the yearly fee?

 
Sep 30, 2019
Its the worst card And company
Nicktheflash Cardholder

Its the worst card ever and worst company/bank last weekend whilr i was out and trying to purchase something at the store i realized they reduced my limit FROM 20,000 to 1000 !!!! Unbelievable!! Just because my credit score dropped few points and that’s because of the equifax fraud which i had nothing to do with it and theres a le suit for them! Idk if they can do that i never missed any paiment and never had any issue as of paying my card so just dont get this card or any American express cards theyre really umreliable 

more ...
Sep 30, 2019

Are you sure you actually have the American Express Platinum (charge) card (and not, perhaps, the Delta Platinum (credit) card? I ask because there's no stated "limit" with the Platinum card. I also don't quite understand how the "Equifax fraud", which was a couple years ago now, would have affected your credit score NOW.

 
Oct 10, 2019

Actually yes the charge cards do have a limit. After so much spending your card can be turned off. I called amex to ask what my spending power was for this card and they said 10k. I heard its based on your other total spending limit on all cards but I don't know how true this is, but its true for me.

 
Oct 28, 2019

Funny, you left the EXACT same review, word for word, on the amex every day cash card?

 
Oct 31, 2019

All these so-called credit card companies do that if it drops a little or you miss payments with other people they decrease your credit balance a lot it's sad because you sound like you're a good customer take care.

 
Nov 06, 2019

Another spam, junk story... CK is ripe with these. Whatever. Until CK figures a way to weed out such stupidity, I am off of these reviews and comments.

 
Jan 01, 2020

People.. that reviewer is clearly a troll. Can't spell to save their life, & grammar atrocious. (That alone should be enough to ignore them). Plus another astute commenter noted he's posted identical review on a different card. Idiots & trolls abound these days, sigh.

 
Aug 24, 2019
Nitro1211 Cardholder

Just got this card and I’m very disappointed..been using this card for almost a month now and last night I decided to book my family a nice day at six flags and my card was denied so I did what anyone would do and phoned up American Express and was told that they blocked my card until I’ve made a payment..HUH??...WHAT?...so I asked about the payment and was in total shock when I heard my billing statement will not be ready until September 10 and the payment would be due in October so we continue to talk and I was told from Amex that they needed payment history from me in order to unlock my card..I replied how can there be payment history when my first payment is not due yet??...you haven’t even created an invoice or statement yet and I only have $2,800 charge thus far trying to reach my $5,000 requirement to receive 60,000 points..so then I was told to pay 50% of the balance and they would unlock my card..HUH??...WHAT??...50%?..I ask where are you getting the arbitratray 50% number if no payment is due so basically American Express platinum shut down my card in August for a billing statement that won’t be ready until September 10 and payment won’t be due until October..not keeping this card..going to chase sapphire reserve.

more ...
Aug 24, 2019

O yeah my credit score is 810 on all three credit reports.

 
Aug 25, 2019

Maybe the consumer is supposed to have $6k in charges, not hold a balance of $6k.

 
Sep 30, 2019

I have heard of this before with other credit cards. Banks get scared when the bill keeps going up and its not being payed off every week. They feel like the card is being charged up and then the person takes their whole check to pay it off. I'm not saying you would have not payed, I'm just saying they get scared when they see this sometimes. Even though it's a charge card, we still have a limit based on our total credit card limit among all cards.

 
Sep 30, 2019

Is this your first account with American Express? If you have no previous relationship with them, this scenario (annoying as it was for you) sort of makes sense from their viewpoint.

 
Oct 01, 2019

Since this is a charge card, there isn’t a preset limit. And since your acct is still. Ew, your preset link will be low, and since you were using it a lot, you’ve reach the limit that they had set for you based on various factors one being the acct is new. Therefor if you want to open up that limit you’d need to make a payment to bring down your balance. They probably recommended 50% so that you’d have enough to charge whatever amount you had gotten denied. After several months of normal use it should be ok. Trust me Amex is com-pli-cated. Also, this is a charge card, understand it first before you get upset.

 
Oct 07, 2019

Trying to rack up 6k right away instead of spreading that over 3 months is not wise at all and will lead to your current predicament...you have no history with Amex and people can be dangerous with charge cards because of the lack of a stated limit so there u go.. I have the gold card and never had a problem and I hit my spend over 3 month period no issues

 
Nov 18, 2019

How is there a shock of having to pay 50% of your balance when 100% of your balance MUST be paid at the end of the billing cycle? If this is a problem then Amex isnt for you. In reality credit cards arent for you as you shouldnt hold a balance at all but charge cards are to be paid in full every month. They saw accelerated spending on a new card and understandably wanted to see a payment first before they were on the hook for 6k+.

 
Nov 21, 2019

ahaha what a salty person. i have this card and charged 8k within the first week and i paid it off completely every week, never had a problem with amex and will continue to use them.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Platinum Card® from American Express

32 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i