Platinum Card® from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
33 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2011
ALenahan25 Cardholder

Although I agree that the annual fee seems insulting at first, the customer service and benefits received with this card far outweigh the cost in value.  The concierge service planned a trip for me and my fiancee to Italy and Greece, and the experience was seamless & priceless (and not overwhelmingly expensive).  While we were there, my identity was hacked, and Amex not only caught it within 24 hours but also got me a replacement card the next day AND washed the fraudlent charges without difficulty.  That kind of service is more than I can say about some other credit lenders....

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 16, 2016
Its travel protection is same as others.
nyctraveller Cardholder

We got the platinum card not only for the travel benefits but also because of the supposed world-class service it advertises for when things can go wrong with travel. The platinum card perks are great but when you actually have something go wrong, the service you get is about the same as you get with any other regular credit card. My wife bought a flight from the AMEX travel site, using the card, that had a specific itinerary to fly overseas with a 7-hour layover connection in Moscow. During the flight, the airline changed the itinerary to a departure 24 hours later, and AMEX accepted it, without my wife's knowledge, and she got stuck in the airport for another 30 hours.  She had her checked luggage smashed and stolen during the layover, all because AMEX accepted the schedule change. We sent about accepting the schedule change without our involvement, and we filed a luggage assurance claim with AMEX because the airline didn't do anything. It has been over 40 days, and not only have they delayed processing honoring the claims, they have called asking why they should accept responsibility for the mishap when they are accountable. It is shocking; this is the type of service I would expect from a no-frills credit card company that has free products, but not from  a credit card company that charges $475 for the privilege of carrying their card. based on my experience thus far, I cannot say that this product offers anything different from other cards in terms of travel protection. You might as well get a free visa card that has the baggage assurance and normal trip protection. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Apr 27, 2017
Great Card if you travel a lot !
TonySanfran Cardholder

I travel a lot !!!   The centurion lounge alone is worth the annual free.  I fly United.  And if you've ever visited the united club in sfo ??? The centurion lounge puts any lounge to shame.  Plus you get two free   wine tasting. Free booze and free Food and showers.  You and a two guess anytime anywhere.     You also get PriorityPass.  Which allows you to visit several other lounges at airports across the globe with no entry free and two guest as well.  

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Approve with a 648 credit score!!!!!!
gaustin81 Cardholder

I was just approved with a 648 credit score. I just knew i was going to be declined, but I wasn't. Now I'm the card holder of AMEX Blue Cahe Preferred and AMEX Platinum...........

more ...
Apr 27, 2017

Was that Fico or vantagescore?

 
Apr 29, 2017

Congrats! Keep one rule in mind: Pay off the card(s) before the end of the monthly billing cycle.

 
Apr 11, 2017
$550 annual fee is absurd

this is the worst card from the worst company in finance

do you have an annual fee and no cash back that amounts to squat is a piece of **** card from a piece of **** company

more ...
Apr 11, 2017

This is not a review...dunno why CK allowed this to be posted. :-|

 
Apr 15, 2017

It is a review albeit a terrible review but nonetheless a review

 
Apr 16, 2017

Why would you grip about the annual fee if you didn't want to pay 550 then don't get the card simple as that! AMEX is a great company to do business with. Sounds like someone is bitter about something.

 
Apr 28, 2017

That is a salty "review"... If you want to call that a review.

 
Mar 20, 2017
Overrated and not worth the fee
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is not worth the fee. Amex is quick to charge you money but the customer service is substandard, much worse now than it used to be and they do not protect the individual clients. If you have a disputed charge they will side with the vendor because they get more money from them on commissions. After 20 years of paying their fees and seeing the value and service decline, i finally cancelled my card.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Excellent card with superior perks
brlgoodtimes Cardholder

This card is my go-to for everything! After having AmEx charge cards, no need to ever use a debit/ATM card again. I charge everything to my Platinum AmEx besides most grocery and gas purchases I put on my PRG because of the 2x points, and it is phenomenal watching those points rise every month! Just note: this card has to be paid in full each month at the end of every billing cycle, it is NOT a credit card, it is a charge card. Perfect for travelers, I fly about 25-30 times a year, so complimentary access to Centurion, Priority Pass, and Delta lounges, 5x points on travel, and a $200 airline fee credit sells me the hefty annual fee already...also, the reimbursed TSA Pre-Check and Global Entry is a huge plus. After March 30, AmEx will be raising the $450 annual fee to $550, but I will continue to hold this card since they are adding more great perks with another $200 fee credit for Uber. Since I am moving to Las Vegas in the fall, that will be a huge perk as well. They will also be changing the card to metal to keep up with the Chase Sapphire Reserve, Citi Prestige, etc. I will most likely rid of my PRG after I stack up the points from this year, because I do not need to be paying almost $1000 in annual fees, and I would much rather keep the Platinum for the travel perks. The Platinum customer service is like no other and they are thrilled to help me with anything, and having my own personal concierge is quite nice as well. I do not know what else to say about this card except that it is amazing! If you are not a traveler, look into the PRG, it is quite great as well. I first had the green, then the PRG, and then I ridded of the green and kept the PRG when I got the Platinum. I applied for the Platinum and got approved with a Fico 8 score of 708 and a TU of 736. Best of luck on your searching and approval!  

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
The Fruits of Hard Work!!
cacole1022 Cardholder

I started rebuilding my credit in 2015 and with the sage advice here on Credit Karma and a LOT of research I earned the privilege of being approved for the Platinum card.  I didn't expect it to be the "savior" of credit cards but there is a certain sense of accomplishment felt by being able to go into a Centurion lounge at the airport!  Call it ego call it pride but when you've come from having a 600 credit score to an Amex Platinum in under 2 years it feels great!

more ...
Apr 04, 2017

Congratulations - The elation that comes with success after rebuilding credit is phenomenal!

 
Apr 11, 2017

what was your score the you applied ?

 
Mar 13, 2017
Not a card for those who don't travel.
Anonymous Cardholder

Concierge service, tons of perks for travel, this card is great. With the new metal card, even more people will be wowed. The card looks great and my Chase Sapphire Reserve is my AMEX Platinum's right hand man.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
Majestic!
MrHappy2016 Cardholder

Easy to apply, had an invite, applied and approved! Can't wait to start using it!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Instant approval

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Platinum Card® from American Express

33 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i