Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.7 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $550
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Oct 12, 2019
A must have for the benefits
TIKRITVET Cardholder

This card is not great for "points per dollar spent." The benefits the card has make the card worth it. Seriously it pays for itself. The yearly fee evens out trust me. I was tickled when I called customer service prior to traveling. They said, due to our technology there's no need to call to tell us you're traveling. Ha! I felt like somebody LOL!

more ...
Sep 30, 2019
Its the worst card And company
Nicktheflash Cardholder

Its the worst card ever and worst company/bank last weekend whilr i was out and trying to purchase something at the store i realized they reduced my limit FROM 20,000 to 1000 !!!! Unbelievable!! Just because my credit score dropped few points and that’s because of the equifax fraud which i had nothing to do with it and theres a le suit for them! Idk if they can do that i never missed any paiment and never had any issue as of paying my card so just dont get this card or any American express cards theyre really umreliable 

more ...
Sep 30, 2019

Are you sure you actually have the American Express Platinum (charge) card (and not, perhaps, the Delta Platinum (credit) card? I ask because there's no stated "limit" with the Platinum card. I also don't quite understand how the "Equifax fraud", which was a couple years ago now, would have affected your credit score NOW.

 
Oct 10, 2019

Actually yes the charge cards do have a limit. After so much spending your card can be turned off. I called amex to ask what my spending power was for this card and they said 10k. I heard its based on your other total spending limit on all cards but I don't know how true this is, but its true for me.

 
Oct 28, 2019

Funny, you left the EXACT same review, word for word, on the amex every day cash card?

 
Oct 31, 2019

All these so-called credit card companies do that if it drops a little or you miss payments with other people they decrease your credit balance a lot it's sad because you sound like you're a good customer take care.

 
Nov 06, 2019

Another spam, junk story... CK is ripe with these. Whatever. Until CK figures a way to weed out such stupidity, I am off of these reviews and comments.

 
Aug 24, 2019
Nitro1211 Cardholder

Just got this card and I’m very disappointed..been using this card for almost a month now and last night I decided to book my family a nice day at six flags and my card was denied so I did what anyone would do and phoned up American Express and was told that they blocked my card until I’ve made a payment..HUH??...WHAT?...so I asked about the payment and was in total shock when I heard my billing statement will not be ready until September 10 and the payment would be due in October so we continue to talk and I was told from Amex that they needed payment history from me in order to unlock my card..I replied how can there be payment history when my first payment is not due yet??...you haven’t even created an invoice or statement yet and I only have $2,800 charge thus far trying to reach my $5,000 requirement to receive 60,000 points..so then I was told to pay 50% of the balance and they would unlock my card..HUH??...WHAT??...50%?..I ask where are you getting the arbitratray 50% number if no payment is due so basically American Express platinum shut down my card in August for a billing statement that won’t be ready until September 10 and payment won’t be due until October..not keeping this card..going to chase sapphire reserve.

more ...
Aug 24, 2019

O yeah my credit score is 810 on all three credit reports.

 
Aug 25, 2019

Maybe the consumer is supposed to have $6k in charges, not hold a balance of $6k.

 
Sep 30, 2019

I have heard of this before with other credit cards. Banks get scared when the bill keeps going up and its not being payed off every week. They feel like the card is being charged up and then the person takes their whole check to pay it off. I'm not saying you would have not payed, I'm just saying they get scared when they see this sometimes. Even though it's a charge card, we still have a limit based on our total credit card limit among all cards.

 
Sep 30, 2019

Is this your first account with American Express? If you have no previous relationship with them, this scenario (annoying as it was for you) sort of makes sense from their viewpoint.

 
Oct 01, 2019

Since this is a charge card, there isn’t a preset limit. And since your acct is still. Ew, your preset link will be low, and since you were using it a lot, you’ve reach the limit that they had set for you based on various factors one being the acct is new. Therefor if you want to open up that limit you’d need to make a payment to bring down your balance. They probably recommended 50% so that you’d have enough to charge whatever amount you had gotten denied. After several months of normal use it should be ok. Trust me Amex is com-pli-cated. Also, this is a charge card, understand it first before you get upset.

 
Oct 07, 2019

Trying to rack up 6k right away instead of spreading that over 3 months is not wise at all and will lead to your current predicament...you have no history with Amex and people can be dangerous with charge cards because of the lack of a stated limit so there u go.. I have the gold card and never had a problem and I hit my spend over 3 month period no issues

 
Jul 29, 2019
Great Value
JtheCPA Cardholder

I have a branded Amex platinum with Charles Schwab, and I try to use it  as often as possible. I have the cash magnet, as well as the gold card, which creates the perfect tri-fecta as far as credit cards go. I would recommend this card to any one. The value is tremendous and far outweighs the annual fee! 

more ...
Jul 28, 2019
Best Reward Card
MrSpin83 Cardholder

I am so excited to have this card for many reasons. I had horrible credit about 8 months ago due to a divorce. I worked extremely hard to build my credit up, pay off some negative items and dispute things that were not mine. I keep an eye on this card and the approval chances credit karma gave. When it hit “very good approval” odds I applied and was approved. My trans union score at time was 720 equifax was 721. Do keep in mind that AMEX uses Experian credit FICO score for which my score with them was 660 at the time and was approved. If you travel this is a great card. I received it right before a trip to Chicago and at the airport was able to experience the lounges through priority pass. Also used my Uber credit (you get $15 per month and $20 in December). There are many benefits to this card which makes the $550 fee per year worth it. Not to mention the card it metal and feels and looks really cool :) I feel like I made it with this card. This is a charge card so you are really good to spend daily purchases with it but on the app you can check your spending power and I was able to get approved without contacting AMEX up to $23,000 purchase which I will never do. I highly recommend this card and I’m VERY HAPPY to be an AMEX card holder and member. 

more ...
Sep 27, 2019

This is a made up review. Telling you exactly what you need to apply

 
Sep 30, 2019

It should be mentioned that the Uber credit in December is actually $35, they give $20 extra in that month. Also there are some accounts of cardholders being the subject of an American Express financial review immediately after they "experimented" with the "check spending power" feature, so I'd say caution is advised unless you actually need to check for a planned large purchase.

 
Nov 17, 2019

@Bus5701 not a made up review this is actually my review.

@Credityoudeserve yes you are correct about Uber and I was telling people about the spending power because it helps with embarrassment you do want to put a large purchase on your card and it be declined.

 
Jul 15, 2019
Great for travel purposes

My take on this card is that it's not meant to be a "daily driver" unless you don't care at all about how fast you're accumulating MR points. 5X on airfare, the Hilton Gold status and the airport lounge access are for me the main reasons to have this card. I happen to fly Delta a lot, and their Sky Clubs in the major airports make waiting for flights a lot nicer. Just in one nine-night stay at a Hilton property recently, the free upgrade to a top-floor suite and the daily free breakfast justified a large part of the Platinum card's annual fee. The only annoying "gotcha" is that if you book hotel stays for Hilton and Marriott through the AMEX travel site (have to book that way to earn the 5X MR points on the purchase), the "gold" status at those properties given by the card will NOT be recognized. I am not a frequent Uber user, but the monthly credit does work for Uber Eats so I basically call that "one free delivered lunch per month".

Having this card would make no sense for someone who rarely-to-never travels by air, but frequent travelers will easily get value way beyond the annual fee.

more ...
Jul 07, 2019
Just got approved for this card!
WizzardJoe Cardholder

Have not received it yet, but excited as credit karma said my odds were "poor". Starting to think credit karma is overrated!

more ...
Jul 11, 2019

What are your ck scores?

 
Jul 23, 2019

Apparently Amex approves their charge cards to almost everyone. Go try to get the Chase Sapphire Reserve.

 
Aug 25, 2019

What is your score?

 
Sep 10, 2019

How are the odds poor but you were approved?...

 
Oct 14, 2019

My odds for the gold card were poor as well. CK doesn’t check your EX and American Express pulls your EX Fico score.

 
Jul 06, 2019
PLP11 Cardholder

Best card I’ve ever had. The membership team is amazing and you never have to wait to speak to a live person. Great perks, beautiful card and a fantastic experience! 

more ...
Jun 23, 2019
My favorite card in my wallet!!!
Ironmanjay Cardholder

My first card with American Express is the cash magnet, had it for about a year paid my balance in half or full every month, and just maintained the utilization to 30% or less. After a year was invited to get the Paltinum card. Was a bit skeptical to get because of the 550 annual fee. But after looking at all the benefits that comes with it, they do have value to me. Plus they also have a “pay overtime” feature that allows you to pay like a regular Amex credit card. Great customer services, they show you a lot of love! My score when I got this card was 748 and income 8k-9k monthly. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2019
Ten Years on AMEX Blacklist & APPROVED
AZnovelist Cardholder

It's been a long journey on my way back to AMEX. In 2006 I found myself in an unfortunate situation and sued over a real estate transaction. We lost and walked away from some creditors--AMEX was one of them, to a tune of $24K. From 2006 to 2012 we were chased by creditors and had a mid-500’s credit score. Capital One decided to give me a shot at $300 limit, even though I had defaulted on them. It too a couple years to get it to to a $3K limit, then Chase gave me the Slate. Slowly I crawled out of the low 600’s to the high 6’s and got my first reward card---Chase’s Southwest. I’m a fan of The Points Guy and Read his newsletters. Fast forward to 2019, my score teeters between 750-800, I have 16 cards and over $200K in open lines of credit, and my debt ratio is around 2%---meaning I pay off my cards monthly. I have three premium cards and for the last several years kept getting declined by AMEX. Yesterday I read an article from TPG on AMEX Platinum and decided, what the heck. APPROVED!!!!! There is hope for you that are on the blacklist. 

more ...
Jun 30, 2019

How did you get your income level that high? Have you ever used your lines of credit simultaneously to make a large purchase and would doing so make sense? Great personal story by the way. Great turn around. Congratulations.

 
Jul 20, 2019

My story is virtually identical and I had to make sure it wasn’t something I wrote. I’m still having trouble getting this card but managed to get the Gold card for my business which is not the same. Will keep trying. Thanks for sharing mate.

 
Oct 29, 2019

How many cards do you apply for a year so far I have a few Amex cards I got offer today to get this card excited to try it out. It’s on my business account.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Platinum Card® from American Express Reviews

Platinum Card® from American Express

30 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i