Platinum Card® from American Express

Cardholders' Choice i
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.1 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

Add Review
My Saved Cards
Title
Welcome to My Saved Cards
Save and compare credit cards to find the best fit for you. All you need to do is find cards you like and check the Compare This Card box. When you’re ready to review, click the compare button that appears in this menu.

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $450
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR Not Applicable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 06, 2016
Solid card if you have some other cards
NubisDraco Cardholder

I have Citi Prestige and Ritz Carlton Rewards card when I got pre approved for Amex Plat. At first I thought the pathetic MR earning potential and high AF are enough reasons to turn down the offer, the Gold status in SPG and Hilton did catch my eye. The $200 airline credit is okay-ish compared to the $250 I get from Prestige and $300 I get from Ritz Carlton. The Boingo wifi is def a value added though. Overall I'm only using it as a ticket to centurion lounges now after I hit the spending minumum. This card is worth having if you have some other card that earns a higher marginal return per dollar like CSP or Prestige. Since prestige gives me Priority plus two guests and AA lounges, I really would only use Amex Plat for Delta and Centurion lounges. But to be able to hit all lounges available in airport and be Gold status in Marriot, SPG and Hilton is very attractive. Customer service is on average satisfactory, but not as lengendary as some people have advertised it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 16, 2016
Its travel protection is same as others.
nyctraveller Cardholder

We got the platinum card not only for the travel benefits but also because of the supposed world-class service it advertises for when things can go wrong with travel. The platinum card perks are great but when you actually have something go wrong, the service you get is about the same as you get with any other regular credit card. My wife bought a flight from the AMEX travel site, using the card, that had a specific itinerary to fly overseas with a 7-hour layover connection in Moscow. During the flight, the airline changed the itinerary to a departure 24 hours later, and AMEX accepted it, without my wife's knowledge, and she got stuck in the airport for another 30 hours.  She had her checked luggage smashed and stolen during the layover, all because AMEX accepted the schedule change. We sent about accepting the schedule change without our involvement, and we filed a luggage assurance claim with AMEX because the airline didn't do anything. It has been over 40 days, and not only have they delayed processing honoring the claims, they have called asking why they should accept responsibility for the mishap when they are accountable. It is shocking; this is the type of service I would expect from a no-frills credit card company that has free products, but not from  a credit card company that charges $475 for the privilege of carrying their card. based on my experience thus far, I cannot say that this product offers anything different from other cards in terms of travel protection. You might as well get a free visa card that has the baggage assurance and normal trip protection. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
Overrated and not worth the fee
Anonymous Cardholder

This card is not worth the fee. Amex is quick to charge you money but the customer service is substandard, much worse now than it used to be and they do not protect the individual clients. If you have a disputed charge they will side with the vendor because they get more money from them on commissions. After 20 years of paying their fees and seeing the value and service decline, i finally cancelled my card.

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Excellent card with superior perks
brlgoodtimes Cardholder

This card is my go-to for everything! After having AmEx charge cards, no need to ever use a debit/ATM card again. I charge everything to my Platinum AmEx besides most grocery and gas purchases I put on my PRG because of the 2x points, and it is phenomenal watching those points rise every month! Just note: this card has to be paid in full each month at the end of every billing cycle, it is NOT a credit card, it is a charge card. Perfect for travelers, I fly about 25-30 times a year, so complimentary access to Centurion, Priority Pass, and Delta lounges, 5x points on travel, and a $200 airline fee credit sells me the hefty annual fee already...also, the reimbursed TSA Pre-Check and Global Entry is a huge plus. After March 30, AmEx will be raising the $450 annual fee to $550, but I will continue to hold this card since they are adding more great perks with another $200 fee credit for Uber. Since I am moving to Las Vegas in the fall, that will be a huge perk as well. They will also be changing the card to metal to keep up with the Chase Sapphire Reserve, Citi Prestige, etc. I will most likely rid of my PRG after I stack up the points from this year, because I do not need to be paying almost $1000 in annual fees, and I would much rather keep the Platinum for the travel perks. The Platinum customer service is like no other and they are thrilled to help me with anything, and having my own personal concierge is quite nice as well. I do not know what else to say about this card except that it is amazing! If you are not a traveler, look into the PRG, it is quite great as well. I first had the green, then the PRG, and then I ridded of the green and kept the PRG when I got the Platinum. I applied for the Platinum and got approved with a Fico 8 score of 708 and a TU of 736. Best of luck on your searching and approval!  

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
The Fruits of Hard Work!!
cacole1022 Cardholder

I started rebuilding my credit in 2015 and with the sage advice here on Credit Karma and a LOT of research I earned the privilege of being approved for the Platinum card.  I didn't expect it to be the "savior" of credit cards but there is a certain sense of accomplishment felt by being able to go into a Centurion lounge at the airport!  Call it ego call it pride but when you've come from having a 600 credit score to an Amex Platinum in under 2 years it feels great!

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Not a card for those who don't travel.
Anonymous Cardholder

Concierge service, tons of perks for travel, this card is great. With the new metal card, even more people will be wowed. The card looks great and my Chase Sapphire Reserve is my AMEX Platinum's right hand man.

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
Majestic!
MrHappy2016 Cardholder

Easy to apply, had an invite, applied and approved! Can't wait to start using it!

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Anonymous Cardholder

Instant approval

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Fantastic benefits and customer service
Banryoku Cardholder

The customer service is superb. Amextravel offers great rates. All the benefits, and particularly the travel credit and gold status with HHonors and SPG are fantastic.

more ...
Jan 28, 2017
Greatest customer service, rewards, UE
Anonymous Cardholder

Benefits more than pay for the annual fee (e.g. airline credits, access to lounges, gold status at hotels, no fees on int'l purchases, free travel conceirge, etc.). Customer service is always available almost immediately through the chat function and the employees are competent critical thinkers who answer the hard questions efficiently without (it seems) sticking to some mindless customer service decision tree software. AMEX makse me feel truly valued as a client.

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Outstanding
Anonymous Cardholder

Airline club access, 200 airline credit, excellent customer service, cash back deals, great year end report.  Annual fee is worth the benefits!!!

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Great Travel Card with Premium Perks
darknightnyc Cardholder

I'll attempt to cover everything. Thumbs up if this helps anyone. One of the best (if not the best) travel cards on the market. Received invitation to apply through American Express (Existing card member with Everyday Card ($0 Annual Fee)) and pulled the trigger after doing a huge amount of research.  Similar cards include Chase Sapphire Preferred and Reserve cards but, American Express rules the "status" game with rental car and hotel status included. Airline credit ($200 per account NOT per user) could use some reworking (Hoping they allow general travel use like Chase Sapphire in the soon to near future. 

This is a charge card and so no pre-set spending limit. I use this card primarily for purchases I make on a recurring basis (utilities, bills, etc.) and thus, not spending anything extra on it. The newly formed 5X points on travel booked with airlines or Amex travel is a huge sell. If you have frequent flier status (I have Virgin Gold and TrubeBlue) then you can earn and use award flights quickly. The perks are well worth the AF of this card for those of you who aren't convinced just yet. After the airline credit, its $250/year and if you factor in Global Entry, Priority Pass (lounge access) then it's even less. The lounge access alone can save you money by not having to purchase snacks and beverages at the airport- an average savings of $18-30 for two.

Added my spouse as an AU so we can hit spend limit for 40K bonus. Additional cards are $175 (Flat fee) for up to 3 users. The beauty here is that you'll gather more MR points AND the AU gets Global Entry, Statuses and Priorty Pass (saving you that stinking Guest fee). My opinion with this card is this: it's not all about the money. It's your relationship with them, spending habits and how you use your cards. Don't apply for this card unless you're comfortable with the AF.

Financials: 58K Annual Income (Did not pad or add spouses income), Amex Everyday (8K CL) and Cap1 Quicksilver (4.5K CL). Experian 687 ;TransUnion 690. No BK, Student Loans (52K) in repayment and a few late payments from 2010-11. I tend to keep Credit Utilization at or below 10% at all times.

more ...
Jan 29, 2017

what did they give you for a limit? I know its not preset, but I'm curious. They sent me an invitation as well and you and I share some similarities

 
Feb 06, 2017

As you know, there is no pre-set limit however, when I spoke to a CSR, she confirmed that my spending power was above $3000 (single purchase). Since the Platinum isn't really great for points outside of the 5X travel, I primarily use my Amex Everyday which has an 8K limit.

 
Mar 02, 2017

UPDATE (03-02-2017): The Platinum card will as of March 30th, 2017 have upgraded and/or new features. This will include: Uber ride credits ($15/month according to reports), 5X points on travel booked through Amex travel, a new metallic-weighted card and complimentary access to Priority Pass Lounges for guests (Up to 2- See terms and conditions in updated agreement). While the fee will increase $100, the Uber credit alone will offset if you use that regularly or at least, once a month.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

Platinum Card® from American Express

29 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i