Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

American Express® Preferred Rewards Green Card

Cardholders' Choice i
Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Cardholder Ratings
4.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 12, 2011
brooks718 Cardholder

applied for green after opening amex blue everyday....i don't use this often as it's only for personal travel expenses and school related items (i am grad student). as with all of the amex cards the only thing i really dislike is the lag in posting of rewards .... usually it's about 6 weeks. my ck (TU) score at time of approval was 683.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 04, 2013


more ...

Reviews (59)

Add Review
Oct 21, 2016
AWFUL card No spending limit hurts score
promedia2000 Cardholder

Stay away unless you want your credit score to go down from using this card as amex doesn't report a limit, even $1 on the card looks like its over the limit.

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the green card with a 677 score and instantly approved they pulled exp. I have been rebuilding my credit for about a year now Recently 502 and finally got approved after the second try. I'm too excited to be apart of the Amex family I haven't received my card yet but I'm looking forward to using it 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Nacket Cardholder

Right off the bat, I think it is very important to note that this is a charge card, not a credit card. The balance must be paid off in full each month and is not designed to be carried beyond that. In other words, it's meant to be used like a debit card. I am a student with a limited credit history of only about 6 months, but I was sitll approved for this card! My TU and EQ scores are both 683 with a $1.6k CL and 0% utilization. I wanted a card that I knew I wouldn't be able to carry a balance on so that I wouldn't be tempted to purchase things outside of my budget, and this was definitely it! The $95 annual fee is waived for the first year but is applied the second, which is something to note. When applying for this card, I tried applying with an address that I just recently moved to and I was told to call in after I submitted my application to verify it. They asked me some questions to verify my identity and then told me I was approved! The kind lady who helped me was very pleasant and explained to me all of the features that accompany the card.

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
it really boosted my score
happygal3 Cardholder

My limite was 500.00 that was a year ago. Now my limit is 4400.00.

more ...
May 03, 2016

I had AMEX decades ago and do to my poor money management and immaturity I regretfully filed for bankruptcy!  I loved the Card and I've been trying for years to get back into American Express's good grace.  Well, American Express lost a lot of money on me, and as they should they hold a grudge.  I  have been working hard on my credit for years now and it is now pretty good.   Over the weekend I decided to roll the dice and applied for the green card. Much to my surprise I received the laudable congratulations!   I also applied for the AMEX blue cash rewards card yesterday and it was approved with $10k limit.  I haven't received either one of the cards yet, but I can tell you it sure feels good to be back in the AMEX family.  Thank you American Express for giving me the opportunity to prove myself again. I will not let you down again!

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
Corporate AMEX Green Card
Anonymous Cardholder

So I decided to add a review since this site recently helped me calm my nerves after needing to apply for a corporate green AMEX. I was so nervous because after applying for a job, getting it, and then having to worry about the credit approval process. Of course! Knowing that AMEX only uses Experian and that credit reporting bureau will not furnish your true FICO score upon request and instead give you a Vantagescore which is misleading. I decided to hunt around and TU will give you a FICO score. Save your money on a credit report from the bureau and read these reviews. Real people with real results! I was approved this morning. Hope this review calms some nerves :) TU 695

more ...
Apr 16, 2016
Approved and am awaiting it via mail!
Anonymous Cardholder

I just applied for it two days ago. I was concerned and afraid to but was convinced to try. The rep suggested the Premier Rewards Gold card but we were disconnected; I called back and got someone by the name of Issac. I have a TU of 685, and Experian of 728. My oldest account is now 10 months old with a Secured MasterCard but a credit card is a credit card. I opened a secured Amex with USAA, and now am waiting for my green card in the mail. They were nice and the application was very easy. I will post again after I have used it for a bit. I am so excited!

more ...
Jan 12, 2016
Got approved without a credit score!

I recently moved to US from abroad and I dont have any credit history here (I assume it means score:0),. Applied for a secured credit card from Cap1 and green card from Amex. Both got approved. Amex took a few weeks and asked for my bank statement and income proof . But I finally got the approval. Thanks to this site for providing great guidance on building a good credit score. I am giving only 4 stars as I am yet to start using it. 

more ...
Oct 30, 2015
No Set Credit Limit!
FloridaJ01 Cardholder

This is an ideal emegency use card because of the no set credit limit approval. I was added as an authorized user to this card through my mom's good credit. I'm not ashamed to say that I am in the rebuilding phase of my life and need all the help I can get! I have receenlty stopped using credit to work on the debts that I have but I will definitely use this for emergencies. My mom's TU score is in the high 600's (over 660) and she was approved.

more ...
Sep 10, 2015
So far so good. Nothing exceptional
AptosRunner Cardholder

Just wondering if everyone getting this has name,validity & number embossed in Silver instead of classic Black (which i think looks better) .My name in the bottom is printed way out of the box & overlaps the white border (which for the person at cashier/check out counter is difficult to read) . Might sound silly but Black embossing over green card looked more legible & attractive. 

more ...

Top Similar Cards

Search All Cards
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this card overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this card?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

American Express® Preferred Rewards Green Card

59 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i