Credit Card Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

American Express® Preferred Rewards Green Card

Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.4 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 29, 2016
Good card to have
Anonymous Cardholder

I was approved after a week and a half. I also applied for the Amex everyday card as well on the same day. I had to wait for the fraud department to call and verify it was me but was instantly approved right afterwards. Also they shipped the cards out 2-3 business days so you receive them right away. You also get a account as soon as you're approved.

my credit scores are okay and I guess my history was enough to get me approved. I had two charge offs from 2007 and no late payment or other negative items on my credit report. 

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
JUST APPROVED with Imperfect Credit

Transunion Score 652, Equifax Score 663 

Total Credit Card Limit $9,000 

Total Credit Card Debit $3500

Lots of late payments on my credit report from summer 2015... I was unemployed for 3 months. 

I have been working hard to rebuild my credit over the past two years. 

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
Great card, keeps me spending wisely!
AmexHolder Cardholder

Love the fact that this card requires my charges to be paid in full every month.  I've been on the brink of card debt once already, and I don't want to go back!  This is the perfect balance:  it's the hybrid between a debit and a full on credit card!  It's perfect!  American Express is still a fabulous company, I'd recommend them to anyone!  Get this card if you're conscious about your spending and you want to be debt-free! 

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
AWFUL card No spending limit hurts score
promedia2000 Cardholder

Stay away unless you want your credit score to go down from using this card as amex doesn't report a limit, even $1 on the card looks like its over the limit.

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
Anonymous Cardholder

I applied for the green card with a 677 score and instantly approved they pulled exp. I have been rebuilding my credit for about a year now Recently 502 and finally got approved after the second try. I'm too excited to be apart of the Amex family I haven't received my card yet but I'm looking forward to using it 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
Nacket Cardholder

Right off the bat, I think it is very important to note that this is a charge card, not a credit card. The balance must be paid off in full each month and is not designed to be carried beyond that. In other words, it's meant to be used like a debit card. I am a student with a limited credit history of only about 6 months, but I was sitll approved for this card! My TU and EQ scores are both 683 with a $1.6k CL and 0% utilization. I wanted a card that I knew I wouldn't be able to carry a balance on so that I wouldn't be tempted to purchase things outside of my budget, and this was definitely it! The $95 annual fee is waived for the first year but is applied the second, which is something to note. When applying for this card, I tried applying with an address that I just recently moved to and I was told to call in after I submitted my application to verify it. They asked me some questions to verify my identity and then told me I was approved! The kind lady who helped me was very pleasant and explained to me all of the features that accompany the card.

more ...
Jun 06, 2016
it really boosted my score
happygal3 Cardholder

My limite was 500.00 that was a year ago. Now my limit is 4400.00.

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
Corporate AMEX Green Card
Anonymous Cardholder

So I decided to add a review since this site recently helped me calm my nerves after needing to apply for a corporate green AMEX. I was so nervous because after applying for a job, getting it, and then having to worry about the credit approval process. Of course! Knowing that AMEX only uses Experian and that credit reporting bureau will not furnish your true FICO score upon request and instead give you a Vantagescore which is misleading. I decided to hunt around and TU will give you a FICO score. Save your money on a credit report from the bureau and read these reviews. Real people with real results! I was approved this morning. Hope this review calms some nerves :) TU 695

more ...
Apr 16, 2016
Approved and am awaiting it via mail!
Anonymous Cardholder

I just applied for it two days ago. I was concerned and afraid to but was convinced to try. The rep suggested the Premier Rewards Gold card but we were disconnected; I called back and got someone by the name of Issac. I have a TU of 685, and Experian of 728. My oldest account is now 10 months old with a Secured MasterCard but a credit card is a credit card. I opened a secured Amex with USAA, and now am waiting for my green card in the mail. They were nice and the application was very easy. I will post again after I have used it for a bit. I am so excited!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

American Express® Preferred Rewards Green Card