American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.3 out of 5 stars
66 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 21, 2019
Great Card
kjtydy6 Cardholder

Okay, so I did not want to rush and write a review after my first impresssion, since it was not a good one. Allow me to elaborate. After spending two years repairing my credit and with a CS of 650 at the time, I applied for this credit card because A)CK said I had good approval odds, B) I was sent a pre-approval letter for another one of their cards, so I figured I had good chances, and C) this card has a cash bonus offer when I applied( $150 if I remember correctly) after spending only $1000 within your first three months. Although I did get approved instantly for $1k, they failed to inform me that i did not qualify for the cash bonus offer due to my credit score. Honestly, had I known this before, I woud not have applied. I then found myself with a credit card from a company that I resented already, but used it anyway for everyday purchases such as groceries, gas, and other bills always making sure to pay it off as soon as the charge was posted, always keeping a SUPER LOW balance. They have increased by CL twice since, and I have accumulated a significant amount of reward dollars and you can use them towards a lot of cool things, not just statement credit. They also have offers that you can add on your card to get cash back when purchasing from certain stores, restaurants and hotels(Levi's, Lulu's, Omni Hotels, CPK, MAC, Ray-Ban, etc) This absolutely changed my perspective and although it would have been nice to be eligible for that sign up bonus, this has become my go-to card. 

RE Customer Service: I initially called them when I spend my first $1000 to find out why the credit was not posted. They answered quickly and the operator was very efficient and clear about the procedure of opening the inquiry. I received a call back the next morning. I was in class so I did not answer and they left me a message. I was very impressed they called me and I did not have to be pursuing them to get the answers I needed. They did not have a resolution at that time, but they wanted to let me know they were looking into it and someone would call me. I did receive a call a couple of days later with the dissapointing news I mentioned above. Although I feel the offer was misleading, their service was outstanding and I have zero complains.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2019
Scam
Shezk Cardholder

I applied and received this card about 6 months ago... The first thing I was attracted to was the $150 welcome bonus offered when you spend $1,000 within the first 3 months. After spending WELL over $1,000 in less than the 3 months time frame I never received the welcome bonus or any information pertaining to it. After contacting customer service numerous times they are blatantly not honor the welcome bonus which is STILL posted/offered on all of their websites. Also you are not even able to redeem cash back until you have a minimum of $25 earned each time and many places don't even take American Express. I'm extremely dissatisfied with this card/company and I will no longer be using this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Dec 15, 2019
Great rewards and offers!
Todd007200 Cardholder

Received awesome promotions through American Express and I'm flabbergasted but don't have a 5-star rating.

more ...
Dec 11, 2019
Great card-I use it for all purchases
JS4242 Cardholder

I have had this card for a year. I love it. I got the welcome bonuses when I was told I would and the cash back is awesome! Glad I went with it..

more ...
Dec 10, 2019
Awesome
Upf23 Cardholder

Great card, I got this card with a small CL because of my score then after 9 months they bumped me up to double. Best card I owe, service is amazing and so is Amex overall. Get this card

more ...
Sep 22, 2019
Best first step into the world of Amex!
bjdwashere Cardholder

American Express is the BEST to deal with! They really stand behind the product and put customers first. I can't say the same about some of the other credit cards that I have. I would highly recommend this card to anyone. Thank you credit karma for suggesting this one to me!

more ...
Sep 09, 2019
It was oK
SDFIG Cardholder

I changed to a different card. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

American Express Cash Magnet® Card