American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews
3.3 out of 5 stars
59 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $0
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 15 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

3 star reviews (8) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 04, 2020
easy to get, low credit limit
Angelinas72 Cardholder

i have 10 cc's never a missed payment, always pay full amount off before pmt due on any of them, had a score of 746 when i applied got 2000 cl big deal, sites easy to use but u cant use ur cash back till its 25 or more, no biggy, i never call cs on any of my cards so cant say if their cool or not. Gave 3 stars for the low credit limit, discover gave me 8500 w/a lower score. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 05, 2020

What discover card did u get that 8500 limit on?

 
Aug 23, 2019
Can't pay certain bills but still ok.
Jyws Cardholder

Will update my review once I receive my $150 bonus

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 24, 2019

I got my $150 bonus yay! 5 star now...they did what they said they will do.

 
Aug 06, 2019
754 credit score 9% utilization
Jadesalvatore Cardholder

CK said approval odds were excellent, no pre approval from website though

scores 754, 768, 781

wanted for cash back but mainly for balance transfer of 5k

heard amex was generous with those with good credit scores and responsible usage

I have multiple cards with limits ranging from 5k-10k

only two cards with balances

no negs

long credit hx 

received a tiny 1000$ credit line

not worth the inquiry and will close acct as soon as card arrives 

more ...
Aug 06, 2019

That's nuts some people with credit scores less then 680 are getting 10k limits but us higher 750 plus credit score people get less the. 2000 allowance its crap

 
Aug 06, 2019

Make sure you do not actually "close" the account, but keep it around because closed accounts make your credit look not so good. I keep my unwanted accounts as long as there is no annual fee cause apparently other creditors and lenders will take note on closed accounts.

 
Aug 07, 2019

Thanks for your feedback but closing an act would only affect me negatively if this account were older. Utilization would be affected barely since my available credit without this card is over 100k. Also Amex doesn’t report a new credit line until over month after applying for it so it probably won’t even be calculated in.

 
Aug 07, 2019

And I couldn’t care less if they look at my closed accounts they were all paid and in good standing for us with excellent credit they should be lining up to offer us their services they’re are not many of us and any bank would approve us, these mediocre limits show us whose not worth the trouble.

 
Aug 19, 2019

Just wondering if I was the only one heated about my 1k limit... I wanted to closer it, but my wife convinced me not to...

 
Sep 03, 2019

Hi did you call there recon line? amex dont just look at scores they check everything how i got this card is i have amex everday blue cash 0$ af card i had for 11 months befor that i started my credit with a cap one journey card.

 
Sep 13, 2019

Don't get mad at the computer..! Get an actual "live" person on the phone and you may get what you want..!

 
Aug 03, 2019
754 credit score 9% utilization
Jadesalvatore Cardholder

No neg 

scores 754, 768, 792

tiny 1000$ limit 

not worth the inquiry

more ...
Aug 19, 2019

I guess that's the way they're doing business now... 756 and 0 utilization when I applied...

 
Sep 03, 2019

HI after 6 months you can ask for a cli of 5000 i did.

 
May 26, 2019
Low credit limit $2,000 w/a score of 775
Angelinas72 Cardholder

easy to get the card but they gave me a low credit limit, discover gave me 6gran w/a credit score of 655, chase gave 3400 w/a 775 score, discover is the better card.

more ...
Jun 05, 2019

It should go up. Maybe even over the other cards limits. Things change.

 
Jan 17, 2020

Also if the Amex is most or even more recent approval
it can cause algorithm to present a lower limit because u now have potential to charge up a storm.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express Cash Magnet® Card Reviews

American Express Cash Magnet® Card