American Express® Gold Card Reviews

Cardholders' Choice i
American Express® Gold Card Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

4.3 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR Not Applicable
  • Annual Fee $250
  • Purchase Intro APR Not Applicable
  • Purchase Regular APR See Terms*
Collapse

4 star reviews (10) See All

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 08, 2019
Not bad
SamIamck Cardholder

I checked through Amex website to see if I was pre approved before a HP. It said I was pre approved so I went ahead and applied and I was approved. Great charge card with great cash back. For Amex, they pull Experian so be mindful. If CK says the approval odds are good, check your EXP report as that is they bureau they pull from. TU 740, EQ 746 EXP 670. Before know which Bureau each lender uses, I applied for so many cards which all used EXP which is why that score is significantly lower then the rest. 

more ...
Aug 10, 2019
Sjackson0257 Cardholder

While there is a 250 fee, you can recieve a 120 dining credit for 4 resturants as well as anything on grubhub (10 dollars a month per year) as well as up to a 100 dollar travel reimbersment. Good customer chat service and an easy app to pay bills immediately. 

more ...
May 28, 2019
Great
BrownKmb1 Cardholder

Awesome card! I would've given it 5 stars, it's just hard to utilize the dining credit at least for me. I do not have any of the restaurants near my residence in order to get the $10 monthly dining credit. Not sure if I'll keep after the first year. Approved with FICO scores from Experian 720. My other FICO scores were 736 TU and EQ 737.

more ...
Mar 05, 2019
Good perks!
Hogan315 Cardholder

When I opened this card last year, than annual fee was $195 a

more ...
Mar 10, 2019

Your annual fee will be 195 this year and go to 250 next year

 
Mar 10, 2019

I'm a cardholder myself

 
Mar 18, 2019

The points structure is better. If you don’t like it you can cancel.

 
Jan 02, 2019
I cheat on my Sapphire Reserve with this
PhDarien Cardholder

Excellent card.  The bonus categories speak for themselves.  If only it allowed worldwide restaurants and grocery stores would I give it a 5.  Some of us in the military or on travel are going to be eating out more than usual.  Earning only 1 MR point is unsatisfactory in that regards.  Got approved after being prequalified for the 50K bonus and with only $1K minimum spend instead of 25K and $2K min.  I link this to my delta account for earning SkyMiles when I eat out just like the CSR is linked to my united account.  Get this card because it’s good and get it because the annual fees are waived for military members.  All the perks with no malarkey.  

more ...
Jan 03, 2019

Thank you. Military stationed overseas here. Saved me an application hit. They need to allow extra points for overseas restaurants.

 
Jun 06, 2019

They do now!!

 
Nov 27, 2018
It's a must have. Must have!
Kingston1008 Cardholder

Every meal and every supermarket visit, you need to brandish this card and watch your membership rewards points gather, to the point, they put your hiney in a seat on an aircraft, with no direct cost to you. Try it.. applied in September, first week, automatic decline but 3 days later I called, reconsideration line, answer a bunch of questions and to be honest, the customer service rep was so friendly and helpful, he appeared to want to give me the card more than I was trying to attain it. Amex and their people are top notch. I revere them. Master Class in Customer © Care.

more ...
Nov 28, 2018

Mind sharing what your score was when applying that got you denied at first?

 
Dec 06, 2018

I had 2 charge offs, score was 680 and had 0% utilisation. 14 months since last late. $100,000 income

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 125
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
American Express® Gold Card Reviews

American Express® Gold Card

10 Reviews
Cardholders' Choice i