Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews
Approval Odds

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

3.2 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

Sign up or log in to see your Approval Odds

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2019
Review the list of where you earn cash!
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Beware that Walmart, Target, and Amazon are NOT on the approved grocery stores. Which means that you will not get 6% shopping there for groceries, only 1%. Also, not all gas stations either. Not happy about 95 annual fee but it's very easy to earn the 250 bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2019
Great card
MikeC68 Cardholder

Like the 6% back on groceries / streaming services

more ...
Nov 14, 2019
A poor choice for regular use.
jacobje Cardholder

The rewards are pretty good but the customer service is bad. I got scammed on eBay. I pre-ordered a Nintendo switch lite which said it would ship on 9/20 in August. The seller mailed me a letter confirming that the product would ship on 9/20 and asking me to be patient and give good feedback. I never received the product and the seller would not respond so I disputed the charge with Amex. They investigated the charge and claimed that since the merchant has a tracking number from August that proved I had received the switch lite in August before it was available anywhere. I contacted Amex again by chat and was told the dispute had been decided in my favor and to check the message again, which the message definitely did not say. I called in again and was told the dispute team would be informed but the dispute team responded again saying that they would not reconsider. At this point there were numerous one star reviews on eBay for the item saying it is a scam. I wish I had never applied for Amex.

more ...
Nov 12, 2019
Stay away from Amex!
1437eric Cardholder

Horrible company, bad customer service, you will regret this decision!

more ...
Oct 31, 2019
Best cash back card for groceries.
ImagoDeiGen126 Cardholder

Excellent cash back card.  I get 6% back from streaming services and at US Supermarkets(Kroger, Publix) (Not Superstores:Walmart, Target, etc...) and 3% back at non-superstore/supermarket gas stations.  The customer service has always been top notch.  Highly recommended!

more ...
Oct 23, 2019
Great Card
EddiePA Cardholder

I rarely carry a balance so the card pays for itself. I remember to use it for all grocery purchases and gas from standalone gas stations. BJs and Sams club you only get 1%. You can earl cash back rewards quickly by using it for as many purchases you can and making more than one payment a month. Customer Service is excellent. I got a new card in 2 days after fraud was detected. This is one of the best cards out there. Only downside is this card can't be used that much overseas. Most prefer visa or mastercard. And they charge a foreign exchange fee. I use another card instead. 

more ...
Sep 28, 2019
Excellent
Kingston1008 Cardholder

I received this card on a Saturday, by Monday I charged $1000 on it. On Wednesday I checked my account only to see, the transaction posted and in the same instance it was credited $250. So my outstanding balance was effectively $750. How can you possibly have a bad word to say about this card, especially with all the bonus categories to earn 3% & 6% pure cash back. It's a must have, for me atleast. Please name one Chase card that comes within 100ft of this card? Nil!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 11, 2019

Yup...best raw cash back card out there! Perfect for my wife and I on every level! I earned $45 just in the last statement period alone, and I don't consider myself a huge spender by any means.

 
Sep 26, 2019
Cold Blooded Company
SNGK Cardholder

First time opening an American Express. This company does not support small businesses at all. Most small businesses profit by word of mouth and through family and friends. Tell me how this is acceptable.

I charged my card at my relative's business. Card gets declined. I call in to find out my account is currently getting cancelled due to "conflict of interest" without any notice or warning. It's been literally 2 days since I opened the card from the mail. This is how you treat your customers? 

Yeah sure, it's my relative's business (my little sister if that really matters). But I'm here to support her and pay for her services. How is an invoice and physical goods not enough proof? She runs a t-shirt printing company! She would have to order the tees and print it for me. Nowhere on the card agreement form mentions you can't spend your money on family! I didn't even know this was a thing. This is probably the most absurd and ridiciulous experience I have ever gone through. 

Most of my family members are small business owners. You are stating I cannot support any one of them because they are affiliated to me? You guys need to reconsider what you're doing with your life if you don't believe in helping out your own family. That's bloody cold. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2019
Call India!
sunflowers67 Cardholder

I applied and was approved for this card but I canceled it before i even received it.  I was told I would receive it in 3 to 5 business days.  When I didn't, I called AmEx.  I was then told it was 7 to 11 business days.  When I still hadn't received it (2 1/2 weeks after approval), I called back and was told they didn't have my mailbox number and had sent my card without including it in the address.  They offered to send it UPS guaranteed in 2 days but it bothered me that every call I made to customer service was to India.  Customer service wasn't bad, but I feel like a company that really cares about customer service isn't going to outsource it to India to save a buck.  Especially with a $95 annual fee.  Plus, given the initial mixup, I didn't want to spend the life of the card correcting errors on the cash back I was supposed to be receiving.  

more ...
Sep 28, 2019

I do not believe in Amex whole heartedly but just reading what you wrote, you seem to be bitter, ignorant and thought-,less. Amex is not the problem, you have issues no one can help you with. Take care of yourself because all I see that you did was jeopardised your credit with an unwanted inquiry and a prematurely closed account. Therefore your hate for Amex surpass the care you should take with you credit file.

 
Nov 01, 2019

So a person with an accent that you assumed was of Indian decent picked up and you ASSUMED the company is outsourcing..? Or you have proof ? Also you screwed up entering your own address... his is this a fault of Amex?

 
Aug 28, 2019
worst card service
milindShah Cardholder

I had apply for this card 5 months ago when they were offering welcome bonus of 150$ if I spent 1000 in 3 months. I have given more than 5000 $ business and i called them to find out about my welcome bonus. they made excuses like1. it's your credit report history I have 710 score. 2. reason they say was when I applied for the card there was a pop up which told me I decided to receive the welcome bonus. worst service I expected more from American Express.

more ...
Aug 20, 2019
This is really good card with good rewar
Sujeetpingale Cardholder

This has really good rewards and the plan it feature is the best feature which is missing for many other credit cards.

more ...
Aug 13, 2019
Good grocery store card
Tinney7980 Cardholder

6% back at grocery stores. Wow. Note. Walmart and Target are not grocery stores. They are department stores that sell groceries. I love the cash back. It used to be unlimited but some greedy folks have to ruin it for others. Pity. It’s still pretty good. This is my go to card for grocery shopping. Advice is to pay off the entire balance each month. Amex doesnt have the best APR for purchases. 

more ...
Aug 09, 2019
Great contactless payment
Lifejames101 Cardholder

Great customer service very good when making payments back on card very fast process

more ...
Jun 14, 2019
EXTORTION
Wifey1Sock Cardholder

Last time I ever use a AMEX card, was originally approved for 8k. Now after a few months they randomly decide to lower my CL on multiple cards to obscene amounts forcing my accounts to their max. After I called them to ask what's going on they are demanding early payment on the balance in exchange for the credit limit back. THIS IS EXTORTION. I WILL NEVER USE AMEX AGAIN. 

I used to rave about Amex customer service and features, now I will tell everyone to stay away for the EXTORTIONIST company AMEX.

more ...
Jun 18, 2019

Some’s salty. Extortion? Lol. Make your payments on time bum

 
Jul 03, 2019

There's a reason they're asking you to pay down your balances. Chances are, you have other credit cards or lenders, besides Amex, that are reporting ONE OR MORE of the following to your CBR: high balances, other accts near their credit limits, overall total balances to credit limit ratio is high; 1 or more late payments or a significant change in Credit Score; just to name a few.

These could trigger a lender that you have an established relationship with to change the terms, like APR, or lower the credit limit, like what happened to yourself.
It's nothing personal, it's business because they're reassessing your overall risk.

Even if none of these applies to your situation, your overall balance between all lenders not being paid down or a pattern of your balances increasing. Even with a current lender, if your balance never changes and is always increasing, or is always at or around the credit limit, depending upon how high your balance is, they can cancel the card or lower the credit limit because of the over all risk to them and yourself. Lenders take into consideration your minimum payment amount and how it relates to your reported income, like from employment. You could have reported to Amex that your annual income is $45k/yr. Your credit limit with them is $10k and your other cards total combined credit limit could be $100k. If your total balances reported to your CBR is $97k, that's extremely high, in addition to your reported salary being significantly less than your total debt and credit limits. You could have no late payments and a good relationship with all lenders, and the income and limits info above is enough for them to lower your limits or cancel the card. It's all about risk management.
Yes, a lender would be willing to sacrifice the relationship they have when a customer in favor of reducing their risk.

Your bestfriend has been borrowing $40 for gas every week for the last 2 months, but has only paid you back once. This week, they asked to borrow $60. They currently owe you $280.
Do you continue to loan them money and take a risk? Keep in mind, this isn't about, "that's what friends are for.". This is business and not personal.

I'd tell them no, until they can catch up all or most of what they already owe me. This is how personal relationships are severed most of the time.

 
Jul 10, 2019

I bet Amex used to rave about you as a customer, but now they will tell other card issuers to stay away from Wifey1Sock.

 
Aug 23, 2019

Pay down your balances, that’s the only reason they would have to do that. They just re-evaluate their relationship with you that’s all.

 
Oct 21, 2019

Why are you carry on a balance ? Cards are to be pay off every month. Not to be use a suplementar income. You became a credit risk by carryon balance on multiple cards. They minimized their risk.

 
May 29, 2019
Review the list of where you earn cash!
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Beware that Walmart, Target, and Amazon are NOT on the approved grocery stores. Which means that you will not get 6% shopping there for groceries, only 1%. Also, not all gas stations either. Not happy about 95 annual fee but it's very easy to earn the 250 bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 03, 2019

I get 6% at Walmart neighborhood markets but not at superstores. I easily get enough in cash back to much more than pay the $95.

 
May 23, 2019
Great card!
ChargerGreg Cardholder

Great rewards/customer service/cash back/cash advance/ easily worth the paltry $95 annual fee. Like it better than my Platinum card for day to day use. Asked for a bump to $50K from $30K and all they needed was a docusign and a few electronic lines from the previous two 1040's. piece of cake!. waiting on another $10K approval (hopefully) regardlless, great card.

more ...
May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Stay away from amex. They do not care
ssmokeyy Cardholder

They do not care about there customer at all. I had a zero balance and they let me go becuase i didn't leave a **** ton of credit with them and pay there high rates. They also did this to my bussiness card i had with them also. 

more ...
May 23, 2019

They cared about THEIR customer here to check his previous two tax returns when I requested a bump from 30 grand to 50 grand in credit (which of course I received because I make the money). Everyone believes you had a business card with them as well. You can't even spell business (either). Maybe it was a Toy card for an imaginary busineSS.

 
Sep 23, 2019

I have had this card for a number of years and have never paid them a penny of interest much less left a ****ton of credit with them to pay THEIR high rates. My account has never been closed nor has my CL been reduced. I'd say there's more to your story than you choose to admit.

 
Apr 13, 2019
Terrible Experience
BCorsair2 Cardholder

Beware. American Express is like a bad relationship. They do not follow through with their promises, cheat you out of your miles, and provide no value to you or your credit. What's worse is that you pay annualy for the mistreatment. No thanks. I've moved on to something better.

more ...
Aug 15, 2019

This isn't a miles card.

 
Aug 23, 2019

This is a cash back card, that could be the reason you didn’t receive points (not miles).

 
Mar 23, 2019
Spamming
AmirMero Cardholder

Before I apply for this card they told my the cash rewards for US Supermarkets are 6% but NO, in the reality it is ONLY 1%. There is no immediate feedback in the app to show me my rewards. The customer support told me I have to wait one month to see my rewards but in the reality it took me more than Two month to see it. then the app shows me less than I expected!!! And still no details. I asked the customer support about the details so they send me a link. It was showing me Walmart and HEB which I always use is only 1% !!!!!!! 

Then the customer support told me that this stores are not in their list!!!!!!

there is no any of their lists on my town!!! So this card is useless for me and they are so snaky ! 

Very disappointed.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 23, 2019

Sounds like you didn’t have the basic understanding of the card before you used got it. 1) In the FAQ detailing the types of purchases and their entitled rewards the FAQ states that superstores DO NOT count as supermarkets. For example: Walmart and Target. Think “grocery store only” next time you want the 6% cash back. Stores like Food Lion and Kroger are available for the 6% cash back. 2) You receive your rewards and a detailed list of how much cash back you gained for each purchase online and not on the app. The app is a simplified tool to use and doesn’t contain all features. 3) One month after your bill is due you receive your rewards. An example of this: you spend $100 October 5th and your bill is due the 27th of that month. You won’t receive your rewards until the 27th of November for that purchase.

 
Mar 11, 2019
Easy, good cash back for families
jdec57 Cardholder

I've always had great customer service from Amex, returns are processed promptly and I LOVE earning 6% rewards at grocery stores although I sincerely wish that Costco could be included. <y only ding for Amex is that they are relentless with trying to get me to upgrade to gold or platinum and I am not interested.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 05, 2019

The BCP is a wonderful card, and I used it for 2 years before I realized that it's not going to get me free vacations. The Gold card, however, will someday. The points add up really fast, and points valuations dictate that it's actually able to save the customer more money in getting to where they want to go than the BCP is. The benefits of the Gold far outweigh the annual fee, IMO.

 
Mar 02, 2019
Usefulness depends on usage.
X25064 Cardholder

I don't carry a balance. Never have, never will. I use cards to keep a score and pay for things I can already afford, but want to shift the burden on my back account around for. That said, this cards highlight is it's cash back ability. I don't use it for groceries much but did use it for gas a bit. I always felt that the cash back rate was still slower than my Capital One Quicksilver One card. It was not at all worth the $150 annual fee. I downgraded to the Cash Magnet card which Amex did for me no questions asked. I've never had an issue with Amex service as it's excellent, their app is fantastic, and their general services such as rental insurance and foreign exchange services are top notch.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 03, 2019

You are correct that if you don't use it for groceries it may not be cost effective to pay $95 per year for the card. Having said that I don't understand how putting them on a card with lower cash back ie: Quicksilver One or paying for them from your bank account could possibly be more cost effective than getting 6% cash back.

Also, the annual fee is not $150 its $95. At $150 it would probably not be worth it.

 
Jan 10, 2019
Beneficial
nperez60804 Cardholder

I've been an Amex card holder for many years now and the this card has proven its worth to me. They has exceptional customer service and I even added my spouse so that we can share the card's credit. There is a high annual fee, but if you utilize the card to its full potential then the fee ends up being paid for by its self. We use our card for for already budgeted items such as groceries and car fuel. Then we just pay it off in full monthly. This has worked wonderful for improving our credit scores. We use the Amex rewards we earn from getting our monthly necesities and we apply them directly into the cards Balance payment everyother month and that's how the card pays for itself. Again, Its a great card if you use it to its potential and I highly recommend it to others. Very relable and beneficial card.

more ...
Jan 01, 2019
Great card with great benefits.
ThatRebelComic Cardholder

Credit Karma noted that I was pre-approved for this card.  I had been looking for some time to find a card that had the sort of benefits I want, and this one fits the bill.  The application process was easy and my card arrived a couple of weeks later.  If I had one issue with the card issuance process, it would be the fact that it did not arrive as quickly as I had been led to believe, but on the whole, that's a minor issue.  My overall experiences have been nothing but good and I'm glad I applied.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 20, 2019

Did you apply through CK or directly to Amex?

 
Dec 13, 2018
Great cash back rewards
Streetglide59 Cardholder

This is my go to card for every day purchases at grocery stores, paying for gas at the pump, cell phone and cable bill. The cash back rewards add up quick and like the flexibility on how you can spend the rewards. You can take a statement credit or use to purchase gift cards and of course the online shopping catalog. I pay my balance each month. I applied for the card in 2013 with a FICO of 720 and was approved with a $5,000 limit. In 6 months, they raised my limit to $11,500 and after 2 years they raised it to where it currently sits at $17,100. The application process was easy and was approved in a matter of seconds after the online submit. As always, American Express has awesome customer service and I would definitely recommend this card. 

more ...
Jan 31, 2019

The FICO is the score that Credit Karma shows you?

 
Feb 03, 2019

Credit Karma uses Vantage not FICO; a wise consumer will track both.

 
Dec 12, 2018
Not as described
drami985 Cardholder

Was approved for $20k, they gave me a $5k balance transfer amount. Not impressed. Spoke to customer service. Would not increase transfer limit. The whole reason I applied for this card was for the 0% balance transfer deal. Definitely would not recommend. I’ll take advantage of the 0% deal, then I’m canceling this card. 

more ...
May 19, 2019

$20k limit and $5k balance transfer, and you think it's a bad deal. Why didn't you cancelled it on the spot?

 
Jun 07, 2019

Why cancel and hurt your credit and have a hard pull for nothing? Why not just downgrade to a different card with no annual fee?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express