Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews
3.3 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Cardholders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Card Details

  • Balance Transfer Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Balance Transfer Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
  • Annual Fee $95
  • Purchase Intro APR 0% for 12 Months
  • Purchase Regular APR 14.49% - 25.49%* Variable
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 08, 2019
Good Card!!
cripple2 Cardholder

I have had this card over two years. They gave me a HIGH LIMIT compared to almost everyone else. answer your questions, and provide good service. They dont hassle you on purchases like other banks calling you to see if you REALLY bought that Big Screen TV  and stop your POS purcahse like some other horrible banks., I do not keep cards whertre they question every purchase. The application process is easy compared to most other banks. I have a fairly decent Cash access (vs straight credit) as well .I do not see the nergatives .  I have NOT used the card in 10 months (didnt need it) and they have NOT reduced my line of credit. I dont even need a credit increase I am satisifed with an  over 8K limit as I have many other cards. They DID stop a number of benefits to the card but still has many features other cards may not offer such as car rental insurane. You need a credit score over 680 to to really get good use out of the card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 29, 2019
Review the list of where you earn cash!
LionheartLeo Cardholder

Beware that Walmart, Target, and Amazon are NOT on the approved grocery stores. Which means that you will not get 6% shopping there for groceries, only 1%. Also, not all gas stations either. Not happy about 95 annual fee but it's very easy to earn the 250 bonus.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former cardholders in the last year.

Jan 14, 2020
Fantastic card for big families!
spoolntsi Cardholder

If you use the card correctly it will save you money! I use this card the most out of all the cards I have for the rewards. Mostly for groceries and gas and few other things. We are a family of 6. Got this card a year ago with an initial cl of $11k which was raised to $16,500 after 6 months. Our grocery trips are anywhere from $200-$300 a week. We also make multiple payments throughout the month. We go to the grocery store then pay that portion off the next day. We have already gotten at least to free trips of groceries just on rewards. You do max out on the rewards at $6k which we have already reached. Everything after that is only one percent. This card has by far paid for itself and then some! $95 annual fee is nothing! Highly recommended! The rewards are fantastic! Customer service is great!

more ...
Dec 27, 2019
Nice design. Plastic and not medal.
FalconsFan0614 Cardholder

Great cash back options, amex customer service is amazing also, I was approved with a transunion 725 and Equifax 717

more ...
Dec 13, 2019
Not worth the annual fee
alie960707 Cardholder

It has really good cashback on grocery but not gonna be worth the annual fee since it only apply to supermarkets and it doesn't include Costco, Targe or any local small business...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2020

Costco doesn’t take Amex regardless only visa now and it depends on the merchant how they are identified by Amex

 
Dec 06, 2019
The worst
Alissa225 Cardholder

I was approved with the promotion free interest for 15 months in june..its now December and never once did they honor the promotion or applied it to my account. I called October they said give it a week it's under investigation..I called 2 weeks later in November they said the samething..I called today and the same answer so since it takes them months to fo an investigation I canceled the card and will never do buisness with them again.

more ...
Nov 30, 2019
Among the very few best companies!
DMS1409881 Cardholder

Granted higher credit limit than any competitor. Customer service fast and first class. That, plus the generous AMEX perks, makes this, my "go to" card.
Highly recommended!

more ...
Nov 23, 2019
Excellent Service
HappyCamper78 Cardholder

Between this card and a Business card I spend about $6000 a month. AMEX customer serivice is the best in the business. On the Blue Cash we put all our groceries, gas, streaming services and earn loads of cash back. 

more ...
Nov 16, 2019
Great card
MikeC68 Cardholder

Like the 6% back on groceries / streaming services

more ...
Nov 14, 2019
A poor choice for regular use.
jacobje Cardholder

The rewards are pretty good but the customer service is bad. I got scammed on eBay. I pre-ordered a Nintendo switch lite which said it would ship on 9/20 in August. The seller mailed me a letter confirming that the product would ship on 9/20 and asking me to be patient and give good feedback. I never received the product and the seller would not respond so I disputed the charge with Amex. They investigated the charge and claimed that since the merchant has a tracking number from August that proved I had received the switch lite in August before it was available anywhere. I contacted Amex again by chat and was told the dispute had been decided in my favor and to check the message again, which the message definitely did not say. I called in again and was told the dispute team would be informed but the dispute team responded again saying that they would not reconsider. At this point there were numerous one star reviews on eBay for the item saying it is a scam. I wish I had never applied for Amex.

more ...
Nov 20, 2019

This is why you use PayPal on eBay......

 
Nov 23, 2019

Not amex fault. They can help you but don't have to. Always use third parties on ebay. And consider contacting ebay. I avoided a $500 charge by talking to their customer service but ended up buying the item anyway

 
Nov 24, 2019

All eBay purchases should go through PayPal in order to be protected for cases such as this. If you wait too long to initiate a chargeback that's on you.

 
Nov 28, 2019

You can't expect a credit card company to solve YOUR problem

 
Dec 05, 2019

Both EBay and PayPal can fix this. EBay has a 100% Buyer Protection and PayPal will refund you,. I know, this has happened to me !! Not AMEX fault !!

 
Dec 17, 2019

You should have contacted the retailer first and foremost. In any case ever. And like the others said, if the item is not as described, they'll refund you the whole amount. And always look at the history of the seller

 
Nov 12, 2019
Stay away from Amex!
1437eric Cardholder

Horrible company, bad customer service, you will regret this decision!

more ...
Oct 31, 2019
Best cash back card for groceries.
ImagoDeiGen126 Cardholder

Excellent cash back card.  I get 6% back from streaming services and at US Supermarkets(Kroger, Publix) (Not Superstores:Walmart, Target, etc...) and 3% back at non-superstore/supermarket gas stations.  The customer service has always been top notch.  Highly recommended!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this card overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this card?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Compare Holders of this Card

Credit Score
Credit Limit
Current Balance
Credit Limit Utilized
60+ Days Past Due Status
Age of Cardholder

Sample Size: 1,642
Data Created: February 02, 2015

Note: Sample data consists of Credit Karma members who hold this card.
The following information and reviews are brought to you by Credit Karma and/or its users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

See Your Approval Odds Before You Apply

Sign up for a free membership, and Credit Karma can estimate your chances of approval based on your credit profile. You’ll also get:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

See the online Provider's credit card application for details about terms and conditions. Reasonable efforts are made to maintain accurate information. However all credit card information is presented without warranty. When you click on the 'Apply Now' button, you can review the credit card terms and conditions on the provider's website.

† Credit Karma looks at how your credit profile compares to other Credit Karma members who were approved for this product. Of course, there's no such thing as a sure thing, but knowing whether your Approval Odds are Very Good, Good, Fair or Poor may help you narrow down your choices.

‡ Average score refers to the arithmetic mean and typical low score to the 5th percentile of, in each case, available VantageScore 3.0 credit scores provided by TransUnion of Credit Karma members who were approved for this product from June 2014 through November 2014. Average and typical approved scores are provided as guidelines only and approval is not guaranteed. You can learn more about credit card approval through our in-depth article.

The ratings and reviews are brought to you by our users. Banks, issuers, and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee, and are not responsible for this content.

 
Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express Reviews

Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express