Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Woodforest National Bank

3.4 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 04, 2016
Second chance turned standard checking
Jessiesquirrel Account Holder

I have had all the issues you can imagine with my account--divorce, ex stole my card, stranger stole my card, unauthorized debits from a place where I had taken out a loan, online retailer charging for an item I never received. Wood forest has been super efficient and easy to work with which each concern/problem and I ALWAYS had my funds returned within 1 business day. What other bank can say that? After opening the second chance checking and not bouncing any checks or overdrafts for a year, they automatically converted me to the standard checking which has no fee. Mobile banking app is 5 stars! Mobile deposits sometimes have to be sent twice to get them to be accepted.  My only gripe is when I would use my card to buy a drink out of a machine, my card always got shut off and I had to call to get it turned back on. They said it was because there's a lot of fraud associated with vending machines that take cards and people can steal your card number off of these machines. 

There used to be a branch in every Walmart when i lived in Austin, but now living in Fort Worth the branches are harder to come by. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2016
Not Great
tonwor Account Holder

They are not easy to make deposits. Mobile deposits rarely go through.  You are forced to take the deposit item into a branch.  In my area, branches are few and far between.  When you are able to make a deposit, they are very quick to put a hold on the money for a week.  I deposited a government check and they put a hold on it "just because that is our policy" according to the Branch Manager. If it wasn't for this issue, they would be pretty good.  The customer service reps / tellers and branch mangers all seem to have the attitude "thats our policy" and you are just supposed to accept it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 27, 2016
Friendly and good banking programs
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is perfect for those that can't cary a minimum balance on an account

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

I think overall it's a pretty good bank to have your money in. I just don't like the fact that your payments are not taken out until the next day.

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
There's one thing holding this bank back
Anonymous Account Holder

If you're going to deposit a check, beware the long hold that will inevitably be put on the availability of funds. It will take 7-10 business days before you can even use the money. I'm sorry, but that's ridiculous. There's no way around it. If you needed funds while that check was all you had to your name, you'd be screwed and broke until the hold period is over.

more ...
Sep 04, 2016
Second chance turned standard checking
Jessiesquirrel Account Holder

I have had all the issues you can imagine with my account--divorce, ex stole my card, stranger stole my card, unauthorized debits from a place where I had taken out a loan, online retailer charging for an item I never received. Wood forest has been super efficient and easy to work with which each concern/problem and I ALWAYS had my funds returned within 1 business day. What other bank can say that? After opening the second chance checking and not bouncing any checks or overdrafts for a year, they automatically converted me to the standard checking which has no fee. Mobile banking app is 5 stars! Mobile deposits sometimes have to be sent twice to get them to be accepted.  My only gripe is when I would use my card to buy a drink out of a machine, my card always got shut off and I had to call to get it turned back on. They said it was because there's a lot of fraud associated with vending machines that take cards and people can steal your card number off of these machines. 

There used to be a branch in every Walmart when i lived in Austin, but now living in Fort Worth the branches are harder to come by. 

more ...
Aug 10, 2016
Not Great
tonwor Account Holder

They are not easy to make deposits. Mobile deposits rarely go through.  You are forced to take the deposit item into a branch.  In my area, branches are few and far between.  When you are able to make a deposit, they are very quick to put a hold on the money for a week.  I deposited a government check and they put a hold on it "just because that is our policy" according to the Branch Manager. If it wasn't for this issue, they would be pretty good.  The customer service reps / tellers and branch mangers all seem to have the attitude "thats our policy" and you are just supposed to accept it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2016

Of course you have to accept or you can go to another bank. There are plenty of them out there.

 
Jul 17, 2016
okay but...
Anonymous Account Holder

I like this bank, they are open a lot. Just recently someone tried to use my debit card, but they somehow caught it! I was so happy they did. I went in and everything was great, nice people, friendly, helped me get new card. The next day I see he charged me 15$ for my new card. I'm thinking,okay...he never mentioned this, and really, they charge for fraud replacement of your card?! I was a bit surprised? I called the main bank number, come to find out, he wasn't supposed to charge me. I had been so happy with them, till this. I'm pretty sure I may know why he charged me. Now I feel a bit uncomfortable going to this branch now, but it's the one near my home. :(

more ...
Jul 01, 2016
good bank to do business with.
matt041 Account Holder

good bank! opened an account with them during the ressession in 2008-2009. treated me very well. very nice people. truely a great bank to have an account with. 

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
This bank sucks to be honest,
larrybruce1970 Account Holder

they like to change thier rates and fees alot, poor customer service too

more ...
May 25, 2016
Excellent Bank
WMTKody Account Holder

This is a great bank, the branch hours are really good because they're open 7 days a week. The only suggestions I have are that they need to get updated ATMs. Our local ATM doesn't use the chip reader and it's pretty old.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 27, 2016

Update: Since this has been posted, a new ATM has been installed. :)

 
May 18, 2016
smalltown bank
wakeelah Account Holder

this bank is conveniently located in heart of Walmart. so 7dys a week and nice hours. immediate availability of deposits funds... same day no timeframe restrictions. direct deposits are available atleast 1dy before original payday. But no signup perks  or ATm are limited to prevent fees. so i just use pin on my card during purchases which is cumbersome. i had started with a second chance when other banks were acting snooty- Usbank  and Tcf for example were being very picky over a small debt owed to other banks 7yrs ago .

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations