Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Woodforest National Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
4 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2015
good second chance bank
spgomez08 Account Holder

only challenge i've had is they have very few locations. in addition, they charge for atm fees on top of any fee other establishments apply.  

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2013
Horrible
MrsKelly1 Account Holder

My ex husband stole a check book and forged my signature on some of the checks and did not even bother to sign the others.  This was at the Center Tx location.  I pressed charges and he finally went to jail for it.  He is currently on felony probation for this also.  When I went to speak to the bank manager because they continously have this on my credit report causing me an issue on getting a bank account his response was, "Mickey Mouse could have signed the check and it would have gone through".  This has been about five years ago and still no resolution for me.

more ...
 

Reviews (59)

Add Review
May 25, 2016
Excellent Bank
WMTKody Account Holder

This is a great bank, the branch hours are really good because they're open 7 days a week. The only suggestions I have are that they need to get updated ATMs. Our local ATM doesn't use the chip reader and it's pretty old.

more ...
May 18, 2016
smalltown bank
wakeelah Account Holder

this bank is conveniently located in heart of Walmart. so 7dys a week and nice hours. immediate availability of deposits funds... same day no timeframe restrictions. direct deposits are available atleast 1dy before original payday. But no signup perks  or ATm are limited to prevent fees. so i just use pin on my card during purchases which is cumbersome. i had started with a second chance when other banks were acting snooty- Usbank  and Tcf for example were being very picky over a small debt owed to other banks 7yrs ago .

more ...
May 01, 2016
AWESOME
Anonymous

Woodforest has been (AWESOME) for my Business and Home. ((; Thank You Woodforest!!

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Great
blmccro Account Holder

I had a joint bank account. The other person on the account over drafted me by $200. Woodforest wiped the slate clean after I explained my predicament. I also work at walmart. She came to me when it was time to sign papers and all the exta stuff no need to go and stand and wait.

more ...
Apr 23, 2016
great
Anonymous Account Holder

they do work with you

more ...
Apr 08, 2016
lousy
Anonymous Account Holder

had an account in Houston... and they messed me up!

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
WoodForest
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had no problems with banking with Woodforest. The only downside it has is that the ATM does not allow you to do deposits. They are open 7 days a week and are located in just about every Walmart you can think of. Deposits process really fast. Customer service is always nice. Really a great start if you need a second chance with banking situations. I would high recommend.

more ...
Apr 04, 2016
hvacman62 Account Holder

Have been with Woodforest Bank for over 5 years and have had no issues whatsoever! The Burlington, NC branch (Graham-Hopedale Rd) has the very best tellers/reps! All banks should send their employees into this branch. They could learn a lot. Far superior service over the big banks. Saturday/Sunday/holiday banking is also a big plus.

more ...
Mar 26, 2016
FEES TO DEATH
Anonymous Account Holder

They fee you overdrafts, that cause other overdrafts for minimum amount debits!!  They will only give you one "courtesy" refund of O/D.  They take up for the big corporations if you have a dispute charge, costing you more!  My account was debited over $900 unknown to ME!  They give a "provincial" credit, then KNOWING YOU ARE IN THE RIGHT, when the corporation gets with them, they DEBIT the funds back OUT of your account!!  CAUSED ME from what I had in my register as should having a balance of $700+, however, after they got through with the enormous amounts of O/D fees and taking the "provincial" credit back out and then some, I ended up with an unknown balance, of over $1000!

more ...
Mar 26, 2016
Fees, Fees, Fees!!
ConvincedNOMOREBanks Account Holder

They will not work with you, they seem to be bias to the wealthy, the majority of the funds in my account were withdrawn by THEIR fees upon fees.  They will pay for overdrafts CONTINUOUSLY, so as to get you to a negative amount that you can't see an end to!!  The locations are scarce, the customer service is almost non-existent!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this bank overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Known for the motto, “Banking your way, EVERYDAY AND NIGHT!”, Woodforest National Bank provides quality customer service, products, and branches that are open “around the clock” in select areas. Woodforest National Bank provides both personal banking and business banking services. Banking products available include checking, savings, CDs, IRAs, online banking, and personal loans. Additional services include bank deposits until 8pm, immediate availability of most deposits, financial education resources, bill pay, and daily email balance notification. Woodforest National Bank serves customer in Texas, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Established in 1980, Woodforest National Bank is part of the Woodforest Financial Group Inc.