Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Woodforest National Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
3.9091 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2015
good second chance bank
spgomez08 Account Holder

only challenge i've had is they have very few locations. in addition, they charge for atm fees on top of any fee other establishments apply.  

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2013
MrsKelly1 Account Holder

My ex husband stole a check book and forged my signature on some of the checks and did not even bother to sign the others.  This was at the Center Tx location.  I pressed charges and he finally went to jail for it.  He is currently on felony probation for this also.  When I went to speak to the bank manager because they continously have this on my credit report causing me an issue on getting a bank account his response was, "Mickey Mouse could have signed the check and it would have gone through".  This has been about five years ago and still no resolution for me.

more ...

Reviews (44)

Add Review
Aug 24, 2015
Can't beat open every day!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have nothing but good things to say about Woodforest after becoming a member two years ago. They truly are there when you need them....7 days a week!

more ...
Aug 27, 2015

I to have been Woodforest National Bank for 7 Years and i don't know what or where i would be without the help they have giving me over the years, not 1 bad thing to say about this bank.

Sep 16, 2015

i love this bank. i will never need to go to another one ever . they are helpful in every way. if they don't know the answer they well find it for you. and there serves are great too. i would give this bank 10 STARS.

Aug 18, 2015
Rape you in overdraft fees & dont care !
Anonymous Account Holder

there was 5 over fees on my account , when we telephoned them they said that they would hold 2 of the chargers for us until we pay, then the next morning I went to the bank myself to ask them if there was any possible way I can pay whats owed on my credit card or at least try to hold some of the fees until midnight when the money comes in the bank. And they told me no there is nothing you can do your getting charged with all of themn. then my fiance called n said something to the lady and she said oh well u can only get 3 over draft fees a day and since we are pay wailing you with 5 of them we will take one off as a "courtsy" as whhen i was just there the lady told me nothing they can do. Just as the night before when she said she would hold 2 chargers until tomorrow n i get there before they opened n I got to I was already charged so they lied abbout it ! worst bamk to have unless you have no credit once you do I advice you to switch to a more reliable, steady, bank that will help you in any way that they can incase of something like this is to happen to you ! Now we owe over 200 dollars when the actually money that made it over draft was for 11 dollars, 12 dollars and another for 19.99. but they are just money grubbers, just like walmart thats probably why they branched with them so they can screw over as many people and steal there money from them

more ...
Aug 05, 2015
Terrible service. Will hold your money
Anonymous Account Holder

Would not use tis bank.  They like to place "holds" on checks coming in although it might even be from a big corporation.  Plus their service in branch is very slow.

more ...
Aug 13, 2015

i work at a bank and probally a couple different reasons there was a hold put on the check maybe you didnt have enough to cover if the check was to bounce back. Maybe they have had alot of fraudlent cases going around. Best bet is if you cant handle a few day hold to be safe then that looks suspicious on you. Good Day

Jun 24, 2015
I love Woodforest!!!
dgreen214 Account Holder

I love that they are open 7 days a week and open until 7pm! No other bank does that so you end up having tostand in a long line on your lunch break! I can even do banking on Sunday. It is awesome!

more ...
Jun 23, 2015
I-30 and Broadway
granny4047 Account Holder

I love this Bank. It is a Texas Bank which I would like to keep our business in Texas. I have had nothing but possitive support here. My favorite teller is Carlos.

Connie Wortham

more ...
May 19, 2015
I Appreciate them very much.
clc2358 Account Holder

I had received one of those fraudulent checks from somewhere and the tellers were all very busy when I made the deposit, not knowing it was a fraudulent document.  By the time I got home and had put groceries away, the teller manager called me to inform me that they were not going to honor the deposit, as it was a fraudulent check, and if they put it through and it came back, it would cost me a lot and I would have to do a police report on it and other headaches could incur.  I do appreciate the care and concern they have for their customers.  Rantoul Illinois Walmart Store location.

more ...
Apr 30, 2015
Very Friendly
lauren1028 Account Holder

Great option for second chance banking, after a year your account is eligable to become a standard account. Staff is always very friendly and helpful! Just wish they had more locations.

more ...
Jan 02, 2015
good second chance bank
spgomez08 Account Holder

only challenge i've had is they have very few locations. in addition, they charge for atm fees on top of any fee other establishments apply.  

more ...
Dec 07, 2014
Great and number one all the way!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer at Woodforest for approximately a year and a half.  I love them.  All of the cashiers are courtous and friendly.  They know how to talk to their customers.  Anyone who have not had the experience of being a customer, they are missing out.  I am pretty up in age and so far I have had no other bank that know their customers like Woodforest.  Thanks for being in this area. 

more ...
Nov 13, 2014
customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I agree, this is the only bank I have not experienced money missing that doesnt add up. Every draft/cent is accounted. I always know what's in my account w/o any surprises. The only surprise I had was when they increased my revolving line of credit without my nice!!!!!! I love this bank and the customer service ( most of the time )

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this bank overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Known for the motto, “Banking your way, EVERYDAY AND NIGHT!”, Woodforest National Bank provides quality customer service, products, and branches that are open “around the clock” in select areas. Woodforest National Bank provides both personal banking and business banking services. Banking products available include checking, savings, CDs, IRAs, online banking, and personal loans. Additional services include bank deposits until 8pm, immediate availability of most deposits, financial education resources, bill pay, and daily email balance notification. Woodforest National Bank serves customer in Texas, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Established in 1980, Woodforest National Bank is part of the Woodforest Financial Group Inc.