Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Woodforest National Bank

Application Process
Customer Service
3.9 5
Write a Review

Cardholder Rating Distribution (32)

About Credit Karma

Credit Karma is an entirely free credit resource. See your credit information, educational tools and more. No catch.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers
  • Most Helpful Positive Review

    Sep 30, 2014

    2nd Chance Banking, 1st Class Bank!
    Helpful to 10 out of 11 people

    Woodforest allowed me to open a bank account when no other bank would touch me due bad credit after a rough patch in my life.  The 2nd Chance banking program worked very well for me for a year, then I was switched to a regular account.  I have never had any issues with Woodforest, can't say the same about any other banking institution I have done business with.  I am now officially comfortable and trusting of a bank!  The branch I deal with, Walmart on Phillips Highway in Jacksonville, FL, is one of professionalism, courtesy and the best customer service.  I see no reason to look anywhere else.

    Read More

    redheddevl's review was:    

     

    Most Helpful Critical Review

    Jul 26, 2013

    Horrible
    Helpful to 16 out of 17 people

    My ex husband stole a check book and forged my signature on some of the checks and did not even bother to sign the others.  This was at the Center Tx location.  I pressed charges and he finally went to jail for it.  He is currently on felony probation for this also.  When I went to speak to the bank manager because they continously have this on my credit report causing me an issue on getting a bank account his response was, "Mickey Mouse could have signed the check and it would have gone through".  This has been about five years ago and still no resolution for me.

    Read More

    MrsKelly1's review was:    

     

    Reviews (32)

    2nd Chance Banking, 1st Class Bank! Helpful to 10 out of 11 people

    Woodforest allowed me to open a bank account when no other bank would touch me due bad credit after a rough patch in my life.  The 2nd Chance banking program worked very well for me for a year, then I was switched to a regular account.  I have never had any issues with Woodforest, can't say the same about any other banking institution I have done business with.  I am now officially comfortable and trusting of a bank!  The branch I deal with, Walmart on Phillips Highway in Jacksonville, FL, is one of professionalism, courtesy and the best customer service.  I see no reason to look anywhere else.

    redheddevl's review was:    

     
    Sep 30, 2014 Reply

    redheddevl(1, 10)

    Horrible Helpful to 16 out of 17 people

    My ex husband stole a check book and forged my signature on some of the checks and did not even bother to sign the others.  This was at the Center Tx location.  I pressed charges and he finally went to jail for it.  He is currently on felony probation for this also.  When I went to speak to the bank manager because they continously have this on my credit report causing me an issue on getting a bank account his response was, "Mickey Mouse could have signed the check and it would have gone through".  This has been about five years ago and still no resolution for me.

    MrsKelly1's review was:    

     
    Jul 26, 2013 Reply

    MrsKelly1(1, 16)

    Jan 02, 2015

    good second chance bank
    Helpful to 4 out of 4 people

    only challenge i've had is they have very few locations. in addition, they charge for atm fees on top of any fee other establishments apply.  

    Read More

    spgomez08's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Dec 07, 2014

    Great and number one all the way!!!
    Helpful to 4 out of 5 people

    I have been a customer at Woodforest for approximately a year and a half.  I love them.  All of the cashiers are courtous and friendly.  They know how to talk to their customers.  Anyone who have not had the experience of being a customer, they are missing out.  I am pretty up in age and so far I have had no other bank that know their customers like Woodforest.  Thanks for being in this area. 

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Nov 13, 2014

    customer service
    Helpful to 5 out of 6 people

    I agree, this is the only bank I have not experienced money missing that doesnt add up. Every draft/cent is accounted. I always know what's in my account w/o any surprises. The only surprise I had was when they increased my revolving line of credit without my requesting...how nice!!!!!! I love this bank and the customer service ( most of the time )

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Nov 10, 2014

    very disappointing
    Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

    Had a woodforest account and customer service was adequate. After closing this account I requested a letter stating the account has been closed and am told that will cost me $20.00 and I must complete an application for that service. Never again will I bank at woodforest bank!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Oct 31, 2014

    the greatest

    i love my bank they take great care of me

    Read More

    doyle34's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Oct 19, 2014

    Helpful to 1 out of 2 people

    wish there were more locations but have really enjoyed them being my bank.

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Oct 17, 2014

    ACH
    Helpful to 0 out of 2 people

     I had ny significant other to open a checking  account At at the said location because she needed to have one,Also I could deposit electronically transfer funds via ACH directly into her accoung,something I.ve always done for my kids and other business through my bank,Well I found the staff at this had no clue what an ACH was and delayed her funds for days when any other bank have always made these type availible the next business so in all hornesty I have to say this bank is out of touch and the customer service is unprofessional, STAY AWAY.  

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Sep 30, 2014

    2nd Chance Banking, 1st Class Bank!
    Helpful to 10 out of 11 people

    Woodforest allowed me to open a bank account when no other bank would touch me due bad credit after a rough patch in my life.  The 2nd Chance banking program worked very well for me for a year, then I was switched to a regular account.  I have never had any issues with Woodforest, can't say the same about any other banking institution I have done business with.  I am now officially comfortable and trusting of a bank!  The branch I deal with, Walmart on Phillips Highway in Jacksonville, FL, is one of professionalism, courtesy and the best customer service.  I see no reason to look anywhere else.

    Read More

    redheddevl's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Sep 26, 2014

    Good Bank GREAT HOURS

    This bank has been a pretty get back to work with. I love that I get my check one day earlier tomorrow account. They have the best hours for any bank that I have ever seen. I would have gave them five stars except some of their customer service reps need an attitude adjustment or maybe they were just having a bad day. And we all have those so I guess they do deserve five stars.

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Aug 06, 2014

    Worst banking experience
    Helpful to 2 out of 2 people

    I've never had such an awful experience with a bank like I have with them. The location in Kernersville, NC is awful. The person I dealt with was extremely rude to me and to make matters worse I believe he was a manager. 

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Add Your Review Of Woodforest National Bank

    Rate this product

    Rate your application experience (Optional)

    Application Process

    Customer Service

    What is your experience with this product?

    I Have It

    I Used To Have It

    I Applied For It

    Write your review:

    Profile Image
    Anonymous

    Company Overview

    Known for the motto, “Banking your way, EVERYDAY AND NIGHT!”, Woodforest National Bank provides quality customer service, products, and branches that are open “around the clock” in select areas. Woodforest National Bank provides both personal banking and business banking services. Banking products available include checking, savings, CDs, IRAs, online banking, and personal loans. Additional services include bank deposits until 8pm, immediate availability of most deposits, financial education resources, bill pay, and daily email balance notification. Woodforest National Bank serves customer in Texas, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

    Established in 1980, Woodforest National Bank is part of the Woodforest Financial Group Inc.