Woodforest National Bank Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 02, 2015
good second chance bank
spgomez08 Account Holder

only challenge i've had is they have very few locations. in addition, they charge for atm fees on top of any fee other establishments apply.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 26, 2013
Horrible
MrsKelly1 Account Holder

My ex husband stole a check book and forged my signature on some of the checks and did not even bother to sign the others.  This was at the Center Tx location.  I pressed charges and he finally went to jail for it.  He is currently on felony probation for this also.  When I went to speak to the bank manager because they continously have this on my credit report causing me an issue on getting a bank account his response was, "Mickey Mouse could have signed the check and it would have gone through".  This has been about five years ago and still no resolution for me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 02, 2017
HORRIBLE
Ebony985 Account Holder

I have had this bank over a year I had my card comprimised for over $1100 worth of charges, i called and filed a dispute , talked with someone , did everything I was asked to do! It was taking longer then normal for me to get a reponse i happen to call and was told that my dispute was declined ( unauthorized transactions on my debit card) and you tell me yall denied my request for my money back like WTF. What bank do you know that denies your dispute on transactions someone else made without your knowledge from your card? I have never banked with a bank that is more for the merchant then the customer who is actually putting money into their banks. I am in the process of closing my account with them and filing a complaint with teh BBB.

more ...
May 23, 2017
Not bad, but not great so far.
Biggy34445 Account Holder

The bank is basically just a bank for me. They have some areas that I don't like. They make you do a balance transfer from a computer or inside. They do not give a small amount of free checks with you name on them when you start the checking account, and they seem to not be use to handle accounts with larger sums of money in them. I can just say that all in all, they are not that bad though. They are what you need from a bank. A bank is a bank for most parts, but some have more fees to avoid than others. This one has few excessive ones here and there, but that all depends on how you use your account and mind. 

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Horrible Experience!! Stay Away
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't go with this Bank. As much as I love Texas and stay local. This Bank is probably the worst place to put your money in. Transfers take so long. They have lots of hidden fees. Upper Managment are rude and bank tellers don't know what they are doing. Just beware. Please use another bank

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Horrible customer service.
Ilovetocamp Account Holder

This bank is not just a leader in poor customer service, it is a leader in old technology. If someone steals your card you have to leave a message for someone to get the next day. Good luck if you have a problem as it will be rare to meet a happy employee. I have a pending status on CASH I deposited into my account. That says it all. 

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Good for restarting bank history
johntajacobs Account Holder

I've had WoodForest National for 2yrs now and its been a okay experince.  I switched from Bank of America and its been a okay experience i got a 2nd chance checking account and now i havea regular checking account.  They offer alot of financial services but most of their banks in my area dont really offer alot of customer service in house like others.  With car loan application and pretty much everything esle get sent onlnie to Texas (HQ) and take 1-7 business days to get results back.  Crazy i know.  But they do hae great hours and are open 7 days a week and some holidays cant say that about other banks.  But they do have good customer service at branchs very helpful.  I will continue to bank with them for some time now.

more ...
Feb 18, 2017
Horrible
PrincessBootyyy Account Holder

Had a line of credit never missed a payment reportedue late every single time to charge off but says paid each month I paid every month got three calls a day after I paid demanding money in the most disrespect ways moved to BOA never been happier

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank charges fees out the you know what! Even on a second chance account, where you are trying to straighten out your finances, they charge more fees! We needed a credit card replacement and they promised to waive the $10 charge... but low and behold, they charged us anyway. To call in for an inquiry, that's $2. The customer service is rude and not helpful. If you don't mind getting your money stolen from you on a regular basis, by all means... open an account. This bank is the WORST bank. Go to Wells Fargo... they also have second chance checking without the fees and animosity.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 16, 2017

You can't have bad history with banks and expect something for free. You straighten out your finances then get the account you desire. The same with being extended credit. You can't have jacked up credit and expect to get the same rates and rewards as someone who has worked hard to keep their credit great. Be greatful you were given an account with poor banking history.

 
Jan 27, 2017
Like a LEECH
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a call from you that this check was presented and that I needed to deposit money for it to be paid.  I looked online and saw the problem, so I drove from my job site 47 miles to your branch with what cash I had in my pocket so that it would not cause you a problem. Since you called instead of writing I thought it was important to you. 47 Miles, I drove to your branch and made a cash deposit on this account.

Now I see that all you wanted was money in my account so that you could TAKE a NSF fee of $29. Not only was that inconvenient that I drove that far but left my job site to do it. And you STILL did not pay the $70.56 check.  

I remember 12 years ago when my mother had $32,000 in her account and I had my investment account with you. You did the same thing to this account (432) or the (9905) account, can't remember over a NSF fee.  It made me so angry that I moved my investment account to another institution. Then, since you did nothing to make it right I took my mothers $32,000 out of your bank.

I expect more than a money grabbing, don't care attitude from a bank that I give absolutely no problems.  You may be in your rights to do this, but I will certainly place this note on the internet for reviews.

You talk with Mike at my branch in Humble and put the $29 back.  Not because you have to but because you want to. 

If I had not driven 47 miles to give you all the cash I had in my pocket, I would have just transferred money from my business account at Paypal for the next day. You made it seem, in your phone call, that it was an inconvenience to you that there was a deficit in my account, so I rushed 47 miles to you and gave you what cash I had in my pocket. THEN YOU TAKE IT LIKE A CROOK.

I thought you were better than that. If you would have told me on the phone that you will pay the check and there would be a fee, I would have stayed on the job site and on my phone transferred money to you overnight.

Disgusting..

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Always hidden/unnecessary  fees. If you have options.... bank elsewhere. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations