Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Woodforest National Bank

3.0 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 04, 2016
Second chance turned standard checking
Jessiesquirrel Account Holder

I have had all the issues you can imagine with my account--divorce, ex stole my card, stranger stole my card, unauthorized debits from a place where I had taken out a loan, online retailer charging for an item I never received. Wood forest has been super efficient and easy to work with which each concern/problem and I ALWAYS had my funds returned within 1 business day. What other bank can say that? After opening the second chance checking and not bouncing any checks or overdrafts for a year, they automatically converted me to the standard checking which has no fee. Mobile banking app is 5 stars! Mobile deposits sometimes have to be sent twice to get them to be accepted.  My only gripe is when I would use my card to buy a drink out of a machine, my card always got shut off and I had to call to get it turned back on. They said it was because there's a lot of fraud associated with vending machines that take cards and people can steal your card number off of these machines. 

There used to be a branch in every Walmart when i lived in Austin, but now living in Fort Worth the branches are harder to come by. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 10, 2016
Not Great
tonwor Account Holder

They are not easy to make deposits. Mobile deposits rarely go through.  You are forced to take the deposit item into a branch.  In my area, branches are few and far between.  When you are able to make a deposit, they are very quick to put a hold on the money for a week.  I deposited a government check and they put a hold on it "just because that is our policy" according to the Branch Manager. If it wasn't for this issue, they would be pretty good.  The customer service reps / tellers and branch mangers all seem to have the attitude "thats our policy" and you are just supposed to accept it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 18, 2017
Horrible
PrincessBootyyy Account Holder

Had a line of credit never missed a payment reportedue late every single time to charge off but says paid each month I paid every month got three calls a day after I paid demanding money in the most disrespect ways moved to BOA never been happier

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank charges fees out the you know what! Even on a second chance account, where you are trying to straighten out your finances, they charge more fees! We needed a credit card replacement and they promised to waive the $10 charge... but low and behold, they charged us anyway. To call in for an inquiry, that's $2. The customer service is rude and not helpful. If you don't mind getting your money stolen from you on a regular basis, by all means... open an account. This bank is the WORST bank. Go to Wells Fargo... they also have second chance checking without the fees and animosity.

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Like a LEECH
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a call from you that this check was presented and that I needed to deposit money for it to be paid.  I looked online and saw the problem, so I drove from my job site 47 miles to your branch with what cash I had in my pocket so that it would not cause you a problem. Since you called instead of writing I thought it was important to you. 47 Miles, I drove to your branch and made a cash deposit on this account.

Now I see that all you wanted was money in my account so that you could TAKE a NSF fee of $29. Not only was that inconvenient that I drove that far but left my job site to do it. And you STILL did not pay the $70.56 check.  

I remember 12 years ago when my mother had $32,000 in her account and I had my investment account with you. You did the same thing to this account (432) or the (9905) account, can't remember over a NSF fee.  It made me so angry that I moved my investment account to another institution. Then, since you did nothing to make it right I took my mothers $32,000 out of your bank.

I expect more than a money grabbing, don't care attitude from a bank that I give absolutely no problems.  You may be in your rights to do this, but I will certainly place this note on the internet for reviews.

You talk with Mike at my branch in Humble and put the $29 back.  Not because you have to but because you want to. 

If I had not driven 47 miles to give you all the cash I had in my pocket, I would have just transferred money from my business account at Paypal for the next day. You made it seem, in your phone call, that it was an inconvenience to you that there was a deficit in my account, so I rushed 47 miles to you and gave you what cash I had in my pocket. THEN YOU TAKE IT LIKE A CROOK.

I thought you were better than that. If you would have told me on the phone that you will pay the check and there would be a fee, I would have stayed on the job site and on my phone transferred money to you overnight.

Disgusting..

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Always hidden/unnecessary  fees. If you have options.... bank elsewhere. 

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Friendly and good banking programs
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is perfect for those that can't cary a minimum balance on an account

more ...
Oct 11, 2016
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

I think overall it's a pretty good bank to have your money in. I just don't like the fact that your payments are not taken out until the next day.

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
There's one thing holding this bank back
Anonymous Account Holder

If you're going to deposit a check, beware the long hold that will inevitably be put on the availability of funds. It will take 7-10 business days before you can even use the money. I'm sorry, but that's ridiculous. There's no way around it. If you needed funds while that check was all you had to your name, you'd be screwed and broke until the hold period is over.

more ...
Sep 04, 2016
Second chance turned standard checking
Jessiesquirrel Account Holder

I have had all the issues you can imagine with my account--divorce, ex stole my card, stranger stole my card, unauthorized debits from a place where I had taken out a loan, online retailer charging for an item I never received. Wood forest has been super efficient and easy to work with which each concern/problem and I ALWAYS had my funds returned within 1 business day. What other bank can say that? After opening the second chance checking and not bouncing any checks or overdrafts for a year, they automatically converted me to the standard checking which has no fee. Mobile banking app is 5 stars! Mobile deposits sometimes have to be sent twice to get them to be accepted.  My only gripe is when I would use my card to buy a drink out of a machine, my card always got shut off and I had to call to get it turned back on. They said it was because there's a lot of fraud associated with vending machines that take cards and people can steal your card number off of these machines. 

There used to be a branch in every Walmart when i lived in Austin, but now living in Fort Worth the branches are harder to come by. 

more ...
Aug 10, 2016
Not Great
tonwor Account Holder

They are not easy to make deposits. Mobile deposits rarely go through.  You are forced to take the deposit item into a branch.  In my area, branches are few and far between.  When you are able to make a deposit, they are very quick to put a hold on the money for a week.  I deposited a government check and they put a hold on it "just because that is our policy" according to the Branch Manager. If it wasn't for this issue, they would be pretty good.  The customer service reps / tellers and branch mangers all seem to have the attitude "thats our policy" and you are just supposed to accept it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2016

Of course you have to accept or you can go to another bank. There are plenty of them out there.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations