Wells Fargo Bank Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 03, 2017
Customer for 10 years, Mostly good.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer since 2007 and I have a number of accounts with Wells Fargo. In the past I have been hit with certian fees due to features/services not being setup correctly, when I went into a branch and spoke to someone every fee I have encountered has been reversed and the issue corrected. Idealy it would not happen in the first place however their customer service has almost always been good for me.

Wells fargo is a very big bank and I have been in ~100 branches. Not every one of them has had good customer service, I do not blame this on the bank but that branch.  The few branches that had poor customer service I simply don't visit again. 

Wells Fargo does have a somewhat convoluted requirements to waive the montly fee, such as XX auto deposit OR XX debit card swipes per months OR $XX in a connected savings account. The values depend on the account but for example the savings requirement is $300 for the loest which is reasonable if you intend to have an emergency fund. Direct deposit requirement is like $500 so per month. None of these should be an issue for someone with a job and using wells fargo as their primary bank.

Wells Fargo is not the ideal bank to go to when you don't have credit or good credit, even as a customer I needed to get my credit score >680 for them to approve any form of credit, they even denided me a secured card. They do however show you your FICO Bankcard Score 2 which is an actual score used for credit cards.

I personally would recommend Wells Fargo if someone needs a Coast to Coast bank. Credit Unions and other banks may be limited to a reagon, everyone says Credit Unions are better but in my experince that is like Wells Fargo, it depends on the branch and some Credit Union branches can be terrible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 20, 2017
Wrong Account Balance
KDL401 Account Holder

We are CONSTANTLY having issues with our account balance. It will show a certain amount is available. We pay close attention to our balance and make sure we do spend more than what is there to avoid over draft fees. But somehow magically when the account "catches up" our account ends up negative and we get hit with overdraft fees...this has happened to us muliple times but here's the story this time. We went to the store thursday night after which we had about $14 and change left in the account. Had a paycheck direct deposit hit friday morning in the amount of $628. 628 + 14 = 642 right? Tell me why the account balance showed 670 something? I told my husband about it and looked at the transactions but could not find anything wrong. Everything we knew we spent money on was listed. Paid some bills and Saturday our balance was $260. we went to the store again, spent $81. Spent $25 on a fathers day gift and $25 on food. Sunday we spent $75 on fathers day dinner, $20 on gas and a little more other places. Sunday night our ending balance was $7 and change in checking and $20 in savings. Monday, no change. Tuesday morning (today) I wake up to a notification that our account is -$40...I check the transactions and nothing has changed. Everything that was listed before is still listed just the same but except now our available balance is negative...I transfered the $20 from our savings to the checking to lower the negative so that when my husband gets paid thursday it won't be so much out of his check but it is still -$20 for which we will reveive and over draft fee. I don't understand why their system can't "keep up" and show the correct amount available. And why do we have to deal with negative account balances and over draft fees for their systems mistake!? I can't take this anymore, my husband and I will be looking for a new bank ASAP! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 07, 2017
Poor
Anonymous Account Holder

Just as with one other post on this review, I am finding that I don''t have enought money each month to cover my debts,  the avaiable blance dose not reflect the the current balance.  I have noticed that they will repost a posted a paid items as pending, when it was posted a couple days before as pending, which appear to be a double deduction from the account. For example  I made a payment on August 3, in the amount of 44.42, on the 4th the item was posted as paid, but when I checked my account on monday August 7, the item was still posted as pending. Along with other items, however I purchased food on August 4, tthat item was poste as paid, there appear that iteas they see fit to posted. I pay close attention to my  account on Saturday my account avaliable balance and current blance changes over night, one day its can appear to be lower, than  if you look the next day it might be slight higher, but once the system catchs up wtih the withdraws, the account will be very low, or in the negtive with over draft fees, another thing I don't understand why if you have a checking account to cover over draft, why they charges a 12.00 transferr fee.  Something don't add up. I recently signed up for squre to one of my saving account, squre will make a .01 cent into your account, and than they will withdraw the .01 from your account, the bank charge my account 37.00 over draft fee even after the money was withdrwed within one minute. I called and had the overdraft fee removed. It will appear that their system is setup to automatically charge overdraft fees but not automatically post items. I am thinking about changing banks  Also I have had accounts closed my business account closed and when I tried to reopen the account they came up with the reason for not reopening the account. 

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I got an credit card account with this banck by accident, when i plied for the 1 year no interest promotion with Bob Discount furniture. My fault that i didn't do a research of what banvk where they affiliated with. I never liked this back, but having an account with this banvk is the WOOOOOST thing. Their customer service is worst then going to a government institution. (SERIOUSLY) July 26 i check my account and i see that i got charged interest, and July 27 i received an email alerting me that my promotional purchase with no interest was going to expire August 25th. When i call July 31st i talk to this lady who was really rude by the way. And i explained her my concern of why wasn't i alerted before i got charged the interest, and she tells me because that alert was for the 2nd promotional purchase that i made, and that for the 1st promotional purchace i should have received an email alerting about the 1st one. As im talking to her im going through all my WellsFargo emails i Never dis i ever ever received an email before that weren't confirmation of payments and i asked her to check with technichal support so that she could confirm that. So she seemed lost and transferred me to a later learned "supervisors" not rude, no, VERY RUDEEE. He starts to tell me that email are a curtesy and that it was my responsibility to know. (I understand) i relied on them to remind me. And he tells me that on mu statements it was also stated, and i asked him which statements, cuz i never received any, i didn't know i was supposed to receive statements. And when he checks he is like confirm ur adress which i do, then he tells me tha my adress was incorrect, (kidding me?) then he is like thats why u didn't received statements because u didn't take the time to make sure your adress was correct, sonim sorry Ma'm we can't waive the charges since thats what u agreed when u signed the papers  (Seriously?) i am supposed to call every single back i have an account and ask them ( hey do you guys have my adress correct) as their customer they didn't have the courtesy to email me and ask me to verify my adress maybe i would have known that my adress was incorrect and fix it..i took the time to write this later to warn other about this bank, because im mortified by the customer service that this bank offer. By the way im closing my account dont need all this nonsense 

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Horrible service
Anonymous Account Holder

We have been with Wells Fargo for many, many years and the last few years their customer service has sunk to new levels.  Our business banker's position is like a revolving door.  I just meet a new one and two weeks later he or she are gone.  They don't return phone calls or follow up whatsoever.  When we went to get a loan for two trucks, they botched the paper work and we ended up with two loans, at different rates, but received THREE checks - one for each of the loans and another one for the amount of both the loans.  AND, it took MONTHS to get those loans processed.

Recently we tried to get a lien taken off two older trucks.  They said they could not find the loan paperwork from loans made in 2003!  Clearly Wells Fargo is listed on the titles with their Minneapolis address.  They won't release the loans so we can't sell the trucks! 

We are done with them.  We are going with a local state bank or a credit union for our business and personal banking needs.  At least you can talk face to face with the person in charge.  

Goodbye and good riddance, Wells Fargo!!

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Petie12345 Account Holder

Credit score not the best but above 620, never was late or missed a payment... Never! Credit card usage a bit high at 32 % but all but 1 card is interest free for either 12 - 18 months. I call that smart I log in to review my online accounts and I notice my Credit Card is no longer in my dashboard. I call the bank and I was told that they closed that credit card with no balance on it because my credit card debt was too high. 32 % is too high ???, never late!!!. Not according to Credit Karma. Wells Fargo Financial services have been trying to get me to move my IRA, Money Market and 401k to them. I get calls/emails daily, almost 200k in there. I said lets talk closer to the end of the year, David gets ****ed off and I guess instructs them to close my credit card account. What kind of trust can you have with a bank that does this. Absolutely Nothing. Wells fargo must be in trouble from their opening accounts scheme which they were caught red handed and their insurance scam. My suggestion is to stay away from the shady dealings of Wells Fargo and if you have a account, close it and move across the street to another institution. After all, Wells Fargo does not offer anything more than others and they most often, fall short of other banks. The staff in Plumsteadville were great, Management just OK but the Bank sucks.

more ...
Jul 24, 2017
NO GRACE PERIOD!DON'T MISS LAST PAYMENT!
04marine08 Account Holder

PURCHASED FURNATURE THROUGH BOB'S FURNITURE. BOB'S USES WELLS FARGO AS THEIR FINANCIAL CONTRACTOR.  12/MO INTEREST FREE. MADE ALL PAYMENTS ONTIME UP UNTILL THE LAST MONTH. MISSED IT BY 9 DAYS. ............. GUESS WHAT, INSTEAD OF PAYING OUR FINAL $200....... WE NOW GET TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $870.....

I CONTACTED THEM AND GOING THROUGH SEVERAL PEOPLE, THEY ADVISED THERE IS NO GRACE PERIOD, NO LENIENCY WHAT SO EVER...."YOU SIDNGED THE CONTRACT, THOSE ARE THE GUIDLINES."  OH WAIT..... THEY TOOK 25% OF THE INTERST OFF AND THAT IS THE BEST THEY COULD DO....A PERCENTAGE.

EVERY FINANCIAL INSTITUTION I HAVE EVER GONE THROUGH GIVES LENIENCY AND A GRACE PERIOD FOR CERTAIN UNFORCEEN INSTANCES OR MISTAKES, LET ALONE 9 DAYS.

EXCELLENT CREDIT, NEVER MISSED A PAYMENT IN MY LIFE. MISSED THIS ONE WITH WELLSFARGO AS I WAS AWAY.....I GET TO PAY HUNDREDS MORE THAN I WOULD HAVE 9 DAYS AGO.........

WILL NEEEEEEEVER UTILIZE WELLSFARGO FOR A SIGNLE THING FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. AND CHECKING OUT OTHER REVIEWS ON WELLSFARGO, I CAN TELL THERE ARE MILLIONS OF OTHERS WHO WILL BE DOING THE SAME. 

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
Horrible!!
gopats89 Account Holder

Horrible experience with this bank.  Applied for financing through a furniture store.  It was explained as interest free 6 months financing.  As a normal person, I assumed this meant I would be charged 28.99% interest on the balancing remaining after 6 months.  After 6 months, I had an outstanding balance of 600 dollars which I planned to pay off in month 7.  Got hit with a 345 dollar interest charge.  Apparently you accumlumate interest during the duration and if you don't pay in full within 6 months you have to pay the interest!! Never explained and buried within pages of documents.  When I called Customer service they were extremely unhelpful.  After speaking with three people the most they were willing to take off was 100 dollars (I even offered to pay balance in full plus 150 in interest!).  I would've paid in full in month 6 if I knew.  I explained this to them, as I know Wells Fargo does not need the 350 dollars from me to stay in business (the 350 dollars they wouldn't even have if I had known about the clause 10 days sooner) and they just kept repeating that I signed a contract and had to honor it.  Never had this kind of issue with a bank before.  Captial one, citi and TD Bank are so much better, and so much better with customer service.  Willing to remove ridiculous fees like this with just a quick phone call.  Almost two hours on the phone and still not resolved! I'll be closing this account and won't be reopening with Wells Fargo.

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Terrible service even their logo says different
Drgmbg Account Holder

Don't bank there. They have over 20,000 dollars of ours and they won't take a bank check for 3,000 dollars

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Thieves and Scam Artists
GracieMarie46 Account Holder

Well Like everyone else, they bounced a check I wrote, came up with some reason to hold my CASH deposit I made the day before to cover the check. I withdrew the cash and went in person to pay the bill I wrote the check for. I paid the overdraft fee and asked for the check back. They said the check was in the "back room", assured me they would mail it to me and it would take 5 to 7 business days. Instead today they ran the check through again and charged me another $35. You know, most theives are thrown in jail for stealing from citizens. Why are they getting away with this? Oh and the woman helping me (she didn't) was a total mean person and snotty too. I understand totally why they are so aweful, they hate working at a bank where all of the customers hate them! No one could stay nice under those circumstances! RUN AWAY! RUN VERY FAR AND FAST AWAY!!!

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Terrible
Quintessence711 Account Holder

Banked with them for 10 years. Used them as a secondary account to pay student loans and credit cards; usually bringing it to a zero balance each month. Today my account was closed and they tell me I requested the closure. :-/ ummmm...No! And then they tried to tell me they can't reopen the account but can open another one for me. I supported them even through the fake account scandal. But this??? Sayonara, Wells Fargo.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
WORST BANK EVER-- STAY AWAY
glsg Account Holder

Had a mortgage thru this bank.  After 10 years we asked them to roll over the mortgage to a VA loan.  The nightmare began.  They messed around, and refused payments.  They stated "We can make more by taking your home than working with you."  I was confused, we had never missed a payment.  They then gave us a new payment, and approved us.  Then again, refused payments, and served us with foreclosure papers!!  Been fighting them now for 7 yrs.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations