Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2014
Never had a bad experience
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had my Checking and Savings accounts with Wells Fargo for a few years and just recently got approved for there Platinum Visa Rewards Credit Card. I am by no means rich. I work a retail job and my rent takes up more than half of my living expenses. From most of the low reviews I have read the main issue seems to be customer error. Fees were never "hidden" from me when I applied for my accounts they were written in the agreement that I signed; after I read it. It just seems unreasonable to blame Wells Fargo for customer error. Anywhere where business takes place the customer will inevitably have some kind of negative experience. But can you really blame Wells Fargo as a whole for that experience? Or is it just that you spoke to a Representative that was having a rough day? Maybe there was some kind regulation you didn't know about that made a seemingly simple process take longer than expected. So far I have had a positive experience from every part of Wells Fargo that I have dealt with. I may come across a negative experience in the future. But, will I lose my cool and close all of my accounts with WF when it does? Probably not. 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 17, 2013
mimsyla Account Holder

I am in a constant state of confusion with their online services. One day I will have money and the next day it will say I was charged X amount of dollars for something I was charged for 2 weeks ago. Then the next day the charge will magically fall off or disappear leading me to beleive I have more money than I really have. So naturally, going on a quick glance of the funds I have in my acct and beleiving they already took the money for charge X- I spend the money. Then I get a lovely $35 overdraft charge! Screw these people. It is the WORST bank ever.

more ...

Reviews (335)

Add Review
Oct 16, 2016
Worst Bank Ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst customer service. I was charge $350 for being overdrwan one time before I checked my account. They wouldnt reverse one charge, they are crooks and trying to makeup for their recent fines. They opened accounts up with customers names and committed fraud.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Bad bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

All these years that I have been their customers are wasted. I never get a credit card, car loan or mortgage. I am leaving them. 

They say that they will make me cry when I apply For home equality line. I am now laughing with my just closed mortgage. I will make you cry when I take out all my money tomorrow.

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They were ok when I first began banking with them, then it all went south. First it started with overdraft fees even if I deposited/transfer money on the same day, which they are suppose to only charge overdraft fees after 24 hours, then they began to act like they took money out for charges I had made a week or so ago, then all of a sudden I had more money than calculated so I withdrew money and transferred money. They then place overdraft fees and posted payments that was supposedly already taken out! So now I'm negative in my account and do not understand.

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Looking at what is going on with Wells Fargo and how they treat empolyees, I am removing all money ASAP!

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
A total sh!tsh*w
Anonymous Account Holder

A bunch of indigant criminals who tracked down and fired people who called an anonymous employee whistleblower hotline.  They promote FRAUD against account holders.  This bank should be sued out of existence forever!

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Terrible service
Anonymous Account Holder

Very frustrated with their poor customer services and unreliable information i often get from WF bankers.

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Awful, as a customer of 15 years today they crossed the line by practically stealing my money-giving out my credit card info to a merchant who then charged me and no one would refund. 

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Worst. Bank. Ever.
AnnaG1327 Account Holder

What should anyone know about Wells Fargo and it's customer service- I don't even know where to start. I had opened it orgianlly with someone a few years back. I had problems with the customer service provided in the bank its self, but by far the worst is the online phone system. I was orignally supposed to have an increase on my bank card to pay for rent. They decided to not allow me to have this increase AFTER having stated that the increase would happen and I was told to go screw myself by someone who spoke barely any English. Now that wasn't the biggest problem. More issues followed after.

I had to fight a month just to recieve my bank card after opening my own account. I had called and talked to at least three different people, after having to fight with my address update online. One had told me it was updated and I would recieve my card with in 7 days. Seven days turned into 8..then 9.. then 10...then I called them. This person told me my card has shipped and they will send out a new seven days....Seven days AGAIN passed...then 8...then 9 then 10.

I called once more. This time the person on the phone had told me my card had not shipped, and she would put it in to send out. So at this point the temporary card was about to go bad but I had a week or so left. I attempted to try and take my card and use it at the store. This was around the holidays and I needed access to my account. At the check out counter I was informed my card was declined. Perplexed, I called them back AGAIN.

My card had been blocked due to it being apparently missing...Appearently the woman I had spoken to, put a block on my temporary card because some how she had been confused over it not being mailed out. I was informed there was nothing they could do and I had to wait an entire weekend before I could go to the bank as it is not open on weekends in my area.

I filed a compliant about the CSR and their apology was as pathetic as the bank is.

Do not, for whatever reason, EVER bank here. They will do anything an everything in their power to screw you over.

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
Horrible greedy bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Call centers in the phillipines for americans. Service charges I have never seen before.  Robotic customer service. No hearts They dont care. Just more corporate greed. These people will suffer one day. Meaning the top 1%. It's coming...

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
Deceit and misrepresentation
steveokneivo Account Holder

Wells Fargo has constantly caused confusion with their pending charges for the sole purpose of extracting fees. Charges will appear very late, they will also dissappear completely leading to a belief of having a higher ballance. I'm done with these crooks.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this bank overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations