Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Bank

1.5 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 28, 2016
best bank i have dealt with
Anonymous Account Holder

best bank ever

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 21, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Friday I receive the call saying there was some type of fraud alert on my account. They didn't know what had happen. I was on the phone they closed my account without my permission. I had $7,000 in my account I currently have no access to my money.  I am currently in Kansas City Missouri on a medical emergency. And there is no Wells Fargo here, so the checks I have with me and my debit card  are no good. I am under contract to sell my house therefore I need to pay people for doing work before sell is final.   This puts me in a financial hardship. They stopped  the payments I have made to people who worked on my house  where I used my debit card. I am on a schedule  to get work done  for the people buying my house. After closing my account they tell me I do not have access to it any more.  I what to see what they did pay.  I can't see my old statements. It is tax time and they tell me I have no access to my old account at all there for it makes it harder for me to prepare for taxes. I use Quicken I can not download anything to my Quicken account to help me get ready. I am currently totally broke because I do not have access to my funds. I have spoken to other banks and they say my account could have been frozen,  and I could have been given access to it for certain amount of time. I have been with Wells Fargo for over 10 years.  the conduct in this matter is totally unacceptable. I want access to my funds ASAP. I want access to my old account ASAP. And I will be closing my account as soon as I can transfer my automatic deposits and my automatic payments. 

Signed THE BROKE WOMAN WITH MONEY

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
Terrible!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

DO NOT BANK WITH THIS BANK! Not once have they been able to protect my account. Constantly have to fight with them about funds and they do not care about your money there interest is getting as much of it as possible. There reps are incompetent and nothing ever gets resolved. Again I suggest everyone stays away but the choice is yours. Terrible bank and worst experience of my life.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Prices!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Too many hidden fees.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Terrible customer service!!
Anonymous Account Holder

It would be nearly impossible for a company to have worse customer service.  They do whatever they can to hold your money hostige as long as possible, so you better not be in a hurry to get your money back once they have it!

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
best bank i have dealt with
Anonymous Account Holder

best bank ever

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Crappy Bank
jyaniz Account Holder

When you file a chargeback and ask about bank procedure on your behalf they explain they have a questionnaire to fill out and send off to Visa. That's it. They want no evidence, nothing. When asked, Wells Fargo about a charge being presented by ANY merchant you previously shopped at, they confirmed the same process and the hope that the customer would prevail. 

Wells Fargo also reopened an old account and charged for maintenance fees + the overdrafts they created, didn't tell me until the charges were over $500

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
This bank is awesome in the Mortgage dep
toddncourtneymarsh Account Holder

I've financed my home with Wells Fargo. The mortgage team is awesome at helping me decide best decisions for paying off home sooner.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Overall a good bank
Anonymous Account Holder

My husband and I have been with WF for around six years with no issues. We've never been charged a fee, totally free checking account, all you have to do is have checks direct deposited. No issues or fees associated with our savings account either. On the rare occasion we've had to call customer service they have been friendly and helpful. YMMV, but our experience has been without issue. We don't bounce our account, keep track of our funds, we're polite when we call and they treat us in kind. I'm not pleased with their current issues but every bank has its downside. 

My only real complaint is they refused to extend us a credit card, but had no issues receiving 8 Approvals right after with other companies. 

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I have gone through Wellsfargo before and never had a problem with them 

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Worst bank ever to bank with.
Anonymous Account Holder

Too many fees charged due to changes not disclosed.

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Terrible bank Don't bank with them!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had a long and pleasant experience until I had a lapse in employment and my bank account sum has decreased. Not only did they not reward my loyalty for 9 years of banking with them, when I called to ask for waiver of the fee, they wouldn't do it for me. So I did what everyone should do: take my business elsewhere. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations