Wells Fargo Bank Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
68 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2014
Never had a bad experience
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had my Checking and Savings accounts with Wells Fargo for a few years and just recently got approved for there Platinum Visa Rewards Credit Card. I am by no means rich. I work a retail job and my rent takes up more than half of my living expenses. From most of the low reviews I have read the main issue seems to be customer error. Fees were never "hidden" from me when I applied for my accounts they were written in the agreement that I signed; after I read it. It just seems unreasonable to blame Wells Fargo for customer error. Anywhere where business takes place the customer will inevitably have some kind of negative experience. But can you really blame Wells Fargo as a whole for that experience? Or is it just that you spoke to a Representative that was having a rough day? Maybe there was some kind regulation you didn't know about that made a seemingly simple process take longer than expected. So far I have had a positive experience from every part of Wells Fargo that I have dealt with. I may come across a negative experience in the future. But, will I lose my cool and close all of my accounts with WF when it does? Probably not. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 17, 2013
Ugh.
mimsyla Account Holder

I am in a constant state of confusion with their online services. One day I will have money and the next day it will say I was charged X amount of dollars for something I was charged for 2 weeks ago. Then the next day the charge will magically fall off or disappear leading me to beleive I have more money than I really have. So naturally, going on a quick glance of the funds I have in my acct and beleiving they already took the money for charge X- I spend the money. Then I get a lovely $35 overdraft charge! Screw these people. It is the WORST bank ever.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 28, 2017
Thieves and Scam Artists
GracieMarie46 Account Holder

Well Like everyone else, they bounced a check I wrote, came up with some reason to hold my CASH deposit I made the day before to cover the check. I withdrew the cash and went in person to pay the bill I wrote the check for. I paid the overdraft fee and asked for the check back. They said the check was in the "back room", assured me they would mail it to me and it would take 5 to 7 business days. Instead today they ran the check through again and charged me another $35. You know, most theives are thrown in jail for stealing from citizens. Why are they getting away with this? Oh and the woman helping me (she didn't) was a total mean person and snotty too. I understand totally why they are so aweful, they hate working at a bank where all of the customers hate them! No one could stay nice under those circumstances! RUN AWAY! RUN VERY FAR AND FAST AWAY!!!

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Terrible
Quintessence711 Account Holder

Banked with them for 10 years. Used them as a secondary account to pay student loans and credit cards; usually bringing it to a zero balance each month. Today my account was closed and they tell me I requested the closure. :-/ ummmm...No! And then they tried to tell me they can't reopen the account but can open another one for me. I supported them even through the fake account scandal. But this??? Sayonara, Wells Fargo.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
WORST BANK EVER-- STAY AWAY
glsg Account Holder

Had a mortgage thru this bank.  After 10 years we asked them to roll over the mortgage to a VA loan.  The nightmare began.  They messed around, and refused payments.  They stated "We can make more by taking your home than working with you."  I was confused, we had never missed a payment.  They then gave us a new payment, and approved us.  Then again, refused payments, and served us with foreclosure papers!!  Been fighting them now for 7 yrs.  

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Wrong Account Balance
KDL401 Account Holder

We are CONSTANTLY having issues with our account balance. It will show a certain amount is available. We pay close attention to our balance and make sure we do spend more than what is there to avoid over draft fees. But somehow magically when the account "catches up" our account ends up negative and we get hit with overdraft fees...this has happened to us muliple times but here's the story this time. We went to the store thursday night after which we had about $14 and change left in the account. Had a paycheck direct deposit hit friday morning in the amount of $628. 628 + 14 = 642 right? Tell me why the account balance showed 670 something? I told my husband about it and looked at the transactions but could not find anything wrong. Everything we knew we spent money on was listed. Paid some bills and Saturday our balance was $260. we went to the store again, spent $81. Spent $25 on a fathers day gift and $25 on food. Sunday we spent $75 on fathers day dinner, $20 on gas and a little more other places. Sunday night our ending balance was $7 and change in checking and $20 in savings. Monday, no change. Tuesday morning (today) I wake up to a notification that our account is -$40...I check the transactions and nothing has changed. Everything that was listed before is still listed just the same but except now our available balance is negative...I transfered the $20 from our savings to the checking to lower the negative so that when my husband gets paid thursday it won't be so much out of his check but it is still -$20 for which we will reveive and over draft fee. I don't understand why their system can't "keep up" and show the correct amount available. And why do we have to deal with negative account balances and over draft fees for their systems mistake!? I can't take this anymore, my husband and I will be looking for a new bank ASAP! 

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
WELLSFARGO HAS DONE NOTHING FOR ME!
Anonymous Account Holder

I HAVE BEEN WITH WELLSFARGO SINCE 2004 AND WAS ACTUALLY A CUSTOMER WITH WACHOVIA BEFORE THEY BOUGHT THEM OUT! I HAVE TRIED TO GET A FEW LOANS WITH THEM THROUGHOUT MY TIME WITH WELLSFARGO AND I ALWAYS SEEM TO GET DENIED. ITS FUNNY I CAN GO OUTSIDE MY BANK AND GET ANY LOAN, BUT THEY WONT! SO I JUST GOT DENIED ONES AGAIN FOR A SMALL PERSONAL LOAN TO PAY OFF A HIGH INTREST RATE LOAN AND SOME CREDIT CARDS AND YET AGAIN I WAS DENIED. SO I'VE OPENED UP ANOTHER CHECKING ACCOUNT WITH ANOTHER BANK. 

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

said that they had a cosigner release program, but after making all payments on time and no hardships, have a good job, they would not honor the release

more ...
May 26, 2017
Horrible Bank and Horrible Cust Service
Ammu0303 Account Holder

I went to buy some furniture from BOBs and they applied for a loan for me at Wells Fargo. At the time, i did not know that i would be charged a total of 28% on the loan i took, rather than on the outstanding balance i have with wells fargo. I paid off the loan amount -300$ by the end of year. To my surprise, the wells fargo charged me a sum of 340$ , which is way more than my outstanding balance. On calling the customer service, the surpervisor Michelle, yelled at me for being "careless" and blaming me for not looking at this. She was not at all helpful, when i told her that i would pay off the entire 300$ and if she could waive off the amount. She only told me that she could waive off the 50.99$ and the way she handled the call was not very customer care like either. 

I would strongly suggest not going for this horrible bank and to avoid taking any kind of loans from them. 

more ...
May 25, 2017
They Steal
jsengyeng Account Holder

They will give you random fees and force you to pay it.  

For instance, I paid my mortgage on time.  Mysteriously another mortgage attempt was made the same day.  I contacted them and asked them to stop that payment.  They told me they couldn't help me and that I would have to wait out the three attempts for that payment to fully stop.  Well, my mortgage was $1250 and I had $900 after the first payment was made.  I got charged 3 non refundable overdraft fees.  Then I looked online today and found out they're giving me fees for my mortgage payment that was returned, even though it should've have never went through.  I contacted them and they told me to pay up everything.  Even though I notified them of everything along the way.  That second payment was just putting me ahead a couple of months but like I said, I never submitted a  second payment for that same month.  I always pay my bills on time.  But Wells Fargo is proving to me that they're in the business to steal as much as they can from their customers.  I'm very disappointed with this bank.  I'm closing my acoounts with them this month.  They are a pain there too... more fees... unnecessary fees.  

more ...
May 25, 2017
They Steal
Anonymous Account Holder

They will give you random fees and force you to pay it.  

For instance, I paid my mortgage on time.  Mysteriously another mortgage attempt was made the same day.  I contacted them and asked them to stop that payment.  They told me they couldn't help me and that I would have to wait out the three attempts for that payment to fully stop.  Well, my mortgage was $1250 and I had $900 after the first payment was made.  I got charged 3 non refundable overdraft fees.  Then I looked online today and found out they're giving me fees for my mortgage payment that was returned, even though it should've have never went through.  I contacted them and they told me to pay up everything.  Even though I notified them of everything along the way.  That second payment was just putting me ahead a couple of months but like I said, I never submitted a  second payment for that same month.  I always pay my bills on time.  But Wells Fargo is proving to me that they're in the business to steal as much as they can from their customers.  I'm very disappointed with this bank.  I'm closing my acoounts with them this month.  They are a pain there too... more fees... unnecessary fees.  

more ...
May 23, 2017
worst bank ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

this is the worst bank i have ever had. they force you to have the chip cards and i had my chip fall out of my card and it was unuseable and made me pay for a new one. There customer service leaves alot to be desired i mean would it kill them to smile. and when you tell them you dont want the overdraft protection so nothing can come out if you dont have money in there they let things come out anyway and overdraft you so they can charge you the 35 dollar fee charge and if you are inbetween paydays and dont have the money to put in there to cover then they start charging daily for being overdrafted it is so maddening and infuriating

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations