Wells Fargo Bank

1.7 out of 5 stars
72 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 03, 2017
Customer for 10 years, Mostly good.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer since 2007 and I have a number of accounts with Wells Fargo. In the past I have been hit with certian fees due to features/services not being setup correctly, when I went into a branch and spoke to someone every fee I have encountered has been reversed and the issue corrected. Idealy it would not happen in the first place however their customer service has almost always been good for me.

Wells fargo is a very big bank and I have been in ~100 branches. Not every one of them has had good customer service, I do not blame this on the bank but that branch.  The few branches that had poor customer service I simply don't visit again. 

Wells Fargo does have a somewhat convoluted requirements to waive the montly fee, such as XX auto deposit OR XX debit card swipes per months OR $XX in a connected savings account. The values depend on the account but for example the savings requirement is $300 for the loest which is reasonable if you intend to have an emergency fund. Direct deposit requirement is like $500 so per month. None of these should be an issue for someone with a job and using wells fargo as their primary bank.

Wells Fargo is not the ideal bank to go to when you don't have credit or good credit, even as a customer I needed to get my credit score >680 for them to approve any form of credit, they even denided me a secured card. They do however show you your FICO Bankcard Score 2 which is an actual score used for credit cards.

I personally would recommend Wells Fargo if someone needs a Coast to Coast bank. Credit Unions and other banks may be limited to a reagon, everyone says Credit Unions are better but in my experince that is like Wells Fargo, it depends on the branch and some Credit Union branches can be terrible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2016
Worst. Bank. Ever.
AnnaG1327 Account Holder

What should anyone know about Wells Fargo and it's customer service- I don't even know where to start. I had opened it orgianlly with someone a few years back. I had problems with the customer service provided in the bank its self, but by far the worst is the online phone system. I was orignally supposed to have an increase on my bank card to pay for rent. They decided to not allow me to have this increase AFTER having stated that the increase would happen and I was told to go screw myself by someone who spoke barely any English. Now that wasn't the biggest problem. More issues followed after.

I had to fight a month just to recieve my bank card after opening my own account. I had called and talked to at least three different people, after having to fight with my address update online. One had told me it was updated and I would recieve my card with in 7 days. Seven days turned into 8..then 9.. then 10...then I called them. This person told me my card has shipped and they will send out a new one...in seven days....Seven days AGAIN passed...then 8...then 9 then 10.

I called once more. This time the person on the phone had told me my card had not shipped, and she would put it in to send out. So at this point the temporary card was about to go bad but I had a week or so left. I attempted to try and take my card and use it at the store. This was around the holidays and I needed access to my account. At the check out counter I was informed my card was declined. Perplexed, I called them back AGAIN.

My card had been blocked due to it being apparently missing...Appearently the woman I had spoken to, put a block on my temporary card because some how she had been confused over it not being mailed out. I was informed there was nothing they could do and I had to wait an entire weekend before I could go to the bank as it is not open on weekends in my area.

I filed a compliant about the CSR and their apology was as pathetic as the bank is.

Do not, for whatever reason, EVER bank here. They will do anything an everything in their power to screw you over.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
Legal loan sharks...
ALaw86 Account Holder

They set outragous APRs like 29% and refuse to work with you on the acounts and/or lower %. The advice i got was to let it go to collections and settle pretty much from one of their workers

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use Wells Fargo in anyway!

Terrible Bank, Horrible Customer Service

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
loife destroyer bank
Anonymous Account Holder

interest to rate for mortgage is 8% since 10 years,we tried to lower it since 8 years,we went to NACA,harp,lawyers  nobody make them lower interest.wells Fargo wants to get home from an old women they must think they will be rich. Is there 8% interest in anywhere else.be human being that's enough.life destroyedr wells fargo.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Horrible customer service
mikeb5554 Account Holder

Horrible customer service and unacceptable funds availability policy. Holding LOCAL checks for 7 days is unacceptable. I have direct deposit, and several other accounts with Wells Fargo and am tired of their fees and lack of concern for what's important to their customers 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

If someone steals your identity don't expect Wells Fargo to side with you as the customer. I was a WF customer for over 15-years when someone stole my identity and opened a credit card account in my name. Despite the card being activated via a cell phone number other than mine and my having  closed the account within hours of the card being activated and used, and attempted to be used the next day. Despite origianlly being told by WF the charge was fraudulent, WF reversed their position and stuck me with the bill. I've since closed my accounts with WF. 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Customer for 10 years, Mostly good.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer since 2007 and I have a number of accounts with Wells Fargo. In the past I have been hit with certian fees due to features/services not being setup correctly, when I went into a branch and spoke to someone every fee I have encountered has been reversed and the issue corrected. Idealy it would not happen in the first place however their customer service has almost always been good for me.

Wells fargo is a very big bank and I have been in ~100 branches. Not every one of them has had good customer service, I do not blame this on the bank but that branch.  The few branches that had poor customer service I simply don't visit again. 

Wells Fargo does have a somewhat convoluted requirements to waive the montly fee, such as XX auto deposit OR XX debit card swipes per months OR $XX in a connected savings account. The values depend on the account but for example the savings requirement is $300 for the loest which is reasonable if you intend to have an emergency fund. Direct deposit requirement is like $500 so per month. None of these should be an issue for someone with a job and using wells fargo as their primary bank.

Wells Fargo is not the ideal bank to go to when you don't have credit or good credit, even as a customer I needed to get my credit score >680 for them to approve any form of credit, they even denided me a secured card. They do however show you your FICO Bankcard Score 2 which is an actual score used for credit cards.

I personally would recommend Wells Fargo if someone needs a Coast to Coast bank. Credit Unions and other banks may be limited to a reagon, everyone says Credit Unions are better but in my experince that is like Wells Fargo, it depends on the branch and some Credit Union branches can be terrible.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Wells Fargo is absolutely terrible.
Anonymous Account Holder

Wells Fargo is terrible in every way. Ive been a customer for many years and every interaction I've ever had with their customer service has been terrible. They don't even pretend to care about their customers. 

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Customer is NEVER first
FormulaElement Account Holder

This company will only watch out for their own interests and will never help you when in need of help. Bank fruad happening to your credit card? Touch ****, they wont help you because it will cost them money.

Honestly i dont know why i bank with them, the convience of having them in about every city is the only thing good. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Very bad auto loan services
Anonymous Account Holder

Wells Fargo will put a lien on your car that you own even though you don't owe any money on it and then takes several days to give you a piece of paper to release the lien

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
hard sell....
Anonymous Account Holder

I just wanted to open a CD.... the young man tried to sell me various bank products and did not listen to what I wanted.  He had no boundaries and I had to say NO many many times. WHY?

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations