Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Bank

1.6 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 04, 2016
This bank is awesome in the Mortgage dep
toddncourtneymarsh Account Holder

I've financed my home with Wells Fargo. The mortgage team is awesome at helping me decide best decisions for paying off home sooner.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 26, 2016
Masters of deceit
Anonymous Account Holder

This is the worst banking experience that I have ever had; and I had some pretty bad experiences.  In a nutshell, Wells Fargo has expert statisticians that have developed algorithims where they come out on top at your expense.  If you have overdraft protection, they will delay the processing of funds and immediately clear transactions first which so they can charge you the most money and will clear one transaction in the evening; hitting you with a $35 charge; you go to be with a postive balance in your account, then clear another transaction at 1 in the morning so they can hit you with the second $35 charge the next day.  You run to the bank and deposit funds to clear any deficit, they delay the processing of the funds and again hit you with another $35 fee when a recurring debit is processed that you forgot about it.  Even whey you cancel your overdraft protection, they won't admit any wrongdoing..... they will issue a credit but for $8; not the $35 that they wrongfully charged.  If you are like me and want to have as much money in savings as possible and use your checking for your monthly budget, if you exceed your budget, they charge you $12.50 to use the money in your savings account if they transfer the money to cover the $1.  It is like majic, one day your money is there and the next day it is gone.....  How can they charge an overdraft fee on someone that does not want overdraft coverage?  Their sneaky legal team wrote into the fine print that the overdraft protection only covers debit transactions.  If you have your bills paid using the ACH system where you enter the routing and account numbers as many bills require instead of a debit or credit card, you can not opt out of overdraft protection......  You will pay and Wells Fargo has mastered the practice.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
Wells Fargo is absolutely terrible.
Anonymous Account Holder

Wells Fargo is terrible in every way. Ive been a customer for many years and every interaction I've ever had with their customer service has been terrible. They don't even pretend to care about their customers. 

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Customer is NEVER first
FormulaElement Account Holder

This company will only watch out for their own interests and will never help you when in need of help. Bank fruad happening to your credit card? Touch ****, they wont help you because it will cost them money.

Honestly i dont know why i bank with them, the convience of having them in about every city is the only thing good. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Very bad auto loan services
Anonymous Account Holder

Wells Fargo will put a lien on your car that you own even though you don't owe any money on it and then takes several days to give you a piece of paper to release the lien

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
hard sell....
Anonymous Account Holder

I just wanted to open a CD.... the young man tried to sell me various bank products and did not listen to what I wanted.  He had no boundaries and I had to say NO many many times. WHY?

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Terrible, incompetent, thieves.
Anonymous Account Holder

Home mortgage loan, stole our escrow to pay someone elses flood insurance causing us to lose ours. Refused to fix it, then forced us to find different insurance that cost almost twice as much and refused to pay the difference. Then signed us up for direct payments, taking money from our account without our knowledge or permission causing other payments to be late or overdrafted to the tune of hundreds of dollars. Forcing us to call utility companies, car loan and cable to straighten it out and then Wells Fargo fought us on replacing that money in our account.. It's been nothing but strife for 2 years and we can't get out from under it.

more ...
Jan 23, 2017
Greedy
Anonymous Account Holder

To many hidden fees. They charge you to make a payment.

more ...
Jan 22, 2017
They only want your $$
Anonymous Account Holder

I currently have a private student loan with Wells Fargo.  I pay my monthly student loan bill on time, in fact early.  Apparently I paid one day too early and they posted my payment to the past month instead of the current month.  This resulted in a "payment past due on my January bill and the payment I made for January was used to pay more interest than principai.  When I called to rectify this, I was told there was nothing they could do and I would have to make another payment for January.  I informed them that I felt this was unfair.  I was essentially being forced into making an additional payment because they posted it to the previous month.  They informed me that they "understood" but there was nothing they can do, except to reimburse me my payment, and then I could pay them again.  i can't believe a HUGE company like Wells Fargo is unable to fix this issue.  And to add insult to injury, my father cosigned on this loan.  Wells Fargo my Dad a voicemail regarding the missing payment.  The payment they already had.  I have paid off roughly $40,000 on this loan, with roughly $8,000 left, and they still will not remove my Dad because I have not made 122 payments.  Now I am making another payment and getting a Home Equity Line of Credit to get rid of Wells Fargo for good  They are all about the money and I cringe when I think about how much money they have made off of me.  Do not use them.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Disgusting customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Will a bank gives you starter checks upon opening an account would you think that those checks would have the correct account number on them? And then try to have the bank extend a courtesy book of checks with the correct information, ha! Very poor on your part Wells Fargo you get 0 stars on this one

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Not for anyone, bad bank and bad people
Anonymous Account Holder

Avoid this bank, as they are a bad fit for everyone...

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
Will not report to the credit bureau!!!!
Torp712 Account Holder

I traded my vehicle in October 2016 and the loan was paid in full when i traded the vehicle off. Wells Fargo closed it in their systems and when i call in they say it is paid off and closed. However the vehicle is still showing on my credit report as an open auto loan and the rep told me they received the payoff on November 7th and closed the account that day. However it should show on my credit report as closed in December. I explained it is not closed, and the rep tells me sir it should be showing paid in full as of December and then closed as of January. Again i plead to the rep to assist me as it is still showing the account as open and has not closed on the credit bureaus side. The rep continued  by explaining to me that it is not their fault and it is the credit Bureaus mistake not theirs. However my other auto loan is already showing up as it should and the 2nd auto loan i just got for my wife 3 weeks ago is already on there. Worst company to ever work with. They will continually explain to you why they can not help you clean up their mistake and then point the blame elsewhere. The wait time is 5-10 minutes just to even talk to a rep only to hear them say they could care less about you problems and continue to repeat themselves in hopes of you hanging up. Buyers beware!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations