Wells Fargo Bank

1.6 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2014
Never had a bad experience
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had my Checking and Savings accounts with Wells Fargo for a few years and just recently got approved for there Platinum Visa Rewards Credit Card. I am by no means rich. I work a retail job and my rent takes up more than half of my living expenses. From most of the low reviews I have read the main issue seems to be customer error. Fees were never "hidden" from me when I applied for my accounts they were written in the agreement that I signed; after I read it. It just seems unreasonable to blame Wells Fargo for customer error. Anywhere where business takes place the customer will inevitably have some kind of negative experience. But can you really blame Wells Fargo as a whole for that experience? Or is it just that you spoke to a Representative that was having a rough day? Maybe there was some kind regulation you didn't know about that made a seemingly simple process take longer than expected. So far I have had a positive experience from every part of Wells Fargo that I have dealt with. I may come across a negative experience in the future. But, will I lose my cool and close all of my accounts with WF when it does? Probably not. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 17, 2013
Ugh.
mimsyla Account Holder

I am in a constant state of confusion with their online services. One day I will have money and the next day it will say I was charged X amount of dollars for something I was charged for 2 weeks ago. Then the next day the charge will magically fall off or disappear leading me to beleive I have more money than I really have. So naturally, going on a quick glance of the funds I have in my acct and beleiving they already took the money for charge X- I spend the money. Then I get a lovely $35 overdraft charge! Screw these people. It is the WORST bank ever.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 22, 2017
The worst bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away from this place it's the worst!

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
very poor customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

their secured card is a joke whenever they feel like a review they do mabey a year or so

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Legal loan sharks...
ALaw86 Account Holder

They set outragous APRs like 29% and refuse to work with you on the acounts and/or lower %. The advice i got was to let it go to collections and settle pretty much from one of their workers

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use Wells Fargo in anyway!

Terrible Bank, Horrible Customer Service

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
loife destroyer bank
Anonymous Account Holder

interest to rate for mortgage is 8% since 10 years,we tried to lower it since 8 years,we went to NACA,harp,lawyers  nobody make them lower interest.wells Fargo wants to get home from an old women they must think they will be rich. Is there 8% interest in anywhere else.be human being that's enough.life destroyedr wells fargo.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Horrible customer service
mikeb5554 Account Holder

Horrible customer service and unacceptable funds availability policy. Holding LOCAL checks for 7 days is unacceptable. I have direct deposit, and several other accounts with Wells Fargo and am tired of their fees and lack of concern for what's important to their customers 

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

If someone steals your identity don't expect Wells Fargo to side with you as the customer. I was a WF customer for over 15-years when someone stole my identity and opened a credit card account in my name. Despite the card being activated via a cell phone number other than mine and my having  closed the account within hours of the card being activated and used, and attempted to be used the next day. Despite origianlly being told by WF the charge was fraudulent, WF reversed their position and stuck me with the bill. I've since closed my accounts with WF. 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
Customer for 10 years, Mostly good.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer since 2007 and I have a number of accounts with Wells Fargo. In the past I have been hit with certian fees due to features/services not being setup correctly, when I went into a branch and spoke to someone every fee I have encountered has been reversed and the issue corrected. Idealy it would not happen in the first place however their customer service has almost always been good for me.

Wells fargo is a very big bank and I have been in ~100 branches. Not every one of them has had good customer service, I do not blame this on the bank but that branch.  The few branches that had poor customer service I simply don't visit again. 

Wells Fargo does have a somewhat convoluted requirements to waive the montly fee, such as XX auto deposit OR XX debit card swipes per months OR $XX in a connected savings account. The values depend on the account but for example the savings requirement is $300 for the loest which is reasonable if you intend to have an emergency fund. Direct deposit requirement is like $500 so per month. None of these should be an issue for someone with a job and using wells fargo as their primary bank.

Wells Fargo is not the ideal bank to go to when you don't have credit or good credit, even as a customer I needed to get my credit score >680 for them to approve any form of credit, they even denided me a secured card. They do however show you your FICO Bankcard Score 2 which is an actual score used for credit cards.

I personally would recommend Wells Fargo if someone needs a Coast to Coast bank. Credit Unions and other banks may be limited to a reagon, everyone says Credit Unions are better but in my experince that is like Wells Fargo, it depends on the branch and some Credit Union branches can be terrible.

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Wells Fargo is absolutely terrible.
Anonymous Account Holder

Wells Fargo is terrible in every way. Ive been a customer for many years and every interaction I've ever had with their customer service has been terrible. They don't even pretend to care about their customers. 

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Customer is NEVER first
FormulaElement Account Holder

This company will only watch out for their own interests and will never help you when in need of help. Bank fruad happening to your credit card? Touch ****, they wont help you because it will cost them money.

Honestly i dont know why i bank with them, the convience of having them in about every city is the only thing good. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations