Wells Fargo Bank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 01, 2014
Never had a bad experience
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had my Checking and Savings accounts with Wells Fargo for a few years and just recently got approved for there Platinum Visa Rewards Credit Card. I am by no means rich. I work a retail job and my rent takes up more than half of my living expenses. From most of the low reviews I have read the main issue seems to be customer error. Fees were never "hidden" from me when I applied for my accounts they were written in the agreement that I signed; after I read it. It just seems unreasonable to blame Wells Fargo for customer error. Anywhere where business takes place the customer will inevitably have some kind of negative experience. But can you really blame Wells Fargo as a whole for that experience? Or is it just that you spoke to a Representative that was having a rough day? Maybe there was some kind regulation you didn't know about that made a seemingly simple process take longer than expected. So far I have had a positive experience from every part of Wells Fargo that I have dealt with. I may come across a negative experience in the future. But, will I lose my cool and close all of my accounts with WF when it does? Probably not. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 17, 2013
Ugh.
mimsyla Account Holder

I am in a constant state of confusion with their online services. One day I will have money and the next day it will say I was charged X amount of dollars for something I was charged for 2 weeks ago. Then the next day the charge will magically fall off or disappear leading me to beleive I have more money than I really have. So naturally, going on a quick glance of the funds I have in my acct and beleiving they already took the money for charge X- I spend the money. Then I get a lovely $35 overdraft charge! Screw these people. It is the WORST bank ever.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 25, 2017
They Steal
jsengyeng Account Holder

They will give you random fees and force you to pay it.  

For instance, I paid my mortgage on time.  Mysteriously another mortgage attempt was made the same day.  I contacted them and asked them to stop that payment.  They told me they couldn't help me and that I would have to wait out the three attempts for that payment to fully stop.  Well, my mortgage was $1250 and I had $900 after the first payment was made.  I got charged 3 non refundable overdraft fees.  Then I looked online today and found out they're giving me fees for my mortgage payment that was returned, even though it should've have never went through.  I contacted them and they told me to pay up everything.  Even though I notified them of everything along the way.  That second payment was just putting me ahead a couple of months but like I said, I never submitted a  second payment for that same month.  I always pay my bills on time.  But Wells Fargo is proving to me that they're in the business to steal as much as they can from their customers.  I'm very disappointed with this bank.  I'm closing my acoounts with them this month.  They are a pain there too... more fees... unnecessary fees.  

more ...
May 23, 2017
worst bank ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

this is the worst bank i have ever had. they force you to have the chip cards and i had my chip fall out of my card and it was unuseable and made me pay for a new one. There customer service leaves alot to be desired i mean would it kill them to smile. and when you tell them you dont want the overdraft protection so nothing can come out if you dont have money in there they let things come out anyway and overdraft you so they can charge you the 35 dollar fee charge and if you are inbetween paydays and dont have the money to put in there to cover then they start charging daily for being overdrafted it is so maddening and infuriating

more ...
May 16, 2017
Scam bank, they should be shut down!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Need I say more? This rotten bank scammed thousand of members by adding products to their acccont which were never autherized. Yet they remain in business. smh Good Ole America capitalism. 

Please stay away from these crooks. 

more ...
May 12, 2017
They Suck!!
Anonymous Account Holder

When you deposit cash it's not made available until the next day so if you write someone a check the same day you deposit fund and the person cash it. The bank will cover the check but you will be charged an overdraft fee!!! They are never upfront about what is going on and talk in circles!!

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
The worst bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away from this place it's the worst!

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
very poor customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

their secured card is a joke whenever they feel like a review they do mabey a year or so

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Legal loan sharks...
ALaw86 Account Holder

They set outragous APRs like 29% and refuse to work with you on the acounts and/or lower %. The advice i got was to let it go to collections and settle pretty much from one of their workers

more ...
Mar 13, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use Wells Fargo in anyway!

Terrible Bank, Horrible Customer Service

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
loife destroyer bank
Anonymous Account Holder

interest to rate for mortgage is 8% since 10 years,we tried to lower it since 8 years,we went to NACA,harp,lawyers  nobody make them lower interest.wells Fargo wants to get home from an old women they must think they will be rich. Is there 8% interest in anywhere else.be human being that's enough.life destroyedr wells fargo.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Horrible customer service
mikeb5554 Account Holder

Horrible customer service and unacceptable funds availability policy. Holding LOCAL checks for 7 days is unacceptable. I have direct deposit, and several other accounts with Wells Fargo and am tired of their fees and lack of concern for what's important to their customers 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations