Wells Fargo Bank Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
68 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 03, 2017
Customer for 10 years, Mostly good.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer since 2007 and I have a number of accounts with Wells Fargo. In the past I have been hit with certian fees due to features/services not being setup correctly, when I went into a branch and spoke to someone every fee I have encountered has been reversed and the issue corrected. Idealy it would not happen in the first place however their customer service has almost always been good for me.

Wells fargo is a very big bank and I have been in ~100 branches. Not every one of them has had good customer service, I do not blame this on the bank but that branch.  The few branches that had poor customer service I simply don't visit again. 

Wells Fargo does have a somewhat convoluted requirements to waive the montly fee, such as XX auto deposit OR XX debit card swipes per months OR $XX in a connected savings account. The values depend on the account but for example the savings requirement is $300 for the loest which is reasonable if you intend to have an emergency fund. Direct deposit requirement is like $500 so per month. None of these should be an issue for someone with a job and using wells fargo as their primary bank.

Wells Fargo is not the ideal bank to go to when you don't have credit or good credit, even as a customer I needed to get my credit score >680 for them to approve any form of credit, they even denided me a secured card. They do however show you your FICO Bankcard Score 2 which is an actual score used for credit cards.

I personally would recommend Wells Fargo if someone needs a Coast to Coast bank. Credit Unions and other banks may be limited to a reagon, everyone says Credit Unions are better but in my experince that is like Wells Fargo, it depends on the branch and some Credit Union branches can be terrible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 20, 2017
Wrong Account Balance
KDL401 Account Holder

We are CONSTANTLY having issues with our account balance. It will show a certain amount is available. We pay close attention to our balance and make sure we do spend more than what is there to avoid over draft fees. But somehow magically when the account "catches up" our account ends up negative and we get hit with overdraft fees...this has happened to us muliple times but here's the story this time. We went to the store thursday night after which we had about $14 and change left in the account. Had a paycheck direct deposit hit friday morning in the amount of $628. 628 + 14 = 642 right? Tell me why the account balance showed 670 something? I told my husband about it and looked at the transactions but could not find anything wrong. Everything we knew we spent money on was listed. Paid some bills and Saturday our balance was $260. we went to the store again, spent $81. Spent $25 on a fathers day gift and $25 on food. Sunday we spent $75 on fathers day dinner, $20 on gas and a little more other places. Sunday night our ending balance was $7 and change in checking and $20 in savings. Monday, no change. Tuesday morning (today) I wake up to a notification that our account is -$40...I check the transactions and nothing has changed. Everything that was listed before is still listed just the same but except now our available balance is negative...I transfered the $20 from our savings to the checking to lower the negative so that when my husband gets paid thursday it won't be so much out of his check but it is still -$20 for which we will reveive and over draft fee. I don't understand why their system can't "keep up" and show the correct amount available. And why do we have to deal with negative account balances and over draft fees for their systems mistake!? I can't take this anymore, my husband and I will be looking for a new bank ASAP! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 13, 2017
GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Anonymous Account Holder

I am a college student and have had this card for a year or so. RIght of the bat my card was stolen and about $800 worth of charges were put on the card. I was super scared because i was so young and this hadnt ever happened. The team worked so well with me, they were so nice and made sure i didnt worry while the charges were pending on my card. if you ever get AMY she is amazing. 

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Very Rude Teller Supervisor
Anonymous Account Holder

I have an account and went into branch to cash several US Savings Bonds. I called in advance and they said just come in and a teller can take care of you. I arrived 15 minutes later and was told they were too busy and that I would have to come back at another time. They did not look that busy and I told teller I called before coming. She rudly said that doesn't matter, I am too busy to help you out. Now this came from the supervisor who was not assisting anyone. I told her I would close me account if this is the service they give. She said close it, they are a big bank and one person will not make much difference with them.

Now this was not my normal branch. So I went to the next closest branch, and they were very busy, but the teller was glad to help me and I got everything done in about 3 minutes. I understand there can always be a bad apple, but given all that I hear about Wells Fargo in the news, I think there may be a barrel of bad apples, starting at the top.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Very bad service, high fees
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a premier client with the bank for over 10 years. The bank charged fees that they were not supposed to. When I called to investigate, their customer service people were not helpful. I had to call for the same reason 3 times. Once the system was down. Once the right person was not available. And a third time because they had to investigate. After all that, they were not able to resolve the issue. I am closing my accounts.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Very bad service, high fees
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a premier client with the bank for over 10 years. The bank charged fees that they were not supposed to. When I called to investigate, their customer service people were not helpful. I had to call for the same reason 3 times. Once the system was down. Once the right person was not available. And a third time because they had to investigate. After all that, they were not able to resolve the issue. I am closing my accounts.

more ...
Sep 11, 2017
Wells Fargo and the inheritance account
Anonymous Account Holder

This article is about a single branch.  It is possible that other branches do not descend to the depths described below.

When my mother died I needed to set up an account to receive inherited money.  This was almost impossible to do through Wells Fargo.  Each time I went there they made me sign the same form.  Each time they told me to come back to finish the process, but they never finished it.  They always said something was missing.  They used confusing double talk and made the process sound long and complicated.  It was almost like a scam.  Though I often talked to the same banker, he never produced the previous session's paperwork.  I'm not sure if these bankers where untrained and too terrified to admit it, sadistic, or just incapable of forming memories.  It is possible that Wells Fargo (or my branch) had decided not to create this type of account in order to avoid some kind of risk or trouble - perhaps they only pretended that they would set up the account.
 

Eventually I found the only banker at this branch who knew what she was doing, and got it done with one visit and one phone call.  I got the impression that she had just been hired, and I suppose that her manager had not gotten around to eating her soul.

Later I needed the account that had finally been created for me.  The account was there - BUT MY MOTHER HAD BEEN REMOVED FROM IT!

Rather then going through the waking nightmare a second time, I went to another bank - a local one.  The banker at this bank explained things clearly and followed up - and she got it done in a couple of days.

I must still use Wells Fargo because other family members use them.  I have found a different branch - with a charming manager and genuinely friendly tellers.  But I have a certain dread of the place.  I fear that one day I will walk through those doors and hear again the obsequious greetings and fake sympathy that I received from the bankers at that other branch - who heaped frustration and hopelessness on top of my grief.  For your sanity's sake consider a smaller, more personal bank for anything complex.

A little Lovecraftian I know - but that's what it felt like.

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Turns you in 30 days late when your not .
Anonymous Account Holder

Dont even think about it. They suck.

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Worst scam artists ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Please dont bother, My mortgage is through them and its been nothing but trouble since day one

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
THEY CLOSED YOUR ACCOUNT WITH NO MAIL !!
Anonymous Account Holder

Hello,

I opened free checking and free saving accounts on 2007 with Wachovia. I was really satisfy with their services and customer services.

I thinks, It was around 2011 they had transferred all accounts to Wellsfargo. And, I started receiving bad services from them. At the first action they told me that they won't offer me free checking account any more and they started to charge me monthly fee or to prevent monthly fees I should meet one of their conditioned (direct deposit to my account, having some exact balance amount daily and ...). I have direct deposit, So, I was fine with this new condition.

This was my main bank and I was using it to pay all my bills and credit card and received all my direct deposits in this account. But, one day I saw online that they closed my saving account WITHOUT LETTING ME KNOW !!!

I was shocked and called them. After long discussion with more than 5 persons(banker, supervisor, customenrservice and ...), They said because you have not used your saving account for 62 days we closed your account. And, They offered me new saving account with monthly fee (Or meet conditions they have to do not pay free saving account).

THEY DO NOT LET YOU KNOW THAT THEY ARE CLOSING YOUR ACCOUNT BECAUSE THEY WANT TO CLOSE ALL FREE (OLD, GRAND FATHER) ACCOUNTS AND MAKE MONEY FROM THEIR CUSTOMERS BY MONTHLY FEES !!!

As a loyal customer for 10 years I will leave wellsfargo and use my other free options with other banks.

DISCOVER BANK OFFERS FREE SAVING ACCOUNT WITH 1.14% INTEREST RATE PAY,

SunTrust offers free checking and saving account now.

Since they sent me to Wellsfargo from Wachovia I got charged a lot for any kind of services I used.

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Dont use
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst bank for residential and commercial use.  Service is always poor, no one ever knows what is going on and departments don't talk to each other.  Each phone call takes an half hour and most items can't be done online.  

more ...
Aug 20, 2017
Terrible, shirtty degenerate bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

I hope the next financial collapse in America causes this bank to go defunct . Symbol of immoral and predatory American banking system. DO NOT USE THIS BANK

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations