Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

WebBank

3.7 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 30, 2016
Web Bank is my credit savior
tlc0329 Account Holder

Even though I had 2 credit cards in collection, Web bank lend to me through Fingerhut.  I paid off my 1st and only use of that Fingerhut credit and after that I got approved fora personal loan through Avant.  I was surprised to know that Avant is owned by Web Bank.  It's true that they will lend to you when others don't.  I'm happy that there are banks like Web Bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 23, 2016
Does loan process without you applying??
myhsplace Account Holder

emailed me today saying they denied my request for the loan i applied for on their site, good darn thing they denied since i never applied for one!

I did happen to 'look up' loan rates here on karma yesterday, webbank/advent were not on the list, so how the heck looking up current loan rate offers results in applying for a loan with them is beyond me.  it best not show up as a hard inquiry or i will be livid since i am in the middle of getting a mortgage loan through my bank to close on a house and they will redo a credit check before closing!! 

(only click 'i had it' button above because i had to choose one to post this)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 24, 2016
Good people
Anonymous Account Holder

I love fingerhut and webbank they gave me hope  to buy things  from fingerhut I love these people  thank u fingerhut and webbank 

more ...
Jun 24, 2016
I have a Fingerhut Account with Web Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

I get credit increases every 6 months as long as I may payment on-time.

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
cheryll55 Account Holder

I applied for and was approved for a $8000.00 loan and they wanted over $5000.00 in interest. No thanks

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
They check your credit for a loan????
Anonymous Account Holder

I was on Credit Karma checking checking my account out and JUST LOOKED at the mortgage loan. I DID NOT APPLY FOR A LOAN AND I RECEIVED 4 LOAN DENIALS! Thank goodness because I did not apply! All the companies I received the denial paperwork were from the  subdivision of WEB BANK!!! How dare they!! I am trying to bulid my credit back up and I do not need this on my credit! I did not appreciate the Web Bank doing this! Now I read they have done it to others too. I know how they fill! Stop playing with peoples credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 05, 2016

the same thing happened to me. i'm researching online for different personal loan options and reviews. i come across Avant, it said check rates will only be a soft inquiry. next thing i know, i'm receiving an email stating i was denied for a loan..... i didn't even apply!!! nor would i even think about applying yet, as I have recently paid off some credit cards and am awaiting updates on 3 CBR to confirm those cards reflect $0.00 balance.

 
Mar 23, 2016
Does loan process without you applying??
myhsplace Account Holder

emailed me today saying they denied my request for the loan i applied for on their site, good darn thing they denied since i never applied for one!

I did happen to 'look up' loan rates here on karma yesterday, webbank/advent were not on the list, so how the heck looking up current loan rate offers results in applying for a loan with them is beyond me.  it best not show up as a hard inquiry or i will be livid since i am in the middle of getting a mortgage loan through my bank to close on a house and they will redo a credit check before closing!! 

(only click 'i had it' button above because i had to choose one to post this)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 05, 2016

the same thing happened to me. i'm researching online for different personal loan options and reviews. i come across Avant, it said check rates will only be a soft inquiry. next thing i know, i'm receiving an email stating i was denied for a loan..... i didn't even apply!!! nor would i even think about applying yet, as I have recently paid off some credit cards and am awaiting updates on 3 CBR to confirm those cards reflect $0.00 balance. i am currently investigating to make sure they did not do a hard pull

 
Mar 08, 2016
Great rebuilding source.
Screen1738 Account Holder

I applied for the card with a CS in the 580's range and was approved for $700. I purchased one item and made above minimum payments (**on time!!**) and recieved 2 credit limit increases. I have had the account for 6 months and my limit is up to $1500. You will likely find better deals elsewhere, but, that is the price that we pay with less than perfect credit. It's worth a try, in my opinion.

more ...
Mar 05, 2016
Simply Amazing
Scotter514 Account Holder

Went from 250cl-1850cl in 3 months. Amazing account! people complaining are stupid!

more ...
Feb 10, 2016
$500CL with 550 CS
mellymell79 Account Holder

I had them almost 20 years ago and ran up a $1000 CL and didn't pay it off. I was young and charge-crazy. That debt was written off years ago. It hasn't been on my credit report for I don't know how long. Anyway, now that I'm more financially responsible, I thought I'd get it just to help improve my score. I halfway expected it to be declined immediately; but I got approved for a $500 CL.

People complaining just need to understand. If you're looking for a good deal, this isn't the place to go. The only reason to have this account is to have something reporting to your credit bureaus. It's particularly good when you've been denied for credit elsewhere. Just buy one or two things and pay them off over a few months. Rince and repeat. That's really all there is to it!

more ...
Feb 05, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Their accounting practices border on criminal; their customers service reps obviously do not have an education level beyond 6th grade!!

more ...
Jan 30, 2016
Web Bank is my credit savior
tlc0329 Account Holder

Even though I had 2 credit cards in collection, Web bank lend to me through Fingerhut.  I paid off my 1st and only use of that Fingerhut credit and after that I got approved fora personal loan through Avant.  I was surprised to know that Avant is owned by Web Bank.  It's true that they will lend to you when others don't.  I'm happy that there are banks like Web Bank.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations