USAA® Federal Savings Bank Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 02, 2018
Easily manageable.
Anonymous Account Holder

Delightful to have and easy to manage.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 24, 2018
Just like any other bank
Anonymous Account Holder

They bill themselves as being "different" and somehow understanding people.  But really, they are like every other bank out there, they will kick you when you are down, pile on the fees every chance they get, and feed you useless platitudes when you actually need help.  They aren't different or better, they're just like everyone else.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2018
Good luck cashing a check!
bimbod Account Holder

They set your daily check cashing limit to $10,000. Cool, normally no biggie. But I have a check for over that amount that I need cashed ASAP and there is not 1 location in all of Oregon that I can go and cash this check. They would not increase my limit (even temporarily) to allow me to cash this check. The only option is to mail it. They wouldn't even send me a label to safely overnight it to them. Horrible customer service!! We will be finding a bank where you can actually cash checks. Or at least offer to email you a UPS label so you don't have to pay for that yourself. That would have shown proper customer service. Very disappointed.

more ...
Oct 17, 2018
They will blame fraud on the victim
ZeekT Account Holder

I want to rate USAA as less than one star unfortunately that is not an option here. We all see the commercials on how USAA supposedly cares for their clients. This is true up until the point that you are a victim of fraud which happened in my wife and I’s case. The bank suddenly did a complete 180 and turned accusatory to us, the victims and were completely unhelpful throughout the process. No offering of working together for a solution, only accusations that the fraud must clearly have been our fault and that we would have to bear the consequences. None of their departments communicate with one another which ends up that victims of fraud will be sent in an endless cycle of getting nothing accomplished and having the fault thrown at them. USAA missed the fraud charges to begin with, we were not notified, we did not receive any notification of overdrafts that were related to the fraud, and the whole time they blame us. They failed their clients and will do nothing to support the people they supposedly care SO much about. Do not trust your financial security with this institution. While it may look so good upfront, do NOT expect the same treatment once something goes wrong. They will turn on you in an instant and do nothing to aid you in a time of need.

more ...
Oct 13, 2018
Go with a local bank
LB30 Account Holder

This bank is a joke , I have been trying for months to add my other bank account to my checking account to do transfers and every time I called about why hasn’t may account been added and the customer service reps would tell me to wait three so the account could be verified and everytime I did that I would never receive verification to make transfers.  I had to pay over draft fees numerous of times just because USAA couldn’t get my other account set up to my checking account ! . A total waste of time and money , I’m glad I left USAA ! 

more ...
Aug 20, 2018
Very accommodating and friendly
adjones0226 Account Holder

Customer Service Reps are always friendly and willing to help!  Slightly disappointed in the ATM availability and functions, but overall a wonderful company!

I have checking, auto loan and auto insurance accounts with them. 

more ...
Jun 02, 2018
Easily manageable.
Anonymous Account Holder

Delightful to have and easy to manage.

more ...
Jun 01, 2018
Convienant No Hassle Banking
MilitarySpuse Account Holder

I have an account with USAA and another Competitor. I love the no atm fees with USSA with Our Of Network Banks & ATMs. My other financial institution doesn't offer that, bummer😣. Only reason I'm giving a 4 and not 5 is the fact USSA doesn't have the live tellers for one on one interactions otherwise, Great Bank!

more ...
May 03, 2018
Best Bank for Military Affiliates
Anonymous Account Holder

I love this bank and I love theirnew USAA Checking Rewards Account. I have never had a good banking experience with anyone else, until USAA came. They are so friendly and polite when speaking with them, and I have them for my renters insurance and my checking, savings, and credit card. Fraud protection is amazing, and the linkage to the accounts is streamless. 

more ...
Apr 18, 2018
stealing my money
Anonymous Account Holder

Check your statement! Last 6 months they been charging NSF with fund available. Every month they pay me back $100+ for "system error"

more ...
Feb 24, 2018
Just like any other bank
Anonymous Account Holder

They bill themselves as being "different" and somehow understanding people.  But really, they are like every other bank out there, they will kick you when you are down, pile on the fees every chance they get, and feed you useless platitudes when you actually need help.  They aren't different or better, they're just like everyone else.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations