Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA® Federal Savings Bank

2.4 out of 5 stars
23 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 26, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had an issue in over 13 years. Great customer service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 07, 2016
Not the same
amona100 Account Holder

I once raved about how great USAA was, but the past few weeks have been a nightmare trying to get access to funds from checks I deposited into their ATM Machines. This is the first time I've ever had this issue with 8 years of loyal customer service and satisfaction. Basically my funds were on hold for 10 days. I've made the decision to close out my accounts with USAA and go over to Navy Federal  and use AAA insurance. I can't afford to wait 10 days to pay bills and use funds that should be available to me in a much more timely fashion. I can't believe the horrendous customer service I recieved yesterday; it never used to be like this. It makes me sad to have to close out with them, but I can't afford to be put on hold, my funds put on hold and treated as if the money I deposit is no good to them. Good bye and good riddance USAA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 18, 2017
Used to be good
Anonymous Account Holder

Used to be good - been with USAA for 20 yrs.  The last 17 months, they let a criminal call in and change my pins and steal thousands from my accounts; customer service is abhorrent - during 4 separate calls, on hold for nearly an hour, disconnected 6 times...6!  And at the end of all 4 calls, no resolution.  Really a shame - they used to care.  I am moving to Ally bank.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Great exprience so far!
broncofan07 Account Holder

Great bank. Good customer service. USAA refunds you up to $15 in ATM fees.

more ...
Nov 26, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had an issue in over 13 years. Great customer service!

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Theives
Anonymous Account Holder

They're thieves. They steal money. How? THrough banking laws that disadvantage the poor and benefit bankers who own multiple homes. Instead of charging a moderate fee for overdrawing an account or declining a charge with jsut one penlaty they can leagally take three penalties in the amount of $30 for one decline transaction. That's $90 for being shor $5. This has happened to me three times. They could also just decline the transaction totally so that it doesnt go through or get paid out but this makes them much more money. Banks literally make tens of millions of dollars using this banking law. When I first opened an account banks could legally decline a transaction once and charge you a small fee of as litte as $5, now they can clean you out. And if you don't pay their ransom they lock you out of your account.

USAA are sociopaths. And I am not playing. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Not here for you
Anonymous Account Holder

Here for our service members, more like here to screw you over. I cant even get my funds available after deposite. They hold them for a week before they are available! Now all I want to do is payt my insurance through them but can't because they won't give me my money!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Virewile Account Holder

I went against reviews and advice. I got a card through USAA. For years I had no issues. I guess because I didn't really use it. I did have a balance on the card but nothing crazy high, from a major purchase that was required near the beginning of this year. I have, in the last 90 days made 8 small charges, all which have been paid off along with extra toward the major bablance, with each payment though my statement always said I have no min payment due. I go to the store today and my card is declined. I'm thinking, it's just a mistake. I use my bank card, leave and call USAA. The woman that answers informs me that it was declilned due to there only being $35 avail. I say, this can't be, I have $$$$ limit and I'm no where near that or someone must have used my account without my knowledge. She then says, no, your limit is $$. WHAT??? SINCE WHEN??? No notice and decreased my limit to just above my balance, for usage habits (no the exact words used but something like that). So I have been penalized for using my card. Unreal!!! I kindly thank the lady for doing her job and informed her that I will be transfering the balance and will no longer give them a dime of my money. I get home, and do exactly as I told her. It actually works out for me in a way, I get interest free to pay it off now and a lower payment than what I was sending them. The biggest downfall though, my credit score dropped drastically because I now have a 99% used credit card on there. LIVID!!! I'll get over it but I will not use that card again. As long as they leave it open, I will also. I'm not willing to take another hit to my credit for closing the account all together but I will not use it ever again! 

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Looking fora new checking account
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had a checking account with USAA for a couple of years.  But one thing that highly needs improvement are the extreme delays in posting trasactions.  I swiped my call last Wednesday for example and received a receipt for a payment. However, the transaction did not show up in my bank account until today (it is the wednesday of the following week).  The extreme delays on card transactions can make it very hard to monitor your transactions. If you bank with them, its best to have an alternative way of tracking or transactions and spending because the transaction dates will not show up accurate on your USAA accounts. This also makes it impossible to audit them....like if you needed to make sure that there are no mistakes. You may have some transactions billed for your one month, which actually were charges that you made the month before. Be careful.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

USAA insurance is top notch, but that's where it ends.

I filed for Chapter 13 due to astronomical medical bills and student loans. They immediately locked me out of using the full site and force me to use the mobile version, which is fine for most purposes. Apparently it wouldn't have mattered if I claimed them in my case or not, they demonize anyone who doesn't have stellar, amazing financial history. I had better luck with the big banks then these yahoos.

I had a CD backing a secured credit card. Instead of using the CD to pay off the card (which is what I was told would happen), they are taking money from the bankruptcy and holding the CD. Interestingly, I was never late on paying my bills on that card, was @ 50% of balance, and had it for 7 years. 

They screwed me with deposits, too. My husband got a check from the VA for backpayment of disability benefits to the tune of $24,000. They held the check for 30 days, saying it's because of the "amount". It was on a **** US Treasury note, and easily verifiable. 

Run, far far away. Even as a service member, you're better off using a credit union.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016

USAA they are very good in all the services 😉

 
Oct 01, 2016

They did the same to me. I had a job loss and had to file Chapter 7. Nothing from them was included the filing but I got condemned to mobile banking hell with limited access to features. Yes , they kick you when you are down. Such a nice thing to do to one of your loyal customers of over 10+ years. Oh and its funny they "now" have something in place for those having financial difficulties, how convenient.

 
Aug 19, 2016
Better than ANY bank, fantastic service.
flyboy1996 Account Holder

I had to transfer a LARGE amount of money out of USAA to another bank, but there are safety limits to prevent fraud (and protect the members). With one phone call I was able to get the transfer done and was advised it may take up to 3 days for it to complete.... it took ONE.  ATM withdrawals are also limited, but can be lifted to allow immediate access to funds with a simple call to the bank. They will close your account if you do not manage your account properly just like ANY financial institution. Online banking is a breeze and they refund ATM fees (probably limited to how many). Customer service is some of the best anywhere, especially since they only have one physical location in San Antonio, TX, but it doesn't stop you from depositing checks, managing your money, or making withdrawals. 

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Multiple bad experiences one when i tryed taking my own money out for a vehicle they 21 questioned me and would only let me take a small sum out each day. The final straw was they charge me Fees of ($29.00) 12 times and never informed be of the negative charges. I have 2 other banks that will inform you of any negative fee. USAA is just out for your money they dont give 2 F#&%$ about our military service members.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations