USAA® Federal Savings Bank Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 10, 2013
Great Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

I am retired after working in banking software development for 37 years. I have worked with over 100 banks in the USA and in Asia, Europe and South America.
I have never worked in a bank with better customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 07, 2016
Not the same
amona100 Account Holder

I once raved about how great USAA was, but the past few weeks have been a nightmare trying to get access to funds from checks I deposited into their ATM Machines. This is the first time I've ever had this issue with 8 years of loyal customer service and satisfaction. Basically my funds were on hold for 10 days. I've made the decision to close out my accounts with USAA and go over to Navy Federal  and use AAA insurance. I can't afford to wait 10 days to pay bills and use funds that should be available to me in a much more timely fashion. I can't believe the horrendous customer service I recieved yesterday; it never used to be like this. It makes me sad to have to close out with them, but I can't afford to be put on hold, my funds put on hold and treated as if the money I deposit is no good to them. Good bye and good riddance USAA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 09, 2017
Bloated and lost
Anonymous Account Holder

Avoid mortgages with USAA, the processors including their managers do not have any idea what they are doing all the way from pre qual to mortgage fullfillment. Too many hands in the cookie jar, communication is horrible and there is no single point of contact- minimum of 4 people if things go smoothly. Very polit on phone and will tell you what you want to hear, but intel is often inaccurate and leads to delays. While being addressed by proper title is nice, I certainly would value experience, competency, and honesty more. 

more ...
May 31, 2017
They are Garbage
Anonymous Account Holder

If your a Vet or an Active Duty Member stay away from this bank its a total Joke - They are just like so many others these days, trying to make a profit off of service members.  Their Services Suck and You can do better with a Bank that Actually has Branches.

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Too many fees, not enough options
Anonymous Account Holder

For a company that is so stellar with insurance, the expectations are high for banking...their rates and fees are so out of line with the market, I'm not sure where to begin.

1. Performance First Savings - With a $50k minimum, the interest rate is 0.3%. Ally Bank is 1.05% with no minimum.

2. Brokerage Fees - $8.95/trade, underwritten by Fidelity. Fidelity is $4.95/trade...why pay the middle man??

3. Fund Transfer Process - I tried to move $5,500 from my USAA checking into my USAA IRA. They put a 6 business day hold on the funds...from one USAA account to the other!!  WTH?

4. Transfer Charges - I moved my IRA/Brokerage accounts from USAA to FIdelity. USAA charged me $70 for the brokerage and $35 for the IRA. Unfortunately, due to the above delay, they are now charging me $35 twice for the IRA transfer. Thankfully Fidelity is covering the cost.

I've been a USAA customer since 1994...and I'm moving every nickel out of their bank.

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Run Away!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This is the worst run bank I have ever experienced. You will never be able to close your accounts if you want to leave. They will literally re-open your accounts months and months later without your knowledge or concent!!! They will even draw on it, yes they will draw on your supposed closed account putting your account in the negative. An account you thought was done and closed. If that's not criminal what is? The customer service will have you wanting to bang your head against a wall just to silence the incompitance and stupidity. For your own sake never ever open an account with this bank! There are so many better alternatives that are suggested by credit kharma. I wish had had a credit kharma account back when I joined usaa so I didn't make the mistake of getting involved with them. I just hope this review saves at least one person from the hell that is usaa banking and go's with a highly rated bank that credit kharma suggests instead.

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Closed account
Anonymous Account Holder

USAA closed my account after 31 years because they said it was used in business. Howver, they continued to send out Billpay checks till they closed it, which caused all of those checks to bounce and for myself to incur substantial fees. I am a doctor who does business in his own name, no DBA, and who files all forms under his own SSN. "A business owner is not always required to establish a business checking account. For example, a sole proprietorship owner can choose to use his own individual checking account to conduct business."

The money I receive is not paid to the business but to myself for services rendered, not unlike an employees paycheck.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Watch out with this company!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

They will take cash advances from CC for OD on your checking account when there is no need.  They have done this several times in the last year.  There is no way they can explain their way out of it.  They are heartless and anythiing but customer friendly.  

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Lost 10 year member
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been so disappointed with USAA in the last 2 years.  When I first joined I did not have a lot of available funds and there were several times they helped me out after overdrawing my account.  Now, 10 years later, things have reversed completely.  They now put checks deposited on hold for 10 business days, which seems unheard of for today's market.  They issued all new Visa chip cards, at our expense.  These cards cannot be run as credit unless there is a chip reader.  I had to open an account at a local bank so I could have cashier's checks written for payments I could not make with my card.  Additionally, USAA quoted me 13% for an Auto loan, I went to the local credit union and got a loan for 2% on the same day.  The convenience of their mobile app was awesome but now you can't trust the information given.  The customer service has significantly decreased, I asked to speak with a manager and was given a 24-48 hour callback period.  :(

more ...
Feb 17, 2017
Very convenient for the person on the go
Anonymous Account Holder

The free aims and atmosphere fee reimbursement was a big draw! Also the easy mobile deposit feature really helps..

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Bull no gowont help me find
Anonymous Account Holder

garbage

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Won't let you access your own cash
Anonymous Account Holder

Post bankruptcy, they refused to temporarily increase my daily spending limit from 3k to 9k, which would have allowed to pay a timely legal bill. I wasn't apply for new credit, I would understand that rejection. I needed to access my own cash to pay a bill and they refused. How can a bank not let you have your own cash back? I was member for 10 years and I am extremely disappointed. I will be closing my accounts right away. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations