Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

USAA® Federal Savings Bank

2.3 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 26, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had an issue in over 13 years. Great customer service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 07, 2016
Not the same
amona100 Account Holder

I once raved about how great USAA was, but the past few weeks have been a nightmare trying to get access to funds from checks I deposited into their ATM Machines. This is the first time I've ever had this issue with 8 years of loyal customer service and satisfaction. Basically my funds were on hold for 10 days. I've made the decision to close out my accounts with USAA and go over to Navy Federal  and use AAA insurance. I can't afford to wait 10 days to pay bills and use funds that should be available to me in a much more timely fashion. I can't believe the horrendous customer service I recieved yesterday; it never used to be like this. It makes me sad to have to close out with them, but I can't afford to be put on hold, my funds put on hold and treated as if the money I deposit is no good to them. Good bye and good riddance USAA.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2017
Very convenient for the person on the go
Anonymous Account Holder

The free aims and atmosphere fee reimbursement was a big draw! Also the easy mobile deposit feature really helps..

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Bull no gowont help me find
Anonymous Account Holder

garbage

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Won't let you access your own cash
Anonymous Account Holder

Post bankruptcy, they refused to temporarily increase my daily spending limit from 3k to 9k, which would have allowed to pay a timely legal bill. I wasn't apply for new credit, I would understand that rejection. I needed to access my own cash to pay a bill and they refused. How can a bank not let you have your own cash back? I was member for 10 years and I am extremely disappointed. I will be closing my accounts right away. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Not what it used to be!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a member since 1983,   USAA used to be a great bank that is now just another company fleecing the military. Stay away from their paid money manganment they lost 200k while I was in Iraq, never did a thing to help me!       Try Navy Federal Credit Union!   

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Used to be good
Anonymous Account Holder

Used to be good - been with USAA for 20 yrs.  The last 17 months, they let a criminal call in and change my pins and steal thousands from my accounts; customer service is abhorrent - during 4 separate calls, on hold for nearly an hour, disconnected 6 times...6!  And at the end of all 4 calls, no resolution.  Really a shame - they used to care.  I am moving to Ally bank.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Great exprience so far!
broncofan07 Account Holder

Great bank. Good customer service. USAA refunds you up to $15 in ATM fees.

more ...
Nov 26, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had an issue in over 13 years. Great customer service!

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Theives
Anonymous Account Holder

They're thieves. They steal money. How? THrough banking laws that disadvantage the poor and benefit bankers who own multiple homes. Instead of charging a moderate fee for overdrawing an account or declining a charge with jsut one penlaty they can leagally take three penalties in the amount of $30 for one decline transaction. That's $90 for being shor $5. This has happened to me three times. They could also just decline the transaction totally so that it doesnt go through or get paid out but this makes them much more money. Banks literally make tens of millions of dollars using this banking law. When I first opened an account banks could legally decline a transaction once and charge you a small fee of as litte as $5, now they can clean you out. And if you don't pay their ransom they lock you out of your account.

USAA are sociopaths. And I am not playing. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Not here for you
Anonymous Account Holder

Here for our service members, more like here to screw you over. I cant even get my funds available after deposite. They hold them for a week before they are available! Now all I want to do is payt my insurance through them but can't because they won't give me my money!

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Virewile Account Holder

I went against reviews and advice. I got a card through USAA. For years I had no issues. I guess because I didn't really use it. I did have a balance on the card but nothing crazy high, from a major purchase that was required near the beginning of this year. I have, in the last 90 days made 8 small charges, all which have been paid off along with extra toward the major bablance, with each payment though my statement always said I have no min payment due. I go to the store today and my card is declined. I'm thinking, it's just a mistake. I use my bank card, leave and call USAA. The woman that answers informs me that it was declilned due to there only being $35 avail. I say, this can't be, I have $$$$ limit and I'm no where near that or someone must have used my account without my knowledge. She then says, no, your limit is $$. WHAT??? SINCE WHEN??? No notice and decreased my limit to just above my balance, for usage habits (no the exact words used but something like that). So I have been penalized for using my card. Unreal!!! I kindly thank the lady for doing her job and informed her that I will be transfering the balance and will no longer give them a dime of my money. I get home, and do exactly as I told her. It actually works out for me in a way, I get interest free to pay it off now and a lower payment than what I was sending them. The biggest downfall though, my credit score dropped drastically because I now have a 99% used credit card on there. LIVID!!! I'll get over it but I will not use that card again. As long as they leave it open, I will also. I'm not willing to take another hit to my credit for closing the account all together but I will not use it ever again! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations