USAA® Federal Savings Bank Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 17, 2016
Great exprience so far!
broncofan07 Account Holder

Great bank. Good customer service. USAA refunds you up to $15 in ATM fees.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 27, 2017
Shady
Anonymous Account Holder

As a officers son this bank is a huge joke.  Not the great Usaa of the past.  They block accounts and claim you owe them money even after bankruptcy.  Then they do something unheard of they unlock your accounts all but the banking and will open up a auto but because they say you owe the bank money after a discharged bankruptcy they can’t open more.  I was trying to get renters and Auto.   I ended up going to a competitor who beat Usaa auto quote by 60.00 a month and that also included renters for 40.00.  I have officially broken ties to them and don’t do business with shade.  Just my opinion. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2017
Worst. Bank. Ever.
SSGpain Account Holder

As a veteran, I used this bank several times throughout my life. Nearly 15 years ago, they closed a checking account without my permission or knowledge (surprise!). I recently thought I'd give them another shot to earn my business, because they do offer some great perks, like ATM fee reimbursement. Well, as soon as I opened the account, they took money out of it with no notice and no explanation. I spent hours on the phone talking to numerous departments and no one could explain why they did it. 

It was finally escalated to the "Office of the CEO" and their explanation went something like this, "Why did we take the money? You owed us. How do we know you owed us? We took the money." They were unable to provide any documentation showing that there were entitled to the funds.

Needless to say, I was unhappy. I closed my accounts and will never use that bank again. I warn all veterans to stay away. They're just too shady. I'd give zero stars, if I could. You're really better off with Chase, Charles Shwab or Wells Fargo. Heck, you're really better off with ANYWHERE else, besides USAA. If you like your money and want to have access to it, put it someplace else.

A quick note on insurance. It's always cheap, if you don't need anything special (you qualify if you, a spouse or a parent were in the service), but those low costs come at a price. If you actually need to use your insurance, it's going to be a pain. I once had them take over 2 months to pay for car repairs after an accident. The shop (obviously) wasn't going to finish the work without getting paid. So, the mechanic just had my car in pieces week after week, waiting for the appraiser to come and approve every nut and screw that needed to be replaced. It was a nightmare. I didn't have rental car insurance at the time, so it was two months of carpooling, begging for rides and walking, while USAA dragged its feet on every decision. More recently, I needed repairs for a minor ding ($1,400 repair after 12 years accident free) and my insurance immediately went up $50/month. Seriously? USAA doesn't offer motorcycle insurance, so I've since taken my business elsewhere. I'd recommend you stay away. Look at all the other low-reviews this place has. That's not by accident. They really just suck as a bank and insurance company.

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

USAA is deeply committed to helping you achieve your financial goals, as well as keeping all your accounts secure. I highly reccommend them for all the products and services that they provide.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 07, 2017

Deeply? Don't make me laugh. These jokers don't give a hoot about you or your goals. They're trained to be polite on the phone, but when you REALLY need them, they're going to let you down over and over again.

 
Oct 27, 2017
Shady
Anonymous Account Holder

As a officers son this bank is a huge joke.  Not the great Usaa of the past.  They block accounts and claim you owe them money even after bankruptcy.  Then they do something unheard of they unlock your accounts all but the banking and will open up a auto but because they say you owe the bank money after a discharged bankruptcy they can’t open more.  I was trying to get renters and Auto.   I ended up going to a competitor who beat Usaa auto quote by 60.00 a month and that also included renters for 40.00.  I have officially broken ties to them and don’t do business with shade.  Just my opinion. 

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
Everything You Need in a Bank
VetTurnedCO Account Holder

Basic checkbooks: Free
ATM fees: Reimbursed
Secure mobile app: Yes
Great customer service

Don't read into a lot of these reviews. Some of them paint this skewed picture of a corrupt bank but they do their job and provide customers with what they need.

I created an account here just because of how disgusting these reviews are. I've been with USAA for my insurance/banking needs for over 12 years.

Sure they aren't local for me but they've never made me feel like I don't matter or that I'm not worth their time. There is nothing wrong with the military credit unions while serving but USAA is better for the long haul.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
BUYER BEWARE!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I tried to link an external bank to my USAA checking account so that I could do electronic funds transfers. The set up never went through, even though it is a service that they offer.

When I overpaid my credit card and had a huge credit, they refused to refund the money and wanted to apply it to a balance transfer that had been initiated five minutes earlier before I saw the credit. It took four phone transfers, at least 45 minutes on hold, and oral verification of payment for the money that they were holding onto from the third party bank in order to have MY money refunded to me. This whole process took over an hour and a half, and they wanted to charge me $8.00 to mail the check expedited - because the electronic funds that they so eagerly accepted and wanted to hold were not able to be refunded electronically.

This is a HORRIBLE bank to have a credit card with, it has overpriced check ordering ($30/100 checks), and GREEDY, UNTRUSTWORTHY business practices. They are fine for property insurance, but RUN WITH HASTE from teh banking and credit card products, if you know what is good for you.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
They steal your money!
Anonymous Account Holder

I would never recommend this bank! They locked up my accounts saying they had to research thinking I owed them $25.00, but yet they locked up the whole account which had well over $25.00 in it. Even after they deducted the $25.00 to cover this while they reasearched it...they still looked up the remaining 2000.00 and said I couldn't access it for 3 to 5 business days! 

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Spiraling downhill
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with USAA, for over 10yrs, but the past

few years have been rough. Random holds being plavced

on checks that make absolutely no sense. Everute

you call to question the hold, it was a

different excuse-oh you done have enough history (10yras is not enough history?), or your balance was less then the check

was(huh?), or my favorite you've had very few Transactions in the past few months??

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Terrible security and customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

You will suffer if you use this bank, they do not care about veterans or military members at all!

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Best bank and insurance company
Anonymous Account Holder

Best bank and insurance company if you can get it. Whenever I had to file claims I've always had the best customer service. They truly care about me. Recently I was at fault for a very minor accident (scraped someone in a parking lot), and the other driver was harrassing me to pay for their repair out of my pocket, and for me to not tell my insurance. Constantly calling me and texting me threateningly. Called USAA,filed a claim, and explained the situation - they told me to no longer communicate with the other driver and promptly called them, and is assisting them with getting their repairs (their total repairs are around $200). This solved the situation immensely and USAA was so supportive and understanding. I will be a member for life! 

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Opportunistic, dishonest and predatory
knp278 Account Holder

Mobile deposit is massively inconvenient. I deposited $1100 via mobile scan and was met with a hold of $600 while they verify the funds availability of a payroll check, which is a joke. If my paycheck is bouncing, I have bigger problems, right? But, worse than that, they increased the hold from $600 to $900 without informing me or justifying their actions. Now I have six to ten business days to access my own money. And I'm subject to NSF fees if I spend more than the meager allowance they give me until they 'verify' the check. It's 2017. 90% of the world uses debit and credit banking systems that complete ACH transactions in the same day. Banks like USAA are fighting like hell to delay the implementation of such systems over the fear they'll lose profits from NSF fees. I'm thoroughly disappointed and disgusted that they feel this is an honest business practice. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations