USAA® Federal Savings Bank Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 26, 2016
Excellent!
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had an issue in over 13 years. Great customer service!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 31, 2017
They are Garbage
Anonymous Account Holder

If your a Vet or an Active Duty Member stay away from this bank its a total Joke - They are just like so many others these days, trying to make a profit off of service members.  Their Services Suck and You can do better with a Bank that Actually has Branches.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 22, 2017
BUYER BEWARE!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I tried to link an external bank to my USAA checking account so that I could do electronic funds transfers. The set up never went through, even though it is a service that they offer.

When I overpaid my credit card and had a huge credit, they refused to refund the money and wanted to apply it to a balance transfer that had been initiated five minutes earlier before I saw the credit. It took four phone transfers, at least 45 minutes on hold, and oral verification of payment for the money that they were holding onto from the third party bank in order to have MY money refunded to me. This whole process took over an hour and a half, and they wanted to charge me $8.00 to mail the check expedited - because the electronic funds that they so eagerly accepted and wanted to hold were not able to be refunded electronically.

This is a HORRIBLE bank to have a credit card with, it has overpriced check ordering ($30/100 checks), and GREEDY, UNTRUSTWORTHY business practices. They are fine for property insurance, but RUN WITH HASTE from teh banking and credit card products, if you know what is good for you.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
They steal your money!
Anonymous Account Holder

I would never recommend this bank! They locked up my accounts saying they had to research thinking I owed them $25.00, but yet they locked up the whole account which had well over $25.00 in it. Even after they deducted the $25.00 to cover this while they reasearched it...they still looked up the remaining 2000.00 and said I couldn't access it for 3 to 5 business days! 

more ...
Jul 30, 2017
Spiraling downhill
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with USAA, for over 10yrs, but the past

few years have been rough. Random holds being plavced

on checks that make absolutely no sense. Everute

you call to question the hold, it was a

different excuse-oh you done have enough history (10yras is not enough history?), or your balance was less then the check

was(huh?), or my favorite you've had very few Transactions in the past few months??

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Terrible security and customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

You will suffer if you use this bank, they do not care about veterans or military members at all!

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Best bank and insurance company
Anonymous Account Holder

Best bank and insurance company if you can get it. Whenever I had to file claims I've always had the best customer service. They truly care about me. Recently I was at fault for a very minor accident (scraped someone in a parking lot), and the other driver was harrassing me to pay for their repair out of my pocket, and for me to not tell my insurance. Constantly calling me and texting me threateningly. Called USAA,filed a claim, and explained the situation - they told me to no longer communicate with the other driver and promptly called them, and is assisting them with getting their repairs (their total repairs are around $200). This solved the situation immensely and USAA was so supportive and understanding. I will be a member for life! 

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Opportunistic, dishonest and predatory
knp278 Account Holder

Mobile deposit is massively inconvenient. I deposited $1100 via mobile scan and was met with a hold of $600 while they verify the funds availability of a payroll check, which is a joke. If my paycheck is bouncing, I have bigger problems, right? But, worse than that, they increased the hold from $600 to $900 without informing me or justifying their actions. Now I have six to ten business days to access my own money. And I'm subject to NSF fees if I spend more than the meager allowance they give me until they 'verify' the check. It's 2017. 90% of the world uses debit and credit banking systems that complete ACH transactions in the same day. Banks like USAA are fighting like hell to delay the implementation of such systems over the fear they'll lose profits from NSF fees. I'm thoroughly disappointed and disgusted that they feel this is an honest business practice. 

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Bloated and lost
Anonymous Account Holder

Avoid mortgages with USAA, the processors including their managers do not have any idea what they are doing all the way from pre qual to mortgage fullfillment. Too many hands in the cookie jar, communication is horrible and there is no single point of contact- minimum of 4 people if things go smoothly. Very polit on phone and will tell you what you want to hear, but intel is often inaccurate and leads to delays. While being addressed by proper title is nice, I certainly would value experience, competency, and honesty more. 

more ...
May 31, 2017
They are Garbage
Anonymous Account Holder

If your a Vet or an Active Duty Member stay away from this bank its a total Joke - They are just like so many others these days, trying to make a profit off of service members.  Their Services Suck and You can do better with a Bank that Actually has Branches.

more ...
Apr 25, 2017
Too many fees, not enough options
Anonymous Account Holder

For a company that is so stellar with insurance, the expectations are high for banking...their rates and fees are so out of line with the market, I'm not sure where to begin.

1. Performance First Savings - With a $50k minimum, the interest rate is 0.3%. Ally Bank is 1.05% with no minimum.

2. Brokerage Fees - $8.95/trade, underwritten by Fidelity. Fidelity is $4.95/trade...why pay the middle man??

3. Fund Transfer Process - I tried to move $5,500 from my USAA checking into my USAA IRA. They put a 6 business day hold on the funds...from one USAA account to the other!!  WTH?

4. Transfer Charges - I moved my IRA/Brokerage accounts from USAA to FIdelity. USAA charged me $70 for the brokerage and $35 for the IRA. Unfortunately, due to the above delay, they are now charging me $35 twice for the IRA transfer. Thankfully Fidelity is covering the cost.

I've been a USAA customer since 1994...and I'm moving every nickel out of their bank.

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Run Away!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This is the worst run bank I have ever experienced. You will never be able to close your accounts if you want to leave. They will literally re-open your accounts months and months later without your knowledge or concent!!! They will even draw on it, yes they will draw on your supposed closed account putting your account in the negative. An account you thought was done and closed. If that's not criminal what is? The customer service will have you wanting to bang your head against a wall just to silence the incompitance and stupidity. For your own sake never ever open an account with this bank! There are so many better alternatives that are suggested by credit kharma. I wish had had a credit kharma account back when I joined usaa so I didn't make the mistake of getting involved with them. I just hope this review saves at least one person from the hell that is usaa banking and go's with a highly rated bank that credit kharma suggests instead.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations