U.S. Bank® Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 16, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with US Bank for two years now and love everything about this bank. US Bank is a very military friendly bank. Every bank has fees even credit unions how do you think they pay their employees. US Banks fees are not that bad compaired to the other banks i have been with. The bankers are always willing to help and always have a smile on their face. You can tell that they love the company they work for. I tell all my friends and family to switch over to what i think is the best bank in the United States.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 27, 2013
Was happy with US bank until Ukiah, CA
dlipelt Account Holder

I have been a customer of US Bank since the 1990s.  Until I began dealing with Ukiah branch in the Safeway I had no concerns.  I do not trust the staff in Ukiah.  I obtained a home loan there.  Every time I phoned to see how my loan was coming along there was someone new in charge of my loan.  At one point they lost my file.  Vincent offered me 100 dollars for the inconvience of 'shredding' my file.  A month later my file was returned to me.  It was a miracle.  My file had risen from the shredding pile.  I do not believe they can be trusted with any private information and this causes concerns about security and integrity of the entire branch.  I will change banks as quickly as possible and encourage others to not trust this branch.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 30, 2017
Bullcrap card and equally bad csr
Anonymous Account Holder

If you think of getting FlexRewards card, don't even waist your time. US Bank promises 3x on charity and 2x on cell phone bill but at the end they claim the merchant did not classify itself as such (though clearly you have proof of otherwise) and won't give you the points it promised to. Not to say I ran into so many obsticles with application process (my app was submitted twice and origianal was cancelled) 

more ...
May 24, 2017
Unprofessional
Anonymous Account Holder

I admittedly made a mistake doing a wire transfer and was charged $50.  That's a steep fee to pay for a simple mistake so I tried calling to see if I could get it reimbursed as a one-time courtesy.  I spoke to a woman named Jackie and she proceeded to laugh as she says it is an irreversible fee.  I was less than impressed by her level of professionalism.  Clearly this is not a mistake I'll make twice and not a bank I want to be associated with.

more ...
May 24, 2017
Unprofessional
Anonymous Account Holder

I admittedly made a mistake doing a wire transfer and was charged $50.  That's a steep fee to pay for a simple mistake so I tried calling to see if I could get it reimbursed as a one-time courtesy.  I spoke to a woman named Jackie and she proceeded to laugh as she says it is an irreversible fee.  I was less than impressed by her level of professionalism.  Clearly this is not a mistake I'll make twice and not a bank I want to be associated with.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

If i could rate negative stars i would. Ive suppossedly had a fraud investigation going on since early march. I filed a police report and all the necessary paper work with the bank. Ive lost track how many times i have called, emailed, and gone into this branch to speak with someone about this claim. The other day i try to log into my account to see if there was an update. It said that the account was no longer active. So today i called the branch. The teller who answered told me that there had been no claim filed. After several different times i was told it was filed and now we were just waiting for a response. She proceeded to talk over me, being incredibly rude and unhelpful the entire time. I asked to speak to a manager. She continued to talk over me. I asked 4 more times before i was finally put on hold to speak to a manager. I was literally on hold for a half an hour. After the 30min mark i finally gave up and hung up the phone. All i know is that there is no longer an active account... sooo i have no idea what is going on with my account and apparently they dont either. I should have been notified if anything changed. Especially since this can seriously impact my credit, etc. This whole thing is absolutely ridiculous. It is clear that this bank is incredibly incompetent and unprofessional. Once (if i ever) learn what is going on with my account i will be leaving this bank. And you better believe i will be warning everyone i know to steer clear of this bank.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Awful services
umeshchaturvedi Account Holder

Avoid any banking with them, Highly unprofessional and uethical bank.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Very Helpful and understanding!
Anonymous Account Holder

This by far has been my best banking experience.  I once was with Bank of America, UGH!.  Been with US Bank for 7 years and have had a wonderful expereince!

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Horrible bank.
chrisleigh123 Account Holder

I have had so many credit cards with many different banks. None is nearly is bad as US Bank.  Card services is especially awful. The employees are rude and unhelpful. The bank seems to make a lot of mistakes and that is something I have never experienced anywhere else.  I will be switching to Citi as soon as possible.  I totally regret leaving Wells Fargo

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
USBank, Is The Bee's Knees
Schwartzinator Account Holder

There seems to be a lot of hateful words spread around about USBank. People knocking them for rejections and long hold times and rude customer service. I've had a relationship with USBank for about 5 years now and have never once had a negative interaction in person or on the phone. Their application process can be a little odd at times, and their underwriters are pretty frugal, but they were kind enough to extend a line of credit to me 3 years ago when I had a blank credit file. Thanks to them, I've been able to grow it with a little tlc and time. Their customer support has been fantastic in taking care of my needs, but does on occasion require an escalation as their front line cannot complete my request (combining credit lines). Their website is simple and straightfoward as are their apps, but leaves a little to be desired compared to Discover and American Express but far outshines Chase. As far as product offerings go, USBank doesn't offer anything outstanding which is dissapointing, but they also doesn't charge much in the way of annual fees so it's somewhat moot. All in all, USBank is fantastic and their checking accounts and credit cards are an excellent option for no frills customers.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Great Cash Rewards Program
SamBlue136 Account Holder

They offer great Cash Rewards Program. This became my secondary bank because of that. I sign up so I could use their Cash Rewards credit card. Easy to view, manage and pay online. You get to pick different categories for your 5%, 2% and 1% cash back. I use the card for everyday purchases and will continue to do so. Just make sure you're on top of your balances.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Worst card ever !! Every month something
ravenwenchii Account Holder

After one year if your score is not 750 they turn you down for unsecured and your choice is either mail in request to cancel to receive your refund up to 90 days to receive or continue w secured and let them keep deposit. I would like to add of course cancelling card will negatively effect your score and moving from 550-600 to 750 pretty difficult! I would STAY AWAY from this company if I could do it over .

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations