Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

U.S. Bank®

1.4 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 13, 2017
Good
ajmosley23 Account Holder

Applied for the basic secured card and was approved. Started with the $300 minimum deposit and so far I have had no problems with them. Also, about 2 days after I got the card in the mail, I went ahead and applied for the Harley Davidson secured card and got approved with $300 as well. Waiting for that card to be in my mailbox next week. Payments post to the account within 48 hrs which is great for me because I try to pay back what I have spent to keep my utilization super low. Hopefully that will help my credit boost faster.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Peggymunoz Account Holder

The place to loose your paycheck!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 13, 2017
Good
ajmosley23 Account Holder

Applied for the basic secured card and was approved. Started with the $300 minimum deposit and so far I have had no problems with them. Also, about 2 days after I got the card in the mail, I went ahead and applied for the Harley Davidson secured card and got approved with $300 as well. Waiting for that card to be in my mailbox next week. Payments post to the account within 48 hrs which is great for me because I try to pay back what I have spent to keep my utilization super low. Hopefully that will help my credit boost faster.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
great
crowsnest1966 Account Holder

so far they have been great

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

complete idiots. US Bank owned the brokerage firm I used I had $700,000 in assets in the brokerage account owned by us bank but us bank refused to honor a check drawn on the brokerage house THEY OWNED

 
Dec 14, 2016
Awful Awful Awful
hoodun Account Holder

Do not get a card with US Bank. It will destroy your credit. First off they gave me a card with a very low balance. My lowest balance on my other other cards is $5k. US Bank approves me at a 750 credit score and gives me a card with a $500 balance. To top it off, there site was down all week at the end of the month causing me to be late on a payment. We are talking a $20 payment. They reported it to the bureaus which sank my credit score. All for a measley $500 credit limit. They refuse to take responsiblity for website issues and will not budge on the mark. I will have to live with it for 7 years. Note: ALL of my other 8 cards have perfect payment history indicating my late payment with them was not indicative of my neglect to pay. I TRIED to pay several times. 

This card is just not worth it. You will get a vey low limit and they have no qualms at marking your credit if anything happens, with no chance of working it out with them. 

US Bank is a joke. 

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Terrible terrible bank
Anonymous Account Holder

If i could give them one star i would. I applied for cash plus card and got a different card then i re applied and got accepted. The card on the first and second time had a promo (spend $500 and get $100) I never received the bonus and when i called them they asked me to provide a promo code which the website didn't have. Then i asked for the supervisor and he wanted me to login their webpage and print the sentence where it says that promo 4 months back. 

I tried to solve this through the phone and spent 4 hours of my life on different occasions being transfered from one department to another. 

Long story short they approved me for $4000 on a card that i don't want and scammed me with that offer. False advertisment! Learn from my mistake and make sure you document everything you do with these ppl. 

Unless you are desprate don't do business with them. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Constant nightmare
Anonymous Account Holder

You will wait on hold for no less than 30 minutes even for a basic represenative. If you have any fraud issues with your card, prepare to have to pay them, because they will fail to acknowledge your dispute documentation, and then allow more charges from the same fraudulent vendors to continue, even after you attempt to close the card. In 30 years of using banks and credit cards, I have never had a customer service experience as bad as every single customer service experience with these people. It took over 4 months for me to successfully close this card after it was used fraudulently, despite my thorough records and documentation. They will not provide you with call reference numbers or any way to access the information provided to you by the associates on the phonecall. Worst card ever.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Take money to bank that appreciates it
Vreayla Account Holder

The only way to complete auto payment for your loan is using snail mail in which they mail you a form and you fill it out and mail it back... Extremely out of date on processes and very inconvenient website overall. They do not offer text message alerts or automatic phone calls as reminders for those of us who have a loan to pay on through them even though every other bill I have offers this conveneint feature.  U.S. bank seems very aggressive about phone calls if you are only a few days late (both my cell and my work #), yet send no reminders and make auto bill pay very inconvenient. Their escalation process for people who've forgotten to pay that month is a little offensive to say the least. Also, the script about why are you late on your payment maybe should wait until the customer is 30 days behind? Quite an intrusive question when someone is simply a few days late... Frankly I would have refinanced my loan with another institution if it weren't for the hassle. I am very not fond of the way they handle their customer service and would not at all recommend them to any associates. I have made these complaints several times and never hear anything but "there is nothing I can do about the policies they put in". Wow. I have excellent credit, a house, a car, several credit cards, and a few small loans... apparently that is not enough to be treated like a "forgetful customer" instead of low life who doesn't ever make their payment...

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
No online wire transfers!
Anonymous Account Holder

If you dont live near a physical location, do not bank with US Bank. I recently purchased a home in Texas and tried to set up a wire transfer online and through the phone. I was told you cannot do this unless you go into a location. Well, the closest location to Dallas is 500 miles away! I had to drive to get a cashiers check and almost had to delay closing on my house because of this. The funny thing is, the exact thing happend to a friend of mine. Get with the 21st century US Bank!

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Terrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

I got a notice that my login had been disabled due to suspicious online activity and I needed to call them to re-enable my account.  I called them on Sunday, got transferred to 3 different departments before I got the online service department, who told me he couldn't do anything on Sundays.  I asked why and he said that the fraud department isn't available on Sunday, so he can't access my account.  I asked him why the account was locked out and he said he doesn't know and can't look it up.  Then he says there was fraudulent charges on my Credit Card and thats why I'm locked out.  I tell him that my Card is still active, I just can't log in to the website to see what's going on with it.  He gets all ****y with me and says to just call back tomorrow.  Then he stops talking.  So apparently theres some fraudulent charges on my Credit Card that I can't see because I'm locked out of thier website and he doesn't see the problem with this...

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
This bank is great!
Anonymous Account Holder

They are so helpful!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2016

That's all you can say about them? This is a bad review.

 
Oct 31, 2016
ATM
butterfly1432 Account Holder

1300 miles away from home and I stopped at an ATM in North Little Rock on a Saturday I was taking my kids after dinner. Will putting my ATM card into the machine the machine had a power outage and turned off and ate my card I tried to contact customer service for hours to get my card back but no one was able to help me. I had to wire money to myself and then crosses and then I waited until Monday to call the branch to get my card back however I was told there is nothing that they could do to help me unless I was a u.s. bank member that they only give ATM cards back to members of the band members have to order new cards they destroy them this is an outrageous that considering I'm 1300 miles from home I pay a fee to use that ATM they have no customer service at all there I spoke to the man who was an assistant branch manager who only wanted to give me his condolences but however his only guidance to me was to order a new
card. This wouldn't have been such a slap in the face except for the fact that I hadn't done anything wrong I'm really just stopped to use their ATM and the Machine ate my card the worst part about it is knowing that they give their members back the cards but the nine members who didn't do anything wrong have to suffer I would say I warned you never to use their ATM that they say US Bank on them the bank is not helpful and as far as I am concerned crooks in addition the employees are clueless and not helpful at all.Do not trust your money to them!!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations