Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

U.S. Bank®

1.6 out of 5 stars
45 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 25, 2017
Good Card
cole2coley Account Holder

I applied for this card in hopes to build my credit. I was careless in my younger days and didn't know much about credit and how my spending would affect me later in life.. It took a few days to get the actual approval and didn't know I was approved until they took the funds out of my account unexpectedly. I've had it for 2 bill cycles and never carry a statement balance over. My score jumped up at least 25 points when it started to show on my credit report!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Peggymunoz Account Holder

The place to loose your paycheck!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 27, 2017
Great Cash Rewards Program
SamBlue136 Account Holder

They offer great Cash Rewards Program. This became my secondary bank because of that. I sign up so I could use their Cash Rewards credit card. Easy to view, manage and pay online. You get to pick different categories for your 5%, 2% and 1% cash back. I use the card for everyday purchases and will continue to do so. Just make sure you're on top of your balances.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Worst card ever !! Every month something
ravenwenchii Account Holder

After one year if your score is not 750 they turn you down for unsecured and your choice is either mail in request to cancel to receive your refund up to 90 days to receive or continue w secured and let them keep deposit. I would like to add of course cancelling card will negatively effect your score and moving from 550-600 to 750 pretty difficult! I would STAY AWAY from this company if I could do it over .

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
They lost my check
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank needs to be shut down. They lost my check and it took them 30 minutes to locate after I went in and flipped out because they were charging me overdraft fees for no reason at all.

They also charged me interest on a zero dollar balance for my credit card. I asked how this was possible and the lady didn't provide much help. I was basically forced to pay the $4.82. 

Just a terrible bank. Go elsewhere. Like UMB. 

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Worst Bank Ever!
Anonymous308 Account Holder

I currently have my car lease with U.S Bank and am extremely dissatisfied with the way they treat their customers. I went to make an online payment, and because I do not hold an account with them I am required to input my full routing and account number every time I pay. Once during this process I seemed to have mistyped one number and the payment subsequently bounced. I was completely unaware of this (no attempts were made to notify me of this simple mistake) until I went to pay the following month. After I called to question the new balance I was made aware of the mistake and immediately paid off the entire debt. This bank then preceded to report this incident to consumer reporting effectively lowering my credit score over 100 points. I filed to dispute this only to be denied. The payment was due on 21st and I paid off the entire amount after being made aware on the following month 22nd, one day outside the reporting time.

During this process I had to contact customer service approximately seven times. Every time I called I was transferred to another department, having to re-explain the situation and was transferred/hung up on twice.  Avoid this bank at all cost.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Good Card
cole2coley Account Holder

I applied for this card in hopes to build my credit. I was careless in my younger days and didn't know much about credit and how my spending would affect me later in life.. It took a few days to get the actual approval and didn't know I was approved until they took the funds out of my account unexpectedly. I've had it for 2 bill cycles and never carry a statement balance over. My score jumped up at least 25 points when it started to show on my credit report!

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Good
ajmosley23 Account Holder

Applied for the basic secured card and was approved. Started with the $300 minimum deposit and so far I have had no problems with them. Also, about 2 days after I got the card in the mail, I went ahead and applied for the Harley Davidson secured card and got approved with $300 as well. Waiting for that card to be in my mailbox next week. Payments post to the account within 48 hrs which is great for me because I try to pay back what I have spent to keep my utilization super low. Hopefully that will help my credit boost faster.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
great
crowsnest1966 Account Holder

so far they have been great

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

complete idiots. US Bank owned the brokerage firm I used I had $700,000 in assets in the brokerage account owned by us bank but us bank refused to honor a check drawn on the brokerage house THEY OWNED

 
Dec 14, 2016
Awful Awful Awful
hoodun Account Holder

Do not get a card with US Bank. It will destroy your credit. First off they gave me a card with a very low balance. My lowest balance on my other other cards is $5k. US Bank approves me at a 750 credit score and gives me a card with a $500 balance. To top it off, there site was down all week at the end of the month causing me to be late on a payment. We are talking a $20 payment. They reported it to the bureaus which sank my credit score. All for a measley $500 credit limit. They refuse to take responsiblity for website issues and will not budge on the mark. I will have to live with it for 7 years. Note: ALL of my other 8 cards have perfect payment history indicating my late payment with them was not indicative of my neglect to pay. I TRIED to pay several times. 

This card is just not worth it. You will get a vey low limit and they have no qualms at marking your credit if anything happens, with no chance of working it out with them. 

US Bank is a joke. 

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Terrible terrible bank
Anonymous Account Holder

If i could give them one star i would. I applied for cash plus card and got a different card then i re applied and got accepted. The card on the first and second time had a promo (spend $500 and get $100) I never received the bonus and when i called them they asked me to provide a promo code which the website didn't have. Then i asked for the supervisor and he wanted me to login their webpage and print the sentence where it says that promo 4 months back. 

I tried to solve this through the phone and spent 4 hours of my life on different occasions being transfered from one department to another. 

Long story short they approved me for $4000 on a card that i don't want and scammed me with that offer. False advertisment! Learn from my mistake and make sure you document everything you do with these ppl. 

Unless you are desprate don't do business with them. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Constant nightmare
Anonymous Account Holder

You will wait on hold for no less than 30 minutes even for a basic represenative. If you have any fraud issues with your card, prepare to have to pay them, because they will fail to acknowledge your dispute documentation, and then allow more charges from the same fraudulent vendors to continue, even after you attempt to close the card. In 30 years of using banks and credit cards, I have never had a customer service experience as bad as every single customer service experience with these people. It took over 4 months for me to successfully close this card after it was used fraudulently, despite my thorough records and documentation. They will not provide you with call reference numbers or any way to access the information provided to you by the associates on the phonecall. Worst card ever.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations