U.S. Bank® Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
30 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 07, 2017
Very Helpful and understanding!
Anonymous Account Holder

This by far has been my best banking experience.  I once was with Bank of America, UGH!.  Been with US Bank for 7 years and have had a wonderful expereince!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 15, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

If i could rate negative stars i would. Ive suppossedly had a fraud investigation going on since early march. I filed a police report and all the necessary paper work with the bank. Ive lost track how many times i have called, emailed, and gone into this branch to speak with someone about this claim. The other day i try to log into my account to see if there was an update. It said that the account was no longer active. So today i called the branch. The teller who answered told me that there had been no claim filed. After several different times i was told it was filed and now we were just waiting for a response. She proceeded to talk over me, being incredibly rude and unhelpful the entire time. I asked to speak to a manager. She continued to talk over me. I asked 4 more times before i was finally put on hold to speak to a manager. I was literally on hold for a half an hour. After the 30min mark i finally gave up and hung up the phone. All i know is that there is no longer an active account... sooo i have no idea what is going on with my account and apparently they dont either. I should have been notified if anything changed. Especially since this can seriously impact my credit, etc. This whole thing is absolutely ridiculous. It is clear that this bank is incredibly incompetent and unprofessional. Once (if i ever) learn what is going on with my account i will be leaving this bank. And you better believe i will be warning everyone i know to steer clear of this bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 25, 2017
Very rude, dont care about its customers
Travis9959 Account Holder

Worst bank I have ever dealt with

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Very bad customer service. They believe the customer is always wrong

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
They lost pay checks
qxs930 Account Holder

They lost a few of my paychecks and it took them over 30 minutes to find them.

They also put mystery charges on my credit card... For Example, they charged me $4.82 worth of interest on a zero dollar balance! They refused to take it off my account. They also lowered my credit limit out of nowhere one day so I called to find out and they transferred me to an underwriter and he didn't know. He said te computer sometimes raises and lowers people on its own and he could fix it. It's just concerning that they are so clueless.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Terrible company
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened a secured US Bank card over three years to rebuild credit from a score in the low 500's.  Their terms were the best I could find at the time for such a card, which is why I give them two stars instead of one.  I gave a secured balance of $600 and have never carried a balance.  I also monitored when they report to credit bureaus to make sure I paying the card down before the reporting date (for US Bank it is different than the closing date).  Within a month Capital One sent me a preapproved offer for a card with a $1,000 limit.  I proceeded to take the same strategy with Capital One. 

Capital One allows you to apply for credit limit increases every six months without making a hard inquiry on your credit files.  After six months they doubled my credit limit and offered to upgrade my card to a Quicksilver account with 1.5% cash back.  Fast forward to today, and that Capital One card has a limit of $18,500 (though I should note I have large income and charge and pay a lot to that card, so my limit may not be the case for everyone).  I appreciated their commitment to me and recognition of my efforts and progress with my credit scores, which are now in mid 700s.

US Bank, to its credit, made my card unsecured when I requested it after 1.5 years.  However, despite the representative repeatedly reassuring me that they would not make a hard inquiry to make my cared unsecured, they did.  When I voiced displeasure with this, they could have cared less and told me I could "try" to dispute it.  I totally did not appreciate a card built for people rebuilding their credit lying about hard inquiries which have an impact on credit scores... and really hated their callousness about their misinformation and refusal to remove the inquiry themselves. 

Today, I have credit lines on cards exceeding $45,000.  I have been offered unsolicted credit line increases by American Express sometimes as often as within two months (and obviously without hard inquiries).  American Express even gave me a Platinum Card without a hard inquiry.  US Bank HOWEVER refuses to increase my credit limit of $600 without me allowing them to make a hard inquiry, which I refuse to do.  I keep the card only because it is my oldest card, and really dispise giving them continued business.

Making things worse, after three years of having the US Bank card, I needed to dispute and request a stop on a repeating charge from a merchant who continued to charge despite my calling to cancel the service several times.  US Bank refused to stop repeated charges.  For the dispute the charges that already took place, I needed to fill out paper work. It would arrive at my house within two days and need to be filled out and FAXED back to them within another three days.  I was away on business travel, so the dispute was cancelled.  The paperwork includes such ridiculous requirements as signed statements from similar merchants as the one in question stating that I was correct for my dispute.  I called to complain and US Bank said they would process the dispute again (though I still need to negotiate their ridiculous paper work).  Meantime, I asked them again to refuse further charges from the merchant, and they again refused.  I got creative and told them I lost the card while on the phone and needed a new card with a new number to be issued.  Hopefully that works.

By contrast, in the rare case I have had to process a dispute with Capital One it was seamless with no paperwork and faxes.  American Express obvious is the leader in defending their customers.

I literally hate US Bank and decided to write this.  I also wish to urge anyone crazy enough to consider their new premium Bank Altitude Reserve Visa Infinite Card with a $400 fee to seriously reconsider. This company simply does not care about their customers.  All of the negative reviews here guide that I am not the only one with major reservations about US Bank. Go with the Chase Resrve or Platinum AMEX.  If you are considering a US Bank secured card and the terms are still better than the rest, go for it, but realize that in the long run you will be better off with Capital One.

more ...
May 30, 2017
Bullcrap card and equally bad csr
Anonymous Account Holder

If you think of getting FlexRewards card, don't even waist your time. US Bank promises 3x on charity and 2x on cell phone bill but at the end they claim the merchant did not classify itself as such (though clearly you have proof of otherwise) and won't give you the points it promised to. Not to say I ran into so many obsticles with application process (my app was submitted twice and origianal was cancelled) 

more ...
May 24, 2017
Unprofessional
Anonymous Account Holder

I admittedly made a mistake doing a wire transfer and was charged $50.  That's a steep fee to pay for a simple mistake so I tried calling to see if I could get it reimbursed as a one-time courtesy.  I spoke to a woman named Jackie and she proceeded to laugh as she says it is an irreversible fee.  I was less than impressed by her level of professionalism.  Clearly this is not a mistake I'll make twice and not a bank I want to be associated with.

more ...
May 24, 2017
Unprofessional
Anonymous Account Holder

I admittedly made a mistake doing a wire transfer and was charged $50.  That's a steep fee to pay for a simple mistake so I tried calling to see if I could get it reimbursed as a one-time courtesy.  I spoke to a woman named Jackie and she proceeded to laugh as she says it is an irreversible fee.  I was less than impressed by her level of professionalism.  Clearly this is not a mistake I'll make twice and not a bank I want to be associated with.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

If i could rate negative stars i would. Ive suppossedly had a fraud investigation going on since early march. I filed a police report and all the necessary paper work with the bank. Ive lost track how many times i have called, emailed, and gone into this branch to speak with someone about this claim. The other day i try to log into my account to see if there was an update. It said that the account was no longer active. So today i called the branch. The teller who answered told me that there had been no claim filed. After several different times i was told it was filed and now we were just waiting for a response. She proceeded to talk over me, being incredibly rude and unhelpful the entire time. I asked to speak to a manager. She continued to talk over me. I asked 4 more times before i was finally put on hold to speak to a manager. I was literally on hold for a half an hour. After the 30min mark i finally gave up and hung up the phone. All i know is that there is no longer an active account... sooo i have no idea what is going on with my account and apparently they dont either. I should have been notified if anything changed. Especially since this can seriously impact my credit, etc. This whole thing is absolutely ridiculous. It is clear that this bank is incredibly incompetent and unprofessional. Once (if i ever) learn what is going on with my account i will be leaving this bank. And you better believe i will be warning everyone i know to steer clear of this bank.

more ...
Apr 29, 2017
Awful services
umeshchaturvedi Account Holder

Avoid any banking with them, Highly unprofessional and uethical bank.

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
Very Helpful and understanding!
Anonymous Account Holder

This by far has been my best banking experience.  I once was with Bank of America, UGH!.  Been with US Bank for 7 years and have had a wonderful expereince!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations