U.S. Bank®

1.7 out of 5 stars
43 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2017
USBank, Is The Bee's Knees
Schwartzinator Account Holder

There seems to be a lot of hateful words spread around about USBank. People knocking them for rejections and long hold times and rude customer service. I've had a relationship with USBank for about 5 years now and have never once had a negative interaction in person or on the phone. Their application process can be a little odd at times, and their underwriters are pretty frugal, but they were kind enough to extend a line of credit to me 3 years ago when I had a blank credit file. Thanks to them, I've been able to grow it with a little tlc and time. Their customer support has been fantastic in taking care of my needs, but does on occasion require an escalation as their front line cannot complete my request (combining credit lines). Their website is simple and straightfoward as are their apps, but leaves a little to be desired compared to Discover and American Express but far outshines Chase. As far as product offerings go, USBank doesn't offer anything outstanding which is dissapointing, but they also doesn't charge much in the way of annual fees so it's somewhat moot. All in all, USBank is fantastic and their checking accounts and credit cards are an excellent option for no frills customers.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 15, 2016
Peggymunoz Account Holder

The place to loose your paycheck!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 08, 2017
Horrible bank.
chrisleigh123 Account Holder

I have had so many credit cards with many different banks. None is nearly is bad as US Bank.  Card services is especially awful. The employees are rude and unhelpful. The bank seems to make a lot of mistakes and that is something I have never experienced anywhere else.  I will be switching to Citi as soon as possible.  I totally regret leaving Wells Fargo

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
USBank, Is The Bee's Knees
Schwartzinator Account Holder

There seems to be a lot of hateful words spread around about USBank. People knocking them for rejections and long hold times and rude customer service. I've had a relationship with USBank for about 5 years now and have never once had a negative interaction in person or on the phone. Their application process can be a little odd at times, and their underwriters are pretty frugal, but they were kind enough to extend a line of credit to me 3 years ago when I had a blank credit file. Thanks to them, I've been able to grow it with a little tlc and time. Their customer support has been fantastic in taking care of my needs, but does on occasion require an escalation as their front line cannot complete my request (combining credit lines). Their website is simple and straightfoward as are their apps, but leaves a little to be desired compared to Discover and American Express but far outshines Chase. As far as product offerings go, USBank doesn't offer anything outstanding which is dissapointing, but they also doesn't charge much in the way of annual fees so it's somewhat moot. All in all, USBank is fantastic and their checking accounts and credit cards are an excellent option for no frills customers.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Great Cash Rewards Program
SamBlue136 Account Holder

They offer great Cash Rewards Program. This became my secondary bank because of that. I sign up so I could use their Cash Rewards credit card. Easy to view, manage and pay online. You get to pick different categories for your 5%, 2% and 1% cash back. I use the card for everyday purchases and will continue to do so. Just make sure you're on top of your balances.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Worst card ever !! Every month something
ravenwenchii Account Holder

After one year if your score is not 750 they turn you down for unsecured and your choice is either mail in request to cancel to receive your refund up to 90 days to receive or continue w secured and let them keep deposit. I would like to add of course cancelling card will negatively effect your score and moving from 550-600 to 750 pretty difficult! I would STAY AWAY from this company if I could do it over .

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
They lost my check
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank needs to be shut down. They lost my check and it took them 30 minutes to locate after I went in and flipped out because they were charging me overdraft fees for no reason at all.

They also charged me interest on a zero dollar balance for my credit card. I asked how this was possible and the lady didn't provide much help. I was basically forced to pay the $4.82. 

Just a terrible bank. Go elsewhere. Like UMB. 

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Worst Bank Ever!
Anonymous308 Account Holder

I currently have my car lease with U.S Bank and am extremely dissatisfied with the way they treat their customers. I went to make an online payment, and because I do not hold an account with them I am required to input my full routing and account number every time I pay. Once during this process I seemed to have mistyped one number and the payment subsequently bounced. I was completely unaware of this (no attempts were made to notify me of this simple mistake) until I went to pay the following month. After I called to question the new balance I was made aware of the mistake and immediately paid off the entire debt. This bank then preceded to report this incident to consumer reporting effectively lowering my credit score over 100 points. I filed to dispute this only to be denied. The payment was due on 21st and I paid off the entire amount after being made aware on the following month 22nd, one day outside the reporting time.

During this process I had to contact customer service approximately seven times. Every time I called I was transferred to another department, having to re-explain the situation and was transferred/hung up on twice.  Avoid this bank at all cost.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
Good Card
cole2coley Account Holder

I applied for this card in hopes to build my credit. I was careless in my younger days and didn't know much about credit and how my spending would affect me later in life.. It took a few days to get the actual approval and didn't know I was approved until they took the funds out of my account unexpectedly. I've had it for 2 bill cycles and never carry a statement balance over. My score jumped up at least 25 points when it started to show on my credit report!

more ...
Jan 13, 2017
Good
ajmosley23 Account Holder

Applied for the basic secured card and was approved. Started with the $300 minimum deposit and so far I have had no problems with them. Also, about 2 days after I got the card in the mail, I went ahead and applied for the Harley Davidson secured card and got approved with $300 as well. Waiting for that card to be in my mailbox next week. Payments post to the account within 48 hrs which is great for me because I try to pay back what I have spent to keep my utilization super low. Hopefully that will help my credit boost faster.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
great
crowsnest1966 Account Holder

so far they have been great

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

complete idiots. US Bank owned the brokerage firm I used I had $700,000 in assets in the brokerage account owned by us bank but us bank refused to honor a check drawn on the brokerage house THEY OWNED

 
Dec 14, 2016
Awful Awful Awful
hoodun Account Holder

Do not get a card with US Bank. It will destroy your credit. First off they gave me a card with a very low balance. My lowest balance on my other other cards is $5k. US Bank approves me at a 750 credit score and gives me a card with a $500 balance. To top it off, there site was down all week at the end of the month causing me to be late on a payment. We are talking a $20 payment. They reported it to the bureaus which sank my credit score. All for a measley $500 credit limit. They refuse to take responsiblity for website issues and will not budge on the mark. I will have to live with it for 7 years. Note: ALL of my other 8 cards have perfect payment history indicating my late payment with them was not indicative of my neglect to pay. I TRIED to pay several times. 

This card is just not worth it. You will get a vey low limit and they have no qualms at marking your credit if anything happens, with no chance of working it out with them. 

US Bank is a joke. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations