TD Bank Reviews

1.3 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 11, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

$7 fee for non TD Bank customers to cash checks is absurd 

more ...
Sep 09, 2017
30+ minute hold times, worst hold music
DanDanDan2 Account Holder

At the end of the day it's an ok bank, nothing special.  But good luck if you need customer service.  30+ minute hold times, and hands-down the worst hold music in the world!  You think you might get work done while you wait a ridiculous amount of time for a representive, but no... blaring music, constant talking (sales pitches).  You'd think if they were planning on such long hold times, they'd at-least plan somehting that doesn't loop through the same corney jokes every two minutes.

Note to mention locations are quite often understaffed with lines.

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Customer service is clueless!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I was placed on hold for 90 mins between representatives who didnt know how to replace my credit card. 

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Horrendous customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

TD Bank deactivated my credit card and has ignored five customer service requests through their website when I ask why his was done. I have no balance, pay it in full each month. So not only will I be seeking another bank I will also be closing my TD Ameritrade account.

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Welcome to the world's most IMMORAL bank
lesterlee2012 Account Holder

To show that I am a tolerable, kind, well educated person without any subjective bias on this world's most terrible bank, let me first share with you some positives:

They have 7/24 customer service, this can be reached almost without any waiting time if you tried to reach it via your app. In branch service MIGHT be good. YMMV.

Negatives:

Although 7/24 customer service is available, their service quality is the POOREST ever. Every time you made the call you can get DIFFERENT answer about your problem, and finally they were all proven to be nothing but LIES. One cs told me there is no promotion on the date I opened the account. The other one told me I have the promotion but I need to wait for additional 30 days. When I called them to close the account they said it will take 20 days to process it. The reason they lied to you is the same: they want to eat the words, they do not want to give you what you deserved and they just want to keep your account open. I don't think a good bank needs to persuade their customer "please! don't close the account" by MAKING LIES. But TD BANK DOES. THEY ARE VERY VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. After waiting one more week to check if the account has been closed, I called them again and they said it is still OPEN, even worse, they deposit some cents as interest so you CANNOT close it via phone, and they are even asking for the monthly maintenance fee because you've already withdrawn all the money! WTF! TD Bank are you insane? Are you eager to stole money from your customer this much? Wish you go bankrupt someday!

P.S.

There are some reviews showing that if you do not keep the minimum balance, they will keep charing you money until it is totally dry and put your account into collection WITHOUT notifying you. What do other banks do? Chase will close your account, BOA won't charge any money if it is $0.

Welcome to the world's most IMMORAL bank.

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
Sketchy
Anonymous Account Holder

Bait and switch tactics, changing terms after account established, shady timing with deposits/debits (supposedly illegal now), absolutely insane fees, ill informed reps, poor service.   Terrible bank.

more ...
May 07, 2017
Horrible
marktorrey Account Holder

I would rank TD Bank and its credit card among the worst in the industry as far as predatory practices go. If you want to put your credit in a death spiral, apply for and gain one of their cards. Be late on a payment (no ten day grace period as with all of my other cards) and you're immdiately hit with a late fee and your credit allowance is immediately reduced...and the interest rate spikes.  They call it a "trigger". Good luck in trying to get them to reduce it.

Look elsewhere.

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
hacked
Anonymous Account Holder

Watch for Notifications or SMS from TD bank.  You get them whether you are a member or not.  Their fraud number is bogus.  

more ...
Apr 11, 2017
i love them, they are so helpful,
Anonymous Account Holder

great hours open on Sundays

more ...
Mar 27, 2017
Product Pushers, Led By The Regional Mg.
Anonymous Account Holder

The Fairfield Region in Connecticut is a product pushing machine, they enjoy their celebrations every time they top a specific money making product. The Regional manager with a big EGO in charge of all the locations uses something called a productivity report that shows all the products pushed. Employees must raise the percentages or it's write up time, the managers get beat up and the put pressure on the employees to "deepen" relationships, in other words, they are trained to twist a simple conversation into product pushing. Next time you visit the Fairfield, CT region don't give up any information. You traveling?...apply for the credit card, getting married?...personal loan. Window broken?...submit a mortgage loan application, Two dollars in the bank?...open up savings account....get the picture! All these are design to entrap people in more debt or services that collect fees.
The regional is considered the star of the bank because of these practices, and they had low customer experience results to boot for years. Look at td Canada trust in the news, same behavior. The bank takes the money and sends it over the border to Canada...poor U.S employees not a good situation. Product pushers, led by KThe expert.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations