Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

TD Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 26, 2011

NEXT-DAY crediting of most deposits; excellent hours; decent website; super customer service. What more could a customer want???

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 08, 2015
The worst scam sanctioned by law
Flairsdad Account Holder

It came time to clean up my credit and as part of that plan I opened a TD Bank secured credit card.  There is a TD Bank branch within walking distance of my house and their hours seemed good.

I couldn't understand why I had to do a full application with credit approval for a secured card but I went along with it.  The application process required about two weeks.  Once I was approved I went to the branch and deposited $1,000 in a savings account.  I received my card about ten days later.  So far so good.

I made my first payment on line.  It took four days to post the payment AFTER the funds had been transferred.  I called to question this and was informed that the funds "had to clear".  WTF?  Why would electronic funds need to season to clear?

Next payment I made at the branch with cash.  This required almost six days to post.  Again, the reason was the funds had to clear. WTF, WTF?  CASH HAS TO CLEAR?

OK, so now my credit has improved to the point where I have a non-secured card with another bank.  I pay my TD Bank card in full and close the account.  Next day I go to the branch for my thousand bucks.  No dice.  The account requires 7 to 10 BUSINESS DAYS to be released after the card has been closed.  On the 7th day I went to the branch to check on the funds and they were not available.  I spent over two hours on the phone trying to get an answer on my account availability.  I escalated through three supervisors (the fourth refused to take the call and I got voice mail).  Not one of them could give me a straight answer on availability.

Today at 3:56 PM, the tenth business day, the account was released and I got my money back.

It is clear that the game TD Bank plays is to control your money for as long as legally possible in order to earn interest.

Anyone choosing to do business with this bank should be prepared for impenetrable beurocracy and apalling customer service.

more ...

Reviews (112)

Add Review
Oct 17, 2016
Incompetent, rude customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

If I could give zero stars, I would. I would never recommend this bank to anyone. They froze my card without notice (under the guise of sending me another card-which I never received). I called them 4 times. Each time they promise to send my card overnight. One month later,  I still never received it. I have had to use other forms of payment to get by. I finally canceled my card with them because they were so unresponsive and rude. Not a single person ever responded well to my needs. Do not expect competency or problem solving from this bank. I tried to speak with a supervisor but they put me on hold for ten minutes then hung up, so I tried to email instead, they replied with "thank you for letting us know." I have never missed a payment and always paid on time. They lost a reliable customer. I have turned many people away from using their services and will continue to ensure people are not trapped with this horrible bank.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Liars and thieves
AmberMarie90 Account Holder

After I was approved for this card through Fred Meyer Jewlers, their online portal continued to have issues and not let me through to make payments. 3 times they gave me different reasons for the issues when I had called in to pay my payment and complain about the issues. THEN they proceeded to take back my entire credit limit because they said I had made late payments, only because their mediocre website wouldn't let me and they were closed when I would try and call the same day! This was back in March/April

Fast forward to today, 10/07/2016, I had the same issue with the website again where it wouldn't let me login and I had to call to pay. After they reset my password and I paid online, I asked about my credit line being reinstated. To which I was told "We will have to re-run your credit to make sure you qualify to have the credit limit back." ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?! So now because of their incompetence, I have to have another hit on my credit and possibly have them tell me no anways, to get back a credit limit that they gave me but took away to begin with!

I am LIVID and would NEVER reccomend this card or bank to anyone ever!! I'm not sure if they're accredited with the BBB but the BBB is about to hear from me.

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible, Horrible bank. It's SCAM guys they charge you so many hidden FEES you will not even know please be smart go with any other bank.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016

Do not waste your time applying for this credit card.  I cannot properly describe my experience but just a few points: they still rely on snail mail for approval/denial of the credit card, they do not provide email confirmation of anything, and if or when they approve, it'll be for a third of the amount you would at another decent creditor.  Stay away!

more ...
Aug 30, 2016

Do not waste your time applying for this credit card.  I cannot properly describe my experience but just a few points: they still rely on snail mail for approval/denial of the credit card, they do not provide email confirmation of anything, and if or when they approve, it'll be for a third of the amount you would at another decent creditor.  Stay away!

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Americas most convenient bank.....unless
Anonymous Account Holder

you call their customer service. I've called morning noon and night and NEVER waited less than 10 minutes on hold.

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
The Loan Arranger and Tonto

We applied for a HELOC by phone and we were told that it usually takes less than 30 days for approval. We took all of the requested documents into a local branch. We took paper copies and a stick disk with PDF files. We waited. And waited. And waited.

When we followed up two weeks and a dozen phone calls later, they needed more documents. Some of the documents they requested were sent in the first round, but apparently the PDF files on the stick disk lost their legibiity over the last two weeks, and although they can open the documents, the clarity is so poor that they cannot be read. Some of the documents were new ones that they forgot to ask for the first time. You cannot send documents by a secure electronic method, so off to the branch again with highlighted copies of the same stuff - the only other option is sending sensitive documentation by email, but it's OK because according to Customer Support, if you write "SECURE" in the email header your email magically becomes secure and will need a password before it can be read. Of course, they don't know how it works, but it does.

Another two weeks and, of course, they need to be chased up again. They're missing some documents. The same documents they've had twice before, but they need them again. This time we run to the Post Office with a big envelope and ship them "overnight signed for" and pay the nice man behind the counter almost $25 for the priviledge. USPS Tracking shows the package arrives before noon the following day, but the Loan Arranger can't seem to find the front reception desk (where the package was signed for) until about 4pm, obviously when they walk out of the building on the way home.

Did we mention that the Loan Arranger's supervisor doesn't even know her own name; if you send an email it has to go to John (name changed to protect the incompetent), but when you dial John's phone number the voicemail message says you've reached the desk of Mary (name changed to protect the incompetent). Naturally, leaving a message for John/Mary was a complete waste of time as s/he never bothered to call back.

So now we're on day 30 and our application was denied. The denial had nothing to do with our 800+ credit scores, nothing to do with the fact that we own our home free and clear, nothing to do with us only wanting a line of credit to about 30% of our home's value, nothing to do with us only wanting a line of credit less than or equal to our combined annual income for a single year, nothing to do with the Loan Arranger being out sick for an extended period (hence the delays), but primarily because we cannot issue them with a 2016 Tax Return in July 2016 - the denial was made based on the fact that they simply do not understand that 2016 Tax Returns CANNOT be submitted until 2017 at the very earliest. Also, failure to submit a property tax bill that will not be issued for another 4 months is grounds to have your application denied.

I guess the next step for us is to go to the local branch and ask to cash out our accounts - a six-figure withdrawal request in low denomination bills will probably have them begging us for the opportunity to offer us a line of credit, ON OUR OWN MONEY.

Some days it's better to watch an old cowboy show than try to deal with this bank - hi-yo Silver, AWAAAAAY.

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I've banked with td since i was 19. 12 years and I've had very poor customer service when opening ANY service with them. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had my account with these crooks since it was Commerce bank. The overdraft fees are eye gouging and they are $35 per transaction up to 5 times per day. This is the worst form of usury and quite honestly it's worse than a highway robbery. Stay away. You have been Warned!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this bank overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations