SunTrust Bank

2.4 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2014
Hated for?
Anonymous Account Holder

I have yet to experience any negative interaction with Suntrust for any accounts. From my credit card to my debit/credit card, I believe that the service has been absolutely amazing. Also, I think suntrust has amazing customer service. I have called on so many occassions freaking out about mischarges and have had all of my issues resolved in a reasonable time. I see people complaining about things like missing payments and things....maybe you should hold on to your reciept? It could happen anywhere with such a diverse group of employees it is hard to avoid all human error. I've been with suntrust for over 6 years now an no issues. Part of me feels like all of the negative comments here are either human error on the part of the poster, or carefully placed anti-ads from other companies. 

Keep up the good work Suntrust!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 24, 2014
F*** this bank
Anonymous Account Holder

I can't purchase things online through them because of a nonexistant zip code mismatch. The customer service was not only unhelpful but also rude. The issue is still not fixed. I'm also fairly certain that there is a fee for every. single. thing at this bank. AVOID THIS BANK LIKE THE PLAGUE

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 31, 2017
Not perfect, but not bad
Amavise Account Holder

The process of getting this card was a month long fiasco, but it turned out well.  A local branch rep called me to offer me consolidation lines of credit, something I'd been toying with for a few weeks anyways.  It was a well timed call on their part.  Having been denied in the past, twice over 15 years to be precise, I didn't have much hope that I'd be approved this go around.  I was misled by her offer and she wasn't well acquainted with the rules of the card she was offering me.  Turns out, I couldn't do what she said I could use the card to do; defeating the purpose of the entire deal.  Still, I ended up with a $7000 line of Suntrust credit and the branch rep and her manager bent over backwards to work with their superiors to right their wrong.  When I applied my FICO was about 730, I had a card utilization of about 23%, 2 small personal loans, and student loan debt.  This is definitely a card you need good credit to own.  

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
ripoff
Anonymous Account Holder

The only bank i know that you could make 7 payments in 6 mo and still have the same ballance.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Suntrust
Anonymous Account Holder

Branch manipulates you to open all these accounts to protect other accounts from maintenance fees.  Then....switch their rules and charge you maintenance fees on ALL of them.  Try to fix it.  THEY say I should had been looking at my statements.  But statements weren't available with phone app.  No refund of fees.  And...No success other than to finally cancel all my accounts and go to BOA.  BOA is open Sundays by phone too.  SunTrust is not Open Sundays and have to wait for Monday to figure out why now my accounts didn't close and I'm getting MORE maintenance fees.  Ahhh!!!!   Just close them!  

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Lack of ATMs, bad technology
jhtrico1850 Account Holder

I started with SunTrust due to always hearing about Bank of America's bad fees. They have done the job I guess.

Bank of America is everywhere, and it's so easy to send money to friends due to their big customer base. I like that they're tied in with Merrill Edge too.

SunTrust annoyed me recently, they want $5 for a picture of a mobile deposit 1 month ago. Bank of America provides me with copies of mobile deposits from 1 year ago. It's ridiculous.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Overdraft fees are ridiculous!!!
dbphelps11 Account Holder

QKeep an eye on your balance, pending transactions can get you jammed up.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
beware overdraft fees
everanever Account Holder

This bank will put through your debits before your credits resulting in overdraft fees.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Love Suntrust
cjw44 Account Holder

I have banked with Suntrust for years. 5 years so far. I currently do not live near a Suntrust branch/bank, so everything I do is, either online or over the phone. The customer service is always very knowlegeable and helpul. Im happy banking with Suntrust! Havent ran into a problem yet!

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Excellent service
Meme1962 Account Holder

I have been with Sun Trust for over 3 years and have 3 accounts with them. The tellers are always cordial and friendly and not pushy or rude. I'm in Florida so I'm not sure if the complaints are Florida based. When I had a question/concern opening my 3rd account the young lady I chatted with helped me with the transfer for deposit. Staying with SUN as long as they keep treating me the way they are. Very happy with this bank.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

this company is terrible. i have a loan through them and trying to pay my loan is a 1 hr process each time. i expressed my frustration and told the rep that it was not their fault and i would like to know how to fix it or make the process faster and they hung up on me. i im into customer service and if i acted like that i would be fired. if you look at the reviews on google with a 1 star rating they are very accurate. its a company that will take your money but provides no customer service. if i have to wait for that long and recieve nothing then what good is the company good for besides taking my money? i would not recommend suntrust to anyone!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Long lasting support.
Anonymous Account Holder

plenty of branches across. And we have been with them for about 10 years now. But i will say, you may find it difficult to get a loan.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations