SunTrust Bank

2.3 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 26, 2016
I have had good luck with SunTrust.
PoppyandSassy Account Holder

Communication has never been a problem.  I have been with SunTrust over 20 years.  They are located on the east coast and are convenient for me.  I have an overdraft loan and a credit card account plus my checking account.  Transferring money and paying bills (even automatic deductions) have always been easy.  I am far from a technology guru, but their website was fairly easy.  I applied for a car loan and got an interest rate of 2%.  The people were wonderful to me.  But then Honda offered me .9% (That's right, less than 1% interest), so regretfully I had to back out of SunTrust.  But their people couldn't have been nicer to me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2016
beware overdraft fees
everanever Account Holder

This bank will put through your debits before your credits resulting in overdraft fees.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 17, 2017
ripoff
Anonymous Account Holder

The only bank i know that you could make 7 payments in 6 mo and still have the same ballance.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Suntrust
Anonymous Account Holder

Branch manipulates you to open all these accounts to protect other accounts from maintenance fees.  Then....switch their rules and charge you maintenance fees on ALL of them.  Try to fix it.  THEY say I should had been looking at my statements.  But statements weren't available with phone app.  No refund of fees.  And...No success other than to finally cancel all my accounts and go to BOA.  BOA is open Sundays by phone too.  SunTrust is not Open Sundays and have to wait for Monday to figure out why now my accounts didn't close and I'm getting MORE maintenance fees.  Ahhh!!!!   Just close them!  

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Lack of ATMs, bad technology
jhtrico1850 Account Holder

I started with SunTrust due to always hearing about Bank of America's bad fees. They have done the job I guess.

Bank of America is everywhere, and it's so easy to send money to friends due to their big customer base. I like that they're tied in with Merrill Edge too.

SunTrust annoyed me recently, they want $5 for a picture of a mobile deposit 1 month ago. Bank of America provides me with copies of mobile deposits from 1 year ago. It's ridiculous.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Overdraft fees are ridiculous!!!
dbphelps11 Account Holder

QKeep an eye on your balance, pending transactions can get you jammed up.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
beware overdraft fees
everanever Account Holder

This bank will put through your debits before your credits resulting in overdraft fees.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Love Suntrust
cjw44 Account Holder

I have banked with Suntrust for years. 5 years so far. I currently do not live near a Suntrust branch/bank, so everything I do is, either online or over the phone. The customer service is always very knowlegeable and helpul. Im happy banking with Suntrust! Havent ran into a problem yet!

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Excellent service
Meme1962 Account Holder

I have been with Sun Trust for over 3 years and have 3 accounts with them. The tellers are always cordial and friendly and not pushy or rude. I'm in Florida so I'm not sure if the complaints are Florida based. When I had a question/concern opening my 3rd account the young lady I chatted with helped me with the transfer for deposit. Staying with SUN as long as they keep treating me the way they are. Very happy with this bank.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

this company is terrible. i have a loan through them and trying to pay my loan is a 1 hr process each time. i expressed my frustration and told the rep that it was not their fault and i would like to know how to fix it or make the process faster and they hung up on me. i im into customer service and if i acted like that i would be fired. if you look at the reviews on google with a 1 star rating they are very accurate. its a company that will take your money but provides no customer service. if i have to wait for that long and recieve nothing then what good is the company good for besides taking my money? i would not recommend suntrust to anyone!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Long lasting support.
Anonymous Account Holder

plenty of branches across. And we have been with them for about 10 years now. But i will say, you may find it difficult to get a loan.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Incompetent and rude
Anonymous Account Holder

I called to cancel my mother's credit card after she died. I was told to go to a branch and fax a copy of the death certificate and that the balance would be taking care of. As soon as I could get off of work, I had the bank rep do that. I received another statement and stapled a copy of the death certificate to it and mailed it. I called again after receiving a notice that it was going into collections. Vanessa is the rudest, uncaring person I've ever talked to. Do not do business with SunTrust at all bank or credit card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations