SunTrust Bank Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 26, 2016
I have had good luck with SunTrust.
PoppyandSassy Account Holder

Communication has never been a problem.  I have been with SunTrust over 20 years.  They are located on the east coast and are convenient for me.  I have an overdraft loan and a credit card account plus my checking account.  Transferring money and paying bills (even automatic deductions) have always been easy.  I am far from a technology guru, but their website was fairly easy.  I applied for a car loan and got an interest rate of 2%.  The people were wonderful to me.  But then Honda offered me .9% (That's right, less than 1% interest), so regretfully I had to back out of SunTrust.  But their people couldn't have been nicer to me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 23, 2016
beware overdraft fees
everanever Account Holder

This bank will put through your debits before your credits resulting in overdraft fees.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 20, 2017
Pure garbage
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened up an account last night. My direct deposit had not made its way in my account yet. I scheduled an external transfer for a week from now to pay my rent, I edited the amount slightly to accommodate for their fee. This morning I found out they closed my account. My direct deposit is just in the air now and I have to figure that out because "they can't help me". Stay the hell away from these idiots.

more ...
Jul 19, 2017
Now I understand why their rating was low
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor customer service.

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Awesome service.
Anonymous Account Holder

If you check your finances frequently there should be no problem. 

more ...
May 28, 2017
AWFUL
Anonymous Account Holder

I have NEVER in my life given a bad review, however, I think people need to know that this bank is absolutely HORRIBLE! I have a car loan with them, and called in January to change the bank to which my payment was coming from. After two hours of trying to get someone to help me with the automatic payment switch- I THOUGHT it was finally fixed. However, it was not. I tried multiple times to get this situation sorted out, but in the meantime received two late fees because of errors on THEIR PART. I have been a loyal customer (never missed a payment) for four years, and they refuse to refund me the money for the fees even though the lady in research who had to listen to our phone call concluded that there were clear misunderstandings in the conversation. This is all because the lady in the tech department had NO IDEA on how to instruct me on how to change my automatic payment online. They spent five hours total going back and forth with me, and doing their "research" on the phone calls when they could have just refunded me the $32 instead. They spent more money paying their employees to refuse my request, than they would have if they just refunded me the money I did NOT deserve to be charged. That is how much their customers are worth to them. I will never use them again, and I strongly suggest you do not either!

more ...
May 20, 2017
Money Grabbing
Anonymous Account Holder

Scheduled auto-pay system is hidden. You can set it up and not view what you have set up unless you dig through several hidden menus. 

The best part about their autopay system?

It will selectively make your payments late. Whats the point in an autopay system that is late?!

more ...
May 03, 2017
A credit report nightmare.
Anonymous Account Holder

 I had a car loan through SunTrust. They asked me if I wanted online access, I said sure. Next thing I know, someone had accessed my account online, and started opening up new accounts in my name. I noticed this quickly and immediately had SunTrust shut the new accounts down. I told them not  to let anyone open new accounts in my name. They still let someone open up new accounts anyway.  When I pointed this out SunTrust advised that I freeze my car loan and not make any payments to it until we figured it out.  After literally days on the phone with SunTrust, I just decided to pay my car loan in full to be rid of the headache of dealing with them. I thought my nightmare would end there,  but it was only just beginning. SunTrust then attacked my credit for late payments and credit inquiries, after telling me not to pay on the loan, and allowing people to open false accounts in my name. What's more, they specifically told me that would not happen. Six months later I'm still dealing with getting my credit fixed. Polly Brubeck in Suntrust's misnamed Consumer Advocacy Division, has had me chasing my tail since I first talk to her in November. I will never ever ever deal with SunTrust again. I advise anyone against doing business with SunTrust.

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Not perfect, but not bad
Amavise Account Holder

The process of getting this card was a month long fiasco, but it turned out well.  A local branch rep called me to offer me consolidation lines of credit, something I'd been toying with for a few weeks anyways.  It was a well timed call on their part.  Having been denied in the past, twice over 15 years to be precise, I didn't have much hope that I'd be approved this go around.  I was misled by her offer and she wasn't well acquainted with the rules of the card she was offering me.  Turns out, I couldn't do what she said I could use the card to do; defeating the purpose of the entire deal.  Still, I ended up with a $7000 line of Suntrust credit and the branch rep and her manager bent over backwards to work with their superiors to right their wrong.  When I applied my FICO was about 730, I had a card utilization of about 23%, 2 small personal loans, and student loan debt.  This is definitely a card you need good credit to own.  

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
ripoff
Anonymous Account Holder

The only bank i know that you could make 7 payments in 6 mo and still have the same ballance.

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Suntrust
Anonymous Account Holder

Branch manipulates you to open all these accounts to protect other accounts from maintenance fees.  Then....switch their rules and charge you maintenance fees on ALL of them.  Try to fix it.  THEY say I should had been looking at my statements.  But statements weren't available with phone app.  No refund of fees.  And...No success other than to finally cancel all my accounts and go to BOA.  BOA is open Sundays by phone too.  SunTrust is not Open Sundays and have to wait for Monday to figure out why now my accounts didn't close and I'm getting MORE maintenance fees.  Ahhh!!!!   Just close them!  

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Lack of ATMs, bad technology
jhtrico1850 Account Holder

I started with SunTrust due to always hearing about Bank of America's bad fees. They have done the job I guess.

Bank of America is everywhere, and it's so easy to send money to friends due to their big customer base. I like that they're tied in with Merrill Edge too.

SunTrust annoyed me recently, they want $5 for a picture of a mobile deposit 1 month ago. Bank of America provides me with copies of mobile deposits from 1 year ago. It's ridiculous.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations