Santander Bank Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
45 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 13, 2017
Absolutely horrible.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank has the worst customer service.  They will not work with you on your loan, they are rude, and do not care about their customers.  If you can, find another bank to use.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017

This is so not true. Last year I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I informed them that I may not be able to pay on time and they waived my payments for 3 months with no interest. Also, some months, they let me pay half of my car note without your penalty and still report to the credit bureau as goodstanding.

 
Sep 22, 2017

I meant to say without any penalty typo

 
Sep 06, 2017
Don't get a loan through Santander ConsumerUSA
Anonymous Account Holder

Hi advise everyone to not get a car loan through them even if you are desperate. I have learned that the hard way. Bought a car in 2013 for $12600 ny balance right now 4 years later is still $11600 and the car is only worth $500. Worst mistake ever of my life and certainly regret making that decision to sign the contract.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 22, 2017

This is so true that interest rate is terrible.

 
Sep 06, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away from this company I normally don't write a review but they are a big rip off trust me you will be sorry if you do a deal with them

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Other Options take it
Anonymous Account Holder

I tried to refinance and they drug their feet and I lost my rate, they also used the refinance process to lower HELOC line of credit. Terrible experiences every time

They constantly increase their rates almost monthly even if the Fed didn't raise theirs. Absolutely stay away. Just me maybe??? But I left only HELOC and when paid off I am done with this bank

more ...
Aug 25, 2017
Worst Bank. Worst Customer Service.
Anonymous Account Holder

Biggest mistake I've ever made switching to Santander Bank. This bank withholds you OWN money even while you go to a branch make a deposit and show identification. This bank just doesn't hold it for a day, but for 5 days. No further explanation and no advance funds the the interim until your full balance becomes available. This bank should be called "Satan" rather then Santander Bank. 

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Your money could disappear.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is awful. They put holds on your money after it becomes available and do not tell you. Then say it's your problem and you will now be responsible for overdraw fees. When asked why this happened they say "I cannot access that information." They are a scam to get your money and they have horrible customer service.

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
These people are crooks and uncooperative
Anonymous Account Holder

I had a loan for my vehicle held through Santander. They were not willing to work with me on a late payment, so they repossesed the vehicle. On top of that, a few years later I got financially settled and requested to settle my debt with Santander, we agreed to a cost and I made a good faith payment and made 1 of 12 payments we agreed to over the phone. After the first payment, I received a letter in the mail about my account being sold to another debt collector, I called to see about the situation, and they do not see any record of my payments, yet it was taken out of my bank and not refunded either. Called again to see a refund of my money and they can take my loan and shove it, could not even cooperate with that. Do not use this "bank/financial institution"

more ...
Aug 15, 2017
VERY unmilitary friendly
Courtney192665 Account Holder

This bank is very unmilitary friendly. They are making me jump through hoops just to get the vehicle boarded to take overseas. The WORST bank I have EVER dealt with 

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Truck loan
policeofficer222 Account Holder

Had financed a truck through this bank, its the worst company ever. They said my truck payments were 50-90 days past due I have recites showing it was paid on time. I paid the truck off it still shows that I was late I explained to them and showed proof I was never late and they refused to fix my credit that they messed up. Please don't ever use this bank for anything they will screw you from the day you sign your name on the dotted line 

more ...
Jul 11, 2017
Incompetent
Anonymous Account Holder

They have system that makes online banking confusing and their customer service phone line have no real authority to help any problem.  The worst bank I've ever dealt, I'll keep my Chase and Amex I don't care about Santander's promos it's the worst trap and I hope this Fails completely

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations