Santander Bank

1.3 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 04, 2017
Deceptive and not customer-friendly !
Anonymous Account Holder

If you close an account to get a better interest rate and move the funds that were already deposited there and put them in  new instrument like a CD or Money Market account, they have the nerve to keep your interest if the account is closed before the interest cycle is reached. They are stealing your money and any interest you earned should be calculated to the day that it was on deposit and given to the customer. How do they get away with this ? These are pre-existing funds, on deposit with the bank at the Federal Reserve and the bank is getting a better interest rate than the one they offer the consumer ! That is their policy and they do not tell you this when you move money either. Every other bak i know does a "value-adjustment" and gives the customer their rightfully earned interest up to the day the funds are moved or account closed. This is very deceptive and tantamount to stealing your money....be asware and ask questions with Santander. I have closed all my accounts with them after they pulled this trick with me last year ! 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
scam very bad experience
Anonymous Account Holder

i did apply for santander to make some transfers to pay off a credit and i was approved with $7,500

with this bank is different you need to call them so they will set up and account for you which i did, everything went smooth until one week later when i was trying to make a money transfer and it giving me an error message with a phone # to call

i did call customer service many time to a different phones # that i was given by customer service UNFORTUNATELY nobody can do anything the card was locked and the only way to fix the issue is to " walk in into branch " i am from FL and they suggested to drive to NY, really !!!

this bank is a joke but the worst thing my credit went down from 740 to 699 !!!!!

im so upset it took me years to build up this score and it took one wrong action to lose it, santander bank is a scam, avoid it will be better for you

more ...
Feb 21, 2017
Awful Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

The worst bank.

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
the worst type of bank
Anonymous Account Holder

i tried to close my account when they instated yearly 28 euro fees. a year later, and after having received NO bank statements during that time, I am now being charged the 28 euros, account still totally open, unbeknownst to me, and having thrown away the proof.

Liars and thieves.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
I can't even give Santander a 1 star
Anonymous Account Holder

I have an auto loan through Santander and each month to make the payment is a struggle. It's either send it a check and hope it gets there on time, to make sure it has to be sent 15 days before it's due & if I try to pay over the phone or internet... the payment fee is $10.95 ... with paying over $400/month that is absolutely ridiculous. Their customer service is horrible every time I call, one agent says one thing and another something else. I can't wait for my refinance to go through and will NEVER EVER go back to Santander for anything ever. The interest rate on the auto loan alone was perposterous. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
new credit card in suspended status
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for an was approved for the Santander Sphere card that offered 0% apr for 24 months on balance transfers.  Submitted the balance transfer online.  Checked back a week later and no indication of it.  Called customer service to inquire and was informed that my card was suspended due to a fraud alert.  Called the fraud department and was given some lame excuse about a problem in the applicaiton department.  I don't know what's going on here but it sounds like a scheme to delay me from transferring a balance in the first 90 days.  Don't bother with this bank.  

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Absolutely despicable.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank should be closed under the better business bureau.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Liars
Anonymous Account Holder

They lie to you when your behind in payments and trust me you will regret using this bank, I just wish I had read reviews on this company before hand. You will get a different answer every time you call them.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Irresponsible banker who put wrong info when opeing a new account for me, which cost me unnecessary taxes, and then refused to admit. The name is Michelle Carmen Brown in edison, NJ Santander branch.

Worst bank experience I've ever had.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Irresponsible banker who put wrong info when opeing a new account for me, which cost me unnecessary taxes, and then refused to admit. The name is XXXXX Worst bank experience I've ever had.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations