Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Santander Bank

1.3 out of 5 stars
38 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 21, 2017
Awful Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

The worst bank.

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
the worst type of bank
Anonymous Account Holder

i tried to close my account when they instated yearly 28 euro fees. a year later, and after having received NO bank statements during that time, I am now being charged the 28 euros, account still totally open, unbeknownst to me, and having thrown away the proof.

Liars and thieves.

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
I can't even give Santander a 1 star
Anonymous Account Holder

I have an auto loan through Santander and each month to make the payment is a struggle. It's either send it a check and hope it gets there on time, to make sure it has to be sent 15 days before it's due & if I try to pay over the phone or internet... the payment fee is $10.95 ... with paying over $400/month that is absolutely ridiculous. Their customer service is horrible every time I call, one agent says one thing and another something else. I can't wait for my refinance to go through and will NEVER EVER go back to Santander for anything ever. The interest rate on the auto loan alone was perposterous. 

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
new credit card in suspended status
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied for an was approved for the Santander Sphere card that offered 0% apr for 24 months on balance transfers.  Submitted the balance transfer online.  Checked back a week later and no indication of it.  Called customer service to inquire and was informed that my card was suspended due to a fraud alert.  Called the fraud department and was given some lame excuse about a problem in the applicaiton department.  I don't know what's going on here but it sounds like a scheme to delay me from transferring a balance in the first 90 days.  Don't bother with this bank.  

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Absolutely despicable.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank should be closed under the better business bureau.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Liars
Anonymous Account Holder

They lie to you when your behind in payments and trust me you will regret using this bank, I just wish I had read reviews on this company before hand. You will get a different answer every time you call them.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Irresponsible banker who put wrong info when opeing a new account for me, which cost me unnecessary taxes, and then refused to admit. The name is Michelle Carmen Brown in edison, NJ Santander branch.

Worst bank experience I've ever had.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Irresponsible banker who put wrong info when opeing a new account for me, which cost me unnecessary taxes, and then refused to admit. The name is XXXXX Worst bank experience I've ever had.

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
Continued mistakes causing frustrations
Anonymous Account Holder

Living overseas.  Santander made errors updating our address which we attempted to do while back in the U.K. on a visit.  Spent something like 4 hours of my life trying to resolve this.  Each time they would resolve part of the problem but not fix it completely.  Will be closing account when we return.  They are truly awful to deal with and have lost a long term customer now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2016

Enter Your Reply

 
Nov 16, 2016
WORST LENDER EVER
timothyhutz Account Holder

You can't pay them directly except to mail a check and then they hold it EVERYTIME for 5-7 days plus processing. They ILLEGALLY Both on the Criminal and Tort default side change your intrest rate to over 20% after you signed a contract for 18%, ILLEGALLY charge Bogus fees when your doing ANYTHING to the loan or getting paperwork. WORST LENDER EVER, will never use them again! Ohh and if you pay via checking account HAVE to use Western Union for ANYTHING electronic and they charge a 10.95 fee every time!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations