Santander Bank Reviews

Santander Bank Reviews
1.9 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 08, 2020
Get me my refund. Terrible place!!!!!!!
Princess1476 Account Holder

I paid off my vehicle in March 2020 and they were suppose to issue me a $547 refund, it is september and i haven't received my money yet. I keep calling and they keep giving me the runaround. No one cam tell me

what is going on with my money, neither can they make that check out to me. This issue has been escalated to the executive offive and every two weeks i get a call from an associate who almost always has no idea about what is going on. Everytime they call they tell me they are waiting for a response from the accounting department and that is so annoying. If tables where turned i will be paying interest monthly for owing this lender. I am sick and tired of calling them and not getting any answers. First they give you ridiculously high interest and then this. Worse lender ever. I will not reccomend!!

more ...
Sep 04, 2020
Noah84 Account Holder

This is the worst bank ever those guys they think they are professional con artist And they can just Steal from you and Fraud you & that's what happened with me  they took advantage of the covid pandemic by adding thousands and thousands of dollars on auto loans and whatever loan by telling you we will hold your payments  since businesses are closing people don't have money to pay their payments. Now I have extra 2 Thousand plus  dollars on my loan  DO NOT deal with that bank I repeat. Do not deal with that bank  and I'm not willing to stop here i'm a get the media involved. And actually I'm gonna file a lawsuit against that bank

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 08, 2020

They won’t wipe your loans. They put the payment and accrued interest on the tail end. You have no case or media worthy experiences. It’s banking.

 
Sep 04, 2020
Noah84 Account Holder

This is the worst bank ever those guys they think they are professional con artist And they can just Steal from you and Fraud you & that's what happened with me  they took advantage of the covid pandemic by adding thousands and thousands of dollars on auto loans and whatever loan by telling you we will hold your payments  since businesses are closing people don't have money to pay their payments. Now I have extra 2 Thousand plus  dollars on my loan  DO NOT deal with that bank I repeat. Do not deal with that bank  and I'm not willing to stop here i'm a get the media involved. And actually I'm gonna file a lawsuit against that bank

more ...
Jun 17, 2020
Predatory loan company
shmlt Account Holder

The most dishonest company Ive seen.  I was approved through my bank, but at the dealership was talked into financing with Santander by the finance person at the dealer who told me a lower interest rate than my bank.  I stupidly didnt look at the paperwork until I got ready to make the first payment and see that its actually an insane credit rate. Santander constantly robo calls with a dead line when answering.  I have made 2 payments that have cleared my bank, but are not showing on my account.   I am on day 2 of trying to contact someone.

more ...
Apr 22, 2020
Fair
oceanbreezesue Account Holder

I bought a car at ford dealership. Santander is the bank that accepted me. I paid all my payments on time or early and then I refinanced my car. No problems at all. Santander reported it on my credit report as paid on time/paid in full. When I read about santander after I got the loan it scared me to death. But I suppose if you make your payments on time you wont have any issues. At least i did not.

more ...
Apr 21, 2020
LYING .CORRUPT, PUPPETS!
Mowgli457 Account Holder

OMG THIS IS BY FAR IN ALL MY YEARS OF BANKING THE WORST BANK I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH !  I AM PLEADING W YOU BEFORE YOU MAKE A TERRIBLE MISTAKE STAY AWAY FROM THIS SPANISH OWNED BANK WHOS QUALIFICATION FOR EMPLOYEES ARE BUFFOONS AND BELOW !  7 WEEKS NOW I HAVE TRIED CONTACTING SANTANDER , THE NEW MORTGAGE CO THEY JUST HIRED WHICH IS LAUGHABLE , THE NEW MORTG CO CHANGED THE RULES ON MY MORTGAGE !!!!  A NEW CO. SANTANDER DIDNT CARE OH SORRY THEY DO THE MORTGAGE SIDE OF  SANTANDER NOW ! THEY DIDNT CARE ONE BIT THAT A 63 YR OLD SINGLE WIDOWED WOMAN COULD LOSE THEIR HOUSE OVER THIS "LITTLE" CHANGE !!!! NO ONE CALLS YOU BACK , THEY SEND THREATENING LETTERS EVEN AFTER YOU HAVE CALLED REPEATEDLY TRYING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE . GO READ THE REVIEWS , 86 % BAD ON THIS SITE , 91 -YES 91 % ON ANOTHER SITE OF 1 STAR RATINGS !!!  THE GOVERNMENT NEEDS TO STEP IN AND HELP THE CONSUMER HERE BECAUSE OUR HANDS ARE TIED !  I HAVE CONTACTED BOTH THE BBB AND THE ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE FOR HELP BUT WITH COVID GOING ON I FEAR IT WONT COME SOON !!  PLEASE I AM NOT DOING THIS OUT OF SPITE JUST AS A WARNING DO YOUR RESEARCH !   SPAIN DOESN'T GIVE A RATS *** ABOUT AN AMERICAN FAMILY WITH THE BIGGEST INVESTMENT OF A LIFETIME -OUR HOME !!  WHAT I HAVE GONE THRU BORDERS ON INSANE ! A MORTGAGE SPECIALIST FROM ONE OF THE BRANCH OFFICES MET ME AT A LOCAL SANTANDER HE SAT FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF AND COULDN'T FIGURE IT OUT !!!!!!  THEY SENT ME AWAY PROBLEM UNRESOLVED !! WHAT BANK DOES THIS ??  I ASKED THEM TO ESCALATE THIS TO A SUPERVISOR , NEVER HEARD ONE SINGLE WORD !!! THIS BANK IS CORRUPT , STAY AWAY SO NO ONE HAS TO GO THRU WHAT I HAVE . I REALLY THINK WHEN I SIT DOWN TO START THE CALLING EACH WEEK ON MY ONE DAY OFF THAT I AM GOING TO HAVE A HEART ATTACK WITH THE ANXIETY I HAVE EACH TIME !  EACH WEEK I GIVE MYSELF 90 MIN TO RESOLVE THIS SAME ISSUE - EACH WEEK AT THE END OF 90 MIN NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED , SOMETIMES IN 90 MIN I HAVENT EVEN TALKED TO A LIVE PERSON ! 

more ...
Apr 02, 2020
Absolutely awful. Rip offs
Serene1234 Account Holder

Do not go anywhere near this place. They don't care about you you're just a $$ to them.

more ...
Mar 06, 2020
Absolutely Disgusted
WiscoGuy Account Holder

Santander Consumer recently purchased my auto loan from Gateway One Lending and Finance, and erroneously reported my account closed to the credit bureau, causing my credit score to drip 59 points instantly. After a call to their customer service line, I was told that I must provide them with a formal mailed complaint before they can do anything to corect it. Absolutely rediculous and they need to be investigated! How does this even happen?! I recomend never getting involved with this shady organization.

more ...
Mar 09, 2020

The same happened to my credit. They closed the account no new account added yet. I called and they told me to call back.

 
Aug 04, 2020

They bought my car loan from Gateway One, too. They added $1000 to my balance & couldn’t tell me why. I only had TWO payments left on a 6 year loan. Their website said my payoff quote was good til 07/20/2020 but when I called to pay it off on July 6th I was told they already charged it off!
My credit score dropped over 90 points instantly.
I’m furious & ive been denied a house I was trying to rent that was $1000 less than I’ve even paid in rent for 15 years. Unbelievable & disgusting. Who can we call to deal with them?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations