Santander Bank Reviews

1.3 out of 5 stars
40 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 14, 2017
Good customer service
Niki0429 Account Holder

There are no local branches for me (Midwest) but opening an account online was quick and easy. Ultimately I closed it because I was trying to simplify my finances.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
Worst bank ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Had an Auto loan for two years, paid it off, and was told i have to wait 45 days for an overage check!!

more ...
May 16, 2017
They are crooks!
cebollita3 Account Holder

I have a loan with Santander and they are absolute crooks. You can never pay on your principal. Not to mention their "inconvenience" fee of $10.95 just to make your payment! I have paid on this loan for approximatley 2 years and can't even touch the principal. They find ways to charge you more and more. I sent a payment in the mail and they signed for it on the 5th. They didn't process the payment until the 10th and then charged me more interest because it sat in their mail room and did not get processed until 5 days later causing my payment to be late. When you try to call customer service they treat you like they are better than you and just talk down to you. I will never do business with this company ever again and I reccomend staying as far away as possible. You will pay thousands in fees and interest and not touch your loan. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
utter disapointment of a company
Wes2017 Account Holder

I had a car loan with these guys and from the time the dealer sent the payoff and when they got around to processing the payment it got $12 in interest. They would not wave this and told me they would continue to add daily interest until we paid the $12. What an utter disappointment companies like this exist and it should be shut down! Lastly the "customer service" does not exist, they are rude and act as if it is your fault you don't know their internal policy’s. Stay far away from these guys.

more ...
May 15, 2017
WORST BANK EVER. STAY AWAY
Anonymous Account Holder

They are liars. They wouldnt give you back your gap refund.. PLEASE STAY AWAY

more ...
Apr 24, 2017
Worst Experience ever with car loan
schapman1974 Account Holder

Don't do it.  It feels like you will never pay them off.  Made payments for a year with NO principal removed.  Eneded up voluntarily returning the car bad mark on credit was my punishment for using this bank.

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Run far and fast
Anonymous Account Holder

If this is the only bank that will give you a loan, walk or be homeless you will be better off. They won't process your payments or payoffs then will say you are late, add fees, and still cash your check..... if you still get a loan from them after reading this you are a fool.

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Sucks
Anonymous Account Holder

they have been legally stealing my money.  I put 3,500 on my car loan the balance went no where.  Come to find out they put 3,300 on the interest. Wtf. I will never pay this car off. 

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Sucks
Anonymous Account Holder

they have been legally stealing my money.  I put 3,500 on my car loan the balance went no where.  Come to find out they put 3,300 on the interest. Wtf. I will never pay this car off. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Deceptive and not customer-friendly !
Anonymous Account Holder

If you close an account to get a better interest rate and move the funds that were already deposited there and put them in  new instrument like a CD or Money Market account, they have the nerve to keep your interest if the account is closed before the interest cycle is reached. They are stealing your money and any interest you earned should be calculated to the day that it was on deposit and given to the customer. How do they get away with this ? These are pre-existing funds, on deposit with the bank at the Federal Reserve and the bank is getting a better interest rate than the one they offer the consumer ! That is their policy and they do not tell you this when you move money either. Every other bak i know does a "value-adjustment" and gives the customer their rightfully earned interest up to the day the funds are moved or account closed. This is very deceptive and tantamount to stealing your money....be asware and ask questions with Santander. I have closed all my accounts with them after they pulled this trick with me last year ! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations