Santander Bank Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 17, 2017
This bank picks money over morals
HumbleMan2017 Account Holder

This company refused to accept a post dated check for my car payment and then repoed my vehicle 2 weeks later. I experienced a hardship in life and as soon as things got better my vehicle was not only repoed but a few of my posessions were stolen and I was not notified of how to revocover the vehicle for 26 days after it was repoed. I payed $420 a month for 3 years on this vehicle and then it was repoed because I was 3 months behind on payment. From a moral point of view I paid this company more money than someone with good credit so "my inability to pay" is not a good excuse for the reposession. Within 2 weeks of my car being repossed I purchased a new used car from another dealership. It's difficult to justify a reposession when I pay almost double of what someone with good credit pays and if I didn't have the ability to make payments on the vehcile I wouldn't be riding in a new used car today. This company simply adheres to the systematic immoral business practice that is terrorizing our nation and setting people back everday. 

more ...
Oct 31, 2017
Terrible From Day One
Anonymous Account Holder

I signed up for a checking account because if you deposited a certain amount, you would get $250 after 3 months of having the account open. I knew from day one this bank was going to give me problems. As soon as the banker set up my account, she had me download the app so I could log in from my phone. Well, 45 minutes later, we had tried multiple times to access the account she had just created and she had to call IT support twice. Finally, it worked. I had been able to log in online, but when I activated the debit card it had a different pin than the one I used to access the account on my app, so when I tried entering the pin for the debit card, after 3 times it blocked my debit account and I can no longer access my online account. They sent me a new pin in the mail, but what do you know, I still can't use it and it requires me to go to the bank to change it. I don't use this account for much, I really only planned to get the free money and close the account, but it ended up being convenient to pay my rent once a month. I'm not looking forward to sitting there for another hour to close the account. I hate going in there for anything, because the tellers are useless. They told me I couldn't link any of my other bank accounts and said I had to walk outside to the drive through ATM and get cash out to deposit into my Santander account. Are you kidding me? This place is a waste of time.

more ...
Oct 03, 2017
False Business practices
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank charges very high interests on Auto loan . They say that they would help you during hurricane Irma and then they deny your request . Then they make you pay . I ended up paying cheque return charges because of all this confusion. They have worst customer service reps and they never know anything about your account. They check with somebody esle and still give wrong info to you. Stay away from thsi fraud bank and worst experience i have ever had with them 

more ...
Sep 28, 2017
Solid global bank -better service needed
Anonymous Account Holder

We have multiple products (checking, savings,  line of credit, Bravo card, safe deposit box) and have been very satisfied.  The mobil app is easy to use and very competative with other banks.   Customer service needs some improvements.  Santander has come a long way and I think has a brigh future!

more ...
Sep 23, 2017
DON'T USE SANTANDER TRAVELING ABROAD
Anonymous Account Holder

The US Santander is not affilaited with Santander in Spain.  They charge $6 + 3% per transaction.  What a load of $%^&

International students, you will regret opening an Santander account in USA  thinking you won't be charged fees since they are the same......WRONG, THEY ARE NOT.

more ...
Sep 13, 2017
Absolutely horrible.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank has the worst customer service.  They will not work with you on your loan, they are rude, and do not care about their customers.  If you can, find another bank to use.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017

This is so not true. Last year I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I informed them that I may not be able to pay on time and they waived my payments for 3 months with no interest. Also, some months, they let me pay half of my car note without your penalty and still report to the credit bureau as goodstanding.

 
Sep 22, 2017

I meant to say without any penalty typo

 
Sep 06, 2017
Don't get a loan through Santander ConsumerUSA
Anonymous Account Holder

Hi advise everyone to not get a car loan through them even if you are desperate. I have learned that the hard way. Bought a car in 2013 for $12600 ny balance right now 4 years later is still $11600 and the car is only worth $500. Worst mistake ever of my life and certainly regret making that decision to sign the contract.

more ...
Sep 22, 2017

This is so true that interest rate is terrible.

 
Oct 30, 2017

Yes very true. I am in the same situation, the car is falling apart and not worth anything and I still owe $15,000. Worst decision ever. I am not trying to get out of this loan pay it off quickly before it does more damage to my credit.

 
Sep 06, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away from this company I normally don't write a review but they are a big rip off trust me you will be sorry if you do a deal with them

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Other Options take it
Anonymous Account Holder

I tried to refinance and they drug their feet and I lost my rate, they also used the refinance process to lower HELOC line of credit. Terrible experiences every time

They constantly increase their rates almost monthly even if the Fed didn't raise theirs. Absolutely stay away. Just me maybe??? But I left only HELOC and when paid off I am done with this bank

more ...
Aug 25, 2017
Worst Bank. Worst Customer Service.
Anonymous Account Holder

Biggest mistake I've ever made switching to Santander Bank. This bank withholds you OWN money even while you go to a branch make a deposit and show identification. This bank just doesn't hold it for a day, but for 5 days. No further explanation and no advance funds the the interim until your full balance becomes available. This bank should be called "Satan" rather then Santander Bank. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations