Regions Bank Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 31, 2013
Very Happy with Regions
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had Regions for about 5 years and I've always been extremely happy with them. Prior to Regions I banked with BOA, BB&T and Wachovia (now Wells Fargo). I can say that these banks did not come close to the customer service and willingness to help that Regions gives its customers. My parents and sister actually changed over to Regions about 3 years ago and have been equally impressed. The first time a rep called to see if I was satisfied with my account and the overall service I actually thought something was wrong with my account at the beginning of the call. Little gestures do make the difference.

I went on a quick vacation in 2010 to Orlando and the hotel charged my debit card twice for the 3 day stay (over $800 total). I called Regions customer service and explained the problem as I still had a day left at the hotel and immediately the 2nd $400 was released back into my account and the rep had no hesitation in doing it. I was very impressed and still talk about that experience. The staff is always very friendly unlike my experience at the prior mentioned banks which is why I left those banks.

If you are in doubt about Regions, just open a small savings account with them and try them out for a period of time. As I stated before, I haven't had any issues with the bank or my account and its the small gestures of personal appreciation that make a difference to me. :)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 13, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst Bank I've ever had to deal with. Be very cautious banking with them.  They have also shared my account information with my ex-husband and father without my permission, and no they are not on my accounts.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 10, 2017
Checking and Savings
Anonymous Account Holder

Currently banking with Regions and have been for 10+ years.  I once has a line of credit that I closed.  I have had 0 problems with Regions.

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
THIS IS ONE THE BEST BANKS THERE IS
JLimkemann Account Holder

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BANK TO ANYONE AROUND ONE THE SERVICE WAS IMPECCABLE AND WILL REMAIN A LOYAL CUSTOMER FOR HOW THEY HELPED ME!!!!

more ...
Apr 13, 2017
horrible online support, no info online
Anonymous Account Holder

I got a car loan through the bank at the dealer.  There is no online account support for car loans.  You can get history, pay online, etc. Can't believe this bank has a lending presence. 

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
They keep screwing up
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor application experience 

they wanted 

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Sorry and greedy!
Anonymous Account Holder

My daughter works for this company and all they care about is selling their products and for the workers .. it's all about making their quota regardless of what the customers really want from their bankers. They are making it where the workers can't climb the ladder or go to another branch unless they are up to par on a  ridiculous high quota numbers of referrals or selling their crap.  They are not concerned about what the customers actually want and need !  

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Horrible business practices
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened a credit card to start a small business.  I thought I had paid off by balance as I paid the FULL statement amount PRIOR  to the next billing cycle only to receive a statement that still showed a small balance.  Upon calling to inquire about the small balance, I was told it was a residual interest balance from prior months as supposedly, the interest isn't reflected on the statement until "after 2 business cycles."  How much sense does that make ... typically the statement balance reflects ALL accrued interest calculated to date.  Needless to say  I was fuming ... it's less about the small dollar amount and more about the principal of the practice.  NEVER AGAIN !!!  

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
non-existent customer service.
adam37745 Account Holder

Their customer service is horrible. If you get fed up waiting on the phone to talk to someone, don't go to an actual location. Even less help and all they do is try and sell you everything they offer. 

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Worst customer service. Ever.
Anonymous Account Holder

If you contemplate opening an account here, don't. They're so unhelpful. 

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
BestBank Ever
bugwrs Account Holder

i'm a customer with 20 yeas experienceat this bank.

I will neverchange.

5 stars on everythnd

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
I don't know what all the fuss is about
michikade Account Holder

I've been with Regions for nearly 2 years and haven't had issues with them "nickel and dime"ing me of my money or charging any weird fees.  My balance is always what I think it's going to be so there aren't any weird charges going on and everything seems to be going quite well.  I keep a very close eye on my money so maybe that's why I don't ever get hit with anything unexpected.

The only real complaint I've got is that they won't allow online statements for revolving loans (I can't speak to installment loans because I don't have one with them, but I do have a PLOC) and they won't let you change your mailing address online for loan products.  That seems really 80s to not allow everything to be online, and when I inquired about it I was told it was to make sure that no one can say they didn't receive their bill because they don't have online banking (not exactly a satisfactory answer considering I've walked into a branch a total of 3 times since I opened my accounts (and it was just to sign stuff after I opened the accounts online), but whatever).  If getting a piece of paper in the mail every now and then when a statement happens to cut on my PLOC is my biggest complaint with a financial institution, things must be going pretty well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 16, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations