Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Regions Bank

1.7 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 21, 2016
I don't know what all the fuss is about
michikade Account Holder

I've been with Regions for nearly 2 years and haven't had issues with them "nickel and dime"ing me of my money or charging any weird fees.  My balance is always what I think it's going to be so there aren't any weird charges going on and everything seems to be going quite well.  I keep a very close eye on my money so maybe that's why I don't ever get hit with anything unexpected.

The only real complaint I've got is that they won't allow online statements for revolving loans (I can't speak to installment loans because I don't have one with them, but I do have a PLOC) and they won't let you change your mailing address online for loan products.  That seems really 80s to not allow everything to be online, and when I inquired about it I was told it was to make sure that no one can say they didn't receive their bill because they don't have online banking (not exactly a satisfactory answer considering I've walked into a branch a total of 3 times since I opened my accounts (and it was just to sign stuff after I opened the accounts online), but whatever).  If getting a piece of paper in the mail every now and then when a statement happens to cut on my PLOC is my biggest complaint with a financial institution, things must be going pretty well.

more ...
Oct 06, 2016
Worst bank
Anonymous Account Holder

I agree this is the worst bank in the world

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Credit Cards have no auto pay option
billocala Account Holder

BEware - Regions credit cards (in particular thier Cisa Signature card - has no auto payment option.  Only card I have that is like this.  This bank is not above settign traps for their customers evidenatally.   I have not fallen victim, but I found it disconcerting enough to chat with online customer support, and they confirmed that there is no auto payment option on purpose!

I have done signature loans and other products with them and these are normal/okay.  I do not recommend them for credit cards though.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Too Many Awful Roadblocks
DrNobili Account Holder

Opened checking account online, two days later they required me to appear in person to sign the signature card and show my ID and passport.  They specifically asked me to show proof of citizenship despite being in this country since the 1950s and being a lawful resident.  Very bad start.

On my credit card, three weeks later, they are now again requiring me to appear in person at the branch to show my ID again while the banker calls to their credit card department.  I'm not doing this again.

more ...
Aug 05, 2016
J1745 Account Holder

Had a account with them for 8 years and customer service is the worst I've ever seen at the Mt Olive branch in MS went there twice wasted 2 hours for a simple account change and still can't get anyone to help, I changed banks don't waste your time with this bank!

more ...
Jun 23, 2016
Crooks
Dorianne98 Account Holder

Regions stole my money to apply it to my ex-husbands account- $735.07 the first time and less than a month later and before I could close the account and move my auto-pay bills, they stole $409.68 just before my last bill was to be paid.... After they knew the account was MY ACCOUNT ONLY based on the complaints if filed and customer service interactions as well as interactions with collections. They knew exactly what they were doing and stole over $1100 from me in less than a month. 

more ...
Mar 09, 2016
Greedy
Anonymous Account Holder

Signed up for the region visa card and was told no APR unless you use the cash advance. Lie i've been charged since day one of using the card, I have a checking as well an it seems every 3-4 months i get 2-3 NSF charges. They have no way of keeping track of your funds for real. An neither do you even if you write it down you still come up short.

more ...
Jan 30, 2016
Awgfl Account Holder

Do NOT use this bank, complete rip off. They re organize your debits so the largest comes out first so they can slap you with multiple overdraft fees. Biggest mistake I've ever made, had enough funds to cover 4/5 transactions, one sent me $4.95 overdrawn, they took the one that sent me $4.95 OD first (which was for several hundred $) and charged me 4 overdraft fees for the others. Ruined me week. 

DO NOT USE THIS BANK!

CRIMINALS!!

more ...
Jan 25, 2016
Installment loan disaster.
cjdavis618 Account Holder

I got a really nice vehicle through them and got a decent interest rate at purchase. The transaction for that part has not been a problem. 

Once you are a customer, you had better start banking with them for everything or expect to have hell trying to even pay on your loan.

1. You cannot use the website to pay a loan unless you have a Regions checking account.

2. You cannot transfer money from another bank to a regions checking account from the web site so you can pay your loan. (So in other words, conveniance of the 1970s. I know, I was there. 

3. In order to pay your loan, you had better take cash into a branch to pay on it in person. If you take a check from another outside bank account they will hold it for several days and collect interest on the transaction. 

4. If you have a checking account and they pull the $10 fee and it dips into Over draft, then you try and pay the loan by putting far more in the account than is in OD ( and from cash at a branch) you will have a colling off period of 3 days before the funds become available. (Which then will show a late payment and incur a fee and even a 30day late because they are horrible. 

5. Because of my distance from a branch, and reluctance to call in to make a phone payment that I get charged extra for, I got to a branch on day 25 after being past the due date. (I know, but life happens)  Made a cash payment that I have proof of on the web portal as being paid on day 25, and then on the credit report for that month they show I was 30 days.  Simply put, they cannot count.

Find another bank and do not use them. IF you have them, refinance somewhere else. Life is so much easier with Chase, Capital One, etc. Etc. At least you can pay from your own bank there instead of having to use them. I feel like I am bent over each time I visit because they are rude and the system and policies are horrible. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations