PNC Bank Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 04, 2017
I love PNC!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with PNC for a couple of years now, and I LOVE them. Very happy. I have their digital wallet accounts, set up as 3 separate accounts. One is for long-term savings, one is for spending, and one is a reserve account for purchases coming it. It has made organizing my budget SO EASY. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 06, 2017
Live to make you pay fees
mamaofthree Account Holder

This bank loves to charge you overdraft fees even though there are funds in your account. I question how you can have a deposit and fees charged on the same day?!?! Going elsewhere with my money.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 20, 2017
Customer service argues with clients
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't bank here

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
Awful customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

My loan was purchased a year ago and PNC is the worst company I have ever worked with. Customer service does not incldue mortgage loans on the weekend. Unable to access my account. DO NOT USE PNC FOR MORTGAGE SERVICES.

more ...
Aug 29, 2017
The bank that robs the little people!
Anonymous Account Holder

I just left my PNC branch and i have never been so furious in my life. I have had numerous issues with their practices as far as negative balances. Not one has actually been my fault when I actually get them to listen to me. Over and over people have told me to get out of there and i didn't listen. Now I guess it is my fault because i believed from the past that they would make things right. I can only wonder how badly they rip off other seniors and disabled people that are on fixed incomes. I have an automatic deposit that goes in every month. As soon as it goes in my car insurance comes out. i used to leave the balance there but the last few months i had medical bills, so i had to move the balance to my other account. I just round the figure out to an even dollar. this past month however, their service charge of $7.00 caused that check to bounce by $6.03. I'm sure they sent me a notice at some point but because its not an account that I deal with on a regular basis, their mail got put in the pile of unimportant. Banks are always sending you stuff that's a waste of time even opening the stuff. At the end of the month I take a day to go through everything and low and behold i come across their notice that says not only did that $7.00 they charge for doing nothing cause my account to bounce by $6.03 they are charging me a total of $147.00 in fees. FOR WHAT??? They didn't do anything on those days!! I tried talking to an associate and they even tried the branch manager but they said they cant remove the fees because the system wont allow it and because they have removed fees in the past? (Yes you removed them because it wasn't my fault) In my opinion neither is this one. For probably 10 years I had my monthly check going into this account but due to the way my bills are set up to be paid now, I had to open another checking account at another bank. I had no notice that PNC was changing my account at that point because the check that I still had going in wasn't enough so they started charging me because they were getting less. Thats a great business practice! People have less money so they take even more away!! This is just unbelievable!! I'm not soe corporate company or business. I'm just one of the little people on a fixed income in a fairly small town where everyone knows everyone. Please explain to me what was even done with my account over those days that you feel that I owe you $147.00. That's half of my food for the month! So now I will go hungry eating ramen noodles which are no longer cheap so that you can rip me off for a measly $6.03 mistake that was caused by the $7.00 that you charge for nothing. If you read this, listen to others GET OUT!!!  I didn't and this is what I get. I'll bet nobody at PNC will go hungry this month!!!

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
beware the atm
Anonymous Account Holder

At my local PNC branch I utilized  the "balance inquiry" feature on the atm. It told me my balance was one thing so I deposited the correct funds for an upcoming transaction only to find out later when the overdraft letter came it was another. I called, complained and got no where. I don't understand how their ONLINE atm can have the incorrect balance and then still stand by their overdraft fee. I kept the receipt of my balance inquiry that states what it said at the time was my balance. I'm guessing class action down the road. In short be leery of what their atms say apparently they're far behind. Ok update...just got off the phone with an awful customer service rep. I forgot to mention I called also earlier in the day and checked my balance. everything was fine around 7pm eastern time. I deposited the money at 1am eastern. The rep told me the check went through @ 11pm east so when I called at 7pm I was correct in what I thought my balance was. I asked the rep why was there no "pending transaction alert" they said there isn't one for checks. ok, that explains the phone automated service, why did the atm tell me everything was in order and post EXACTLY what my balance should've been @1am then? they said their atms must not have updated yet. So in the 2 hrs it took from check posting (under all radars) to me depositing the sufficient funds their atm couldn't see it but their overdraft fee mechanism sure caught it quick. I called my huntington bank and they said they give me 24hrs forgiveness for any transaction overdrafting my account for free. just an fyi. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 19, 2017

Why is it the banks job to balance your checkbook?

 
Aug 04, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't do business with them

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations