Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

PNC Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 11, 2014
Combined credit balances
Flasunlover Account Holder

I combined my high interest mortage and one of my credit cards into a single low interest loan acount a month ago. My former mortage company was horrible and their customer service was non-existant. So far so good. It was painless and the bank agent that closed the mortage loan was extremely helpful and courteous. It was closed on in 2 days. They substantially lowered my total interest rate and payments which saved me quite a bit of money. I also opened a no fee checking account that got accidently overdrawn the first month(!), but, thanks to their on-line banking, I caught the error early enough to make a depost and wasn't charged any overdraft fee.

I discovered an error in my name on my checking account check card when I recieved it and I visited the local branch to correct it. One of the branch managers took care if it immediately by phone to their customer service and he politely took full responsibility for the error. I recieved a corrected card in the mail in 3 days.

I have had no problem with their on-line banking and their branch agents, bank tellers and managers are all knowlegeable, friendly and courteous, at least at my local branch.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2015
Anonymous Account Holder

I had been looking for a new credit card to open.  I had been very happy with my Chase card, which I had for about five years.  I recently started paying interest  on my balance,  I was looking to find a card that would offer 0% interest and also allow me to transfer my balance, which i was always getting offers in the mail.  After looking for a few weeks at various cards, I came across PNC which had reps set up in the grocery store.  They had a big sign which stated 18 months- 0% interest, balance transfer, etc.  The offer sounded to good to be true.  I told the PNC employee EXACTLY what I was looking to find in a new credit card.  He passed me the application right there and he even called me the next day to provide me with an update on when I would be receiving the card and offered to help me with the balance transfer, which ended up costing me $150.  The $150 didn't bother me too much because I knew that was the only interest I would be paying for 18 months.  Boy was I wrong....I have been paying interest every month since the card opened.  When I talked to the PNC rep over the phone, which was the third person I had climbed up to, she told me that she would get his side and get back to me with what they could do for me.  Our last conversation was her telling me that PNC couldn't help me out since it was a "He said-She said" situation.  WORST MISTAKE I EVER MADE!  I would advise everyone from opening this card!!!!  

more ...

Reviews (181)

Add Review
Oct 19, 2016
horrible auto loan
Anonymous Account Holder

My car was totaled going on 2 months .  Insurance handles their part in a week.  I signed over power of attorney immediately and over a month later still being told two more weeks for a letter of guarantee.  On top of that every time I call it is at least a thirty minute wait or unusally high call volume.  I will make sure to never have pnc again.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
They make things up as they go along.

I applied for a business loan. Excellent credit, no derogatory history, 100% payment history, credit card usage 28%.
They denied my loan because I apparently " have 8 derogatory reports and using 58% of my credit usage".
Pulled my credit report and confirmed I was right. Nothing negative.
No matter how I proved to them I had the appropriate credit and history to apply for absolutely ANY loan I wanted without issue, they were of no help.
I can apply again but they were going to count only the first decision.
So why apply again? I have both personal and business accounts with pnc which I plan on closing. If my bank doesn't help me, I don't want them profiting from me either.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Everyone is friendly and professional
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened my first bank account here when I turned 18 and haven't had any problems. I am a big fan of the virtual wallet account since it's a checking and savings managed by its own app. The virtual wallet made it easy for me to track my money from my phone.

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Virtual Wallet is AMAZING
Anonymous Account Holder

I have the Virtual Wallet Performance Spend (I get the PS upgrade free with the workplace banking), but all the Virtual Wallet account are outstanding.  The calendar feature is truly light years more advanced than any other bank I've come across.  There is so much you can do online that makes the intuitiveness truly amazing.  PNC like any other large bank can be horrendous with their fees, but this calendar and the ability to add check, preauthorized transactions, add bills (like credit cards, loans, utilities etc....) allow for easy tracking and management.  I have actually been a victim 2x of my debit card having one of those fraudulent readers added at a gas pump and then a thief stole my details to then charge up a storm at other local merchants.... PNC caught it right away as they noticed that the amounts spent in the areas spent did not follow my trends.  Before assuming anything, they called me and asked questions about the charges to immediately reverse any charges and order a new card with overnight delivery...which my friends who bank elsewhere had to wait a week or longer for a new card and the charges to release from pend to be then reversed which took several days.  You are only a number with such a large institution, but I have still been shown respect and that my business matters.  I continue to do business with them as long as they offer the Virtual Wallet or something even more advanced technologically speaking.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Inconsiderate back!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank doesn't care about you they are just here to take your money. I will be closing all 4 of my accounts pretty soon. I only chose one star because I had no choice. Otherwise I'd give them a zero!!!!

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
PNC might cancel your credit card
Anonymous Account Holder

I recently got 2 fraudulent charges and I immediately notified the bank. They canceled the card, reverted fraudulent charges and sent me new card. So far so good.
I tried to use new card but it got denied. I called customer service and I was told that my credit card was canceled because it was delinquent. I had this card since 2006 and it had automatic payment of minimal balance. So how could it be delinquent? Well, PNC will transfer the balance from old card to new one but they will NOT transfer automatic payments, so you are in for surprise with $35 late fee and canceled credit card which will of course is going to damage your credit score. What a mess. I am disgusted with the way I was treated, I did not do anything wrong or malicious, always paid my balance but was discarded by PNC like a bag of trash.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They are the worst bank in the world they put you in the negative then add over draft fees then reverse the check then take it out again to add more overdraft fees just the worst

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Very pleasant atmosphere.
RockyWoof Account Holder

I'm only a checking customer, so far.  But, the tellers are always pleasant, and seem knowledgeable.  Much more professional than the other bank I deal with. 

more ...
Aug 31, 2016
Great Banking Experience!
verratio Account Holder

I opened my PNC Banking account back in 2003, they came to my work-site to sign-up people with their "Workplace Checking" product; Pretty much, as long as you had direct deposit adding money to your account, no monthly fee.  Fast forward many years, I Decide to try our their virtual wallet product, 3 accounts (regular checking, interest checking, and a savings account) no monthly fee, no minimun balance. I later upgraded to a performance account, Interest on all accounts, and a monthly fee if, I don't have $1000 a month in Direct Deposits. No ATM fees, and they reimberse me for other bank surcharges, up to $8 a month.

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Terrible business banking policies
grizz48 Account Holder

I wish I had read these reviews before I opened a business account with PNC. Their treatment of business customer accounts is terrible. My partner opened a cc reader to use for our business and shortly thereafter our partnership unexpectedly dissolved. She had no use for the cc reader or business account (which I was on), so we requested the cc reader account to be transferred to me. She was willing, I was willing, PNC was not. They are holding her to a three year contract that she has no use for and wanted me to open an identical one. This makes absolutely no sense at all.. it exhibits their lack of flexibility and poor customer service.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this bank overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations