PNC Bank

2.2 out of 5 stars
36 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 31, 2016
I love this bank.This bank offers a lot
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank offers many products and the customer service is wonderful. I would recommend it to everyone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 18, 2015
WORST MISTAKE I EVER MADE!
Anonymous Account Holder

I had been looking for a new credit card to open.  I had been very happy with my Chase card, which I had for about five years.  I recently started paying interest  on my balance,  I was looking to find a card that would offer 0% interest and also allow me to transfer my balance, which i was always getting offers in the mail.  After looking for a few weeks at various cards, I came across PNC which had reps set up in the grocery store.  They had a big sign which stated 18 months- 0% interest, balance transfer, etc.  The offer sounded to good to be true.  I told the PNC employee EXACTLY what I was looking to find in a new credit card.  He passed me the application right there and he even called me the next day to provide me with an update on when I would be receiving the card and offered to help me with the balance transfer, which ended up costing me $150.  The $150 didn't bother me too much because I knew that was the only interest I would be paying for 18 months.  Boy was I wrong....I have been paying interest every month since the card opened.  When I talked to the PNC rep over the phone, which was the third person I had climbed up to, she told me that she would get his side and get back to me with what they could do for me.  Our last conversation was her telling me that PNC couldn't help me out since it was a "He said-She said" situation.  WORST MISTAKE I EVER MADE!  I would advise everyone from opening this card!!!!  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
Got out, haven't looked back
Anonymous Account Holder

Overall, a pain to deal with! I was a customer since the National City days, and it used to be just fine. They keep cutting services and don't allow you grandfather in your old account types. I finally jumped ship to Ally Bank and have been very pleased with the switch. PNC was terribly frustrating with poor customer service, and lack luster product portfolio. 

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Amazing
Senjiwrx Account Holder

I have never had any issues with PNC and they always take care of me when I stop by the local location.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
They steal your money!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

They literally steal your money!!!! They switch on options you didn't request for and make you pay for it!!! The customer service is horrible!!! They don't listen to you and don't want to help!!! Don't trust your money to this bank!!!!! Horrible horrible horrible!!!!

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
boringbass Account Holder

never been charged but they move your funds from checking to savings not good

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Worst banking experience
Anonymous Account Holder

Pnc creditcards has THE WORST customer service that i have ever experienced. I am very disappointed at the way that my concerns were treated. I have had a credit card with pnc for almost a decade and they seem to care very little of the amount of time that ive with them. No special promotions for long time customers besides the 0% balance transfer which it is ridiculous. I have never gotten that type of service from discover,amex, or citi bank. If you are wondering on what type of credit card to choose dont go with pnc.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Terrible HELOC Servicing
Anonymous Account Holder

DO NOT open a HELOC with PNC. I took out a HELOC in late September 2016 in order to fund needed home repairs due to toxic mold issues in my house. Since opening the account, NEVER have I experienced such dysfunctional servicing of an account. In order of irritation:

1. For some absolutely ridiculous reason, PNC has 2 separate departments that handle customer service for their HELOCs. One only handles issues and transactions made through the HELOC card, the other only issues and transactions made through the accompanying checks. Neither department can access the information the other has, and both have different hours. This leads to an exceptionally frustrating experience when attempting to resolve any issue that may involve the account as no one at the bank seems to have a global view of your account at any time.

2. Unlike security checks with every other financial organization on the planet, if you call the customer service number on the back of the HELOC card you cannot speak with anyone in the HELOC card department unless you have your full account number with you. This number only appears on your checks and HELOC statements. You can provide your name, address, phone number, SSN, DOB, any and all information off the card itself to the representative, but if you don't have the full account number they will refuse to speak with you. If you are out and about and need an issue resolved quickly, unless you have the account number memorized you're utterly out of luck.

3. While I appreciate the lengths to which banks go to extend fraud protection, the PNC HELOC division is ridiculous in regards to the frequency of how many times card swipes have been declined for even tiny amounts. I had a card transaction for around $30 declined while the very next day a check cleared for several thousand dollars against the account. The several occasions I have had to contact the HELOC card division to clear up issues such as this, I have regularly received misinformation, misdirection, and have had to call back multiple times to resolve issues I was told had been taken care of.

4. While regular checking and savings accounts at PNC appear to exist in the modern day of online banking, the HELOC division seems to still be abiding its time in the late 90s or early 00s. Logging into your online account and accessing the HELOC area, you cannot access any HELOC statements online and cannot view check images that have cleared. The only way to get HELOC statements is by mail and check images by special request.

All in all, working with PNC after the HELOC was approved has been an abysmal experience. If you're considering PNC for this type of lending, just don't. I have worked in the financial services industry for some time, and am staggered by the sheer incompetence with which PNC services this account type. You would have an extraordinarily more pleasant experience whacking yourself in the head repeatedly with a 2x4.

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
This bank is a mess, way too many fees.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank will charge you for every litlle thing. Always recommend against this bank to anyone looking. Will be canceling all business with them as soon as I can without them charging me even more!

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Worst banking experience ever
Lperkins1980 Account Holder

I never review businesses, but I feel that people looking into banking institutions should know how this bank operates.  We have a PNC account and we also have a smart access card that we only use online to avoid fraudulent charges to our bank account.  It is almost Christmas, I have been waiting to order gifts for my kids, shame on me for waiting so long, I know.  I have always transferred money online from my PNC bank account to my smart access card and it has posted immediately.  This transfer immediately gave us an error, the money was taken out of our bank account but not transferred to our smart access card.  I called pnc to ask them to at the very least cancel the transfer and put the money, for my kids Christmas gifts, back in my bank account.  They said they can't help me and it will be Tuesday (4 days away) to get our money. That means there will most likely be at least SOME gifts that I was going to order that will not be able to be delivered before Christmas. Also, before we got direct deposit they would put a 10 day hold on our checks. I hope you read this and seriously reconsider this bank, you can find a better bank that will be helpful and will not hold your money for days. As for me, I will be moving our money to sun trust immediately.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
A hot mess of apathy and inefficiency
eventus Account Holder

Avoid doing ANY business with them.  They totally screwed up an auto loan account and then failed to apply payments. 

RUN to your credit union and avoid PNC.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Great bank for years
Anonymous Account Holder

I've never had any problems with PNC and I've had an account there for over 20 years. Recently I went into the bank and got upgraded to a performance select account. They spent over an hour with me on two separate occasions to go over my options. It seems like they really care about their customers. I'm planning on opening a cash rewards card with them soon.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations