PNC Bank Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 31, 2016
I love this bank.This bank offers a lot
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank offers many products and the customer service is wonderful. I would recommend it to everyone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 10, 2017
They steal your money!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

They literally steal your money!!!! They switch on options you didn't request for and make you pay for it!!! The customer service is horrible!!! They don't listen to you and don't want to help!!! Don't trust your money to this bank!!!!! Horrible horrible horrible!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
beware the atm
Anonymous Account Holder

At my local PNC branch I utilized  the "balance inquiry" feature on the atm. It told me my balance was one thing so I deposited the correct funds for an upcoming transaction only to find out later when the overdraft letter came it was another. I called, complained and got no where. I don't understand how their ONLINE atm can have the incorrect balance and then still stand by their overdraft fee. I kept the receipt of my balance inquiry that states what it said at the time was my balance. I'm guessing class action down the road. In short be leery of what their atms say apparently they're far behind. Ok update...just got off the phone with an awful customer service rep. I forgot to mention I called also earlier in the day and checked my balance. everything was fine around 7pm eastern time. I deposited the money at 1am eastern. The rep told me the check went through @ 11pm east so when I called at 7pm I was correct in what I thought my balance was. I asked the rep why was there no "pending transaction alert" they said there isn't one for checks. ok, that explains the phone automated service, why did the atm tell me everything was in order and post EXACTLY what my balance should've been @1am then? they said their atms must not have updated yet. So in the 2 hrs it took from check posting (under all radars) to me depositing the sufficient funds their atm couldn't see it but their overdraft fee mechanism sure caught it quick. I called my huntington bank and they said they give me 24hrs forgiveness for any transaction overdrafting my account for free. just an fyi. 

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't do business with them

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
PNC ruined my credit score!!
Anonymous Account Holder

PNC reported two late car payments on my car that was totalled in an accident. My insurance company did not follow through properly to pay off my car loan. PNC took that opportunity to report the payments as late and ruin my score. I will never bank with them again.

more ...
Jul 22, 2017
Den of mother****ing thieves
Yourmom12346 Account Holder

This has to be the worst ****ing bank ever! This **** show of a financial institution thinks it's cute to charge astronomically large overdraft fees even though deposits come through on the same business day. Really, you mother****er? Go screw yourself, you son of a bitch!

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Live to make you pay fees
mamaofthree Account Holder

This bank loves to charge you overdraft fees even though there are funds in your account. I question how you can have a deposit and fees charged on the same day?!?! Going elsewhere with my money.

more ...
May 22, 2017
Fewer benefits, more fees, zero service
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been a PNC customer since they bought my previous bank about 7 or 8 years ago. I have multiple checking and savings accounts with them and a credit card that I opened with them directly. 

Over the years, PNC has gradually rolled out various changes to my accounts, lessening the perks and benefits and upping the fees and potential to incur charges. 

Customer service? Not so much. If I use a teller, they charge me. Beyond that, the phone "customer service" is a cluster F. Poor training. What should have been a simple request turned into multiple lengthy phone calls, disconnects, conflicting and misinformation from one agent to the next, and in the end, when I thought the issue was taken care of, it turns out it was not, resulting in more time and expense on my part.

Rather than make the situation right, PNC escalated my call to a representative who tried to up-sell me another PNC product/service. Ridiculous. 

This is the latest of several frustrating experiences over the years. Meanwhile - just a few days ago, I received yet another letter from PNC notifying me of more new changes to my checking account. More "no longer offering X" and more hoops to jump through or I will start paying additional monthly account fees.

As much of a pain as it is to switch banks, it's past time that I do it. PNC has been an unbelievable frustration for the last time. #ByeFelicia

0-star review.

more ...
May 10, 2017
Awful!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not apply for a loan of any kind there

more ...
May 04, 2017
I love PNC!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with PNC for a couple of years now, and I LOVE them. Very happy. I have their digital wallet accounts, set up as 3 separate accounts. One is for long-term savings, one is for spending, and one is a reserve account for purchases coming it. It has made organizing my budget SO EASY. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 22, 2017

Take off your rose colored glasses before the hidden fees get to you. Switch banks.

 
Apr 20, 2017
Got out, haven't looked back
Anonymous Account Holder

Overall, a pain to deal with! I was a customer since the National City days, and it used to be just fine. They keep cutting services and don't allow you grandfather in your old account types. I finally jumped ship to Ally Bank and have been very pleased with the switch. PNC was terribly frustrating with poor customer service, and lack luster product portfolio. 

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Amazing
Senjiwrx Account Holder

I have never had any issues with PNC and they always take care of me when I stop by the local location.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 22, 2017

You must not have been with them very long. They'll screw you over like all their customers.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations