Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

PNC Bank

2.0 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 31, 2016
I love this bank.This bank offers a lot
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank offers many products and the customer service is wonderful. I would recommend it to everyone.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 07, 2016
terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

They are the worst bank in the world they put you in the negative then add over draft fees then reverse the check then take it out again to add more overdraft fees just the worst

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 03, 2016
A hot mess of apathy and inefficiency
eventus Account Holder

Avoid doing ANY business with them.  They totally screwed up an auto loan account and then failed to apply payments. 

RUN to your credit union and avoid PNC.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Great bank for years
Anonymous Account Holder

I've never had any problems with PNC and I've had an account there for over 20 years. Recently I went into the bank and got upgraded to a performance select account. They spent over an hour with me on two separate occasions to go over my options. It seems like they really care about their customers. I'm planning on opening a cash rewards card with them soon.

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
I love this bank.This bank offers a lot
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank offers many products and the customer service is wonderful. I would recommend it to everyone.

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
horrible auto loan
Anonymous Account Holder

My car was totaled going on 2 months .  Insurance handles their part in a week.  I signed over power of attorney immediately and over a month later still being told two more weeks for a letter of guarantee.  On top of that every time I call it is at least a thirty minute wait or unusally high call volume.  I will make sure to never have pnc again.

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Everyone is friendly and professional
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened my first bank account here when I turned 18 and haven't had any problems. I am a big fan of the virtual wallet account since it's a checking and savings managed by its own app. The virtual wallet made it easy for me to track my money from my phone.

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Virtual Wallet is AMAZING
Anonymous Account Holder

I have the Virtual Wallet Performance Spend (I get the PS upgrade free with the workplace banking), but all the Virtual Wallet account are outstanding.  The calendar feature is truly light years more advanced than any other bank I've come across.  There is so much you can do online that makes the intuitiveness truly amazing.  PNC like any other large bank can be horrendous with their fees, but this calendar and the ability to add check, preauthorized transactions, add bills (like credit cards, loans, utilities etc....) allow for easy tracking and management.  I have actually been a victim 2x of my debit card having one of those fraudulent readers added at a gas pump and then a thief stole my details to then charge up a storm at other local merchants.... PNC caught it right away as they noticed that the amounts spent in the areas spent did not follow my trends.  Before assuming anything, they called me and asked questions about the charges to immediately reverse any charges and order a new card with overnight delivery...which my friends who bank elsewhere had to wait a week or longer for a new card and the charges to release from pend to be then reversed which took several days.  You are only a number with such a large institution, but I have still been shown respect and that my business matters.  I continue to do business with them as long as they offer the Virtual Wallet or something even more advanced technologically speaking.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
Inconsiderate back!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank doesn't care about you they are just here to take your money. I will be closing all 4 of my accounts pretty soon. I only chose one star because I had no choice. Otherwise I'd give them a zero!!!!

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
PNC might cancel your credit card
Anonymous Account Holder

I recently got 2 fraudulent charges and I immediately notified the bank. They canceled the card, reverted fraudulent charges and sent me new card. So far so good.
I tried to use new card but it got denied. I called customer service and I was told that my credit card was canceled because it was delinquent. I had this card since 2006 and it had automatic payment of minimal balance. So how could it be delinquent? Well, PNC will transfer the balance from old card to new one but they will NOT transfer automatic payments, so you are in for surprise with $35 late fee and canceled credit card which will of course is going to damage your credit score. What a mess. I am disgusted with the way I was treated, I did not do anything wrong or malicious, always paid my balance but was discarded by PNC like a bag of trash.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

They are the worst bank in the world they put you in the negative then add over draft fees then reverse the check then take it out again to add more overdraft fees just the worst

more ...
Sep 02, 2016
Very pleasant atmosphere.
RockyWoof Account Holder

I'm only a checking customer, so far.  But, the tellers are always pleasant, and seem knowledgeable.  Much more professional than the other bank I deal with. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations