Merrick Bank Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
37 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 19, 2018
Excellent
Myoungblood1977 Account Holder

This is actually my favorite card. I needed to rebuild my credit and they approved me and have already sent me a congratulations email with the date my credit limit will double. I've read reviews where people are unhappy but they have worked out great for me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 09, 2018
Good Until...
Anonymous Account Holder

Good card until you pay it off. If you don’t use every couple of months they will close the account with no warning. That can cause a large negative on your credit report due to the loss of available credit and length of credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 09, 2018
Have no complaints upon this credit card

I have applied it was quick an easy. Making on time payments or before due date done wonderful on fast action to raising my credit, within 6 months they increased my credit limit very satisfied, hopefully it will continue, thanks again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 13, 2018

Do they take out the annual fee upfront from your $600 line?

 
Oct 06, 2018
great card
MINUTEMAN1988 Account Holder

no issues  opened with  a $2500 limit  payed off on time every month  they doubled the limit within  6 months . however my go to card  is american experss for rewards points and cash back but it was a great rebuild tool after a divorce 

more ...
Sep 20, 2018
Jerkiest bank in the universe
RWM1974 Account Holder

I don't mind paying a high interest rate but I do mind paying that along with an annual fee especially since my payment history is excellent. So, I closed this POS about two months ago. I found out today that they keep the annual fee going until you pay to zero even if the account has been closed. Absolutely unbelievable... STEER clear. I know some of you may be desperate to rebuild credit, but there are MUCH better companies.

more ...
Aug 29, 2018
Friendly and professional
Knevets1957 Account Holder

Have had the card for 6 months and no issues. On time payments hopefully will generate a credit limit increase.

more ...
Aug 14, 2018
My New "Go to Card."
CainsMOM47 Account Holder

The application and approval was fast and easy. They started me out with $600 and informed that they would double my limit in 6 months of on time payments. Well they did just that! I checked my account this morning....there it was $1200 :-) I plan on staying with them as they have given me a second chance at reestablishing my credit. Thanks Merrick Bank!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 21, 2018

Yes! Merrick WILL do as promised if YOU hold up to your part of the bargain! Merrick Bank may not give you another credit line increase until 18 months (one year after doubling your credit line), but be patient. You'll see lots of complaints online. Bottom line; always pay online or with their mobile app, and NEVER send a check. Congrats!

 
Jul 24, 2018
A waste of plastic
Caljturner Account Holder

I’ve had the Merrick Bank secured card for at least 5 years. My initial $250 is my limit. It was beneficial to build my credit, but now that my credit is good, they refuse to give me a credit line increase or even change it over to an unsecured card. All of these years with my account in good standing, NEVER an increase in my credit line. Multiple calls to customer service, only to be told, we don’t give credit line increases. What? So now it sits in my wallet, $0 balance and never used. I don’t want to cancel it just because it would affect the length of my credit history.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 06, 2018

You're not coming clean. Somewhere in your credit profile you screwed up! Read the many posts where Merrick Bank DOES give CLI's.

 
Jul 14, 2018
Horrible card
Luka0422 Account Holder

This card is handled by clowns. Tried to use it 4 times and each time it got declined. Called their nasty customer service 4 times and according to them card hadnt been acitvated. Seriously!! 4 times!! How many times can a card be activated. What a joke!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 17, 2018

Did you call the 800 on the sticker that came on the card to activate it ?

 
Jun 30, 2018
great customer services
aprildunn Account Holder

it is a great way to re-build or continue to build your credit score.

more ...
May 19, 2018
Excellent
Myoungblood1977 Account Holder

This is actually my favorite card. I needed to rebuild my credit and they approved me and have already sent me a congratulations email with the date my credit limit will double. I've read reviews where people are unhappy but they have worked out great for me.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 20, 2018

Stay in your lane and use either the mobile app or website for payments and you will have no issues.

 
May 18, 2018
Anonymous Account Holder

It seems to me that this company sits on your payments and does not post them to your account so you can avoid a late fee.  Mailed a payment to Dallas, TX on the same day as a payment was mailed to a location in Carrolton, TX, the place in Carrolton got it within 4 days of it being mailed and Merrick Bank still states they have not received anything, 5 days after the Carrolton location received their payment.  They are absolutely sitting on the payment, no doubt in my mind.  Bear in mind there is a 30 mile difference in the two locations.  I plan on getting this card paid off ASAP and closing it.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 21, 2018

It appears as though you are sending payments last minute in hopes that your payment will post in a timely manner. Use online payments, you can submit a payment the day its due knowing payment will post same day having an electronic record of the transaction. If you are uncomfortable paying online, know that the risks of someone gaining access to your bank account is MUCH GREATER with a check floating around in the mail.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations