Merrick Bank

3.4 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 07, 2016
Never had a problem with them
HoraceRumpole Account Holder

Merrick issued me a VISA card when my FICO was borderline and I had a recent bankruptcy.  I knew the interest rate was high, but I expected that.  There is not rewards program, but again I knew and accepted that.  I make payments on time, usually paying the balance in full.  I've had occasion to deal with Customer Service a few times and found them courteous and helpful.  The Double Your Credit Limit program is legit - make the first 6 months payments on time and the credit increase is automatic.  This has allowed me to improve my FICO to the point where I can now get other credit.  In short, my experience with them has been excellent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2012
djcarson76 Account Holder

 As someone who is in the process of rebuilding my credit, I was just happy that I was given an unsecured line of crredit.  The intrest rate is a little high, but I dont carry a balance. After 6 months my credit line went up.  Customer service is okay and payments post the next day. I really cant complain about this card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 24, 2017
No problems here
LadeeGee58 Account Holder

I have been reading thru the negative as well as the positive reviews on this card. I have come to the conclusion that the majority of negative reviews stem from ppl not fully reading the terms and conditions of usage on this card and that many of them are in a great hurry to max out their cards smh. However, I have had this card for close to seven months now and I have not had any problems. I am hoping that Merrick will double my limit as promised in their mailer. I will not use my card if and when it happens, because I am trying to bring my utilization down. Kudos to those positive reviewers and keep up the good work. We all are trying to "clean up what we messed up" on our journey to credit wellness.

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
Disloyal
kgemimi Account Holder

I had this credit card for over 12 years.  I hadn't used it in a couple of years and they all of a sudden closed my account with NO notification that it would be closed due to inactivity.  Not a very good way to treat a good customer.  Very disappointed.  This will make my credit score go down, decreasing my "available credit."

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Very good card
LadeeGee58 Account Holder

The Merrick Bank "Double Your Limit" Visa card is a very good product. I have had no issues with them, the mobile app or making payments. I am just waiting to see if my credit line ($700) will actually be doubled to $1400. I have made my payments in a timely fashion, although I did get close to maxing out the card because I hit a wall during the holidays last year. I also like the fact they offer FICO8 scores and payment history within the app. If and when my limit is doubled, I will not use the card unless it is a dire situation. This card has helped open doors of more credit for me and I am very grateful for the second chance.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
One messsed banking system !
danenguyen Account Holder

Was making my payments on time only the last time I had switched my checking to chase n the payment got reversed ( note : the balance was not even due yet) . So they put a block on my account .. called n asked them why ? They said due to the reversal payment ( seriously ? ) .. this card seems to b awesome to whoever got their credit f*cked badly .. but for me been there done it .. n back to normal .. I don't need their business I will stick around with my AMEX and Discover

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
False credit score reporting
JoyAtl Account Holder

Merrick's "Go Score" consistently reports a FICO score allegedly provided by Transunion that's more than 60 points below what TransUnion actually reports on any given day.

more ...
Apr 16, 2017
Seamless Experience!
Anonymous Account Holder

Helped me rebuild my credit after a divorce and bankruptcy.  Increased credit when they said, though I did not need it.

Just make your payments on time and be responsible, you will have no issues!

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
Good
sportygrly Account Holder

My only complaints are that they 1) Don't have an email address to contact them; 2) Interest rate should go down once you have a history of on time and over the minimum required payments.

more ...
Apr 01, 2017
i wont work when i try to use the card
Anonymous Account Holder

i have this card and i dont owe anything when i call my bal is zero but this card always gets declined when i truy to use it  :/

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Has been honest so far
matthew07 Account Holder

I received my card Aug 2016 with $600 cl, and after 7 on time payments they just double the cl to $1200. The only thing I wish they did was take debit card payments and not just check payments for the monthly bill. Also, the minimum payment iis only $35 which is nice if you have a rough month financially and can't afford to make a bigger payment.

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
Avoid Unless You're Desperate
iasip88 Account Holder

why my small transfer wasn't going through and the CSR was about as helpful as a dead skunk at a wedding. 

What's my issue with this card? The only thing I can do with it so far is order pizza. If you are attempting to get a cash advance in excess of $120.00 (with a credit limit of $550.00) dream on. I have yet to receive my pin (I called) and I needed a cash advance, but was unsuccesful due to the nature of Merrick Bank's credit card cash advance policies.

What's the lesson for today kids? If you're looking for a great credit card for building or rebuilding  your credit, get Capital One. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 05, 2017

why on earth would you attempt a cash advance in excess of $120.00 with a $550.00 limit? the fees alone would kill you. you'll thank them later for not allowing you to get it.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations