Merrick Bank

3.3 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 03, 2016
Good
tlawson24 Account Holder

I havent experienced any problems using this card. I have gotten regular credit line increases. I pay on time each month and have never missed a payment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 04, 2016
Keeps their promise
strawmellow Account Holder

I applied for this card under the premise that they would double my credit line after 7 months of on-time payments. I was skeptical, but saw a lot of positive reviews that claimed the company did in fact stay true to their word. I waited 7 months before posting this review as I wanted to make sure it happened. Guess what? It did! I started off with a $700 unsecured credit line, and just shy of 2 weeks after the 7-month mark hit my credit line was doubled. I didn't even use the card for about 3 months, which I thought might affect my eligibility.

The high interest rate makes it not as appealing of a card to some, but as somebody who is rebuilding credit and often only gets approved for very low amounts of credit this is a pretty good card to have on hand for emergences.

However, one last word of advice is not to lose the card. I thought I lost my card and requested a new one, which was happily sent out if I agreed to a $15 replacement fee. Not happy about that, particularly because I found my card the next week (go figure).

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 20, 2017
Has been honest so far
matthew07 Account Holder

I received my card Aug 2016 with $600 cl, and after 7 on time payments they just double the cl to $1200. The only thing I wish they did was take debit card payments and not just check payments for the monthly bill. Also, the minimum payment iis only $35 which is nice if you have a rough month financially and can't afford to make a bigger payment.

more ...
Mar 12, 2017
Avoid Unless You're Desperate
iasip88 Account Holder

why my small transfer wasn't going through and the CSR was about as helpful as a dead skunk at a wedding. 

What's my issue with this card? The only thing I can do with it so far is order pizza. If you are attempting to get a cash advance in excess of $120.00 (with a credit limit of $550.00) dream on. I have yet to receive my pin (I called) and I needed a cash advance, but was unsuccesful due to the nature of Merrick Bank's credit card cash advance policies.

What's the lesson for today kids? If you're looking for a great credit card for building or rebuilding  your credit, get Capital One. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Great card to rebuild credit
jenniferidd Account Holder

Offer came in mail. 700.00 credit limit and 1400 after a year.  My credit score was 580 when i was approved. 

more ...
Mar 11, 2017
Great card to build credit
jenniferidd Account Holder

Was sent a preapproved offer in the.  Credit Limit 700. Offer says they will doulbe if you make payments on time for a year.  I have never had any problems with this bank. I pay my bill and they credit to my account. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
CL will double if you're responsible!
greykiddo Account Holder

Not judging, as I was that college student with four credit cards and no job (work study or part-time work doesn't count LOL). Of course, I crashed and burn, and since then, with my student loans, I have climbed from a 350 score to a 648 (down to 542 because of new apps and inquiries). That's when I received the offer for this card. You have to be invited to apply, and pre-approved. Though skeptical, I did my research on CreditKarma and saw that Merrick was legit. So I applied, and a week and a half later, $700 CL. Paid on time (ahead of time), never missed a payment. A week after my seventh on-time payment, my CL was doubled. $1400UNSECURED is pennies to most, but it is EVERYTHING when no one will trust you with NOTHING. I'm thankful that Merrick gave me a second chance, and regardless of what's going on, I make sure that payment is there, on time, every time! Trust is hard to come by; so is a stellar credit score! This card has been such a help to my credit score! Working on loweriing my util., but customer service is friendly, prompt, and helpful. The online account system is secure and easy to use, and I love having access to my FICO score! Will update this post twice more to let people know that you can rebuild. It's hard, but worth it when you see the results! (Sorry to be longwinded, just trying to inform. *_*)   

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 07, 2017

Ugh, sorry for the double post; computer froze, and I thought it wasn't submitted. GK

 
Mar 07, 2017
CL doubles when you're responsible!
greykiddo Account Holder

Not judging anyone, I know about bad credit: I was that college student with four credit cards and no job (work study or part-time work doesn't count LOL). Of course, I crashed and burn, and since then, with my student loans, I have climbed from a 350 score to a 648 (down to 542 because of new apps and inquiries). That's when I received the offer for this card. You have to be invited to apply, and pre-approved. Though skeptical, I did my research on CreditKarma and saw that Merrick was legit. So I applied, and a week and a half later, $700 CL. Paid on time (ahead of time), never missed a payment. A week after my seventh on-time payment, my CL was doubled. $1400 unsecured is pennies to most, but it is EVERYTHING when no one will trust you with NOTHING. I'm thankful that Merrick gave me a second chance, and regardless of what's going on, I make sure that payment is there, on time, every time! Trust is hard to come by; so is a stellar credit score! This card has been such a help to my credit score! Working on loweriing my util., but customer service is friendly, prompt, and helpful. The online account system is secure and easy to use, and I love having access to my FICO score! Will update this post twice more to let people know that if you're serious and responsible about your credit, banks will notice, and you can start fresh! It gets hard sometimes, but it's so worth it! (Sorry to be longwinded, just trying to inform. *_*)   

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Good enough
wanderingnobody Account Holder

I've had this card for 6 months with no problems. Hopefully they give the promised increase in the seventh month.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Easy
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had this card for a couple years now. Gotten credit limits and on-line payments have always been applied properly and in a timely manner. Happy with them.

more ...
Feb 24, 2017
Payment issues via their website...
Anonymous Account Holder

So I make a $350 payment on 2/17.  Today I check my account and it's showing payment reversed?!  No ryhme, no reason but a whole lot of incompetence coming out of this bank.  I guess maybe they're hoping to hit me with a late fee which is not going to happen.  This is the second time I've had an issue submitting a payment via thie website.  The first was when I made a payment out of my Wells Fargo bank account.  Payment showed processed but a couple of days past the due date I checked the account and it showed no payment never made/received.  I called and got no where with the rep and was told to make the payment over the phone which I did.   I'm done with these idiots.

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
Liars
Anonymous Account Holder

I had this credit card and I am a single mom and they told me i could apply for their financial help plan, because I had lost my job. Well they kept changing the month I could apply for it in first it was February than April the September of 2017.. ALL in the same phone call!!! How do you have three different people tell a customer 3 different dates!!! This is a horrible company to go through. and then they told me they won't help me until it gets sent to collections... I will NEVER reccomend this card to anyone...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 06, 2017

Not sure how single mom plays into this but ok

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations