Merrick Bank Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 05, 2017
LIKE THIS CARD ALOT AND PROMISES KEPT
aidanzmom Account Holder

I have had an unsecured Merrick credit card now for 7 mos , just like they promised , they doubled my limit about a week after my 7th payment . I have never had an issue with them . I cant afford to pay off my balances completely but I always pay online about 2weeks and I always pay more than the minimum owed early and they have always credited my acct within a couple days . I have never had any issues with this card and it has helped my credit and I now have a $1400 credit limit which I will try not to use , only in emergencies .

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 17, 2017
Didn't honor credit limit increase
Chimi7 Account Holder

I received a letter in the mail in April 2016, offering an unsecured VISA card with a $1000 credit limit & stating I would receive an automatic doubling of my credit limit after making 7 on-time payments of at least the minimum amount due. After reading other reviews, I decided to apply & received my card in May 2016 with a $1000 credit limit. I've used my card a lot & I did approach my credit limit, but I've never gone over my limit & I always pay at least the minimum due, on time or early each month & sometimes pay twice a month. My card is in good standing & I just received my 8th statement & still no credit limit increase. After not receiving the credit increase after the 7th statement, I called Merrick & although the rep was nice, she couldn't tell me why I didn't receive the credit limit increase I was promised in my credit card invitation. In fact, she asked me if I had the letter to show that I was told my credit limit would be doubled after 7 on time payments of at least the minimum amount due. I told her I didn't think I would need to save it because I thought they would keep their word & that I likely threw the letter away since I couldn't find it (my mistake). She told me that they don't show me as having received that double your limit offer. I asked the rep if I was doing anything wrong which would preclude me from receiving a credit limit increase & she told me that my account showed they will regularly review for increases as long as I'm eligible, but she wouldn't tell me what I needed to be doing to be considered eligible. As far as I'm concerned, I always pay on time or early & always pay at least if not more than the minimum due & based on the letter that I DID receive, I AM eligible. Overall, this is a good card & I like that it's a VISA because I shop at Costco & Costco only takes VISA or cash. Their online app is adequate, but if I want to view my online statement, I have to use my laptop because the mobile app doesn't allow the viewing of statements. Overall, I'm happy with the card, & the high interest rate is to be expected for any card that is designed to help people build or rebuild credit. The main reason I didn't rate this card above 3 stars is because they didn't keep the promise that led me to apply for their card in the first place & their customer service rep, although friendly, wasn't helpful & couldn't answer my questions.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 07, 2017
Liars
Anonymous Account Holder

They don't hold up their end on the double your limit offer. I paid on time every month and was told I didn't qualify due to a payment being posted on the closing date.

more ...
Nov 30, 2017
Very crooked
Multitasker78 Account Holder

Can tell you this much they have a $4 monthly fee if you don't pay that even though you have a zero balance they will destroy your credit they will never call you to tell you how you always this $4 then when you explain the situation they do nothing for you they want to talk about accurate reporting so I have a late payment on my credit report after I paid off my entire balance for $4 which is a monthly fee that they never even discussed with me they are completely unreasonable and by all means shred your cards do not apply stay away from these people

more ...
Nov 27, 2017
Revan12 Account Holder

Good card, if you charge it up, just make 50 dollar payments each month, you'd be amazed how far that simple 50 can go, plus you'll have it available as soon as it clears, another plus.. After 7 months of payments you get an automatic increase, or atleast I did.. Good company, good card to have a reliable credit builder or just to have for that "just incase" scenario..

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
A good card for rebuilding credit.
Gordon4321 Account Holder

The reason I keep this card is because I can draw out my entire limit for cash if needed. It's a little peice of mind in case I get in a pinch.

more ...
Nov 20, 2017
I’m Happy
kf4sci Account Holder

I’ve had a Visa card with Merrick Bank for several years without any problems. The application process was simple... with very little credit history. I carried a balance long enough to show some reliable activity, now I just buy a tank of gas & pay in full each month to keep it open without paying interest. It helped restore my credit after decades of paying cash. 

more ...
Nov 19, 2017
terrible people
jabbahursty Account Holder

every time i got to costco, they flag me as a security risk.  then they tell me i stole my own card as i'm calling from an unauthorized number.  then they threaten me and shut my account, even though i have a zero balance as i pay my bill immediately when they are incurred.  then i get to argue with them for hours as they insult and threaten me even more.  

this sort of thing has been going on since day 1 and there is nobody there who even attempts to get this under any control.  it's all just funny for them but i somehow don't get the joke.  

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
poor customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank sucks.  I sent them a payment on the 10th of the month and they didnt post untill the 29th of the month!!!  19 days to post a payment???  So consequently they sent me a new statement on th 27th, showing my payment of the 10th as past due, charging a late fee and interest!  I have spent over an hour on the phone with them and can get no satisfaction.  One of their so called supervisors hung up on me during my forever hold time!  Their customer service people were rude and obnoctious!!

more ...
Nov 03, 2017
I'm satisfied with Merrick
RememberAnn Account Holder

I received the card with the promise of the credit limit being doubled after 6 payments are made on time.  One of the payments was late, which made me ineligible.  HOWEVER, I have made my payments on time and my limit has been increased twice.  I'm satisfied.

more ...
Sep 28, 2017
Great for reestablishing credit.
Anonymous Account Holder

After the first year $3 a month.  I started out with a $600 limit, increased after 5 or 6 payments to 1200.  After a year its now 1400.  Payments are easy to do from an iPhone with the app.  I set up auto pay for the minimum ammount deirectly taken from my checking each month.  If i want to pay more than minimum I just log on and make an additional payment.

The monthly fee is what it is.  There are not may banks out there who would give me a card to help reestablish... I have no complaints.  Thanks Merrick!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations