Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Merrick Bank

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Account Holder Ratings
3 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 28, 2015
Perfect for rebuilding credit
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a high interest rate and they charge a fee, but that's to be expected when you have bad credit. I have had this card for well over a year now and have never missed a payment. At 6 months they increased my limit from $500 to $1000. I was hoping to see another credit limit increase after another 6 months of on time payments, but it hasn't happened yet. (They don't accept calls/requests to raise a limit... they just review periodically.) I've paid off some old debts, kept on top of my current bills, and have a spotless record with this card and in a year and a half, my credit score has jumped from a miserable 514 to 597. I still have a loooong way to go in rebuilding my credit, but my Merrick Bank card has definitely helped! 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2012
djcarson76 Account Holder

 As someone who is in the process of rebuilding my credit, I was just happy that I was given an unsecured line of crredit.  The intrest rate is a little high, but I dont carry a balance. After 6 months my credit line went up.  Customer service is okay and payments post the next day. I really cant complain about this card

more ...

Reviews (101)

Add Review
Oct 24, 2016
merrick bank is a great rebuildercard!!!
twostickmack Account Holder

i really appreciate merrick bank giving me a card when others wouldnt.its a rebuilder card.high interest but i dont carry balances.but my credit is up over 700 now and im getting better offers.there are no rewards if you keep it 50 years,but they are in the sub prime market only.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Merrick suspicious upon reporting fraud
Anonymous Account Holder

I had this CC for a year, limit increased from $500 to $1000.  I discovered fruad so called bank.  After going over charges, I was told that I will get a new card in mail.  Afterwards, I logged onto account and it was restricted.  Called them and was told that until i get my new card I will not have access to any information.  Very inconvienient; don't understand why they would do that when card has been deactivated.  

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Excellent visa credit card from Merrick bank thanks so much!

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
mcconnell42 Account Holder

I did Receive this card 💳 after a Mail offer to rebuild my credit so far so good it is nice that there are banks out there to help rebuild your credit and your able to buy things on credit when they Raise my limit I will be buying a much needed Dryer for my home been making my payments on time so there will be no problems Thanks Merrick Back your the Best.

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
Merrick Bank is great credit card bank!
Anonymous Account Holder

I highly recommend this bank!

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
Basic. Really basic.
HelenABreadbasket Account Holder

Got an offer for an usecured card in the mail while I was in the process of building credit. It was the first offer I'd gotten for a card with no annual fee, so I took it. There are no bells & whistles here--it's a high interest card (I never carry a balance) with no cash back or bonus features. The website looks like the founder's kid's 3rd grade class built it. It's clunky, small font, not very intuitive, and doesn't offer many features we've come to think of as standard.

All told, I would have given this card a 3 or 4, but found myself having to dispute a payment. I couldn't find a dispute button on the website, so had to actually leave the bank site and go to google. And I'm shocked by the answer: I have to dispute the charge, in writing, BY MAIL. I'm pasting Merrick's own description below. This is just an enormous hassle, and suffice to say, it's going to be the last time I pull this card out of my wallet.

Q: How do I dispute a specific charge? 

A. If you wish to dispute a specific charge, you must notify us in writing within 60 days of receiving the statement containing the disputed item to preserve your rights. Your letter should be signed by you, and include the following:

Your complete account number; Merchant's name; Merchant's location;

Amount and date of the disputed charge;

The date that the charge appeared on your statement;

Whether the transaction was made in person, over the phone, or through mail order;

The specific date on which the service was to be rendered or the merchandise was to be delivered;

The merchant's response to your request that they credit your account. If you have been unable to reach the merchant, you must list the specific attempts you have made to contact the merchant; and

A copy of your receipt or invoice or a copy of the advertisement or other documentation stating what service was to be provided or what merchandise was to be delivered.

If more than 60 days has elapsed since receipt of the statement containing the disputed item, please send your letter with the requested information, and it will be reviewed to determine our ability to assist you. A written response will be mailed to you within 30 days of receipt of written notification of your dispute. 

more ...
Oct 11, 2016

All credit disputes must be done in writing in order to be official. While some credit providers will cooperate and consider disputes over the phone or via email that is done only as a courtesy to customers. If you use any other venue the credit providers don't have to honor or investigate the dispute at all. Just be aware that this is codified in the credit act and isn't just a way for credit providers to screw with their customers. To be fair, it makes sense as writing a letter provides a legal written document for any potential suits. You as the customer are in a much stronger legal position by putting your dispute in writing no matter how trivial or simple the problem seems to be. No court in the world is going to accept an email as a legal document, let alone a phone call. Among other things, emails are too insecure. Even if you manage to get a resolution via phone you should still follow up via a written letter. Better yet, document the complaint and the name of the person you spoke to or corresponded with (if you attempted email) as you may be disappointed to find out that the person you communicated with in fact had no authority to do what they said they were going to do. They can say anything by phone or email without invoking any real legal authority--it may help if you ever go to court, but they are not legal communications. Every single credit account specifies written notification for any kind of dispute, not just Merrick. I don't even need to have a Merrrick account to know this is the case.

Sep 10, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Merrick Bank is the absolute best!!

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Good for no credit or young applicants
klmason2002 Account Holder

Mobile app and login continues to lock cardholders out. Every month I go through the same process of spending 20-30min calling in to reset my locked out online account. This is the only card I've ever had this issue with and every month I update my password app to reflect the newest password and the next time I login it doesn't work. I've called 8 times since March. They also do not provide credit line increases and their interest rate is the highest I've ever seen. I've had this card since college as a start out and since it's my oldest I won't close it but I will never use it again unless it's to keep it from dorminent close. 

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I applied through a mail offer and kept account for 5 months (march -aug). My bill was due on the 14th and I sent the payment through the mail the first few times. I noticed a late fee on my statement in May. I thought back and said to myself "maybe the mailroom was busy or something, they are always suggesting you go paperless" and shrugged it off. No big deal...Then June. Same thing. I started paying my bill online through ny bank. Now I have evidence that the payment was debited from my bank account on Aug 9th! Guess who is paying a late fee for last month! I called furious and the rep gave me some bs about the bank mailing my payment. Why would they mail an electronic payment? So I cancelled and will be paying the balance asap. I'm going to pay my bill on Friday (Sept 2nd), hopefully they will verify the payment by the 14th.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this bank overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations