Merrick Bank Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 07, 2016
Never had a problem with them
HoraceRumpole Account Holder

Merrick issued me a VISA card when my FICO was borderline and I had a recent bankruptcy.  I knew the interest rate was high, but I expected that.  There is not rewards program, but again I knew and accepted that.  I make payments on time, usually paying the balance in full.  I've had occasion to deal with Customer Service a few times and found them courteous and helpful.  The Double Your Credit Limit program is legit - make the first 6 months payments on time and the credit increase is automatic.  This has allowed me to improve my FICO to the point where I can now get other credit.  In short, my experience with them has been excellent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 25, 2012
djcarson76 Account Holder

 As someone who is in the process of rebuilding my credit, I was just happy that I was given an unsecured line of crredit.  The intrest rate is a little high, but I dont carry a balance. After 6 months my credit line went up.  Customer service is okay and payments post the next day. I really cant complain about this card

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 28, 2017
GREAT EXPERIENCE!!
JAH96707 Account Holder

Received a pre-approved letter in November of 2016, I ended up applying with a FICO score of 575. I was approved and received my CC in December of 2016 with a $600 line of credit, after making 5 consecutive payments on time; I received a credit increse of $600 totaling to $1200. As of 6/27/2017 my FICO is 725 and I couldnt be more pleased with my decision to accept Merrick Banks pre-approval invitation. To avoid any payment complications, I always paid my balance in full through their online payment options. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
worst bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Worts bank

more ...
Jun 11, 2017
Great
RichardVentura17 Account Holder

I got my credit limit double the next day my payment was due. 7 month after getting my card. Never a problem with payment or customer service.

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
So far so good!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had this card for about 4 months now and I've had no issues. I always pay more than the minimum and pay early. I Love the online mobile app and that you can make payments over the phone without them charging you. In the process of rebuilding my credit so this is a good start. 

more ...
Jun 09, 2017
F***ing nightmare
ma1697 Account Holder

Unable to remove disputed charges. Rude phone service. They continue to bill 29.95 a month. Merrick bank refuses to remove charges and bills me

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
LIKE THIS CARD ALOT AND PROMISES KEPT
aidanzmom Account Holder

I have had an unsecured Merrick credit card now for 7 mos , just like they promised , they doubled my limit about a week after my 7th payment . I have never had an issue with them . I cant afford to pay off my balances completely but I always pay online about 2weeks and I always pay more than the minimum owed early and they have always credited my acct within a couple days . I have never had any issues with this card and it has helped my credit and I now have a $1400 credit limit which I will try not to use , only in emergencies .

more ...
Jun 04, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

This card is great.  The offer I received was a $600 credit limit which will double in 6months.  I have been able to use this card every where with no problems!  

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

 Everyone should know this must apply for it 

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
A simple but good card!
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had this card for about three years now and have no complaints. If you simply charge what you can afford and pay your bill timely, you'll enjoy the benefits of this card with no hassles or hidden fees. Merrick also gave me two credit line increases without me having to ask for them. I would encourage anyone who is rebuilding credit to apply for this card.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2017

When did you get your 2nd increase?

 
May 26, 2017
Ridiculously slow payment processing
Anonymous Account Holder

First off, I'm glad someone gave me another chance at an unsecured credit card, I wish I could give them five stars just for that, but I live in the SAME state as Merrick's payment processing center, I mail a money order every month 15 days before payment is due, and still keep getting late fees. I've had some setbacks with my health and cannot afford to pay my balance off right now, but I look forward to the day I can so I can cancel this card, it is just not worth the hassle and worry I have to deal with over payments every month. I have another card now, their payment center is located in California, and they receive and post my payments within 5 to 7 days every single month. I am not giving Merrick my bank account number, especially after reading all the problems other people have had, and I cannot mail payments any sooner, I have even had Merrick adjust my due date twice and it hasn't made a difference.  I have called Merrick about this several times and they admit they are having problems with their payment processing center, they've been saying this for almost a year. Why don't they do something about it? My guess it's the profits they make on late fees.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations