Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

M&T Bank

1.7 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
Fraudulent
Anonymous Account Holder

In the middle of a refinance, my identity was stolen. I switched banks, no one would call me back, other departments would not assist in identifying their fraud department. So far worse bank I've ever dealt with!

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
worse banking you could imagine!
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible in every way possible!!!!

more ...
May 17, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Incompetent

more ...
Mar 06, 2016
Terrible Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I got an auto loan well  with this company. I got the car from suggested this bank for it. I am very dissapointed I stuck with them. First off when I was going to make my first payment to them they didn't have the option for me to set up an account online to make the payment she told me of other payment methods that didn't help becuase I was trying to make the payment on time. I was making payments good on time  and when it came to make the third payment they did me dirty messing my credit up. They harass me on several occassions for payment. I haven't seen this with any other banks they didn't even try to work with me. Once I clear up all this mess as I have been making majority of payments. I won't deal with this company. There are beyond terrible with there work ethics. I always paid them personally at the bank. I wouldn't want any ties with them.

more ...
Feb 10, 2016
Worst Banking Experience of my Life.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank operates like it is the 1980s still.  Takes 6+ days for checks to clear.  Highest overdraft amount anywhere @ $38.50 up to 5 times per day.  They are very shifty in their accounting and documentation as well.  They show checks as posted in ledger but they are still pending.  You are supposed to know that they haven't cleared by the receipt you receive from ATM that's right ATM no mobile deposit app.  Also if calling the 800 number average hold times are 15 - 25 min to talk to a person which are unable to do anything without a supervisor which takes another 10 minutes.  I was lured in by the $150 bonus for signing up ended up paying more than that in fees even though the balance of my account never reached 0.  Because they hold checks 6 days you will be negative even though your account has money in it.  This is just dumbfounding to me in this day and age of 24 hour mobile deposits.  Also when I got through to customer service they made a point to tell me I only started banking with them a number of times so what I think is unimportant and I should have known this because in the fine print it says they hold checks 3 - 7 days.

I know this maybe sounds like sour grapes but trust me it's like going back 30 years in banking.  No mobile deposit app, horrible customer service, long hold times and wonky and misleading balance information.  I even tried going back to the old pen and paper to balance old school style but still fell short because of the excessive check holds even if you have money in the account to match the check it still take 6 days to clear.

more ...
Jan 12, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

WORST BANK EVER! Do not use them for a mortgage. They will ruin your credit, screw up your balance. They are rude. How they are even still considered a bank is beyond me. Gave me some lame excuse to not have online access to my account. I pay you 500.00 a month and you deny me access to have online access!! I promise if you use them.... They will screw you over

more ...
Dec 30, 2015
DO NOT BANK WITH THESE CROOKS!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank uses unethical practices to overdraft their customer's account . They post incorrect balances, order your charges from least to greatest, charge service fees to your account without notification. Oh and they charge you for each time a merchant tries to take money from your account after it has been rejected due to their unethical practices. I have filed a federal complaint and I am currently contacting a lawyer to sue these criminals! Do NOT bank with this bank. They are lucky I gave them 1 star. As of today my husband and I are closing our accounts.

more ...
Dec 27, 2015
Friendly staff
Anonymous Account Holder

I have always had good service with M&T, i only have checking but no fees and lots of locations around

more ...
Dec 27, 2015
Friendly staff
Anonymous Account Holder

I have always had good service with M&T, i only have checking but no fees and lots of locations around

more ...
Dec 08, 2015
Worst bank in the world
Anonymous Account Holder

The local branch manager, who has run the bank for 5 years, didn't even know how to set up a bank account. Other branches have had 1 teller available, during peak hours, on FRIDAYS.

The people at the branches will give you information that will screw you over. When you call the main number to ask what happened, they will contradict what they told you at the branch. This has happened a half dozen times to me in a year or so.

Finally, if you make a mistake and overdraw even 50 cents, they will charge you $38.50. Though they contradict each other in almost everything they say, it's the one and only thing that they drill into their employee's heads. They want that fee more than anything. You can tell them you'll replace they money right this second, and that you're unemployed and need the cash for groceries. I've gone into the location, gotten supervisors at corporate on the phone, none of them will help. The last lady I spoke to pretended to look at my account for literally less than 5 seconds to "see if she could help." When I asked what she saw in my account that determined she couldn't she said "the policy." You saw the policy IN my account? And in a couple seconds, no less? AND you're a supervisor, and didn't know the policy?

What a bunch of incompetent, lying, bloodsucking crooks. Enjoy lining your pockets with that $38.50, your CEO doesn't make enough. I'll just go be homeless now. Thanks M&T.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations