M&T Bank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 20, 2017
It sucks
Bjr1488 Account Holder

Worst banking there is. Customer service at their branches as well as over the phone hotline is terrible. Wait times are unbelievable just to try to make a payment or get in touch with someone.

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
Find another mortgage company.
koryboyer Account Holder

I have had my loan with M&T for around 7 years now, never been late, and never have asked for any help. Hurricane Irma comes to Florida and I called to see if I can get a 1 month forbearance and add to the end of my loan so I can get caught up. Instead M&T said we can give you a 3 month delay and we will not incur late fees, report to credit, but at the end of 3 months you have to immediately pay all the money that you owe. If people could afford their payments they would make them on time and would not need the help. By asking people to pay for something all at once is a slap in the face and saying we don't care about you. The right thing to do is truly help your customers, not disable or hurt them financially more. This is why so many people loose their homes.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
Reliable and Efficient
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer of M&T Bank for a number of years now and have never had any issue with them.  I have, or had, checking and savings accounts as well as loans through M&T and have never been charged an overdraft fee or late charge unjustly.  I have never had to call Customer Service so I can't speak to the wait times but long wait times for service seems to be the norm for most businesses, unfortunately.  Whenever I have needed anything the local branch has always beeen quick with accurate information.  I would recmmend this bank to anyone looking for a reliable bank.

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Horrible customer service...
micahmorgan Account Holder

Don't  bank here...check out the incredibly poor remarks.

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
If I could give 0 stars I would!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do yourself a favor... don't use M&T

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst online service I have every experience, and the customer service hold times are 30 mins to talk to someone 

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
They will ruin your credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I made all of my payments on time and my loan was closed and then I get hit with a 30 day late on the final payment that was paid. Contacting them is a full time job since you'll be on the phone for hours getting transfered back and forth not one person knowing what to do. No one can prove I was late and some that seem to have a grip on reality agreed I wasn't late yet the one M&T  rep who counts sent me a letter saying it was accurate. I had to send in disputes to all the credit agencies but this has turned into a nightmare. AVOID M&T at all costs.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jun 13, 2017

Same here. I want to donate my time ruining this horrible company. Is it a real company?

 
Dec 03, 2016
Fraudulent
Anonymous Account Holder

In the middle of a refinance, my identity was stolen. I switched banks, no one would call me back, other departments would not assist in identifying their fraud department. So far worse bank I've ever dealt with!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations