Keybank Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
23 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 25, 2016
Great so far
tybow22 Account Holder

Really enjoy Key and their relationship rewards program for my checking account - which is free because my employer is part of a program that I qualify for their premium checking account with just $2500 monthly direct deposit. I wouldn't advice people do the relationship rewards on the other checking accounts though- there is an annual fee so it kinda takes away from the earnings. But for me I'm earning on a checking account and that is so rare these days, so I'm happy!

Surprised to see some of these really harsh comments becasue all of the Key employees I've dealt with have been awesome, but maybe I'm just lucky? Either way I'm happy, and happy to get a free $300 credit for recently opening my account!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 23, 2016
Worst bank ever! Don't bank with Key!
Raiinyy Account Holder

Worst bank I have ever dealt with. They are rude and thieves. When you call their customer service number no one gives you the same answer and no one ever calls you back when they say they will. I have been calling for over a month with one question and no one has told me the same answer. I am closing my account immediately. The constantly assess fees that they shouldn't and they do not give the sign up bonus that they promise either. The people at the branch in my location are very rude also and they act like its a chore to help you. They are a bunch of thieving liars! Don't bank with key bank! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 03, 2017
Horror
jmitchell23 Account Holder

I was told by customer service to go into a branch to fix my issue. I got to the branch and they told me to call customer service. I called customer service back again and they told me to go back to the branch. I go back to the branch and they tell me to call customer service again. Seriously? Get your stuff together KeyBank. 

The customer service sucks. I get different answers every time I call. I called 4 times in one morning and not one rep noted my account so every time I called in I had to start from scratch and re-explain my situation. I called in once to ask about something with online banking, and they transferred back and forth between 2 different departments 4 times. 

The online banking sucks too. Took me forever just to create my account because every time I went to set my security questions they wouldn't go through. I am tech savvy and work with computers daily (I work for a finance company) So it's not that I didn't know what I was doing. 

They charge $3 for an invoice. I am paperless anyway, but still that's bs to charge a customer $3 for a 45 cent stamp and 2 sheets of paper.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Terrible
tjbill144 Account Holder

  My accounts were bought to Key Bank after a buyout of First Niagara. I have never expereinced such a lack of empathy or willingness to address an issue in my life.

  Dealing with them has been costly and stressful.  I have paid and closed my credit card, moved my primary savings and checking to TD Bank and attempted to close a CD last week in which they told I would have my money in 5 buisness days.  I called today, on day 8, and was informed I need to come to the branch (an hour a way).

  Steer clear, there is no need to stress yourself out with this institution, They have nothing more to offer then other banks and with alot more headaches.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Out source, slow processing time
Anonymous Account Holder

Due to Key bank slow processing time, I have lose my dream home. Its been several weeks since I have try to add my girl freind in my account. So it could prove the underwritten how and where the money is going. Due to key bank for taking so long in processing I have lose they dead line. To convince the under written. So after I buy a home im taking my money somewhere else.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
JJwest22 Account Holder

They ruined the credit by returning my payment. I called 6 times to try and straighten it out. They first told me it was fixed any everything was good. But it was not at all. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Slow and Unattentive
GoingtoPNCTomorrow Account Holder

Key Bank bought out First Niagara, which meant I got stuck with them. The thing about Key that is making me want to open an account elsewhere is simply that they are too slow. Their system is down for several long hours every single night, so any purchases or deposits made during that time can get all scrambled up. It takes deposits far longer to register than they should and withdrawls always come out before the deposits go in, meaning if you're ever approaching a low balance on payday, you're still probably going to get charged with an overdraft fee or two. When I asked the manager at my local bank why this was the case when I've had no problems wit hany other banks, he handed me a paper transaction record and had the gall to suggest that I was the problem. The mobile app is almost always down, and the bank staff is absolutely among the rudest I have ever dealt with.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Key bank sent me to collections months after i paid them in full. Stay far away if you like your money.

more ...
Feb 27, 2017
Convenience.
Anonymous Account Holder

Intelligent, well trained staff. There are usu ally always licensed investment reps in every branch. The expertise of the management staff is seconomy to none. They are so helpful with financial questions.

more ...
Feb 23, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I pay all of my payments on time every single month and for some reason I'm still getting billed saying I owe all these late fees when I'm never late!! I see when they take the money out of my account with my online banking app and I'm getting charged for nothing! This is ridiculous, ever since the company switched from First Niagara to KeyBank I've been having all these issues. If I could give this a negative star rate I would 

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Worst opening account experience ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

Opened a new account online, I am going to school in AZ, but my sister is in Oregon. AZ is not in Key's service area, so I was required to use my sisters address, then use my AZ mailing address. One thing after another started after this. They didn't process my opening deposit, then sent a letter asking for a check to be mailed in. The. Wanted proof of both addresses with my name on both, which I dont have for my sisters address in Oregon. Of course I understand security, I answered all the equivalent security questions, and passed chexsystems. Then received another letter asking for copies of utility bills and leases. It was too much work for an account opening experience that should have been 10 minutes. I emailed asking  that Key return my deposit check and cancel all opening for the ne account. I simply got a reply saying done. They didn't even care they had made the whole situation impossible. I did open a new account online with Wells Fargo, which ended within 3 days and no hassles. What a relief WF wanted my business, while Key didn't even care. Very disappointed, and hoping KeyBank is bought by someone else and the name dropped. Would love to see Key bought by PNC or Suntrust Banks! 

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Key bank auto loan - Worst service ever
Rahavan Account Holder

Things were smooth until Key bank acquires "First niagara bank". They have the worst customer service, not a blame on the ppl who responds. Poor ones, they dont know their process & each time they ll respond differently. Their supervisors/managers are exceptionally bad. They dont even listern for 2 mins on the issue, wheras we have to wait for 10 to 15 mins to speak to a representative every time. 

Here is what happened. I had a auto loan with First niagara and since its acquired by key bank, I end up having an auto loan with them. I paid my loan amount every month on time for 17 months. I relocated to NJ recently and for doing registration, NJ DMV needs the original title. In a normal world , DMV has a form which we need to fill requesting the bank to send the title to DMV directly. Once DMV receives the title, they inform the customer and upon doing registration change, DMV ll send the original title back to the bank (they wont issue to customer). 

I mailed the DMV request form to key bank and also faxed them(by a advise of customer care representative). I called the customer care representative every 3 weeks to follow up on the same , they always sent the copy of title to DMV and not original. Every time when I ask, they say that they ll send the original. Neverthless they send them and every time they ll say a story to convince me for next three weeks. This happened over 3 months. Finally one representative responded that they ll not issue original to anyone unless loan is paid. When I asked for escalation, the supervisor didnt even listen for 2 minutes. I need to finally make the complete loan payement to get the original title. When all other banks are able to follow the simple process of sending title to DMV, I am not able to understand why not key bank? The worst thing is they could have said this during my first call itself so that I dont need to waste 3 months of time. 

Never bank with key bank. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations