Keybank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 27, 2017
Convenience.
Anonymous Account Holder

Intelligent, well trained staff. There are usu ally always licensed investment reps in every branch. The expertise of the management staff is seconomy to none. They are so helpful with financial questions.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 23, 2016
Worst bank ever! Don't bank with Key!
Raiinyy Account Holder

Worst bank I have ever dealt with. They are rude and thieves. When you call their customer service number no one gives you the same answer and no one ever calls you back when they say they will. I have been calling for over a month with one question and no one has told me the same answer. I am closing my account immediately. The constantly assess fees that they shouldn't and they do not give the sign up bonus that they promise either. The people at the branch in my location are very rude also and they act like its a chore to help you. They are a bunch of thieving liars! Don't bank with key bank! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 20, 2017
Thieves!
jul215 Account Holder

Steal your money with overdrafts, not willing to work with it out customers. Literally was on the phone for 20 mins and they kept saying the same line over and over and over - "im sorry theres nothning we can do" ? really? THERE IS THOUGH! BY KEY BANK!! 

more ...
Sep 20, 2017
WORST BANK EVER! THIEVES!
jul215 Account Holder

Make it very easy to use your card if theres pending transactions and then hit you with 40 dollar over draft fees. back to back to back... 

Closing my account asap!

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
For a bank like a spouse who hates you.
BobD81 Account Holder

Awful, want a payoff letter? Ha! Wait for a week, if they really send it at all.

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Poor customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service representatives have much to learn.  I was on hold for over 2 hours and was bounced from department to department.  The one representative told me the college I was being billed from wasn't a real college and the Finanicial department lied to me about charges.  Both not true.  Very frustrated as was not able to receive assistance to have transaction fees reversed.  Went into a branch close to where I work and they were very helpful.  I switched my 5 accounts the day I spoke to the customer service representatives.  The customer relations manager was not at all surprised at how poorly the call centers treated the situation.  I would give 0 stars if I could.  Such a shame because I had been with the bank for over 12 years.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Horror
jmitchell23 Account Holder

I was told by customer service to go into a branch to fix my issue. I got to the branch and they told me to call customer service. I called customer service back again and they told me to go back to the branch. I go back to the branch and they tell me to call customer service again. Seriously? Get your stuff together KeyBank. 

The customer service sucks. I get different answers every time I call. I called 4 times in one morning and not one rep noted my account so every time I called in I had to start from scratch and re-explain my situation. I called in once to ask about something with online banking, and they transferred back and forth between 2 different departments 4 times. 

The online banking sucks too. Took me forever just to create my account because every time I went to set my security questions they wouldn't go through. I am tech savvy and work with computers daily (I work for a finance company) So it's not that I didn't know what I was doing. 

They charge $3 for an invoice. I am paperless anyway, but still that's bs to charge a customer $3 for a 45 cent stamp and 2 sheets of paper.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Terrible
tjbill144 Account Holder

  My accounts were bought to Key Bank after a buyout of First Niagara. I have never expereinced such a lack of empathy or willingness to address an issue in my life.

  Dealing with them has been costly and stressful.  I have paid and closed my credit card, moved my primary savings and checking to TD Bank and attempted to close a CD last week in which they told I would have my money in 5 buisness days.  I called today, on day 8, and was informed I need to come to the branch (an hour a way).

  Steer clear, there is no need to stress yourself out with this institution, They have nothing more to offer then other banks and with alot more headaches.

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Out source, slow processing time
Anonymous Account Holder

Due to Key bank slow processing time, I have lose my dream home. Its been several weeks since I have try to add my girl freind in my account. So it could prove the underwritten how and where the money is going. Due to key bank for taking so long in processing I have lose they dead line. To convince the under written. So after I buy a home im taking my money somewhere else.

more ...
Mar 16, 2017
JJwest22 Account Holder

They ruined the credit by returning my payment. I called 6 times to try and straighten it out. They first told me it was fixed any everything was good. But it was not at all. 

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Slow and Unattentive
GoingtoPNCTomorrow Account Holder

Key Bank bought out First Niagara, which meant I got stuck with them. The thing about Key that is making me want to open an account elsewhere is simply that they are too slow. Their system is down for several long hours every single night, so any purchases or deposits made during that time can get all scrambled up. It takes deposits far longer to register than they should and withdrawls always come out before the deposits go in, meaning if you're ever approaching a low balance on payday, you're still probably going to get charged with an overdraft fee or two. When I asked the manager at my local bank why this was the case when I've had no problems wit hany other banks, he handed me a paper transaction record and had the gall to suggest that I was the problem. The mobile app is almost always down, and the bank staff is absolutely among the rudest I have ever dealt with.

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Key bank sent me to collections months after i paid them in full. Stay far away if you like your money.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations