Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Keybank

1.7 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 25, 2016
Great so far
tybow22 Account Holder

Really enjoy Key and their relationship rewards program for my checking account - which is free because my employer is part of a program that I qualify for their premium checking account with just $2500 monthly direct deposit. I wouldn't advice people do the relationship rewards on the other checking accounts though- there is an annual fee so it kinda takes away from the earnings. But for me I'm earning on a checking account and that is so rare these days, so I'm happy!

Surprised to see some of these really harsh comments becasue all of the Key employees I've dealt with have been awesome, but maybe I'm just lucky? Either way I'm happy, and happy to get a free $300 credit for recently opening my account!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 23, 2016
Worst bank ever! Don't bank with Key!
Raiinyy Account Holder

Worst bank I have ever dealt with. They are rude and thieves. When you call their customer service number no one gives you the same answer and no one ever calls you back when they say they will. I have been calling for over a month with one question and no one has told me the same answer. I am closing my account immediately. The constantly assess fees that they shouldn't and they do not give the sign up bonus that they promise either. The people at the branch in my location are very rude also and they act like its a chore to help you. They are a bunch of thieving liars! Don't bank with key bank! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 23, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I pay all of my payments on time every single month and for some reason I'm still getting billed saying I owe all these late fees when I'm never late!! I see when they take the money out of my account with my online banking app and I'm getting charged for nothing! This is ridiculous, ever since the company switched from First Niagara to KeyBank I've been having all these issues. If I could give this a negative star rate I would 

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Worst opening account experience ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

Opened a new account online, I am going to school in AZ, but my sister is in Oregon. AZ is not in Key's service area, so I was required to use my sisters address, then use my AZ mailing address. One thing after another started after this. They didn't process my opening deposit, then sent a letter asking for a check to be mailed in. The. Wanted proof of both addresses with my name on both, which I dont have for my sisters address in Oregon. Of course I understand security, I answered all the equivalent security questions, and passed chexsystems. Then received another letter asking for copies of utility bills and leases. It was too much work for an account opening experience that should have been 10 minutes. I emailed asking  that Key return my deposit check and cancel all opening for the ne account. I simply got a reply saying done. They didn't even care they had made the whole situation impossible. I did open a new account online with Wells Fargo, which ended within 3 days and no hassles. What a relief WF wanted my business, while Key didn't even care. Very disappointed, and hoping KeyBank is bought by someone else and the name dropped. Would love to see Key bought by PNC or Suntrust Banks! 

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
Key bank auto loan - Worst service ever
Rahavan Account Holder

Things were smooth until Key bank acquires "First niagara bank". They have the worst customer service, not a blame on the ppl who responds. Poor ones, they dont know their process & each time they ll respond differently. Their supervisors/managers are exceptionally bad. They dont even listern for 2 mins on the issue, wheras we have to wait for 10 to 15 mins to speak to a representative every time. 

Here is what happened. I had a auto loan with First niagara and since its acquired by key bank, I end up having an auto loan with them. I paid my loan amount every month on time for 17 months. I relocated to NJ recently and for doing registration, NJ DMV needs the original title. In a normal world , DMV has a form which we need to fill requesting the bank to send the title to DMV directly. Once DMV receives the title, they inform the customer and upon doing registration change, DMV ll send the original title back to the bank (they wont issue to customer). 

I mailed the DMV request form to key bank and also faxed them(by a advise of customer care representative). I called the customer care representative every 3 weeks to follow up on the same , they always sent the copy of title to DMV and not original. Every time when I ask, they say that they ll send the original. Neverthless they send them and every time they ll say a story to convince me for next three weeks. This happened over 3 months. Finally one representative responded that they ll not issue original to anyone unless loan is paid. When I asked for escalation, the supervisor didnt even listen for 2 minutes. I need to finally make the complete loan payement to get the original title. When all other banks are able to follow the simple process of sending title to DMV, I am not able to understand why not key bank? The worst thing is they could have said this during my first call itself so that I dont need to waste 3 months of time. 

Never bank with key bank. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Long Term Relationship in the Dirt
Anonymous Account Holder

20 months cashing the same check from the same account. Customer sent a check from a CLOSED account and it bounced. Key Bank CLOSED my account without my knowledge. They marked it as FRAUD! 

Never been to jail/prison, never commited fraud, and never will be back to Key Bank again...

more ...
Jan 09, 2017
Erroneous and UNHELPFUL customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Been struggling with Key bank customer service for over 3 years. Even with a gap in employment and birth of a child, ALL other bills are paid up and on a plan to finish. Key bank gives wrong info over the phone and won't respond to hard copy letters. In emails, the questions are ignored or misdirected. They hire the worst scum to call for collections. Of course, it's not too hard to BORROW. But in repayment, they do not work with customers on any sort of question except, "Where can I send you my money?"

more ...
Nov 25, 2016
Love Key Bank!
Anonymous Account Holder

I moved all of my accounts over to Key Bank almost 2 years ago. The customer service has always been great. I haven't had a single problem. I have checking accounts, savings accounts, credit cards and a line of credit with them. Almost every person in my family banks at Key and we all love it!

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Great Second Chance Bank!
FrenchBulldogMom Account Holder

I recently signed up for a checking account with Key Bank, I was a little worried about getting an account bc I have had some trouble getting one in the past. I was able to get approved despite owing money to another bank and they only required a $10 minimum deposit to start. The account I selected does not have a maintenance fee although the ones with more features do, I recommend reading what is required to waive the fees, some of them only ask for a direct deposit of 500 monthly or having a home mortgage.

Like any other bank, there are other fees that you may encounter if you aren't careful (like Overdraft or NSF fees), as long as you keep a good ledger and pay attention to your available balance (not account balance) you can avoid them. The staff is pleasant and I like that there is a branch close to my home.

I would recommend this bank for anyone who has had trouble opening a new account due to owing money at a previous bank, they will give you a chance!

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Worst bank ever! Don't bank with Key!
Raiinyy Account Holder

Worst bank I have ever dealt with. They are rude and thieves. When you call their customer service number no one gives you the same answer and no one ever calls you back when they say they will. I have been calling for over a month with one question and no one has told me the same answer. I am closing my account immediately. The constantly assess fees that they shouldn't and they do not give the sign up bonus that they promise either. The people at the branch in my location are very rude also and they act like its a chore to help you. They are a bunch of thieving liars! Don't bank with key bank! 

more ...
Sep 09, 2016
Clueless!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I found some foreign currency, and in my free time, I thought I would stop at my local branch, free standing, to check on if this was exchangable or just wall hangings. I sat at the desk and showed the woman what I had, she said Hmmmm, got up went to the "window" asked the person behing the counter, comes back and says "we don't take this here"!  HUH, its a bank, if you don't take it, who does....Ummm "I don't know" WHAT!!  So I come home and email them.  The answer comes back....take it to your local branch....I email back and say "I DID",  I email back...then can YOU tell me what branches take it.....answer back.....take it to your local branch   UGH!!!!  If I could give you a MINUS 5 stars, I would.

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
I will never recommend key bank!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Please I very strongly advise banking with key bank I had never had a worse experience with a bank before key.  Everything from calling there customer service line to there dishonest ways to get you to open up an account with them, and don't even try to get decent customer service at any bank location.  Please save yourself the headache and go to Chase or a credit union.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations